View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Ross County

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

30-12-2020, 03:51 PM
Barnes, P. McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon ©, Doig, Wright, Hallberg, Newell, Boyle, Doidge, Nisbet.

Substitutes: Samson, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, S. McGinn, Gogic, Bradley, Gullan.

Starting XI: Barnes, P. McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon ©, Doig, Wright, Hallberg, Newell, Boyle, Doidge, Nisbet.

Substitutes: Samson, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, S. McGinn, Gogic, Bradley, Gullan.

30-12-2020, 03:52 PM
Doidge back. Gogic on bench

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201230/f038d1aa77382db29b98b50fe1e029dc.jpg

Latapy'sVolley
30-12-2020, 04:00 PM
About as expected! Mon Hibs

30-12-2020, 04:01 PM
About as easy a game as we can get in the league.

Expect us to go about things with purpose and win comfortably getting the goals our play deserves. 3-0.

30-12-2020, 04:05 PM
We should have been 3 or 4 up in the 1st 10 minutes in Dingwall but we were so wasteful.

Take our chances tonight and we should win comfortably.

30-12-2020, 04:08 PM
4-0 to the good guys.

30-12-2020, 04:13 PM
2-0. A comfortable if unspectacular performance given the conditions :agree:

30-12-2020, 04:14 PM

Or 352 with Doig and Boyle as wingbacks?

Magpie
30-12-2020, 04:15 PM
We should have been 3 or 4 up in the 1st 10 minutes in Dingwall but we were so wasteful.

Take our chances tonight and we should win comfortably.

That game was so frustrating. Hopefully get that first goal tonight and the rest should take care of itself.

30-12-2020, 04:17 PM
They are missing quite a few starters this evening through injury and suspension however will still be difficult!

Please let this be the game where we take our chances and really put a team to bed early doors.

Let’s do this Hibs!

30-12-2020, 04:17 PM
About as easy a game as we can get in the league.

Expect us to go about things with purpose and win comfortably getting the goals our play deserves. 3-0.

That's that goosed then :greengrin

Yogi generally does well with away teams at Easter Road. I don't think it will be as easy as expected.

30-12-2020, 04:20 PM
We SHOULD win this comfortably. I fancy Christian to get a hattrick and Nisbet to get in on the act as well. Pretty confident about the game and looking forward to it

30-12-2020, 04:21 PM
What time will coverage start on Hibs tv? Cheers

30-12-2020, 04:21 PM
What time will coverage start on Hibs tv? Cheers

17:30

30-12-2020, 04:22 PM
17:30

Cheers that man 👍

Mikey_1875
30-12-2020, 04:23 PM
Confident for tonight as well and hope we can put this team to the sword.

30-12-2020, 04:28 PM
Early goal needed and we should have too much. :flag:

30-12-2020, 04:33 PM
Think we'll comfortably tonight

30-12-2020, 04:33 PM
Should be a comfortable win tonight. Hoping for a few goals.

30-12-2020, 04:35 PM
Lexo looking good, trousers maybe a tad tight for a 71 year old though.

30-12-2020, 04:38 PM
What is wrong with Rocky if he can’t even be on the bench as emergency cover?

30-12-2020, 04:43 PM

injured ?

30-12-2020, 04:45 PM
injured ?

Fair enough - a poorly worded question by me; I should have asked “What is his injury.”

30-12-2020, 04:46 PM
Off to Celtic. Not
wanting injured.

30-12-2020, 04:49 PM
Off to Celtic. Not
wanting injured.

Stop it! I’ll get all unnecessary and in a puggled tizzle.:greengrin

30-12-2020, 04:50 PM
Stop it! I’ll get all unnecessary and in a puggled tizzle.:greengrin
I jest of course.:greengrin

Lexo. I stayed with him til towards the end when I think he’d just out of ideas and gone stale.

Could never comprehend _that_ record (you know the one).

The review on his time at Hibs dunno whether he was playing it with a straight bat but almost fell asleep.

Better analysing games.

Anyone lacking sound?

Fair enough - a poorly worded question by me; I should have asked “What is his injury.”

Tight calf muscle I think??

30-12-2020, 04:51 PM
Anyone lacking sound?Unfortunately not

30-12-2020, 04:51 PM
My sound has just disappeared.

HiBremian
30-12-2020, 04:52 PM
Anyone lacking sound?
For the ads, yes. :confused:

30-12-2020, 04:52 PM
Anyone lacking sound?

Yes - but keep the faith brother, Cliff will be along soon with his microphone wrapped in bubble wrap.

30-12-2020, 04:53 PM
Anyone lacking sound?

Yeah, video is working fine for me but the sound keeps dropping out. Frustrating but I suppose it means I don't have to listen to Tanner the now.

No sound on adverts but back now.

Tight calf muscle I think??

Ta very muchly.

bringbackbenny
30-12-2020, 04:54 PM
Anyone lacking sound?

Yes gone for ads, disappointing for the advertisers forking out for that. Plus background feedback for the studio sound.

30-12-2020, 04:55 PM
Off to Celtic. Not
wanting injured.

🤣that could become a .net fact

30-12-2020, 04:57 PM
Alex Miller isn't the most flamboyant of presenters but he fair knows his stuff

Fritz
30-12-2020, 04:58 PM
Did they say Joe Newell is Mike Newell’s son earlier? He’s not...is he..?

30-12-2020, 05:00 PM

He does :aok:

RossScott1991
I find the Hibs tv build up a hard watch at times, maybe just me. Sometimes feel Tanner struggles to get a good flow going and any sort of banter with guests.

However that’s basically my only gripe with Hibs these days so things are going well at the club 😂

JXM73
Love this minecraft retro look on hibspass... 108 resolution...

30-12-2020, 05:01 PM

Is it just me or does it seem like he is just staring into space rather than looking back at David Tanner?

30-12-2020, 05:01 PM
I find the Hibs tv build up a hard watch at times, maybe just me. Sometimes feel Tanner struggles to get a good flow going and any sort of banter with guests.

However that’s basically my only gripe with Hibs these days so things are going well at the club ��
He needs to sharpen his dress sense up too. Far too casual.

30-12-2020, 05:02 PM
Is there a minute's silence?

(my sound's not working, so didn't hear the reason)

Right Hibs let's do this. Would be nice to score a few but a win of any description is what is important.

Love this minecraft retro look on hibspass... 108 resolution...

And Cliff on a phone by the sounds of it.

We make this look quite difficult!

Is it just me or does it seem like he is just staring into space rather than looking back at David Tanner?

To be fair I'd rather look into Medusa's eyes than look at Tanner.

30-12-2020, 05:03 PM

For Jim McLean I believe ...

ShadesLongThrow
Yes - but keep the faith brother, Cliff will be along soon with his microphone wrapped in bubble wrap.

You just nailed that. Stadium announcer is clearer.

Only just noticed it at the end there, was definitely looking at nothing!

I think they did say that, although Mike Newell’s wiki page only mentions George as a footballing son, at Bolton.

The picture is fine. Any resolution issues are to do with your Internet connection.

The commentary's audio however... 😭

That was a very long minutes silence, C'mon the cabbage

Yes for Jim McLean although I think it was well over a minute!

Oh! For God’s sake Cliff sort your bloody microphone sound out will you. It’s becoming tedious now mate.

Sound a bit muffled for me :/

For Jim McLean I believe ...

Thanks

Aye Jim McLean. All games doin/done it.

Thought they were going to play music through the silence there.

London Hibs FC

Sound and vision all good here. Cliff and Tam a wee bit muffled but no bad.

30-12-2020, 05:04 PM
You just nailed that. Stadium announcer is clearer.

2 tin cans and a bit of string would be clearer

OtleyHibs
Come on Hibs! Next couple of games are a good chance to improve our home record

However that’s basically my only gripe with Hibs these days so things are going well at the club 😂

It’s really poor.

They must have taken the knee for all of 2 seconds there.

30-12-2020, 05:05 PM
Surely a sound check can be done afore the start?

JXM73
The picture is fine. Any resolution issues are to do with your Internet connection.

The commentary's audio however... 😭

Cheers, ps5 hogging the bandwidth

Franck Le God
Sound's poor for me, muffled and crackling when Cliff or Tam speak

Is the sounds fuzzy for everyone else ?

I quite like the build up. I like that they vary the guests and there’s often some interesting chat, especially where former players/managers share their stories

30-12-2020, 05:06 PM

Yes it's poor as usual.

Wull
30-12-2020, 05:07 PM
Maybe they dont know the sound is crap

Hibspirational
Stadium sounds are fine, it’s the commentary that’s the issue.

Yep first time since the first game of the season for me.

MartinfaePorty
Good positive start

Surely a sound check can be done afore the start?

comically bad to be honest. You'd think this far into the season they'd have their ducks in a row.

Audio from 1 ear only and having to set it at 5% volume as any louder and it will burst the ear drum.

Is the sounds fuzzy for everyone else ?It's been worse but it's not great at all. I can't believe they're making such hard work of these constant sound issues.

30-12-2020, 05:08 PM

Surely they are made aware of comments on match day threads?

30-12-2020, 05:09 PM
Yes it's poor as usual.

First time I have had an issue with it. Not good though tonight.

30-12-2020, 05:09 PM
Decent start. Offside at a free kick again. That needs sorted as it has happened a few times recently.

30-12-2020, 05:10 PM
Surprised it’s a back three. Thought we’d have went back to the four.

30-12-2020, 05:10 PM
Should be a comfortable win but knowing us it might not be

30-12-2020, 05:11 PM

Better now.

Sound ok now :aok:

OtleyHibs
Came out swinging here, good to see

It's been worse but it's not great at all. I can't believe they're making such hard work of these constant sound issues.

Maybe it's Cliffs actual voice. It's like a cross between Metal Mickey and Admiral Ackbar.

30-12-2020, 05:12 PM
Plugged the mics in at last.

Doidge really attacked that corner, should have scored in the end after a great run and leap

Sound ok now :aok:

Mine isn’t. How difficult is it to get these things right?

30-12-2020, 05:15 PM
Well play Wright, unlucky in the end

Good move which set Wright through. Shot was blocked and out for a corner.

McSwanky

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMine isn't either. Scrolled through all 4 streams and all the same. Annoying

I only come on the match day thread to read how people are getting on with their sound.

30-12-2020, 05:16 PM
One way traffic so far. Need to capitalise.

30-12-2020, 05:16 PM
Please let Newell take all the corners Mr Hibs 😔

30-12-2020, 05:17 PM

mine either. its almost as if the mic volumes are full blast. The stadium sounds are all fine.

We’re looking at it here!:greengrin

Complete domination so far. Hopefully we notch a goal early and win comfortably!

30-12-2020, 05:18 PM
Please let Newell take all the corners Mr Hibs 😔

Why is Hallberg taking them ? I know Hallberg before he signed for Hibs was good at free kicks but not sure if he’s scored one for us / Newell has a great delivery.

30-12-2020, 05:18 PM
We should be piling corners right on top of Laidlaw. I quite liked him at Hibs but he was always a bit flappy and he hasn't looked massively convincing thus far tonight.

30-12-2020, 05:19 PM
Well played Barnes, looks very composed on the ball. Good start and fancy us for a handsome win

30-12-2020, 05:19 PM
Interesting that’s a foul by Wright when he pulled out of it. No penalty the other day

30-12-2020, 05:20 PM
I don't really see why that was a foul against Wright.

So that high foot in the box was foul ?!

So that high foot in the box was foul ?!It wasn't even high. He's entitled to swing at the ball at thigh level.

MikeyS
I've never had an issue with the picture quality but the rest of the package from Hibs is pretty poor. From that plank in the studio and the 2 sleeping tablets doing the comms to the constant sound issues, we must have one of the worst set ups in the league.

30-12-2020, 05:21 PM
Looks like Hanlon and Porteous have been getting coached in passing skills by Scott Allan:agree:

30-12-2020, 05:22 PM
Interesting that’s a foul by Wright when he pulled out of it. No penalty the other day

Never a foul.

30-12-2020, 05:22 PM
This is similar to the Dundee United game. Complete domination.

30-12-2020, 05:25 PM
This is similar to the Dundee United game. Complete domination.

Ross County have done their homework, then.

30-12-2020, 05:25 PM
Could do with a goal. Had most of the ball but not tested their keeper much

30-12-2020, 05:26 PM
Logged into Hibs Pass and the stream was absolute **** quality.

Now on IPTV and the stream is crystal clear.

AugustaHibs
30-12-2020, 05:26 PM
This county team is honestly one of the worst sides I’ve ever seen in this division

30-12-2020, 05:27 PM
Started well but dropped off it a wee bit the last 5

Also had a decent number of corners and dangerous freekicks but wasted all of them. Frustrating

30-12-2020, 05:28 PM
**** off

Oh dear.

This county team is honestly one of the worst sides I’ve ever seen in this division

Lets just wait till the game ends before making sweeping statements like that 😉

Ffs

Stairway 2 7
That's ridiculous

**** off

Lendo
****sake 1-0 RC

Wow

JXM73

Aye really bad..... better than us so far....

AugustaHibs
Lets just wait till the game ends before making sweeping statements like that 😉

Definitely my fault!!! Not do that again 😖

Some finish tbf.

Incredible

Unbelievable, no pressure on the ball whatsoever!

30-12-2020, 05:29 PM
Yikes. Losing to bottom side at home. Poor. Dreadful 70 minutes of defending incoming.

Good goal for them but so much space to shoot. No idea what Porteous was doing getting out the way

Hibs have been poor , too much square passing no threat or ideas going forward

Hopefully we wake up now. Created little here.

Great strike to give him his due.

First goal they've scored in 6 games ahh

Jeezo Hibs, that's ridiculous!

At least somebody knows how to score

Mikey_1875
Theyve not even had a player in our box

WTF really, just WTF

MikeyS
Some finish tbf.

Aye he took it very well. Good hold up play from Oli Shae too 🤦🏻*♂️

[emoji23] o dear. They’ve done nowt but score. Back foot pretty much from the off then goal. Cracking strike.

Typical though

Shocking goal to lose. Yet again our home form is looking poor but granted a long way to go

First real attack from them = goal. :lips seal:lips seal

Annoying, first attack, goal them. Good finish though.

Aye really bad..... better than us so far....

No they haven't been!!

30-12-2020, 05:30 PM
Need to step it up now. Plenty time to get back in the game but we need to start creating more.

Could have and maybe should have been 2

Are we playing a midfield

Of course it is. The only surprise is it wasn't scored by Oli Shaw.

Annoying, first attack, goal them. Good finish though.

Sometimes I hate fitba.

Hibs need a rocket.

30-12-2020, 05:31 PM
Gonna get a f’n grip Hibs.

Nearly 2-0.

Hibs need to get out of 1st gear if they want to get something out of this game, County really piling on the pressure

No pressure at all. Need to up the tempo.

Do not deserve to be down. Still think we will win this.

Thought the keeper was slow down to it though.

Plenty of the ball but we’ve not done much. All very slow.

Trust Hibs to help them out 😔

Hibs have been poor , too much square passing no threat or ideas going forward

:agree: For all our possession, we lack goal threat which is just encouraging RC.

MikeyS
How many fouls is that total huddy Donaldson going to get away with!!

Why do we play such an open game ?

So much space all over the place.

As others said similar to other games but that’s simply not enough if we don’t get a goal or 2.

I also don’t think the keeper should be getting beaten from that distance on the ground.

KingPat4
30-12-2020, 05:32 PM
Could see it coming. Far too laid back.

delbert
Unbelievable, no pressure on the ball whatsoever!

Absolutely howlin defending right down the middle, we are soft as Tom Kite, teams must love playing through the middle against us, how can we be surprised that if we stand off players and allow them a shot under no pressure at all, some of them might just have the audacity to score, woeful !

They didn't need to work too hard to get that goal

I really need to stop entering scores in our prediction league:greengrin

We'll still win this comfortably.

What is it with us and refs just now. Donaldson should have two yellows already.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

it's a time-honoured tradition tbf, i've said it dozens of times in the past, any team without a point for months= play hibs, any player not scored a goal for 6 years= play hibs, any player never scored a senior goal=play hibs...the list is endless

From completely dominating to almost being 2-0 down. Typical

30-12-2020, 05:33 PM
How many fouls are RC allowed to accumulate before we get the first yellow ?

We’ve been pish after the first 5mins

Our set pieces are terrible.

30-12-2020, 05:34 PM
Trust Hibs to help them out 😔

We always seem to help teams out who are down on their luck.

Poor freekick from Newell.

We need to be better at doing the basics.

From completely dominating to almost being 2-0 down. Typical

Dominating without actually doing anything. This has been poor.

Boyle isnt involved enough. Hes far too deep. Need him higher up. Midfield arent imposing themselves at all either.

We could really do with a midfielder who can chip in with a few goals. So much pressure on the strikers to provide all the goals.

Pedestrian stuff this from Hibs, step it up a bit please! 😯

30-12-2020, 05:35 PM
Totally unexpected display so far

Ross county look a lot better carrying the ball forward than us so far

30-12-2020, 05:35 PM
Jeezo Hibs, that's ridiculous!

At least somebody knows how to score

The Yogi effect, sprinkle of moon dust 😊

30-12-2020, 05:36 PM
Awful 30mins. No urgency, slow build up our old failings once again.

I’m still not sure this team has the right balance.

I know we played 3 in middle at weekend but felt team was better balanced.

This shape you don’t get much from Doidge and Wright at all.

Doidge misses good chance from beer penalty spot over bar.

In their last 6 games.

Scored 0 Conceded 14

Only Hibs.

Pedestrian stuff this from Hibs, step it up a bit please! 😯

Far to slow in possession. Corners and free kicks woeful again.

Very poor since the goal.

That's really bad miss from Doidge

OtleyHibs
FFS Doidge!!!!

Poor one their by Doidge. Should've scored.

Better though.

Awful from Doidge.

30-12-2020, 05:37 PM
Bad miss by Doidge

Green-Hibee-7
Think I’ve counted 3 fouls alone from Donaldson. Of which two were bookings but he has yet to be carded.

We started brightly but since they scored look rattled. Need a few people to wake up.

Doidge really needs to get a grip.

Mr Grieves
Great chance that, Doidge should be scoring there

vercol36
Could see it coming a mile away. Same old Hibs. Oh look, the pantwetters are out in force. We're still going to win.

No, you shut up.

Poor from Doidge. really must hit the target.

NC1875
Doidges finishing is terrible for a striker

Poor miss from doidge...again

Got to score that.

Doidge should do better there. Some pass by Hanlon and a good ball across by Boyle.

Our home form and inability to beat the OF and Aberdeen often enough will see us struggle for third. At least one of them must improve.

Seriously pish performance so far. And there goes Doidge again hoofing a good chance miles over.

Basildon Hibs
Absolutely howlin defending right down the middle, we are soft as Tom Kite, teams must love playing through the middle against us, how can we be surprised that if we stand off players and allow them a shot under no pressure at all, some of them might just have the audacity to score, woeful !

Myself and many others have been saying that for years. Nothing is ever done about it.

Doidge needs to be scoring there.

Honking effort Doidge

Doidge missing good chances? It’s not a shock at this stage. Hopefully takes the next one.

Doidge is needing a tap in to get going.

RossScott1991
30-12-2020, 05:39 PM
We are such a better team away from home

MikeyS
Doidge missing good chances? It’s not a shock at this stage. Hopefully takes the next one.

He'd have been more accurate had he just let that one hit him!

Creating more now. Newell shot saved after good work from Doidge and Doig.

30-12-2020, 05:40 PM
Better. Good persistence from Doidge and a decent strike by Newell.

Decent effort from Newell, comfortable save.

Catching up on the thread and it makes for great reading before the goal, and as if we’re loosing 5-0 after it.

We have been the better side, they scored with their only chance, just relax, it will come.

CloudSquall
New manager in at the bottom club who are looking like certs for the drop, step up Hibs for the gifting of 3 points.

Bit more urgency the last 5 minutes and it shows.

30-12-2020, 05:41 PM
Catching up on the thread and it makes for great reading before the goal, and as if we’re loosing 5-0 after it.

We have been the better side, they scored with their only chance, just relax, it will come.

This. We are battering them. Only a matter of time before we are back on level terms if the football gods are fair.

30-12-2020, 05:41 PM
Our home form and inability to beat the OF and Aberdeen often enough will see us struggle for third. At least one of them must improve.

If we can’t beat the bottom of the league we haven’t got much chance. Oddly we drew at home to old firm but Aberdeen have been an issue for us for too long.

Key is to beat the rest and try not lose against dons - this season we have lost x2 to Dons out of 4 games..

30-12-2020, 05:42 PM
Just in, how they played, hard to work out on radio, our home form is pretty naff eh?

He'd have been more accurate had he just let that one hit him!

Dunno. One of those you see going over the bar more often than not. First time with the defender diving in. Good chance but not a sitter.

Been better side by miles.

I’m still not sure this team has the right balance.

I know we played 3 in middle at weekend but felt team was better balanced.

This shape you don’t get much from Doidge and Wright at all.

Doidge misses good chance from beer penalty spot over bar.

We take that long to work the ball out to the wings that there is no space. Its too easy to mark Boyle out of the game

MikeyS
I'd be tempted to switch Boyle to the left. Their LB has kept him quiet so far and we are getting a bit joy out their RB

30-12-2020, 05:43 PM

It wasn’t easy - but at least test keeper but put it way over bar.

Pressure of playing in front of those cardboard cutouts, maybe :greengrin

That’s because our home fans are like a bunch of dummies. Just look at them. No passion at all:wink:

What's wrong with Cliff's mic? It's doing my head in.

30-12-2020, 05:44 PM
Pressure of playing in front of those cardboard cutouts, maybe :greengrin

Just seen two get up and leave.

Maybe away for a pie?

Have we changed to 4 4 2 with Wright on left and Boyle on right

This is far too pedestrian again.

I was about to post my frustration earlier when RC scored.

Need to get a move on

This is brutal.

30-12-2020, 05:45 PM
I am all for giving new players a chance but Drey Wright isn't the answer to any question we have.

Just in, how they played, hard to work out on radio, our home form is pretty naff eh?

Unacceptable to be honest. Which when you take the away form into account we could be absolutely flying if the home form was good

This is typical hibs

You put the game on quite excited to watch it thinking we should win by a few and we put in a slow pedestrian performance so far

Half time boot up the ersky it seems...

This. We are battering them. Only a matter of time before we are back on level terms if the football gods are fair.really I think we are poor, also can someone tell me what dray Wright does for us.

Wright has offered little again. Seems to pass backwards far too often

Started of well

30-12-2020, 05:46 PM
We take that long to work the ball out to the wings that there is no space. Its too easy to mark Boyle out of the game

I have no idea what Drey Wight is offering.

Doig was dangerous at Ibrox but has been limited tonight.

What's wrong with Cliff's mic? It's doing my head in.

He’s currently circling the skies in a Spitfire over Easter road, on the look out for Jerry, don’t you know?

Yet another wasted corner.

Wright has offered little again. Seems to pass backwards far too often

This half or whole hibs career?

Been a few weeks since we scored more than 1 goal in the league. Certainly hope we can turn that around tonight.

30-12-2020, 05:47 PM
Yet another wasted corner.

When was our last goal from a corner?

sorrow sorrow
Murphy, Allan and Magennis are badly missed in midfield,need the 3 of them fit asap.
Wright & Hallberg are just not good enough

This is my fault, we never win when I listen to the Beeb commentary

When was our last goal from a corner?

Also my thoughts

Magpie
Very poor

Been a few weeks since we scored more than 1 goal in the league. Certainly hope we can turn that around tonight.

...was it not 3 games ago we won 3-0 then 4-0?

JXM73
Lucky if we'll get a point out of this... poor after bright start... 1 shot on target, at home!