31-12-2020, 03:34 PM
This year can really sook ma root.

Legend of a man rip.

31-12-2020, 03:35 PM
A real character. IIRC he once likened Gordon McQueen to a runaway camel 😂😂😂

31-12-2020, 03:37 PM
Auld Tommy Doc; he had mair clubs than Tiger Woods. Was famously sacked from Man United in 1977, after winning the cup, for pumping the physio's wife. A 'character' alright.

92 is pretty damn good

31-12-2020, 03:38 PM
Controversial, and seemingly loved and hated in equal measure, but what a character. The type we just don’t see anymore in the modern game. His teams were very exciting to watch too.

31-12-2020, 03:40 PM
A real character. IIRC he once likened Gordon McQueen to a runaway camel 😂😂😂

🤣🤣🤣

31-12-2020, 03:42 PM
Gave Sodje his two caps

Said Pat Stanton was better than Bobby Moore

Deepest sincerest condolences to family and friends

31-12-2020, 04:14 PM
RIP. That's 7 ex United players and an ex manager who have passed away this year.

31-12-2020, 04:19 PM
Gave Sodje his two caps

Didn’t he say that Billy then swiftly bin Pat from the squad? I seem to remember he also likened Tam Forsyth to a Clydesdale horse...
Bit of a chancer I always thought although relegation with Man U will keep him remembered as will the story of how he left Man U, a classic of its time. But yet another character gone no mistake.

31-12-2020, 04:26 PM
Didn’t he say that Billy then swiftly bin Pat from the squad? I seem to remember he also likened Tam Forsyth to a Clydesdale horse...
Bit of a chancer I always thought although relegation with Man U will keep him remembered as will the story of how he left Man U, a classic of its time. But yet another character gone no mistake.

Certainly rings a bell right enough and definitely a character

31-12-2020, 04:31 PM
shame, RIP Tommy ;(

h1bs4life
31-12-2020, 04:32 PM
RIP Doc a character ,

31-12-2020, 04:33 PM

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

31-12-2020, 04:37 PM
I seem to recall that the Clydesdale comparison was used when he was comparing Forsyth to Martin Buchan. Could be wrong though....

31-12-2020, 04:40 PM
I seem to recall that the Clydesdale comparison was used when he was comparing Forsyth to Martin Buchan. Could be wrong though....

Might have been. He certainly called that one right.

31-12-2020, 04:42 PM
R​
Auld Tommy Doc; he had mair clubs than Tiger Woods. Was famously sacked from Man United in 1977, after winning the cup, for pumping the physio's wife. A 'character' alright.

92 is pretty damn good

And lived with her happily ever after.

31-12-2020, 04:49 PM
As a daft 14 year old I honestly thought Scotland would win the World Cup under the Doc.

31-12-2020, 05:50 PM
R​

And lived with her happily ever after.

Mrs Brown
P.S. Don't know about you but I am amazed he lived to be 92

31-12-2020, 06:39 PM
There was a really good BT Sport film about his Man U team that got relegated then bounced back to take the top league by storm. I was never a Man U lover but that was a fantastic entertaining young team and I’m sure they’d have won the league if he hadn’t got sacked for his misdemeanours with Mary Brown.

A true character. RIP Doc.

31-12-2020, 06:48 PM

United fans mourned their loss with this creative reworking of Knees Up Mother Brown:
"Who's up Mary Brown? Who's up Mary Brown? Tommy, Tommy, Tommy, Docherty."

As you say a classic of it's time.

31-12-2020, 06:48 PM
Mrs Brown
P.S. Don't know about you but I am amazed he lived to be 92

92 is the new 62:greengrin:greengrin

31-12-2020, 06:52 PM
92 is the new 62:greengrin:greengrin

It is for some folk but I didn't see it being Tommy Doc :greengrin.

31-12-2020, 07:53 PM
Gave Sodje his two caps

RIPhe also said Pat Stanton would never play for Scotland again whilst he was Scotland manager. pat had to withdraw from the squad as his wife had just had a baby and was not happy with him!

31-12-2020, 08:26 PM
he also said Pat Stanton would never play for Scotland again whilst he was Scotland manager. pat had to withdraw from the squad as his wife had just had a baby and was not happy with him!

Wisnae everybody’s cup of tea

I don’t know how he got on with the SFA but was quick to jump ship IIRC

31-12-2020, 08:38 PM
Wisnae everybody’s cup of tea

I don’t know how he got on with the SFA but was quick to jump ship IIRC
I remember the incident so well. it made me so angry the He was being treated so badly by Docherty.

01-01-2021, 08:33 AM
Someone once compared Lorenzo Amaruso to Billy McNeil and the Doc replied 'I can't remember Billy being that bad'

01-01-2021, 09:46 AM
Gave Sodje his two caps

I was at the Portugal game to see his debut, as the chant went, Wilson, Jardine, Davy Hay, Bremner, Colquhoun, Stanton, Johnstone, Graham, John O'Hare, Archie Gemmill, Cropley. nah nah nah nah etc. October 1971, I was 15, where have all those years gone! 2-1 Scots, O'Hare & Gemmill. I remember getting hammered by both Belgium [3-0] & Portugal [2-0] in the away legs earlier that year, performances as bad as the scoreline suggested and this was during a run that took in the coming home international championships which saw us losing to England and N Ireland and drawing with Wales, the only game in seven that we avoided defeat. The "Doc" took over and the impact was immediate, beating both Portugal and Belgium, the only bad point was injury to Alex Cropley at Pittodrie in the Belgium game and he was replaced by Kenny Dalglish making his Scottish debut for the full national team.

highland hibbee
01-01-2021, 02:10 PM
United fans mourned their loss with this creative reworking of Knees Up Mother Brown:
"Who's up Mary Brown? Who's up Mary Brown? Tommy, Tommy, Tommy, Docherty."

As you say a classic of it's time.

he could laugh at himself too. Mind the time when he was on off the ball, and Cowan read out the question, what have Billy Connolly and Tommy Docherty got in common,,,,.......,,,,, the answer of course is they’ve both been in Mrs Brown.

01-01-2021, 02:24 PM
He was most successful coaching young players, especially at Chelsea. He was a better comedian than manager.

01-01-2021, 03:16 PM
I was at the Portugal game to see his debut, as the chant went, Wilson, Jardine, Davy Hay, Bremner, Colquhoun, Stanton, Johnstone, Graham, John O'Hare, Archie Gemmill, Cropley. nah nah nah nah etc. October 1971, I was 15, where have all those years gone! 2-1 Scots, O'Hare & Gemmill. I remember getting hammered by both Belgium [3-0] & Portugal [2-0] in the away legs earlier that year, performances as bad as the scoreline suggested and this was during a run that took in the coming home international championships which saw us losing to England and N Ireland and drawing with Wales, the only game in seven that we avoided defeat. The "Doc" took over and the impact was immediate, beating both Portugal and Belgium, the only bad point was injury to Alex Cropley at Pittodrie in the Belgium game and he was replaced by Kenny Dalglish making his Scottish debut for the full national team.

I was at at Hampden that night to see the English born players Alex Cropley and Bob Wilson make their debuts and a brilliant display from Billy Bremner and Scotland