View Full Version : The lockdown 2 quiz

28-12-2020, 11:48 AM
THE LOCKDOWN 2 QUIZ

Just a bit of fun over the festive period during Lockdown 2

You know the rules

First with the correct answer gets the point :

1.Who once accurately described Hibernian Football Club as ‘the greatest club in the world.’ ?

2.What HIBS player has skippered the club most times ?

Fitbastats has this as SDG with 141 appearances which cannae possibly be correct considering Gordon Smith and Pat Stanton VOID
Apologies for any inconvenience caused extra questions added

3, Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick?

Kevin Nisbet Glory lurker

4. Who was the last HIBS player to be sent off in Europe?

Mickey Weir Prof ****gy

5. Joe Baker and Johnny MacLeod played together with three teams. Can you name them?

Armadale HIBS Arsenal Ancient Hibee

6 What HIBS player played in the English and Scottish League Cup Finals in the same season/year?

Gordon Chisholm 04Sauzee

7 What HIBS player was known as Bimbo?

Jim McArthur Booked4beingugly

8 Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick at Parkhead?

Neil Martin. Ancient hibee

9 What former HIBS player never lost to Hearts as a player or Manager?

Le God The 90+2

10.What former HIBS Manager won the FA Cup with Man City in 1956?

Dave Ewing Booked4beingugly

11. On the day that his ex teammates were winning the Scottish League Cup how many goals did Arthur Duncan score for HIBS on that day?

Four versus Falkirk Wandering hibee

12. What is on the B side of Hector Nicol’s smash hit ‘Glory to the Hibees’?

Hearts Song Glorylurker

13. What two players did HIBS sign from Dundee United for 150k?

Billy Kirkwood and Stuart Beedie Jeffers

14 What former HIBS player captained a trophy winning team at Wembley ( must have actually played) ?

Bobby Hutchinson Bristol City Freight Rover Trophy 1986 Wee Scottie Dug

15. What HIBS player scored a hat-trick for HIBS at Easter Road in the Scottish Cup and still ended up going out of the competition?

Alan Gordon 3-3 v Dundee Ancient Hibee

16 What father and son played for HIBS in the 1960s and 1980s?

Joe McBride junior and senior 04Sauzee

17. What two brothers were at HIBS in the late 1970s early 1980s one a coach and one a player?

Duncan and John Lambie Jeffers

18. What former HIBS goalkeeper had a son who played for Scotland between 1974-1981?

Tommy McQueen Ancient Hibee

19 What former HIBS loanee scored the winning goal in a Scottish Cup Final?

Doug Moran Lord Burnbury

20 What ex HIBS player scored two goals for Hearts in the Scottish Cup Final ?

Ian Crawford Pretty Boy

21 Jim McArthur saved a penalty from which Rangers player in the 1979 Scottish Cup Final?

Alex Miller Booked4beingugly

22 Who once said “ Jimmy O’Rourke has got Hibernian Football Club stitched across his chest”?

Eddie Turnbull Wee Scottie Dug

23 How much did HIBS pay Fulham for George Best?

50k Bostonhibby

24. Name HIBS’ three Scottish Cup winning scorers ?

Gray Groves and McGeachan. Pretty Boy

25. What player scored a last minute goal at Ibrox in the final League Cup section game that enabled Hibernian to win the section ?

Alex Cropley Brog

Bonus questions

26. Who scored the winner for HIBS in the Matty Jack game?

Russell Latapy Martinfaeporty

27. When John Brownlie joined Newcastle which player came the other way ?

Ralph Callachan Iggy Pope

28. What team did HIBS sell Dougie Bell to ?

Shrewsbury Town Iggy Pope

29. When Des Bremner joined Aston Villa what familiar face was already there ?

Alex Cropley Iggy Pope

30 Does anyone remember Sloop John B’s prematch routine ?

Last man out and kick the ball into an empty net after prematch keepie uppie Iggy Pope

Good luck!

Apologies to younger posters

28-12-2020, 11:51 AM
6. Gordon Chisolm?

28-12-2020, 11:52 AM
9 Le God

28-12-2020, 11:54 AM
9 Sauzee
12 hearts hearts glorious hearts

28-12-2020, 11:56 AM
12 - Hearts, Hearts Glorious Hearts

16 - Lewis? Goram & Andy Goram

28-12-2020, 11:56 AM
3 Nisbet

28-12-2020, 11:58 AM
6. Gordon Chisolm?

28-12-2020, 11:59 AM
9 Le God

Prof. Shaggy
28-12-2020, 11:59 AM
4. Mickey Weir?

28-12-2020, 12:01 PM
3 Rab C?

28-12-2020, 12:03 PM
9 Sauzee
12 hearts hearts glorious hearts

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:04 PM
12 - Hearts, Hearts Glorious Hearts

16 - Lewis? Goram & Andy Goram

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 12:04 PM
Is 13 Billy Kirkwood and Stuart Beedie ?

28-12-2020, 12:05 PM
4. Mickey Weir?

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:06 PM
3 Nisbet

👍🏿

17 Duncan and John Lambie ?

Is 13 Billy Kirkwood and Stuart Beedie ?

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:08 PM
10. Dave Ewing

28-12-2020, 12:08 PM
16. Joe Mcbride senior and junior?

28-12-2020, 12:09 PM
17 Duncan and John Lambie ?

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:09 PM
20 is Ian Crawford.

28-12-2020, 12:10 PM
10. Dave Ewing

👍🏿

Prof. Shaggy
28-12-2020, 12:11 PM
I really should change Prof ****gy.

28-12-2020, 12:11 PM
16. Joe Mcbride senior and junior?

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:14 PM
👍🏿

Turnbull's Tornadoes is on the reverse side of the one I've got lying about somewhere IIRC.

28-12-2020, 12:14 PM
7. Jim McArthur

28-12-2020, 12:15 PM
20 is Ian Crawford.

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:15 PM
24. Gray, Groves and McGeachan.

28-12-2020, 12:17 PM
7. Jim McArthur

👍🏿

wandering_hibee
28-12-2020, 12:19 PM
7. John Hazel

28-12-2020, 12:20 PM
24. Gray, Groves and McGeachan.

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:21 PM
19 can only think of Brewster or Wright and neither loans. Arghhhh

2 Gordon Rae?

28-12-2020, 12:22 PM
7. John Hazel

Sorry no he was Pung I think 😃

28-12-2020, 12:23 PM
21. Alex Miller

28-12-2020, 12:24 PM
21. Alex Miller

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 12:26 PM
19 can only think of Brewster or Wright and neither loans. Arghhhh

2 Gordon Rae?

Nope

wandering_hibee
28-12-2020, 12:28 PM
11. 4 goals versus Falkirk

28-12-2020, 12:32 PM
11. 4 goals versus Falkirk
Brilliant

Well done

28-12-2020, 12:33 PM
5 Armadale,Hibs,Arsenal

8 Eddie Turnbull

18 John Brown

28-12-2020, 12:36 PM
5 Armadale,Hibs,Arsenal

8 Eddie Turnbull

18 John Brown

Yes

No

No

Sorry not what I have

28-12-2020, 12:37 PM
14 Bob Hardisty

28-12-2020, 12:41 PM
2 Pat Stanton

23 £10,000

28-12-2020, 12:42 PM
14 Bob Hardisty
Sorry not what I have

I am thinking senior football

28-12-2020, 12:43 PM
2 Pat Stanton

23 £10,000
Sorry not what I have

Good questions eh?

28-12-2020, 12:44 PM
Yes

No

No

Sorry not what I have

Sorry Neil Martin not Eddie(was thinking of penalties!)

Brown's sons both played rugby for Scotland:greengrin

28-12-2020, 12:46 PM
Sorry not what I have

I am thinking senior football

Bob Hardisty was an amateur (senior level but not pro)

28-12-2020, 12:46 PM
Sorry Neil Martin not Eddie(was thinking of penalties!)

Brown's sons both played rugby for Scotland:greengrin
Better :greengrin

28-12-2020, 12:52 PM
Bob Hardisty was an amateur (senior level but not pro)
He played in the Amateur Cup Final at Wembley and won it three times which was some achievement

I am thinking professional fitba :greengrin

28-12-2020, 01:30 PM
18. Tommy McQueen

28-12-2020, 01:30 PM
18. Tommy McQueen

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 02:10 PM
Turnbull's Tornadoes is on the reverse side of the one I've got lying about somewhere IIRC.

I should have said original 😃

Green Man
28-12-2020, 02:23 PM
14. Gary Caldwell

28-12-2020, 02:27 PM
25 is Crops I think.

MartinfaePorty
28-12-2020, 02:28 PM
26. Russell Latapy

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

28-12-2020, 02:30 PM
14. Gary Caldwell

Sorry yes and no must have actually played in the final but I see where you are coming from

Sorry

28-12-2020, 02:30 PM
25 is Crops I think.

Yip

0-1 last minute

Get in !

28-12-2020, 02:32 PM
26. Russell Latapy

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 02:34 PM
15. Alan Gordon-against Dundee,lost replay.

28-12-2020, 02:34 PM
1 - Matt busby?

28-12-2020, 02:36 PM

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 02:37 PM
1 - Matt busby?

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 02:50 PM
1. Lawrie Reilly

28-12-2020, 02:50 PM
23. £50,000

28-12-2020, 02:57 PM
14. Gary Caldwell

Or should I say Caldwellog as he often had og after his name?

28-12-2020, 03:02 PM
2. Gordon Smith

28-12-2020, 03:05 PM
1. Lawrie Reilly

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 03:06 PM
23. £50,000

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 03:08 PM
Sorry no1. Joe Baker?

28-12-2020, 03:10 PM
1. Tom Hart

28-12-2020, 03:13 PM
14. Gary Caldwell

Or should I say Caldwellog as he often had og after his name?

Sorry no did not play in the final

28-12-2020, 03:16 PM
14. Ray Wilkins

28-12-2020, 03:16 PM
1. Tom Hart

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 03:23 PM
14. Ray Wilkins

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 03:24 PM
1. Joe Baker?

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 03:28 PM
1, Ricardo Vaz Te or Gary Caldwell?

28-12-2020, 03:33 PM
2. Gordon Smith

Fitba stats have the all time Captain as being SDG with 141 appearances which is rubbish when you look at Gordon Smith’s and King Paddy’s appearances alone
Probably based on since they started keeping records

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 03:44 PM
14 Bobby Johnstone

28-12-2020, 03:45 PM
1, Ricardo Vaz Te or Gary Caldwell?

No sorry

28-12-2020, 03:49 PM
14 Bobby Johnstone

Sorry no

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 03:50 PM
22 Eddie turnbull

28-12-2020, 03:52 PM
22 Eddie turnbull

👍🏿

28-12-2020, 03:57 PM
1 Sam Martinez?

28-12-2020, 03:57 PM
14. Keith Houchen?

28-12-2020, 04:02 PM
1 Sam Martinez?

28-12-2020, 04:03 PM
[emoji23]Was running out of ideas and who could I think of that had a greater love of the club [emoji16]

28-12-2020, 04:05 PM
1. Craig Levein in a rare moment of clarity.

28-12-2020, 04:06 PM
14. Keith Houchen?

Sorry no

28-12-2020, 04:06 PM
1. Craig Levein in a rare moment of clarity.

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 04:08 PM
1 Irving Welsh

28-12-2020, 04:09 PM
1 Irving Welsh

Sorry no but maybe

28-12-2020, 04:26 PM
Don’t know if this is already scored off Billy, apologies if so.

Ralph Callachan

Shrewsbury Town.

Alex Cropley

30 Does anyone remember Sloop John Bs prematch routine ?
A good bit of Keppie uppie, but his final routine was smashing the ball into an empty net

28-12-2020, 04:33 PM
1 - Taff Holden

28-12-2020, 04:34 PM
14 David murphy

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 04:35 PM
27 Ralph Callachan

28-12-2020, 04:38 PM

Ralph Callachan

Shrewsbury Town.

Alex Cropley

A good bit of Keppie uppie, but his final routine was smashing the ball into an empty net

Ha Ha!

I used to get there early just watch his ball juggling used to balance the ba on his fit then flick it up to the back o his heid and balance it then gie ye the same look that he would give John Greig after one o his crunching tackles followed by a wee smile

Almost there just one more final superstition

28-12-2020, 04:39 PM
1 - Taff Holden
Sorry no

28-12-2020, 04:40 PM
14 David murphy
Sorry no

28-12-2020, 04:40 PM
27 Ralph Callachan

28-12-2020, 04:41 PM

Oi! See post #91

28-12-2020, 04:43 PM
1) Renton in train spotting?

28-12-2020, 04:43 PM
Oi! See post #91
Aye one final thing when the teams ran oot?

See post #95

28-12-2020, 04:45 PM
1) Renton in train spotting?
Probably but naw

green.oracle
28-12-2020, 04:46 PM
14) Gary Caldwell for wigan

Small point Billy, question 6 - Gordon Chisholm was same year (1985) but not same season. 84/85 for english and 85/86 for scottish.

28-12-2020, 04:47 PM

Ralph Callachan

Shrewsbury Town.

Alex Cropley

Apologies just y one thing for sloop

14. Matt busby?

Aye one final thing when the teams ran oot?

See post #95

Ralph Callachan Q27 (and Alex Cropley & Shrewsbury Town Q28 and 29 ) are answered.in post #91 as well but you’ve credited the later wee Scottie dug for post #95!

Ya scoundrel.

green.oracle
28-12-2020, 04:52 PM

Small point Billy, question 6 - Gordon Chisholm was same year (1985) but not same season. 84/85 for english and 85/86 for scottish.

Just read caldwell is not the answer your looking for. Although he did not play in the final, he jointly lifted the cup with the stand in captain (whose name escapes me).

28-12-2020, 04:53 PM
Ralph Callachan Q27 (and Alex Cropley & Shrewsbury Town Q28 and 29 ) are answered.in post #91 as well but you’ve credited the later wee Scottie dug for post #95!

Ya scoundrel.
Sorted :greengrin

28-12-2020, 04:55 PM

Yip same calendar year 1985

28-12-2020, 04:57 PM
14 Rob Jones?

28-12-2020, 04:59 PM
Sorted :greengrin

Thank you.

Can’t remember Q30 anything other than finally him smashing the ball into an empty net but I’ve already said that so I’ll need to pass if there’s more.

28-12-2020, 05:00 PM
14. Matt busby?
Sorry no

28-12-2020, 05:01 PM
Just read caldwell is not the answer your looking for. Although he did not play in the final, he jointly lifted the cup with the stand in captain (whose name escapes me).
I know it

My guy played for HIBS and played in the final at Wembley as Captain and lifted the trophy :greengrin

You will kick yourself

28-12-2020, 05:06 PM
14 Rob Jones?
Sorry no

28-12-2020, 05:11 PM
Thank you.

Can’t remember Q30 anything other than finally him smashing the ball into an empty net but I’ve already said that so I’ll need to pass if there’s more.

He was always last man oot and would kick the ball into the empty net

Well done

28-12-2020, 05:38 PM
He was always last man oot and would kick the ball into the empty net

Well done

Wouldn’t have clocked the last man out bit Billy but the ball into the empty net stuck in my child’s mind. :wink:

28-12-2020, 05:42 PM
Wouldn’t have clocked the last man out bit Billy but the ball into the empty net stuck in my child’s mind. :wink:
Fair play you got the keepie uppie and the empty net

28-12-2020, 05:52 PM
1.Matt Busby
14.Ray Wilkins

28-12-2020, 05:56 PM
1.Matt Busby
14.Ray Wilkins
Sorry no

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 06:32 PM
14 Bobby Hutchinson 1986 Bristol City ... phew 😰

28-12-2020, 06:42 PM
14 Bobby Hutchinson 1986 Bristol City ... phew 😰
Brilliant

Well done

28-12-2020, 06:53 PM
14 Bobby Hutchinson 1986 Bristol City ... phew [emoji27]Good one, I'd never have got that, already thought about Bristol city and all I could come up with was Peter Cormack[emoji16]

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 07:03 PM
19 Paul Wright?

28-12-2020, 07:15 PM
19 Paul Wright?
No but the same teams were involved

28-12-2020, 07:20 PM
Is it Doug Moran?

28-12-2020, 07:23 PM

Douglas Moran

28-12-2020, 07:24 PM
Is it Doug Moran?

Hugh Shaw “ You get yourself along to Brockville and get some game time “

Well done

Wee Scottie Dug
28-12-2020, 07:26 PM

Dougie Moran?

Think I used to work beside him - interesting fact:greengrin

28-12-2020, 07:27 PM

Hugh Shaw “ You get yourself along to Brockville and get some game time “

Well done

I’m trying to work out the loan bit, were loans around then?

28-12-2020, 07:35 PM
I’m trying to work out the loan bit, were loans around then?

Dont think he formally signed until the following August

But here is proof from the horses mouth

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/falkirk-fc/bairn-winner-doug-moran-recalls-scottish-cup-goal-1503690

28-12-2020, 07:44 PM

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/falkirk-fc/bairn-winner-doug-moran-recalls-scottish-cup-goal-1503690

I’m not disagreeing. As someone born in the 60’s, I thought loans were a fairly modern thing
Well done to you Billy, keeping us all occupied today, top man

28-12-2020, 07:50 PM
I’m not disagreeing. As someone born in the 60’s, I thought loans were a fairly modern thing
Well done to you Billy, keeping us all occupied today, top man

No worries

It is also a question in the Jim Hossack HIBS Quizbook c 1986

Thanks for your kind comments Billy they are greatly appreciated

28-12-2020, 07:52 PM

Forgot the loan story.Like Jock Buchanan ,Dougie was very popular with the regulars who went to the reserve games.They just got so few chances in the first team particularly when when one of the Famous Five was missing we often moved Combe forward and brought in a different half-back.

Great quiz.Big effort from you Billy.

28-12-2020, 07:54 PM
Forgot the loan story.Like Jock Buchanan ,Dougie was very popular with the regulars who went to the reserve games.They just got so few chances in the first team particularly when when one of the Famous Five was missing we often moved Combe forward and brought in a different half-back.

Quite a few were in that boat and went on to have good careers with other clubs but to go on loan and win the Holy Grail and score the winning goal

houstonhibbee
28-12-2020, 07:59 PM

IIRC John Duncan? also got a hat trick in the 3-3 draw at Easter Rd?

28-12-2020, 08:03 PM

Great quiz.Big effort from you Billy.
👍🏿