View Full Version : Are Hibs admitting hospitality season ticket holders during Coronavirus?
28-12-2020, 02:43 PM
All we need now is for somebody to suggest that those waving tricolours should have priority access to games and we will have the best post Xmas ‘family’ argument ever. :greengrin
28-12-2020, 02:53 PM
Joking apart, it is going to be a real headache with so many season ticket holders and limited seats - if there is to be a staggered return.
Postcodes? Under a certain age? Vaccinated? Raffles?
As an out of town, 50+ ST holder I’m not holding out much hope being well up the list.
Bath Rugby down here did members ballots (no STs this year but you can buy into a membership scheme to be in with a chance for tickets).
You can register with your household for tickets. You are then put into a ballot. Once you “win” your seat, you don’t then enter the next ballot, until all members have had their fill. There’s then a first come first served for any residual tickets.
I’m not a member so do not expect to get into the Rex anytime soon.
28-12-2020, 02:53 PM
This very much feels like the complaints about the loyalty points system which was great until it didn’t suit someone’s own circumstances and then it was a problem. Essentially it’s alright until someone feels like they’re the one missing out.
A sponsor getting to see a game is of no concern to me. I’m not a sponsor. If i was *that* desperate to see a game, I’d be on to Hibs to see what the deal is with becoming a sponsor. In the meantime i can understand completely that as one of 11,000+ season ticket holders. I can’t get in and I have no problem with the club courting people who are able to put significant money in to help plug the financial gaps that covid has caused and help the club compete.
That to me, makes perfect sense for the club to do and actually the club would be being incredibly negligent if they weren’t trying to fund raise.
Folk wanted a two tier system of fans if it meant they got a ticket for Tiny, they weren’t bothered about the season ticket holders who missed out then.
spot on :aok:
It wasn't ill-advised it was premeditated. That apoligy of an individual has been deliberately provoking the Scottish authorities to fine him over blatant and pulically visible breaches of Covid regulation just the get the press coverage ahead of the upcoming Scottish elections. He is no QotS fan hes used them to their cost.
also spot on :agree: and said individual will advise QoS that ALL publicity is good publicity, he's already admitted it, the man is a grade A slimeball
28-12-2020, 03:00 PM
All we need now is for somebody to suggest that those waving tricolours should have priority access to games and we will have the best post Xmas ‘family’ argument ever. :greengrin
Are you saying tricolour waving fans shouldn’t get priority like? :greengrin
28-12-2020, 03:03 PM
A season ticket holders argument about thinking they should be ahead of others when fans are readmitted would be based on their regular and committed support of the club. Similarly, a perfectly working Points Scheme gives those who support the club both at home and on the road a fairer chance of securing tickets for in-demand games.
The “Spending a bit more” argument has only really been used by those who opposed loyalty schemes, and never by those who supported its function. It was only ever about the most regular supporters being given the first opportunities to attend matches, and when supporters are readmitted, it can only be season ticket holders who are given access. How they work out who that will be in a limited environment is going to be a real headache.
We did have a good facility in place a couple of years back that would have assisted with that.
As a supporter of Loyalty Points who thinks that season ticket holders (irrespective of where in the ground/ how much they paid) should get access ahead of PATG because they have already bought the ticket but doesn’t think what you paid should influence your chances of getting the limited seats that will be available I am not sure that the opinions are as easily grouped.
I know that others will get into the ground before me for the simple reason that I stay outside Edinburgh and expect fans living close to the stadium to get access first ( for sensible less travel/ population mixing reasons) and have no issue with decisions on this type of parameter.
28-12-2020, 03:05 PM
Just out of interest, does anyone know how much it is to sponsor the match ball for the Ross County game?
28-12-2020, 03:12 PM
Just out of interest, does anyone know how much it is to sponsor the match ball for the Ross County game?
I’m led to believe Hibs have had to answer 11,000 enquiries of that nature today.
28-12-2020, 03:19 PM
Looks like a grand minimum - but that may be different at the moment.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/sponsorship/matchball-sponsorship
28-12-2020, 03:30 PM
I have been told by an ex-employee (no names) that its West Stand (Uber) first and the rest of you pricks later...............
Sorted
28-12-2020, 03:31 PM
Good Post. Don't think baldy f would be complaining at all if he was a sponsor, just as he didn't complain when he benefited from ticket priveleges.
Ticket privileges!! Thats a laugh, Hibs should have been paying us to go to games. If by ticket privileges you mean that years ago when we were pish with managers like Calderwod Fenlon and Butcher etc, the branch BF runs was really the only branch bus guaranteed to run to every single away game and if there was tickets available the branch got seated together at games, thats it. Got to remember this was when we were going to Ibrox, Parkhead, Aberdeen etc when we were barely taking 300-400 fans and came nowhere near selling out any away allocation including Tynecastle. Hardly a privilege and it in no way affected other fans as anyone who wanted a ticket could get one.
The LP thing was different altogether, fans who'd massed max points by attending games were shat on by Dempster when she agreed to hand out LP's like confetti if people donated to HSL and that was totally wrong as it put some fans who hadn't been to every game right at the top of the tree for the big games.
28-12-2020, 03:56 PM
Joking apart, it is going to be a real headache with so many season ticket holders and limited seats - if there is to be a staggered return.
Postcodes? Under a certain age? Vaccinated? Raffles?
Seats should be auctioned off, the prime seats first first. Fans prepared to pay a bit more should be afforded priority given the financial situation that Hibs is facing.
Hospitality should also auctioned instead of sold at one standard price.
Then packages for Behind the Goals, and catering deals should be auctioned.
A seat only auction should then take place. Even a few quid more per ticket will help.
After that, season ticket holders should be allocated a game ticket on a rolling basis for the rest of the season.
I think that's a fair and straightforward mechanism to let folk see games under these strange conditions . It's beneficial to Hibs and shouldn't be controversial.
28-12-2020, 03:56 PM
Has to be a ballot surely
28-12-2020, 04:01 PM
Has to be a ballot surely
I think by postcode is probably the safest way to do it, as it stops people travelling further than necessary to the game.
I’d be screwed under the system but i think that’s the best way to do it (granted, i haven’t given this a lot of thought!).
28-12-2020, 04:09 PM
I think by postcode is probably the safest way to do it, as it stops people travelling further than necessary to the game.
I’d be screwed under the system but i think that’s the best way to do it (granted, i haven’t given this a lot of thought!).
I can’t see where you stay being a factor. When it’s deemed safe to let fans back in, travel restrictions aren’t going to be in place. And there is no way clubs are going to come out and say you need to have a certain postcode to get in to their ground IMO.
28-12-2020, 04:17 PM
I can’t see where you stay being a factor. When it’s deemed safe to let fans back in, travel restrictions aren’t going to be in place. And there is no way clubs are going to come out and say you need to have a certain postcode to get in to their ground IMO.
Clubs previously in level 1 were only allowing season ticket holders who stay within the same local authority area as the stadium the chance to apply for tickets.
28-12-2020, 04:19 PM
Clubs previously in level 1 were only allowing season ticket holders who stay within the same local authority area as the stadium the chance to apply for tickets.
That will cover about 80% of our season ticket holders then.
28-12-2020, 04:22 PM
When there are only 300 up for grabs I can understand that, also with the stage we are at. Plus, in those instances, nearly all season ticket holders would live within that LA.
I can’t see it working for the likes of Hibs when they have thousands of season ticket holders outwith the Edinburgh council area. Imagine trying to sell a season ticket with the caveat that you’ll only get to attend if you stay in the Edinburgh council area.
28-12-2020, 04:30 PM
That will cover about 80% of our season ticket holders then.
A made up statistic with nothing to back it up
28-12-2020, 04:32 PM
If travel restrictions aren't in place at the time of any ballot, I'd be surprised if they'd be imposed by the club (even if it did make sense).
28-12-2020, 04:33 PM
So again, what's the point of the thread apart from unnecessary s**t stirring?
Literally half your posts are you trying to moderate the forum. So tiresome. If the moderaters have a problem with something, they'll manage it.
28-12-2020, 04:39 PM
Literally half your posts are you trying to moderate the forum. So tiresome. If the moderaters have a problem with something, they'll manage it.Literally? You sure?
28-12-2020, 04:44 PM
Literally? You sure?
Yes. Literally.
28-12-2020, 04:51 PM
Yes. Literally.You should maybe try to pick up a dictionary in the sales.
28-12-2020, 04:52 PM
I've been a bit bored by this place recently, it's good to see things getting back to normal. :top marks:thumbsup:
28-12-2020, 04:53 PM
When there are only 300 up for grabs I can understand that, also with the stage we are at. Plus, in those instances, nearly all season ticket holders would live within that LA.
I can’t see it working for the likes of Hibs when they have thousands of season ticket holders outwith the Edinburgh council area. Imagine trying to sell a season ticket with the caveat that you’ll only get to attend if you stay in the Edinburgh council area.
I agree with you, I don't live in Edinburgh so I'll be a bit miffed if that's how it works but it wouldn't surprise me.
28-12-2020, 04:53 PM
This thread is great reading. It's more entertaining than the Chelsea Villa game.
28-12-2020, 04:57 PM
I agree with you, I don't live in Edinburgh so I'll be a bit miffed if that's how it works but it wouldn't surprise me.
Would you be miffed even if it’s the logical thing to do to restrict people travelling across various regions?
I understand why you’d be disappointed but I don’t get why you’d be miffed.
FWIW I would qualify as I live close to Easter Road, I’m not sure if I’d take a ticket though as going to watch a game with a million and one restrictions and no atmosphere isn’t that appealing to me. I’d maybe change my mind if offered though right enough.
28-12-2020, 05:01 PM
Would you be miffed even if it’s the logical thing to do to restrict people travelling across various regions?
FWIW I would qualify as I live close to Easter Road, I’m not sure if I’d take a ticket though as going to watch a game with a million and one restrictions and no atmosphere isn’t that appealing to me. I’d maybe change my mind if offered though right enough.
It’d be good to know how far the boundary would be before renewing as I could move in with my mum and dad for next season.
Same.
I also plan to move in with your folks.
28-12-2020, 05:04 PM
Stranraer did, you had to stay in Dumfries and Galloway to get a ticket for their only game with fans 2 weeks ago.
28-12-2020, 05:06 PM
Yeah I don't see how it would be a problem.
At that point there won't be any travel restrictions in place. I feel that it's either safe to leave your local area or it's not.
There will be limited numbers in attendance at first anyway and whilst I don't have the numbers to hand, I would have thought a pretty big majority of our season ticket holders would live in Edinburgh so I'm not sure why a small amount of people coming from elsewhere would be so problematic.
There would likely be more people travelling into Edinburgh to go shopping or sightseeing than there would be going to Easter Road.
28-12-2020, 05:08 PM
Same.
I hope Danderhall's mum and dad live in a large house as I'm putting that down as my address too.
Yeah I don't see how it would be a problem.
At that point there won't be any travel restrictions in place. I feel that it's either safe to leave your local area or it's not.
There will be limited numbers in attendance at first anyway and whilst I don't have the numbers to hand, I would have thought a pretty big majority of our season ticket holders would live in Edinburgh so I'm not sure why a small amount of people coming from elsewhere would be so problematic.
There would likely be more people travelling into Edinburgh to go shopping or sightseeing than there would be going to Easter Road.
Fair points
Stranraer did, you had to stay in Dumfries and Galloway to get a ticket for their only game with fans 2 weeks ago.
I don’t think that’s the same as it would be for us. I doubt there are many Stranraer season ticket holders from outwith their own LA. I’m as certain as I can be that Hibs wouldn’t choose to impose that restriction.
Stonewall
28-12-2020, 05:15 PM
I think anywhere outside D&G would not have been tier 1.
28-12-2020, 05:26 PM
Is this thread now just a thinly veiled excuse to bring up old arguments and have a pop at each other? If so, the poster LeithMike, who I’m good friends with and have a season ticket with. I’d question what part of Leith Cannonmills is in? 😀
You tell him!
28-12-2020, 05:31 PM
Can I start an argument about which part of the stadium is the traditional singing area?
Where's BlackpoolHibs....
28-12-2020, 05:37 PM
Surely we should be looking to the future and if any tickets do become available, they should go to those in the Family section.....
Away season ticket holders should get priority if a limited number are allowed back in the stadium.
28-12-2020, 05:39 PM
One of the limitations for being allowed to start admitting fans is that there isn’t any extra pressure put on local public transport. So, for as long as there are limited numbers allowed on buses & trains, then there is the likelihood that there will be something of a postcode lottery on which fans will be allowed to attend. Not to forget that any fans living in a higher level/tier will not be allowed to leave their local area anyway.
28-12-2020, 05:39 PM
Do you know more about me than I do? It's nice to have a wee follower:aok:
He/she must be tiny, if you're calling him/her wee. :greengrin
28-12-2020, 05:41 PM
He must be tiny, if you're calling him wee. :greengrin
How do you it’s a he?
28-12-2020, 05:42 PM
One of the limitations for being allowed to start admitting fans is that there isn’t any extra pressure put on local public transport. So, for as long as there are limited numbers allowed on buses & trains, then there is the likelihood that there will be something of a postcode lottery on which fans will be allowed to attend. Not to forget that any fans living in a higher level/tier will not be allowed to leave their local area anyway.
Quite right too - I've just emailed the club and told them I have moved back into my old flat, just above the Chinese takeaway on the corner of MacDonald Road and Easter Rd
28-12-2020, 05:44 PM
Quite right too - I've just emailed the club and told them I have moved back into my old flat, just above the Chinese takeaway on the corner of MacDonald Road and Easter RdCrikey! Edinburgh's changed a bit since I was last across!
28-12-2020, 05:45 PM
Is this thread now just a thinly veiled excuse to bring up old arguments and have a pop at each other? If so, the poster LeithMike, who I’m good friends with and have a season ticket with. I’d question what part of Leith Cannonmills is in?
:greengrin:greengrin
it's good to laugh, well done.
Will it catch on?
28-12-2020, 05:47 PM
Away season ticket holders should get priority if a limited number are allowed back in the stadium.
Seeing as nobody currently holds an Away Season Ticket, that shouldn't take up too many seats.
28-12-2020, 05:47 PM
How do you it’s a he?
Eh:wink:
28-12-2020, 05:49 PM
Eh:wink:
Posters called themselves what they want on here, you’re as much a Ronaldo, as I am a whizz😂
28-12-2020, 05:49 PM
Can I start an argument about which part of the stadium is the traditional singing area?
Where's BlackpoolHibs....
We have a singing Section and traditions?
28-12-2020, 05:50 PM
...only when we are playing away though😉
28-12-2020, 06:15 PM
He/she must be tiny, if you're calling him/her wee. :greengrin
:not worth:thumbsup: Thanks R:greengrin
Stonewall
28-12-2020, 06:33 PM
Robbo6-2
28-12-2020, 06:36 PM
Anyone remember George Galloway on big brother pretending to be a pussy cat.
That's all I think of when I see him
Mr. Wonderful
28-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Ticket privileges!! Thats a laugh, Hibs should have been paying us to go to games. If by ticket privileges you mean that years ago when we were pish with managers like Calderwod Fenlon and Butcher etc, the branch BF runs was really the only branch bus guaranteed to run to every single away game and if there was tickets available the branch got seated together at games, thats it. Got to remember this was when we were going to Ibrox, Parkhead, Aberdeen etc when we were barely taking 300-400 fans and came nowhere near selling out any away allocation including Tynecastle. Hardly a privilege and it in no way affected other fans as anyone who wanted a ticket could get one.
The LP thing was different altogether, fans who'd massed max points by attending games were shat on by Dempster when she agreed to hand out LP's like confetti if people donated to HSL and that was totally wrong as it put some fans who hadn't been to every game right at the top of the tree for the big games.
Didn't realise baldy wasn't capable of answering for himself but it's no surprise you've piped up on a thread potentially painting hibs in a negative light.
Supporters buses all benefited during the LP time, particularly in high demand games like derbies at Tyne Castle. I don't recall Mr ticket integrity speaking up for the good people in tier 2 who missed out then.
28-12-2020, 06:47 PM
There were several areas in levels 1 and 2 prior to Boxing Day.
28-12-2020, 06:56 PM
Didn't realise baldy wasn't capable of answering for himself but it's no surprise you've piped up on a thread potentially painting hibs in a negative light.
Supporters buses all benefited during the LP time, particularly in high demand games like derbies at Tyne Castle. I don't recall Mr ticket integrity speaking up for the good people in tier 2 who missed out then.
That's not true, but don't let that stop you. All those who got tickets all had the required points.
28-12-2020, 07:01 PM
That's not true, but don't let that stop you. All those who got tickets all had the required points. As an ex employee you would know this
28-12-2020, 07:01 PM
I hope Danderhall's mum and dad live in a large house as I'm putting that down as my address too.
Same.
It’s not that big but we’d cope. I only plan to use it as a PO Box and at the weekends.
28-12-2020, 07:05 PM
Crikey! Edinburgh's changed a bit since I was last across!
That one confused me too. 🤔
28-12-2020, 08:56 PM
Absolute rubbish, there was folk that travelled with us that didn't get tickets for the bigger games because they never had the required points tally.
Painting hibs in a negative light? Its you thats suggesting Hibs were corrupt by showing preferential treatment to supporters branches.
If it were up to me, I'd still be using the LP system but Dempster ****ed that up.
28-12-2020, 10:30 PM
So 11 pages later - are we clear that Hibs would be breaking all protocols and potentially receiving sanctions if we had guests at our games, sponsors or not? Thank goodness for that.
linlithgowhibbie
29-12-2020, 09:19 PM
The Linlithgow Branch certainly didn't benefit during the LP time. We would run about 25 busses a season and only those who had the points got tickets!!
29-12-2020, 09:22 PM
That's not true, but don't let that stop you. All those who got tickets all had the required points. As an ex employee you would know this
So they all had the required points but were given priority over non supporters club member who also had the required points?
29-12-2020, 09:43 PM
Can I ask, are supporters missing out on being at games because of any sponsors being given some access?
I seriously doubt it.
Which then begs the question, why are people bothered whether a sponsor has access to games or not?
I mean, does it matter if Jimmy Smith sponsored Drey Wright's socks and has been to a game you haven't seen?
29-12-2020, 09:49 PM
Can I ask, are supporters missing out on being at games because of any sponsors being given some access?
I seriously doubt it.
Which then begs the question, why are people bothered whether a sponsor has access to games or not?
I mean, does it matter if Jimmy Smith sponsored Drey Wright's socks and has been to a game you haven't seen?
If a sponsor has access to games then the club are breaking the protocols and would be liable for punishment, for that alone they shouldn’t be there.
29-12-2020, 09:54 PM
If a sponsor has access to games then the club are breaking the protocols and would be liable for punishment, for that alone they shouldn’t be there.
This is what Keiran Power said in his update earlier today -
"There has been a few incidents with other clubs recently regarding Joint Response Group rules over a recent period. Naturally we think about our own club and how we approach this - I've shared a few useful bits of information in past updates along the way and how we take this very seriously. Our club would never risk anything - reputation, money or points - at any time and the protocols at HTC and ER are more than secure - I'm comfortable as the supporter governance"
29-12-2020, 11:28 PM
This is what Keiran Power said in his update earlier today -
"There has been a few incidents with other clubs recently regarding Joint Response Group rules over a recent period. Naturally we think about our own club and how we approach this - I've shared a few useful bits of information in past updates along the way and how we take this very seriously. Our club would never risk anything - reputation, money or points - at any time and the protocols at HTC and ER are more than secure - I'm comfortable as the supporter governance"
Not sure whether he is defending having guests in the stands or not, too late, but if he is, then the club is risking all that he says by doing so. It is against the protocols to have anyone that isn’t relevant to the running of the match, specifically mentioning guests.
The argument about whether they should be there before paying fans doesn’t bother me, I’m not particularly excited by the experience of sitting on my own without singing and celebrating. But I’d expect the club to be following the clear rules on numbers and personnel set out to them.
30-12-2020, 12:38 PM
Not sure whether he is defending having guests in the stands or not, too late, but if he is, then the club is risking all that he says by doing so. It is against the protocols to have anyone that isn’t relevant to the running of the match, specifically mentioning guests.
The argument about whether they should be there before paying fans doesn’t bother me, I’m not particularly excited by the experience of sitting on my own without singing and celebrating. But I’d expect the club to be following the clear rules on numbers and personnel set out to them.
Yeah and there’s absolutely no evidence that Hibs have admitted any guests that shouldn’t be there.
30-12-2020, 12:43 PM
Yeah and there’s absolutely no evidence that Hibs have admitted any guests that shouldn’t be there.
Of course not, just pointing out to those that are saying they have no issues if sponsors are attending that during the current restrictions then that’s against the protocols and they should have an issue with it.
30-12-2020, 01:00 PM
Of course not, just pointing out to those that are saying they have no issues if sponsors are attending that during the current restrictions then that’s against the protocols and they should have an issue with it.
Who cares what some fans think and what hypothetical issues we should have, it’s an irrelevance.
It’s what Hibs do that matters and we have had a strong statement from a board member who has categorically said that the club follow all established protocols. End of.
30-12-2020, 01:10 PM
Who cares what some fans think and what hypothetical issues we should have, it’s an irrelevance.
It’s what Hibs do that matters and we have had a strong statement from a board member who has categorically said that the club follow all established protocols. End of.
It’s not irrelevant if one sponsor is invited to a game, we’d be breaking protocols regardless of what anyone says. I’m not sure I’ve seen anyone state no sponsors have been at games, just like I’ve not seen the opposite.
Some fans saying there’s no issue if sponsors are there when the reality is they should care IF sponsors are invited during the current circumstances.
30-12-2020, 01:13 PM
It’s not irrelevant if one sponsor is invited to a game, we’d be breaking protocols regardless of what anyone says. I’m not sure I’ve seen anyone state no sponsors have been at games, just like I’ve not seen the opposite.
Some fans saying there’s no issue if sponsors are there when the reality is they should care IF sponsors are invited during the current circumstances.
They aren’t allowed.
If some fans would be fine with them being there it makes no odds.
There is no evidence that sponsors or any other guests have been at games.
30-12-2020, 01:31 PM
They aren’t allowed.
If some fans would be fine with them being there it makes no odds.
There is no evidence that sponsors or any other guests have been at games.
I’m struggling to understand why this is so hard to grasp.
We can sit here all day and say if the club did this or that. Point being they haven’t therefore there it is irrelevant whether fans mind people who haven’t been to a match hypothetically going.
30-12-2020, 01:35 PM
I can't believe people are still arguing about this.
Must be boredom, I suppose.
Lendo
30-12-2020, 01:53 PM
11 pages of nonsense and counting
30-12-2020, 03:02 PM
Slightly off topic but I seen on twitter last night that some Carlisle United fans had made the trip to Harrogate for their league 2 game and somehow actually got in, the game was abandoned after 20 minutes due to a frozen pitch.
02-01-2021, 12:08 PM
Wonder what essential role Walter Smith is playing today at Ibrox?
02-01-2021, 12:10 PM
Wonder what essential role Walter Smith is playing today at Ibrox?
Media. He’s on Rangers TV today.
02-01-2021, 12:38 PM
Media. He’s on Rangers TV today.
Yes, stream I’m watching is Rangers TV with “Walter” in the studio at HT. It’s proper staunch but can’t complain too much for a free gratis feed.
02-01-2021, 12:48 PM
If this thread is for resurrecting old arguments Speedway once called me “SaulGoodyam” and I’m no happy about it.
02-01-2021, 01:33 PM
if this thread is for resurrecting old arguments speedway once called me “saulgoodyam” and i’m no happy about it.
ltyf