View Full Version : Only an excuse: The final whistle
31-12-2020, 05:10 AM
ONLY AN EXCUSE
Last one tonight folks
Some might say ‘Thank god’
At times is was enough to make you reach for the bottle
What started as a good laugh and was different I feel has sadly run it’s course and well past it’s sell by date
I was wondering if any hibbies out there in England and abroad ever had the pleasure of watching this show at Hogmanay or if it was a show wholly inflicted upon the Scots ?
Lets hope for a decent show tonight
Some classics
Chris Iwelumo making the unmissable missable
https://youtu.be/QYfT4bD3PSQ
31-12-2020, 06:33 AM
Been absolutely pish for years. Embarrassingly bad infact.
31-12-2020, 06:39 AM
Nae borra fur the Frankie bhoy!
31-12-2020, 08:23 AM
Had universal appeal throughout Scotland in the beginning, but ended up being a show primarily aimed at a Glasgow/West coast audience.
The writing dramatically went downhill after Tony Roper left, but those early shows both on radio and TV remain classics of their time.
31-12-2020, 08:28 AM
The show basically lost almost everyone that helped make it successful. Everyone references Tony Roper but there was also the likes of Greg Hemphill, Alastair McGowan, Gordon Kennedy and Lewis MacLeod. Watson just isn't good enough to carry it largely himself.
It's a shame because the early radio stuff is still on YouTube and, whilst off it's time, is very funny. Likewise the early TV shows with the bigger and more talented cast were also excellent. It then went increasingly down that typically weegie path in trying to mix up sectarianism, politics and football and passing it off as 'patter'.
Killed off about a decade and a half too late. I'll miss it though as the inevitable slagging it takes is the comedy highlight of the year.
31-12-2020, 08:55 AM
Still have cassettes of the old radio shows
Genius
Hibernian Scottish Cup campaign 1903-2015 :
The Wilderness Years
31-12-2020, 10:06 AM
I believe the show is a re run of some of the “best bits” from past shows. Enough said!
31-12-2020, 10:51 AM
I believe the show is a re run of some of the “best bits” from past shows. Enough said!
Should be good if they go back far enough to when it was genuinely funny. :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
31-12-2020, 10:53 AM
Been ***** since Tony roper left
31-12-2020, 11:36 AM
It'll be in black and white then.
Renfrew_Hibby
31-12-2020, 04:44 PM
Thank **** for that. It's been an old firm cringe fest for years.
31-12-2020, 04:48 PM
Should’ve been put out to pasture years ago. The only clip I found funny in the last 10 years or so was the Margaret Curran clip.
31-12-2020, 04:49 PM
Thank **** for that. It's been an old firm cringe fest for years.
We will all be watching it though whilst saying how absolutely crap it is,as we have done for years now. I’ll miss it. :greengrin
31-12-2020, 04:50 PM
ONLY AN EXCUSE
Last one tonight folks
Some might say ‘Thank god’
At times is was enough to make you reach for the bottle
What started as a good laugh and was different I feel has sadly run it’s course and well past it’s sell by date
I was wondering if any hibbies out there in England and abroad ever had the pleasure of watching this show at Hogmanay or if it was a show wholly inflicted upon the Scots ?
Lets hope for a decent show tonight
Some classics
Chris Iwelumo making the unmissable missable
https://youtu.be/QYfT4bD3PSQ
Thank ****, no more 25 minutes of Celtic and Rangers pish with 5 minutes of token teams thrown so they can say their not bias. Goodbye and good riddens
31-12-2020, 04:54 PM
Like everything else about BBC Scotland and Scottish football it has helped perpetuate bigotry in the form of its “banter”.
A welcome long outstayed.
It’s been mostly awful for a very long time, but it’s been a Hogmanay tradition to watch since I was a laddie, I’ve been watching it for at least 27 years now, which makes me feel quite sad and nostalgic for my youth, and for when it was genuinely funny, pulling inspiration from many sources, personalities and comedic talent
31-12-2020, 05:03 PM
It hasn’t really moved with the times and some of the original characters will be unknown to a lot of younger generations. Its been on a steady downward spiral over the past few years but I still watch it every year regardless. Its become a lot more cringey recently and he should have dumped a lot of the sectarian nonsense a long time ago.
Decent article here with Jonathan Watson if anyone’s interested -
https://www.pressreader.com/uk/scottish-daily-mail/20201226/283777086528719
31-12-2020, 05:44 PM
I used to absolutely love it and while it still has the odd funny moments it’s past it’s sell by date now.
31-12-2020, 06:23 PM
It hasn’t really moved with the times and some of the original characters will be unknown to a lot of younger generations. Its been on a steady downward spiral over the past few years but I still watch it every year regardless. Its become a lot more cringey recently and he should have dumped a lot of the sectarian nonsense a long time ago.
Decent article here with Jonathan Watson if anyone’s interested -
https://www.pressreader.com/uk/scottish-daily-mail/20201226/283777086528719 (https://www.pressreader.com/uk/scottish-daily-mail/20201226/283777086528719)
There are no modern characters of the game they can parody now anyway. Its finished.
31-12-2020, 06:44 PM
There are no modern characters of the game they can parody now anyway. Its finished.
What, the modern game’s finished are you saying? I didn’t think things were that bad.
31-12-2020, 07:33 PM
I wonder who will get it tight tonight?
Freddo ?
Broonie ?
Sparky ?
Stevie Clarke ?
McWinless ?
Popcorn teeth ?
Slippy G ?
Plenty characters there
Cabbie1875
31-12-2020, 07:33 PM
Sat and watched it last year and didnt even crack a smile
31-12-2020, 07:41 PM
I wonder who will get it tight tonight?
Freddo ?
Broonie ?
Sparky ?
Stevie Clarke ?
McWinless ?
Popcorn teeth ?
Slippy G ?
Plenty characters there
Disappointing reference to NL. Not something I’d expect to see from someone on here.
31-12-2020, 07:44 PM
Disappointing reference to NL. Not something I’d expect to see from someone on here.
Who mentioned NL?
31-12-2020, 08:04 PM
Who mentioned NL?
you did :confused:
31-12-2020, 08:10 PM
We will all be watching it though whilst saying how absolutely crap it is,as we have done for years now. I’ll miss it. :greengrin
I've not watched it for about 10 years, I'd be amazed if it's funnier than this yearly thread though.
31-12-2020, 08:11 PM
you did :confused:
So it is ok to disrespect the others but not someone that disrespected our club by not wanting to be here ?
Anyway I was just trying to get into character and prove to a previous poster that there are still plenty of characters and plenty of life left In Scottish football
I do not want to turn this into another NL thread but as a ST holder I will call him anything I want to thank you very much
31-12-2020, 08:12 PM
What is s everyone going to moan about at Hogmanay now when it’s done?
31-12-2020, 08:13 PM
What is s everyone going to moan about at Hogmanay now when it’s done?On here? I wouldn't worry about that.
31-12-2020, 08:14 PM
I daresay the BBC will come up with some other pish to replace it. We can but hope, it would ruin my year if they commissioned something good.
31-12-2020, 08:22 PM
Susan Calman this year. Absolutely horrendous. should be nowhere near the tv cameras
ClermistonGreen
31-12-2020, 08:27 PM
The last Hibs performance of the year !
31-12-2020, 08:29 PM
Susan Calman this year. Absolutely horrendous. should be nowhere near the tv cameras
Not just this year, absolutely abysmal patter.
31-12-2020, 08:32 PM
Abysmal last year wi the Glasgow Edinburgh jokes went down like a lead balloon
31-12-2020, 08:35 PM
I daresay the BBC will come up with some other pish to replace it. We can but hope, it would ruin my year if they commissioned something good.
🤣🤣
31-12-2020, 08:36 PM
She should be in the forth never mind kicking about the telly.
Give me Sheridan Smith signing some guff any day of the week.
31-12-2020, 08:36 PM
On here? I wouldn't worry about that.
Fair point. 😀 have a happy new year Grump 💚
31-12-2020, 08:37 PM
but, but.. he's a ST holder though :hilarious
31-12-2020, 08:40 PM
but, but.. he's a ST holder though
Yip and don’t you forget it :greengrin
2 x STs actually
31-12-2020, 08:46 PM
Abysmal last year wi the Glasgow Edinburgh jokes went down like a lead balloon
She should be in the forth never mind kicking about the telly.
Give me Sheridan Smith signing some guff any day of the week.
She is about as funny as getting your balls put in a blender. Get to **** off the tele. Horrendous stuff.
31-12-2020, 08:47 PM
She is about as funny as getting your balls put in a blender. Get to **** off the tele. Horrendous stuff.
🤣🤣 hope you’re good matey. Happy new year when it comes.
31-12-2020, 08:50 PM
not a patch on Ricky Fultons police biker with the flying glasses.
31-12-2020, 08:51 PM
not a patch on Ricky Fultons police biker with the flying glasses.
Get oot the car Stirling !
31-12-2020, 09:20 PM
Phew, that’s a relief - thought Janey Godley was going to be rolled out there.
31-12-2020, 09:27 PM
Are we having in play heckling??
31-12-2020, 09:28 PM
Here we go ........how bad can it be? :greengrin
31-12-2020, 09:29 PM
It's been that bad for so long, I'm actually watching coldplay instead.
31-12-2020, 09:31 PM
It's been that bad for so long, I'm actually watching coldplay instead.
Nothing is that bad!
31-12-2020, 09:33 PM
The first few vintage clips show how much it has deteriorated in recent times.
31-12-2020, 09:35 PM
Nothing is that bad!
It gets better, Queen are on live at Wembley next. 😁
31-12-2020, 09:36 PM
It gets better, Queen are on live at Wembley next. 😁
What channel :hyper
31-12-2020, 09:38 PM
Sky 1
31-12-2020, 09:43 PM
I guess the non football folk are celebrities in Glasgow or something?
heid the baw
31-12-2020, 09:50 PM
Only an excuse, the jobby that wouldnae flush finally disappears.
31-12-2020, 10:04 PM
The frank sketches 😂😂
31-12-2020, 10:06 PM
The frank sketches 😂😂
Pump 2!
31-12-2020, 10:07 PM
Pump 2!
Very very funny tbf, does sow how far it’s fallen though.
31-12-2020, 10:08 PM
hopefully it finally features something about *******g r angers
oh and maybe some more about bigoted organisations
31-12-2020, 10:31 PM
I really enjoyed that tonight, loads of the old clips from when it was a brilliant show.
gaz1875
31-12-2020, 10:32 PM
Pump 2!
That was hilarious even though you knew it was coming.
Gloucester Hibs
31-12-2020, 10:32 PM
I really enjoyed that tonight, loads of the old clips from when it was a brilliant show.
Me too, was a great show. My missus looked gutted when I told her it was the last one ever!
31-12-2020, 10:33 PM
That was a good send off for the show.
31-12-2020, 10:38 PM
I'm gutted. That was actually quite good.
HibeeHibernian4
31-12-2020, 10:39 PM
Ended on a high note by showing clips from 15 year ago and proving that’s when they should have ended it! Still a nice way to finish things off.
31-12-2020, 10:40 PM
Really enjoyed it tonight. It was good while it lasted.
31-12-2020, 10:55 PM
Need Frankie Boy to ask where is the Jackie Birds. Susan Callman dying on her arse.
31-12-2020, 11:34 PM
My Hogmanay grump session was totally ruined.
JXM73
31-12-2020, 11:36 PM
Still game on, parokaaaa
MartinfaePorty
31-12-2020, 11:45 PM
Me too, was a great show. My missus looked gutted when I told her it was the last one ever!Same here. Hadn't watched it since about 2007 and both of us loved it. Obviously cherry-picked the best bits, but still.
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
31-12-2020, 11:55 PM
Me too, was a great show. My missus looked gutted when I told her it was the last one ever!
My Mrs was gutted when I told her that was the last one
She a Jambo and disnae read dotnet
Still Game quality by the way
Happy New Year A’Body !
01-01-2021, 12:29 AM
Very good. I'm going to miss it. Best thing at Hogmanay. I don't understand the animosity towards Watson on here. Is it because he's a hun?
01-01-2021, 12:37 AM
The last clip (2020) of Steve Clarke doing the boogie was ace.
01-01-2021, 02:04 AM
That was great tonight and good to see the likes of Chick, Dalglish, McAvennie and co all giving their thoughts. A brilliant package to send it off and some really funny moments.
01-01-2021, 02:12 AM
So it is ok to disrespect the others but not someone that disrespected our club by not wanting to be here ?
Anyway I was just trying to get into character and prove to a previous poster that there are still plenty of characters and plenty of life left In Scottish football
I do not want to turn this into another NL thread but as a ST holder I will call him anything I want to thank you very much
Sorry Happy New Year. Just catching up. I think the point has passed you by.
The reference you used to identify NL is a term I’ve only heard used by supporters of two clubs. Its a term I’d never dream of any Hibs supporter using - no matter what you think of the man.
01-01-2021, 02:24 AM
Sorry Happy New Year. Just catching up. I think the point has passed you by.
The reference you used to identify NL is a term I’ve only heard used by supporters of two clubs. Its a term I’d never dream of any Hibs supporter using - no matter what you think of the man.
Sorry to disappoint you but once he disrespected our club and our CEO and bullied our young players ( allegedly) and switched off from driving our club forward by erratic team selections dropping 15 points and not bothering to turn up for media etc and started to work his ticket out of our great club any respect I had for the man disappeared it was time for him to go
My post was intended as a light hearted joke but any affection you feel for a Coach that allegedly told his bench not to celebrate HIBS goals at Parkhead just you carry on
Last time I looked this was HIBS.net
To me he is popcorn teeth 😃
Happy New Year
Watched it last night before the horrendous Susan Calman came on. It was a good send off, lots of older funnier clips with a few new ones mingled in, it just shows how much the show dropped in standards when you look back at the earlier clips.
01-01-2021, 08:33 AM
Root canal work at my dentist would have been preferable to the dross the BBC serve up at New Year.
Thankfully OAE has been humanely euthenised, if only 20 years too late, we didn't have to endure the cringeworthy Union Jackie Bird but give me strength Calman?
What ever your thoughts on the BBC's "impartiality" from Football, to politics to West Coast bias is irrelevant when you consider that the output from Pacific Quay is just p!$# and has been for decades
01-01-2021, 08:42 AM
I actually thought last night was alright, the bands were great too and it was relatively short lived in the grand scheme of the evening.
Still Game after it was the highlight though. Feeches to you too.
Rumble de Thump
01-01-2021, 08:43 AM
Watson and Calman highlight that when someone gets their foot in at the BBC then they have a job for life, no matter how good or bad their work is.
01-01-2021, 08:54 AM
Like everything else about BBC Scotland and Scottish football it has helped perpetuate bigotry in the form of its “banter”.
A welcome long outstayed.
Au contraire. In my eyes they ripped the pish big time out of all those who perpetuate the OF bigotry. It's just that those who do so are so thick they don't realise it and take it as a compliment.
01-01-2021, 09:01 AM
Big thumbs up from me for last night's show even if it was the first time it has made me laugh for about 10 years. Some classics. The 2020 clips thankfully were few and far between and I think the whole programme was helped by having the clips interspersed with the interviews with those who had been mocked over the years.
I actually thought last night was alright, the bands were great too and it was relatively short lived in the grand scheme of the evening.
Still Game after it was the highlight though. Feeches to you too.
Really? Deacon Blue sounded out of tune with harmonies all over the place and Any McDonald is at best a pub entertainer, add in Calman who is a 2nd rate comic and the show was brutal, the only thing worth listening too was the fiddlers.
01-01-2021, 09:36 AM
Really? Deacon Blue sounded out of tune with harmonies all over the place and Any McDonald is at best a pub entertainer, add in Calman who is a 2nd rate comic and the show was brutal, the only thing worth listening too was the fiddlers.
I thought Dignity was poor but Queen of the New Year was much better. Dont agree about Amy though. Always enjoy listening to her.
01-01-2021, 09:43 AM
I quite like Amy MacDonald. She is what she is but she's got a few decent tunes.
Deacon Blue just annoy me. Ricky Ross and his faux American accent when singing is exactly what The Proclaimers were rallying against 35 years ago.
01-01-2021, 09:48 AM
I quite like Amy MacDonald. She is what she is but she's got a few decent tunes.
Deacon Blue just annoy me. Ricky Ross and his faux American accent when singing is exactly what The Proclaimers were rallying against 35 years ago.Amy MacDonald's faux Irish accent annoys me much more.
01-01-2021, 10:29 AM
Need Frankie Boy to ask where is the Jackie Birds. Susan Callman dying on her arse.
Watched it last night before the horrendous Susan Calman came on. It was a good send off, lots of older funnier clips with a few new ones mingled in, it just shows how much the show dropped in standards when you look back at the earlier clips.
Root canal work at my dentist would have been preferable to the dross the BBC serve up at New Year.
Thankfully OAE has been humanely euthenised, if only 20 years too late, we didn't have to endure the cringeworthy Union Jackie Bird but give me strength Calman?
What ever your thoughts on the BBC's "impartiality" from Football, to politics to West Coast bias is irrelevant when you consider that the output from Pacific Quay is just p!$# and has been for decades
Watson and Calman highlight that when someone gets their foot in at the BBC then they have a job for life, no matter how good or bad their work is.
Calman, a privately schooled lawyer, daughter of a Knight and a big unionist doing a Hogmanay show giving it big licks about Scotland bla bla bla but she doesn't believe we could govern ourselves?? Only the BBC could pick as big a roaster as that. Jackie Bird isn't much better either. Time to scrap the whole thing and rethink it. Calman is so unfunny its got to be seen to be believed, cringeworthy stuff last night, she was literally dying in front of the cameras with millions watching. She was getting pelters on twitter last night for being so bad. One tweet said, people laughed when Susan Calman said she wanted to be a comedian - well they're not laughing now. :greengrin. Calamn will unfortunately remain on the BBC so they can say they're diverse etc etc.
Amy McDonald, horrendous singer and sounds like she's singing through her nose, JC is right, karaoke stuff that.
I think its no coincidence that the BBC scrapped OAE much like Sky Sports Soccer Saturday got rid of the old school mob like Thompson, Le Tissier, Nicholas etc and replacing them with dross using the excuse, younger viewers don't know who these guys are now so we get idiots like Sherwood and Akinfenwa instead...
01-01-2021, 10:32 AM
Amy McDonald singing sounds like someone has got hold of her by the throat.
HibeeHibernian4
01-01-2021, 10:52 AM
Big thumbs up from me for last night's show even if it was the first time it has made me laugh for about 10 years. Some classics. The 2020 clips thankfully were few and far between and I think the whole programme was helped by having the clips interspersed with the interviews with those who had been mocked over the years.
But don't you think that with the year Scottish football had they could've done so much more? The Hearts relegation saga, Scotland qualifying, the lighter side of the coronavirus impact in Scottish football.. There were so many ridiculous things that happened this year. I genuinely reckon if you gave a twitter account like that oldfirmfacts a crack at it they could do you a better sketch show.
rossevenil
01-01-2021, 11:30 AM
Jools Holland Hootenanny was a decent watch and avoids all the usual twee crap that BBC Scotland serves up
01-01-2021, 12:00 PM
I enjoyed the Hogmanay show. Obviously I’m in a tiny minority, but I like Susan Calman and I was singing along to Deacon Blue and Amy McDonald.
01-01-2021, 12:58 PM
That show was waaaaayyyyy past it's sell-by-date.
I'm amazed it wasn't cancelled long ago, but maybe the guy had friends at the BBC.
01-01-2021, 01:12 PM
Opinions eh? I thought all things considered it was alright. I’d had about 10 screwdrivers though.
01-01-2021, 03:54 PM
Some classics from the 90s. The Frankie boy in the petrol station gag gets me every time. Recent stuff total pish but worth watching overall.
01-01-2021, 06:09 PM
I enjoyed it last night and I’m going to miss it, I clinging on to the hope they do a special for the euros given Scotland’s qualification.
01-01-2021, 09:47 PM
Started watching it tonight but gave up after half an hour when it started to peter out. Some of the old stuff was decent but even at that there still doesn`t seem to be enough "highlights" from 27 years to fill an hours show. New stuff was toe curlingly bad, and dont know what the last half hour was like but doubt I will finish it.
02-01-2021, 09:28 AM
Watched it last night, Coldplay was better. :greengrin
02-01-2021, 10:46 AM
Enjoyed Coldplay worth a look on catch up for those that missed it
I'd rather cut my ears off, jeez even the whiny voice of Brandon Flowers is better than them.
02-01-2021, 11:35 AM
I'd rather cut my ears off.
02-01-2021, 11:43 AM
In my Universe, Coldplay is never better.
Than anything 😂
hibbie02
02-01-2021, 12:14 PM
Wild Beaver?????
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
02-01-2021, 12:18 PM
Wild Beaver?????
That and the pump 2 were for me the only laugh moments, whereas I laughed a few times at Coldplay and the off key singing. :greengrin
02-01-2021, 12:34 PM
They spun a web for me! 😃
02-01-2021, 03:12 PM
In my Universe, Coldplay is never better.
Than anything 😂
Turns out you are wrong. Match off, Coldplay on.
02-01-2021, 03:14 PM
^^^^
Viva la vida! 😃
02-01-2021, 04:18 PM
Turns out you are wrong. Match off, Coldplay on.
You don't live in my Universe... probably just as well (for you, I mean 😂)
03-01-2021, 02:01 PM
Maybe this show has life if it is reinvented as Neil Lennon's piece to camera after Celtc get beat. Can see an end of season special already being written.
03-01-2021, 02:10 PM
Same here. Hadn't watched it since about 2007 and both of us loved it. Obviously cherry-picked the best bits, but still.
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
Wild beaver!!
I enjoyed it last night and I’m going to miss it, I clinging on to the hope they do a special for the euros given Scotland’s qualification.
although Scotland didn’t make it, the 94 World Cup OAE special was excellent :greengrin
03-01-2021, 08:11 PM
Quite enjoyed Jools’ Hootenanny
Worth a view on catch up
Newry Hibs
04-01-2021, 10:22 AM
Worth a view on catch up
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddzSgxuUAGk
04-01-2021, 04:17 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddzSgxuUAGk
Worth a view on catch up
Hootenanny. There's a McAvennie joke in that somewhere.
05-01-2021, 10:09 AM
Hootenanny. There's a McAvennie joke in that somewhere.
Where’s the Hootenanny?
The Best Of Hootenanny now showing on BBCi Player for anyone who is interested
Only lasts 1 hour :wink:
05-01-2021, 10:13 AM
Wild Beaver?????
https://youtu.be/SOsm1TzqHII