PDA

View Full Version : Analysis of the last two games - and our season in general.

Keith_M
03-01-2021, 10:57 AM
OK, first up: This is just my personal analysis of what's gone wrong the last couple of games, set in a bigger picture of our season overall. I'm not an expert, just an ordinary supporter attempting to take a clinical look at what he's observed.

---------------------------------------

I think Ross sets us up as a counter-attacking side, but that just doesn't work when the opposition are doing the same.

Teams will often be more attacking at home, so our style of play is more effective when we're away from home, hence the decent results. However, when teams come to ER, they're the ones doing the counter-attacking and our main game plan falls apart.

Because we've suddenly got a lot of the ball, and facing a side with 9 or 10 in defence, it takes something special to break that down. Some games we've had that bit of creativity and others, like the last two, the ball has just been passed back and forward aimlessly until we lose it and the opposition go on the counter attack.

Unfortunately, desperation seems to have set in the last couple of games and we've over-committed players, meaning County and Livi have run straight through the gaps in our defence. There's also the psychological aspect, where the players are thinking 'here we go again', and it ends up a self fulfilling prophecy.

In essence, what we're missing, IMHO, is the level of creativity, or a proper game plan, for 'home' style matches where the opposition is just sitting in waiting for a break. We're also missing real leaders on the park that can motivate their teammates when things aren't going as expected.