View Full Version : Match Updates Alloa 1 - 2 Hibs (Doidge x2)

Pages : [1] 2 3

15-12-2020, 05:52 PM
Starting XI: Marciano, P. McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon ©, Stevenson, Wright, Hallberg, Newell, Boyle, Gullan, Doidge.

Substitutes: Barnes, Gray, McGregor, Doig, S. McGinn, Magennis, Mallan, Bradley.

15-12-2020, 05:54 PM
Big opportunity for Gullan. Hopefully he continues as he has when coming off the bench recently

15-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Come on Hibs, let's win today and make it seven games undefeated.

Mikey_1875
15-12-2020, 05:56 PM
More than capable of doing the job. Nisbet rested or a knock?

murray26
15-12-2020, 05:57 PM
Strong team let’s get the job done.

15-12-2020, 06:01 PM

Would have thought if he was just rested he'd be on the bench.

15-12-2020, 06:04 PM

Definitely had an ice pack when he was subbed at the weekend, probably best to give him recovery time.

15-12-2020, 06:08 PM
Hopefully nothing too serious for Kevin.

15-12-2020, 06:09 PM
Hopefully we put the game to bed early so can get Magennis and Bradley on. Although I’ll not see the game tonight, think I’ve also still to see Magennis play. Did he come on in the semi final? 🤔

15-12-2020, 06:20 PM
Hopefully we put the game to bed early so can get Magennis and Bradley on. Although I’ll not see the game tonight, think I’ve also still to see Magennis play. Did he come on in the semi final? 🤔

Unsure if you’re being sarcastic and this is a whoosh moment from me but aye he started the semi final.

Bad miss in the first half anaw

15-12-2020, 06:23 PM
Right enough, have expunged the semi final from memory. Haven’t seen any of our PPV non season ticket games so thought I hadn’t yet seen him in a Hibs shirt. Becoming senile.

mikewynne
15-12-2020, 06:28 PM
Hopefully nothing too serious for Kevin.

Hibs confirmed on Twitter that it’s only a “slight muscle injury”.

Cat Stanton
15-12-2020, 06:36 PM
Is Gogic still injured then?

15-12-2020, 06:37 PM
Just said that Nisbet is out with a knock

15-12-2020, 06:41 PM
Full team, should be more than enough.

15-12-2020, 06:42 PM
Right enough, have expunged the semi final from memory. Haven’t seen any of our PPV non season ticket games so thought I hadn’t yet seen him in a Hibs shirt. Becoming senile. He came on on Saturday and was involved in a few decent moments

15-12-2020, 06:47 PM
Thought we had signed a new player but it was just Jamie Gullan after shaving off the Wolverine look

KdyHby
15-12-2020, 06:48 PM
Has anyone found a live radio link?

15-12-2020, 06:48 PM

Dunfermline v St Johnstone is on bbc radio.

15-12-2020, 06:49 PM
Good strong team to get the win and delighted to see Gullan getting his start lets hope he makes the most of it.

15-12-2020, 06:50 PM

It’s audio for U.K. residents on Hibs TV

15-12-2020, 06:55 PM
Could be a tricky cup tie if we are not up to pace from the word go ... good to see Gullan getting a start, hope he has a good game ...

KdyHby
15-12-2020, 06:57 PM
It’s audio for U.K. residents on Hibs TV

Thanks BW

15-12-2020, 06:58 PM
Could be a tricky cup tie if we are not up to pace from the word go ... good to see Gullan getting a start, hope he has a good game ...
I fancy a very comfortable win myself but glad to see Jamie getting a start too

15-12-2020, 06:58 PM
This petty squabbling between Chris Sutton, Michael Stewart and Darrell whathisface is getting pretty tiresome.

15-12-2020, 07:00 PM
Thanks BW

It’s on now

15-12-2020, 07:01 PM
How many times are they going to mention the semi while showing the game on every advert?

15-12-2020, 07:02 PM
Did anyone just see the positional lineup on Premier Sports. Players all over the shop

15-12-2020, 07:03 PM
Right Hibs fast tempo from the start and get this finished as early as possible.

Is the Alloa tannoy someones bluetooth speaker

KdyHby
From a Hibee living in Alloa: Thankfully the monsoon rain has stopped, better for The Hibees you would think. I seen one guy climb on top of the KFC roof across from the main stand 🤣

15-12-2020, 07:05 PM
Did anyone just see the positional lineup on Premier Sports. Players all over the shop

Three at the back Doidge is midfield.

Fritz
15-12-2020, 07:06 PM
Folk asking what Gullan needs to do to get a start: according to Premier Sports it’s play at centre half!!!

15-12-2020, 07:07 PM
Folk asking what Gullan needs to do to get a start: according to Premier Sports it’s play at centre half!!!

I’m sure he will strike a decent partnership up with Hallberg.

15-12-2020, 07:07 PM
Three at the back Doidge is midfield.

I was more concerned at Gullan centre half and Hallberg as centre forward.

15-12-2020, 07:10 PM
Prefer Doidge with a beard to be honest

15-12-2020, 07:11 PM
no messing about fron the start :)

15-12-2020, 07:12 PM
Great ball in from Melker but no takers

15-12-2020, 07:12 PM
Prefer Doidge with a beard to be honest

15-12-2020, 07:18 PM
I much prefer watching us with two strikers up top.

15-12-2020, 07:18 PM
You’re hoping a Hibs commentator knows we played Dundee Utd in the Scottish semi, not Dundee.

15-12-2020, 07:19 PM
What’s with the non-social distancing in the stand?

Magpie
Bit sloppy from Stevenson there

We are letting Alloa into this. Need to retain the ball again.

WTF Lewis ?

15-12-2020, 07:20 PM
German commentary is something else lol very sloppy from Stevenson

15-12-2020, 07:20 PM
A wee lack of energy in midfield right now. Need to keep busy and keep retention.

15-12-2020, 07:21 PM
Come on Hibs. This lot have been working all day

EI255
You’re hoping a Hibs commentator knows we played Dundee Utd in the Scottish semi, not Dundee.Dundee United were twice referred to as being Dundee by Sky Sports on Sunday.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Think we need to be making things happen, a bit like a tippy tappy training game for my liking. Let’s put some pressure on them.

15-12-2020, 07:22 PM
Our midfield looks like its sleeping, to easy to play through the middle at the moment!!!

skyhibs
15-12-2020, 07:27 PM
Not great so far

15-12-2020, 07:28 PM
Good effort from gullan

Good attempt by Gullan

Not got a great feeling about this

Very poor so far.

15-12-2020, 07:29 PM
Think we need to be making things happen, a bit like a tippy tappy training game for my liking. Let’s put some pressure on them.

Sadly, I agree with this.

berwickhibee
Too slow in our build up on a slow pitch

Newell having a bit of a mare

15-12-2020, 07:30 PM
Newell and Wright need to get more involved

berwickhibee
15-12-2020, 07:31 PM
Wright meant to be a striker and close to doidge🙄. Why is Gullan not up top.

15-12-2020, 07:31 PM
My view on this game is exactly the same as it was for the Hearts semi. The performance is irrelevant, it's the result that matters.

If we are absolutely gash but win 1-0 then I'm happy.

15-12-2020, 07:32 PM
Need our crosses coming in quicker, we're giving them time to setup at the back???

15-12-2020, 07:33 PM
Gullan goes down and that's a penalty and a red card.

UtTeR pIsH sack the board manager and players

My view on this game is exactly the same as it was for the Hearts semi. The performance is irrelevant, it's the result that matters.

If we are absolutely gash but win 1-0 then I'm happy.

Yeah, tough place to go for any team. Patience needed unfortunately.

Magpie
15-12-2020, 07:34 PM
Some pass by Porteous

How on earth is that not a penalty

Gullan goes down and that's a penalty and a red card.

How is that not a penalty

15-12-2020, 07:35 PM
We were moving the ball about much quicker in the first 15 minutes or so, now we are slower with movement and passing.

Yeah, tough place to go for any team. Patience needed unfortunately.

I agree.

Patience was always going to be key with this one.

This was never going to be an easy game, although if we do the right things and remain patient then we should win it.

Why do our strikers always seem to try and take it round the goalie, Doidge on Saturday, Gullan today, just stick it away

Pish

15-12-2020, 07:36 PM
I'm not sure Drey Wright looks all that comfortable in his current position.

Ffs

Utterly disgusting defending. Porteous and Hanlon

This pitch is one of the worst plastic ones imo Was never going to be silky football tonight
But how players apply themselves will be crucial

Magpie
****ing wow

1-0 Alloa

Ooft.

Utterly disgusting

lol

Jeezo. Alloa 1 up

We just have to watch that we don’t fall for a sucker punch, here. ... just as I wrote this ,!!!!,

**** sake

15-12-2020, 07:37 PM
Sh*t hits the fan!!!!!

Ehhhh this wasn't in the script.

lol

Bit of a shambles that.

Hibs are back

Utter pish

PH91
Gullan should go down but he shouldn't have to. If you get your heels clipped in the middle of the park and lose control of the ball a freekick gets given. That should be no different. Ridiculous.

What a crap goal to lose. Going to be even harder to break them down now.

EI255
Diddy cup

Awful goal for them. Time to step it up

Shocking defending

Oops!

Going to be difficult now

the keystone cops

15-12-2020, 07:38 PM
Far too passive so far

Bit of a shambles that.

A fair bit of luck there for them.

HendoDelivered

Ffs not what we needed Nisbet all round play will be badly missed in a game like this

That's what I get for ripping a Hearts supporting acquaintance the other week.

Hibs are back

It’s crap but that’s the sort of thing a non Hibs fan comes up with.

Mind we’ve got super jacks half time team talk to come. Easy.

vercol36
15-12-2020, 07:39 PM
Crivvens

We'll still win.

Ffs hibs!

Alloa going for the jugular here 😂

nickwhibs
Absolutely awful. Treating it like a training game

Hibs are back

So are certain posters

Magpie
Magennis on half time

thebausburst
Hibs need to seriously step up the pace, everyone walking about!

Ah, Hibs.

TBH that’s what you get for treating them like a training exercise, the manager stressing we wouldn’t do it but we’ve been passing the ball about the back 4 like we’re Brazil and not taking responsibility and putting proper pressure on the part timers. Hopefully kick us into action.

So are certain posters

Surely that isn't aimed at me?

[emoji23] dear o dear.

Loads of sideways passing and little or no service for Doidge so far.

Newell, Wright and Hallberg really need to get to grips in the middle and drive us forward.

We need to up the tempo a bit!

Magpie
15-12-2020, 07:40 PM
Absolutely awful. Treating it like a training game

Long ball after long ball

How’s our amazing midfield getting on?[emoji849]

A fair bit of luck there for them.

Yup :agree:

Bit of a comedy goal but plenty of time, confident we’ll turn this around in 90 minutes

Surely that isn't aimed at me?

No

Need a goal before half time. We are far too pedestrian and they will sit in now.

That's what I get for ripping a Hearts supporting acquaintance the other week.

One for the oldies here -----------

Ha! You were lucky (in a Yorkshire accent), I predicted 4-0 to us.:rolleyes:

Walking about like it's a training game. It's a cup quarter final. It's a big game and we haven't showed up AGAIN.

15-12-2020, 07:41 PM
Time for calm heads.

Dismantle Motherwell away 3-0 4-4-2, hammer Hamilton away 4-0 4-4-2, Alloa away in the cup, let’s go one striker up top.

Berwickhibby
Been pretty dire

that'll be a few HT/FT coupons bust....:rolleyes:

I'm relying on this place for my updates and I have to say you've been rubbish so far.

[emoji23] dear o dear.

Loads of sideways passing and little or no service for Doidge so far.

Newell, Wright and Hallberg really need to get to grips in the middle and drive us forward.

We need to up the tempo a bit!

Night and day from the hamilton game
Ross needs to get stuck into them at half time and get a response

15-12-2020, 07:42 PM
Walking about like it's a training game. It's a cup quarter final. It's a big game and we haven't showed up AGAIN.

Nisbet massive miss but we should still have enough you'd have thought.

Magpie
I still think we will win but it’s not great to watch.

berwickhibee
That's what happens when you play 1 striker.

It’s a really ***** goal to concede but we haven’t played well enough here. Ross needs to get them telt at HT (again).

Next goal the winner

15-12-2020, 07:43 PM
Not going to be our night i can sense.......

15-12-2020, 07:43 PM
How’s our amazing midfield getting on?[emoji849]

Not quite as culpable as the defence for the goal or Gullan who has put every cross out the park so far. He also should have scored or gone down.

EI255
15-12-2020, 07:44 PM
That's what happens when you play 1 striker.And against a team third bottom of the league below us is CRIMINAL

Thought we were totally in control, crap goal to lose and now we have to really force the issue. Alloa have something to hold on to now though, going to be a tough 50 minutes or so.

And against a team third bottom of the league below us is CRIMINAL

lol

skyehibee
Joe Newell planning to turn up tonight?

And against a team third bottom of the league below us is CRIMINAL

Not if we win the game.

Get Wright off at half time. Hopeless.

Thought we were totally in control, crap goal to lose and now we have to really force the issue. Alloa have something to hold on to now though, going to be a tough 50 minutes or so.

Yep, pretty much.

Green-Hibee-7
15-12-2020, 07:45 PM
Get Drey Wright off at half time. Horrific.

Why are we not playing like we did via hamilton pressing them back and passing through the middle Whyvtevert to long balls

EI255
Peter Grant for Celtic? [emoji1787]

Exactly what I was going to post. Utterly dreadful.

Boyle booked.

Can someone throw Wright in the bin please?

Magpie
Drey Wright have a day off mate

FWIW I don’t think we’ve played badly. Unfortunate goal to lose but a bit more composure in the final third and we’d be looking good.

Wright is not having a good game to say the least.

That must be Wright off at half time. Woeful.

You have to take your chances and again a bit toothless up front, so far Wright, Doidge and Boyle pretty poor, these are the games that annoy me as a Hibs fan, played so well on saturday and within a few days it's back to pi sh. Not saying we should walk these games but come on we should be dominating them at least.

Not quite as culpable as the defence for the goal or Gullan who has put every cross out the park so far. He also should have scored or gone down.

Yup. He isn't exactly grabbing his chance unfortunately

Drey Wright is yet again contributing little.

Jesus Christ, that is awful Wright.

15-12-2020, 07:46 PM
Night and day from the hamilton game
Ross needs to get stuck into them at half time and get a response

Indeed Ronnie. Same team bar one change played very very well against Accies yet struggling against part time Alloa.

Hard to tell who the top flight team is at the moment.

I think it’s more disappointing that the players are playing in this manner after some very good performances. Still time though!

SJNB Hibby
Wright is dreadful so far... not that anybodys been much good

He's not great.

FWIW I don’t think we’ve played badly. Unfortunate goal to lose but a bit more composure in the final third and we’d be looking good.

Too slow and too many ***** crosses in the box against a part time mob is playing badly mate.

Drey Wright. Another enigmatic player.

Wright needs subbed

15-12-2020, 07:47 PM
We've missed three clear cut chances through Hanlon and Gullan through on the goalie.
Alloa have essentially been in our penalty box once and scored.

Not feeling all that concerned, but I do hope we come out moving the ball quicker.
Having to force it could suit us - though that sounds a bit Butcheresque :greengrin

Our midfield is embarrassing.

Yup. Needed to work their keeper more but good crisp passing and movement. Lost our way since their goal. Need to get back to what we were doing but with more of an end product.

RossScott1991
Oooft right bad half that!!!

Need a rocket up them and a couple of tweaks to team

Half time, awful.

Drey Wright. Another enigmatic player.He wouldn't even get in the Alloa side. Or the Cove side for that matter.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

15-12-2020, 07:48 PM
Drey Wright is yet again contributing little.

Was decent via hamilton apart from shooting Shoukd if given him confidence coming into tonight’s game
Am losing patience with him given he was a priority signing

Right time to dig out the hairdryer Jackie boy. Huge 45 minutes ahead.

fgs boyle pass to own player

same goes for newell

I can hear the Jambos sing,,, whoa, whoa,,,,,,,

15-12-2020, 07:49 PM
Well that was pretty *****. Really need to up our game to get back into this, right now our defence looks more at threat than theirs.

HT.

Well massive 45 coming up. 1 up top against Alloa is poor, unless Gullan is supposed to be up there.

Need to get the tempo going and crest some chances

Well that was pretty dire that half. Surely not another big game we chuck under JR?

Loads of passes without going anywhere. Only really had one thing to defend and defended it really poorly.

Not very good.

Scottish football does not need Alloa Athletic in a national cup competition semi final. This is absolutely dire.

Our midfield is embarrassing.

A bit of an obsession just now. There’s another 9 players and many have been much worse than our 2 centre midfield players tonight.

15-12-2020, 07:50 PM

Gullan has had our only decent attempt.

Very very important 45 minutes coming up. We've been brilliant in the last couple of games but it'll be huge disappointment if we can't get through this tie.

Our bench isn’t exactly brimming with attacking options here. Wright isn’t very good and Gullan hasn’t been at it either.

Strange half - I thought we looked really good and no doubt we would score a few but it all fizzled out fairly quickly

In saying that they haven't really threatened at all and git very lucky with there goal but they have a lead to hold onto now

As soon as we up the pace we look far too good for them but we dropped off after about 25 mins

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Not a lot of options on bench either which is worrying

He wouldn't even get in the Alloa side. Or the Cove side for that matter.

What is it with some players that seem to have a bit about them that disappears when the cross the line with a green and white shirt on?

15-12-2020, 07:51 PM
Too slow and too many ***** crosses in the box against a part time mob is playing badly mate.

Yep, we have one biggish striker, Boyle is 5'8", Gullan about 5'9" and we hit high crosses in, get the ball of the friggin deck.

Ross has to have a right go at them again at HT but TBH he shouldn't and that's the problem with this team, one good result and they sit back on their laurels.

If that three in midfield got the plaudits on Saturday, they can take the stick they deserve tonight for that first half abomination. *****, each and every one of them.🐌🐌🐌

berwickhibee
Horrendous display, total lack of professionalism.
One up top is a nonsense. Doidge isolated.
We never do it the easy way. 😡

AdidasHibernian
Hate using scapegoats and criticizing the players but Wright is not good enough. He offers nothing.
I would get Magennis on at HT, least he will drive at the Alloa defence and maybe try up the tempo.

They have done nothing yet lead, only against Hibs woukd this be a regular occurance.

Fingers crossed we can get job done second half.

Scottish football does not need Alloa Athletic in a national cup competition semi final. This is absolutely dire.

You sound like Celtc with their sense of entitlement - if Alloa win the games, they deserve to be there

A lack of desire in that half. Too many players needing to up their attitude and their game.

Maybe nice to have a bit of faith in this Hibs side that has consistently won games we would expect to win. Football is a 99 minute game, no point losing the rag about the half time score.

Midfield struggling against a team getting stuck in. Add in us missing our chances and them getting a break and it’s squeaky bum time. I’ve not watched the last two league games but anytime I’ve seen Wright he’s looked poor. Mind you Newell and Hallberg aren’t far behind tonight.

15-12-2020, 07:52 PM
Every time scoggal’s (spelling) ran towards Stevenson with the ball he’s went past him like he’s not there

We desperately need another striker brought in in January. Gullan isn't the answer if Nisbet is out

Get what your saying, but in recent times lower divisions have done will to get to semi's and finals!!!!

Hate using scapegoats and criticizing the players but Wright is not good enough. He offers nothing.
I would get Magennis on at HT, least he will drive at the Allow defence and maybe try up the tempo.

They have done nothing yet lead, only against Hibs woukd this be a regular occurance.

Take your head out your arse before posting, eh?

We have played badly if you consider the opposition. Everything has been slow sideways passing in front of them, no penetration and all the crosses and forward play has been speculative lumps into the box. This is part time Alloa we’re playing, a reasonable performance maybe had it been Sevco we were playing, we’ve been terrible against Alloa.

Too many players going through the paces. Newell and Hallberg jogging about without any drive or dynamism.

Big 45 mins now...

Maybe nice to have a bit of faith in this Hibs side that has consistently won games we would expect to win. Football is a 99 minute game, no point losing the rag about the half time score.

It’s still poor though to go in 1-0 down at half time against Alloa no? Do we just brush it off like it’s not happened?

15-12-2020, 07:53 PM
Yep, we have one biggish striker, Boyle is 5'8", Gullan about 5'9" and we hit high crosses in, get the ball of the friggin deck.

Ross has to have a right go at them again at HT but TBH he shouldn't and that's the problem with this team, one good result and they sit back on their laurels.

Was the one good result the Motherwell one or the Hamilton one?

AdidasHibernian
We desperately need another striker brought in in January. Gullan isn't the answer if Nisbet is out

Been far more affective than Dodige has tonight.

If he had a goal for every offside he gets he would be the most prolific striker in world football.

Hes had our only shot on target and the only one whos got in behind them. Maybe the experienced Doidge should be stepping up more because hes done zero so far.

Wonder if Bradley will get a shot during such a vital second half.

Strange half - I thought we looked really good and no doubt we would score a few but it all fizzled out fairly quickly

In saying that they haven't really threatened at all and git very lucky with there goal but they have a lead to hold onto now

As soon as we up the pace we look far too good for them but we dropped off after about 25 mins

Yes spot on.
Confident we can get back on top Alloa are only going to drop deeper and deeper here.

15-12-2020, 07:54 PM
Bradley or Mallan for Wright and push Gullan right up top?

A bit of an obsession just now. There’s another 9 players and many have been much worse than our 2 centre midfield players tonight.

You're right. They are all ***** 🙄

Every time scoggal’s (spelling) ran towards Stevenson with the ball he’s went past him like he’s not there

I can believe wee Stefans at this level tbh.

Stevenson needs to do much better closing down the cross for their goal. A real lack of energy in the middle of the park tonight when we should be dominating.

We are making it very difficult for ourselves - lots of possession, but no creativity and little punch up front - Alloa are a tidy outfit, but with more pace and better crossing / passing we should be creating more chances than we have - Ross will no doubt give them a "pep talk" ... expect better in the 2nd half, but they will be dangerous on the break - lot of work to do to move on ...

15-12-2020, 07:55 PM
Dominated the game, Hanlon has missed two good chances and Boyle was straight through on goal. They get into our box once and get a break of the ball and we are a goal down. Wright not having a great game but is getting to space. Porteous has given the ball away far too often. He defends well but his passing is crap. Lots having ago at Wright but Porteous must learn to pass the ball his distribution is awful. We are clearly missing the movement of Nisbet.

I would get Magennis on at HT, least he will drive at the Alloa defence and maybe try up the tempo.

Agree. Wright has been poor

Robbo6-2
We are the better side.
Still confident we will go thru

That 1st half was utter garbage from us.

If the 2nd half is anything like the display in the 1st then we're out this cup as well.

Oh, and can we swap their right winger that's ripping the pish out of us for Drey Wright

If that three in midfield got the plaudits on Saturday, they can take the stick they deserve tonight for that first half abomination. *****, each and every one of them.🐌🐌🐌

All happy to look neat and tidy on the ball. Not so fussed for running after anybody. Boy just wandered in between a couple of them for the goal.

Another centre-back, midfielder and a striker needed.

Absolutely 100% this.:flag:

JammyDoidger
Our left side is shockingly bad. Wright won't go past anyone, and stevenson isn't the answer in an attacking sense.

15-12-2020, 07:56 PM
doesn't matter if it was a penalty or not gullan should have hit that first time, not try and walk it in by rounding the keeper

Im not sure adding Mallan to an already pedestrian performance will do much. Magennis would be on for Wright for me.

Gullan is a wide player

anyone explain what Gullan was doing when he rounded the keeper?

MikeyS
Wonder if Bradley will get a shot during such a vital second half.

Dont think he is on the bench tonight mate.

Been far more affective than Dodige has tonight.

If he had a goal for every offside he gets he would be the most prolific striker in world football.

Doidge has had no service this evening and is up top in his own or so it looks anyway.

Gullan, as it stands hasn’t done anything to suggest a starting spot on a regular basis.

Tbh there are quite a few out there this evening that need to take a very long look at their first half performance.

Thankfully only HT and 45 minutes left to sort this.

15-12-2020, 07:57 PM
Dont think he is on the bench tonight mate.

He is

Absolutely 100% this.:flag:
Actually 99 mins is 110%???

I think this has been the night where Drey Wright has confirmed he’s well short of the level expected of a Hibs player.

Oh god, I've talked too much smack to the jambos mates to lose this...

15-12-2020, 07:58 PM
Was the one good result the Motherwell one or the Hamilton one?

Both, I meant one good result then the next game back to slow ponderous crap happens too often with this team we've seen it already this season we are just so inconsistent.

Dominated the game, Hanlon has missed two good chances and Boyle was straight through on goal. They get into our box once and get a break of the ball and we are a goal down. Wright not having a great game but is getting to space. Porteous has given the ball away far too often. He defends well but his passing is crap. Lots having ago at Wright but Porteous must learn to pass the ball his distribution is awful. We are clearly missing the movement of Nisbet.

best pass of the game so far

Stevenson needs to do much better closing down the cross for their goal. A real lack of energy in the middle of the park tonight when we should be dominating.

Aye that’s what I thought. It happened again not long after their goal. Has to make sure he’s not beaten so easily out wide

15-12-2020, 07:59 PM

A wild silly guess from me,,,,,,,,, maybe he was trying to score a goal.:greengrin

MikeyS
He is

Apologies Billy, I checked livescores and he is there. I'm positive he wasnt named on Premier sports pre match but that's not saying much. The line up the posted had Porteous left of a front 3 & about 5 others out of position! 🤦🏻*♂️

We’ve not dominated the game though, Alloa want us to have the ball and pass and pass and pass for ever more with no penetration, that’s their tactic, their tactic has them leading one nil. They are dominant in that respect.

15-12-2020, 08:01 PM
I can believe wee Stefans at this level tbh.

Me neither.

Very good player, and he's showing it tonight tbf.

Liam Dick as well must surely be worthy of a gig at a higher level.

Them and their manager. Grant is no mug and gets a team hard to beat, well-organised and up for a fight. I'm surprised he's not worthy of a chance at a bigger club.

At the end of the day they have their strengths but they have their weaknesses and should be beatable.

I'm just worried by how lethargic we've been and for all we can go through the cliches about them "making it hard for us", we've made far too many unforced errors.

His first touch wasn’t great but I think he thought about diving and thought better of it. Sutton talks *****. He didn’t have control to tap it in.

Still think we'll go through. Much the better side, missed a couple of good chances, lost one to a fluke. Not pretty but we will get through

PH91

I'd get magennis on for wright, he is surely desperate to get on and impress.

I'd also put doig on for stevenson, try and get more attacking threat on the pitch. Maybe even go 3 at the back and push gullan up top. He has looked our most dangerous player so far.

You sound like Celtc with their sense of entitlement - if Alloa win the games, they deserve to be there

Exactly. Ridiculous comment.

Both, I meant one good result then the next game back to slow ponderous crap happens too often with this team we've seen it already this season we are just so inconsistent.

Inconsistent yet 3rd top of the league.

We’ve not dominated the game though, Alloa want us to have the ball and pass and pass and pass for ever more with no penetration, that’s their tactic, their tactic has them leading one nil. They are dominant in that respect.

Yep. I actually thought Alloa moved it about well in possession. Moved it with a bit pace too.

We need to inject some of that into our passing in the 2nd half

Too many players going through the paces. Newell and Hallberg jogging about without any drive or dynamism.

Big 45 mins now...

They love a jog. Don’t think I’ve ever seen them sprint.[emoji23]

15-12-2020, 08:02 PM
He wouldn't even get in the Alloa side. Or the Cove side for that matter.

What is it with some players that seem to have a bit about them that disappears when the cross the line with a green and white shirt on?

I think this has been the night where Drey Wright has confirmed he’s well short of the level expected of a Hibs player.

I really, really want Wright to succeed at Hibs. I feel a bit sorry for him in that most people were every excited by the signing of Magennis and Nisbet and happy with Gogic whilst Wright was questioned almost from the start.

I was bumming him up for MOTM v Rangers earlier this season but I'm just not seeing it with him since then. Hopefully he makes me eat my words by turning in a performance in the 2md half.

Correct. Place is getting worse.

15-12-2020, 08:03 PM
Come on Hibs