View Full Version : Jock Brown

05-12-2020, 07:31 PM
I really enjoyed listening to Jock Brown today. I listened to the first half on the Home Video and was very impressed by the commentator, not realising it was Jock Brown. He is a joy to listen to.

Col L
05-12-2020, 07:32 PM
Agree. He was always a good commentator and good to hear him back behind the mic on a regular basis.

05-12-2020, 07:33 PM
I really enjoyed listening to Jock Brown today. I listened to the first half on the Home Video and was very impressed by the commentator, not realising it was Jock Brown. He is a joy to listen to.

Agree.

Really took me back to when sportscene was good on a Saturday night with proper highlights.

05-12-2020, 07:34 PM
He was / stil is an excellent commentator. I don't know who the summariser was but he too was very good.

For a club channel, they did a great job.

05-12-2020, 07:35 PM
Yes always liked hearing his commentary, like Bingo say's hark back to the old days.

LithgaeHibby
05-12-2020, 07:39 PM
It was great hearing him again. Plus, he was very balanced about Hibs, with plenty of compliments about our second half performance. Compare that with the classless p***k Stephen Craigan on Radio Jambo who was spewing about the goal that was ruled out.

05-12-2020, 07:40 PM
He must be in his 80’s?

05-12-2020, 07:41 PM
He must be in his 80’s?

74 according to Wikipedia

05-12-2020, 07:41 PM
Man, that’s a throwback from way back... actually never minded jock brown back in the day, was always knowledgable about the game and players

pretty sure he features on the commentary of the Skol cup win video

05-12-2020, 07:43 PM
He must be in his 80’s?

75 in May 2021

05-12-2020, 07:44 PM
Said on another thread, he was excellent

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Stonewall
05-12-2020, 07:46 PM
I think however much he wanted his team to win you always knew he loved the game more.

05-12-2020, 07:47 PM
A big coup Motherwell getting Jock Brown as commentator. 2nd half was like listening to an unbiased TV commentary.

05-12-2020, 07:49 PM
Yes always liked hearing his commentary, like Bingo say's hark back to the old days.

The auld cooncil telly days, his voice immediately took me back to my childhood, pre-internet and four channels!

05-12-2020, 07:58 PM
The two commentators were very good. Fair comments and not biased. Enjoyed them talking through the match

05-12-2020, 08:01 PM
Still miles better than any commentator currently doing Scottish games. Great voice and a really nice simple style. Clearly loves the game and is very positive

Roxyhibee
05-12-2020, 08:05 PM
Commentary was fair and positive from both and Jock Brown was excellent. Fair took me back..

Tobias Funke
05-12-2020, 08:59 PM
Without doubt the best Scottish football commentator around. Was very pleased to hear him today.

Gloucester Hibs
05-12-2020, 09:08 PM
Was actually a bit of a throwback, not heard him
in ages brought back memories of old highlights recorded off Scotsport!
His commentary was excellent glad to hear he’s still going strong.

05-12-2020, 09:16 PM
Always liked Jock Brown. Excellent commentator with a good knowledge of the game

05-12-2020, 09:21 PM
Great guy too. Had a drink with us before the league cup final in 07. Craig Brown is probably the best football person I’ve ever met.

05-12-2020, 09:28 PM
Was actually a bit of a throwback, not heard him
in ages brought back memories of old highlights recorded off Scotsport!
His commentary was excellent glad to hear he’s still going strong.

You’ve got me doubting myself.

Jock brown was Sportscene wasn’t he?

05-12-2020, 09:39 PM

He may have flitted between both but I remember it as Archie McPherson on sportscene and Brown on Scotsport.

05-12-2020, 09:48 PM
It was a great surprise to hear his voice in commentary today.
Last of the knowledgeable non shouty era commentators.
Like a pair of comfy slippers after a tough day.

zitelli62
05-12-2020, 10:02 PM
Second only to the great Arthur stramash montford was a pleasure listening today.

05-12-2020, 10:03 PM

Yep. Before he was Celtic general manager. Mcnee on scotsport back in the good old days.

05-12-2020, 10:04 PM
He may have flitted between both but I remember it as Archie McPherson on sportscene and Brown on Scotsport.

Nah in the 90s mcnee was scotsport and brown bbc when brown went to Celtic he was replaced by Rob McLean. McPherson was on stv when we played under Mowbray.

05-12-2020, 10:06 PM
Yes very balanced even about our first half performance. Good to have a rationale insightful commentary.

05-12-2020, 10:08 PM
The two commentators were very good. Fair comments and not biased. Enjoyed them talking through the match

I agree with this.

Enjoyed their commentary.

Dono who JB is mind you

Gloucester Hibs
05-12-2020, 10:08 PM
Nah in the 90s mcnee was scotsport and brown bbc when brown went to Celtic he was replaced by Rob McLean. McPherson was on stv when we played under Mowbray.

Yep I was wrong I meant Sportscene, McNee not a patch on Jock Brown. Sorry for the confusion folks!

05-12-2020, 10:15 PM

He had years on Scotsport before joining the BBC though.

05-12-2020, 10:45 PM
Love hearing JB again, he seemed to coincide with Kevin Harper a lot on old highlight videos.

RoscoHibby
05-12-2020, 10:49 PM
Love hearing JB again, he seemed to coincide with Kevin Harper a lot on old highlight videos.

Totally get that now you say it!

Was a nice throw back hearing him, sounded just same as before, wouldn’t have thought as old as quoted. SPFL coverage/commentary/pundits seems to be a bit of a free for all just now, hopefully hear more of him!

05-12-2020, 10:59 PM
Jock Brown commentating? Wow!

06-12-2020, 04:29 AM
Breath of fresh air hearing his voice again

Safe to say there is a wide range of difference between the levels of PPV service offered by each club

06-12-2020, 06:09 AM
Jock Brown commentating? Wow!

I really wonder why people go to the bother of posting comments such as these. This thread is obviously for those who got a wee lift from hearing him commentate yesterday. It was a reminder of days in the distant past.

06-12-2020, 07:47 AM
Not heard of him for years, must admit feared this was going to be reporting his passing, rather than his recruitment by Motherwell TV, so a pleasant surprise on opening the thread!

06-12-2020, 07:59 AM
Second only to the great Arthur stramash montford was a pleasure listening today.
VG commentator compared to today but I always felt he had more of a Weegie bias than Montford or MacPherson and I don't recall any iconic moments of commentary. Think Montford describing Jordan's header v Czechoslovakia which qualified us for the '74 WC or MacPherson on the Dalglish header to beat Wales and take us to the '78 WC.

06-12-2020, 08:01 AM
Thought they were both superb. The commentary was knowledgeable and unbiased. Far better than anything I've heard for years and added to the enjoyment of a great game and performance.

zitelli62
06-12-2020, 10:04 AM
VG commentator compared to today but I always felt he had more of a Weegie bias than Montford or MacPherson and I don't recall any iconic moments of commentary. Think Montford describing Jordan's header v Czechoslovakia which qualified us for the '74 WC or MacPherson on the Dalglish header to beat Wales and take us to the '78 WC.
Forgot about McPherson at scotland v Wales game both great commentators.

06-12-2020, 10:44 AM
I really wonder why people go to the bother of posting comments such as these. This thread is obviously for those who got a wee lift from hearing him commentate yesterday. It was a reminder of days in the distant past.

You've misread me, my post was one of genuine surprise.

06-12-2020, 10:53 AM
He had years on Scotsport before joining the BBC though.

Yes. I think he started with the BBC but was certainly on Scotsport in the 80s before returning to the BBC.

Zambernardi1875
06-12-2020, 10:55 AM
Felt like a kid on a Sunday again listening to jock brown yesterday. What a difference compared to squeaky Liam McLeod

06-12-2020, 10:57 AM
Felt like a kid on a Sunday again listening to jock brown yesterday. What a difference compared to squeaky Liam McLeod

Always thought he was a really good commentator. Fond memories of the 91 league cup final

06-12-2020, 11:07 AM
Archie woooof MacPherson.

06-12-2020, 11:36 AM
On a separate note, I notice Peter Alliss has passed away. Probably the best golf commentator ever.

We were spoiled in those days.

AltheHibby
06-12-2020, 12:05 PM
On a separate note, I notice Peter Alliss has passed away. Probably the best golf commentator ever.

Add in Bill McLaren on the rugby and Brian Johnson on the cricket and you suddenly realise how spoiled we used to be.

06-12-2020, 12:33 PM
Add in Bill McLaren on the rugby and Brian Johnson on the cricket and you suddenly realise how spoiled we used to be.

Dan Maskell at Wimbledon.

06-12-2020, 12:45 PM
Jock Brown on Scotsport (def scotsport) is responsible for one of my favourite commentary lines ever during the Souness game in 86.
"If you like football of the red meat variety, you have it here at easter road!"

EI255
06-12-2020, 01:29 PM
I really enjoyed listening to Jock Brown today. I listened to the first half on the Home Video and was very impressed by the commentator, not realising it was Jock Brown. He is a joy to listen to.Sorry, but I disagree. I didn't like him back in the day and still find him a dull voice.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

06-12-2020, 01:42 PM
Dan Maskell at Wimbledon.
I'll raise you Peter O'Sullevan, Harry Carpenter, Whispering Ted Lowe and Sid Waddell.
In years to come do you think the next generation will be looking back fondly to the days of Matt Chapman, Steve Bunce and John Parrot?

06-12-2020, 01:43 PM
He did the Skol Cup victory over Dunfermline. I've got the video up in the attic. His voice always reminds me of that day.

06-12-2020, 01:45 PM

Oh no! I hadn't heard. That's a huge link to the past gone.

06-12-2020, 01:49 PM
He did the Skol Cup victory over Dunfermline. I've got the video up in the attic. His voice always reminds me of that day.

:agree: Me too, a childhood voice of Scottish football :greengrin

would far rather listen to jock brown than most of the jokers today (quite like Ian Crocker tbf)

08-12-2020, 01:08 PM
The best thing about past commentators is that they actually spoke about what was happening on the pitch. Most modern commentators have pages of stats and facts which they are determined to get out, often ignoring exciting passages of play. They add nothing to the game, especially with no crowd.

08-12-2020, 01:25 PM
The best thing about past commentators is that they actually spoke about what was happening on the pitch. Most modern commentators have pages of stats and facts which they are determined to get out, often ignoring exciting passages of play. They add nothing to the game, especially with no crowd.

I always thought of US commentary when stats were involved. Sad we followed them.

When you look at the names above I didn't appreciate what we had at the time.