View Full Version : The christmas quiz

11-12-2020, 04:23 PM
Just a wee bit of fun guys

20 questions on festive fixtures just to keep the brain cells ticking over

1. THE GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST

What game took place on 25th December 1875 ?

Need: Opposition, Venue, Result, a brief description of the strips of both teams

Hearts East Meadows 0-1 Ringothedog

2 IT WILL BE LONELY THIS CHRISTMAS WITHOUT YOU

What recent Manager did not see a Christmas at Easter Road?

Paul Heckingbottom The 90 +2

3. THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS

Our worst ever result came on Christmas Eve

Need opposition, result venue and year?

Rangers 0-10 Ibrox 1898 Ringothedog

4. BAH HUMBUG !

When was the last time HIBS played at Easter Road on Christmas Day ?

Need year, opposition, result and goalscorers

1971 Rangers 0-1 Colin Stein 95 minutes

5. BLACK CHRISTMAS

What player was tragically fatally injured playing for the club on a frost bound Firhill pitch on Christmas Day 1909?

James Main RIP Ringothedog

6 FIRST FOOT

HIBS broke the Scottish transfer record to sign this player in January 1974 ?

Joe Harper Bigwheel

7. FELT LIKE A DEFEAT

HIBS inexplicably threw away a commanding lead to draw 4-4 with Hearts at Tiny back in January 2003

Can you remember who scored HIBS’ goals?

McManus Townsley James and Brebner The 90+2

8. HAPPY CHRISTMAS

HIBS hammered The Rangers 4-0 in December 2014 in the Championship

Can you remember who scored HIBS’ goals?

SDG, Jase, Scott Robertson and Liam Craig Bigwheel

9. WE THREE KINGS

What three Hibees made their debuts one January on a cold and frosty Brockville in the 1980s ?

Graham Mitchell Dougie Bell and Tommy McIntyre Jeffers

10. HAT-TRICK HERO

What player scored a hat-trick against Leicester City in December 1979?

Ally MacLeod Ringothedog

11. IT AINT OVER UNTIL THE FAT LADY SINGS

What player scored a late goal on Boxing Day at Ibrox to steal a valuable point?

Big Daz The 90+2

12. OFF THE CHRISTMAS CARD LIST

What HIBS player was definitely taken off the Dundee United Christmas card list in December 2000?

Matty Jack Bigwheel

13. THE GREATEST GAME IN HISTORY ONE YEAR ON

HIBS famously massacred Hearts 0-7 on 1st January 1973 but what was the score at Easter Road one year on for the corresponding fixture and can you name the scorers for both teams?

Hibs 3 v 1 Hearts

Cropley 2
Duncan

Donald Ford for them HibbyDave

14. IT MAY BE WINTER OUTSIDE

HIBS defeated high flying Celtic 1-0 in a freezing early kick off back in December 2012

Can you remember who scored the only goal of the game?

Leigh Griffiths Hoboharry

15. NIL NIL DRAWS

What HIBS Manager had four nil nil draws during one festive period and his record over 450 plus competitive games was three games and nine goals short of having an average score of 0-0?

Alex Miller Ringothedog

16. THANKS BOSS

HIBS defeated Hearts 1-0 at Easter Road in January 1989

Who scored the only goal of the game?

Eddie May green.oracle

17. SQUEAKY BUM TIME

What player scored for HIBS in a hastily arranged Boxing Day 1-1 draw versus Man United at Easter Road?

Willie Jamieson Bigwheel

18. MAYBE HE IS NOT SO BAD?

Terry Butcher won his first Derby in January 2014

What was the score and who scored the goals?

2-1 HIBS James Collins and Liam Craig pen The 90+2

19. BOXING DAY GOAL AVALANCHE

HIBS defeated Dundee United at Tannadice the day after the Boxing Day Tsunami

Can you remember the score?

4-1 HIBS The 90+2

20. YOUNG GUNS GO FOR IT

Who scored the last SPFL goal of the millennium?

Kenny Miller Hibby6270

Good luck

11-12-2020, 04:34 PM
2 Hecky.

11-12-2020, 04:34 PM
2 Hecky.

11-12-2020, 04:36 PM
6. Joe Harper

11-12-2020, 04:36 PM
4-4 game

McManus Townsley Craig James? Mixu.
Two early and two injury time.

4-0 huns. Cummings Sir David, Robertson Craig?

11-12-2020, 04:37 PM
Was 17 Willie Jamieson ?? Was freezing that day !

11-12-2020, 04:38 PM
12 Matty Jack

11-12-2020, 04:40 PM
6. Joe Harper

11-12-2020, 04:41 PM
Dundee Utd was 4-0 or 4-1 im sure. Great day, got the bus from Gladstones for some reason. Best football I’ve seen us play.

11-12-2020, 04:41 PM
4-4 game

McManus Townsley Craig James? Mixu.
Two early and two injury time.

4-0 huns. Cummings Sir David, Robertson Craig?
No

Yes

11-12-2020, 04:43 PM
20 Kenny Miller

11-12-2020, 04:44 PM
No

Yes

Mixu missed the pen and brebs scored the rebound? If that’s wrong I’m googling 🤣

11-12-2020, 04:44 PM
Was 17 Willie Jamieson ?? Was freezing that day !

11-12-2020, 04:46 PM
Butcher game Liam Craig penalty James Collins?

11-12-2020, 04:47 PM
Mixu missed the pen and brebs scored the rebound? If that’s wrong I’m googling 🤣

11-12-2020, 04:48 PM
12 Matty Jack

11-12-2020, 04:49 PM
Dundee Utd was 4-0 or 4-1 im sure. Great day, got the bus from Gladstones for some reason. Best football I’ve seen us play.
4-1 was superb

Barry atmosphere

11-12-2020, 04:52 PM
20 Kenny Miller

11-12-2020, 04:56 PM
4. The old Rangers. Colin Stein scored the winner at around 5:30. 1-0 defeat?

0-0 draws must be Bertie Auld.

11-12-2020, 05:01 PM
14. Leigh Griffiths

11-12-2020, 05:02 PM
14. Leigh Griffiths

11-12-2020, 05:03 PM
15. Alex Millar ?

11-12-2020, 05:04 PM
4. The old Rangers. Colin Stein scored the winner at around 5:30. 1-0 defeat?

0-0 draws must be Bertie Auld.
Yes

No

11-12-2020, 05:06 PM
5. John Main, buried in West Calder

11-12-2020, 05:07 PM
14. Leigh Griffiths

11-12-2020, 05:07 PM
10. Super Ally McLeod

11-12-2020, 05:08 PM
Big Daz at Ibrox. Chored a 1-1.

11-12-2020, 05:08 PM
15. Alex Millar ?

DJ HIBBY
11-12-2020, 05:09 PM
11 - Darren McGregor
14 - Leigh Griffiths

11-12-2020, 05:10 PM
9. Dougie Bell, Graham Mitchell and Tommy McIntyre.

11-12-2020, 05:12 PM
5. John Main, buried in West Calder
James Main

Plaque up in the FF lower

11-12-2020, 05:12 PM
10. Think that was Ally McLeod maybe?

11-12-2020, 05:16 PM
1. versus Hearts at the Meadows , we lost 2-1?, we would be in green an white, I am guessing they were red, white an blue

11-12-2020, 05:16 PM
10. Super Ally McLeod

11-12-2020, 05:17 PM
10. Think that was Ally McLeod maybe?

11-12-2020, 05:17 PM
1. versus Hearts at the Meadows , we lost 2-1?, we would be in green an white, I am guessing they were red, white an blue
Sorry no

11-12-2020, 05:18 PM
11 - Darren McGregor
14 - Leigh Griffiths

11-12-2020, 05:19 PM
9. Dougie Bell, Graham Mitchell and Tommy McIntyre.

11-12-2020, 05:24 PM
I’m on the Boxing Day huns game Bill 🤣

11-12-2020, 05:25 PM
I’m on the Boxing Day huns game Bill 🤣
Big Daz is the goalscorer :greengrin

11-12-2020, 05:27 PM
Sorry no

1. Okay - played at the meadows, 1-0 defeat, our strip was white with green trim and green socks, their strip was their usual *****
.... sorry white with maroon trim and maroon socks.

11-12-2020, 05:28 PM
1. Okay - played at the meadows, 1-0 defeat, our strip was white with green trim and green socks, their strip was their usual *****
.... sorry white with maroon trim and maroon socks.

Our first strip presented to us was white with a green trim but the official strip was hoops

Hearts wore white with a heart over their hearts so I am guessing to avoid a colour clash and going by artists impressions we wore hoops

Hearts won 1-0

11-12-2020, 05:28 PM
Big Daz is the goalscorer :greengrin

I meant the other yin. The trouncing game at ER 🤣

11-12-2020, 05:31 PM
3. 0-10 v Rangers at Ibrox 1898. We had 11 goals disallowed and they got 10 penalties all from offside positions . The referee was A Mason from Govan

11-12-2020, 05:41 PM
3. 0-10 v Rangers at Ibrox 1898. We had 11 goals disallowed and they got 10 penalties all from offside positions . The referee was A Mason from Govan

HibbyDave
11-12-2020, 05:52 PM
Q13.

The goodies won 3-1.
Donald Ford scored fir them and Alex Crowley scored twice for us. Arthur Duncan got the third goal.

11-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Q13.

The goodies won 3-1.
Donald Ford scored fir them and Alex Crowley scored twice for us. Arthur Duncan got the third goal.

11-12-2020, 06:02 PM
Q13.

The goodies won 3-1.

IIRC Ford scored after about 5 minutes, possibly his 1st goal against us, but we were still 3 1 up at ht and only Cruickshanks saved them from another hiding.

green.oracle
11-12-2020, 06:02 PM
16. Eddie May

GGTTH :flag::flag:

11-12-2020, 06:07 PM
16. Eddie May

GGTTH :flag::flag:

👍🏿

11-12-2020, 06:11 PM
Thanks for taking part guys

Brilliant!

11-12-2020, 06:56 PM
Where’s my prize 🤣 thanks Billy always enjoy your quizzes and the first time ever you’ve not sourced fitba stats 🍺🍺

11-12-2020, 06:59 PM
Where’s my prize 🤣 thanks Billy always enjoy your quizzes and the first time ever you’ve not sourced fitba stats 🍺🍺
You have me as a loyal customer :greengrin

Thats your prize

11-12-2020, 07:02 PM
You have me as a loyal customer :greengrin

Thats your prize

That’s enough for me mate! Enjoy your evening 😀

12-12-2020, 02:06 AM
Sorry Billy I meant to say earlier, these quizzes are brilliant, hope you can find time for some more 👍👍

12-12-2020, 07:11 AM
Sorry Billy I meant to say earlier, these quizzes are brilliant, hope you can find time for some more 👍👍

Thanks

Due to my research for the Christmas Quiz I have enough new material for the Not The Christmas Quiz

I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing :greengrin

Watch this space

12-12-2020, 07:36 AM
My Mrs who is a Jambo had a quick look at the Christmas Quiz handed it back to me and said “ You spelt Tynie wrong “ :greengrin