View Full Version : Christmas or New Year?

01-01-2021, 02:39 PM
In normal non-Covid times, which do you prefer?

I've always favoured Christmas. I'm lucky enough to have a big family who, by and large, get on well and we always enjoy a big Christmas together. There's also a bit of escapism around Christmas, when you start to lose track of which day it is, which I like. I'd be lying if I said the religious aspect of the season played a big part, but as a parent I also enjoy the nativity plays, carol services etc.

I know a lot of older Scottish folk see New Year as the bigger deal, but for me it's always felt a bit flat/depressing. When I was younger (pre Princes St street party era) I spent several Hogmannays at the Tron, which involved a lot of drinking, snogging and often (with taxis impossible to come by) a long, long walk home. However, by and large I see it more as marking the end of the festivities and there's a looming sense of back to school/work about it all.

01-01-2021, 02:42 PM
I can't really be bothered with New Year so Christmas.

Although it's really just Christmas Day itself as I find the build up to it quite stressful.

I'm more a summer person myself.

01-01-2021, 02:48 PM
I can't really be bothered with New Year so Christmas.

Although it's really just Christmas Day itself as I find the build up to it quite stressful.

I'm more a summer person myself.

Sums it up nicely for me too.

AT8
01-01-2021, 03:57 PM
Christmas for sure. In fact, true to form, my post-Christmas depression kicked in yesterday. There's something magical about Christmas that really gets to me. I think it's the fact that everyone is united and there's such a cheery atmosphere that everyone can enjoy that really lifts the spirits. Another reason for my post-Christmas depression results from the fact that we go from having the brightest (lights and decorations) month straight into the bleakest month of the year.

01-01-2021, 03:59 PM
Before I had the kids I'd have said new year everytime but seeing the kids on Christmas day opening their presents thinking that santa has came in when they are in bed is pretty amazing, so now it has to christmas, except the expense of course!

01-01-2021, 04:02 PM
Christmas.

I like my New Year trip to the races and meeting up with a few people for drinks but Christmas is much more family orientated.

It's not so much an issue now but I always found going out at Hogmanay like a slightly less enjoyable normal weekend. It was essentially just a trip to a pub but the place was full of daytrippers who didn't know how to behave in a boozer.

01-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Boxing Day is my favourite. Way more relaxed. I drink baileys in my coffee in the morning, after 10 o’clock move on to screwdrivers and then start drinking non-disguisable drinks when the football starts.

We got dressed up and had a curry last night which was nice but for me the majority of new year celebrations are a bit of a damp squib.

01-01-2021, 04:28 PM
It's been Christmas for about the last 8 years. Used to have Hogmanay parties with pals every year but my mate kept getting out of control on the bevvy so we gave them up. We never even stayed up for the bells last night for the first time ever.

I like New Years Day though, darts, out for a run, bevvy, steak pie, fitba, darts and more bevvy :greengrin

01-01-2021, 04:36 PM
I have to be honest, I don't get too excited by either, but my sister invites everyone round to her house at Christmas, so that's always nice.

It's more just getting to see everybody and having a blether, as I'm not in the least interested in the pseudo-religious or overly emotional aspects.

01-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Christmas-New Year-Christmas. Christmas when I was a bairn for obvious reasons, later favoured new year because of the party element and chance of getting your Nat King and now Christmas again since the boy was born. I'd presume that's a normal life cycle for most people.

01-01-2021, 04:54 PM
It's not so much an issue now but I always found going out at Hogmanay like a slightly less enjoyable normal weekend. It was essentially just a trip to a pub but the place was full of daytrippers who didn't know how to behave in a boozer.

Yup, the same sort of numpties that wear a novelty tie/jersey on a Christmas night out.

01-01-2021, 05:07 PM
Christmas for me. I've always liked the atmosphere around Christmas and I've always liked having an excuse to contact long standing friends and meet up for a pint. New year was more special when it was the one night of the year that you'd stay up really late - now you can do that whenever you want. I've never really liked big, organised parties either. Spontaneity invariably works better for me.

I've always preferred dark/winter nights, probably because they put me in mind of the festive season.

02-01-2021, 11:20 PM
Christmas for me, love the build up, Christmas films, songs, buying all the extra food goodies and giving presents. There is something magical about Christmas that I love.

02-01-2021, 11:29 PM
Christmas for me. I've probably enjoyed a handful of Hogmanays in my late teens/early 20's but I've never really like it. The last Hogmanay I went out was probably the millennium.

03-01-2021, 06:54 AM
Christmas for me too

the build up is a mixture of fun, annoyance, excitement, buzz, frustration, irritation, and the feeling of the years natural conclusion coming to a crescendo. I enjoy the different feel of tv, shops (not the crowds, although not an issue this year), work (prior to being made redundant over this Christmas period).

I also enjoy Christmas Day, getting to see family and now the wee one opening presents, then the Christmas night and Boxing Day ‘catch your breath’ time, and the next few days of relaxing.

Hogmanay/New Years is fine, but is usually a marker that the nice time is coming to a close and it’s back into the slog of poor weather and ‘new year push’ at work, not to mention the long stretch before another payday at the end of January.

03-01-2021, 08:08 AM
Christmas, I also prefer Christmas Eve to Christmas Day. I love just chilling in my trackies watching Christmas films and preparing things for the next day.

Key West
03-01-2021, 08:28 AM
At my age no preferences, I’m just grateful for the time off to relax.

03-01-2021, 08:49 AM
Christmas, 100%. New Year is load of bollocks, just another excuse to get drunk which I can do every weekend anyway.