View Full Version : PDC World Darts Championship

14-12-2020, 07:13 PM
It is nearly upon us. The usual suspects(Wright, Price and Van Gerwin) will be the favourites but it seems more open than ever. Just outside the big 3 you have Michael Smith, van den Burgh, Peterson, Aspinall, Anderson, Wade, Durrant,and de Sausa as potential winners. Also the likes of Heta and Whitlock in good form, the young guns like Clemens and Humphries and former champs like Cross and Lewis. Not easy to predict and should be some brilliant matches and moments. What are people’s thoughts?

14-12-2020, 10:03 PM
Can't really split the big 3. Don't think Anderson has a hope. I'd like to see Van Den Bergh do well, he's got the ability.

Won't be the same without the crowd but it's been quite nice not to be hearing "boring boring tables"!

16-12-2020, 02:52 PM
The Dobey and Smith match on right now is real quality.

16-12-2020, 06:10 PM
Just in from a run and Max Hopp had just won. Rydz against Bailey on now. Rydz hit 2 180s in the first leg and now Bailey starts the 2nd with a 180. Looks interesting.

17-12-2020, 12:08 PM
Good performance from Lisa Ashton last night, not good enough to win though.

17-12-2020, 01:50 PM
Gutsy performance and win for Ryan Murray

17-12-2020, 03:34 PM
Gutsy performance and win for Ryan Murray

Aye he did really well. Have to say that new commentator is doing my head in!

17-12-2020, 03:45 PM
Good performance from Lisa Ashton last night, not good enough to win though.
She did play well but I thought Hunt played superbly. Looked very calm and in control.

17-12-2020, 05:04 PM
She did play well but I thought Hunt played superbly. Looked very calm and in control.

Aye, he did. Good game between Gurney and O'Connor earlier too, Gurney winning 3-2.

17-12-2020, 09:09 PM
Decent match between Searle and Lauby. High scoring and missed, pressure doubles with Searle nicking it 3-2

18-12-2020, 11:59 AM
Perfect performance by Mickey Mansell. Nine straight legs and a 93 average.

18-12-2020, 02:39 PM
Jaimie Hughes getting done over by Adam Hunt despite being seeded. Three zip to Hunt as Hughes completely fell apart on stage. He won't ever play as badly as that again.

18-12-2020, 02:51 PM
Jaimie Hughes getting done over by Adam Hunt despite being seeded. Three zip to Hunt as Hughes completely fell apart on stage. He won't ever play as badly as that again.
Just came in and caught the last leg. Adam Hunt played really well in his last match so not a surprise he won. How did he play? Was it Hunt pressuring Hughes that made him play badly or did he just have a stinker?

18-12-2020, 04:21 PM
Just came in and caught the last leg. Adam Hunt played really well in his last match so not a surprise he won. How did he play? Was it Hunt pressuring Hughes that made him play badly or did he just have a stinker?

Hunt played with no fear of missing. Hughes was holding his shoulder like his injury problems aren't all behind him. Too many fives and ones. He tried to correct drifting to the right by moving to the left hand side of the oche but even then he was still missing the centre of the top. Was getting the better of him and he started to miscount. Bit of a horror show.

18-12-2020, 08:41 PM
66 year old Paul Lim beats Luke Humphries! What a man.

18-12-2020, 08:45 PM
Evergreen paul Lim. 66 and still looks as good as he did in his BDO days. Delighted big John got over the line as well after a nervy display.

18-12-2020, 08:46 PM

An entertaining game but how many missed doubles? Crazy stuff, loved it though.

FifeHibs
18-12-2020, 08:59 PM
Jocky Wilson documentary on BBC Scotland

18-12-2020, 10:04 PM
If I wore a hat I'd take it off to Paul Lim, that's what sport is all about. Magic performance from a guy 7 years younger than my old man.

18-12-2020, 10:06 PM
Jocky Wilson documentary on BBC Scotland

Managed to TiVo it up a few days ago, looking forward to watching it.

19-12-2020, 06:50 PM
I saw this at the time but wasn't certain the players could hear the noise.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/dartsnews.com/pdc/sky-sports-offers-apology-to-lauby-after-bad-timed-mistake-with-crowd-noise/amp

Poor show from sky and very bad luck for the young guy.

19-12-2020, 09:18 PM
Ryan Murray from Edinburgh playing MVG just now. 1-1 at the minute.

19-12-2020, 09:26 PM
Ryan Murray from Edinburgh playing MVG just now. 1-1 at the minute.

Is that Hibs tartan on his sleeves?

19-12-2020, 09:38 PM
Murray played well

20-12-2020, 08:39 PM
Ryan Searle looked impressive in beating de Zwaan tonight. Unfortunately John Henderson didn’t really perform despite threatening a comeback against a below par Johnny Clayton. Keegan Brown played well in the other match tonight.Oh and for anyone that missed it hearts lost the cup and are still in the championship

20-12-2020, 09:25 PM
Is that Hibs tartan on his sleeves?

Aye it was

21-12-2020, 07:05 PM
Great showing by Kim Huybrecths dumping Ian White. White had an average of 102 but still lost. Now plays Ryan Searle. Two unseeded players.

21-12-2020, 07:21 PM
Great showing by Kim Huybrecths dumping Ian White. White had an average of 102 but still lost. Now plays Ryan Searle. Two unseeded players.
Both playing well so that could be a cracking game. Fancy Searle to do well this year.

21-12-2020, 08:06 PM
Jamie Lewis made a right erse of that. 48 to rip in the 1st leg of the last set and he throws it into the treble 16! Price took advantage and won.

22-12-2020, 08:09 PM
Devon Peterson against Steve Lennon is the worst game I’ve seen so far. So many missed doubles. Peterson won 3-1

FifeHibs
22-12-2020, 08:28 PM
The completion has become to diluted

22-12-2020, 09:07 PM
Devon Peterson against Steve Lennon is the worst game I’ve seen so far. So many missed doubles. Peterson won 3-1

That was horrendous. Petersen's been playing well this year, surprising how poor he was.

Cross beaten by the madman Dirk van Duijvenbode....he's nuts! Good player though.

22-12-2020, 09:10 PM
The completion has become to diluted
In what way?

22-12-2020, 09:15 PM
Van den Bergh looking good. Scoring heavy and finishing well.

Currently 2-0 against Lim.

23-12-2020, 10:00 AM
Anderson playing this afternoon for those interested.

23-12-2020, 01:01 PM
Anderson playing this afternoon for those interested.

Wins 3-1

23-12-2020, 01:17 PM
Wins 3-1
Played fairly well I thought. Missed a few doubles which would have made it a bit easier but the 161 was a cracker.

FifeHibs
23-12-2020, 07:37 PM
In what way?

2 years ago they upped the number of players by 24.

23-12-2020, 09:13 PM
Michael Smith out, beaten by Jason Lowe. Got a feeling that won't be the last of the shock results.

23-12-2020, 09:39 PM
2 years ago they upped the number of players by 24.
Yes but it’s actually made the competition better. There are so many great players nowadays, allied with the pressure the worlds puts on players, that there are not too many straight forward games.

23-12-2020, 09:43 PM
Michael Smith out, beaten by Jason Lowe. Got a feeling that won't be the last of the shock results.
Lowe played a fantastic match and held it together. Scott Waites almost did the same against Aspinal but just ran out of steam. Difficult to call many of the matches so I agree there will likely be quite a few shocks.

23-12-2020, 10:46 PM
The Bunting v Boulton game was the best of the day for me. The players are in the same bubble so there was an emotional celebration at the end.

FifeHibs
23-12-2020, 11:47 PM
Yes but it’s actually made the competition better. There are so many great players nowadays, allied with the pressure the worlds puts on players, that there are not too many straight forward games.

Some of the first round games this year have been terrible to watch

24-12-2020, 06:39 AM

And some have been brilliant.

You can say the same for football cup competitions. Why should ***** teams get in because they have no chance of winning?

24-12-2020, 08:47 AM
And some have been brilliant.

You can say the same for football cup competitions. Why should ***** teams get in because they have no chance of winning?

Merit. The $h!t3 teams sometimes cause an upset. Livingston & Ross County spring to mind. Don't forget a semi final a few weeks ago.

24-12-2020, 08:53 AM
Merit. The $h!t3 teams sometimes cause an upset. Livingston & Ross County spring to mind. Don't forget a semi final a few weeks ago.

I'm not disagreeing. Perhaps my point wasn't overly clear in reply to fifehibs.

24-12-2020, 09:52 AM
I think you’re always going to get bad games anyway. I haven’t watched all the matches but can’t remember too many stinkers. In fact I’ve been surprised at the level some of the lesser lights have attained. The worst match I’ve seen was Peterson against Lennon who are 2 established players.
Last night Jason Lowe who I think is ranked 80th by the PDC played superbly knocking out the number 4 seed. One sided darts matches are generally pretty boring but the format of the worlds allow for big comebacks if someone’s form dips/is raised/bottle crashes and I think there have been quite a few cases of this happening already. I think they’ve got the balance right with regards to numbers atm but it might actually increase in future as darts popularity soars all over the world. Of course it will all be driven by money.

25-12-2020, 09:51 AM
Finally caught up with the darts on the Tivo, Aspinall v Waites was superb, that 125 from Waites was magnificent. Quite enjoying Emma Patons performances too.

25-12-2020, 03:30 PM
Finally caught up with the darts on the Tivo, Aspinall v Waites was superb, that 125 from Waites was magnificent. Quite enjoying Emma Patons performances too.

That’s was one of the best finishes I’ve ever seen.

25-12-2020, 04:20 PM
That’s was one of the best finishes I’ve ever seen.

It was magnificent, the only one I can recall being better was against Anderson, can't remember who it was but, the guy almost swerved the dart into the bullseye. I'm sure there will have been others.

27-12-2020, 12:59 PM
Good match going on between Huybrechts and Searle.

27-12-2020, 02:17 PM
Van den Bergh through with a 4-0 win. Great scoring and doubles. One to watch.

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 06:31 PM
What a great game and finish by Cullen

27-12-2020, 06:32 PM
Joe Cullen finishing with tops, tops to win 4-3 . Great game.

27-12-2020, 06:32 PM
What a great game and finish by Cullen
It was, tops tops to win the match, cracking game of darts.

27-12-2020, 06:33 PM
Unbelievable end to the match, has to be match of the tournament so far.

27-12-2020, 06:45 PM
Unbelievable end to the match, has to be match of the tournament so far.
I think it was. I’ve always thought of Cullen as a guy that should be a top 10 player, but lacked the bottle to do it. He proved me wrong there, to win 3 legs in a row with that finish takes plenty bottle.

27-12-2020, 07:22 PM
wright 2-1 down in sets against clemens...could be an early bath for the reigning champion

two legs down in the 4th set and came back to win it 3-2 two sets each

wright two legs up in the 5th set and loses 3-2

clemens leads 3-2 in sets

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 07:45 PM
Wright changing stems

27-12-2020, 07:47 PM
Wright's in bother here after looking like he had taken control.

27-12-2020, 07:52 PM
3-3

clemens is very consistant with those treble 19's

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 07:57 PM
Wright Needs to win next 2

27-12-2020, 08:03 PM
Peter Wright's out.

Wow.

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 08:04 PM
Disaster

Snakebite bites the dust.

Well that was a shock. Hopefully MVG will follow!!

27-12-2020, 08:05 PM
clemins wins well deserved

wright had a run of 19 missed throws at a finish earlier

24 wright got in those last 3 darts, absolutely rank, fs even i can get a minimum of 26

27-12-2020, 08:10 PM
Wright will be gutted . He should have been up by 3 sets to zip if his doubling had been even half decent. Clemens just hung in there waiting for the misses..

27-12-2020, 08:21 PM
You can’t miss that many doubles at this stage of the world championship. Wright will be gutted.

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 08:37 PM
MVG Evans game is really good

FifeHibs
27-12-2020, 08:39 PM
Evans unlucky to be 2-0 down

27-12-2020, 08:59 PM
Evans hits a 100 average and only wins the bus fare home.

27-12-2020, 09:39 PM
MVG looking in good form. Evans played really well but ended up with a 0 against his name.

28-12-2020, 12:16 PM
Didn’t expect that. Thought it might be close with De Sousa nicking it but fair play to Mervyn King. He played very well and hammered him 4-0.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 12:22 PM
King played really well. Always thought a few years ago he should have won a major but the crowd were against him.

De Sousa counting is a bit iffy

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 12:23 PM
Fancy Adam hunt to win the next match

28-12-2020, 02:25 PM
Fancy Adam hunt to win the next match

He played well but not well enough.

Aspinall out as well.

Anderson up after 6pm tonight.

28-12-2020, 05:18 PM
:singing::singing::singing::singing::singing::sing ing::singing::singing: Oh Gary Gary
:kdarts::kdarts: Here we go.

28-12-2020, 05:26 PM
Sulkovic already doing my head in and it's only 3 legs in. He is taking the piss with how slow he is.

It's brutal and as good as cheating.

28-12-2020, 05:33 PM
First set Anderson.

Thank God, Suljovic is painful to watch.

28-12-2020, 05:36 PM
Sulkovic already doing my head in and it's only 3 legs in. He is taking the piss with how slow he is.

It's brutal and as good as cheating.
It’s terrible to watch, if he wasn’t playing Anderson I’d turn it over.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 05:36 PM
Suljovic is taking the piss here

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 05:37 PM
18 seconds after Anderson has retrieved his darts he throws his first. The ref should have a word

28-12-2020, 05:38 PM
Aye the quicker he’s out the tournament the better. Cmon Gary

28-12-2020, 05:47 PM
This is a really strange match.

28-12-2020, 05:51 PM
Pub darts from Anderson in that set.

28-12-2020, 05:51 PM
Gary doesn't cope well in these situations.

28-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Ridiculously bad by Anderson. Hope he is fuming and comes out focused like he normally does when angry.

28-12-2020, 05:57 PM
Gary doesn't cope well in these situations.

I don't blame him to be honest. The time wasting needs to stop and I can't understand Mardle and co essentially backing it as a tactic.

It wouldn't surprise me to see Anderson pack it all in as he's really pissed off with all the antics (shouting and time wasting)

28-12-2020, 06:06 PM
2-1 Anderson.

That's justice!

28-12-2020, 06:07 PM
I hope Anderson wins this and calls out Suljovic for the cheating bassa that he is.

28-12-2020, 06:07 PM
18 seconds after Anderson has retrieved his darts he throws his first. The ref should have a word

There's seemingly nothing in the rules preventing Suljovic doing what he's doing.

28-12-2020, 06:08 PM
I would have thrown a dart in his back by now.

28-12-2020, 06:10 PM
There's seemingly nothing in the rules preventing Suljovic doing what he's doing.

Correct but it's completely against the spirit of the game.

There are slow players (Pipe springs to mind) but Suljovic isn't one of them and it spoils the spectacle.

28-12-2020, 06:13 PM
2-2.

28-12-2020, 06:14 PM
Correct but it's completely against the spirit of the game.

There are slow players (Pipe springs to mind) but Suljovic isn't one of them and it spoils the spectacle.

Agreed it's pathetic.

28-12-2020, 06:14 PM
29 doubles anderson has missed, much like wright last night

make that 30

28-12-2020, 06:15 PM
Just noticed Dolan is up next so more of the same as he has the slowest walk to the board ever seen.

28-12-2020, 06:16 PM

Crazy. Penalised for slow play in tennis, golf etc but not in darts.

Anyway Anderson can't use this as an excuse, 30 missed darts at a double is ridiculous.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 06:23 PM
Suljovic knows what he is doing no need to go back to the table each time. Complete ****

If fans were in the Ally Pally he would be booed every dart by now.

28-12-2020, 06:24 PM
3-2 Suljovic.

28-12-2020, 06:29 PM
3-3!

28-12-2020, 06:30 PM
That's better! Gary usually plays better when he's angry. Hopefully he's got all the time wasting nonsense out of his system.

28-12-2020, 06:37 PM
Anderson wins 4-3. :thumbsup:

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 06:38 PM
Wonder if he will say anything in interview

That was a fascinating watch.

Yes, well done Gary and good riddance to Suljovic.

28-12-2020, 06:39 PM
Thank god for that. Now hopefully the PDC will take some action against anything that happening again. Not holding my breath though.

28-12-2020, 06:44 PM
That was a painful watch. Darts sells itself on being a fast paced , all action sport to watch. Can’t imagine the decision makers will be impressed with that. At least boreovic got what he deserved.

28-12-2020, 06:46 PM
That was a painful watch. Darts sells itself on being a fast paced , all action sport to watch. Can’t imagine the decision makers will be impressed with that. At least boreovic got what he deserved.

I actually enjoyed it, a wee bit of controversy is ok sometimes.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 06:48 PM
Anderson still hasn’t done a post game interview.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 06:49 PM
Dolan is a slow player as well

28-12-2020, 06:54 PM
Not often I prefer price to win but I hope he wins this one. Just can’t take to Dolan or his style of play.

28-12-2020, 06:56 PM
Anderson still hasn’t done a post game interview.
Might not be as interesting with time to calm down and reflect.

28-12-2020, 07:06 PM
I actually enjoyed it, a wee bit of controversy is ok sometimes.

Nah. It spoiled the spectacle and it should be punished. I only wish the crowd were present to give that pathetic bore the abuse he would have deserved.

The sad thing is he is a good player and would have had just as good a chance to win playing his normal game.

28-12-2020, 07:16 PM
Price 1-1 Dolan

28-12-2020, 07:29 PM
Not often I prefer price to win but I hope he wins this one. Just can’t take to Dolan or his style of play.
Take back what I said about Dolan as he has really sped his game up. Playing well too.

28-12-2020, 07:33 PM
Price 2-2 Dolan

28-12-2020, 07:34 PM
Nah. It spoiled the spectacle and it should be punished. I only wish the crowd were present to give that pathetic bore the abuse he would have deserved.

The sad thing is he is a good player and would have had just as good a chance to win playing his normal game.

Watching Anderson deal with it and overcome it in style? It added another wee layer for me.

28-12-2020, 07:38 PM
Fair enough if that's your thing. I'd far rather see high scores and good finishing.

If I want 59s and 30 darts at doubles I can just visit my own dartboard 😁

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 07:50 PM

The crowd would have been savage towards him trying that on.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 07:52 PM
I’d much rather watch quick players Anderson, Van fed Voort, Evans , Price,

28-12-2020, 07:54 PM
Price 3-3 Dolan

Some match.

28-12-2020, 07:54 PM
Dolan playing well and is actually reasonably quick to the board despite luggging that belly around.

Last set decider.

28-12-2020, 07:55 PM
Fair enough if that's your thing. I'd far rather see high scores and good finishing.

28-12-2020, 07:58 PM

Is that in 1 leg?:greengrin:greengrin

28-12-2020, 07:59 PM
This Dolan Price match is a cracker.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 08:02 PM
It’s a pity it’s a last leg shoot out instead of going to a 2 leg win as previously

28-12-2020, 08:03 PM
Thank god for that. Now hopefully the PDC will take some action against anything that happening again. Not holding my breath though.

Both the commentators thought seriously that there was something medically wrong with him and seemed concerned. There will be a follow up to this I think.

28-12-2020, 08:04 PM
Price wins 4-3.

28-12-2020, 08:05 PM
Cracking game. Well played both players.

28-12-2020, 08:09 PM
Hats off to them both. Basically Price won through winning the closest to bull pre match to start. Got to feel for Dolan.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 08:13 PM
Hats off to them both. Basically Price won through winning the closest to bull pre match to start. Got to feel for Dolan.

Was Covid and getting crowds in and out the reason not having the usual win by 2 legs?

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 08:16 PM
Anderson interview bang on

28-12-2020, 08:27 PM
Aye he was but I noticed the commentary team shirking the issues of the slow play. Anderson is right. If it wasn’t him playing I’d have turned off. Wouldn’t have watched Corrie right enough:greengrin

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 08:31 PM
Think Durrant has been struggling since catching Covid... not sure how this game will go

28-12-2020, 08:38 PM
Steady start from Durrant.

28-12-2020, 08:40 PM

The table issue was a bit weird but he was right about Suljovic's slow play.

FifeHibs
28-12-2020, 08:42 PM

Table thing more important due to Covid though

28-12-2020, 08:48 PM
Think it was the fact that being at that table allowed Suljovic to play mind games too. If he was at the other table Anderson wouldn’t have had to pass him after his throw and then still find him at his table. Other times he would be at the oche. Just another way to try and niggle and unsettle Anderson.

28-12-2020, 08:48 PM
Table thing more important due to Covid though

I'm not sure Covid really matters unless they were going to be swapping tables at some point which they weren't.

It just sounded like Anderson was unhappy because he was told pre-match which table he should use and Suljovic went and used it.

A bit of a non-issue really.

Hibbie_Cameron
28-12-2020, 08:51 PM
I dont know for sure but i believe he was annoyed after his press conference in the last round. Gary had to isolate after a track and trace ping and he had asked for it to be kept private, for whatever reason. The very first question asked at the PC was about him isolating. I believe he refused to talk to the majority of the darts media after tonight's game because if that

28-12-2020, 08:56 PM
Looks like normal service is resumed for Durrant. 2-0 up and playing solidly and finishing well

28-12-2020, 09:00 PM
Just watched the interview and he didn't miss the target (unlike his doubles)

I think he probably will pack in pretty soon. He's already dropped off the European events and only plays the bare minimum Pro tour events and simply can't be arsed with the way darts is going.

28-12-2020, 09:01 PM
I dont know for sure but i believe he was annoyed after his press conference in the last round. Gary had to isolate after a track and trace ping and he had asked for it to be kept private, for whatever reason. The very first question asked at the PC was about him isolating. I believe he refused to talk to the majority of the darts media after tonight's game because if that
Strange to ask the media not to talk about it as it was common knowledge about him isolating though if he has asked for it it should have been respected.

28-12-2020, 09:02 PM
Anderson should have told him he was at the wrong table at the start instead of mentioning it after.

28-12-2020, 09:05 PM

I think he probably will pack in pretty soon. He's already dropped off the European events and only plays the bare minimum Pro tour events and simply can't be arsed with the way darts is going.
I kind of agree and thought tonight might have pushed him to make an announcement but after his last round he talked about next year being a focused and successful year. Mixed messages so who knows.

28-12-2020, 09:07 PM
Anderson should have told him he was at the wrong table at the start instead of mentioning it after.

It's not his his job to do that. I assume both players were told, then there is the referee and a truck load of officials who should have known about it.

He's there to play darts, not officiate.

28-12-2020, 09:10 PM
I kind of agree and thought tonight might have pushed him to make an announcement but after his last round he talked about next year being a focused and successful year. Mixed messages so who knows.

He's forever banging on about quitting so yes, who knows, but I just get the feeling the leg and back issues he's had and the slow play / shouting might just tip him towards calling it a day.

He's in danger of being the tour grouch with all his moaning 🙂

28-12-2020, 09:11 PM
It's not his his job to do that. I assume both players were told, then there is the referee and a truck load of officials who should have known about it.

He's there to play darts, not officiate.

Still if it was me even though I’m crap at darts i would have politely told him to move.

28-12-2020, 09:14 PM
Price v King should be a good watch next round . King hates all the jumping and shouting when others do it and that’s what price will do.

28-12-2020, 09:20 PM
Price v King should be a good watch next round . King hates all the jumping and shouting when others do it and that’s what price will do.
Yes and for that reason price will do it at appropriate moments to try and rile him. I have a feeling King will turn him over though.

28-12-2020, 09:20 PM
Really annoys me that the likes of Mardle and Webster are saying that slow play is all part of the game and all that pish. Are Sky really wanting to lose viewers? If Suljovic was playing one of the lesser players the viewers would as Anderson says, switch off in their droves. The fact that he probably wouldn't use these tactics is beside the point.

28-12-2020, 09:30 PM
Really annoys me that the likes of Mardle and Webster are saying that slow play is all part of the game and all that pish. Are Sky really wanting to lose viewers? If Suljovic was playing one of the lesser players the viewers would as Anderson says, switch off in their droves. The fact that he probably wouldn't use these tactics is beside the point.
Slow play has always been a tactic used by players. Changing the pace of the game is a legitimate tactic. The problem tonight was that it was taken to the limit and totally affected the spectacle. As the speed and excitement are what basically attracts viewers and therefore brings the cash in then they need to put some restrictions in to stop it turning into a farce.

28-12-2020, 09:50 PM
Another good match in the last game. Baggish threatening a comeback but Durrant held his nerve.

29-12-2020, 09:10 AM
Slow play used to be a tactic in snooker but they put in measures to control it that had the watching audience very much in mind.

29-12-2020, 10:10 AM
Slow play used to be a tactic in snooker but they put in measures to control it that had the watching audience very much in mind.

What did they implement?

I know there was / is a tournament where they had 1min shot clock but not aware of any time limits on the regular tour?

29-12-2020, 12:13 PM
9 darter from James Wade.

29-12-2020, 12:14 PM
What did they implement?

I know there was / is a tournament where they had 1min shot clock but not aware of any time limits on the regular tour?
I’m not 100% but think they have 1 minute to play a shot and if they don’t it’s a foul and they lose 4 points.

29-12-2020, 12:17 PM
Came from nowhere too. He has not been playing well.

29-12-2020, 12:24 PM
I’m not 100% but think they have 1 minute to play a shot and if they don’t it’s a foul and they lose 4 points.

That's definitely not across the board. The World Championships and UK Championships don't have time limits for example.

The only ranking tournament I'm aware of where a shot clock exists is the Snooker Shoot Out.

29-12-2020, 12:25 PM
Came from nowhere too. He has not been playing well.

Yep Bunting's been the better player.

29-12-2020, 12:30 PM
Bunting 4-2 Wade

29-12-2020, 12:33 PM
Good. Wade just does not get any more likeable.

29-12-2020, 01:43 PM
What did they implement?

That could be right enough as snooker isn't really my game. I am sure that there was a name and shame exercise where the governing bodies published the average time between shots for each player. In darts though, there is no need to take ages to throw other than to unsettle your opponent, so it's may be better seen as lack of professionalism if it is going to be stamped out.

29-12-2020, 01:46 PM
Good. Wade just does not get any more likeable.

He gets bad press. Unfair at times given the guy has ADHD & and is bipolar.

29-12-2020, 02:24 PM
That's definitely not across the board. The World Championships and UK Championships don't have time limits for example.

The only ranking tournament I'm aware of where a shot clock exists is the Snooker Shoot Out.

👍

29-12-2020, 02:47 PM
He gets bad press. Unfair at times given the guy has ADHD & and is bipolar.

I've neve read what press he gets to be honest. He could surely be far more gracious in defeat.

29-12-2020, 03:21 PM
I've neve read what press he gets to be honest. He could surely be far more gracious in defeat.

I think his condition has a lot to do with it and probably does him no favours with joe public. He's probably on a fair number of pills to try and keep him on an even keel.

29-12-2020, 03:29 PM
I think his condition has a lot to do with it and probably does him no favours with joe public. He's probably on a fair number of pills to try and keep him on an even keel.

Didn't know it affected him like that to be honest. I find it a wee bit odd when he can celebrate a 180 or a big finish like the best of them. Anyway if it does then fair enough.

29-12-2020, 06:25 PM
Chisnall beats Noppert 4-2 after being 2-0 down

29-12-2020, 07:36 PM
Didn't know it affected him like that to be honest. I find it a wee bit odd when he can celebrate a 180 or a big finish like the best of them. Anyway if it does then fair enough.

To be honest, I'm only guessing but here's a wee bit by him for bipolar uk charity he is patron of.

https://www.bipolaruk.org/blog/introducing-james-wade

FifeHibs
29-12-2020, 08:00 PM
He has struggled for years. 2 years ago he had to apologise over bullying antics in the worlds.

BenjiOscar
29-12-2020, 08:29 PM
14 missed match darts in that final leg before Ratajski beats Clemens. Shows how nervous the players get the closer they are to winning. That’s the difference between the top half dozen and the rest though. Mind you it happened to Peter Wright in the premier league final v MVG a few years ago.

29-12-2020, 08:54 PM
Mvg v Cullen is just a slugfest. Both just battering in the scores with neither wilting yet.1-1 on sets atm.Great match so far.
Now 2-1 Cullen

29-12-2020, 09:07 PM
Mvg v Cullen is just a slugfest. Both just battering in the scores with neither wilting yet.1-1 on sets atm.Great match so far.

It's a.brilliant game. Cullen 2-1 up.

29-12-2020, 09:12 PM
MVG just blinked 3-1 cullen

29-12-2020, 09:12 PM
3-1 Cullen.

Unreal darts so far.

29-12-2020, 09:23 PM
3-2 now. This is going all the way.

29-12-2020, 09:25 PM
I think Van Gerwen will win this 4-3.

29-12-2020, 09:31 PM
3-3, Cullen with a match dart!

29-12-2020, 09:40 PM
Now that was a great game of darts. Two players giving it their all with no mucking around.

Got to applaud MVG for the comeback but Cullen was excellent. He just folded in that last leg.

29-12-2020, 09:40 PM
I think Van Gerwen will win this 4-3.

Never in doubt. :greengrin

Van Gerwen wins 4-3. Cullen misses a second match dart.

Great match, take a bow guys.

29-12-2020, 09:42 PM
One of the best match ups that I have seen. This is what darts is all about.

29-12-2020, 09:42 PM
What a game that was. Can't believe Cullen blew it so badly on the last leg after playing so well. Really thought he had Van Gerwen there.

29-12-2020, 09:43 PM
Fantastic game. Shame there has to be a loser as they were both brilliant.

29-12-2020, 10:11 PM
Would like to hear Wayne Mardle say that after the matches that we have seen today, he thinks that there is a valid place for Suljovics antics in the PDC in 2020.

30-12-2020, 09:53 AM

That's the impression I've got recently, don't think his heart (or his head) is really in it anymore.

30-12-2020, 09:56 AM

Just watching that just now, he really enjoyed it eh? Miserable git!

30-12-2020, 12:41 PM
Gurney beats Van Der voort 4-2. Next up is Searle v Bunting and one of those 3 will be in the semi finals.

Anderson is after this game.

FifeHibs
30-12-2020, 01:22 PM
Bunting making hard work of this game

30-12-2020, 02:18 PM
Anderson wins set 1,though Peterson helping with some poor doubling.

30-12-2020, 02:30 PM
2-0 down in that 2nd set before a 160 finish turned it around.

2 set up.

30-12-2020, 02:48 PM
Anderson has really cleaned Peterson out. Really impressive.

FifeHibs
30-12-2020, 02:52 PM
Peterson busting himself on 81 was a bit of a changer

30-12-2020, 03:38 PM
Fantastic interview afterwards with Anderson saying he is really going to knuckle down next year and intends to hang around for a good few years

Fantastic :top marks

30-12-2020, 07:49 PM
Price leading King 3-1. It’s not really sparked into life yet.

30-12-2020, 07:59 PM
Price wins 4-1.

30-12-2020, 08:36 PM
Chizzy 2-0 up on van den bergh and playing very well

30-12-2020, 08:53 PM
3-1 Chisnall.

30-12-2020, 09:03 PM
Never seen Chisnall play like this for years. Looks like my bet on Van den Bergh to win the tournament is up the swannee.

Edit: or maybe not 😀

30-12-2020, 09:08 PM
3-2 now.

30-12-2020, 09:20 PM
The long pauses are a bit OTT. Just rock up and throw the dart.

30-12-2020, 09:22 PM
4-2 Chisnall.

30-12-2020, 09:23 PM
Can't see anything other than an MVG / Price final.

30-12-2020, 09:24 PM
Another great game. So nervy towards the end.

30-12-2020, 09:33 PM
Can't see anything other than an MVG / Price final.

Yep.

31-12-2020, 07:20 PM
Didn't realise Gary called out Mardle for his comments on slow play. Get the impression he does not like him much 😂

01-01-2021, 01:58 AM
Having finally caught up on this week's darts what a fantastic tournament this has been. Could be approaching yet another golden age for darts, older players regaining a bit of form and new blood flooding through, you've got to love it!

01-01-2021, 10:49 AM
Didn't realise Gary called out Mardle for his comments on slow play. Get the impression he does not like him much 😂

Rod Harrington also said Gary should retire to which Gary said he was going to but is going to hang around for a few more years just to piss rod off :greengrin

01-01-2021, 01:09 PM
Bunting beats Ratajski 5-3 in match one and will now play Price or Gurney in the semis.

Anderson v Van Duijvenbode on now.

01-01-2021, 01:13 PM
First set to Van Duijvenbode.

01-01-2021, 01:14 PM
First set to Van Duijvenbode.
They were both having a good laugh about the tables before the start.

01-01-2021, 01:25 PM
1-1

01-01-2021, 01:36 PM
2-1 Anderson

01-01-2021, 01:41 PM
Anderson playing very well just now.

01-01-2021, 01:42 PM
3-1 Anderson

01-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Anderson on fire.

01-01-2021, 01:43 PM
Anderson rolling back the years !

If his back is better and he is over his sair leg and puts in as much practice as he said he would next year he is right back in the mix for majors

01-01-2021, 01:44 PM
3-1 You could tell Anderson wanted to pile the pressure on when there was no break and DVD was off the boil.

01-01-2021, 01:54 PM
4-1 Anderson

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 01:55 PM
Anderson on form is a joy to watch.

01-01-2021, 02:08 PM
5-1 Anderson great performance.

01-01-2021, 02:10 PM
He was superb. Will probably have to up it again in the semi final.

01-01-2021, 02:13 PM
He was superb. Will probably have to up it again in the semi final.

Yeah I can't see him beating Van Gerwen unfortunately.

01-01-2021, 02:15 PM
Great run by Divingboard but he has come up against a real class act today.

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 04:52 PM
An MVG Price double tonight?

01-01-2021, 05:13 PM

Would be fantastic if they both went out.

01-01-2021, 05:37 PM

Can't see any other outcome unfortunately.

01-01-2021, 06:02 PM
Gurney wins 2 sets in a row to make 2-2.

01-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Never seen Price so poor on his doubles. Gurney has a big chance here.

01-01-2021, 06:17 PM
3-2 price.

01-01-2021, 06:29 PM
4-2 Price

01-01-2021, 06:35 PM
4-3

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 06:40 PM
Gurney has had chances

01-01-2021, 06:46 PM
4-4

01-01-2021, 06:46 PM
Game on now.

01-01-2021, 06:56 PM
Price wins 5-4.

Price v Bunting in the semis.

01-01-2021, 06:58 PM
That was a great match.

01-01-2021, 06:58 PM
Last leg nerves jangling there for both.

Good game though. Bunting will fancy his chances.

01-01-2021, 06:59 PM
Looking forward to seeing how Chizzy plays.

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 07:16 PM
Looking forward to seeing how Chizzy plays.

Do you think Chizzy has a chance

01-01-2021, 07:22 PM
1-0 Chisnall

01-01-2021, 07:36 PM
2-0

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 07:45 PM
Gees

FifeHibs
01-01-2021, 07:51 PM
Chizzy what a leg

01-01-2021, 07:58 PM
This is unbelievable!

01-01-2021, 07:59 PM
That was the best leg of darts I've ever seen.

This is an amazing performance by Chizzy. Hope he can keep it going. Just missed a 9 darter.

FifeHibs
I thought MVG would win by 2 or 3 sets