View Full Version : This is how it feels (Dundee United 19 12 20)

19-12-2020, 05:29 PM
Don’t you just hate a sucker punch? Hibs suffered one today when they should really have been out of sight before the equaliser in added time. Naturally, I’ll have to pick a man of the match but whoever that may be their contribution paled into insignificance when measured against that of United keeper Benjamin Siegrist.

With two changes in our starting eleven, Nisbet in for Gullan and Magennis in for Wright, Hibs started the game strongly and within three minutes, Doidge steered a header down towards the corner of the goal only to see the United keeper make a cracking save.

Hibs were bossing the game and after ten minutes earned a free kick some twenty yards out and I found myself wishing that Stevie Mallan were on the park. Newell looked keen but Hallberg took command and struck his effort over the wall but past the goal at the junction of bar and post. Just three minutes later a deep cross from Magennis out on the Hibs left eluded everyone and went into the net at the far post. Doidge had jumped but made no contact with his leap perhaps causing Siegrist to be in two minds.

The visitors were finding it hard to create any sort of forward threat as a high press by Hibs caused their defenders to go long. Newell and Hallberg were dominating in midfield and on more than one occasion they were able to pick out the runs of Boyle and Magennis. Siegrist came to the fore again in saving a Hallberg effort before, in a rare attack, United tested Hibs when McNulty freed Shankland but the normally prolific striker’s left footed effort was easily blocked by Marciano at his near post.

Around the twenty fifth minute United’s number one had two quite stunning saves in succession. Both were down to pure instinct with the first from a fine Doidge header and a second from another Doidge effort in the follow up.

Boyle was having a good time of it down the right where his blossoming partnership with Paul McGinn was causing United’s back three all sorts of problems. With seven minutes to go until the break, United threatened briefly when McNulty flashed a low drive past Marciano’s right hand post. At this point Hibs looked to have eased off a bit which allowed United a bit more possession, but they weren’t really making any positive use of the ball whilst at the other end, Newell struck a low drive, but it whistled past the wrong side of the post.

Looking to add to their tally, Hibs were once again foiled by Siegrist when Boyle’s low drive across the six yard line was deflected goalwards by Mark Reynolds and the keeper somehow got a hand to it to keep the ball out.

As half time approached, I couldn’t help but think we should have been three or more goals ahead. The reason we weren’t was largely down to two things. First the profligacy of Doidge’s efforts when it has to be said he’d missed a couple of decent chances and secondly because Benjamin Siegrist was on a one man mission to deny Hibs a second goal.

In the last minute of the half, McGinn beautifully cushioned a cross field pass over the head of Robson and the ball was met on the chest of Martin Boyle. The Hibs man took a stride and smashed his effort at goal. The ball was going through the diving keeper’s legs but agonisingly for Boyle it struck Siegrist on the backside and out of play for a corner.

Neither side made any changes at the break and Hibs resumed their control of the ball. Four minutes in and Boyle had an effort blocked after Hallberg had set up the chance. As is customary, Boyle was the recipient of several tough challenges and the referee flashed a card or two before Mickey Mellon decided he had to change things. He brought on both Bolton and McMullen for Edwards and Clark and changed the formation to four, four two. It took Hibs a few minutes to adjust to this as the players brought on both operated in wide positions and this created a chance for McNulty, but his effort was comfortably saved by Marciano.

United were creating more now but Hibs defended stoutly, and Marciano’s goal was never seriously threatened. Right on the hour mark, Hallberg fed Doidge, but the big striker hit his shot straight at the keeper.

As Boyle fed Nisbet on sixty five minutes the striker’s effort was too straight and easily gathered by the keeper. Hibs then changed things by replacing a tiring Magennis with Drey Wright. It was more even now in terms of possession but still United didn’t really threaten Marciano’s goal. When United brought Pawlett off the bench, Hibs reacted quickly by replacing Hallberg with Gogic. In almost his first action in the game, Gogic released Boyle down the right and as the Hibs man raced into the box he looked up and picked out Nisbet on the edge of the box, but the striker put too much on the ball in trying to sweep it into the keeper’s far corner and the effort flew wide.

Following two quite fierce Gogic challenges, both looking like bookings to me, the Hibs man finally got a yellow for another mistimed challenge. Next, ten minutes left on the clock, Boyle looked to be breaking away down the right, but he was cynically chopped down by Pawlett who was correctly booked. Soon after that, tenacious play by Nisbet saw him put Doidge through on goal but the big striker shot low and allowed Siegrist to deflect the ball for a corner. From that corner, Gogic sent a header towards goal but it was weak and easily collected by the keeper.

United were now throwing everything at Hibs but I’ll be honest I thought we would hold out because we were defending so well. As a Hibs fan I should have known better. In the first of three added minutes, good movement from McNulty saw him cut the ball back into the danger area. The ball was not going to reach one of his team mates but instead struck Joe Newell and rolled towards the far post where Luke Bolton raced in and hammered his shot home. It was a sickener for sure and made Hibs pay the penalty for all of the chances missed earlier in the game.

In my assessment of the players, it’s hard to focus on the positives and there were many but the wastefulness in front of goal is colouring my judgement of some.

The players

Marciano – Rocky only had to make a couple of comfortable saves and had absolutely no chance with the goal. If I have a gripe, it’s regarding the number of times his kicking sailed right through to Siegrist.

McGinn – A solid performance from Paul and his cushioned ball to Boyle was mouth watering. I guess he went to sleep a wee bit at the goal as he didn’t track Bolton’s movement.

Porteous – Ryan was on his game again and when facing United’s front three he never looked in any sort of danger. Rather, he looked composed and in control.

Hanlon – Like Ryan, Paul was impressive throughout and when you factor in how few chances United had it’s no surprise that he gets credit from me.

Stevenson – Like the rest of the back four, Lewis defended stoutly, and I thought it was positive that he and Magennis worked well as a team down the left flank.

Boyle – Martin looks to me as if he’s getting back to his best. Some fantastic runs down the right and his deliveries deserved better finishes from the strikers. Boyle is my man of the match.

Hallberg – I confess I was slightly surprised that he was in the starting eleven but was happy with his contribution. He and Newell seem to work well as a pair and it’s encouraging to see him get in ahead of the strikers at times.

Newell – Joe was gliding through this game and I’m aware that I was critical of him ‘gliding’ in the Alloa game. For me, the difference on this occasion is that he contributed far more attacking wise. They are nothing alike in stature, but he reminds me of SJM when he uses his body strength to shield and protect the ball in tight situations.

Magennis – Once again deployed on the left I thought he did well both defensively and in an attacking sense. It’s not 100% clear if his cross at the goal skiffed a defender’s head but no mater, it was his goal all day long.

Nisbet – One of Kevin’s quieter games I thought, and he really should have tucked away that pass from Boyle. Top marks though for winning the ball he fed to Doidge when the big fella was clean through.

Doidge – It’s bizarre this because had he kept a cooler head and had not been facing a keeper at the top of his game, Christian could have had five goals today and his inability to score cost us in the end.

Wright – Drey got twenty five minutes and really didn’t catch the eye at all. I feel the laddie’s confidence is low but once he gets past that he’ll fit in fine.

Gogic – On another day, Alex could have had two yellow cards in the space of a few minutes, but he got away with two dubious tackles before final entering the ref’s notebook.

Jack Ross – Frustrated and angry and I’m not surprised. I know the players will be hurting and hope that motivates them to put things right when we face St. Mirren.

Referee – I thought Gavin Duncan was overly lenient at times and If I was a United man, I’d be totally ticked off at his lack of application of the advantage rule.

19-12-2020, 05:49 PM

19-12-2020, 05:52 PM
Brilliant Jonnyboy

Get Siegrist signed

Get Hallberg off free-kicks

Doidge needs to learn the dink

Don’t know how Gogic stayed on the park

Thanks for posting

SingaporeHibs
19-12-2020, 05:56 PM
Feel more gutted after that than normally after a draw. The positives for me start with the midfield continuing to perform better with Hallberg along side Newell. From a team struggling to make too many chances, in fact struggling to build enough attacks in games we have at last started to play on the front foot and attack teams. We’ve just had a couple of great league results with goals and today we created loads of chances again to win the game comfortably. Boyle getting back to better form as well. The negatives of today were really confined to missing the chances we had. Yes, their keeper had a blinder but really we should of scored at least a couple more from the chances we had. Doidge probably most wasteful, particularly the one on one.
Gogic looked poor when he came on. I know his qualities, they are confined to being a stopper but is it too much to expect him to pass a ball. Today be wasn’t up to speed enough to perform is blocking qualities.
Overall, gutted but I do think we have seen a vast improvement overall in the last few weeks. Hopefully this is just a small blip which for today will put down to a keeper having an unbelievable match.

Highwayman
19-12-2020, 06:20 PM

Mainly agree with the assessment.But oh how I miss the experts around about me at Easter Road who used to mump and moan and berate Hibs for not signing Lawrence Shankland.As I used to tell them Be Careful What You Wish For.Young Nisbet not firing on all cylinders is still far superior.

davemcbain
19-12-2020, 07:24 PM
As ever, great report, I wonder though if after the substitutions Hibs were more on the defensive? Maybe too negative to defend a 1-0 lead and play on the break.

19-12-2020, 07:56 PM
Watched Newell for long spells. Conclusion is he is one of these frustrating pointers who rarely puts the effort in to get into space to receive a pass, just points to others. Gliding is too polite. The reason I started following him was the number of passes he made which either went astray or forced the recipient to have to take some remedial action to get the ball under control. Definitely has his plus points but today I'd say these were outweighed by the negatives.
Last ten mins how many times did we just hoof the ball away and give possession back to them? Useless at seeing the game out.

19-12-2020, 09:18 PM
Watched Newell for long spells. Conclusion is he is one of these frustrating pointers who rarely puts the effort in to get into space to receive a pass, just points to others. Gliding is too polite. The reason I started following him was the number of passes he made which either went astray or forced the recipient to have to take some remedial action to get the ball under control. Definitely has his plus points but today I'd say these were outweighed by the negatives.
Last ten mins how many times did we just hoof the ball away and give possession back to them? Useless at seeing the game out.Are you confusing Newell with Hallberg?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

19-12-2020, 10:21 PM
Still raging, as is my partner who got a fright as the headphones I had been using to listen to the Hibs TV commentary were thrown across the living room accompanied by every expletive I know as United scored their inevitable equaliser :greengrin

Rocky .... 6 .... Absolutely nothing to do, but his usually competent distribution was poor at times and why the hell he headed a ball he could have caught easily only he will know.

McGinn ... 7 .... Got up and down his wing well and defended what he had to well ... not blaming him for the goal.

Porteous ... 7 ... Never troubled and played some decent passes.

Hanlon .... 7 ... Same as Porteous, hardly troubled.

Stevenson ... 7 ... Made some super challenges.

Newell .... 8 .... Best player on the park, apart from one dodgy looking moment played very well.

Magennis ... 6 .... Scored .... I'm willing to accept he needs time to get up to speed in terms of game time, coz apart from the goal I hardly noticed him.

Hallberg ... 5 .... Sorry, but I dont agree with the OP. His free kick was poor, his passing bordered on the sloppy too many times and his delivery from corners was poor too many times. I just can't see what he brings to this team that an honest hard working journeyman midfielder from any team in this league couldn't do as well or better.

Boyle ... 7 .... Mostly for his involvement, from all his possession I thought he could have caused far more damage than he did, he got one on one a number of times and failed to beat his man, yes he got fouled a number of times, but 3 years ago the defender would have been a yard behind him before he could get in a challenge, not in a position to run with him as was the case today. OK possibly over critical, but my view watching the game was he could have been more effective than he was.

Nisbet .. 5 .. Missed a decent chance, that aside very quiet.

Doidge .. 5 ... Worked hard enough, but in the words of Billy Connolly ... couldnae hit a coo's erse wi a banjo.

SUBS:

Wright ... 3 ... No impact whatsoever.

Gogic ... 3 ... Played one decent ball and then tried to get himself sent off.

Jack Ross ... You can't blame a manager whose game plan works perfectly but whose forwards fail him. Perhaps he might have hooked the tiring Nesbit and found a way to stifle our lack of composure on the ball in the last 10 minutes, that aside this was a team failure, not a managerial one.

The guy who was commentating on Hibs TV. Nobody, but nobody in Scottish football refers to Dundee United as 'Dundee' ... ever !!!

19-12-2020, 10:30 PM
Still raging, as is my partner who got a fright as the headphones I had been using to listen to the Hibs TV commentary were thrown across the living room accompanied by every expletive I know as United scored their inevitable equaliser :greengrin

Rocky .... 6 .... Absolutely nothing to do, but his usually competent distribution was poor at times and why the hell he headed a ball he could have caught easily only he will know.

McGinn ... 7 .... Got up and down his wing well and defended what he had to well ... not blaming him for the goal.

Porteous ... 7 ... Never troubled and played some decent passes.

Hanlon .... 7 ... Same as Porteous, hardly troubled.

Stevenson ... 7 ... Made some super challenges.

Newell .... 8 .... Best player on the park, apart from one dodgy looking moment played very well.

Magennis ... 6 .... Scored .... I'm willing to accept he needs time to get up to speed in terms of game time, coz apart from the goal I hardly noticed him.

Hallberg ... 5 .... Sorry, but I dont agree with the OP. His free kick was poor, his passing bordered on the sloppy too many times and his delivery from corners was poor too many times. I just can't see what he brings to this team that an honest hard working journeyman midfielder from any team in this league couldn't do as well or better.

Boyle ... 7 .... Mostly for his involvement, from all his possession I thought he could have caused far more damage than he did, he got one on one a number of times and failed to beat his man, yes he got fouled a number of times, but 3 years ago the defender would have been a yard behind him before he could get in a challenge, not in a position to run with him as was the case today. OK possibly over critical, but my view watching the game was he could have been more effective than he was.

Nisbet .. 5 .. Missed a decent chance, that aside very quiet.

Doidge .. 5 ... Worked hard enough, but in the words of Billy Connolly ... couldnae hit a coo's erse wi a banjo.

SUBS:

Wright ... 3 ... No impact whatsoever.

Gogic ... 3 ... Played one decent ball and then tried to get himself sent off.

Jack Ross ... You can't blame a manager whose game plan works perfectly but whose forwards fail him. Perhaps he might have hooked the tiring Nesbit and found a way to stifle our lack of composure on the ball in the last 10 minutes, that aside this was a team failure, not a managerial one.

The guy who was commentating on Hibs TV. Nobody, but nobody in Scottish football refers to Dundee United as 'Dundee' ... ever !!!
:xwave

Been done to death elsewhere but “ Rocky....his usually competent distribution “ ?

HibbyDave
20-12-2020, 08:24 AM
Good report Jonnyboy.

I still think Porteous can’t pass a ball. Hopefully he will spend time on that aspect of his game.

20-12-2020, 12:56 PM
Thanks John. I'm afraid that having slightly revised my opinion of Hallberg after the Well/Hamilton games I'm back to wondering what he brings to the team. I think his contribution can be summed up by his deadball efforts. His 1st 2 corners were excellent & Doidge almost scored. His free kick was woeful & his corners got progressively worse. In the 1st half he went forward on a few occasions & tried a couple of through balls. In the 2nd he retreated into his shell, started passing sideways & backwards & not showing for the ball. At one stage he was 10 yards from McGinn who was in possession & he turned his back on him. Not every player can be a star but i can forgive every player who gives 100%. For me that's not Hallberg.

Highwayman
20-12-2020, 02:09 PM
:xwave

Been done to death elsewhere but “ Rocky....his usually competent distribution “ ?

Enjoy (or in your case not) Marciano while you can.His contract is up at the end of the season and I would be surprised if he signed another one.He is 31 years old and would probably be looking for.a big final pay deal.I agree his distribution can be a bit ropey but consider that the positives override the negatives this season.For example for the first time for a long time the goalkeeper and defence don’t look like they’ve just met each other that morning.Also they have a decent comparison with league games played to goals conceded with teams around them thus:-

Hibs played 18 conceded 17
Aberdeen played 16 concede 17
Celtic played 15 conceded 14
If you don’t rate Marciano who would you replace him with in the January transfer window.

20-12-2020, 02:12 PM
Enjoy (or in your case not) Marciano while you can.His contract is up at the end of the season and I would be surprised if he signed another one.He is 31 years old and would probably be looking for.a big final pay deal.I agree his distribution can be a bit ropey but consider that the positives override the negatives this season.For example for the first time for a long time the goalkeeper and defence don’t look like they’ve just met each other that morning.Also they have a decent comparison with league games played to goals conceded with teams around them thus:-

If you don’t rate Marciano who would you replace him with in the January transfer window.
Siegrist

20-12-2020, 02:18 PM

Yup. Well do well to come close to replacing rocky when he moves on.

20-12-2020, 03:07 PM
Siegrist

not a chance you swap Marciano for him

20-12-2020, 03:10 PM
Siegrist

Did you think that before yesterday?

20-12-2020, 03:10 PM
not a chance you swap Marciano for him

Rated as top drawer by Mickey Mellon by all accounts

20-12-2020, 03:11 PM
Did you think that before yesterday?

Naw

The OP asked me for a name so there you go 😃

20-12-2020, 03:31 PM
Rated as top drawer by Mickey Mellon by all accounts

Well he isn't going to say his own players are rubbish is he, Marciano is one of the best keepers in the country, kicking is sometimes poor and he may often have a rush of blood to the head but we will struggle to find better on the money we can pay

20-12-2020, 03:37 PM
Siegrist

Hot take. Marciano makes saves like his yesterday for breakfast.

20-12-2020, 03:45 PM
If you guys are happy with Rocky fair enough

My post was in response to a poster who had said his distribution is usually reliable/dependable which it ain’t

There is a whole thread on it

Don’t come crying to me when he makes his next error

It is all about opinions and he gives me the fear