View Full Version : Full Lockdown Implications

declan macmanus
03-01-2021, 04:51 PM
If the country is placed into a lockdown similar to the one last March, as is now being discussed, will football be suspended?

03-01-2021, 04:53 PM
If the country is placed into a lockdown similar to the one last March, as is now being discussed, will football be suspended?

I wouldn’t have thought so as the elite level footballers have been getting tested throughout.

Might be a problem for the lower leagues though.

declan macmanus
03-01-2021, 04:54 PM
I wouldn’t have thought so as the elite level footballers have been getting tested throughout.

They've also been taking the P by having parties galore over Christmas.....

03-01-2021, 04:55 PM
I don't think it will be suspended.

03-01-2021, 04:56 PM
The British boxing board of control have stopped all fights in January at least, I don’t think it’ll be off the table. The tier system isn’t working and cases are on the rise within football. Be interesting to see what comes out tomorrow.

03-01-2021, 04:56 PM

May as well end the lower leagues next week with no promotion or relegation :agree:

declan macmanus
03-01-2021, 05:02 PM
May as well end the lower leagues next week with no promotion or relegation :agree:

Given our recent form and how eye bleedingly bad it's become to watch, I'd settle for calling the leagues now... with the caveat that not enough games have been played to merit promotion/relegation :greengrin

HibeeHibernian4
03-01-2021, 05:11 PM
Given our recent form and how eye bleedingly bad it's become to watch, I'd settle for calling the leagues now... with the caveat that not enough games have been played to merit promotion/relegation :greengrin

But European places still enforced and the League Cup played to a finish right? :greengrin

03-01-2021, 05:13 PM

It should be. Never got why they were so special over other sports.

03-01-2021, 05:13 PM
Given our recent form and how eye bleedingly bad it's become to watch, I'd settle for calling the leagues now... with the caveat that not enough games have been played to merit promotion/relegation :greengrinOfcourse you would, Declan.

[emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

The Captain....
03-01-2021, 05:22 PM

:greengrin Agreed..wouldnt be that bothered if football was cancelled.

03-01-2021, 05:28 PM
Yip!

Call the Leagues

No promotion or relegation

The yams stay doon

Time for another Quiz :greengrin

03-01-2021, 05:33 PM
I think suspending professional sport will be something they'll be considering alongside the other measures which are being spoken about.

After the last couple of matches it might not be a bad thing for us.

03-01-2021, 05:36 PM
I think suspending professional sport will be something they'll be considering alongside the other measures which are being spoken about.

After the last couple of matches it might not be a bad thing for us.

Already happened in boxing.

All fights in January to be suspended

03-01-2021, 05:36 PM
I don't think the top league will stop. I have a feeling its testing capacity with strict restrictions will allow it to continue.

03-01-2021, 05:45 PM
Yip!

Call the Leagues

No promotion or relegation

The yams stay doon

Time for another Quiz :greengrin

100% this. :greengrin

03-01-2021, 06:03 PM
Already happened in boxing.

All fights in January to be suspended

Yeah I saw that earlier although I think that was a BBBC decision rather than a government one.

04-01-2021, 01:29 PM
Don’t think the statement really mentioned anything about professional or elite level sport?

Professional sport should be fine to continue as it’s not a job they can do from home.

Wonder how it will effect the seaside league though as think there’s semi professional teams in that league?

04-01-2021, 01:32 PM
In full lockdown, sport can hardly be defined as an essential service. It would have to be included in the lockdown rules.

04-01-2021, 01:34 PM
Scotland in new tougher lockdown from midnight until the end of January

04-01-2021, 01:37 PM
Im guessing no games now then? And Celtic not allowed to fly back into the country?

04-01-2021, 01:38 PM
In full lockdown, sport can hardly be defined as an essential service. It would have to be included in the lockdown rules.

But you can leave the house to work if you can’t work from home. Footballers come under that category.

04-01-2021, 01:38 PM
Surely nobody can justify sport being allowed when can’t even open schools.

04-01-2021, 01:41 PM
Surely nobody can justify sport being allowed when can’t even open schools.

Elite level sportspeople are being constantly tested and presents very little threat.

The lower leagues could be in bother though.

04-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Elite level sportspeople are being constantly tested and presents very little threat.

Errrrrr.... they keep on getting Covid!

04-01-2021, 01:44 PM

But they know they have it very quickly so can isolate

That’s not practical for Joe public or the schools.

04-01-2021, 01:44 PM

Yes, regular testing is positive. Not sure the football bubbles are secure enough tho. They’re not like the boxing bubbles for example.

Robbo6-2
04-01-2021, 01:46 PM
It's not a full lockdown.

Construction and manufacturing to continue which is a massive source of employment.

04-01-2021, 01:47 PM

How many positive tests have there been against the number conducted since football came back? Hardly any.

Getting all those involved in professional sport tested with the regularity they are probably prevents a symptomatic folk spreading it more than anything else.

04-01-2021, 02:05 PM
Errrrrr.... they keep on getting Covid!That's only coz they are being tested

Stop testing, Nae covid

04-01-2021, 02:07 PM
Surely nobody can justify sport being allowed when can’t even open schools.How are they comparable in any way?

Schools can sum degree be compensated with home learning

Maybe get fifa on the go the the SPL clubs?

04-01-2021, 02:14 PM
It's not a full lockdown.

Construction and manufacturing to continue which is a massive source of employment.

Construction brings more people together from different households that most other industries, it doesn't really make sense it is allowed to stay open while kids cant go to school?

04-01-2021, 02:15 PM
How are they comparable in any way?

Schools can sum degree be compensated with home learning

Maybe get fifa on the go the the SPL clubs?

Education is essential, football is not.

04-01-2021, 02:16 PM

Try telling that to the people employed in the industry.

04-01-2021, 02:17 PM
Football will continue, even if lockdown measures are stepped up.

The public are truly sick of Covid and football gives us something to think about and maintains that there is still something that symbolises what was normality. People are finding all this hard, it’s been 10 months and it’s taking it’s toll.

Not sure that we can compare schooling and all the attendant issues associated with 30 children in a class, changing rooms every hour or so with professionals training and playing football with regular testing being undertaken.

andrew70
04-01-2021, 02:17 PM

For my mental health I could argue differently.

04-01-2021, 02:21 PM

For my mental health, they should stop football completely...

04-01-2021, 02:21 PM

People can say that about anything though.

I need the pubs open to socialise with people for my mental health.

I think by allowing outdoor exercise to continue they are covering the mental health angle.

04-01-2021, 02:22 PM

Education and delivery of teaching needs to adapt. The government are very coy on the basis for the spread of Covid, but the very nature of 30 children per class, moving around, means I have little doubt as to it’s contribution to the spread of the disease.

Smaller classes, more on line learning etc, that will surely help.

04-01-2021, 02:31 PM

I think by allowing outdoor exercise to continue they are covering the mental health angle.

Only if you are daft enough to think that all anyone's mental health needs is a wee bit exercise.

04-01-2021, 02:34 PM

Yup, it’s getting used as a throw away line.

Off the ball discussed it recently.

Hairdressers saying they need to open for people’s mental health, stand up comedians need to perform for people’s mental health, theatres need to open etc etc etc.

What they really mean is they want to open cause they need the money, which is totally understandable, but it’s nowt to do with mental health.

04-01-2021, 02:44 PM
Only if you are daft enough to think that all anyone's mental health needs is a wee bit exercise.

Which is what the minds of our simple politicians think! The mental wellbeing is being ignored completely right now.

andrew70
04-01-2021, 02:50 PM

Exactly.

04-01-2021, 02:50 PM
In the latest guidance under reasonable excuses to go out it says

"for those involved in professional sports, for training, coaching or competing in an event."

https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-stay-at-home-guidance/

andrew70
04-01-2021, 02:52 PM

It’s ignorance like this that continues to make mental health a taboo subject.

04-01-2021, 02:52 PM
All teams are in their own bubbles, they get tested I think twice a week. What about nurses and doctors working together in a hospital, or people like my wife who work in retail at M&S, footballers will be tested more often than anyone at the moment.

04-01-2021, 02:53 PM
Guidance published confirms professional sport can continue, which isn’t a surprise really.

Lee Marvin
04-01-2021, 03:10 PM
All teams are in their own bubbles, they get tested I think twice a week. What about nurses and doctors working together in a hospital, or people like my wife who work in retail at M&S, footballers will be tested more often than anyone at the moment.

3 out of the 4 top leagues in Scotland do no testing. I hope football stays on, but I find it hard to understand why it should (especially the lower leagues).

Look at Celtic in Dubai FFS!!

04-01-2021, 03:11 PM
Try telling that to the people employed in the industry.

Like many other industries, including mine.

04-01-2021, 03:21 PM
3 out of the 4 top leagues in Scotland do no testing. I hope football stays on, but I find it hard to understand why it should (especially the lower leagues).

Look at Celtic in Dubai FFS!!

Probably a lot safer in Dubai.

04-01-2021, 03:26 PM
EFL says it’s Inevitable the season will temporarily suspended

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55530424

04-01-2021, 03:29 PM
EFL says it’s Inevitable the season will temporarily suspended

One Chief Exec is saying it, report says it’s not believed the EFL don’t have any plans to do so.

It’s a bit mental that a teams in the EFL aren’t having to test players though. At least you can understand it in the lower leagues up here with most teams being part time.

04-01-2021, 03:34 PM
It’s ignorance like this that continues to make mental health a taboo subject.

Nonsense.

It’s people being scared to have a good open honest conversation about it that’s making mental health a taboo subject.

04-01-2021, 03:34 PM
I'm not in favour of irrational kneejerk lockdown measures as a rule, and as I understand it, locking down football - with it's sporting bubbles, regular testing etc - would definitely come into that category. No need!

04-01-2021, 03:36 PM
One Chief Exec is saying it, report says it’s not believed the EFL don’t have any plans to do so.

It’s a bit mental that a teams in the EFL aren’t having to test players though. At least you can understand it in the lower leagues up here with most teams being part time.

Is it mandatory to test in our championship?
Think Hearts test, not sure of the rest though. Hearts have lost a few players to Covid in the last couple of weeks

04-01-2021, 03:37 PM
Think Hearts test, not sure of the rest though. Hearts have lost a few players to Covid in the last couple of weeks

Apparently Hearts are the only team in the championship that are testing players.

andrew70
04-01-2021, 03:41 PM
Nonsense.

It’s people being scared to have a good open honest conversation about it that’s making mental health a taboo subject.

Good god.

04-01-2021, 03:43 PM

It’s only compulsory in cup competitions against Premiership teams. No testing required in any other league.

04-01-2021, 03:44 PM

Apparently Hearts are the only team in the championship that are testing players.

Maybe why some of their players have picked up Covid

04-01-2021, 03:53 PM
Good god.

Get a grip of yourself and stop trying to create a drama when ive clearly not said anything offensive.

You said football needs to continue because of you’re and other peoples mental health. I’ve just pointed out that could be extended to anything, including socialising with people in the pub. The government will feel a line has to be drawn somewhere though.

This is a terrible time for lots of people who struggle with their mental health, I really feel for them and hope they get all the support they need throughout all this and when we’re through the other side of it.

Inconsequential
04-01-2021, 04:17 PM
I suggest quite a few people hardly gave those who suffer from mental health a second thought pre-covid. Not their problem and many would just ignore it exists. So what happens to the people already suffering from mental health difficulties? Do they now have a double depression? The way depressed people are treated by the DWP in particular is deplorable. I speak from experience.

04-01-2021, 04:22 PM
But you can leave the house to work if you can’t work from home. Footballers come under that category.

Hardly essential

04-01-2021, 04:24 PM
Hardly essential

Depends how you define essential I suppose?

04-01-2021, 04:28 PM
Get a grip of yourself and stop trying to create a drama when ive clearly not said anything offensive.

You said football needs to continue because of you’re and other peoples mental health. I’ve just pointed out that could be extended to anything, including socialising with people in the pub. The government will feel a line has to be drawn somewhere though.

This is a terrible time for lots of people who struggle with their mental health, I really feel for them and hope they get all the support they need throughout all this and when we’re through the other side of it.

You can apply it to everything - you are correct. Which is why it is important to keep as much available as possible. Football is an easy one to keep going because fans are already restricted from going, protocols and bubbles are well established, and people can keep connected with it while locked down.

04-01-2021, 04:30 PM
Depends how you define essential I suppose?

You could probably say that about everything. What is essential to one is not always essential to another.

04-01-2021, 04:31 PM
You can apply it to everything - you are correct. Which is why it is important to keep as much available as possible. Football is an easy one to keep going because fans are already restricted from going, protocols and bubbles are well established, and people can keep connected with it while locked down.

Completely agree.

A counter argument to that though is that people gather in groups to watch games of football and that’s one thing they want to avoid.

Dr What If?
04-01-2021, 04:41 PM
Completely agree.

A counter argument to that though is that people gather in groups to watch games of football and that’s one thing they want to avoid.
My initial thoughts were that the top leagues should continue because of the regular testing but you make a very good point, football does draw people together. COVID restrictions won't stop everyone, as we have already seen, some people simply don't care. Turning off football in totality for a month might just make a difference to the numbers to justify it.

04-01-2021, 04:41 PM
Hardly essential

It is if its what pays their bills, not all footballers are loaded

Robbo6-2
04-01-2021, 04:43 PM
Why are people on a football fan forum arguing that football should be stopped.

Madness

04-01-2021, 04:43 PM
You could probably say that about everything. What is essential to one is not always essential to another.

Had a similar discussion easier, my wife owns her own cleaning business which to some might not be essential but other people like some of her elderly customers depend on her to keep their homes clean and germ freewho decides what essential and what's not

04-01-2021, 04:48 PM

Madness

I don’t want it stopped and don’t think it should be. Nothing wrong with discussing the counter arguments though is there?

I don’t think any of the decision makers will be reading this forum, apart from Ian Blackford maybe 😉

04-01-2021, 04:48 PM

Madness

This is .net, they'll argue over anything :greengrin

EI255
04-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Interesting to read that the lower English leagues may well end prematurely, if England go into full lockdown (highly likely).

So why would Scottish clubs be able to continue? Very odd situation that would be.

BBC News - Covid-19: Rochdale chief executive says suspending the EFL season is 'inevitable'

04-01-2021, 05:41 PM
Interesting to read that the lower English leagues may well end prematurely, if England go into full lockdown (highly likely).

So why would Scottish clubs be able to continue? Very odd situation that would be.

BBC News - Covid-19: Rochdale chief executive says suspending the EFL season is 'inevitable'

If it happens up here, does that mean hertz are promoted?

EI255
04-01-2021, 05:46 PM
If it happens up here, does that mean hertz are promoted?Then that would mean they've no one left to be angry and bitter towards [emoji848]

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

04-01-2021, 05:55 PM
If it happens up here, does that mean hertz are promoted?

Not straight away, it would go into more votes and public mud slinging first. I’m all for it.

04-01-2021, 05:56 PM
Surely time to 'null and void the season??
No promotion for hearts and no first ever league win for the rangers.
Best outcome all round

04-01-2021, 05:59 PM
If people are willing to give up our European spot, just so Celtic can get another shot of winning the league over Rangers, I despair.

The league was called last year and if it comes up again, the same should happen. Null and Void should never be an option.

04-01-2021, 06:03 PM
If people are willing to give up our European spot, just so Celtic can get another shot of winning the league over Rangers, I despair.

The league was called last year and if it comes up again, the same should happen. Null and Void should never be an option.

Aye, cos that's exactly where I was coming from eh

04-01-2021, 06:23 PM
Best outcome all round

:agree: Scot Cup semis & final will need replayed and we're all entitled to our ST money back :thumbsup:

04-01-2021, 06:28 PM
I suggest quite a few people hardly gave those who suffer from mental health a second thought pre-covid. Not their problem and many would just ignore it exists. So what happens to the people already suffering from mental health difficulties? Do they now have a double depression? The way depressed people are treated by the DWP in particular is deplorable. I speak from experience.Sorry you have had your struggles mate, its hard. I do believe that people care, they cant help what they dont know.
The Stigma of Mental Health is being eroded all the time because more and more are speaking up.
I have had many MH issues and the help is there if we ask for it.
DWP another story tho

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

04-01-2021, 06:41 PM
The implication of full lock down is that we can all bugger off to Dubai for a jolly.

Inconsequential
04-01-2021, 06:51 PM
Sorry you have had your struggles mate, its hard. I do believe that people care, they cant help what they dont know.
The Stigma of Mental Health is being eroded all the time because more and more are speaking up.
I have had many MH issues and the help is there if we ask for it.
DWP another story tho

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk Thanks for the reply but I can honestly say I receive no help from the NHS who refer me to the Mental Health unit of my council. They follow the procedure and offer CBT which I had years ago and that is it, end of. I have few friends who don't know how to handle it and most of my relations are dead. There has been a spate of young male suicides in the town and still nothing is done.

04-01-2021, 06:53 PM
Not sure which of the threads to our this in but I'll put it here. I know a family who have been to Dubai 4 times since August. They have a house in Scotland and in Dubai as the husband works there. They have been all over Facebook when they were there rubbing everyone's face in how amazing it was and how Sturgeon didn't speak for them etc. they were back here for Christmas and spent it with their parents, sister and niece and nephew. Guess what? Every single adult has now tested positive and so have some of the kids. Dubai visits and no self isolation = recipe for disaster.

GreenPJ
04-01-2021, 06:54 PM

The league was called after circa 80% of the games had been played. I would hope that the footballing authorities and clubs at least agreed some sort of minimum completion of the season (e.g. 66%) before it would be called. If that threshold hadn't been met then the league would be completed at whatever stage it was safe to do so.

Saint Hibee
04-01-2021, 06:57 PM
Apologies if already posted: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/55534868

04-01-2021, 07:17 PM
Thanks for the reply but I can honestly say I receive no help from the NHS who refer me to the Mental Health unit of my council. They follow the procedure and offer CBT which I had years ago and that is it, end of. I have few friends who don't know how to handle it and most of my relations are dead. There has been a spate of young male suicides in the town and still nothing is done.Im really sorry you arent getting the help you need mate. Thats not right at all. I live in Lanarkshire, mibbe its different in different councils. Ive had CBT through my employer which I truly appreciate but also through NHS councillors. Dont give up trying

04-01-2021, 07:18 PM
It is if its what pays their bills, not all footballers are loaded

As has been said a number of times now, you could say the same about every industry, including mine. Football is not an essential industry.

04-01-2021, 07:22 PM
Not sure which of the threads to our this in but I'll put it here. I know a family who have been to Dubai 4 times since August. They have a house in Scotland and in Dubai as the husband works there. They have been all over Facebook when they were there rubbing everyone's face in how amazing it was and how Sturgeon didn't speak for them etc. they were back here for Christmas and spent it with their parents, sister and niece and nephew. Guess what? Every single adult has now tested positive and so have some of the kids. Dubai visits and no self isolation = recipe for disaster.

04-01-2021, 07:24 PM
As has been said a number of times now, you could say the same about every industry, including mine. Football is not an essential industry.

It’s the national game and I think that there being games on pretty much every night is helping to keep the various lockdowns manageable. Probably helps with compliance to some extent.

04-01-2021, 07:36 PM

Bloody is for me Bob.

Robbo6-2
04-01-2021, 07:39 PM
Some people really need to take a day off.

04-01-2021, 07:39 PM
This is .net, they'll argue over anything :greengrin

No they won't.:greengrin

04-01-2021, 07:57 PM
No they won't.:greengrin[emoji28][emoji28][emoji28]

04-01-2021, 08:06 PM
No they won't.:greengrin

:greengrin:greengrin

granty6_2
04-01-2021, 08:11 PM
Thanks for the reply but I can honestly say I receive no help from the NHS who refer me to the Mental Health unit of my council. They follow the procedure and offer CBT which I had years ago and that is it, end of. I have few friends who don't know how to handle it and most of my relations are dead. There has been a spate of young male suicides in the town and still nothing is done.

Got to be honest mate, your messages have sent up a few red flags - need to talk? Send me a DM 👍 had my mental health issues as well, it sucks, but talking to others helps.

04-01-2021, 08:43 PM
Got to be honest mate, your messages have sent up a few red flags - need to talk? Send me a DM [emoji106] had my mental health issues as well, it sucks, but talking to others helps.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

05-01-2021, 06:40 AM
Derby Co have had to close their training centre after an outbreak.

05-01-2021, 02:28 PM
40 positive cases in the EPL’s latest round of testing. Looks like the football bubbles are not working to me.

05-01-2021, 02:45 PM
40 positive cases in the EPL’s latest round of testing. Looks like the football bubbles are not working to me.

There isn’t really any such thing as a bubble to be fair. They go home to their own families and go about their business like everyone else.

The positivity rate for tests undertaken is still under 2%.

05-01-2021, 02:46 PM

There aren’t really bubbles though. Training and matches have protocols and there is testing but then they all go out into the world like the rest of us.

davhibby
05-01-2021, 03:11 PM
Quoting English teams and bringing it up in relation to the game up here is completely pointless. The rules are different and even just in general the messaging has been a lot worse down south. Look at the number of footballers in England that have been caught totally ignoring the rules, if that had happened up here we wouldn’t be playing.

Couple that with most places in England have a higher case rate then it’s no wonder they’ve got loads of cases in teams. They really need to tighten up the rules for football/enforcement of them because the way things are going the lower leagues in England will struggle to end the season.

Incidentally, if things were to get worse here, I’d see no reason why they couldn’t stop the lower leagues where there isn’t testing and then they could play on in to June to finish the season if they needed when things are better

05-01-2021, 04:45 PM
There aren’t really bubbles though. Training and matches have protocols and there is testing but then they all go out into the world like the rest of us.

That’s been my point since the start of this thread.

hibbydog
05-01-2021, 04:46 PM

Madness

I think there's a fair case to be made to stop football. Look at the positive test numbers within the last week. Horrible stuff.

But...as always, those in power have to make a subjective judgement based on limited evidence and people will draw the line differently, depending on their attitude towards the risk.

And if the season gets null and void we'd see Hearts in the championship for another year, which would be hilarious!

Joking aside, I'd like to see football continue, but not at all costs.

05-01-2021, 04:48 PM
Quoting English teams and bringing it up in relation to the game up here is completely pointless. The rules are different and even just in general the messaging has been a lot worse down south. Look at the number of footballers in England that have been caught totally ignoring the rules, if that had happened up here we wouldn’t be playing.

Couple that with most places in England have a higher case rate then it’s no wonder they’ve got loads of cases in teams. They really need to tighten up the rules for football/enforcement of them because the way things are going the lower leagues in England will struggle to end the season.

Incidentally, if things were to get worse here, I’d see no reason why they couldn’t stop the lower leagues where there isn’t testing and then they could play on in to June to finish the season if they needed when things are better

No it’s not pointless. It’s not as if I’m quoting teams from the other side of the world. We share a small island with them. Plenty protocol breaches up here also, maybe not as high profile.

Gorebridge Hibb
05-01-2021, 05:12 PM
I don’t want it stopped and don’t think it should be. Nothing wrong with discussing the counter arguments though is there?

I don’t think any of the decision makers will be reading this forum, apart from Ian Blackford maybe 😉

Ian Blackford isn’t making any coved related decisions

08-01-2021, 02:05 PM
An incredible number of teams /players /squads down south who have tested positive for Covid.

08-01-2021, 02:25 PM
An incredible number of teams /players /squads down south who have tested positive for Covid.

While in Scotland teams who aren’t testing are travelling all over Scotland tomorrow in the Scottish Cup..then folk complain we are back in lockdown!

08-01-2021, 02:32 PM
While in Scotland teams who aren’t testing are travelling all over Scotland tomorrow in the Scottish Cup..then folk complain we are back in lockdown!

Given today's comments from the deputy FM it looks like lower league football is on the cusp of being suspended again.

08-01-2021, 02:37 PM
Given today's comments from the deputy FM it looks like lower league football is on the cusp of being suspended again.

It’s mad it’s allowed to continue.

You can’t even meet people outside yet 22+ folk are playing / travelling around Scotland.

I understand the mental / physical health part but you could argue that about several areas of work.

Also none of these clubs are testing except Hearts and maybe ICT ?

Just have a pause and resume when safe to do so.

08-01-2021, 05:11 PM
I'd pause all sport for all age groups for at least the next two or three weeks. Let the vaccine get more into circulation and hopefully see the spike dropping.

08-01-2021, 05:33 PM
I'd pause all sport for all age groups for at least the next two or three weeks. Let the vaccine get more into circulation and hopefully see the spike dropping.

Soaring in London. Try 2-3 months.

eezyrider
08-01-2021, 05:48 PM
Soaring in London. Try 2-3 months.

I think even that's optimistic. This new strain really is that virulent.

EZ

EI255
08-01-2021, 06:43 PM
Don't think we'll see football after this weekend. Make the most of your TV viewing.

08-01-2021, 06:43 PM
Don't think we'll see football after this weekend. Make the most of your TV viewing.

Yes we will.

08-01-2021, 06:50 PM
Yes we will.
Maybe down south, but not in Scotland, Sturgeon just desperate to invoke a shut down which of course will be "mandatory".

08-01-2021, 06:52 PM
Maybe down south, but not in Scotland, Sturgeon just desperate to invoke a shut down which of course will be "mandatory".

As it stands, we’re not doing too bad with it up here (in football I mean).

Sturgeon didn’t give any indication when speaking about it today that it’ll be stopping any time soon. Nothing to suggest the Premiership, certainly, will be stopped.

08-01-2021, 06:52 PM
Lower leagues will possibly stop for a few weeks but I think the premier will continue.

08-01-2021, 06:53 PM
Coronavirus outbreaks make it 'morally wrong' to continue playing, says Steve BruceWhile wee Oli reckons we need it for our mental health, it's a difficult one, with the amount of death's now being recorded it becomes more and more like the game will be put into limbo, every chance that the jambo's will be where they are in a years time or even more, such a shame and perhaps the only bright spot in this whole pandemic.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55590296

08-01-2021, 07:00 PM
As it stands, we’re not doing too bad with it up here (in football I mean).

Sturgeon didn’t give any indication when speaking about it today that it’ll be stopping any time soon. Nothing to suggest the Premiership, certainly, will be stopped.
I hope your right, but I'm not as sure as you are.

08-01-2021, 07:02 PM
Lower leagues will possibly stop for a few weeks but I think the premier will continue.

I agree

08-01-2021, 08:04 PM
I was at the dentist yesterday, and have another appointment next Friday too. This is another place that is open but was closed last lockdown.

Had another walk earlier tonight, and there are still plenty of people walking about around town, and lots of cars and buses too.

08-01-2021, 08:22 PM
I was at the dentist yesterday, and have another appointment next Friday too. This is another place that is open but was closed last lockdown.

Had another walk earlier tonight, and there are still plenty of people walking about around town, and lots of cars and buses too.
I went to the optician yesterday. They were furloughed from March-July first time around. This lockdown is nothing like the first. There were hardly any cars on the roads in Edinburgh from March to May but plenty going about this week.

HibeeHibernian4
08-01-2021, 09:09 PM

Pathetic fatalism.

08-01-2021, 09:27 PM
I think there's a fair case to be made to stop football. Look at the positive test numbers within the last week. Horrible stuff.

But...as always, those in power have to make a subjective judgement based on limited evidence and people will draw the line differently, depending on their attitude towards the risk.

And if the season gets null and void we'd see Hearts in the championship for another year, which would be hilarious!

Joking aside, I'd like to see football continue, but not at all costs.

50% should be the cut-off point. If all teams in the league have played 50% of their matches or more then final positions can be calculated on a points per game basis. If any teams in a league have not played 50% then null and void, in which case promotions/relegations from leagues above/below would need to be unfortunately cancelled.

08-01-2021, 09:38 PM
50% should be the cut-off point. If all teams in the league have played 50% of their matches or more then final positions can be calculated on a points per game basis. If any teams in a league have not played 50% then null and void, in which case promotions/relegations from leagues above/below would need to be unfortunately cancelled.

In which case majority of those clubs would probably go out the box, and we’d be lucky to have two leagues in August.

08-01-2021, 10:06 PM
In which case majority of those clubs would probably go out the box, and we’d be lucky to have two leagues in August.

I'd say that the current situation is costing clubs more because they have to incur the costs of playing without getting any gate money. At least they'd avoid the costs if the leagues were suspended.

The SPFL could still pay out prize money based on the points per game approach, or even simply share the prize money for each division equally amongst the clubs.

08-01-2021, 11:05 PM
I'd say that the current situation is costing clubs more because they have to incur the costs of playing without getting any gate money. At least they'd avoid the costs if the leagues were suspended.

The SPFL could still pay out prize money based on the points per game approach, or even simply share the prize money for each division equally amongst the clubs.

The same as last year, if it’s void then there is no prize money. The costs may be more, but the government money should at least give a massive shot in the arm (whenever they get their finger out and release it).

08-01-2021, 11:52 PM
As was discussed at the time, it’s madness that the game didn’t codify any sort of laws around what would happen during any subsequent lockdown effected season. Because of that we presumably will face another drawn out farce of votes, clubs crying foul and Rangers and Celtic swapping sides without blinking.

09-01-2021, 12:40 AM

Only reason many clubs survived last year was the Sky agreement coming along. None of us know the contract details but there was plenty of speculation that monies would have to be returned if they did not have games to show. Not to mention other broadcaster rights and individual sponsors. I think it is a high risk strategy for people to be calling for the leagues to be pulled right now. Certainly not the Premiership as it is the hen that lays the golden eggs and the safety protocols are in place.

09-01-2021, 01:02 AM
If the numbers don’t come down I would expect another round of changes to tighten the controls.

I think we will see all leagues that are not covid testing which is all but the Premier league (Elite) level being paused for a period on minimum 3 weeks but likely longer. I suspect the SG will act sooner rather than later.

It’s not impossible for this scenario to commence 3rd week
Jan and continue until mid March (2 months). The lower leagues would then have a situation where they would need to convince the SPFL they could complete c17 games over say a 12 week period (latest mid June?) That would be very tight. The leagues cannot be called based on current places given its only 9-10 games in.

Hearts new super dopper winger might have just signed up for 18 months minimum playing against Arbroath and Alloa instead of playing Miami, Orlando etc.

Wakeyhibee
09-01-2021, 05:22 AM

Hearts aside as that would be funny.I would agree shortened league of home and away once would be a fair cut off point.

09-01-2021, 08:02 AM
As was discussed at the time, it’s madness that the game didn’t codify any sort of laws around what would happen during any subsequent lockdown effected season. Because of that we presumably will face another drawn out farce of votes, clubs crying foul and Rangers and Celtic swapping sides without blinking.

Yup. You would think they would put a plan together but seems they want to do it case by case and the voting structure they have in place.

09-01-2021, 08:18 AM
Should have posted this here instead of another thread,

I was actually thinking about why the season hasnt been stopped already, then watched last nights Villa v Liverpool game, where Villa first team only consisted of a team of 17-23 year olds, first half was not bad but Villa eventually tired, I got to thinking, maybe for all our mental health the season should not be stopped, imagine the season is stopped right now, it was bad enough the first time round with halting and having no football/major sports to watch. It will be worse this time round.
If the top leagues can have regular testing and stay covid free, great, Imagine Hibs have 4/5 cases, and the 1st team cant play, I would rather see us play our kids like Villa did and lose 5-0 than not have fitba.
Maybe the SPFL could come out and say right now ´there will be no relegation this season´??

09-01-2021, 08:38 AM
Theres absolutely no reason for top flight football to stop in Scotland.

09-01-2021, 09:00 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/55525110

Football is a baw hair away from stopping.

Celtic’s jolly won’t have helped matters, but the Scottish Government are poised to take action anyway.

09-01-2021, 09:04 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/55525110

Football is a baw hair away from stopping.

Celtic’s jolly won’t have helped matters, but the Scottish Government are poised to take action anyway.

I don’t think there is anything in that article that suggests the Premiership is in trouble. It’s based on her comments at the briefing yesterday and I thought she actually spoke quite positively about trying to keep football going for the public as well as those involved.

09-01-2021, 09:09 AM
I don’t think there is anything in that article that suggests the Premiership is in trouble. It’s based on her comments at the briefing yesterday and I thought she actually spoke quite positively about trying to keep football going for the public as well as those involved.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon is warning that "all bets are off" if those involved in Scottish professional sport do not respect extra privileges.

A new stay at home message is now being enforced in Scotland amid rising cases of Covid-19.

But hundreds of untested football players and coaching staff will travel across the country this weekend for Scottish Cup second-round fixtures.

Ms Sturgeon said football bodies must listen to player concerns.

Several football clubs outside of the senior game have suspended training and the North Caledonian Football Association has put training and matches on hold until next month.

Morton v Dunfermline cup tie in doubt
Sturgeon questions Celtic's Dubai trip
Asked at her daily briefing to respond to a call from Lowland League club Dalbeattie Star to suspend the season until the pandemic is brought under control, Ms Sturgeon said the Scottish government is continuing to discuss the issue. "We've got to listen" if players or staff do not feel safe, she added.

The first minister said rules allowing the continuation of professional sport, not just football, will be reviewed if current mitigating rules, including separate travel and social distancing, are not followed.

Ms Sturgeon earlier this week suggested that Celtic had questions to answer about their winter training break to Dubai, although the Premiership champions insisted it was approved by the Scottish government.

National clinical director Jason Leitch commented that safety concerns expressed by Dalbeattie and others must be risen "up the chain" and "that may end up" at the Scottish FA and SPFL.

He said the government is in constant communication with the footballing authorities about which clubs were included in the exemption of "professional football".

Prof Leitch said that if there is a "common feeling" about safety from a part of the league then it is "for them to take account of that".

Asked if it was acceptable for hundreds of untested football players to be travelling to Scottish Cup ties this weekend, he pointed out that some footballers "may have the virus and should behave as though they have".

Prof Leitch added that, while professional sport remains exempt from travel restrictions, clubs must have "strong mitigations" in place - for example, having as low a level of support staff as possible and keeping to social distancing and use of face coverings.

Dalbeattie Star, whose manager, Ritchie Maxwell, works in the NHS, said in a statement: "We are classed as elite professional players, but no provision is available for Covid testing at our level.

"We do, however, query the professional status as we are a part-time club and all players have other careers out with football.

"Like all clubs in the league, we would love to be able to be able to complete this season in a timely manner, but the safety of our committee, management team, players and of course the people of our local community is of more concern than football."

09-01-2021, 09:14 AM
The same as last year, if it’s void then there is no prize money. The costs may be more, but the government money should at least give a massive shot in the arm (whenever they get their finger out and release it).

We're talking about the lower leagues here, not the Premiership.

The prize money is funded by the TV deal, which is all about showing Premiership matches and these would continue. There may be a small reduction for whatever income is received from Alba showing lower league games.

Other than the games postponed for Covid reasons, the Premiership has completed two rounds of fixtures so wouldn't be null and void if anything happened but instead finalised on a points per game basis using the precedent established last season.

09-01-2021, 09:18 AM

The prize money is funded by the TV deal, which is all about showing Premiership matches and these would continue. There may be a small reduction for whatever income is received from Alba showing lower league games.

Other than the games postponed for Covid reasons, the Premiership has completed two rounds of fixtures so wouldn't be null and void if anything happened but instead finalised on a points per game basis using the precedent established last season.
That’s right, voiding the lower leagues wouldn’t have any affect on the Tv deal, the only impact it would have is on the Scottish cup Tv deal.

09-01-2021, 09:20 AM
First Minister Nicola Sturgeon is warning that "all bets are off" if those involved in Scottish professional sport do not respect extra privileges.

A new stay at home message is now being enforced in Scotland amid rising cases of Covid-19.

But hundreds of untested football players and coaching staff will travel across the country this weekend for Scottish Cup second-round fixtures.

Ms Sturgeon said football bodies must listen to player concerns.

Several football clubs outside of the senior game have suspended training and the North Caledonian Football Association has put training and matches on hold until next month.

Morton v Dunfermline cup tie in doubt
Sturgeon questions Celtic's Dubai trip
Asked at her daily briefing to respond to a call from Lowland League club Dalbeattie Star to suspend the season until the pandemic is brought under control, Ms Sturgeon said the Scottish government is continuing to discuss the issue. "We've got to listen" if players or staff do not feel safe, she added.

The first minister said rules allowing the continuation of professional sport, not just football, will be reviewed if current mitigating rules, including separate travel and social distancing, are not followed.

Ms Sturgeon earlier this week suggested that Celtic had questions to answer about their winter training break to Dubai, although the Premiership champions insisted it was approved by the Scottish government.

National clinical director Jason Leitch commented that safety concerns expressed by Dalbeattie and others must be risen "up the chain" and "that may end up" at the Scottish FA and SPFL.

He said the government is in constant communication with the footballing authorities about which clubs were included in the exemption of "professional football".

Prof Leitch said that if there is a "common feeling" about safety from a part of the league then it is "for them to take account of that".

Asked if it was acceptable for hundreds of untested football players to be travelling to Scottish Cup ties this weekend, he pointed out that some footballers "may have the virus and should behave as though they have".

Prof Leitch added that, while professional sport remains exempt from travel restrictions, clubs must have "strong mitigations" in place - for example, having as low a level of support staff as possible and keeping to social distancing and use of face coverings.

Dalbeattie Star, whose manager, Ritchie Maxwell, works in the NHS, said in a statement: "We are classed as elite professional players, but no provision is available for Covid testing at our level.

"We do, however, query the professional status as we are a part-time club and all players have other careers out with football.

"Like all clubs in the league, we would love to be able to be able to complete this season in a timely manner, but the safety of our committee, management team, players and of course the people of our local community is of more concern than football."

Aye as I said, I don’t see anything in that which suggests the top flight will be stopped.

09-01-2021, 09:37 AM
I wonder what we will all be saying if Celtic infect some of our players/staff?

As one of only 2 teams who would be affected I think we would be going bananas if we had to field reserves.

The lower leagues should pause immediately and the Scottish Cup should be delayed for a month. It makes no sense travelling from one end of the country to another un-necessarily. If they can't play 3rounds of games in the leagues, cut it to 2. The premiership should be suspended if things continue to spiral out of control.

England can do whatever it likes as far as I am concerned.

09-01-2021, 09:45 AM

I’d expect if the seasons can’t be finished they’ll be settled by PPG regardless of how many games have been played.

09-01-2021, 10:16 AM
Aye as I said, I don’t see anything in that which suggests the top flight will be stopped.

“The first minister said rules allowing the continuation of professional sport, not just football, will be reviewed if current mitigating rules, including separate travel and social distancing, are not followed”

You must’ve missed this bit?

Let’s speculate that a team, say Celtic, have a major outbreak. That would probably be the game up the pole?

The current situation is a bit of a farce. The supposed bubble associated with a top flight club is massive. Many of us are making sacrifices, putting ourselves and families at risk due to t(e nature of our work, not seeing loved ones due to rules and risk factors and you have to contrast that with 30 guys meeting and training everyday, then travelling and playing a game against another group of guys in another very large bubble.

09-01-2021, 10:21 AM
I wonder what we will all be saying if Celtic infect some of our players/staff?

As one of only 2 teams who would be affected I think we would be going bananas if we had to field reserves.

The lower leagues should pause immediately and the Scottish Cup should be delayed for a month. It makes no sense travelling from one end of the country to another un-necessarily. If they can't play 3rounds of games in the leagues, cut it to 2. The premiership should be suspended if things continue to spiral out of control.

England can do whatever it likes as far as I am concerned.

Celtic players and staff will be going through the same testing and if anybody tests positive they won’t be able to play.

I don’t think the Hibs players are at any greater risk than they would be from any other fixture.

09-01-2021, 10:28 AM
Celtic players and staff will be going through the same testing and if anybody tests positive they won’t be able to play.

I don’t think the Hibs players are at any greater risk than they would be from any other fixture.

We will just need to agree to disagree about that.

09-01-2021, 10:37 AM
We will just need to agree to disagree about that.

What am I missing?

The Celtic players will be tested before we play them?

09-01-2021, 10:44 AM
“The first minister said rules allowing the continuation of professional sport, not just football, will be reviewed if current mitigating rules, including separate travel and social distancing, are not followed”

Let’s speculate that a team, say Celtic, have a major outbreak. That would probably be the game up the pole?

The current situation is a bit of a farce. The supposed bubble associated with a top flight club is massive. Many of us are making sacrifices, putting ourselves and families at risk due to t(e nature of our work, not seeing loved ones due to rules and risk factors and you have to contrast that with 30 guys meeting and training everyday, then travelling and playing a game against another group of guys in another very large bubble.

No I didn’t miss it. But I don’t read it and think football is a baw hair away from stopping as you put it, not at our level.

I also don’t think one outbreak would see everything stopped. I think some common sense would be applied around whether rules have been broken. If clubs were routinely breaking them, which I don’t see, that’s a different story.

09-01-2021, 10:52 AM
No I didn’t miss it. But I don’t read it and think football is a baw hair away from stopping as you put it, not at our level.

I also don’t think one outbreak would see everything stopped. I think some common sense would be applied around whether rules have been broken. If clubs were routinely breaking them, which I don’t see, that’s a different story.
I watched it as well and she went on to give many reasons why football should continue. I think a lot of people are reading parts of what was said and drawing different conclusions. I think it might get to the point where the lower leagues are stopped, but it certainly isn’t on the agenda right now.

09-01-2021, 11:01 AM
I watched it as well and she went on to give many reasons why football should continue. I think a lot of people are reading parts of what was said and drawing different conclusions. I think it might get to the point where the lower leagues are stopped, but it certainly isn’t on the agenda right now.

I have only read the article. I guess one of the reasons for football continuing is that helps maintain a semblance of normality and that in turn gives us all something else to think about and some hope that we will return to normal.

My work is proving really challenging just now. I’m seeing the effects of Covid at close quarters and feeling the impact of lockdown measures in terms of not seeing my children or partner. It’s hard to reconcile that with the likes of the Celtic trip and not letting my frustrations get carried away.

That said, I still think football is close to being obliged to take a break.

09-01-2021, 11:07 AM
I have only read the article. I guess one of the reasons for football continuing is that helps maintain a semblance of normality and that in turn gives us all something else to think about and some hope that we will return to normal.

My work is proving really challenging just now. I’m seeing the effects of Covid at close quarters and feeling the impact of lockdown measures in terms of not seeing my children or partner. It’s hard to reconcile that with the likes of the Celtic trip and not letting my frustrations get carried away.

I don’t think anyone agrees with Celtic’s trip to Dubai. However, it’s difficult for the government to use that as a reason for suspending football when they were involved in the discussions that led to it happening.

For me, it’s good that football is happening but it’s also having to go above and beyond what most other industries, who have been allowed to operate at any point during this, have had to do. Not so at the lower levels but certainly at ‘elite’ level.

09-01-2021, 11:22 AM

She said exactly that, she made a point of mentioning the mental aspect of what’s happening and how professional sport can help with that. Celtic have made a mockery of the system that’s been put in place and if they return and end up having to postpone games they should be hammered. I hope things get better for you soon.

09-01-2021, 12:22 PM
She said exactly that, she made a point of mentioning the mental aspect of what’s happening and how professional sport can help with that. Celtic have made a mockery of the system that’s been put in place and if they return and end up having to postpone games they should be hammered. I hope things get better for you soon.
My mental health wasn't helped by last weekends shocker!

09-01-2021, 12:46 PM
That’s the flip side :greengrin

09-01-2021, 05:18 PM
Best outcome all round

Those clubs will be happy because it’s what they were asking for last season.

09-01-2021, 05:27 PM
What am I missing?

The Celtic players will be tested before we play them?

What if it some of their players test positive on Tuesday, what happens to our players then?

Turkish Green
09-01-2021, 06:42 PM

I expect the arrangements for this year's trip to Dubai were made at the end of last year's trip and the Celtic management did not want to cancel due to financial losses. I doubt any thought was given to the game and I am surprised that the SG gave its approval. Nevertheless given the level of COVID-19 in the UAE, Celtic players should have been quarantined in their return or as a minimum go through a test in Dubai before they left in line with the new travel rules. If a Hibs player catches the virus from contact with a Celtic player then the SG should throw book at Celtic.

09-01-2021, 07:41 PM
I expect the arrangements for this year's trip to Dubai were made at the end of last year's trip and the Celtic management did not want to cancel due to financial losses. I doubt any thought was given to the game and I am surprised that the SG gave its approval. Nevertheless given the level of COVID-19 in the UAE, Celtic players should have been quarantined in their return or as a minimum go through a test in Dubai before they left in line with the new travel rules. If a Hibs player catches the virus from contact with a Celtic player then the SG should throw book at Celtic.

Celtic seem to believe they should be allowed to do as they please as it gives them the best chance of success for the rest of the season, it’s what lennon said and Kennedy today as well. For once sporting success is secondary to keeping everyone safe. There’s no winter break for a reason. It’s still incredible that everyone is treading eggshells about it. It wasn’t essential, not now, not ever, it’s a nice to have every season.

Sauzeesleftfoot
09-01-2021, 10:26 PM

And that’s why we have at significant problems with mental health.

Poor mental health is so much more than a bad football result, and a million miles from being a joke.

Appreciate your post was not intended to be offensive, but it is ignorant.

We have a big problem and suggesting it’s football related doesn’t help, much wider than that.

Take care 👍

09-01-2021, 10:46 PM
for the umpteenth time the Scottish Government did not approve the trip Celtic made. They provided clarification on the rules to the JRG. At absolutely no time did Celtic specifically and directly request permission from the SG. Celtic told a wee porkie based on discussions between the JRG/SG to try and justify their jolly and deflect from their irresponsible trip.

Celtic are now even admitting they broke the rules when in Dubai, but only in a little and specific way.

09-01-2021, 11:17 PM
for the umpteenth time the Scottish Government did not approve the trip Celtic made. They provided clarification on the rules to the JRG. At absolutely no time did Celtic specifically and directly request permission from the SG. Celtic told a wee porkie based on discussions between the JRG/SG to try and justify their jolly and deflect from their irresponsible trip.

Celtic are now even admitting they broke the rules when in Dubai, but only in a little and specific way.

Sorry, think that’s rubbish re the government. They knew exactly what Celtic were doing. You can’t tell a wee porkie about going to Dubai. You’re either there or you’re no.

They shouldn’t have been there, obviously. But it’s no as if they sneaked away without anyone knowing!

09-01-2021, 11:30 PM
Sorry, think that’s rubbish re the government. They knew exactly what Celtic were doing. You can’t tell a wee porkie about going to Dubai. You’re either there or you’re no.

They shouldn’t have been there, obviously. But it’s no as if they sneaked away without anyone knowing!

Celtic wouldn’t have gone to the SG and said ‘we are going to Dubai for a week, bit training, bit R&R, few pints’ - no chance. Celtic have gone to the JRG to say we’re planning on going to Dubai. JRG have gone to the government to clarify, SG have said ‘elite training and competition allowed abroad’ and they’ve told Celtic they can have a training camp.

It’s not for the SG to keep tabs and make sure that’s all it was for. Celtic have jumped through this ‘elite level training’ loophole, completely wrongly.

09-01-2021, 11:46 PM
Celtic wouldn’t have gone to the SG and said ‘we are going to Dubai for a week, bit training, bit R&R, few pints’ - no chance. Celtic have gone to the JRG to say we’re planning on going to Dubai. JRG have gone to the government to clarify, SG have said ‘elite training and competition allowed abroad’ and they’ve told Celtic they can have a training camp.

It’s not for the SG to keep tabs and make sure that’s all it was for. Celtic have jumped through this ‘elite level training’ loophole, completely wrongly.

Do you think every Hibs player has maintained a two meter distance from each other, of the pitch, since this started? Not a chance.

Guidance also says that you shouldn’t hug your team mates when you score. But that happens every week. In every game.

I don’t, for a minute, think they should have been there. But if the government were in a position to hammer them, they would. They won’t, because they gave it the green light. Football is no different to any other walk of life during this. Give folk a chance to mix, things will go wrong. No defence of Celtic, just don’t believe the football authorities or government are innocent.

10-01-2021, 09:07 AM
Do you think every Hibs player has maintained a two meter distance from each other, of the pitch, since this started? Not a chance.

Guidance also says that you shouldn’t hug your team mates when you score. But that happens every week. In every game.

I don’t, for a minute, think they should have been there. But if the government were in a position to hammer them, they would. They won’t, because they gave it the green light. Football is no different to any other walk of life during this. Give folk a chance to mix, things will go wrong. No defence of Celtic, just don’t believe the football authorities or government are innocent.

Celtic said in their own statement that SG permission was through the JRG. Celtic never went to the SG asking permission, they asked the JRG if they could go, they presumably asked the SG what the rules were on training camps and those are allowed but supposed to be for elite sports in training for competition. Of course Celtic used that loophole but that doesn’t mean it is right.

It wouldn’t have surprised me if they did go to Joe Fitzpatrick and he said aye as the mans a rocket, however they said in their own statement that it was done via the JRG, which Sturgeon backed up by outlining the rules, not expecting clubs to find loopholes for a jolly.

10-01-2021, 09:40 AM
Celtc did not get a hand written permission slip from Sturgeon.

Instead they deliberately described their mid-season jolly in a way that it met the pre-existing conditions so that when they asked the question, they were able to get confirmation that it met the rules.

There are only two at fault here - Celtc themselves for going ahead with their "well earned" holiday when they knew that the stricter lockdown was about to happen, and the SPFL for letting them do so by rearranging fixtures to suit Celtc over the objection of the other club involved.

10-01-2021, 09:45 AM
I don’t think anyone agrees with Celtic’s trip to Dubai. However, it’s difficult for the government to use that as a reason for suspending football when they were involved in the discussions that led to it happening.

For me, it’s good that football is happening but it’s also having to go above and beyond what most other industries, who have been allowed to operate at any point during this, have had to do. Not so at the lower levels but certainly at ‘elite’ level.

Which is why, for me, David Moyes comments about footballers who break the rules is way off and tone deaf compared to what the rest of us are having to deal with everyday. They live in a privelaged bubble and have been given more privelage by allowing to keep doing what they do and despite that there are idiots abusing that position. They should be held accountable for stupid and selfish decisions that break the rules.

John McGinn was spot on the money with his comments last week.

10-01-2021, 08:28 PM
Elite level sports in England and Wales to stop tomorrow according to some rumours doing the rounds.

If so you’ve got to imagine Scotland won’t be far behind them.

10-01-2021, 08:31 PM
Elite level sports in England and Wales to stop tomorrow according to some rumours doing the rounds.

What does this mean, what sports?

10-01-2021, 08:32 PM

Read that on twitter but no sources or credible journos that i could find?

Stairway 2 7
10-01-2021, 08:34 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnFernandez1/status/1348379167063220225

Anyone coming from dubai have to isolate backdated to the 3rd , farce is they will be special as usual

10-01-2021, 08:36 PM
What does this mean, what sports?

Premier league football and Rugby is what I read on Twitter. If it is the case I assume it will include all sports though.

Could be pish to be fair.

10-01-2021, 08:37 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnFernandez1/status/1348379167063220225

Anyone coming from dubai have to isolate backdated to the 3rd , farce is they will be special as usual
Im sure elite sport is treated differently? Could be wrong though.

10-01-2021, 08:47 PM
You’re right.

Stairway 2 7
10-01-2021, 08:52 PM
Im sure elite sport is treated differently? Could be wrong though.

But it wasn't really sport though in my opinion it was a holiday not any official fixtures played. It's more than bending the rules in where you play an official game and are in and out the country, not having pictures in nightclubs

10-01-2021, 08:55 PM
But it wasn't really sport though in my opinion it was a holiday not any official fixtures played. It's more than bending the rules in where you play an official game and are in and out the country, not having pictures in nightclubs

I get your argument, elite sports people are treated differently. Watching the transfer center the other day and they were talking about the young man utd signing not needing to isolate due to being in a sporting buble already.

Celtic are a different case as they have obviously been flouting protocol.

10-01-2021, 09:08 PM
Premier league football and Rugby is what I read on Twitter. If it is the case I assume it will include all sports though.

Could be pish to be fair.

Horse racing been told similar.

10-01-2021, 09:48 PM
If the leagues here stop for the season then Hearts are staying down. Need to have played 75% of the season for positions to stand.

Unfortunate for them, sure they’ll understand though.

10-01-2021, 09:52 PM
If the leagues here stop for the season then Hearts are staying down. Need to have played 75% of the season for positions to stand.

Everything that i have read which is all just hearsay is that it will be a 4 week break. We

10-01-2021, 09:54 PM

Are Hearts an elite sports team though? 😁

10-01-2021, 09:55 PM
Everything that i have read which is all just hearsay is that it will be a 4 week break. We

Which will make no difference as teams will either have to keep training to continue in 4 weeks, or it’ll be longer than 4 weeks as teams will need a couple of weeks to get back up to speed.

10-01-2021, 09:58 PM
Which will make no difference as teams will either have to keep training to continue in 4 weeks, or it’ll be longer than 4 weeks as teams will need a couple of weeks to get back up to speed.

I'm not arguing, just what I have read and it seems to be pure speculation.

10-01-2021, 10:00 PM
I'm not arguing, just what I have read and it seems to be pure speculation.

Likewise, no idea if it’s true or not, just stating that stopping for a few weeks won’t make any difference. If teams keep training then they’d be as well playing games as well, and if they don’t train then games will be stopped for 6/7 weeks and seasons won’t be finished. Interesting times ahead.

11-01-2021, 10:42 AM
Some chat about all football going on hold below Championship level....and Champ teams must fully test to continue.

11-01-2021, 10:43 AM
Some chat about all football going on hold below Championship level....and Champ teams must fully test to continue.

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-board-confirms-three-week-suspension-of-professional-football-beneath-spfl-championship/

11-01-2021, 10:43 AM

Cancelled for 3 weeks. Cup games could be cancelled too

11-01-2021, 10:44 AM

https://twitter.com/ramanbhardwajTV/status/1348595423431294977?s=19

11-01-2021, 10:45 AM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-board-confirms-three-week-suspension-of-professional-football-beneath-spfl-championship/?rid=13929

H18S NX
11-01-2021, 10:49 AM
https://twitter.com/ramanbhardwajTV/status/1348595423431294977?s=19...Tanner sticking up for his hun idols.

12-01-2021, 08:13 PM
https://twitter.com/record_sport/status/1349100302931275778?s=21

Big meeting of all SPFL clubs tomorrow. Cant be arsed reading the story but I hope there’s no plans to discuss stopping the football for a while.

13-01-2021, 01:15 PM

So you are calling the FM who went on the record on Monday at her briefing a liar then?

Celtic will of course be able to provide the documented evidence to back up their case. They haven't. Go figure

13-01-2021, 01:19 PM
So you are calling the FM who went on the record on Monday at her briefing a liar then?

Celtic will of course be able to provide the documented evidence to back up their case. They haven't. Go figure

You don’t think the government had any prior knowledge about something that was in the public domain anyway?

13-01-2021, 03:44 PM
You don’t think the government had any prior knowledge about something that was in the public domain anyway?

The SG was asked to clarify the rules. They did. Football then ****** it up.

Aim your bullets at the culprits.