View Full Version : Thank you Leeann Dempster

05-01-2021, 09:28 PM
Scotsman reporting that LD officially left the club this evening. Apparently there is no immediate replacement but I imagine I am not the only one who will wish her all the very best. She brought our club forward in great strides. I hope RG will do the same, with bells on, going forward.

05-01-2021, 09:31 PM
Thank you for taking our club from one of its lowest ebbs to one that we can be proud of again.

05-01-2021, 09:36 PM
Best signing for the club in my lifetime.

It can't be overlooked just how shambolic a state we were in when Dempster entered the frame, the turnaround was remarkable and I don't believe for a second it could have happened under the previous leadership. Leeann leaves with a whole lot of work she can be proud of, and the gratitude of many, many Hibs fans.

Whoever takes over the role has big shoes to fill, but is joining a club in a very strong position, with so much potential for growth. Night and day.

Thanks Leeann. Take care.

h1bs4life
05-01-2021, 09:42 PM
Thank you Leeann for everything you have done for our club , you were a big part of the team that finally delivered the Holy Grail.
Good luck in the future .

05-01-2021, 09:48 PM
She did very well & has given the club a good platform to move forward from, let's make sure we use it.

05-01-2021, 09:51 PM
Thank you Leeann.
You took helped take us from one of the blackest days in my time supporting the Hibs to a day I had almost given up seeing in my lifetime.
Thanks for all you have done for the Club and good luck in the future.

05-01-2021, 09:56 PM
An absolutely integral part of turning the club around from the car crash it was when she arrived. There can't be many CEOs who will be remembered with affection by the fans of clubs they worked for, Leeann Dempster is without doubt in that select group.

Thanks for everything Leeann, all the very best to you for the future :aok:

Gerard
05-01-2021, 09:57 PM
An absolutely integral part of turning the club around from the car crash it was when she arrived. There can't be many CEOs who will be remembered with affection by the fans of clubs they worked for, Leeann Dempster is without doubt in that select group.

Thanks for everything Leeann, all the very best to you for the future :aok:

Thank you for your hard work at Hibs. I wish you every future success and good health for the future.

05-01-2021, 10:03 PM
shame, she's missing out on Loyalty Points

but all the best anyway

:(

05-01-2021, 10:04 PM
Good luck Leeann. All the best and thank you

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

darwenhibby
05-01-2021, 10:10 PM
Goes without saying
She was a breath of fresh air when she joined Hibs
Took the club by the scruff of the neck and turned it around dramatically
The person who continues the project of taking us to the next level has got a legacy to follow
Best of luck Leann but stay away from Glasgow’s ugly sisters

05-01-2021, 10:12 PM
Tough act to follow. She has composure and credibility.

05-01-2021, 10:31 PM
I think she did a very good job overall, initially in difficult times. I wish her all the best for her future.

05-01-2021, 10:51 PM
Leeann is without a doubt one of the best things to happen to the club in my time as a supporter, and I go back to the Harry Swan era. The lady is a class act and will be incredibly difficult to follow.
Thank you for all you achieved at Hibernian, Leeann, and all the very best for the future.

05-01-2021, 10:54 PM
She will quite rightly be remembered as a Hibernian legend. Says everything about her.

05-01-2021, 11:05 PM
Think we will look back in years to come and realise what an amazing job she did. She put a structure in place for the manager where he was supported fully.

Will miss her interviews and hope she can look back fondly on her time at hibs.

05-01-2021, 11:11 PM
Looking from the outside at staff recruitment and political decisions the only one she appeared to get wrong was employing Hecky but even then moved him on at the right time.
That is one hell of a batting average. Hibs were very lucky to have her as our CEO.

05-01-2021, 11:41 PM
Would not have won the cup without her and the sensational job she did rebuilding this club. Seriously. Folk complain about us now but it's nothing like the 4 dreadful years prior to relegation. Club has come on leaps and bounds and she's been the main player. I wish her nothing but success.

05-01-2021, 11:53 PM
thanks leeann, for many things, but especially your not inconsiderable role in bring us the holy grail. don't know if we've ever had such a great chief exec.

badabing67
05-01-2021, 11:59 PM
Who knows maybe we'll meet again. All the best Leeann

06-01-2021, 12:25 AM
Credit to our club.

Thank you Leanne. Good luck. 💚

06-01-2021, 02:53 AM
A friendly and down to earth lady who got things that needed to be done, whether popular or not, done.

CEO’s can’t be a force of change forever though, and I think we got the best out of her in her six and a bit years.

I wish you well in your next challenge, and the Oz Hibs branch have bought a new BBQ which will be unpacked, and fired up, should you ever venture this far south.

06-01-2021, 06:35 AM
Showed true leadership when she arrived and leaves a great legacy.

Cheers Leeann and all the best.

Juice-Terry
06-01-2021, 06:46 AM
Thanks for everything Leeann and all the best. GGTTH!

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

banchoryhibs
06-01-2021, 07:33 AM
Very many thanks Leeann, I'm very sorry to see you go but all the best for the future. You have been great for our club!

06-01-2021, 07:37 AM
A huge loss to the club. Thank you LD :flag:

06-01-2021, 07:39 AM
She helped give us a proper football club back again, thank you. :top marks:thumbsup::thumbsup:

06-01-2021, 08:13 AM
She transformed and modernised us. It’s a shame we didn’t recruit her 5 years earlier, she did an excellent job. Wish her well as think it was probably time for a amicable mutual parting.

If Petrie has any sense he’ll get her in to sort the SFA.

Hillsidehibby
06-01-2021, 08:21 AM
Good luck Leanne
The jambos hated you. That meant you were one of us.

06-01-2021, 09:14 AM
Best of luck and thanks for everything, Leeann.

18Craig75
06-01-2021, 09:16 AM
Made the right call on your first day in sacking the dinosaur Butcher. Haven’t got many wrong since then either.

Some legacy you leave behind, without your hard work there’s no doubt in my mind that the Scottish Cup would still be alluding us.

Having said that all high profile roles have a shelf life for both the individual and the organisation. Good luck on the next part of your journey whatever that may be.

06-01-2021, 09:22 AM
Forever a place in Hibstory assured - it’s a shame that some folks (surely a tiny minority if vocal at times) will only truly appreciate what she brought now that she’s gone.

The best appointment bar none that could have been made at the time. Many were surprised we got her (myself included) she was just what we needed at that time a master stroke in securing the services of Stubbs and team around him.

Time will tell what happened with Lenny - Hecky what if the players had clicked or if he’d altered his system? In Ross who knows...

It’s probably a good time to hand over the baton.
Focus more on commercials after building on the community aspect. Maybe with COVID that will prove a more lasting and timely legacy to make a real difference?

06-01-2021, 09:46 AM
Good luck and thank you.

Highwayman
06-01-2021, 09:51 AM
Best wishes and good luck for the future Leeann.Had great admiration for her in many things and especially the way she handled the Neil Lennon affair with dignity and composure .Real class.

Greenworld
06-01-2021, 10:24 AM
A motherwell friend has said we have asked to speak to Burrows ..would be no big surprise if true .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

06-01-2021, 10:26 AM
A motherwell friend has said we have asked to speak to Burrows ..would be no big surprise if true .

Not saying he won’t be considered , but we wouldn’t have to ask to speak to a CEO...and also, who would we actually ask ? Would it not be him?

Percy Vere
06-01-2021, 10:28 AM
Class act.
Thankyou and good luck.

Greenworld
06-01-2021, 10:30 AM
Not saying he won’t be considered , but we wouldn’t have to ask to speak to a CEO...and also, who would we actually ask ? Would it not be him?Lol never thought of that ...maybe we did just ask him if we could speak to him [emoji23][emoji23][emoji6]

Greenio
06-01-2021, 10:37 AM

It can't be overlooked just how shambolic a state we were in when Dempster entered the frame, the turnaround was remarkable and I don't believe for a second it could have happened under the previous leadership. Leeann leaves with a whole lot of work she can be proud of, and the gratitude of many, many Hibs fans.

Whoever takes over the role has big shoes to fill, but is joining a club in a very strong position, with so much potential for growth. Night and day.

Spot on

06-01-2021, 10:42 AM
Very hard to get everything right, but she seemed to get most things right. She is very impressive in what she does. Thank you Leeann and best wishes in your future.

06-01-2021, 11:13 AM

This, 100%. A top signing & she'll be missed.

06-01-2021, 11:27 AM
I realise there's some people that didn't quite take to her, and that's fair enough, but overall she did a fantastic job at Hibs.

As others have already said, having the foresight to dump Butcher was the start of our revival.

06-01-2021, 11:36 AM
Cometh the hour, cometh the woman. Events show was absolutely the best person for us at the time she took the job. The club was going downwards rapidly.

A genuine part of recent Hibs history and I think she made a great success of getting the club firmly on the right track.

Leaves with my gratitude and good wishes.

Eaststand
06-01-2021, 12:06 PM
Thanks for all the good work you did at our Club Leeann, you've been a breath of fresh air and you will be a very hard act to follow.

All the best for the future.

Roxyhibee
06-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Thank you Leeann. A hugely significant appointment for Hibs at one of the lowest times of our history. Even called me once at home, because of a communication breakdown I was experiencing with the administration office over a lift pass. A real class act.

Good luck in everything you do, but you know as well as us, nothing will top that day in May..👍🇳🇬

06-01-2021, 02:39 PM
Love her and so grateful for everything she has done for us.

Hope she has a happy life beyond Hibs 💚

Allez Hibs
06-01-2021, 05:27 PM
Well done Leann for getting Hibs back to where they should be.

06-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Been a good few years with her at the helm.

Wishing her all the best in her new career.

06-01-2021, 05:40 PM
Rod Petrie's best appointment

06-01-2021, 05:48 PM
Best signing Rod Petrie ever made. Turned the club around and gave us a fantastic platform to move forward.
Good luck wherever you end up Leeanne.

06-01-2021, 07:01 PM
Thanks Leeann you turned the club into a well structured professional outfit and improved the PR of the club from nil to 100%. So won't see you at the Jet Garage in Tranent ever again.

06-01-2021, 07:02 PM
Thanks for everything Leeann. The best signing Hibs have made in my lifetime. All the best at Queen's Park.

06-01-2021, 07:41 PM
Many many many thanks Leeann. All the besf for whatever you decide to do next.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

KingPat4
06-01-2021, 09:43 PM
Thanks for everything Leeann. You are a big part of our history now. Best of luck.

06-01-2021, 09:54 PM
Thanks for everything Leeann and best of luck for the future. Please don't go to Hearts or Rangers. Maybe go sort out the SFA. 💚

06-01-2021, 10:10 PM
The coverage in the Scotsman is quite poor. No substance, no interviews or quotes and leading with a negative tone. The allegations of an impatient support are absurd.

Allez Hibs
06-01-2021, 10:14 PM
The coverage in the Scotsman is quite poor. No substance, no interviews or quotes and leading with a negative tone. The allegations of an impatient support are absurd.

We are an impatient support though. Dempster has achieved parity at Hibs.

06-01-2021, 10:57 PM

The Scotsman are claiming that we impatient and agitated for Leeann’s successor to be announced, which is horse s*** imo.

07-01-2021, 01:36 AM
Thank you, thank you, thank you Leeann. She sorted my family out with their Scottish Cup Final tickets in 2016 when ticket office didn't respond.

I am proud to be next to her name on the yellow HSL 3rd strip this season.

She brought so much love and joy back to being a Hibee, after one of our lowest ebbs. Good luck to her on her future endeavours.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

HibbyDave
07-01-2021, 07:54 AM
Hopefully she will take up a post down south and not end up at Hunbrox

07-01-2021, 08:38 AM

Read the report again and you will see exactly what Jacamo is saying!

We are ‘both on and off the field and simply floating on the tide. These are the reporters words.

Then all of this is generating disquiet and threatening to take the shine off what has been a largely positive negotiation of the initial Covid difficulties and of the first half of the season.

What a crock. No quotes, no substance and negative.

Written by a Hearts supporter.

As for being impatient - show me a football fan that isn’t!

07-01-2021, 12:32 PM
Nice message to the fans from Leeann.
" I didn't arrive as a Hibs fan but it was a challenge i wanted to get stuck into. To restore the club to where it should be.Surrounded by some wonderful people on and off the pitch. I'm proud of what has been achieved and the foundations laid to push on. Thank you for all the kind messages,i'm glad we managed to put a few smiles on faces along the way. From that day in May 2016,some European adventures and promotion to getting a legend like Pat Stanton in an official capacity. No matter where i go the club will mean so much to me.It really got under my skin and i wish all the players and staff all the best going forward There are to many individuals to mention that deserve my thanks,they know who they are. GGTTH "

07-01-2021, 12:41 PM
Thank you, thank you, thank you, Leeann.

May the sun always shine on you.

Sauerkraut
07-01-2021, 01:07 PM
Adios mi amiga y muchas gracias.

Mr. Wonderful
07-01-2021, 01:12 PM
Came in. Steadied the ship, appointed the manager we needed at the time and won us the cup.

A mixed bag since. Some horrid decisions made, failed managerial appointments and some league finishes that Petrie would've been hounded for a few years ago.

All in all a success and behind the scenes we're much improved but probably time for her and hibs to take the next step.

07-01-2021, 01:12 PM
All the best wishes Leeann. Thanks for restoring the club to where it should be.

07-01-2021, 10:27 PM
Best wishes and good luck.

08-01-2021, 07:03 PM
At the Queens Park game tonight.

08-01-2021, 07:04 PM
At the Queens Park game tonight.

She’s well wrapped up. Looks ****ing cauld.

Santa Cruz
08-01-2021, 07:05 PM
Taking over at Queens Park by the looks of it

08-01-2021, 07:12 PM
Queens Park makes sense for LD, it's close to home and a good sporting challenge. She mentioned wanting to spend more time with family, so a shorter commute must be ideal. Best of luck.

08-01-2021, 07:38 PM

Exciting times ahead for Queens Park. Good luck to them.

08-01-2021, 08:46 PM

She started there this week.

Santa Cruz
08-01-2021, 10:20 PM
She started there this week.

Didn’t know that until I seen her at the game tonight. As others have said good luck to her. Should have stayed at Hibs though 😆

09-01-2021, 07:08 AM
Did a great job for us.

She'll be back :thumbsup:

Alfiembra
09-01-2021, 08:14 AM
Admins could this thread be made a sticky?

There is no question that Leeann Dempster turned our club around, she took us from the lowest of lows to the highest of highs and her hard work and efforts for the club should be recognised here in some way.

Weegreenman
10-01-2021, 09:34 AM
Done a brilliant job in her time at the club and will be sorely missed but everyone moves on at some point.

Good luck Leeann, and thank you 🙏

Hannah_hfc
12-01-2021, 11:34 AM
Just seen on Twitter that Queens Park have announced Leeann as their new chief executive.

https://queensparkfc.co.uk/leeann-dempster-joins-queens-park/

Gutted she has joined another club with them just turning professional I can see how it would appealed. Good luck to her!

EI255
12-01-2021, 04:18 PM
Difficult to use words like gutted etc

She was office staff. She's moved on to Weegville. She gets replaced. We improve.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

hibby rae
12-01-2021, 04:29 PM
Just seen on Twitter that Queens Park have announced Leeann as their new chief executive.

https://queensparkfc.co.uk/leeann-dempster-joins-queens-park/

Gutted she has joined another club with them just turning professional I can see how it would appealed. Good luck to her!

Best of luck to her. Most important signing Hibs made in 2014 was Leeann Dempster.

Would have loved her to stay but I guess she saw it as an interesting challenge and wanted a a change. She's always lived there anyway.

12-01-2021, 04:48 PM
Best of luck to her. Most important signing Hibs made in 2014 was Leeann Dempster.

Would have loved her to stay but I guess she saw it as an interesting challenge and wanted a a change. She's always lived there anyway.

I wish her nothing but the best at Queens Park and I'm relieved she's not gone to Rangers or Hearts.

I think it isn't just for the challenge she's gone there, did someone not say on here a wee while back that she had personal reasons for going back to the West?

ElginHibbie
12-01-2021, 04:52 PM
I wish her nothing but the best at Queens Park and I'm relieved she's not gone to Rangers or Hearts.

I think it isn't just for the challenge she's gone there, did someone not say on here a wee while back that she had personal reasons for going back to the West?

She recently lost her mum and think there has been chat on here she’s been ill for a while, so being closer to loved ones and not having as much of a commute every day may have well played into the decision

12-01-2021, 04:54 PM
She recently lost her mum and think there has been chat on here she’s been ill for a while, so being closer to loved ones and not having as much of a commute every day may have well played into the decision

Thanks EH. 🙂

The Green Sea
12-01-2021, 05:53 PM
Difficult to use words like gutted etc

She was office staff. She's moved on to Weegville. She gets replaced. We improve.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Yes because getting the right office staff, as you describe it, is so easy? A good CEO is hard to find and LD is one of the few in Scottish Football.

Cat Stanton
30-01-2021, 11:23 AM
Coming up on Off The Ball shortly

30-01-2021, 12:25 PM
Hibs cut 1/3 out of the budget and have 11500 season tickets

30-01-2021, 12:26 PM
Just heard her say, the Saturday 3pm ko v Celtic, we sold over 8,000 pay per view deals, mostly she said to Celtic fans

A nice wee earner for Hibs

30-01-2021, 12:26 PM

30-01-2021, 12:29 PM
Hibs cut 1/3 out of the budget and have 11500 season tickets

Not that it really bothers me but is it not really a bit wrong of her to be disclosing financial information about her previous employer?

Don’t recall her releasing that info when she was an employee so why is she talking about it now?

30-01-2021, 12:33 PM
Speaking well about us

30-01-2021, 12:33 PM
Not that it really bothers me but is it not really a bit wrong of her to be disclosing financial information about her previous employer?

Don’t recall her releasing that info when she was an employee so why is she talking about it now?

I’d expect she’d have checked what’s appropriate to say and not say.

It’s interesting to hear and not harmful, surely?

30-01-2021, 12:35 PM
Just heard her say, the Saturday 3pm ko v Celtic, we sold over 8,000 pay per view deals, mostly she said to Celtic fans

A nice wee earner for Hibs

This is where Scottish football needs to get with it, there's a customer base out there of thousands who are prepared to pay £10 (?) to sit and watch the game in their own home and I'll guarantee that Celtic would still sell 3400 tickets for those that want to attend the game.

30-01-2021, 12:35 PM
I’d expect she’d have checked what’s appropriate to say and not say.

It’s interesting to hear and not harmful, surely?

Why didn’t she talk about it when she was employed here then?

As I say, not a big deal and doesn’t bother me really, just a thought I had when I read what she had said

30-01-2021, 12:38 PM
She's coming across very well, no surprise there. Still obviously has real affection for the club. Queens Park are lucky to have her.

30-01-2021, 12:39 PM

It was very much a discussion showing the hard choices that clubs have faced and the way that fans have stepped up to support clubs.

She also mentioned that clubs were looking at season tickets back in November and wondering how they would promote the campaign if there’s no guarantee of getting in at the start of next season

30-01-2021, 12:45 PM
Leeann was brilliant for Hibs and will be a big miss. However, whenever I hear her speak she reminds me of officer Karen in scot squad

30-01-2021, 12:54 PM
Loyalty points :greengrin:

30-01-2021, 01:01 PM
Loyalty points :greengrin:

Haha I laughed at that. She’ll probably be remembered more for them than the cup win.

30-01-2021, 01:07 PM
Leeann was brilliant for Hibs and will be a big miss. However, whenever I hear her speak she reminds me of officer Karen in scot squad

Was it you who phoned in and asked her to say 'Hello Bobby, what can I do for you?'

Nothing but best wishes for her, she was excellent for us, 'got it' & she'll always be part of 2016.

30-01-2021, 01:07 PM
Was it you who phoned in and asked her to say 'Hello Bobby, what can I do for you?'

Nothing but best wishes for her, she was excellent for us, 'got it' & she'll always be part of 2016.
GGNo, wish I had

30-01-2021, 01:17 PM
Haha I laughed at that. She’ll probably be remembered more for them than the cup win.

What did she say about Loyalty points?

30-01-2021, 01:18 PM
What did she say about Loyalty points?

It was the biggest mistake she made and was the bane of her life for 3 years.

30-01-2021, 01:26 PM

Wow, quite a statement

30-01-2021, 01:27 PM
Wow, quite a statement

She was half joking I think.
I think she meant she got a hard time about it.

30-01-2021, 01:27 PM
Wow, quite a statement

I can see why though.

30-01-2021, 01:28 PM
Wow, quite a statement

Think she said that the introduction of Loyalty points was probably her biggest mistake
Someone phoned me so I missed the end of it
Should appear on the podcast in the last 20 mins of the programme

And for what it’s worth, she didn’t mention you😂

30-01-2021, 01:29 PM
She was half joking I think.
I think she meant she got a hard time about it.

Ah ok

30-01-2021, 01:30 PM
I can see why though.

She wasn't forced into it Andy, we thought it was a decent idea to propose to her.

30-01-2021, 01:32 PM
Think she said that the introduction of Loyalty points was probably her biggest mistake
Someone phoned me so I missed the end of it
Should appear on the podcast in the last 20 mins of the programme

And for what it’s worth, she didn’t mention you😂

Haha good Billy. Probably not speaking to me.

30-01-2021, 01:33 PM
She wasn't forced into it Andy, we thought it was a decent idea to propose to her.

It was.

She got that all wrong...and showed a lot of dogma in how she responded to challenges on it....didn’t listen deeply on it

She made an erse of it no mistake.

I can see why though.

You mean it didn’t suit you

30-01-2021, 01:35 PM

I’m not surprised, the time/energy expended by the club trying to appease a few supporters who were worried about missing 1 or 2 games a year was a joke.

30-01-2021, 01:38 PM
You mean it didn’t suit you

I think we are seeing again why it was giving her bother...and just about everyone else.

It suited me fine really but these sort of regular arguments and divisions it added weren’t really worth the problem it was trying to solve.

30-01-2021, 01:39 PM
I think we are seeing again why it was giving her bother...and just about everyone else.

It suited me fine really but these sort of regular arguments and divisions it added weren’t really worth the problem it was trying to solve.

Almost every club with demand greater than supply has a loyalty scheme that has no contention about it ...it was the way Hibs handled it, not the demand from those who want to go to every game ...

Ok dokey, I’ll just leave it here now

I’m not surprised, the time/energy expended by the club trying to appease a few supporters who were worried about missing 1 or 2 games a year was a joke.

Nonsense

30-01-2021, 01:40 PM

Where you one of the ‘well known Hibs fans who hood-winked her into it when she was just in the door’ 🤣

30-01-2021, 01:41 PM
Aw naw, not another argument about Loyalty Points.

30-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Where you one of the ‘well known Hibs fans who hood-winked her into it when she was just in the door’ 🤣

Disappointed in her saying hood winked but yes, I proposed the idea:agree:

30-01-2021, 01:49 PM
Nonsense

You clearly think the benefits of that particular loyalty scheme justified the man hours/administration required by the club to implement and manage it. Fair enough, I, and many fellow hibs fans I know didn’t.

30-01-2021, 01:53 PM
You clearly think the benefits of that particular loyalty scheme justified the man hours/administration required by the club to implement and manage it. Fair enough, I, and many fellow hibs fans I know didn’t.

It wasn't time consuming. Hibs had a database which could tell / analyse who purchased tickets.

I thought it was fair, for those that wanted to attend every match, not just cherry picking the "good games". There were many fans for the scheme

30-01-2021, 05:30 PM
It wasn't time consuming. Hibs had a database which could tell / analyse who purchased tickets.

I thought it was fair, for those that wanted to attend every match, not just cherry picking the "good games". There were many fans for the scheme

Agree - think the issue was she didn't understand the benefits of such a scheme. Clearly she still doesn't. The line that the away season ticket sorted this is just not correct. All that did was ensure that those who could and wanted to go to all away games got tickets first. That could easily have been done in conjunction with a loyalty point scheme. These things are about engagement with the support and building brand loyalty, something that has been ignored for too long. Commercially the Club stood still under Dempster. So many missed opportunities which we'll hopefully see improvements on going forward.

Helensburghhibs
30-01-2021, 06:13 PM
Agree - think the issue was she didn't understand the benefits of such a scheme. Clearly she still doesn't. The line that the away season ticket sorted this is just not correct. All that did was ensure that those who could and wanted to go to all away games got tickets first. That could easily have been done in conjunction with a loyalty point scheme. These things are about engagement with the support and building brand loyalty, something that has been ignored for too long. Commercially the Club stood still under Dempster. So many missed opportunities which we'll hopefully see improvements on going forward.

Also agree, going from loyalty points to an away season ticket went from a system that could be fair across the board to an all or nothing. The downfall of the loyalty scheme were all the side shows that people wanted points for, points should have been for.match ticket sales only

30-01-2021, 08:34 PM

Exactly. The lack of 2016 SC merch, would have made the club a small fortune.

30-01-2021, 08:50 PM
Aw naw, not another argument about Loyalty Points.

As if to prove her point...

30-01-2021, 08:54 PM
The downfall of the loyalty scheme were all the side shows that people wanted points for, points should have been for.match ticket sales only

As in the way that every club with one administer it. Without any real complaint.

30-01-2021, 09:18 PM
Also agree, going from loyalty points to an away season ticket went from a system that could be fair across the board to an all or nothing. The downfall of the loyalty scheme were all the side shows that people wanted points for, points should have been for.match ticket sales only

I can’t remember folk screaming for loyalty points to sign up to HSL. I’m sure that was on the club. And was what screwed the scheme.

30-01-2021, 09:26 PM
There were plenty of dissenting voices against the loyalty scheme. Personally I wasnt one of those and thought the scheme was good and Leeann got this wrong IMO. But surely we shouldnt be judging Leeanns time at Hibs by that particular issue, she clearly had a massive positive influence on the club and was a main player in moving this Club, its relationship with its fanbase and community forward hugely.

30-01-2021, 09:53 PM
This is where Scottish football needs to get with it, there's a customer base out there of thousands who are prepared to pay £10 (?) to sit and watch the game in their own home and I'll guarantee that Celtic would still sell 3400 tickets for those that want to attend the game.

Spot on :agree: and not just the Rangers and Celtic but across the clubs there will be fans who, for whatever reason, can’t make it to away games and who would take a PPV option.

If priced properly, it could be a significant income generator for clubs and should be built into negotiations next time the TV deal is renewed.

The biggest problem with it is that Sky show the Rangers and Celtic away every week which would be the biggest earner.

30-01-2021, 10:01 PM
Spot on :agree: and not just the Rangers and Celtic but across the clubs there will be fans who, for whatever reason, can’t make it to away games and who would take a PPV option.

If priced properly, it could be a significant income generator for clubs and should be built into negotiations next time the TV deal is renewed.

The biggest problem with it is that Sky show the Rangers and Celtic away every week which would be the biggest earner.

I don’t think PPV revenue touches the revenue from TV.

TV revenue doesn’t exist without having the exclusivity. We’d be worse off IMO. And it would also discourage folk from going when we should be trying to do the opposite.

30-01-2021, 10:19 PM
I don’t think PPV revenue touches the revenue from TV.

TV revenue doesn’t exist without having the exclusivity. We’d be worse off IMO. And it would also discourage folk from going when we should be trying to do the opposite.

That’s the point i was making, the principle is there and if we were able to tap into selling ppv for games we could make money on it but because of the TV deals, which rely on Sky etc broadcasting Rangers and Celtic away, we couldn’t rely on PPV alone.

31-01-2021, 06:51 AM
Be interesting to see how any TV options develop after we get back to people at the games. I’m trying to get my head around what objections the likes of Sky/BBC would have with clubs broadcasting games online through PPV that they are not covering. I suppose it would perhaps devalue any highlights package. There would be no right to PPV games selected by Sky which would make sense as the revenue generated for the clubs in that deal surely out weighs any PPV income.

I guess it would be the clubs who would have the main concern around getting more people in the ground. Some are heavily reliant on Celtic/Rangers coming to town, even us at a lesser extent. I would go to all hibs games at home as usual but only go to a few away games each year, I would however pay to watch most away games on PPV,.

31-01-2021, 10:44 AM
I can’t remember folk screaming for loyalty points to sign up to HSL. I’m sure that was on the club. And was what screwed the scheme.

It was the club and in dragging HSL towards the LP scheme in the heavy manner they did, the club alienated everyone outside of HSL. That’s when they got all the stick, that’s when the extra admin she bashed on about became necessary, that’s when it became the bane of her life. She screwed up and blamed part of the fanbase for it.

Pre all the HSL stuff, the scheme was working fine with very little complaint from those that missed out on a ticket here or there.
By the time she had done away with it I was among those that had a grumble as she introduced an online lottery to get derby match away tickets and OF away tickets.

Loyalty schemes seem to have worked ok at other clubs by and large.

Hibs just cannot do the ticket selling thing properly and Dempster did nothing in her tenure to improve this. The discussion here, which we’ve all had before, proves that she helped make a bad thing worse.

31-01-2021, 10:49 AM
Be interesting to see how any TV options develop after we get back to people at the games. I’m trying to get my head around what objections the likes of Sky/BBC would have with clubs broadcasting games online through PPV that they are not covering. I suppose it would perhaps devalue any highlights package. There would be no right to PPV games selected by Sky which would make sense as the revenue generated for the clubs in that deal surely out weighs any PPV income.

I guess it would be the clubs who would have the main concern around getting more people in the ground. Some are heavily reliant on Celtic/Rangers coming to town, even us at a lesser extent. I would go to all hibs games at home as usual but only go to a few away games each year, I would however pay to watch most away games on PPV,.

So by your own admission you only go to a few games each year, presumably Tynie.

That's what we were trying to implement to help those that went everywhere from Alloa to Aberdeen, a bit of a reward for their efforts in securing them bigger match tickets first.

Hardly fair if they went to all games, but missed out on a ticket lottery for the bigger fixtures.

31-01-2021, 11:00 AM

I struggle to grasp why she couldn't understand such a basic & simple scheme. Attend a match, get a point & the more points you have the higher up the list you are. We are probably only one of the so called bigger teams who did not have a loyalty points scheme in place.

Instead she comes up with this great idea to pilot an away season ticket, whether you could go or not you still had to buy a ticket, only we could come up with such a $h1t3 idea.

31-01-2021, 11:05 AM
I struggle to grasp why she couldn't understand such a basic & simple scheme. Attend a match, get a point & the more points you have the higher up the list you are. We are probably only one of the so called bigger teams who did not have a loyalty points scheme in place.

Instead she comes up with this great idea to pilot an away season ticket, whether you could go or not you still had to buy a ticket, only we could come up with such a $h1t3 idea.

But didn’t some fans what away games to count more? So ST holders were behind fans that would go to Alloa to Aberdeen etc. That made no sense ever to me.

31-01-2021, 11:17 AM
So by your own admission you only go to a few games each year, presumably Tynie.

That's what we were trying to implement to help those that went everywhere from Alloa to Aberdeen, a bit of a reward for their efforts in securing them bigger match tickets first.

Hardly fair if they went to all games, but missed out on a ticket lottery for the bigger fixtures.

Can’t recall the last time I was at Tynecastle for a derby,. I’ve got a young family, girls who are only now showing an interest in coming along. I’ve preferred to limit away game as I’ve wanted to spend time with the family every second Saturday. Any away games have been limited to the likes of Livingston when I’ve been more comfortable taking them along.

Appreciate that loyalty points were a burning issue for a limited number of supporters. However, in my opinion, having some form of hierarchy, other than fans who committed to season tickets, was not right. As a season ticket holder for as long as I can remember my view was that there should be a ballot for any games were tickets were restricted. I’m just not comfortable having anymore ‘tiers’ of fans, primarily because it starts to (a) create a divide in the support and (b) favour supporters who have the financial resources and/or perhaps time to follow hibs to every away game. Just doesn’t sit right with me, just my view, and respect the fact that it won’t be everybody’s.

31-01-2021, 11:45 AM

It made no difference in the end (in terms of anyone actually getting a ticket over a non HSL member) but was probably the final argument that made her close the scheme.

It just sounds like it was explained and communicated very well to LD and to the fan base. It should be something we have and it should be easy but for some reason we made it complicated for many to get their head round. Either that or we’ve got a really argumentative fan base who can’t agree on the simplest thing.

31-01-2021, 11:46 AM
But didn’t some fans what away games to count more? So ST holders were behind fans that would go to Alloa to Aberdeen etc. That made no sense ever to me.

Not sure about that, Baldy will be able to confirm. I would say 1 point per game nothing else. I think the issues that arose were when individuals received extra points for signing up to different initiatives which certainly wasn't fair.

31-01-2021, 11:48 AM
Can’t recall the last time I was at Tynecastle for a derby,. I’ve got a young family, girls who are only now showing an interest in coming along. I’ve preferred to limit away game as I’ve wanted to spend time with the family every second Saturday. Any away games have been limited to the likes of Livingston when I’ve been more comfortable taking them along.

Appreciate that loyalty points were a burning issue for a limited number of supporters. However, in my opinion, having some form of hierarchy, other than fans who committed to season tickets, was not right. As a season ticket holder for as long as I can remember my view was that there should be a ballot for any games were tickets were restricted. I’m just not comfortable having anymore ‘tiers’ of fans, primarily because it starts to (a) create a divide in the support and (b) favour supporters who have the financial resources and/or perhaps time to follow hibs to every away game. Just doesn’t sit right with me, just my view, and respect the fact that it won’t be everybody’s.

So why do other clubs have loyalty points?

31-01-2021, 11:50 AM
Not sure about that, Baldy will be able to confirm. I would say 1 point per game nothing else. I think the issues that arose were when individuals received extra points for signing up to different initiatives which certainly wasn't fair.

Nah there were arguments prior to that - points harvesting etc. Some saw it as creating a hierarchy as well - all before the HSL points.

I hear Hearts fans talking about theirs and they never seem to complain - just a simple “I can get a ticket yet cos it’s only open to 180 points and above and I have 170. Hopefully get a ticket in the next release”.

We banged the doors down to get the scheme stopped.

31-01-2021, 11:52 AM

Take a seat Baldy. If the chief executive couldn't work this out what chance did us minions have.

31-01-2021, 11:54 AM
Take a seat Baldy. If the chief executive couldn't work this out what chance did us minions have.

:agree: goes back to my point on how it was explained and communicated.

31-01-2021, 11:58 AM
Nah there were arguments prior to that - points harvesting etc. Some saw it as creating a hierarchy as well - all before the HSL points.

I hear Hearts fans talking about theirs and they never seem to complain - just a simple “I can get a ticket yet cos it’s only open to 180 points and above and I have 170. Hopefully get a ticket in the next release”.

We banged the doors down to get the scheme stopped.

Correct didn't want to mention Hertz, but it is so f3ck3n simple. As you said starts high then goes down 10 every time. You get a few days in your category. Then lesser points category after that & continues down all the categories until all tickets are gone.

31-01-2021, 11:59 AM
:agree: goes back to my point on how it was explained and communicated.

Whose fault was that?

31-01-2021, 12:01 PM
Whose fault was that?

I’m not sure. Maybe the group that left her feeling “hood winked”?

31-01-2021, 12:02 PM
Correct didn't want to mention Hertz, but it is so f3ck3n simple. As you said starts high then goes down 10 every time. You get a few days in your category. Then lesser points category after that & continues down all the categories until all tickets are gone.

:agree: it’s such a simple concept but we made a right mess of it.

31-01-2021, 12:09 PM
It was the club and in dragging HSL towards the LP scheme in the heavy manner they did, the club alienated everyone outside of HSL. That’s when they got all the stick, that’s when the extra admin she bashed on about became necessary, that’s when it became the bane of her life. She screwed up and blamed part of the fanbase for it.

Pre all the HSL stuff, the scheme was working fine with very little complaint from those that missed out on a ticket here or there.
By the time she had done away with it I was among those that had a grumble as she introduced an online lottery to get derby match away tickets and OF away tickets.

Hibs just cannot do the ticket selling thing properly and Dempster did nothing in her tenure to improve this. The discussion here, which we’ve all had before, proves that she helped make a bad thing worse.

Well written in layman's terms.

I remember when the ticket shop was in ER beside bus shelter. Don't ask me year or who we were playing but it was an all ticket game. The queue went down Sunnyside one side back up the other side then halfway up ER. You could barely fit 3 people in the shop. I think I waited about 6 hours that day for a ticket. Shambles then & not much better now.

31-01-2021, 12:20 PM
So why do other clubs have loyalty points?

I don’t know, you’d have to ask them. I see the need to give priority to season ticket holders to incentivise and provide additional value to that commitment. Beyond that? Not for me, you then start to potentially apply a hierarchy of fan based on, probably, financial resources....all for the sake of a couple of games a year. I’m in a fortune enough position to go be able to afford to go to every game if I had the time, and probably will when the kids are older, if the other half allows! But, I wouldn’t want to be treated any differently to any other season ticket who may be stretched enough committing to a season ticket. I’d happily take my chances in a ballot for Tynecastle should I wish to go.

Are fans who go to all the away game going to stop going because they are not accruing ‘loyalty’ points, I doubt it. On that basis, what benefit do Hibs derive by running and facilitating such a scheme?

31-01-2021, 12:35 PM
I don’t know, you’d have to ask them. I see the need to give priority to season ticket holders to incentivise and provide additional value to that commitment. Beyond that? Not for me, you then start to potentially apply a hierarchy of fan based on, probably, financial resources....all for the sake of a couple of games a year. I’m in a fortune enough position to go be able to afford to go to every game if I had the time, and probably will when the kids are older, if the other half allows! But, I wouldn’t want to be treated any differently to any other season ticket who may be stretched enough committing to a season ticket. I’d happily take my chances in a ballot for Tynecastle should I wish to go.

Are fans who go to all the away game going to stop going because they are not accruing ‘loyalty’ points, I doubt it. On that basis, what benefit do Hibs derive by running and facilitating such a scheme?

Hibs don't benefit anything from this. Its for the loyal fans to benefit. The potential is there for Hibs to sell out every away game but we always shoot ourselves in the foot. Why should someone who doesn't fancy a Tuesday night at Ross County but wants a ticket for Ibrox have the same chance as the fan who goes to Ross County on the Tuesday night & also wants to go to Ibrox.

I am no longer the home & away fan i used to be 10/15 years ago & certainly wouldn't be upset if a loyal points holder was ahead of me in the queue.

It could stop them going to every game if its ticket only & don't get a ticket in an unfair ballot.

houstonhibbee
31-01-2021, 05:52 PM
Puts the record straight to say she's not a rangers fan. Grew up and was one in a Rangers supporting family but going to Motherwell changed that. Says she couldn't care less about the Old Firm.

01-02-2021, 08:24 AM

I think that's a really accurate assessment of the whole LP situation :top marks.

Like a lot of people in positions of authority and a lot of people generally (me included :greengrin ) LD wasn't very willing to admit to making any mistakes or having misread a situation. Having seen her a couple of times at supporters club events she could get very defensive when asked legitimate questions. I also felt she could have done a lot more to defend the club against malicious and false media allegations.

LD does deserve our huge thanks for all she achieved, including her huge role in us attaining the holy grail, but she didn't get everything right and I think it's fair comment to acknowledge that amongst all the praise she deservedly receives.

01-02-2021, 08:27 AM

No, this was the point where people who thought the scheme was there just to look after them took the huff when there were other ways for loyalty to be rewarded too.

It was a problem for the club long before then and as this thread has shown again the type of discussion that came out of from it was very unhelpful.

01-02-2021, 09:23 AM
No, this was the point where people who thought the scheme was there just to look after them took the huff when there were other ways for loyalty to be rewarded too.

It was a problem for the club long before then and as this thread has shown again the type of discussion that came out of from it was very unhelpful.

It certainly generated a lot of unnecessary animosity amongst the support that still rears its head when the topic is brought up.

I'm not sure if the problem needed solved in the first place, I don't know of many people who go to all the away games who ultimately missed out on tickets for the biggest games anyway. My perception was those people (credit to them for going to all the games as well) virtually always managed to get tickets anyway.

01-02-2021, 09:25 AM
It certainly generated a lot of unnecessary animosity amongst the support that still rears its head when the topic is brought up.

I'm not sure if the problem needed solved in the first place, I don't know of many people who go to all the away games who ultimately missed out on tickets for the biggest games anyway. My perception was those people (credit to them for going to all the games as well) virtually always managed to get tickets anyway.

You're right, it didn't and certainly not to the extent that the rest of the admin and hassle was worth it.

01-02-2021, 09:40 AM
Puts the record straight to say she's not a rangers fan. Grew up and was one in a Rangers supporting family but going to Motherwell changed that. Says she couldn't care less about the Old Firm.

The whole Rangers Supporter thing just showed up some of the extremists in our support for what they are.

People have joined Hibs from loads of backgrounds, brought up supporting different teams, but it doesn't mean they haven't been good for Hibs.

Dempster, however, in the eyes of a tiny but vocal minority in our support, was turning us into 'Hunbernian' (one of the stupidest phrases I've ever heard). These are the same people that would be better off going to Celtc Park for their football kicks, where they could sing songs about Bobby Sands and kiss Neil Lennon's Ar5e

(rant over)