View Full Version : Part time clubs starting to question their football continuing
08-01-2021, 04:26 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/55525110
Dalbeattie Star, whose manager, Ritchie Maxwell, works in the NHS, said in a statement: "We are classed as elite professional players, but no provision is available for Covid testing at our level.
"We do, however, query the professional status as we are a part-time club and all players have other careers out with football.
"Like all clubs in the league, we would love to be able to be able to complete this season in a timely manner, but the safety of our committee, management team, players and of course the people of our local community is of more concern than football."
08-01-2021, 04:28 PM
Dalbeattie Star, whose manager, Ritchie Maxwell, works in the NHS, said in a statement: "We are classed as elite professional players, but no provision is available for Covid testing at our level.
"We do, however, query the professional status as we are a part-time club and all players have other careers out with football.
"Like all clubs in the league, we would love to be able to be able to complete this season in a timely manner, but the safety of our committee, management team, players and of course the people of our local community is of more concern than football."
Not really surprising. Most non league and lower league boys have jobs, and if a case comes out of their game the whole team have to isolate for two weeks. It really isn’t worth the risk. Would imagine the majority of non league and lower leagues will take a break for a number of weeks. EOS teams have already been told no friendlies when games are called off.
08-01-2021, 04:36 PM
Are Hearts staying doon then?
Budgie won’t be happy :greengrin
08-01-2021, 04:41 PM
You have to say that would be really rotten luck this time.
Funny as f@@k though😂
08-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Surely the lower leagues can stretch in to the summer a bit? Can't be many teams who will have players away on international duty.
Best thing to do is scrap the season now and restart from the beginning again as normal.
The League cup semis and final would be a great restart for Scotish football in July.
08-01-2021, 05:33 PM
They’ll all be stopping soon. South of Scotland and East and North junior regions have already suspended. Lowland League are meeting on Monday. When they stop EOS will follow I’d think.
08-01-2021, 05:40 PM
Northern premier, Southern premier and Isthmian leagues (thats tier 7 just below conference north and south) in England are meeting to discuss calling the season off, not just suspending it but calling it null and void.
08-01-2021, 06:01 PM
I was surprised to read just how far down the pyramid that leagues were still playing.
Agree that it makes sense for them to stop, either permanently or temporarily (which could end up being permanent).
08-01-2021, 06:02 PM
Null and void everything below the top league. The right thing to do all round.
08-01-2021, 06:08 PM
Best thing to do is scrap the season now and restart from the beginning again as normal.
The League cup semis and final would be a great restart for Scotish football in July.
There will be no clubs left to play of we did that.
08-01-2021, 06:09 PM
I will be. In fact I'm not sure how I'll be able to stop laughing.....:greengrin
08-01-2021, 06:09 PM
Vale of Leithen chairman has responded by declaring Covid fake news and calling on the club's supporters to storm the SFA offices. But all three of them are self isolating and not available for another nine days.
08-01-2021, 06:30 PM
All 4 top league teams were asked to verify if they could complete this season before it started.
No one knew we would be in this lockdown again back then, and worse than ever!
Now a lot of the lower league teams are feeling the pressure with little or no money coming in, and no end in sight!
With teams falling foul of covid and games being called off, then replayed, I can see this season carrying on until finished, maybe around late August, then another curtailed season next year!!!
EI255
08-01-2021, 06:41 PM
It's utterly appalling that football is allowed to continue, yet it is impossible for more than one household to share a limo at a funeral. I'm sorry, but fitba can do one!
The very fact clubs are asking to stop, not the footballing bodies, tells you everything.
What gives football the right?
Cluckin shocking.
08-01-2021, 06:51 PM
Null and void everything below the top league. The right thing to do all round.
It is actually the most sensible thing to do.
08-01-2021, 06:55 PM
It's utterly appalling that football is allowed to continue, yet it is impossible for more than one household to share a limo at a funeral. I'm sorry, but fitba can do one!
The very fact clubs are asking to stop, not the footballing bodies, tells you everything.
Cluckin shocking.
Football games are pretty risk free (in comparison to other day to day activities) though as there’s so much testing going on.
For that reason I don’t think the comparison you’ve made is fair.
08-01-2021, 06:59 PM
Cluckin shocking.
What clubs, of those at elite levels with testing etc in place, are asking to stop?
Steve Bruce and Sam Allardyce have spoken about it. Suppose it’s just a coincidence when they’re both under pressure sitting 15th and 19th in the table.
08-01-2021, 07:04 PM
What clubs, of those at elite levels with testing etc in place, are asking to stop?
Steve Bruce and Sam Allardyce have spoken about it. Suppose it’s just a coincidence when they’re both under pressure sitting 15th and 19th in the table.
Allardyce was in the job 10 minutes before calling for a shutdown due to his age and health risk. Erse.
penihibs
08-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Allardyce was in the job 10 minutes before calling for a shutdown due to his age and health risk. Erse.
Yeh thought the same,can't be short of cash why take a job if your that worried.
Dodgy sod.
08-01-2021, 08:37 PM
Cluckin shocking.
Totally agree with you.
Never could understand why fitbaw was given specialist treatment over other sports.
08-01-2021, 08:41 PM
Football games are pretty risk free (in comparison to other day to day activities) though as there’s so much testing going on.
For that reason I don’t think the comparison you’ve made is fair.
What evidence do you have that games of football are’risk free’? With the situation worsening daily, continuing football at these lower levels just compounds the risk.
08-01-2021, 08:48 PM
Lockdown is bad enough without football on the telly. What I do think is if players are deliberately caught flouting the rules they should be suspended for the season on the uk living wage. If its clubs, automatically drop to bottom of the league with zero points.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
08-01-2021, 08:50 PM
Totally agree with you.
Never could understand why fitbaw was given specialist treatment over other sports.
Football isn’t. All professional sports are continuing, hence why Edinburgh and Glasgow played at Rugby tonight.
08-01-2021, 08:54 PM
Football isn’t. All professional sports are continuing, hence why Edinburgh and Glasgow played at Rugby tonight.
Lowland league and EOS aren’t professional. They have student teams in them too!
Add in the Women’s leagues which are still playing and all the travelling.
It’s absolute madness all these leagues are considered professional when they really aren’t - add in the travel around Scotland..not even playing local games and training too.
Personally would stop all leagues below Premier league where they are testing x2 a week - even then it’s had its issues and can see it getting worse in next few weeks after Xmas gatherings etc.
08-01-2021, 08:59 PM
Null and void the only sensible option
08-01-2021, 09:02 PM
Lowland league and EOS aren’t professional. They have student teams in them too!
It’s absolute madness all these leagues are considered professional when they really aren’t - add in the travel around Scotland..not even playing local games and training too.
Personally would stop all leagues below Premier league where they are testing x2 a week - even then it’s had its issues and can see it getting worse in next few weeks after Xmas gatherings etc.
I fully agree with you, but the point was that only football is continuing when it really isn’t. The argument is that players are signed on professional contracts, but even the players don’t want to play just now. For me, as it stands, any team/league/industry/workplace that isn’t routinely testing their staff should be closed.
08-01-2021, 10:01 PM
Having thought further about it, professional sport should be suspended unless both teams have been tested during the week before the game.
That effectively limits it to the Premiership and Edinburgh/Glasgow rugby, but it's necessary given the seriousness of the current health emergency.
If we get to a stage where professional sport can resume, then the lower leagues should only be considered complete if every team has played every other team home and away once (ie 22 games) and the third round of fixtures that was originally planned should be scrapped to ensure that this can be achieved. If that doesn't happen by 31 May, when player contracts finish, then null and void those leagues. Make it clear up front what is being done and how it will be resolved.
08-01-2021, 10:16 PM
Null and void the only sensible option
09-01-2021, 12:00 AM
match was postponed 30 mins before Ko, frozen pitch
Wakeyhibee
09-01-2021, 03:58 AM
Makes sense to suspend the leagues now. The situation is not going to improve in the near future. Theres more risk for those not testing, you could argue even top leagues as well.
More and more covid cases coming to light.
Coupled with the normal weather problems they'd at least stand a chance to complete the season once it improves with the vaccine roll out.
cheltenhamhibee
09-01-2021, 04:29 AM
Could you imagine the seethe from Ipox and their hordes of Orcs if the season was null and voided ?
09-01-2021, 08:02 AM
match was postponed 30 mins before Ko, frozen pitch
I actually watched it on Premier and never even realised 😂 must’ve been a rerun of last weeks game, couldn’t understand how it was near identical scoring wise 😂 what an idiot!
09-01-2021, 08:04 AM
Makes sense to suspend the leagues now. The situation is not going to improve in the near future. Theres more risk for those not testing, you could argue even top leagues as well.
More and more covid cases coming to light.
Coupled with the normal weather problems they'd at least stand a chance to complete the season once it improves with the vaccine roll out.
If the season gets suspended there is no chance of it being completed. Far too many games to fit in I’d imagine as it would need stopped for the whole of January minimum to have any effect.
09-01-2021, 08:04 AM
The top women’s teams that are being allowed to continue are following strict protocols (in Scotland at least). None of them going off to Dubai that’s for sure.
09-01-2021, 08:13 AM
The top women’s teams that are being allowed to continue are following strict protocols (in Scotland at least). None of them going off to Dubai that’s for sure.
Dubai like the Man City women’s players (match postponed) and obviously Celtic.
Doesn’t matter about strict protocols at the ground / training..they aren’t testing and they mixing with all different types of people at work(some work at supermarkets etc ) and home.
The Women’s leagues should stop also along will all leagues under the Premier league as they are all testing x2 a week which is still not full proof.
09-01-2021, 08:14 AM
I was actually thinking about why the season hasnt been stopped already, then watched last nights Villa v Liverpool game, where Villa first team only consisted of a team of 17-23 year olds, first half was not bad but Villa eventually tired, I got to thinking, maybe for all our mental health the season should not be stopped, imagine the season is stopped right now, it was bad enough the first time round with halting and having no football/major sports to watch. It will be worse this time round.
If the top leagues can have regular testing and stay covid free, great, Imagine Hibs have 4/5 cases, and the 1st team cant play, I would rather see us play our kids like Villa did and lose 5-0 than not have fitba.
Maybe the SPFL could come out and say right now ´there will be no relegation this season´??
09-01-2021, 08:19 AM
I was actually thinking about why the season hasnt been stopped already, then watched last nights Villa v Liverpool game, where Villa first team only consisted of a team of 17-23 year olds, first half was not bad but Villa eventually tired, I got to thinking, maybe for all our mental health the season should not be stopped, imagine the season is stopped right now, it was bad enough the first time round with halting and having no football/major sports to watch. It will be worse this time round.
If the top leagues can have regular testing and stay covid free, great, Imagine Hibs have 4/5 cases, and the 1st team cant play, I would rather see us play our kids like Villa did and lose 5-0 than not have fitba.
Maybe the SPFL could come out and say right now ´there will be no relegation this season´??
No promotion and relegation probably fair :)
Thursday was a prime example of no footy on TV and it felt very odd. I agree from a selfish point of view football on TV definitely has its effects. But everyone has been affected in some way this pandemic. Weddings, funerals etc and even local activities for some like swimming and 5 a side football.
The issue with last nights Villa game was it was really kids v Adults and it’s a health and safety issue but I agree it was fascinating to watch the game and amazing experience for the kids. Milner said at end it wasn’t ideal for either but I’ve never seen a game like that.
Though say Hibs v Hearts in Scottish Cup..and Hibs have to play youth team (are they even training?!!) then Hearts beat us 10-0. Would we want to have that risk ?!
09-01-2021, 08:24 AM
No promotion and relegation probably fair :)
Thursday was a prime example of no footy on TV and it felt very odd. I agree from a selfish point of view football on TV definitely has its effects. But everyone has been affected in some way this pandemic. Weddings, funerals etc and even local activities for some like swimming and 5 a side football.
The issue with last nights Villa game was it was really kids v Adults and it’s a health and safety issue but I agree it was fascinating to watch the game and amazing experience for the kids. Milner said at end it wasn’t ideal for either but I’ve never seen a game like that.
Though say Hibs v Hearts in Scottish Cup..and Hibs have to play youth team (are they even training?!!) then Hearts beat us 10-0. Would we want to have that risk ?!
How about 5 goal difference only allowed, yeah bit weird to implement.
09-01-2021, 09:48 AM
Dubai like the Man City women’s players (match postponed) and obviously Celtic.
Doesn’t matter about strict protocols at the ground / training..they aren’t testing and they mixing with all different types of people at work(some work at supermarkets etc ) and home.
The Women’s leagues should stop also along will all leagues under the Premier league as they are all testing x2 a week which is still not full proof.
That was my point about Dubai. Also they are being asked to avoid socialising with anyone outside of their family bubble. Those that are working are following their own work protocols. Testing people doesn’t stop them getting Covid. It just points out those that get it ( like dozens of Prem players). You either stop it all or you allow pro sport to continue and ensure clubs manage players properly. There is just as much chance of a Prem player getting Covid as there is an SWPL.
09-01-2021, 10:59 AM
That was my point about Dubai. Also they are being asked to avoid socialising with anyone outside of their family bubble. Those that are working are following their own work protocols. Testing people doesn’t stop them getting Covid. It just points out those that get it ( like dozens of Prem players). You either stop it all or you allow pro sport to continue and ensure clubs manage players properly. There is just as much chance of a Prem player getting Covid as there is an SWPL.
A player in the Premiership might catch it, but the testing means there is a far greater chance of identifying it and isolating it. A full time, Premiership player should also have less interactions outside of football (no second place of work). There is no comparison between the two really.
It’s a matter of time until football is stopped where there is no testing.
09-01-2021, 11:53 AM
Could you imagine the seethe from Ipox and their hordes of Orcs if the season was null and voided ?
I posed the question to Tam McManus - what are the provisions of the league was halted now? (just after the Orcs had beaten Celtc) - and facetiously continued to as if the asterisks just cancel each other out ?
I think the sooner the penny drops regarding the enormity of what we are facing the better.
The calls for getting folks back into the ground prior to now can be seen as folly.
Look at Wales and their hospital situation. They’ve been in what appears to have been a poorly observed lockdown for 2 months and at its end extended further. Enough people that are not observing the rules need to get real, get sick or get vaccinated.
09-01-2021, 12:53 PM
A player in the Premiership might catch it, but the testing means there is a far greater chance of identifying it and isolating it. A full time, Premiership player should also have less interactions outside of football (no second place of work). There is no comparison between the two really.
It’s a matter of time until football is stopped where there is no testing.
My thoughts too.
Of course Doidge could go to Asda and interact with others but that’s different to a non professional player in SWPL working a full shift in a supermarket or a SWPL player working with the NHS.
It’s too simple to say non professionals have as much chance as a professional to get Covid. But I do agree neither are immune to it obviously but the key like most things is to find the balance.
SWPL, Lowland league and EOS leagues are not that important right now on the scale of what’s happening. Even the Premier league in Scotland isn’t that important but with the TV money and giving a large amount of fans something to look forward to I can see why it continues.
If this minor leagues are allowed to play then why not open the corn exchange and let people back playing every night. Why are the swimming pools shut and you can’t even play doubles at tennis ?!!
stu in nottingham
09-01-2021, 05:21 PM
It's obviously going to be very difficult to finish off competitions for this season now and whilst I'd miss football, I'd say it the safest and most sensible act to close football down now either majoritively or completely.
I've often wondered how players feel about their safety as opposed to their income too. This player, Wes Thomas of Notts County is now refusing to train with the squad. It's not clear whether that extends to playing in games. I can't blame him either after contracting Covid in November, having a kidney condition that renders him vulnerable and new-born child to protect.
Felt that many of the comment by supporters on this thread were pretty shabby. Some things are more important than football.
https://twitter.com/LeighCurtis_NP/status/1347175563593658370?s=20