View Full Version : Playstation 5
15-12-2020, 09:14 AM
Anyone got information regarding where one can be picked up at the RRP before Christmas? I got lucky and managed to get my hands on a cancellation at Argos. A lot of rumours about GAME, Amazon, Very and Curries releasing more imminently, but no confirmation.
Scalpers have a lot to answer for.
15-12-2020, 06:26 PM
I had a whole list of places I was keeping an eye on but eventually managed to get two (one for each adult son!) but all those places now say they are out of stock for the year - Asda, Smyth's, Tesco, Argos.
Game sometimes do bundles so you may get one that way
15-12-2020, 06:29 PM
This worked for me https://stockinformer.co.uk/checker-ps5-playstation-5-console
15-12-2020, 06:33 PM
Been looking for the xbox series x. Don’t think i’ll get that for a few months at least
15-12-2020, 09:13 PM
Been looking for the xbox series x. Don’t think i’ll get that for a few months at least
Same, hopefully Cyberpunk will be fixed by then :greengrin
15-12-2020, 09:36 PM
Was lucky enough to get one through the ASDA George website on the day of release, 19 November. Fifa 21 PS5 version is fantastic, would definitely recommend it. After I sold my PS4 Pro and UHD Blu Ray player it meant the overall cost of the PS5 wasn’t too bad at all.
16-12-2020, 10:31 AM
Was lucky enough to get one through the ASDA George website on the day of release, 19 November. Fifa 21 PS5 version is fantastic, would definitely recommend it. After I sold my PS4 Pro and UHD Blu Ray player it meant the overall cost of the PS5 wasn’t too bad at all.
Fifa is outstanding on the PS5. :agree:
The new camera angle makes it look like you’re watching on the tele.
patch1875
16-12-2020, 11:52 AM
I got 2 one of each.
Sold the digital one for £600
Bad I know.
16-12-2020, 01:37 PM
Fifa is outstanding on the PS5. :agree:
The new camera angle makes it look like you’re watching on the tele.
I found it impossible to play with the new angle. Preferred how it looks but I think I've playing FIFA so long I found it too weird to change!
Love the 2 second loading time to start a game as well.
16-12-2020, 01:39 PM
I found it impossible to play with the new angle. Preferred how it looks but I think I've playing FIFA so long I found it too weird to change!
Love the 2 second loading time to start a game as well.
I’m still getting used to it but I’m determined to stick with it as I think it makes the game look so much better
16-12-2020, 01:45 PM
I got 2 one of each.
Sold the digital one for £600
Bad I know.
Doesn’t really affect me as I’ve got one but, on the face of it, it makes you no better than the folk on eBay making a quick buck out of folks’ desperation. If I didn’t have one, I’d probably have even stronger feelings tbh.
patch1875
16-12-2020, 02:30 PM
Doesn’t really affect me as I’ve got one but, on the face of it, it makes you no better than the folk on eBay making a quick buck out of folks’ desperation. If I didn’t have one, I’d probably have even stronger feelings tbh.
Not making excuses but managed to get the digital one but knew I really wanted the disc version. My intention was only to get one but found out game was getting a drop.
makes it a bit cheaper for it to gather dust like my PS4 did :greengrin
16-12-2020, 06:25 PM
I got what I needed too through sheer persistence but I do have stronger feelings than you. People making profit on others like this are complete "come up next Tuesdays"
17-12-2020, 10:50 AM
Xbox Series S seems to be in stock at very.co.uk if anyone is looking for one
https://www.very.co.uk/gaming-dvd/xbox-series-x-s-consoles/e/b/124311.end
17-12-2020, 02:34 PM
Why do people have such strong feelings against folk who have managed to by a difficult to obtain commodity and sold it for more?
Whilst in an ideal world we’d all be able to get what we want, when we want it for the best possible price, it’s not the case a lot of the time.
Do people feel the same about someone who buys a rare/classic car and sells it for more than RRP? Or a watch? Or even a classic Hibs strip - the Frank Graham Adidas ones almost always hit triple figures.
17-12-2020, 02:43 PM
Why do people have such strong feelings against folk who have managed to by a difficult to obtain commodity and sold it for more?
Whilst in an ideal world we’d all be able to get what we want, when we want it for the best possible price, it’s not the case a lot of the time.
Do people feel the same about someone who buys a rare/classic car and sells it for more than RRP? Or a watch? Or even a classic Hibs strip - the Frank Graham Adidas ones almost always hit triple figures.
if you buy a classic car or watch at RRP it's very rare you will be able to sell it for about double the price weeks later
I have no feeling on it either way but doing it en masse seems bad patter
17-12-2020, 02:54 PM
I’m just not a fan of folk taking advantage of utter desperation. This isn’t anything like selling something second half at market rate. This is deliberately contributing to something in demand selling out so that you
17-12-2020, 02:58 PM
You’d have been on more sensible ground comparing it to ticket touts who hoover up tickets as soon as they go on sale to sell on at inflated prices.
It’s nothing like selling an old second-hand item, no longer on sale by the manufacturer.
17-12-2020, 03:02 PM
It it's perfectly reasonable to be annoyed. You've given the example of a Hibs strip but what about football tickets? I know it's not really an issue with Hibs but imagine you missed out on tickets to the 2016 final, only to find out thousands of them had been sold by scalpers to folk with no connection to the club.
Fwiw, I don't blame individuals doing it, but I have a problem when you hear about groups buying up thousands. Like football tickets there needs to be a system to stop it.
17-12-2020, 03:28 PM
The ire would be better directed at Sony and Microsoft...they deliberately engineer the situation where there is a shortage of units ahead of the holiday season.
Sony did exactly the same with the PS4.
As it is if someone is willing to pay a hefty premium to the RRP then on their head be it. Anyone cashing in on that ‘desperation’ for a games console is just playing the game that Sony manufactured.
17-12-2020, 04:29 PM
The ire would be better directed at Sony and Microsoft...they deliberately engineer the situation where there is a shortage of units ahead of the holiday season.
As it is if someone is willing to pay a hefty premium to the RRP then on their head be it. Anyone cashing in on that ‘desperation’ for a games console is just playing the game that Sony manufactured.
A leading newspaper here in Germany "Süddeutsche Zeitung" had an article about this Playstation "PS5" in today's issue - seems Sony had decided to sell the devices online only (here in Germany - because of the lockdown) and thousand of "regular" consumers/parents waited in vain because "persons unknown" had deployed BOTS to buy up every "PS5" they could, as quickly as they could - which they apparently succeeded in doing as was evidenced by the fact that the"PS5s" then appeared in secondary markets at much higher prices than originally asked for.
The BOTS were programmed to pretend that they were not one single person, but several persons with different emails and accounts for payment and they were located physically as close as possible to the department stores doing the online selling so they could even outdo the intense BOT competition! Seems the BOTS can place the product into the virtual shopping basket, proceed to the checkout and then buy it and apparently they even have a workaround to defeat the so-called Captchas designed to prevent this sort of thing from happening ... seems this has been going on for some time, not only with this PS5 Playstation
Maybe something similar happened in the UK?
17-12-2020, 04:59 PM
Surely it would be in Sony’s interest to meet demand rather than engineer a shortfall where it’s the scalpers (always thought that was an American word but seems more applicable than touts) that are making money from the shortfall? What do Sony gain by deliberately selling less than they could have on release?
17-12-2020, 05:08 PM
Surely it would be in Sony’s interest to meet demand rather than engineer a shortfall where it’s the scalpers (always thought that was an American word but seems more applicable than touts) that are making money from the shortfall? What do Sony gain by deliberately selling less than they could have on release?
Quite simply the hype that comes along with all the scrambling about for the rare stock....the coverage it gains them is phenomenal. Sure they miss out on the mark up but don’t forget they have already sold every single machine that is re-sold so they still get their dosh regardless.
Console sales are also a long term thing for them so they will be selling millions of these things for years to come.
Having had something like 8 years to plan and organise their new console I’m not for a second buying the fact that they didn’t want this to happen.
As I said it’s a perfect re-run of the PS4 release so clearly fits their release / marketing strategy perfectly.
17-12-2020, 05:10 PM
A leading newspaper here in Germany "Süddeutsche Zeitung" had an article about this Playstation "PS5" in today's issue - seems Sony had decided to sell the devices online only (here in Germany - because of the lockdown) and thousand of "regular" consumers/parents waited in vain because "persons unknown" had deployed BOTS to buy up every "PS5" they could, as quickly as they could - which they apparently succeeded in doing as was evidenced by the fact that the"PS5s" then appeared in secondary markets at much higher prices than originally asked for.
The BOTS were programmed to pretend that they were not one single person, but several persons with different emails and accounts for payment and they were located physically as close as possible to the department stores doing the online selling so they could even outdo the intense BOT competition! Seems the BOTS can place the product into the virtual shopping basket, proceed to the checkout and then buy it and apparently they even have a workaround to defeat the so-called Captchas designed to prevent this sort of thing from happening ... seems this has been going on for some time, not only with this PS5 Playstation
Maybe something similar happened in the UK?
I did read an article on how Game and others had deployed anti bot tactics on the PS5 release...can’t remember the numbers but the amount of blocks and denials their tech had enforced was enormous.
But of course that would only have been partially successful and as you say the online only launch probably played into the hands of these organised tech bots schemers perfectly.
18-12-2020, 12:13 PM
There's a basic question of decency here, and it's a shame that society is such that this sort of behaviour is seen as fair game or (in some cases) encouraged as a positive.
If you imagine you're standing in front of the person to queue at the shop for the item. You arrive a second or two before they do.
You both know the price of the item but only one of you wants it. You get the last one and then turn to the person and tell them you don't actually want it but they can have it if they are willing to pay a few hundred quid more than it should cost them.
There's nothing good about that situation, and it's a stain on society that folk would consider it acceptable behaviour.
It's exploitative, it takes advantage of people who are under an immense amount of pressure to get kids what they want for Christmas (again, because of the ****-show of a society we're in, the stress on both the parent and the child in these situations can be huge because every one who got one has it all over Instagram or Facebook etc).
How many more people that genuinely wanted one could have had one at RRP if it wasn't for greedy c**ts just cynically picking them up to rip folk off?
18-12-2020, 12:54 PM
My brother was lucky to get one from Amazon the day it was released; apparently they are scarce as hen's teeth.
I'm going to get pelters here, but does anyone else think grown men shouldn't be playing computer games, pretending to be soldiers and racing drivers? Read a book :greengrin:stirrer:
18-12-2020, 01:15 PM
My brother was lucky to get one from Amazon the day it was released; apparently they are scarce as hen's teeth.
I'm going to get pelters here, but does anyone else think grown men shouldn't be playing computer games, pretending to be soldiers and racing drivers? Read a book :greengrin:stirrer:
Much better to read about that fictional soldiers and racing drivers instead :greengrin
18-12-2020, 02:19 PM
I've grown out of it recently.
But people who grew up with it as a hobby, shouldn't feel embarrassed that they continue something they enjoy.
18-12-2020, 02:49 PM
But people who grew up with it as a hobby, shouldn't feel embarrassed that they continue something they enjoy.
Each to their own with it. I love playing on my Xbox, I've grown up (or not!) with video games from 'Pong' through C64 and Sega/Nintendo/Playstation and Xbox and it's the wee thing to me that grounds me if I'm getting stressed or overwhelmed a bit with life or work. I can switch off for a couple of hours, sometimes only needs 30 minutes and it's enough of an escape to help me cope with other things going on.
I get why some folk think they're silly, but IMHO, with a lot of the games now they're like interactive movies and folk don't feel too old for a film.
18-12-2020, 02:56 PM
Absolutely, it's harmless and good luck to them.
My brother was playing his new PS with my wee nephew when I went round the other night. It was some war game, and I must say the graphics were superb. He said "we're tank drivers and the battle is just about to start". I said "aye, and you're forty years old". :greengrin
Andy Bee
18-12-2020, 05:14 PM
I did read an article on how Game and others had deployed anti bot tactics on the PS5 release...can’t remember the numbers but the amount of blocks and denials their tech had enforced was enormous.
But of course that would only have been partially successful and as you say the online only launch probably played into the hands of these organised tech bots schemers perfectly.
There's actually sellers on Ebay who, on the face of it, are legitimately selling PS5s for around RRP. Upon opening the advert it clearly states they've no PS5s and it's a ploy to beat the BOTS. One seller I seen had sold 4 PS5s at £399 each with Buy it Now when it was clearly stated there was no PS5 for sale.
18-12-2020, 05:52 PM
There's actually sellers on Ebay who, on the face of it, are legitimately selling PS5s for around RRP. Upon opening the advert it clearly states they've no PS5s and it's a ploy to beat the BOTS. One seller I seen had sold 4 PS5s at £399 each with Buy it Now when it was clearly stated there was no PS5 for sale.
So what were they actually selling for £399?
Andy Bee
18-12-2020, 06:20 PM
So what were they actually selling for £399?
Absolutely nothing, the advert clearly stated it was a ploy to fool bots and under no circumstances to hit buy it now if you're expecting a PS5.
EI255
19-12-2020, 05:47 PM
I'm wanting a PS5 but I'm gonna wait. Ain't paying a penny more than what I need to. Tbh, I'm just wanting one for the new GTA due out in 2021.
Incidentally, take a look at PS5 on ebay and filter low to high price. Check out all the desperate folk after one. There's letters and notes scribbled by desperate folk with all sorts of excuses for their kids / no money etc.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
20-12-2020, 02:38 PM
one day the arse will fall out the market and all you'll have is a load of tullips...
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
20-12-2020, 04:05 PM
I got what I needed too through sheer persistence but I do have stronger feelings than you. People making profit on others like this are complete "come up next Tuesdays"
Is this not what shops do? Make profit?
It’s ****ty if you missed out, but the demand is massive. Was always going to drive the secondary market.
If Rhona wasn’t here and Sony supply chains were working then it’s likely there would have been loads.
20-12-2020, 04:06 PM
I'm wanting a PS5 but I'm gonna wait. Ain't paying a penny more than what I need to. Tbh, I'm just wanting one for the new GTA due out in 2021.
Incidentally, take a look at PS5 on ebay and filter low to high price. Check out all the desperate folk after one. There's letters and notes scribbled by desperate folk with all sorts of excuses for their kids / no money etc.
My 12 year old is desperate to play GTA. A firm no from me.
20-12-2020, 04:44 PM
It's just a pretty ****ty thing to do. Being greedy and exploiting people.
21-12-2020, 11:38 PM
My son eventually managed to get one from Smyths. He wanted it badly but said he would have done without rather than pay over the odds for it. I'm pleased that he would do without rather than be exploited. All it does is encourage exploiters to carry on with their course of ****ty conduct.
22-12-2020, 10:09 AM
The difference in that type of behaviour is buying more than you need, when there is a limited supply, purely with the intention of selling it on for a profit.
It’s just crap behaviour. Let someone else get a chance to get something at the intended price.
It’s really not the same as buying and selling used and collectible items.
22-12-2020, 10:36 AM
My son eventually managed to get one from Smyths. He wanted it badly but said he would have done without rather than pay over the odds for it. I'm pleased that he would do without rather than be exploited. All it does is encourage exploiters to carry on with their course of ****ty conduct.
I'm still hunting for one for my 16yo laddie.
Not paying over the odds for one on ebay etc as I think it is morally wrong what people are doing.
Looks like his main Christmas present will just be late.
22-12-2020, 10:56 AM
Not paying over the odds for one on ebay etc as I think it is morally wrong what people are doing.
It is possible if you keep looking but unlikely. I have no idea how but I managed to get the 2nd last of this years Xbox’s that smyths had online. He wanted the x but the s will still put a smile on his face because he thinks there’s no hope.
i honestly hate the scalping that’s been going on.
22-12-2020, 12:05 PM
I'm sure he will be fine with that Scoopy.
Early on, I made sure my kids knew the difference between needs and wants and always made sure they had what they needed. Took the pressure off me and gave them a good attitude about 'stuff'. I have never understood people who get themselves into debt to get their kids Christmas presents or who are prepared to be ripped off because they are so desperate. It sets a bad example and is the last thing as a kid that I would have wanted my parents to do. Fortunately, we are past that stage now :greengrin and he burnt his own £450 on the PS5. Has been working for almost a year and this was his first purchase for himself.
22-12-2020, 12:28 PM
I'm sure he will be fine with that Scoopy.
Early on, I made sure my kids knew the difference between needs and wants and always made sure they had what they needed. Took the pressure off me and gave them a good attitude about 'stuff'. I have never understood people who get themselves into debt to get their kids Christmas presents or who are prepared to be ripped off because they are so desperate. It sets a bad example and is the last thing as a kid that I would have wanted my parents to do. Fortunately, we are past that stage now :greengrin and he burnt his own £450 on the PS5. Has been working for almost a year and this was his first purchase for himself.
I think the thing that auld farts like me struggled to understand is that for this generation of kids, the Xbox and the PlayStation have become social tools, it’s how my boy interacts with his friends; since his Xbox broke he’s been visibly less cheerful and sociable. With another potential full lockdown on the horizon, the Xbox isn’t quite a ‘need’ , but not far off really. It’s definitely more than a ‘want’.
22-12-2020, 05:55 PM
I think the thing that auld farts like me struggled to understand is that for this generation of kids, the Xbox and the PlayStation have become social tools, it’s how my boy interacts with his friends; since his Xbox broke he’s been visibly less cheerful and sociable. With another potential full lockdown on the horizon, the Xbox isn’t quite a ‘need’ , but not far off really. It’s definitely more than a ‘want’.
I'm another decade down the track than you so a really auld fart on the digital front but I get that the way kids socialise with their pals has changed.
P.S. What is it with Xboxes breaking? None of our kids Playstations 1-3 (never had a 4) ever broke but there is a dead Xbox kicking about our house.
Also strange, my son bought the PS5 without any games then proceeded to buy cheap second hand PS4 games to play on it.
22-12-2020, 06:25 PM
I'm another decade down the track than you so a really auld fart on the digital front but I get that the way kids socialise with their pals has changed.
P.S. What is it with Xboxes breaking? None of our kids Playstations 1-3 (never had a 4) ever broke but there is a dead Xbox kicking about our house.
Also strange, my son bought the PS5 without any games then proceeded to buy cheap second hand PS4 games to play on it.
This particular one needs a new drive, been quoted £50, which I’m going to take up in January when the shop reopens and keep as a second console for dad use:greengrin It’s 5 years old and I believe this isn’t uncommon.
23-12-2020, 10:59 AM
This particular one needs a new drive, been quoted £50, which I’m going to take up in January when the shop reopens and keep as a second console for dad use:greengrin It’s 5 years old and I believe this isn’t uncommon.
Think our xbox is of the same vintage and has the same drive issue
23-12-2020, 11:22 AM
I've had Xboxes since the first gen one, and the only one that I had real trouble with was the Xbox 360 when it launched, think mine was replaced three times because of the red ring of death.
Still got a launch day Xbox One running fine, a 360 running fine, and the Series X hasn't had any issues so far (touch wood!)
We have been trying to get a PS5 for my son's Christmas, we've already set his expectations that it'll be in the New Year before he gets it. I won't pay over the odds for one, I wouldn't want to feed the beast.
Great point made about the consoles being a big social thing for the kids these days. My youngest daughter has pretty much survived lockdown through connecting on Xbox and Facetime with her pals, they get a group Facetime going and all join the same game, and they play for hours.
She'd have been really struggling without that.
I gave my son my Xbox One X when I got the Series X, and we got him Football Manager for it, for Christmas - he's already making plans with his pals for getting leagues going with it, and because of the way we've set the consoles up, I'll be able to play against him as well, which will be good (for him, not for me, I'll lose spectacularly).
23-12-2020, 01:11 PM
Sounds like an imperial cruiser taking off :greengrin
EI255
24-12-2020, 01:17 PM
My 12 year old is desperate to play GTA. A firm no from me.
JIt is an 18 cert for VERY good reason!
EI255
24-12-2020, 01:19 PM
Looks like his main Christmas present will just be late.I've actually saw 2 different 'dad committed suicide' notes on ebay from people desperate for one for Xmas. The things people will do. Unbelievable.
EI255
12-02-2021, 01:14 PM
Thought I'd bump this.
Anyone know of any firms offering pre orders on the horizon?
Andy Bee
12-02-2021, 01:35 PM
I've been trying for a while without success. Shopto were the latest retailer to have them earlier today but sold out within minutes and were being slightly fly by only selling them bundled with games and/or an extra controller at around £600.
Unless you're either willing to spend hours on end on the pc waiting on a drop or paying extortionate prices on Ebay or at CEX then you're probably still a few months before stock normalises.
12-02-2021, 01:44 PM
I've been trying for a while without success. Shopto were the latest retailer to have them earlier today but sold out within minutes and were being slightly fly by only selling them bundled with games and/or an extra controller at around £600.
Unless you're either willing to spend hours on end on the pc waiting on a drop or paying extortionate prices on Ebay or at CEX then you're probably still a few months before stock normalises.
Was in a queue twice for Game yesterday. Each time was sold out whilst I was in the queue. Fuming. Luckily I have one, but I'm trying to get my mate one who's working away just now and left me the money for it.
To be fair to CEX they're selling the digital edition one for the sale price of £360 and you get a year's warranty witb them. Obviously don't have any in stock though cause folk can get more selling privately.
Andy Bee
12-02-2021, 01:50 PM
Was in a queue twice for Game yesterday. Each time was sold out whilst I was in the queue. Fuming. Luckily I have one, but I'm trying to get my mate one who's working away just now and left me the money for it.
To be fair to CEX they're selling the digital edition one for the sale price of £360 and you get a year's warranty witb them. Obviously don't have any in stock though cause folk can get more selling privately.
I tried Game yesterday with the same result, there's obviously people with the resources to que jump, it's ****** annoying.
I didn't notice they were selling for £360, I could only find the disc version for something like £790 the last time I looked.
12-02-2021, 01:54 PM
I tried Game yesterday with the same result, there's obviously people with the resources to que jump, it's ****** annoying.
I didn't notice they were selling for £360, I could only find the disc version for something like £790 the last time I looked.
It's an absolute shambles everywhere! Smyths and Currys are expecting stock soon apparently so I'll keep trying. But it is tiring stuff.
Aye, think CEX were selling the digital edition for £500 odd at one point, but it's down to retail price of £360 now.
12-02-2021, 03:03 PM
It's an absolute shambles everywhere! Smyths and Currys are expecting stock soon apparently so I'll keep trying. But it is tiring stuff.
Aye, think CEX were selling the digital edition for £500 odd at one point, but it's down to retail price of £360 now.
It's a joke.
Giving up all hope of getting one for a while.
EI255
13-02-2021, 04:58 PM
Cheers guys.
Looks like I'll just have to wait like everyone else. I'm after the disc edition. Would have been good to have one now, but I ain't paying crazy prices. Happy to wait.
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 12:25 PM
Very has them right now !
17-02-2021, 01:13 PM
Very has them right now !
Did you get one?
I tried but nothing at all was coming up in Very.
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 01:18 PM
Did you get one?
I tried but nothing at all was coming up in Very.
Finally got one, I had read that Very may get stock and had some time so made myself a coffee and refreshed the Very page and there it was lol. I had to get a bundled package but it's with Spiderman and extra controller, my son will use them anyway.
Shopto have them now aswell.
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 01:56 PM
It's back in at Very now
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 01:57 PM
It's back in at Very now https://www.very.co.uk/playstation-5-disc-console-with-optional-extras/1600568976.prd?utm_campaign=other&awc=3090_1613573753_ea2c5c23b4575251910e11ddf8f322 5b&aff=awin&affsrc=38503&cm_mmc=awin-_-38503-_-Comparison+Engine-_-0_0&utm_source=awin&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_term=Stock%20Informer_38503&utm_content=na
17-02-2021, 02:23 PM
It's back in at Very now https://www.very.co.uk/playstation-5-disc-console-with-optional-extras/1600568976.prd?utm_campaign=other&awc=3090_1613573753_ea2c5c23b4575251910e11ddf8f322 5b&aff=awin&affsrc=38503&cm_mmc=awin-_-38503-_-Comparison+Engine-_-0_0&utm_source=awin&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_term=Stock%20Informer_38503&utm_content=na
says unavailable now . you were lucky getting in there before the scalpers scalped them all.
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 02:30 PM
says unavailable now . you were lucky getting in there before the scalpers scalped them all.
They're still appearing back in stock now and again. I managed to get another in my basket but I couldn't buy it as it's only 1 allowed. My guess is people who have bought before are being found out and there orders cancelled and re-allocated to stock.
EI255
17-02-2021, 03:57 PM
Been trying all day on VERY, then wash the car, and come back and miss the VERY drop. Couldn't make it up!
EI255
17-02-2021, 03:58 PM
They're still appearing back in stock now and again. I managed to get another in my basket but I couldn't buy it as it's only 1 allowed. My guess is people who have bought before are being found out and there orders cancelled and re-allocated to stock.It clearly says one order only. Anyone who tries to buy another won't get to. Nice touch.
patch1875
17-02-2021, 04:23 PM
I imagine they sold out in minutes
EI255
17-02-2021, 05:00 PM
Looks like some of the firms selling them have finally cottoned on to scalpers sitting up all hours to plunder them. I think / hope they are about to revise the way they sell them.
Will be joyous when all those scalpers on ebay are left with machines they'll only get rrp for. Prices ARE coming down on ebay, albeit slowly.
Andy Bee
17-02-2021, 06:26 PM
It clearly says one order only. Anyone who tries to buy another won't get to. Nice touch.
I chose not to buy the second because I didn't want to risk the first. The system allows you to buy more but Very then cancel your orders later and charge you £20 per console as an admin fee.
EI255
17-02-2021, 09:51 PM
Seems all quiet tonight on the drop front.
Tomorrow is a new day [emoji1696]
17-02-2021, 10:24 PM
Got one on Amazon yesterday & it arrived today.
Tried Game last week, got in the queue but they sold out within minutes.
EI255
18-02-2021, 07:06 AM
Tried Game last week, got in the queue but they sold out within minutes.Lucky lad. What time did you get one on Amazon?
18-02-2021, 07:45 AM
Lucky lad. What time did you get one on Amazon?
I think it was about 8.30am
Lendo
18-02-2021, 08:08 AM
I was sending the links for Very.com to a friend the second they were released but they were all gone within a minute.
18-02-2021, 08:30 AM
Are they really so much better than PS4?
Andy Bee
18-02-2021, 08:32 AM
John Lewis had the PS5 and Xbox at 5am this morning, I understand they have to release them early to stop their sites crashing at peak points of the day but what chance have people got at that time. Argos also show stock at 2am - 3am usually, there's a lot of tired wanna be gamers out there :greengrin
18-02-2021, 11:10 AM
John Lewis had the PS5 and Xbox at 5am this morning, I understand they have to release them early to stop their sites crashing at peak points of the day but what chance have people got at that time. Argos also show stock at 2am - 3am usually, there's a lot of tired wanna be gamers out there :greengrin
I chanced on the Argos one back before launch day, I think in September.
Nothing at midnight, logged in at 0700 the next day and secured one.
Luck more than anything. My lad was over the moon at my perseverance.
Kept him going right up until his birthday that we didn’t get one.
18-02-2021, 11:55 AM
When do people think they will actually be on shelves??
skyehibee
18-02-2021, 11:56 AM
Tried Game last week, got in the queue but they sold out within minutes.
I was lucky enough to get one of them from Game. Had been trying everywhere for weeks! Arrived yesterday.
18-02-2021, 12:00 PM
I was lucky enough to get one of them from Game. Had been trying everywhere for weeks! Arrived yesterday.
I don't have any games for it yet but I've played Astro's Playroom that comes pre-installed; the haptic controller is absolutely phenomenal.
18-02-2021, 12:02 PM
I’ll get round to buying one at some point but not in any great rush. I would like to see the new control pad which does sound like quite a big leap, but with all new consoles I think it normally takes a few years for the studios to start to make the most of the new hardware potential. There wasn’t any games out at release that stood out for me or that I’d have probably bought anyway so it’s more a nice to have than necessity for me at the moment.
18-02-2021, 12:32 PM
I'm not convinced by what I've seen so far. Treated myself to a decent gaming PC instead.
Plus its a pretty ugly bit of kit :greengrin
18-02-2021, 04:45 PM
I got one when they came out and I’ve hardly used it. I’ve been busy with other stuff so will get to it eventually but I mainly play fifa and it’s not massively different so haven’t been desperate to get on it.
EI255
18-02-2021, 08:11 PM
I got one when they came out and I’ve hardly used it. I’ve been busy with other stuff so will get to it eventually but I mainly play fifa and it’s not massively different so haven’t been desperate to get on it.I'll buy it from you now! [emoji16]
19-02-2021, 06:57 AM
I'll buy it from you now! [emoji16]
Haha I do plan on getting round to properly giving it a go.
When it comes to Fifa though I’ve found the differences aren’t much to write home about. Hopefully once I give other games a go I’ll notice more of a difference!
EI255
19-02-2021, 07:47 AM
Folk starting to sell PS5's on Amazon for £1250!
Amazing that Amazon allow this direct competition (and utter greed).
They'll never sell anyway at that price.
AugustaHibs
19-02-2021, 07:50 AM
Haha I do plan on getting round to properly giving it a go.
When it comes to Fifa though I’ve found the differences aren’t much to write home about. Hopefully once I give other games a go I’ll notice more of a difference!
I had to turn off the haptic triggers when playing fifa. Good idea but it’s just a nightmare
EI255
19-02-2021, 10:23 AM
Anyone got any idea when we might expect to see these consoles on the shelves in shops? (i.e. Walk in shop and buy one)
19-02-2021, 11:14 AM
Anyone got any idea when we might expect to see these consoles on the shelves in shops? (i.e. Walk in shop and buy one)
I said earlier on this thread that these shortages are all part of Sony’s launch tactics...it keeps the console in the news for months and gives them huge amounts of free publicity and generates a wave of demand.
It’s a classic scarcity marketing technique thats based on the fact that people perceive limited items as more precious and valuable.
So considering that the PS5 roll out has almost exactly mirrored the PS4 one (it used the same tactic) it appears that as if by magic Sony managed to start getting plentiful supplies out during March / April period.
Thus my cunning prediction is that it’s probably about a month until you will see these on general sale and definitely freely available by end April.
19-02-2021, 11:16 AM
I said earlier on this thread that these shortages are all part of Sony’s launch tactics...it keeps the console in the news for months and gives them huge amounts of free publicity and generates a wave of demand.
It’s a classic scarcity marketing technique thats based on the fact that people perceive limited items as more precious and valuable.
So considering that the PS5 roll out has almost exactly mirrored the PS4 one (it used the same tactic) it appears that as if by magic Sony managed to start getting plentiful supplies out during March / April period.
Thus my cunning prediction is that it’s probably about a month until you will see these on general sale and definitely freely available by end April.
It's weird - I usually wait eighteen months or so for a console to come out to iron out any hardware gremlins and for a good library of games to be out, but because of the scarcity of them I've often found myself looking through websites to see if there's any dropped into stock. It works a treat.
EI255
19-02-2021, 04:01 PM
Thus my cunning prediction is that it’s probably about a month until you will see these on general sale and definitely freely available by end April.That makes absolute sense when I think about it now.
There's zero chance of me paying a penny over the £450 rrp.
Might indulge in a few cheeky offers on ebay in the meantime... Just to wind up the scalpers [emoji16]
EI255
23-02-2021, 10:26 AM
Thought I had one earlier on Game. In Queue for 50 mins then out of stock.
What's the point.
Getting silly now.
Edit... Just bought Xbox Series X as I am in love with the new Flight Simulator, due out in summer (and which isn't being released on PlayStation).