View Full Version : Jim McLean

Green forever
26-12-2020, 06:16 PM
https://www.dundeeunitedfc.co.uk/news/6718/JIM-MCLEAN-1937-2020.html
Sad news that Jim McLean has sadly passed away, what he achieved there will probably never be repeated. Not the cheeriest bloke but one hell of a manager.

26-12-2020, 06:18 PM
Sad news RIP.

26-12-2020, 06:24 PM
Absolute legend of the game. RIP Jim.

26-12-2020, 06:24 PM
Would be seen as a ruthless dinosaur nowadays but he built some tremendous teams and made United one hell of a force in Scottish football.

26-12-2020, 06:34 PM
Would be seen as a ruthless dinosaur nowadays but he built some tremendous teams and made United one hell of a force in Scottish football.

He certainly was no dinosaur tactically. I used to hate playing against his teams in the early-mid 80s. A fantastic coach but a grumpy old git at the same time. RIP Jim.

26-12-2020, 06:37 PM
Built a great Arabs team, I liked him at the time, he had no respect for the uglies. RIP.

CloudSquall
26-12-2020, 06:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riP9MOaHNlQ

What a moment :greengrin

26-12-2020, 06:38 PM
He certainly was no dinosaur tactically. I used to hate playing against his teams in the early-mid 80s. A fantastic coach but a grumpy old git at the same time. RIP Jim.

Of course. I meant in terms of his man management.

His teams had steel, mixed with skill.

He should rightly be remembered as one of the great managers.

26-12-2020, 06:40 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=riP9MOaHNlQ

What a moment :greengrin

Says it's a private video?

26-12-2020, 06:42 PM
Great coach and a massive football person. Rip Jim.

26-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Huge figure in that era. Not the most likeable as far as I was concerned and never cared much for his team at at the time either. But still, a real character who unearthed a lot of young Scottish talent and got great things out of some ordinary players too..... And what wouldn’t we give now for a football man ready to knock out an irritating BBC pundit.
R.I.P. Jim - I don’t think Tannadeechy ever really recovered from losing you first time around.

26-12-2020, 06:50 PM
Can’t remember the name of the player but McLean brought a player over from abroad and when his contract was up he refused to sell him to anyone else and at the same time was not paying him. He put the lad out the game. It was because of people like him that the Bosnian ruling happened. I could never take to him after that.

26-12-2020, 06:54 PM
Remember when they went to Barcelona and won 2-0
Think it may have been Ferguson and Clark who scored, but could be wrong

26-12-2020, 06:56 PM
Remember when they went to Barcelona and won 2-0
Think it may have been Ferguson and Clark who scored, but could be wrong

John Clark, big Hibby. One of those players he got the best out of.

26-12-2020, 06:57 PM
i think it was Jim McLean that introduced incredibly long contracts, was it 7 years, maybe not as long i can't remember

RIP Jim McLean, great tactician, i'm sure his brother Tommy was manager at Motherwell,among others, whilst Jim was at Dundee utd :hmmm:

26-12-2020, 06:59 PM

no friend of a certain player nicknamed 'Robbo' iirc

could be wrong

26-12-2020, 06:59 PM
No one could fill his boots after he stepped down. Football man through and through.

26-12-2020, 07:00 PM
Huge figure in that era. Not the most likeable as far as I was concerned and never cared much for his team at at the time either. But still, a real character who unearthed a lot of young Scottish talent and got great things out of some ordinary players too..... And what wouldn’t we give now for a football man ready to knock out an irritating BBC pundit.
R.I.P. Jim - I don’t think Tannadeechy ever really recovered from losing you first time around.

I mentioned that incident earlier. McLean was stitched up big time there.

The line of questioning was agreed and McLean made it clear what he would and wouldn't answer. 3 questions in and Barnes went off piste and tried to put him on the spot. McLean shouldn't have reacted how he did but Barnes was at it and his intention was very much to provoke a reaction. I think he'll long remember the one he managed to get.

As a manager I'm too young to remember him or his teams but his record speaks for itself. I'm not sure we'll ever see a team like Dundee Utd in a European final again.

26-12-2020, 07:03 PM
I said on the deleted thread that I couldn't take to him but his record as a manager of is club like Dundee United was incredible. I used to work beside Andy Rolland who played 300+ games for Utd and he spoke really highly of him though

I didn’t know that. Is he an Edinburgh boy

no friend of a certain player nicknamed 'Robbo' iirc

could be wrongIf the rumours were to be believed...

26-12-2020, 07:06 PM
i think it was Jim McLean that introduced incredibly long contracts, was it 7 years, maybe not as long i can't remember

RIP Jim McLean, great tactician, i'm sure his brother Tommy was manager at Motherwell,among others, whilst Jim was at Dundee utd :hmmm:
I’m sure he gave Graeme Payne a longer contract than that
Rightly or wrongly, that’s the only way teams like United could compete at the top of Scottish and European football
Remember he got them to the European Cup Semi final, and as things panned out later, should probably have made the final

26-12-2020, 07:06 PM
If the rumours were to be believed...

ineed :agree:

26-12-2020, 07:07 PM
If the rumours were to be believed...

Why?

26-12-2020, 07:08 PM
I mentioned that incident earlier. McLean was stitched up big time there.

The line of questioning was agreed and McLean made it clear what he would and wouldn't answer. 3 questions in and Barnes went off piste and tried to put him on the spot. McLean shouldn't have reacted how he did but Barnes was at it and his intention was very much to provoke a reaction. I think he'll long remember the one he managed to get.

As a manager I'm too young to remember him or his teams but his record speaks for itself. I'm not sure we'll ever see a team like Dundee Utd in a European final again.

It was a reaction I enjoyed at the time, one I’m amazed doesn’t happen more often. I’d love to watch him dealing with Brian McLaughlin or Tom English. Or even to hear him being treated to the analytical wisdom of the likes of Billy Dodds, Andy Walker, Kris Boyd, Pat Bonner.....

26-12-2020, 07:11 PM

Musselburgh Clark’s fishmongers

26-12-2020, 07:13 PM

Yes. Musselburgh Windsor product. I got to know him a wee bit after he’d finished playing pro, he was in heating and ventilation by that time. Nice big fellah with a story or two to tell and in the United hall of fame.

26-12-2020, 07:14 PM
I’m sure he gave Graeme Payne a longer contract than that
Rightly or wrongly, that’s the only way teams like United could compete at the top of Scottish and European football
Remember he got them to the European Cup Semi final, and as things panned out later, should probably have made the final

i can't quite remember him so i googled for info, played for utd 11 years, then Morton,Arbroath,Brechin and st.johnstone, was he exceptional at some stage in his career ?

26-12-2020, 07:15 PM
Yes. Musselburgh Windsor product. I got to know him a wee bit after he’d finished playing pro, he was in heating and ventilation by that time. Nice big fellah with a story or two to tell and in the United hall of fame.

And so he should be, not many Scottish players will score, and win in the Camp Nou

26-12-2020, 07:19 PM
Musselburgh Clark’s fishmongers

He’s done more than a few shifts on the boats in his time.

26-12-2020, 07:20 PM
Why?

Naughty stuff with women.

Col L
26-12-2020, 07:22 PM
And so he should be, not many Scottish players will score, and win in the Camp Nou

I played against him when he was player-manager at Gala. Couldn’t run by then and was carrying a few extra stone, but what a shot he had on him!
One of the young pups in our team didn’t know who he was and when he started giving him lip, big Clarky retorted: ‘How many goals have you scored in the Nou Camp ya wee sh@/e!!’

26-12-2020, 07:22 PM
i can't quite remember him so i googled for info, played for utd 11 years, then Morton,Arbroath,Brechin and st.johnstone, was he exceptional at some stage in his career ?

He was a tricky wee winger. Socks down at the ankles and a good player for United.

26-12-2020, 07:25 PM

I remember seeing Payne when I was young and he emerged a while before United hit the heights of the ‘New Firm’. Red haired, skinny and socks about the ankles. Part of that ‘Terrors’ side they talk about but on his way out by the time they truly achieved.

26-12-2020, 07:29 PM
I remember seeing Payne when I was young and he emerged a while before United hit the heights of the ‘New Firm’. Red haired, skinny and socks about the ankles. Part of that ‘Terrors’ side they talk about but on his way out by the time they truly achieved.

He was involved in the two League Cup wins but was on his way out when they won the League. I remember him as a good wee player late 70s very early 80s though.

The Baldmans Comb
26-12-2020, 07:37 PM
He’s done more than a few shifts on the boats in his time.

He tells a good story that there aren't many football players who have scored the winning goal in the Camp Nou and also went deep sea trawler fishing not far off the coast of Canada.

Jim Mclean was years ahead of his time and to get Dundee Utd to the UEFA cup final and European Cup semi final was remarkable.

26-12-2020, 07:39 PM
He was involved in the two League Cup wins but was on his way out when they won the League. I remember him as a good wee player late 70s very early 80s though.

Pretty much what I said!:greengrin

26-12-2020, 07:40 PM
Jim McLean was without doubt one of the great Scottish managers. He developed many players who went on to great things from Andy Gray to Richard Gough to Duncan Ferguson and many others. He then invested those funds to develop the club. He then took the club to levels that Scottish fans could only dream of nowadays. Firstly to their first ever trophy, the league cup which they won back to back beating Dundee and Aberdeen, managed by Sir Alex Ferguson,in the finals at Dens Park. They went on to win the league (once again at Dens Park) on going into the European Cup they got to the semi finals beating Roma at Tannadice before losing in Rome. A very debatable penalty was given to Roma early on.
The referee was later banned from football for taking bribes though was not implicated in that game. Roma went on to lose the final to Liverpool on penalties. (Bruce Groballar's finest moment).
They then made it to the final of the UEFA cup losing to Gothenburg over 2 legs.
During their European runs they had many fantastic results including beating Barcelona home and away. As well asTop Germany,Spanish and Belgian teams and taking English teams to the limit.
Apart from finding and developing young players Narey, Hegarty, Sturrock,Milne, Malpas,he was fantastic at getting the best out of players such as Eammon Bannon, Ian Ferguson etc.
Jim McLean loved Dundee United, turning down the opportunity to manage Rangers. He brought new systems and modern training methods to Scottish football. Apart from tactics Dundee United was one of the first teams I remember doing a warm down. Although he was criticised for the long contracts he was protecting his club in the early days of agents.
A lot of his demands and behaviour would not be accepted nowadays. He was no angel but he demanded the best out of everyone.
He reminded me of Brian Clough in that he built teams over and over again.
RIP. I doubt that we will see his likes again.

Liam978
26-12-2020, 07:43 PM

To get back on track with the main theme. Wee Jim was oor equivalent to Ned. Door and unforgiving but a brilliant tactician RIP.

26-12-2020, 07:47 PM
Absolute legend of the game. RIP Jim.

Very true

TelaStella
26-12-2020, 07:51 PM
A great of the game, of that there can be no mistake. RIP Jim.

26-12-2020, 07:58 PM

Incidentally Graeme Payne scored the first goal I ever saw Hibs concede, an equaliser in a 1-1 draw in 1978.

26-12-2020, 08:00 PM
Incidentally Graeme Payne scored the first goal I ever saw Hibs concede, an equaliser in a 1-1 draw in 1978.

Irritating little scrote!

26-12-2020, 08:31 PM
Was at the game at Tannadice when we beat Utd 5 2. Jim Mclean was quoted in the press saying that was the way he wanted his team to play. He produced some fantastic Dundee United sides but for the dubious ref in the second leg in Roma would have probably went on to win the European Cup. One of the greatest Scottish managers.

26-12-2020, 09:02 PM
Just read his stats on the BBC that in those post-1975 Premier League seasons until he stood down, only two non top-four finishes. And both of those were 5th.
17 seasons.
Two league cups and a league. A European Cup Semi and a UEFA cup final and players earning caps for Scotland.

It’s only reading this now I remember that most visits to Tannadice (and I made all of them) resulted in me wishing I’d stayed in the Clep for another couple of pints instead. We were barely close.

26-12-2020, 09:09 PM
Just read his stats on the BBC that in those post-1975 Premier League seasons until he stood down, only two non top-four finishes. And both of those were 5th.
17 seasons.
Two league cups and a league. A European Cup Semi and a UEFA cup final and players earning caps for Scotland.

It’s only reading this now I remember that most visits to Tannadice (and I made all of them) resulted in me wishing I’d stayed in the Clep for another couple of pints instead. We were barely close.

Incredible stats and an incredible manager. Football folk who don't know Scottish football never realise how unbelievable what he did at at Utd was. And it's probably true Roma bribed a ref to win that European Cup semi-final against his side.

26-12-2020, 09:13 PM
Jim McLean was without doubt one of the great Scottish managers. He developed many players who went on to great things from Andy Gray to Richard Gough to Duncan Ferguson and many others. He then invested those funds to develop the club. He then took the club to levels that Scottish fans could only dream of nowadays. Firstly to their first ever trophy, the league cup which they won back to back beating Dundee and Aberdeen, managed by Sir Alex Ferguson,in the finals at Dens Park. They went on to win the league (once again at Dens Park) on going into the European Cup they got to the semi finals beating Roma at Tannadice before losing in Rome. A very debatable penalty was given to Roma early on.
The referee was later banned from football for taking bribes though was not implicated in that game. Roma went on to lose the final to Liverpool on penalties. (Bruce Groballar's finest moment).
They then made it to the final of the UEFA cup losing to Gothenburg over 2 legs.
During their European runs they had many fantastic results including beating Barcelona home and away. As well asTop Germany,Spanish and Belgian teams and taking English teams to the limit.
Apart from finding and developing young players Narey, Hegarty, Sturrock,Milne, Malpas,he was fantastic at getting the best out of players such as Eammon Bannon, Ian Ferguson etc.
Jim McLean loved Dundee United, turning down the opportunity to manage Rangers. He brought new systems and modern training methods to Scottish football. Apart from tactics Dundee United was one of the first teams I remember doing a warm down. Although he was criticised for the long contracts he was protecting his club in the early days of agents.
A lot of his demands and behaviour would not be accepted nowadays. He was no angel but he demanded the best out of everyone.
He reminded me of Brian Clough in that he built teams over and over again.
RIP. I doubt that we will see his likes again.

Good summing up. Helped make your life a misery at times though 😀

26-12-2020, 09:39 PM
Dundee United 💚

EI255
26-12-2020, 11:47 PM
Very sad news.

God bless JM and DUFC

Hibernian and Dundee U. Dundee U and Hibernian. [emoji3515]

Brothers in arms [emoji1132]

27-12-2020, 06:30 AM
I knew DU were a good side around that time but didn’t appreciate the consistency. Incredible record over a 15 year period or so in the league as well as10 domestic cup finals in 20 years.

United's league finishes under McLean
1970/71 - 6th 1982/83 - 1st
1971/72 - 9th 1983/84 - 3rd
1972/73 - 7th 1984/85 - 3rd
1973/74 - 8th 1985/86 - 3rd
1974/75 - 4th 1986/87 - 3rd
1975/76 - 8th 1987/88 - 5th
1976/77 - 4th 1988/89 - 4th
1977/78 - 3rd 1989/90 - 4th
1979/79 - 3rd 1990/91 - 4th
1979/80 - 4th 1991/92 - 4th
1980/81 - 5th
1981/82 - 4th 1992/93 - 4th

Roxyhibee
27-12-2020, 08:15 AM
An incredible manager and a record with a club the size of Dundee Utd that still defies belief, even though I witnessed it all at close hand, like many others.

Watched that Roma second leg with my mates and we were gutted that they’d been cheated and intimidated out of a place in the Final against Liverpool. And if you thought Utd would have had no chance of winning the trophy - then you didn’t know Jim MacLean or his team. I still reckon it would have been a very close game.

And that night in the Nou Camp, witnessing a team from our league....just marvellous.

It was wonderful back in those days watching Utd and Fergies Aberdeen turn the ugly sisters over regularly. Those two vile clubs didn’t know what was happening to their stranglehold. I was just jealous it wasn’t Hibs.

And when Ibrox came calling for Jim MacLean - he said no thanks. Take a final bow on that one Jim and thanks for all those great Scottish fitba memories.

27-12-2020, 08:17 AM
Dundee United have played Barcelona 4 times in European Competition and won all 4 games.

That's pretty unbelievable when you think about it.

27-12-2020, 08:18 AM
Very sad news.

God bless JM and DUFC

Deary me.

27-12-2020, 08:44 AM
Very sad news.

God bless JM and DUFC

:faf::faf:

27-12-2020, 08:57 AM
Very sad news.

God bless JM and DUFC

That Chateau Hibsnet has a lot to answer for.

27-12-2020, 11:58 AM
Good summing up. Helped make your life a misery at times though 😀

Not half. 5 brothers who were all Arabs and heavily involved. One helped set up the Dundee United Lothian Supporters Club which had a good membership back in the day.

A story that sums Jim McLean's good side up is that the New Year's day fixture v Motherwell was postponed due to an icy pitch. This was pre-internet or sky sports news days so news didn't travel as fast. Jim spent the morning calling round supporters such as my brother to make sure they didn't set off in dangerous conditions.

He really cared about supporters and the club.

27-12-2020, 12:00 PM
I knew DU were a good side around that time but didn’t appreciate the consistency. Incredible record over a 15 year period or so in the league as well as10 domestic cup finals in 20 years.

United's league finishes under McLean
1970/71 - 6th 1982/83 - 1st
1971/72 - 9th 1983/84 - 3rd
1972/73 - 7th 1984/85 - 3rd
1973/74 - 8th 1985/86 - 3rd
1974/75 - 4th 1986/87 - 3rd
1975/76 - 8th 1987/88 - 5th
1976/77 - 4th 1988/89 - 4th
1977/78 - 3rd 1989/90 - 4th
1979/79 - 3rd 1990/91 - 4th
1979/80 - 4th 1991/92 - 4th
1980/81 - 5th
1981/82 - 4th 1992/93 - 4th

Yep amazing record.

Not So Young
27-12-2020, 12:02 PM
Sad News indeed he was in the Ferguson mould a genuinely great manager

I was at Tannadice for the home game against Barcelona in 1987

Barcelona managed by Venables and with Hughes and Lineker

27-12-2020, 12:52 PM
Very sad news.

God bless JM and DUFC

Kind of ridic comment really.

McLean was an old school manager. He got away with a lot of things that wouldn’t be acceptable to players in today’s game, mainly because he was tactically astute and he knew a footballer when he saw one.

His record at United was very impressive and would be more so if they hadn’t flunked Scottish Cup finals. He was up against a very good Aberdeen side and whilst it probably wasn’t a golden time for them, both the Uglies had way more resources and were still winning most things.

Man management wasn’t really his thing either, but the players feared and respected him in equal measure.

What is for sure is that we’ll never see anything like him in our game again. A truly curmudgeonly genius. RIP Jim McLean.

27-12-2020, 01:32 PM
I said on the now deleted thread that his achievements at Dundee United in the eighties were miraculous. What a good side they were. He will always be remembered in Scottish football.

son of haggart
27-12-2020, 02:32 PM

He was excellent but a bit lightweight, and tiny - think Gordon Strachan after a diet.

Lovely passer of a ball.

He had a few injury spells which didn't help, and was gradually eased out as more robust players came in - Eamonn Bannon being one.

I lived (in Newport) and worked in Dundee for three years over the period which included their league win and some of their finest European games. Hard to imagine this now, but several car loads of my older brothers mates would come up to watch the European games, United were that good.

Maclean got the best out of some awkward, eccentric players (particularly Ralphie Milne) and the only comparable manager I can think of is Brian Clough

RIP to a great Character

27-12-2020, 03:55 PM
What he achieved with United was near miraculous. Without him they would never have been more than the equivalent of, say, St Mirren or Motherwell. I remember thinking that what Ferguson and McLean were achieving really highlighted how far Hibs had fallen during that era.

Very old school though, with a mindset that wouldn't wash today. I suspect Maurice Malpas tried to model himself on him (in a similar way to John Blackley tried to follow the Eddie Turnbull approach) and just came across as unreasonable and unpleasant rather than tactically impressive.

27-12-2020, 04:24 PM
Brilliant manager. RIP

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

27-12-2020, 05:11 PM
Would have absolutely loved it if he'd rocked up at Easter Road instead of Tannadice. Both United and Aberdeen hit the jackpot with McLean and Ferguson. Incredible achievements. Up there with the greats.

CloudSquall
27-12-2020, 05:28 PM
Says it's a private video?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7P7XJxATAA

Available version here, I wonder what his opinion would be of the cardigan and skinny tight jeans crew of the BBC these days :greengrin

27-12-2020, 10:59 PM
He was an absolute tyrant of a man who only cared about his own legacy, but what a manager he turned out to be.

27-12-2020, 11:06 PM
He was an absolute tyrant of a man who only cared about his own legacy, but what a manager he turned out to be.It's interesting that the stuff that Malpas says made McLean a great manager is the very stuff that he was criticised for when he was at Hibs

Changed days I suppose.

27-12-2020, 11:10 PM
What he achieved with United was near miraculous. Without him they would never have been more than the equivalent of, say, St Mirren or Motherwell. I remember thinking that what Ferguson and McLean were achieving really highlighted how far Hibs had fallen during that era.

Very old school though, with a mindset that wouldn't wash today. I suspect Maurice Malpas tried to model himself on him (in a similar way to John Blackley tried to follow the Eddie Turnbull approach) and just came across as unreasonable and unpleasant rather than tactically impressive.

Spot on about Malpas & Blackley

28-12-2020, 02:49 PM

They both managed they teams in the famous Motherwell Scottish cup win 4 3.

28-12-2020, 03:08 PM
Would have absolutely loved it if he'd rocked up at Easter Road instead of Tannadice. Both United and Aberdeen hit the jackpot with McLean and Ferguson. Incredible achievements. Up there with the greats.

Ferguson from St Mirren, McLean from Dundee. We chose Miller and Duffy.

28-12-2020, 03:20 PM
Ferguson from St Mirren, McLean from Dundee. We chose Miller and Duffy.

Different times tbf.