View Full Version : This site

03-01-2021, 01:36 PM
Some cracking discussions on the go across a few threads today.

I see .net getting pelters at times but there’s some great chat on here today, good to see it.

03-01-2021, 01:38 PM
At my age I can never tell anymore if folk are being sarcastic...

03-01-2021, 01:39 PM

I see .net getting pelters at times but there’s some great chat on here today, good to see it.

****ing arse licking *******

03-01-2021, 01:41 PM
At my age I can never tell anymore if folk are being sarcastic...

:faf: I’m not being sarcastic. First time in ages I’ve sat for a few hours on here reading and contributing, and enjoying the chat.

03-01-2021, 01:41 PM
****ing arse licking *******

Sums me up. :faf:

03-01-2021, 01:45 PM
:faf: I’m not being sarcastic. First time in ages I’ve sat for a few hours on here reading and contributing, and enjoying the chat.

It makes for lots of discussion. It’s just shame a lot of it is hyperbolic nonsense.

I can’t remember the last time the site was as negative.

It’s like a game at Hampden, people nowhere to be seen all season all of a sudden pop up. It’s the same when we’ve lost a few games, people who are nowhere to be found after good results appear fae nowhere.

03-01-2021, 01:45 PM

As long as discussion stays that way, it's when individuals on both sides of the coin take things too far. I like both sides of every debate but hate it when posters start ramming their views down your throat or or turn sarcastic.

03-01-2021, 01:48 PM
It makes for lots of discussion. It’s just shame a lot of it is hyperbolic nonsense.

It’s like a game at Hampden, people nowhere to be seen all season all of a sudden pop up. It’s the same when we’ve lost a few games, people who are nowhere to be found after good results appear fae nowhere.

There’s more drink than usual taken at Hampden finals.
Theres more drink than usual knocking around the house in early January.
So many parallels.

03-01-2021, 01:49 PM

It was probably as negative around Oct/Nov 19 when people where getting called bed wetters and ruining the site for wanting Hecky out. It seems for some if you don't post everything is rosey it really offends people when overall, positive or negative we all want what's best for our club.

03-01-2021, 01:53 PM
I agree.

I find it quite easy to just ignore the people I know will be dogmatically sticking to one position or another. There aren't all that many, no need for ignore functions, just skim read their posts and move on. There are loads of people who are quite analytical, break things down well and whilst not always agreeing with them it's good to read their opinion.

Ultimately people can choose to make their contribution to the board one that is constantly moaning, constantly moaning about moaning, constantly trying to drag an argument from one thread to another or they can contribute in a positive manner and improve the board for everyone, including themselves.

03-01-2021, 01:56 PM
I agree.

I find it quite easy to just ignore the people I know will be dogmatically sticking to one position or another. There aren't all that many, no need for ignore functions, just skim read their posts and move on. There are loads of people who are quite analytical, break things down well and whilst not always agreeing with them it's good to read their opinion.

Ultimately people can choose to make their contribution to the board one that is constantly moaning, constantly moaning about moaning, constantly trying to drag an argument from one thread to another or they can contribute in a positive manner and improve the board for everyone, including themselves.

03-01-2021, 01:58 PM
P&B is better for discussion about hibs then here tbh

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 02:06 PM

Well said.

People have different views of how they see Hibs being run and coached. Not everyone shares the happy clapper way of thinking that th eclub can do no wrong and always back the manager. It does get tiring when you disagree with that way of thinking you get labled a Jambo,seen it many times.

I do think people are starting to be more accepting and realistic that Jack Ross isn't doing as well as it appears through the league table.

Key West
03-01-2021, 02:40 PM

I agree it is a positive forum when the criticism is constructive and there is a lot to learn even as a supporter, some excellent analysis from the viewpoints of fans.

03-01-2021, 02:49 PM
It was probably as negative around Oct/Nov 19 when people where getting called bed wetters and ruining the site for wanting Hecky out. It seems for some if you don't post everything is rosey it really offends people when overall, positive or negative we all want what's best for our club.

We all want what’s best for Hibs, no question. Nobody is asking for continuous happy clapping but there’s a middle ground between that and the site being as downbeat as it is.

03-01-2021, 02:50 PM

Not if people are posting comments like 'Hermit Crap', surely?

03-01-2021, 02:54 PM
Not if people are posting comments like 'Hermit Crap', surely?

Jack Loss/Dross appeals for context, m’lud.

Kinross Hibee
03-01-2021, 04:00 PM
Now theres a wee thread about the site, my only real criticism of it is that we go into lockdown every time we get a bad result 🤣 reeks of hurt and paranoia lol. Apart from that, well run site with a few good debates!

03-01-2021, 04:03 PM
Jack Loss/Dross appeals for context, m’lud.

Yeah, I saw that one.

I honestly don't know how you guys cope with this site sometimes

03-01-2021, 04:10 PM
Now theres a wee thread about the site, my only real criticism of it is that we go into lockdown every time we get a bad result 🤣 reeks of hurt and paranoia lol. Apart from that, well run site with a few good debates!

I'm sure that's more to do with the traffic slowing down the site and nothing to do with acting childish. I'm happy it's that way.

03-01-2021, 04:11 PM

The sheer weight of traffic after a bad result means we have to restrict access to registered members otherwise nobody would get on. It’s nothing to do with trying to hide anything. As the carnage that is revealed when we open up the site to everybody again often demonstrates. :greengrin

03-01-2021, 04:25 PM
I know I can sometimes be sarcastic and I apologise sincerely if it annoys people, it's just that it's less offensive than coming straight out and calling someone a cock.

03-01-2021, 04:27 PM
I know I can sometimes be sarcastic and I apologise sincerely if it annoys people, it's just that it's less offensive than coming straight out and calling someone a cock.

Actually I recently got told off for using the :faf: smiley. It is a ‘snidely wee’ :faf: apparently.

03-01-2021, 04:31 PM

Become a member (not a cock, just a member) and you’ll not suffer the lockdown stuff. You’ll still get called names of course, and there are those easily offended, but it’s a tenner a year well spent.

03-01-2021, 04:34 PM

To be fair. Anybody that gets offended by chat on a fans forum must be a cock.

03-01-2021, 04:36 PM
Become a member (not a cock, just a member) and you’ll not suffer the lockdown stuff. You’ll still get called names of course, and there are those easily offended, but it’s a tenner a year well spent.

Being a cock doesn't stop you from being a PM.....

03-01-2021, 04:37 PM
Being a cock doesn't stop you from being a PM.....I thought it was a prerequisite.

03-01-2021, 04:38 PM

Or vice versa 😀

03-01-2021, 04:44 PM

Gets the cock past the lockdown though, that being the point.

03-01-2021, 04:49 PM
I thought it was a prerequisite.

Isn’t it actively encouraged?

03-01-2021, 07:42 PM
I thought it was a prerequisite.

It is.

03-01-2021, 07:48 PM
In the spirit of togetherness, when the restrictions allow it, we should all meet up on the Links...for a winner-takes-all clappers -v- wetters rammy. I'll pick my side once I see how it's going.

03-01-2021, 07:51 PM
In the spirit of togetherness, when the restrictions allow it, we should all meet up on the Links...for a winner-takes-all clappers -v- wetters rammy. I'll pick my side once I see how it's going.

It's well worth setting up a PPV for that and all

03-01-2021, 08:03 PM
In the spirit of togetherness, when the restrictions allow it, we should all meet up on the Links...for a winner-takes-all clappers -v- wetters rammy. I'll pick my side once I see how it's going.Difficult to set up a date though, given the number of wetters that only appear after a defeat. ;-)

03-01-2021, 11:54 PM
Difficult to set up a date though, given the number of wetters that only appear after a defeat. ;-)

Plenty of opportunities ahead then!

04-01-2021, 12:13 AM
Yup, compared to the rest of the Internet this place is a paradise.

04-01-2021, 06:44 AM

Naw naw naw, that’s not how it works, you pick your side and stick to it rigidly even if the evidence is slapping you round the face with a wet haddock.

04-01-2021, 06:54 AM
We all want what’s best for Hibs, no question. Nobody is asking for continuous happy clapping but there’s a middle ground between that and the site being as downbeat as it is.

It’s not nearly as negative or downbeat on here as you make out.

I think it strikes a perfectly good balance of folk ranting a load of nonsense, those who think the club can do no wrong and everything in between.

Maybe it’s just your take on things?

04-01-2021, 08:26 AM

I think it strikes a perfectly good balance of folk ranting a load of nonsense, those who think the club can do no wrong and everything in between.

Maybe it is. It’s created a lot of debate.

Maybe I just don’t like it when people wallow in negative results? Those same posters who are absent after wins.

04-01-2021, 09:15 AM

I don’t think there’s anyone who sees no wrong.

The extreme views tend to be on the overly negative side of things.

04-01-2021, 09:26 AM
I don’t think there’s anyone who sees no wrong.

The extreme views tend to be on the overly negative side of things.

After negative results the extreme views on the negative side appear same as the extreme positive views appear when we string a couple of results together.

04-01-2021, 09:31 AM
After negative results the extreme views on the negative side appear same as the extreme positive views appear when we string a couple of results together.

Nowhere near it.

04-01-2021, 09:35 AM

I think that's quite an interesting consideration.

A lot of the voices complaining about OTT negativity after a run of bad results were many of the same people telling people to calm down and stop being stupid when we were maybe getting a bit carried away with our form at the start of the season.

I'm certain everyone with a few functioning brain cells knew Hibs weren't going to win the league this year but if we are top of the league for 2 or 3 weeks then I'm damn sure I'm going to enjoy it and milk it whilst it lasts.

I don't think the board being a humdrum, middle of the road place would leave anyone happy really. A few extreme views here and there sparks discussion.

04-01-2021, 09:38 AM
I personally found the 'challenging Celtc for 2nd place' chat to be just as weird as the 'Jack Ross, GTF' or 'we only win when we're lucky' stuff.

We're a slightly above average Premiership team that will have good and bad results, as well as good and bad performances.

We have players with both talent and flaws. If they had no flaws, they'd be playing at a much higher level.... and I refute any claims that opinion makes me unambitious for Hibs, or that my 'acceptance of mediocrity' (or whatever other barmy phrase is being used) is holding Hibs back in any way.

DanishJohn
04-01-2021, 10:02 AM
During these times when things are tough it's good to at least communicate with someone or group who share a passion for a football club.

I could go out onto the street and speak with neighbours who are all Leeds fans but they are fed up hearing me going on about being at Elland Road in 1973 when we played them off the park!

You are doing a great job guys.

Kinross Hibee
04-01-2021, 10:36 AM

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

04-01-2021, 10:52 AM
It can get OTT, irrational and ridiculous, like some calling for Ross to be sacked. But it happens everywhere. There are Jambos after Neilson’s head because they lost a cup final on pens and were beaten by Dundee. Football fandom isn’t really meant to make sense.

04-01-2021, 11:52 AM

Weirdly I agree. I know I’ve had a wee rant about some of the hyperbole on here but avoided the site for a couple of days after the Livi game and missed, it would seem, the usual suspects wanting to bask in as much misery as possible before vanishing but there’s actually a lot of decent discussion today.

For the record, I love any opportunity for a good discussion on Hibs. The site has been a haven often this year - in our household this year we’ve had three bereavements, two threats of redundancy and the like and it’s been a haven to enjoy the football and chat a couple of times a week. It’s almost been a part of maintaining sanity to have a chance to talk about something normal - and it’s also why I’ve been more sensitive to the usual WUMs trying to one up each other.

But aye, lots of good on it in the majority and glad it’s here. It’s a shame
to have to avoid it for a day or two if there’s a loss but it is what it is to some degree.

We really were ***** on Saturday though😂