View Full Version : Would You Live In Our Stadium?

22-12-2020, 07:09 PM
My son was watching the Sidemen YouTuber today and they where doing football challenges at the Stadium of Leyton Orient FC.

My eyes were drawn to the corners of the stadium which are occupied by four identical buildings.

It makes the stadium look a lot more enclosed and claustrophobic (not a bad thing in stadium terms)

Anyway, turns out they are flats and each one has a balcony view of the pitch

Would you live inside a stadium if the flat cost about the same as those in the surrounding area?

I'm not proposing this as our corner solution, but it's an interesting idea.

Article here

https://www.dreamteamfc.com/c/news-gossip/359681/live-inside-a-football-stadium-leyton-orient/

22-12-2020, 07:14 PM
Not until there’s hot water in the toilet taps

22-12-2020, 07:48 PM
As long as Jack Ross is in the dugout and Drey Wright is stripped, I wouldn’t be opening the curtains on matchday.

22-12-2020, 07:50 PM
Have you seen the toilets??

22-12-2020, 07:58 PM
Love ER and consider it a home from home but not sure I'd actually want to live inside it. Lived right opposite Arsenal's Emirates Stadium for years. Highbury, which was literally round the corner, was still in use when I moved in and the new place was getting built. Brilliant area but having crowds of 60k descend on it was a bit of a nightmare at times. All the local pubs get taken over, road closed etc. Tube packed out, you had to time going out or coming home to avoid the crowds. Worst was midweek games and coming home from work fighting through huge crowds to get home. Folk chucking empty beers cans in the front garden, urinating in it, all that. Obviously we've less fans to contend with but somewhere with a nice view of ER preferable for me thanks!

22-12-2020, 08:02 PM
Only if I could walk my dug on the pitch.

22-12-2020, 08:08 PM
If I could get a choice of one signing and re-sign Kitty then the answer is most definitely.

22-12-2020, 08:14 PM
Went to the Eden Park in Auckland they have camping pods which you can rent for a night. Not sure of the cost though.

22-12-2020, 08:18 PM
Was down at a Leyton Orient game before lockdown. It was really cool with folk out on their balconies watching game.

Bit like a really rubbish English version of the bombanera.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

22-12-2020, 08:28 PM
Was down at a Leyton Orient game before lockdown. It was really cool with folk out on their balconies watching game.

Bit like a really rubbish English version of the bombanera.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last time I went to Brisbane Rd it was a very early season game and a lovely summers day. One of the flats was having a barbecue on their balcony, which is fine, but then they started playing some awful r&b during the match.

The fans started shouting at them to STFU, the guys on the balcony started giving it large, so then the fans started throwing stuff at them. Better than chucking coins at the players I suppose.

22-12-2020, 08:43 PM
Love ER and consider it a home from home but not sure I'd actually want to live inside it. Lived right opposite Arsenal's Emirates Stadium for years. Highbury, which was literally round the corner, was still in use when I moved in and the new place was getting built. Brilliant area but having crowds of 60k descend on it was a bit of a nightmare at times. All the local pubs get taken over, road closed etc. Tube packed out, you had to time going out or coming home to avoid the crowds. Worst was midweek games and coming home from work fighting through huge crowds to get home. Folk chucking empty beers cans in the front garden, urinating in it, all that. Obviously we've less fans to contend with but somewhere with a nice view of ER preferable for me thanks!

Aye but the difference is you’d be watching the Hibs games so wouldn’t have to worry about the crowds or the queues in the pub or at the tube.

22-12-2020, 09:11 PM
Does that mean fans have been at all their home games this season?

22-12-2020, 09:31 PM
Once knew a guy who had a flat overlooking Tynie. He was a Hibby, so kept his curtains closed most Saturdays 😆

22-12-2020, 09:39 PM
You’ll have to move to Gorgie then, only them allow dug***** on their pitch. 😂

22-12-2020, 11:28 PM
Aye but the difference is you’d be watching the Hibs games so wouldn’t have to worry about the crowds or the queues in the pub or at the tube.

Good point! Would need to be Famous Five side though. Would want all Huns and Jambos as far away from the hoose as possible!

22-12-2020, 11:37 PM
I can see through the gap between the West and South stands from my stair. About as close as you can get to your idea. I've actually seen us play in the flesh this season!

22-12-2020, 11:50 PM
A friend of mine ended up at a party back at one of those flats.

He’d had a few but fancied a wee run about on the pitch.

Unfortunately the alcohol meant he didn’t realise how far up he was and he ended up breaking his back.

I’ve just seen pictures of these flats for the first time - I’d love to know which floor he plummeted from.

Nugget.

23-12-2020, 07:02 AM
Once knew a guy who had a flat overlooking Tynie. He was a Hibby, so kept his curtains closed most Saturdays 😆

Yes at was is now the home end. They hung a Hibs banner out the window and watched the game with their Hibs tops on

23-12-2020, 08:03 AM
No. For the same reason I wouldn't live in my garage shed. Both are sanctuaries I can escape to when the wife gets too much and switch off for a while but wouldn't live in it

23-12-2020, 11:32 AM
No thanks.

23-12-2020, 11:47 AM
People in Georgie Road used to guard the door at the foot of the stairs as OF fans used to try and break in to watch the game when the queues were very long.

Or try to have a pee of course.

23-12-2020, 11:53 AM
Me and a couple of mates slept on the east terracing the night the takeover news broke. We all got through to Edinburgh and had a few beers in the Hibs club. Genuinely thought we might never get into ER again so we decided to climb the wall and get in. Didn't stay the whole night as it was freezing and loads of security about. Ended up sleeping in Waverly and got the early train back to Falkirk High, then a taxi to Alloa in time to get to work.
Not sure I'd want where I live to be the same place I go for enjoyment(?) and escape

23-12-2020, 12:11 PM

I went to Highbury a couple of times when I was younger and I remember being thrilled by the old-fashioned feel of the area and the sense of anticipation going into the stadium. It was great when you used to be able to see the big cannon image with the 'The Gunners' painted on the side of the stand as you came into London on the train.

My memory's a bit hazy but am I right in thinking there was an archway built into a row of houses that you had to walk through to get to one of the stands?

23-12-2020, 12:13 PM

There were always Hibs fans hanging out the windows of some of those flats when there was a derby on.

23-12-2020, 12:27 PM
If they improved the pies I’d consider it :greengrin

have to be the FF end though, so I get the view of Arthur’s seat from my living room.

23-12-2020, 12:54 PM
I would fill in the corners with anything. I know there's a million other things like indoor training facilities, advertising ribbons and Jumbotrons that come first and even less money than there was to address them, but the massive gaps between the FF and East and the South and East have done my bloody head in ever since the east was built.

23-12-2020, 01:39 PM
Lived round the corner from Pittodrie for two years. Drunken louts singing at all times in the morning, the litter, traffic and noise. And on top of the pitfalls of Aberdeen, it wasn’t very nice living near a football stadium either.

23-12-2020, 07:15 PM
Went to the ATP tennis finals at the O2 a few years ago and we stayed at (at the time) West Ham’s ground Upton Park. Their main stand hospitality suites were used as hotel rooms on non match days.
It was a good deal. Kind of Premier Inn style accommodation. About £50 per room including breakfast.
Good income for the club.

24-12-2020, 06:15 PM
I would fill in the corners with anything. I know there's a million other things like indoor training facilities, advertising ribbons and Jumbotrons that come first and even less money than there was to address them, but the massive gaps between the FF and East and the South and East have done my bloody head in ever since the east was built.

Me too.

It's an atmosphere killer and literally, a waste of space.

24-12-2020, 11:17 PM
Me too.

It's an atmosphere killer and literally, a waste of space.

Don't get me wrong, the atmosphere inside ER can be really good on big nights and I've even seen it be really good with 9,000 in the ground. But it lacks that claustrophobic enclosed feeling that can make a stadium really intimidating, something filling in the corners properly to enclose the stadium would improve greatly IMO.

24-12-2020, 11:58 PM
The flats behind the East used to get a great view before the new stand was built.

WestCoastHibby
25-12-2020, 10:51 AM
Don't forget your bags....