View Full Version : Rumours of Joma as next season’s kit manufacturer....
BlackSheep
22-12-2020, 06:55 AM
I’m hearing a few murmurs that our kits will be manufactured by Joma from next season... has anyone heard this too?
I, for one, would be disappointed if this is true.
22-12-2020, 07:16 AM
As long as they're green and white that's the main thing.
22-12-2020, 07:45 AM
I’m hearing a few murmurs that our kits will be manufactured by Joma from next season... has anyone heard this too?
I, for one, would be disappointed if this is true.
Whatever brings in the most money the club is what I’m happy with. Commercial side of the club seems to have really stepped up a gear since RG came in.
22-12-2020, 07:45 AM
Would rather stick with Macron if we weren’t able to get something like adidas or nike.
22-12-2020, 07:54 AM
They have some nice tops, with plenty of big clubs. Why would people be against this? Does anyone know about the quality of the kits or is it just a bit of brand snobbery? ps wish we had Kappa :-)
22-12-2020, 07:58 AM
I couldn't give a flying...no, wait, what a pointless, destructive post that would be. You don't like when other people do that so don't be a hypocrite. :wink:
No, I haven't heard any rumours about the kit.
The Count
22-12-2020, 08:10 AM
Bukta anyone ??
22-12-2020, 08:15 AM
Agree about it being a disappointing choice if true, Joma kits are pretty crap IMO.
I'm not going to pretend that I don't care about what the kits look like, but if it brings in significantly more money than any other brand, then so be it, I suppose.
22-12-2020, 08:22 AM
Agree about it being a disappointing choice if true, Joma kits are pretty crap IMO.
I'm not going to pretend that I don't care about what the kits look like, but if it brings in significantly more money than any other brand, then so be it, I suppose.
I’ll try and focus on the smarter Spanish strips they make (I think) rather than the pub team strips they make here.
I don’t really care though. Quite liked Macron but not really arsed.
IMO the worst strip we’ve had in recent years was the Nike home strip we got the year we got relegated. That really was a pub team strip, even if it was a big brand that made it.
22-12-2020, 08:23 AM
I’ll try and focus on the smarter Spanish strips they make (I think) rather than the pub team strips they make here.
I don’t really care though. Quite liked Macron but not really arsed.
IMO the worst strip we’ve had in recent years was the Nike home strip we got the year we got relegated. That really was a pub team strip, even if it was a big brand that made it.
Got to say the shade of green of that top was the best there’s been. The only downside to it for me was the Crabbies sponsor.
22-12-2020, 08:24 AM
https://www.joma-sport.com/en
Looking at the teams they provide kits for, we’re certainly not too big a club to have kit supplied by them.
Stairway 2 7
22-12-2020, 08:24 AM
I'd be happy with asda George if it's green and white and gives us the most cash
22-12-2020, 08:27 AM
I'd be happy with asda George if it's green and white and gives us the most cash
Yorkshire HFC
22-12-2020, 08:28 AM
Bukta anyone ??
That's the only strip I ever had - quality.
The Count
22-12-2020, 08:32 AM
That's the only strip I ever had - quality.
Shorts were quality too.Remember seeing Michael Caine wearing them on the Spion Kop !!!!
22-12-2020, 08:50 AM
If it gives us the most cash then fine whatever but it'll be a hard pass from me on the buying front
22-12-2020, 09:09 AM
I was dead against Macron and now I’m an absolute convert, ended up getting macron gear for the team I run.
Looking forward to seeing what Joma have to offer.
Dazzjw1875
22-12-2020, 09:51 AM
I thought macron had another year after this to run.. I'm not really fussed as long as kits don't look cheap, but would prefer a more named brand suppose it depends on the best deal though eh.
22-12-2020, 10:12 AM
A return to this strip, please
https://i2-prod.glasgowlive.co.uk/incoming/article15050437.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/0_Mixu-Paatelainen.jpg
EI255
22-12-2020, 10:29 AM
I'd be happy with asda George if it's green and white and gives us the most cashNo way!!
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
LeithMike
22-12-2020, 10:38 AM
Would love to see us go back to adidas and a nod to the strips of the late 80s/early 90s. I have to say that there is something special about the three stripes.
You can tell that most other Hibs fans agree given the price that the old adidas tops go for. I dont think any of the LQS strips have created a similar demand and I think the macron strips will be the same but I guess noone knows the future.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
JGS56
22-12-2020, 10:54 AM
Hibernians of Malta use Joma.
Also they are actually named after our club, see below a part of their official website.
The club played one season in 1922 as Constitutionals FC, representing the pro-British Constitutional Party. They started up again in the 1927–28 season and became a top amateur side, winning the Amateur League in 1930–31.
Meanwhile, the Constitutional Party had upset the Roman Catholic Church so much that, in May 1930, it was made a mortal sin for Catholics to vote for the party. The football club changed its name a year later to Hibernians Football Club as a nod to Hibernian, the club founded by Irish Catholics in Edinburgh. They won their first match as Hibernians 2–1, against HMS Antelope in October 1931. They had to wait for a place to become available in the professional league, but in January 1933 they joined the league with a 3–1 victory over Sliema Rangers. They have stayed in the top division ever since.
Hibernians faced a long period of decline followed the success of the 1980s to the end of the decade.
22-12-2020, 10:56 AM
https://www.joma-sport.com/en/camiseta-manga-corta-3-camiseta-villarreal-rojo-mc-vl.101031.20?ret=%2Fen%2Fvillarreal-cf
Can anyone Photoshop this one into the right colours?
22-12-2020, 10:59 AM
Hibernians of Malta use Joma.
Also they are actually named after our club, see below a part of their official website.
The club played one season in 1922 as Constitutionals FC, representing the pro-British Constitutional Party. They started up again in the 1927–28 season and became a top amateur side, winning the Amateur League in 1930–31.
Meanwhile, the Constitutional Party had upset the Roman Catholic Church so much that, in May 1930, it was made a mortal sin for Catholics to vote for the party. The football club changed its name a year later to Hibernians Football Club as a nod to Hibernian, the club founded by Irish Catholics in Edinburgh. They won their first match as Hibernians 2–1, against HMS Antelope in October 1931. They had to wait for a place to become available in the professional league, but in January 1933 they joined the league with a 3–1 victory over Sliema Rangers. They have stayed in the top division ever since.
Hibernians faced a long period of decline followed the success of the 1980s to the end of the decade.
Always wondered if we have ever played them? I suspect we haven't.
With regard to the strip. I don't really care who makes them, as long as the cash is right.
22-12-2020, 10:59 AM
Green body, white sleeves ✔️
Hibs badge in chest ✔️
Best financial package(you would think) ✔️
Not convinced that Adidas or Nike would have produced anything for us over the last few years that would have been much better than we had. Also from memory the contractual situation with Mike and the shop were a nightmare.
JGS56
22-12-2020, 11:07 AM
Always wondered if we have ever played them? I suspect we haven't.
With regard to the strip. I don't really care who makes them, as long as the cash is right.
We have never played them in an official capacity.
22-12-2020, 11:08 AM
I feel like Joma is quite a big brand in mainland Europe but it's not something we see or get much in the UK. I'm sure the club will weigh up the options and pick the best suit for Hibs in the end.
22-12-2020, 11:18 AM
I think I last cared about who made our strips when I was about 13.
Whoever gives us the best deal will do now, so long as the strip is the right colour.
I see the SPFL just announced a new deal that Glens Vodka is now the official spirit partnership. Not sure we needed one, but they’ve gone out and got the worst vodka available signed up!
22-12-2020, 11:27 AM
Would love to see us go back to adidas and a nod to the strips of the late 80s/early 90s. I have to say that there is something special about the three stripes.
You can tell that most other Hibs fans agree given the price that the old adidas tops go for. I dont think any of the LQS strips have created a similar demand and I think the macron strips will be the same but I guess noone knows the future.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Agreed, the late 80s/early 90s Adidas strips are the benchmark IMO. The Frank Graham Group top is my all time favourite. I have one, but would need to go back 10 years to get into it again. It appears to have shrunk over the years...
22-12-2020, 11:38 AM
Agreed, the late 80s/early 90s Adidas strips are the benchmark IMO. The Frank Graham Group top is my all time favourite. I have one, but would need to go back 10 years to get into it again. It appears to have shrunk over the years...
I knew Frank fairly well and, despite being a massive Celtic fan, he was delighted that that strip was a favourite for so many and was always referred to as the Frank Graham top. I told him that he was up there with the greats, as my 3 favourite strips are the Pat Stanton, the Frank Graham and the Franck Sauzée. He loved that.
22-12-2020, 11:39 AM
When I ran a team we had to use Joma kit as the main Bonnyrigg Rose team did and every age group needed to follow. The kit was always really good quality and the designs pretty good too. As I no longer play football I don't buy kits for myself so I would want the best deal for the club but to also try and get a kit that is cheap to make so replicas can be priced as cheaply as possible. Buying strips for kids is a massive thing for parents and now team are ripping the proverbial with 3 strips and yearly changes then they should try to get a supplier where retail price is as reasonable as possible.
22-12-2020, 12:25 PM
I used to run children’s teams before I changed job and couldn’t manage the commitment. We sourced the strips and coaching gear from Football Nation in Edinburgh. It was all Joma and absolutely fine, though we did get some Adidas gear in towards the end.
As others have said, they clad a number of European clubs. I am sure they supply or did supply Valencia for a number of years
Had a look and this one reminds me of the 70’s Bukta Strip
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201222/21f1c74c6a95ffdde2f71a876410d0e5.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201222/350e00cbf8bc5c54fd574d046643555e.jpg
Not sure I’m keen but they do other decent tops!
Remove the white pinstripes through it!
22-12-2020, 12:33 PM
I used to run children’s teams before I changed job and couldn’t manage the commitment. We sourced the strips and coaching gear from Football Nation in Edinburgh. It was all Joma and absolutely fine, though we did get some Adidas gear in towards the end.
As others have said, they clad a number of European clubs. I am sure they supply or did supply Valencia for a number of years
I think both St Johnstone and falkirk have used Joma.
St Johnstone 2010 to 2018.
22-12-2020, 12:43 PM
Had a look and this one reminds me of the 70’s Bukta Strip
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201222/21f1c74c6a95ffdde2f71a876410d0e5.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201222/350e00cbf8bc5c54fd574d046643555e.jpg
Not sure I’m keen but they do other decent tops!
Remove the white pinstripes through it!
I’d quite like to see pinstripes incorporated for a change
They also do the same top in purple.
22-12-2020, 12:45 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132346168_10160795637264196_7178266775931840934_o. jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=3jFtSzNxdm4AX-bw0xK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=ddd7a86b8613c224c9b4cffb678691bf&oe=6007E917https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132285601_10160795637464196_1706026032640650791_o. jpg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=i2tR5iloEGQAX90V0kc&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=3eb47d31a0f97b986be367b5f5c8dd1f&oe=6009374F
22-12-2020, 12:45 PM
https://www.myfootballfacts.com/world-football/scottish-football/st-johnstone-kits/
2014 - 15
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132346168_10160795637264196_7178266775931840934_o. jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=3jFtSzNxdm4AX-bw0xK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=ddd7a86b8613c224c9b4cffb678691bf&oe=6007E917https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132285601_10160795637464196_1706026032640650791_o. jpg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=i2tR5iloEGQAX90V0kc&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=3eb47d31a0f97b986be367b5f5c8dd1f&oe=6009374F
I like them. Smart.
22-12-2020, 12:59 PM
Have a Atalanta green training top from Joma and the quality is decent.
22-12-2020, 01:02 PM
Adidas kits are minging. Anything but them. 😂
AndyM_1875
22-12-2020, 01:14 PM
Hummell and Umbro are both making some good kits. Would happy with either of them and I loved the Umbro kits we wore in the 80s.
Adidas will be template kits-initially fans would be exited until the boring template reality descended.
I read that Hibs shift more replica tops than any other club in Scotland outwith the ugly sisters so I would really like a name supplier.
Joma would be massively underwhelming. Reeks of small time.
22-12-2020, 01:46 PM
Can people not mind that anything Nike or Puma or Adidas do for us is training top templates that just smash our badge on it.
I’m with Andy though, surely there’s not many grown adults that care really deep down?
22-12-2020, 02:12 PM
Joma would be massively underwhelming. Reeks of small time.
They make the strips for some huge clubs.
Forever_Green93
22-12-2020, 02:16 PM
https://www.joma-sport.com/en/camiseta-manga-corta-3-camiseta-villarreal-rojo-mc-vl.101031.20?ret=%2Fen%2Fvillarreal-cf
Can anyone Photoshop this one into the right colours?
Here you go. I kinda like it.
22-12-2020, 02:20 PM
Here you go. I kinda like it.
You've done a really great job on the edit.
I don't like it, certainly not as a home kit, but that's about the Joma design, not your editing work!
22-12-2020, 02:25 PM
They have some nice tops, with plenty of big clubs. Why would people be against this? Does anyone know about the quality of the kits or is it just a bit of brand snobbery? ps wish we had Kappa :-)
My walking football team play in Joma gear and the quality isn't too bad at all. Quite a few clubs of Hibs size and bigger are using Joma just now.
Went off Macron when they started using that daft logo ... they looked far better with MACRON as their logo.
22-12-2020, 02:27 PM
https://d15n7mcz7ifln5.cloudfront.net/media/catalog/product/cache/2/thumbnail/x640/040ec09b1e35df139433887a97daa66f/a/t/at18042.jpg
That with white sleeves would be perfect.
22-12-2020, 02:29 PM
The strip manufacturer doesn’t bother me greatly as I’m not a wearer of football shirts, but a manufacturer who can offer a good range if training/leisure kit that might appeal to non replica strip wearers would be good.
I was working in a Hearts household recently and out on the washing lines were a few different leisure tops belonging to the sons. Umbro make some smart quarter-zip long sleeve training style tops that guys my age could get away with for wearing to games or general hacking about. Haven’t seen anything in our range that makes me rush to buy.
Strips will always fly off the shelves regardless who makes them, but revenue streams could be increased with a good quality range in tops, T-shirt’s and jackets. Macron make a nice enough football kit, but not been that struck with their other goods.
22-12-2020, 02:36 PM
Ye canne beat a thread full o' strip snobs :greengrin
22-12-2020, 02:54 PM
Adidas or Nike please. Nae shan makes.
22-12-2020, 02:55 PM
Ye canne beat a thread full o' strip snobs :greengrin
Wait till somebody mentions the Pantone code...
:offski:
22-12-2020, 03:04 PM
Provided a manufacturer doesn't make a mess of the design of the home kit and their product is of decent quality, I really don't care who they are. The kids care because they don't want to wear supposed crappy brands, but, then again, they want to wear what the players are wearing, so it's of limited consequence to most of them. Something like a bespoke Adidas would be great, but that won't happen.
22-12-2020, 03:27 PM
Both make the shanest of kit these days.
22-12-2020, 03:38 PM
The addidas template is howfin this season, Aberdeen home kit is terrible and a number of clubs down south have the same template.
Renfrew_Hibby
22-12-2020, 03:43 PM
Atalanta home kit is the kit Inter wished they had!
Joma also have Anderlecht in their locker so not completely Mickey Mouse.
JammyDoidger
22-12-2020, 03:47 PM
Why do we never go with Adidas? The three stripes would fly off the shelves. It's been too long!!!! Even Umbro would be better than the stuff we've had!
22-12-2020, 03:52 PM
Why do we never go with Adidas? The three stripes would fly off the shelves. It's been too long!!!! Even Umbro would be better than the stuff we've had!
I suspect it is much more about the commercial arrangements these days than just picking a brand you think might produce a nice kit.
These days I think the bigger makes don’t have much of an offering for clubs like ours that is interesting.
At least with Macron, although we are still choosing from house designs it appears we have much more flexibility in how you chose to put those together for the kit.
22-12-2020, 04:15 PM
The strip manufacturer doesn’t bother me greatly as I’m not a wearer of football shirts, but a manufacturer who can offer a good range if training/leisure kit that might appeal to non replica strip wearers would be good.
I was working in a Hearts household recently and out on the washing lines were a few different leisure tops belonging to the sons. Umbro make some smart quarter-zip long sleeve training style tops that guys my age could get away with for wearing to games or general hacking about. Haven’t seen anything in our range that makes me rush to buy.
Strips will always fly off the shelves regardless who makes them, but revenue streams could be increased with a good quality range in tops, T-shirt’s and jackets. Macron make a nice enough football kit, but not been that struck with their other goods.
You didn't take them down and bin them? :greengrin
Blackfordhibby
22-12-2020, 04:15 PM
A return to this strip, please
https://i2-prod.glasgowlive.co.uk/incoming/article15050437.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/0_Mixu-Paatelainen.jpg
I'll go wi that, from the days when Liverpool were probably the second best team in Britain.
22-12-2020, 04:23 PM
The addidas template is howfin this season, Aberdeen home kit is terrible and a number of clubs down south have the same template.
Templates don’t bother me. A template would be ***** if you’re Aberdeen in full red or St Johnstone in full blue. When you’ve got a unique strip like ours it’s always going to be miles different to anyone else’s.
22-12-2020, 04:34 PM
Does it really matter what sweatshop exploiting brand manufactures our strip?
Just as long it is a green body with white sleeves with white shorts and green and white socks with our crest on.
22-12-2020, 04:43 PM
Does it really matter what sweatshop exploiting brand manufactures our strip?
Just as long it is a green body with white sleeves with white shorts and green and white socks with our crest on.
Because they both play left sided
Latapy'sVolley
22-12-2020, 04:52 PM
St Mirren currently have Joma kits, so of course there's rumours we're in for them.
22-12-2020, 04:59 PM
Templates don’t bother me. A template would be ***** if you’re Aberdeen in full red or St Johnstone in full blue. When you’ve got a unique strip like ours it’s always going to be miles different to anyone else’s.
If you think the Aberdeen template would look good in Hibs colours then fair enough. Personally as I said i think it's dreadful. Opinions
EI255
22-12-2020, 06:21 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132346168_10160795637264196_7178266775931840934_o. jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=3jFtSzNxdm4AX-bw0xK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=ddd7a86b8613c224c9b4cffb678691bf&oe=6007E917https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/132285601_10160795637464196_1706026032640650791_o. jpg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=2&_nc_sid=b9115d&_nc_ohc=i2tR5iloEGQAX90V0kc&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=3eb47d31a0f97b986be367b5f5c8dd1f&oe=6009374FRyanair??
1875Sean
22-12-2020, 06:26 PM
Joma reminds me of amateur football teams, I know it may not matter to some but for me the quality in joma kits are not great
The dalmeny
22-12-2020, 07:29 PM
likewise, I sorted strips for my boys team through FN. the Joma kits were hard wearing and a good price. Honduras had them in the WC.
22-12-2020, 07:45 PM
Other than Hearts being with Umbro, Rangers with Castore, I couldn’t tell you who makes anyone else’s strips in Scotland and England.
I wouldn’t know a good sports brand from a bad one and sportswear is all much of a muchness to me.
22-12-2020, 09:11 PM
Coz Adidas gear is **** and it would be a dull basic template. Just buy one from their Teamwear catalog and get a Hibs badge put on.
22-12-2020, 10:10 PM
Your stripes need to stop at the shoulder nowadays bud. They don’t quite have the same nostalgic effect now as they had back in the day despite some of the hopeless dreamers on here.
22-12-2020, 10:35 PM
Those Joma designs and strips look pretty cheap and flammable, like cheap knock offs you used to get in European holiday destinations. Macron aren't great and make things overly fussy but at least they don't look like the will generate lots of static electricity when the players run around a bit ..
davhibby
23-12-2020, 11:25 AM
Nike were terrible last time we had them, only the cup winning kit was any good. The biggest difference though is in the training stuff. Some of the macron stuff other than the kits is brilliant, yet with Nike all of that was made by Avec.
Our best kits are always going to be when we’re with one of the smaller brands where we get a say in what goes on rather than a badge on a template
23-12-2020, 11:36 AM
I admire your creative skills but.... Ryanair?
The kits will be really cramped and you'll have to pay extra for the sleeves.
Langlee Hibs
23-12-2020, 11:37 AM
I'd take an Adidas template if it was the current Arsenal strip replicated in green and white for us. That would be stunning and not unlike the 1991 classic. The Aberdeen one..... not so much!
Greenio
23-12-2020, 11:50 AM
Are Aberdeen's strips templates though?
Personally I've always wanted Hibs to get addidas for a bit. Just think it could work really well with the white shortened stripes onto white sleeves.
Tbh, I'd not heard much of Joma before, but looking at some of their kits I'd say they look decent, the Villareal away one is a peach!. Might be interesting to see what a more euro approach comes up with.
23-12-2020, 12:01 PM
Give me a smaller, lesser known make who do bespoke kits over the bigger template brands any day.
I don’t want a kit that has an identical design to Milwall or Bradford or Scunthorpe.
23-12-2020, 12:16 PM
Joma?
We will do/take anything St Mirren have won’t we :greengrin
Personally I've always wanted Hibs to get addidas for a bit. Just think it could work really well with the white shortened stripes onto white sleeves.
Tbh, I'd not heard much of Joma before, but looking at some of their kits I'd say they look decent, the Villareal away one is a peach!. Might be interesting to see what a more euro approach comes up with.
Condivo 20 template
https://www.prodirectsoccer.com/p/adidas-condivo-20-shirt-team-power-red-white-mens-football-teamwear-213494/
23-12-2020, 01:50 PM
https://www.footballshirtculture.com/images/2020/rapid_wien_2020_20211_euro_kit.webp:drool:
23-12-2020, 02:13 PM
Nike were terrible last time we had them, only the cup winning kit was any good. The biggest difference though is in the training stuff. Some of the macron stuff other than the kits is brilliant, yet with Nike all of that was made by Avec.
Our best kits are always going to be when we’re with one of the smaller brands where we get a say in what goes on rather than a badge on a template
All the Nike kits looked class, the relegation season one could have been of better material but they looked great.
I’m still trying to get my hands on the yellow nike 3rd kit.
23-12-2020, 02:15 PM
Used for loads of clubs and what Hibs would have got this season
https://cdn.footyheadlines.com/amp/3690656651569083872
davhibby
23-12-2020, 04:01 PM
All the Nike kits looked class, the relegation season one could have been of better material but they looked great.
I’m still trying to get my hands on the yellow nike 3rd kit.
Maybe it’s just my opinion but the relegation home kit and the championship winning home kit look like something a pub team would wear in comparison to the puma and macron kits before and after.
23-12-2020, 04:06 PM
Worst kit ever was that "down the slope" half and half monstrosity by Puma we wore in the 2012 final closely followed by the patterned faded two tone Macron one from a couple of seasons back.
Imagine that Puma one was immortalised as the one we wore to break the hoodoo. We'd have had a commemorative shirt in 20 years time to look forward to. At least 2016's number was as classy as the way we won it. David Gray lifting the cup in that shirt still looks cool as anything.
23-12-2020, 04:10 PM
Worst kit ever was that "down the slope" half and half monstrosity by Puma we wore in the 2012 final closely followed by the patterned faded two tone Macron one from a couple of seasons back
Agreed and agreed. The dark, all green home strip from 2014/15 is up there for me too, though we played plenty of decent games in it!
I've liked the majority of Macron's other efforts. I definitely like this season's home and third strips. Thought last season's were really, really nice.
23-12-2020, 04:12 PM
Agreed and agreed. The dark, all green home strip from 2014/15 is up there for me too, though we played plenty of decent games in it!
I've liked the majority of Macron's other efforts. I like this season's home and third strips.
Aye on the whole Macron have been decent. The one we wore in our season back up was really nice.
23-12-2020, 05:37 PM
Aye on the whole Macron have been decent. The one we wore in our season back up was really nice.
This seasons home is one of my favourite tops we’ve had.
Can't help but feel Joma shirts might sell poorly compared to a more popular brand.
Hibees1973
23-12-2020, 08:01 PM
Replicate the Hibs strip Pat Stanton wears on the front page of his book ‘The Quiet Man’, circa 1974.
Dark green top with crewe neck. Nothing flashy on the shorts and socks.
Best Hibs strip I have ever seen.
EI255
23-12-2020, 08:19 PM
https://www.footballshirtculture.com/images/2020/rapid_wien_2020_20211_euro_kit.webp:drool:Take the Adidas logo away and it's as plain as the Hearts trophy cabinet. Pah.
EI255
23-12-2020, 08:24 PM
O'Neills are doing quite a few UK football clubs now. I'd not be disappointed with this... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201223/6ffe7091d7926c7b3b2985f1f303f630.jpg
23-12-2020, 08:28 PM
O'Neills are doing quite a few UK football clubs now. I'd not be disappointed with this... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201223/6ffe7091d7926c7b3b2985f1f303f630.jpg
The Kerry GAA kit from last year is a thing of beauty.
They have an issue outside Ireland though in being able to use their usual 3 stripes due to Adidas.
23-12-2020, 08:29 PM
Can't help but feel Joma shirts might sell poorly compared to a more popular brand.
If they produce a good kit it will sell well. Think this is just another example of some of the brand snobbery on display on this thread. If the club decide to go with them, lets give them a chance and see what they come up with. Could be the biggest seller ever.
23-12-2020, 08:40 PM
I’d like to see George from Asda given a chance.
EI255
23-12-2020, 08:43 PM
The Kerry GAA kit from last year is a thing of beauty.
They have an issue outside Ireland though in being able to use their usual 3 stripes due to Adidas.O'Neills seem to do a very tidy job of marketing their brand in the USA. Could well be a money spinner for us.
Greenworld
24-12-2020, 09:27 AM
O'Neills seem to do a very tidy job of marketing their brand in the USA. Could well be a money spinner for us.
Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkThis is a no brainer for me link into the huge irish American market
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
24-12-2020, 10:17 AM
O'Neills seem to do a very tidy job of marketing their brand in the USA. Could well be a money spinner for us.
Do we actually sell any strips outside of the club store?
Greenworld
24-12-2020, 10:19 AM
Do we actually sell any strips outside of the club store?Online and temp shop at the Gyle
I'd be very happy with O'Neill's, some really nice designs, and some of their commemorative strips are crackers.
Hibiza
24-12-2020, 07:11 PM
Got a picture of Kano in that top , scoring a header against the yams.
24-12-2020, 09:03 PM
Their UK office are based in the same building as my work so that could come in handy!
The dalmeny
24-12-2020, 09:52 PM
I'd be very happy with O'Neill's, some really nice designs, and some of their commemorative strips are crackers.
O’Neills provided kit to my rugby club at one point. Lead time was dreadful ended up cancelling my order for the kids stuff.
25-12-2020, 10:29 AM
Have the previous Scotland Adidas top. Beautifully made, top quality - a work of art.
WestCoastHibby
25-12-2020, 10:49 AM
In the midst of everything that's going on this year this is another thread where I have to say....who cares??
The club hierarchy will attain the best deal they can hopefully.
As long as the strips aren't made by a child in a sweat shop I'm really not bothered.
And lastly " heard some murmers" or completely made up non story??
So many guff threads.....
BlackSheep
26-12-2020, 08:39 AM
In the midst of everything that's going on this year this is another thread where I have to say....who cares??
As long as the strips aren't made by a child in a sweat shop I'm really not bothered.
In the spirit of discussion (as a forum is meant for such things) then you are more than entitled to your own opinion.
There have been a few comments floating around Twitter and Facebook with other fans saying they had heard this or that in regards to next year’s manufacturer.... so I brought the discussion to a place where it can be collectively discussed and debated... again the whole reason a place like Hibs.net exists.
In the midst of everything going on this year, what is wrong with a thread that allows some distraction from current affairs?
My Granny used to tell me, if you can’t say anything nice then don’t say anything at all.... again not in the spirit of discussion that phrase but you certainly care enough to read then comment on this guff thread, adding nothing of note to the discussion or debate... except you hope the kit isn’t made in sweat shops.... you’d probably be hard pressed not to find a large array of sweat shop manufactured items in your home if you looked, not that I’m condoning such things!
But who cares eh!
26-12-2020, 09:06 AM
I’d like to see George from Asda given a chance.
H & M, please. Or at least Matalan.
The dalmeny
26-12-2020, 09:57 AM
In the spirit of discussion (as a forum is meant for such things) then you are more than entitled to your own opinion.
There have been a few comments floating around Twitter and Facebook with other fans saying they had heard this or that in regards to next year’s manufacturer.... so I brought the discussion to a place where it can be collectively discussed and debated... again the whole reason a place like Hibs.net exists.
In the midst of everything going on this year, what is wrong with a thread that allows some distraction from current affairs?
My Granny used to tell me, if you can’t say anything nice then don’t say anything at all.... again not in the spirit of discussion that phrase but you certainly care enough to read then comment on this guff thread, adding nothing of note to the discussion or debate... except you hope the kit isn’t made in sweat shops.... you’d probably be hard pressed not to find a large array of sweat shop manufactured items in your home if you looked, not that I’m condoning such things!
But who cares eh!
Kit is always great topic to have a good gossip about everyone always has their favourite. Joma might not be thought of as a premium brand but I’m sure it’ll decent stuff.
BlackSheep
26-12-2020, 04:32 PM
Kit is always great topic to have a good gossip about everyone always has their favourite. Joma might not be thought of as a premium brand but I’m sure it’ll decent stuff.
Exactly... but you can’t please everyone can you. Easiest thing to do if you don’t value the topic is just ignore it.
WestCoastHibby
26-12-2020, 05:37 PM
I do like a bit of Retro style but I'm in my mid fifties and my son's are grown men so I'll never be buying one either way
26-12-2020, 05:45 PM
I would just like a normal nike/adidas/umbro etc. I'm a fan of training wear (especially these days with everything in the house) and a lot of these brands like Macron, Joma etc all have just really naff training stuff.
EI255
27-12-2020, 02:30 PM
I'd be very happy with O'Neill's, some really nice designs, and some of their commemorative strips are crackers.Would be a huge seller with a Hibs crest.
27-12-2020, 05:34 PM
There are plenty of people who care about this and rightly so. I want to see my heroes decked out in the best attire possible.
I'm astonished you wasted so much time in your life typing up a response on a "guff" topic that you don't care about.
Dazzjw1875
27-12-2020, 08:41 PM
I think hibs should just go retro green white sleeves with the harp badge for a season and away white with green sleeves with no sponsor or manufacturer badgefind someone who would make these! I would imagine that would fly from the shelves and perhaps maybe be a best seller. They would make a fortune.
27-12-2020, 09:49 PM
Get any manufacturer (whichever offers us the best financial package) to create a strip that looks like the “Carlsberg” 6-2 shirt. Then get Le God, Latapy and Mixu to be photographed in it for the launch, alongside Stevenson, Hanlon and Nisbet.....record sales.
27-12-2020, 10:16 PM
Online and temp shop at the Gyle
Yea I get that, but those are still essentially hibs club store. I meant do our kit manufacturers etc currently sell our kit independently overseas? As that's what was being suggested.
Latapy'sVolley
28-12-2020, 09:45 AM
Have the previous Scotland Adidas top. Beautifully made, top quality - a work of art.
Agreed, best Scotland kit in years. Would love something like that in Hibs colours - modern twist with a nod backwards.
Austinho
29-12-2020, 04:14 AM
It’s been said many times before but the club are missing a huge opportunity by going with Adidas or Umbro - the modern twists on some of the best kits in our history, along with all the resurrected tracksuits, trainingwear etc would sell by the barrel load. Adidas did a huge number of vintage releases for Man United and Arsenal etc. Not to mention the 1990-91 kit, imagine if they re-released these belters as trainingwear:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSs-ISMvx4W_OD21XHj1uqIfbH6sXx8Rp-rjQ&usqp=CAU
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcnqBHmhsw-omC3B5vWjJwKcNzNzBZdHV4Hw&usqp=CAU
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJtYJIU0eZzuhoxlgyfEaR9nSFDPQzT YgtmA&usqp=CAU
As for Umbro, the Insave kit would look great with a modern twist:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJUzM3846T9yjejujz9kr0DwEVlGhge 1CCrQ&usqp=CAU
Umbro recently resurrected their iconic sleeve pattern for several clubs (including Hearts), but obviously we missed the boat again despite actually having previously used it:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRM0FWqXfwG6j1tzKTLSfYSRx9qXjzEe Qb4BQ&usqp=CAU
29-12-2020, 07:27 AM
It’s been said many times before but the club are missing a huge opportunity by going with Adidas or Umbro - the modern twists on some of the best kits in our history, along with all the resurrected tracksuits, trainingwear etc would sell by the barrel load. Adidas did a huge number of vintage releases for Man United and Arsenal etc. Not to mention the 1990-91 kit, imagine if they re-released these belters as trainingwear:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSs-ISMvx4W_OD21XHj1uqIfbH6sXx8Rp-rjQ&usqp=CAU
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcnqBHmhsw-omC3B5vWjJwKcNzNzBZdHV4Hw&usqp=CAU
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJtYJIU0eZzuhoxlgyfEaR9nSFDPQzT YgtmA&usqp=CAU
As for Umbro, the Insave kit would look great with a modern twist:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJUzM3846T9yjejujz9kr0DwEVlGhge 1CCrQ&usqp=CAU
Umbro recently resurrected their iconic sleeve pattern for several clubs (including Hearts), but obviously we missed the boat again despite actually having previously used it:
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRM0FWqXfwG6j1tzKTLSfYSRx9qXjzEe Qb4BQ&usqp=CAU
You are assuming Adidas would design a kit for us with a nod to our earlier kit. Highly unlikely.
29-12-2020, 07:53 AM
You are assuming Adidas would design a kit for us with a nod to our earlier kit. Highly unlikely.
Yep that's the problem with going with the likes of Nike and Adidas.
People see the amazing training and leisure wear they do for the likes of Man Utd and Chelsea and think we would get the same. No chance. Our kit deal would be through a 3rd party and would be catalogue teamwear. We'd get the same guff Aberdeen get and a Hibs badge stuck on the Sports Direct range for leisurewear.
The best example of this is the Nike kits we had recently. Some of the jackets and so on in the club store had the Hibs badge in the right side rather than the traditional left that you would expect from football gear. It was essentially a stick on Hibs badge attached to an off the shelf Nike jacket, with a mark up on price of course.
Retro Adidas Hibs gear probably would fly off the shelves but it's all relative. For us that means a few thousand units among our support. For Man Utd it's millions of units worldwide and that's why they get a bespoke service and deals worth tens of millions of pounds.
Umbro may be a different kettle of fish as they have done some retro stuff for Hearts.
EI255
29-12-2020, 11:47 AM
Bring back the old box set strips for the kids. Never understood why sports firms haven't reinvented them. Total money maker.
Just_Jimmy
29-12-2020, 12:21 PM
Yep that's the problem with going with the likes of Nike and Adidas.
People see the amazing training and leisure wear they do for the likes of Man Utd and Chelsea and think we would get the same. No chance. Our kit deal would be through a 3rd party and would be catalogue teamwear. We'd get the same guff Aberdeen get and a Hibs badge stuck on the Sports Direct range for leisurewear.
The best example of this is the Nike kits we had recently. Some of the jackets and so on in the club store had the Hibs badge in the right side rather than the traditional left that you would expect from football gear. It was essentially a stick on Hibs badge attached to an off the shelf Nike jacket, with a mark up on price of course.
Retro Adidas Hibs gear probably would fly off the shelves but it's all relative. For us that means a few thousand units among our support. For Man Utd it's millions of units worldwide and that's why they get a bespoke service and deals worth tens of millions of pounds.
Umbro may be a different kettle of fish as they have done some retro stuff for Hearts.the man utd club shop is full of extortionate tat.
I'd think it would be even worse at hibs
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
The dalmeny
29-12-2020, 06:54 PM
The Birmingham city strip (Nike) is quite smart just swap the blue for green.....
BlackSheep
03-06-2021, 07:55 AM
Called it. :greengrin
03-06-2021, 08:54 AM
Called it. :greengrin
Are you still disappointed though or are you a little happier now you've seen a few of their recent offerings?
BlackSheep
03-06-2021, 09:02 AM
I’m yet to decide… while mildly disappointed that we went with Joma, hearing of a mass exodus from Macron to Joma in Scotland gives a little hope…. I’ll reserve full judgement until the kit is released :)
03-06-2021, 12:17 PM
It’s not fair when the guy in the Dunlop golf gear, playing with Slazenger clubs and a yellow Top Flite Distance ball, breezes up and wins the club’s monthly medal by five shots.