04-01-2021, 09:01 AM
Been recalled back to QPR

04-01-2021, 09:02 AM
Time to recall Dabrowski and give him games

04-01-2021, 09:03 AM
Been recalled back to QPR
Where's our paddle? WHERE IS OUR PADDLE?!

04-01-2021, 09:03 AM

There's 10 days to get rocky fit, I'd imagine we'll just do that.

04-01-2021, 09:07 AM
We'll need to sign a keeper or recall one of Dabrowski or Martin.

We can't go into the run of games we have coming up including a semi final with a guy who hasn't played a game in 2 years as back up (and who wasn't very good even when he was paying regularly).

My preference would be to bring Dabrowski back. It's time to see what we have with him.

Just get in another 2nd rate goalie to step in every now and then with the cash we were spending on him.

Only worry is for the Celtic game if Marciano isn't fit by then

There's 10 days to get rocky fit, I'd imagine we'll just do that.

Still need a 2nd keeper so id expect Kev to come back.

04-01-2021, 09:08 AM
Obv I’m not Googling correctly ;) Where you seeing this ?

04-01-2021, 09:11 AM
What are peoples thoughts on Dabrowski? Any good?

04-01-2021, 09:11 AM

Hibs Twitter account / website

04-01-2021, 09:12 AM
Warburtons a fanny

04-01-2021, 09:12 AM

Hibs' twitter. :agree:

I think we'll sign one, either on loan or permanent (the latter if we expect Rocky to move on).

04-01-2021, 09:14 AM
Well, ****. Bring Dabrowski back.

04-01-2021, 09:15 AM

He's very good.

He's also going to be 23 at the start of next season though so we really need to decide if he is capable of challenging for the number 1 shirt here or not. He's done his spells on loan, and done well, but the days of keepers being babied are over. He's not a promising youngster any more, he's either nearly ready to be a Hibs goalkeeper or he's never going to be.

04-01-2021, 09:17 AM
Where's our paddle? WHERE IS OUR PADDLE?!

Maybe a whoosh moment but I dont get it!

04-01-2021, 09:19 AM
Was this suggested as a possibility of happening? Feels a bit out of the blue and leaves us short in a key position. The extra couple of days due to the Celtic farce might turn out to be a blessing with Rocky getting more time to get to full fitness.

Dabrowski more than capable. Bring him back.

Was a completely pointless signing anyway. His appearances would've been better given to KD.

04-01-2021, 09:20 AM
He's very good.

He's also going to be 23 at the start of next season though so we really need to decide if he is capable of challenging for the number 1 shirt here or not. He's done his spells on loan, and done well, but the days of keepers being babied are over. He's not a promising youngster any more, he's either nearly ready to be a Hibs goalkeeper or he's never going to be.

Agree with this.

04-01-2021, 09:21 AM
Was a completely pointless signing anyway. His appearances would've been better given to KD.

Possibly wanting dabrowski to get more first team experience though, I haven't seen enough of him to know what he is like but maybe just not ready for the Premier league

04-01-2021, 09:21 AM
He's very good.

If he's very good I'm surprised we've loaned him out to league one. I'm not disagreeing with you because I know absolutely nothing about the lad.

04-01-2021, 09:25 AM
KD will stay on loan, makes no sense to stop him playing so he can sit on our bench. We will go with Samson or another cheap loan for me.

04-01-2021, 09:40 AM
Given his performances in the last couple of games, I don't think I'll miss him much.

TheCabbage
04-01-2021, 09:40 AM
Pretty sure Hibs wouldn’t have been told this morning this was happening and probably knew for a Few weeks.
Let’s see what happens

04-01-2021, 09:50 AM
KD will stay on loan, makes no sense to stop him playing so he can sit on our bench. We will go with Samson or another cheap loan for me.

We wont go with Samson.

04-01-2021, 09:54 AM
What's Conrad doing at the moment.

04-01-2021, 09:55 AM
Dabrowski has been doing fine on loan, he's at a decent age now so get him back and get him playing.

04-01-2021, 09:58 AM
Zlamal had been told he's free to find a new club 😬

04-01-2021, 09:59 AM

However him being here allowed Dabrowski to play every week elsewhere.

04-01-2021, 10:00 AM

:partyhibb

04-01-2021, 10:01 AM
Wish we had kept Adam Bogdan

04-01-2021, 10:09 AM
Can’t see Rocky being back in 10 days. Already rushed him back for Saturday as they knew we had a break to get him better. I would just make sure he’s fine for the semi final.

Barnes - seemed steady enough but still had a bit to convince me.

5 goals against in last 2 games and some of the league cup games goals questionable.

Thanks for the efforts though and wish him well.

We have KD and Paddy Martin - both on loan. Can we recall them in Scotland ?

Imagine we bring in a keeper then he gets injured / sent off then we have to play Samson against Celtic. Not a great prospect. I was wanting another keeper added before this Barnes news as 3rd choice.

04-01-2021, 10:11 AM
[QUOTE=J-C;6407295]Dabrowski has been doing fine on loan, he's at a decent age now so get him back and get him playing.

A quick glance at recent Sons' match reports shows he seems to be doing well:
From 0-0 draw v Thistle 5 Dec:
Every player stood up and was counted.
None more so that Kevin Dabrowski, who has a bit more to spend on Christmas shopping in the form of a clean sheet bonus after a truly vintage display.
Five minutes from half time he saved a penalty from Brian Graham. But that was only half the story.

From Cove Rangers match 12 Dec:
After Cove passed their way across the box, the ball found Jamie Masson at the back post, but Kevin Dabrowski was alert.
And the big goalie was on form again five minutes later. His save from Daniel Higgins' header from a corner really was something else.
As if that wasn't enough, he kept out another header, this time from Leighton McIntosh, on 29 minutes. He was the difference between Dumbarton and a two-goal deficit in what was, territorially, a fairly even game up to this point.

But conceded 4 next game v Montrose.

04-01-2021, 10:14 AM
I think we'll need to sign someone new despite Debrowski.

If Rocky is fit then he starts and the new guy sits on the bench unless needed, that allows Debrowski to keep playing and developing which I assume is still required for him.

If Rocky isn't fit then someone new in and it's between them or debrowski for first choice keeper until he is.

04-01-2021, 10:15 AM
Wish we had kept Adam Bogdan

Where is he now?

04-01-2021, 10:17 AM
Where is he now?

Ferencvaros in Hungary - not sure if he gets a game though. :dunno:

Argylehibby
If he's very good I'm surprised we've loaned him out to league one. I'm not disagreeing with you because I know absolutely nothing about the lad.

I think the reason is simply he is very good but would not be ahead of Rocky. Letting him go on loan he gets more games and improves further but staying with us for the season he gets a couple of outings in early league cup ties and improvement is slower / restricted.

Where is he now?

Ferencváros.

Magpie
Where is he now?

Hungarian club Ferencváros who were in the Champions League group stages with Barcelona and Juventus. Don’t think he played any of the games though.

04-01-2021, 10:19 AM
Ferencvaros in Hungary - not sure if he gets a game though. :dunno:

He doesn't.

04-01-2021, 10:21 AM

He’s rejoining Kajagoogoo.

04-01-2021, 10:23 AM
Get the polar bear back :greengrin

04-01-2021, 10:33 AM
Get the polar bear back :greengrin

He's currently playing in the ninth tier of English football with the mighty Anstey Nomads.

04-01-2021, 10:37 AM
He's currently playing in the ninth tier of English football with the mighty Anstey Nomads.

Going by the last two games, that's about our level.

:duck:

04-01-2021, 10:55 AM
However him being here allowed Dabrowski to play every week elsewhere.

Only 4 games more than Barnes has played for us this season.

04-01-2021, 10:56 AM
Wonder if Dundee United need money to pay for the Robert transfer from Airdrie? Wouldn't mind seeing their keeper in our team.

04-01-2021, 10:57 AM
Wonder if Dundee United need money to pay for the Robert transfer from Airdrie? Wouldn't mind seeing their keeper in our team.

Don't think Marciano would be happy sitting on the bench

04-01-2021, 11:07 AM
Don't think Marciano would be happy sitting on the bench

I doubt he'd mind, it would only be for cup ties.

04-01-2021, 11:13 AM

If Marciano had played at Celtic Park the way Siegrist did there would be an uproar on here.

04-01-2021, 11:17 AM
Dabrowski should stay out on loan, another loan keeper is the way to go. Bringing him back for maybe 1 game before Rocky is fit won’t help his development. Next season is massive for Dabrowski and he needs to be playing now, not sitting on the bench.

04-01-2021, 11:19 AM
Patrick McPartlin has thrown some interesting names regarding GK's that are available on a free

Some interesting free agent goalkeepers out there at the moment. Jonathan Klinsmann, Örjan Nyland, Jakub Divis, Otso Virtanen, Conrad Logan...

04-01-2021, 11:23 AM

Not really KD is not getting experience or learning sitting watching Rocky.

04-01-2021, 11:24 AM

Good, it's not just me.

04-01-2021, 11:25 AM

He’s more chance a of appearances there than at Hibs. I’d suggest if he can’t get and hold down a first team there then his days at a Hibs must be numbered anyway.

04-01-2021, 11:29 AM

Good, it's not just me.

Losing our only fit senior keeper (apart from Samson) leaves us potentially up s**t creek without one.

04-01-2021, 11:31 AM

Think poster is suggesting that Barnes leaving might leave us up a certain creek without a paddle 😉

04-01-2021, 11:33 AM
Losing our only fit senior keeper (apart from Samson) leaves us potentially up s**t creek without one.

Ahh, that makes sense!!

04-01-2021, 11:35 AM

Possibly, but at the time we couldn’t bank on Rocky missing games due to injury. KD had to go out on loan, and he needs to stay out on loan. The only way he’d play is if Rocky misses games through injury and whilst he’s injured now, I doubt it’s for very long.

04-01-2021, 11:40 AM
Possibly, but at the time we couldn’t bank on Rocky missing games due to injury. KD had to go out on loan, and he needs to stay out on loan. The only way he’d play is if Rocky misses games through injury and whilst he’s injured now, I doubt it’s for very long.

Rocky has missed at least 10 league games in 3 of his 4 seasons here. Coupled with cup ties, I think there was plenty of chances for Kevin to play here this season.

The dalmeny
04-01-2021, 11:44 AM

siegrist seems pretty settled there though there is chat of teams sniffing about , Schalke, for example. I’m not convinced we would be the move he was looking for.

04-01-2021, 11:59 AM
Rocky has missed at least 10 league games in 3 of his 4 seasons here. Coupled with cup ties, I think there was plenty of chances for Kevin to play here this season.

Has he? Last season he never missed any, he was dropped. The season before that he missed 10, but the season before that he missed three games. You still can’t bank on injuries as a reason to keep a young player.

04-01-2021, 12:05 PM
Has he? Last season he never missed any, he was dropped. The season before that he missed 10, but the season before that he missed three games. You still can’t bank on injuries as a reason to keep a young player.

Well, injured/dropped, whatever. He has missed plenty of games. Had an injury already and been away for cup ties.

What exactly are we doing with Gullan if you cant keep a young player as backup?

04-01-2021, 12:08 PM
Well, injured/dropped, whatever. He has missed plenty of games. Had an injury already and been away for cup ties.

What exactly are we doing with Gullan if you cant keep a young player as backup?

You can only ever play 1 goalkeeper at a time, Gullan can play in numerous positions, but you knew that anyway.

04-01-2021, 12:14 PM
You can only ever play 1 goalkeeper at a time, Gullan can play in numerous positions, but you knew that anyway.

Whats the need for the last part? Perfectly civil discussion happening. Keep your snide comments to yourself.

Of course Gullan playing numerous positions offers the possibility of more games, its a good point, but he hasn't really played unless we've been resting others. I don't really think its mad to suggest KD would've seen plenty action this season so far, had we kept him.

04-01-2021, 12:18 PM
:partyhibb

An accurate depiction of Zlamal's goalkeeping style, usually as balls are whizzing past him.

04-01-2021, 12:22 PM

https://assets.bonappetit.com/photos/57e1b4674caff61056fa86bd/master/pass/ttar_coconut_02_v_launch.jpg

04-01-2021, 12:42 PM
I don’t see Dabrowski ever coming back to play as Hibs number 1.

If Rocky left, we’d sign a new first choice keeper. If Rocky stays KD doesn’t play. How many seasons does he go out on loan for experience before his contract is up?

04-01-2021, 12:44 PM
I don’t see Dabrowski ever coming back to play as Hibs number 1.

If Rocky left, we’d sign a new first choice keeper. If Rocky stays KD doesn’t play. How many seasons does he go out on loan for experience before his contract is up?

Think Kevin is out of contact at the end of this season, so decision time for Hibs on him

Hannah_hfc
04-01-2021, 12:53 PM
Bit confused on this- the statement sounds like QPR have recalled Barnes with immediate effect (which I thought implies the team need the player back urgently) and quotes from JR sound like it was down to desire for first team football.

Assuming Marciano is out for a while, I would assume Barnes would have been starting for us, and I’m sure the original loan agreement with Hibs was that he would be predominantly backup.

Is this down to QPR being unhappy at lack of first team football or from the player himself?

04-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Bit confused on this- the statement sounds like QPR have recalled Barnes with immediate effect (which I thought implies the team need the player back urgently) and quotes from JR sound like it was down to desire for first team football.

Assuming Marciano is out for a while, I would assume Barnes would have been starting for us, and I’m sure the original loan agreement with Hibs was that he would be predominantly backup.

Is this down to QPR being unhappy at lack of first team football or from the player himself?

It seems QPR are expecting to sell their keeper in this transfer window, so they want Barnes back.

04-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Think Kevin is out of contact at the end of this season, so decision time for Hibs on him

I know it’s slightly different for goalkeepers, but rule of thumb is generally if players hit their early twenties and haven’t made any real first team impression then they won’t make it at Hibs. My uninformed gut feel is Dabriwski won’t make it and will be another in hindsight we kept on for too long,

04-01-2021, 01:03 PM
Zlamal is being freed by hearts :devil:

Hannah_hfc
04-01-2021, 01:04 PM
It seems QPR are expecting to sell their keeper in this transfer window, so they want Barnes back.

Thanks, that makes a lot more sense then!

Sheep_Nae_Mair
04-01-2021, 01:05 PM
What's Conrad doing at the moment.

Playing with a 7th tier team in England. He's offered his services on Twitter!

04-01-2021, 01:05 PM
I know it’s slightly different for goalkeepers, but rule of thumb is generally if players hit their early twenties and haven’t made any real first team impression then they won’t make it at Hibs. My uninformed gut feel is Dabriwski won’t make it and will be another in hindsight we kept on for too long,

Same as Fraser Murray and Ben Stirling. I had high hopes, but they just weren’t deemed good enough to play for the first team, no point in dragging it out.

04-01-2021, 01:09 PM
Playing with a 7th tier team in England. He's offered his services on Twitter!

Fair play, big yin.

04-01-2021, 01:14 PM

Sooner they get him back, the sooner they can get him out to a new club.

Roxyhibee
04-01-2021, 01:40 PM
That’s a pity. Although he’s got faults (most goalkeepers do) I prefer Rocky - but Barnes was more than decent cover. We had a real luxury with Bogdan being available too.

Stokesy's on fire
04-01-2021, 03:41 PM

No chance we need a keeper capabale of helping us win the league cup nows not the time to experiment

04-01-2021, 03:45 PM
I’m hoping we’ve had a bit of notice of Barnes going back, if not we could be scrambling around
Any update on Rocky’s injury

Funkydunc
04-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Warburtons a fanny

04-01-2021, 04:13 PM
I’m hoping we’ve had a bit of notice of Barnes going back, if not we could be scrambling around
Any update on Rocky’s injury

I’m thinking as soon as the leagues over Fannys hat wanted him back at QPR.

04-01-2021, 04:23 PM
No chance we need a keeper capabale of helping us win the league cup nows not the time to experiment

The 2 cups I've seen Hibs win had Andy McNeil and Conrad Logan in nets, maybe its the perfect time to experiment :greengrin

04-01-2021, 04:41 PM
The 2 cups I've seen Hibs win had Andy McNeil and Conrad Logan in nets, maybe its the perfect time to experiment :greengrin

and the previous cup win we had Budgie in goal age 40 !!

We only win the cup with weird goalies !!

EVENTUALLY
04-01-2021, 04:48 PM

Really Good Point.

I'd bring back KD and let him challenge for the No.1 jersey. I've not seen much of him but at 23 he's not a boy, has good height and reach, looks agile whenever I've seen him during pre-match warm up routines, is very vocal apparently and has been getting good reviews while on loan.

04-01-2021, 04:55 PM
I think the ex livi keeper is keen on a move from QPR

Mr. Wonderful
04-01-2021, 05:16 PM
I think the ex livi keeper is keen on a move from QPR

Cracking keeper. Probably better than Marciano all round.

04-01-2021, 05:18 PM

Nope

04-01-2021, 05:20 PM
I think the ex livi keeper is keen on a move from QPRsurprised he can't get a game looked like a very good keeper

04-01-2021, 05:22 PM
I seen Rob Elliot mentioned on Twitter earlier. Free agent since the summer.

He was outstanding for Newcastle 2 or 3 seasons ago but lost his way a wee bit and found himself well down the pecking order. He was a bit unfairly tagged with the 'bombscare' label but for the most part he was a solid keeper if not quite EPL level.

Mr. Wonderful
04-01-2021, 06:00 PM
Nope

Yep

04-01-2021, 06:01 PM

He really hasn’t played enough games at any level to come to that conclusion.

04-01-2021, 06:04 PM
Mallan maybe a shout for in goals. Decent distribution and no real running required.

04-01-2021, 06:07 PM
Polar Bear Please.

04-01-2021, 06:09 PM
surprised he can't get a game looked like a very good keeper

Liam Kelly? He’s outstanding. And yes, all round game is better than Rocky.

04-01-2021, 06:15 PM
Mallan maybe a shout for in goals. Decent distribution and no real running required.

He'd have to get back sharpish though after taking a freekick on the edge of the oppositions box. He'll just have to score every time I guess.

04-01-2021, 06:25 PM

Any reason he isn't playing for QPR?

04-01-2021, 06:28 PM
I’m trying to think of the last home grown keeper we’ve produced - it wasn’t Andy McNeil either... felt sorry for Chris Reid understudy to Goram and Leighton. Mibbie would have got more of a run boule for his leg break (against Falkirk?)

04-01-2021, 06:34 PM

Warburtons a fanny?

04-01-2021, 06:40 PM
Warburtons a fanny?

Well, he wears a fanny’s hat ...

04-01-2021, 06:42 PM
Warburtons a fanny?

Very possibly. He thought Wes Fodderingham was a keeper afterall.

04-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Well, he wears a fanny’s hat ...

It works against dumbarton

Highwayman
04-01-2021, 06:59 PM

I’ve seen Dabrowski playing for the Development Squad.He’s a big lad and he’s not slow in telling his defence what he wants from them.But it would be a mega immense step for the lad to go from playing for the Development Squad and on loan at Dumbarton to making a start at Celtic.I’ve never quite fully understood loan deals.Is there a clause in the original deal whereby the parent club can recall the loaner any time.One option might be young McRorie who’s currently on loan at Livingston but not being used.Rangers might be agreeable of switching his loan to Hibs where if Marcianos injury is ongoing he may have a better chance of getting a start.Also it is not about time for Hibs and Marciano to sort out what his future is going to be.

Mr. Wonderful
04-01-2021, 07:02 PM
I’ve seen Dabrowski playing for the Development Squad.He’s a big lad and he’s not slow in telling his defence what he wants from them.But it would be a mega immense step for the lad to go from playing for the Development Squad and on loan at Dumbarton to making a start at Celtic.I’ve never quite fully understood loan deals.Is there a clause in the original deal whereby the parent club can recall the loaner any time.One option might be young McRorie who’s currently on loan at Livingston but not being used.Rangers might be agreeable of switching his loan to Hibs where if Marcianos injury is ongoing he may have a better chance of getting a start.Also it is not about time for Hibs and Marciano to sort out what his future is going to be.

The reason he's not playing for livi is because he was dreadful in their bad run

04-01-2021, 07:04 PM
Up the creek

Highwayman
04-01-2021, 07:40 PM
The reason he's not playing for livi is because he was dreadful in their bad run

Bit harsh laying it all on McCrorie.He’s played for Scotland Under 21s and was called up to the full squad last September.Ask Porteous what he thinks of him.

04-01-2021, 07:54 PM

We’ve already got Murphy on loan from Rangers, don’t think we can get another from them. Could be wrong about that though.

04-01-2021, 08:14 PM
We’ve already got Murphy on loan from Rangers, don’t think we can get another from them. Could be wrong about that though.

Sure the rules have changed from this season and yiu can have 2 players on loan from the same league now. Again I could be wrong.

04-01-2021, 08:53 PM
Same as Fraser Murray and Ben Stirling. I had high hopes, but they just weren’t deemed good enough to play for the first team, no point in dragging it out.

Fraser Murray's still on the books I think and could yet make it at Hibs. Not seen enough of Stirling to have an opinion but Fraser is one I would like to see persevered with - but it IS a tricky one. The competition is tough and if he's not getting first team starts then he's probably better away somewhere he can develop his game - whether permanently or on loan.

Scott Nisbet is an example of that syndrome as it goes - was on Hibs' books as a youngster but had to go down the ladder to establish himself as a talent and push his way back to the top table.

04-01-2021, 09:06 PM

From playing Football Manager games my vague understanding is that loan deals can vary - a recall clause can be inserted but is not mandatory - it depends on the arrangement the clubs and the player come to - but I would be very surprised if Hibs would loan their understudy keeper without such a clause. On another note I wonder if having recalled a player said player can then be loaned back to the same (or another) club in the same season. If that was the case then it would be a no-brainer to recall Dabrowski - and possibly to hire another back-up keeper until the end of the season as well. It's a key position and nothing should be left to chance.

04-01-2021, 09:16 PM
It works against dumbarton

... not with Dabrowski’s between the sticks [emoji51]

04-01-2021, 09:43 PM

04-01-2021, 10:02 PM

Seny Dieng who was on loan at Dundee in 2019 is keeping him out of the team. I am embarrassed to say I don't remember him.

04-01-2021, 10:10 PM
Very possibly. He thought Wes Fodderingham was a keeper afterall.

He would be perfect.

Note - Kelly, Gillespie & Foderingham are all on long contracts.
If we are bringing someone in it would be helpful if they are out of contract at the end of the season in case Ofir doesn't resign.

04-01-2021, 10:18 PM
Seny Dieng who was on loan at Dundee in 2019 is keeping him out of the team. I am embarrassed to say I don't remember him.

You know how it is with keepers, a manager takes a liking to one, he gets a place in the team and retains his place because of trust and continuity. The #2 keeper can be making otherworldly saves in training and knocking it out of the park in the gym but unless the starter starts throwing them in or gets an injury, the backup never gets a chance. Some keepers are happy going through whole careers as #2, those players like being around a team environment and enjoy training. Other keepers move down tiers to get a regular game. There are loads of quality keepers at the top three tiers in English football that aren’t getting games.

04-01-2021, 10:20 PM
Sure Mallan scored a screamer against him. Although i may have just made that up.

05-01-2021, 12:39 AM
You know how it is with keepers, a manager takes a liking to one, he gets a place in the team and retains his place because of trust and continuity. The #2 keeper can be making otherworldly saves in training and knocking it out of the park in the gym but unless the starter starts throwing them in or gets an injury, the backup never gets a chance. Some keepers are happy going through whole careers as #2, those players like being around a team environment and enjoy training. Other keepers move down tiers to get a regular game. There are loads of quality keepers at the top three tiers in English football that aren’t getting games.

Yeah your right. The teams in the top two leagues in England have lots of great players and keepers who never get a game but are picking up big money and enjoy their lot.

05-01-2021, 12:42 AM
Sure Mallan scored a screamer against him. Although i may have just made that up.

Arsenal, Leeds & Crystal Palace allegedly keen on him. Must be playing well despite QPR struggling

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-9110587/Arsenal-battle-Leeds-Crystal-Palace-Queens-Park-Rangers-goalkeeper-Seny-Dieng.html

05-01-2021, 06:13 AM

He did. Took it down, drove forward and right in the top left corner. Beautiful goal.

05-01-2021, 06:55 AM
Arsenal, Leeds & Crystal Palace allegedly keen on him. Must be playing well despite QPR struggling

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-9110587/Arsenal-battle-Leeds-Crystal-Palace-Queens-Park-Rangers-goalkeeper-Seny-Dieng.html

Palace signed Jack Butland at the start of the season, a few years back I thought he was going to be a great keeper, he looked a better prospect than Pickford (they must be about the same age) to me:

Dunno what happened to him, he got a few caps for England, then relegated with Stoke, and now isn’t good enough to play for Palace.

05-01-2021, 07:45 AM

It's an odd one. Dieng hasn't really done much in his career so surprised me he's keeping Kelly out the team.

Hope LK pushes on, could be the best hope for Scotland.

05-01-2021, 07:54 AM
Palace signed Jack Butland at the start of the season, a few years back I thought he was going to be a great keeper, he looked a better prospect than Pickford (they must be about the same age) to me:

Dunno what happened to him, he got a few caps for England, then relegated with Stoke, and now isn’t good enough to play for Palace.

Think the Palace goalie Gueta ( spelling ?) is very good.

EI255
05-01-2021, 11:11 AM
After his final game, I'm not that bothered that he's returned to his patent club!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

05-01-2021, 11:18 AM
Think the Palace goalie Gueta ( spelling ?) is very good.

It's Guaita and he is an excellent keeper and Butland will only get cup ties etc. unless Guaita gets injured. Guaita has had many suitors and I think Butland was bought in in case Guaita gets sold as he has not yet signed a contract extension.

05-01-2021, 11:34 AM
How about Zlamal at Hearts? Desperate to play first team football apparently.

Or should I get me coat?

bigell
05-01-2021, 11:53 AM
It's an odd one. Dieng hasn't really done much in his career so surprised me he's keeping Kelly out the team.

From BBCSport

It was announced on Tuesday that goalkeeper Jordan Archer has left to go to Middlesbrough, but the Fir Park club are poised to bring in Liam Kelly on a loan deal from Queens Park Rangers.

05-01-2021, 03:21 PM
How about Zlamal at Hearts? Desperate to play first teamU football apparently.

Or should I get me coat?

Great shout, agree 100%. - Yes, get your coat.:greengrin

05-01-2021, 04:00 PM

Dundee in 2019 was only his 2nd loan spell at a league club and he followed it up with a good spell at Doncaster before getting his chance in the QPR team this season, after 4 years, at the age of 26 and Arsenal & Leeds are apparently keen on signing him already.

Looking at his Dundee reel on youtube he shows as brave, quick and good at making saves with his feet in addition to the usual shot saving stuff. My favourite is 2 minutes in, part 2 of a double save against Livingston
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyO5BYbFDKU&ab_channel=EthanJubin

Suspect his possible transfer is why QPR have recalled Barnes.
Kelly would become QPR No1 keeper if Dieng goes in the window with Barnes & Joe Lumley as back ups. Suspect Barnes will be No3 keeper as Lumley has played 73 Championship games for the club whereas Barnes has never played above League 2.

NC1875
05-01-2021, 05:25 PM
Dundee in 2019 was only his 2nd loan spell at a league club and he followed it up with a good spell at Doncaster before getting his chance in the QPR team this season, after 4 years, at the age of 26 and Arsenal & Leeds are apparently keen on signing him already.

Looking at his Dundee reel on youtube he shows as brave, quick and good at making saves with his feet in addition to the usual shot saving stuff. My favourite is 2 minutes in, part 2 of a double save against Livingston
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyO5BYbFDKU&ab_channel=EthanJubin

Suspect his possible transfer is why QPR have recalled Barnes.
Kelly would become QPR No1 keeper if Dieng goes in the window with Barnes & Joe Lumley as back ups. Suspect Barnes will be No3 keeper as Lumley has played 73 Championship games for the club whereas Barnes has never played above League 2.

Kellys away to Motherwell on loan.

05-01-2021, 05:50 PM
Kellys away to Motherwell on loan.

Nothing official from either team to date although the Daily Record reported him being in Glasgow.
I suspect he won't come cheap, however, Aaron Chapman was fairly horrific for Motherwell in their last game so they are in need.
It may be that QPR have no intention of selling Dieng so Kelly is free to go at least in the short term.

06-01-2021, 12:38 PM
Dabrowski recalled to Hibs.

06-01-2021, 01:02 PM
Good. Deserves a chance. Also a chance for JR and team to better assess if he has got what it takes.

06-01-2021, 01:08 PM

If true must cast doubts on the keeper coming from Arsenal unless the injury to Rocky is looking like affecting him longer term than expected
All will be revealed over the next few days hopefully

06-01-2021, 01:12 PM
If true must cast doubts on the keeper coming from Arsenal unless the injury to Rocky is looking like affecting him longer term than expected

Maybe brought Dabrowski back as a precaution until a new keeper in place. He can always go back out on loan if new keeper comes in,

06-01-2021, 01:18 PM

It is true, announced by Hibs.

06-01-2021, 01:27 PM
Maybe brought Dabrowski back as a precaution until a new keeper in place. He can always go back out on loan if new keeper comes in,

Can see happening. Will be here until they are sure Marciano is fit again. All good.

06-01-2021, 02:36 PM

Also to cover Marciano injury and then as you say go out on loan again before window shuts.

06-01-2021, 02:42 PM

Good interview with Butland here, two years old but just shows you what can happen to your career when you get an injury or dropped and how even top keepers don’t always get lucky with the clubs they choose.

https://open.spotify.com/episode/0W6039YiArrUoJb16uSe3Q?si=jRqOzqR4QOG9CMuEDrLI7A

I see Dubrawka (sp?) is also sitting on the bench having been dropped by Bruce at Newcastle. He was looking like one of the top keepers in England a year ago.

Highwayman
06-01-2021, 03:26 PM
Is it possible that Dabrowski could start against Celtic ? Well as. Maurice Flitcrofts mother once said ‘’ the boy has to start somewhere’’

06-01-2021, 03:34 PM
Good interview with Butland here, two years old but just shows you what can happen to your career when you get an injury or dropped and how even top keepers don’t always get lucky with the clubs they choose.

https://open.spotify.com/episode/0W6039YiArrUoJb16uSe3Q?si=jRqOzqR4QOG9CMuEDrLI7A

I see Dubrawka (sp?) is also sitting on the bench having been dropped by Bruce at Newcastle. He was looking like one of the top keepers in England a year ago.

Dubravka is only just back in the squad after being out for several months with a serious injury.

Darlow has been in brilliant form all season, arguably the English keeper in the best form right now but he won't get a look in for the national team.

06-01-2021, 03:45 PM
Dubravka is only just back in the squad after being out for several months with a serious injury.

Darlow has been in brilliant form all season, arguably the English keeper in the best form right now but he won't get a look in for the national team.

I know you’re well informed about Toon matters, so you’ll know the player has been righteously messed around by Bruce and last week Bruce publicly has said he’s a backup going forward. Again, I think it’ll depend whether he’s the kind of character who likes the environment there to tolerate being a backup.

https://www.themag.co.uk/2020/12/incredible-steve-bruce-luck-carries-on-as-he-talks-about-martin-dubravka-situation-newcastle-united/

06-01-2021, 03:49 PM

Dillon gets recalled to QPR and this "outstanding" keepwr gets bumped out on loan to Motherwell. Mmmmm...wonder who it it is QPR think is more "outstanding"?

06-01-2021, 03:53 PM
Dillon gets recalled to QPR and this "outstanding" keepwr gets bumped out on loan to Motherwell. Mmmmm...wonder who it it is QPR thhttps://www.themag.co.uk/2020/12/incredible-steve-bruce-luck-carries-on-as-he-talks-about-martin-dubravka-situation-newcastle-united/ink is more "outstanding"?

:dunno: I’m sure Dillon is very well thought of too...I’m just saying it how I see it after watching Liam Kelly quite a bit and listening to people who know more than I do.

06-01-2021, 03:55 PM
Dillon gets recalled to QPR and this "outstanding" keepwr gets bumped out on loan to Motherwell. Mmmmm...wonder who it it is QPR think is more "outstanding"?

During a pandemic, it could just be a case of kelly wanting to be closer to home for a period. Never as simple as just the quality etc. Way more goes into a player being a success at a club or not.

06-01-2021, 03:58 PM
Is it possible that Dabrowski could start against Celtic ? Well as. Maurice Flitcrofts mother once said ‘’ the boy has to start somewhere’’

Why not, he’s been playing most weeks, so is match fit
If Rocky’s not fit, I’d play him

06-01-2021, 04:00 PM

My worry is who plays in the cup semi if Marciano isn’t fit?

07-01-2021, 04:04 PM

Rocky will be out for a couple of weeks still.

07-01-2021, 04:17 PM

It’s a no brainier then to play Kevin

07-01-2021, 04:21 PM

This is his time.
No crowd pressure just playing football as he has trained for years to do.

07-01-2021, 04:24 PM
This is his time.
No crowd pressure just playing football as he has trained for years to do.

:agree: Great opportunity for him.

07-01-2021, 04:57 PM

Fair chance he will miss the semi then.

07-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Fair chance he will miss the semi then.

If it’s another 2 weeks, it will be tight for him

07-01-2021, 06:03 PM

Do you think he’s ready to make the step up?

I’ve never seen him play so I’ve no idea. Would be great if he is ready though.

07-01-2021, 06:15 PM
Do you think he’s ready to make the step up?

I’ve never seen him play so I’ve no idea. Would be great if he is ready though.

He’s a cracking shot stopper, very confident and vocal on the pitch
His biggest weakness is a ball to his feet, but I’m sure he can manage this
Done well at all his loan clubs, so unless he gets a chance at some stage, how do Hibs know if he’ll make it or not

07-01-2021, 08:07 PM
Great shout, agree 100%. - Yes, get your coat.:greengrin

These hair shirts don't get any looser, do they?