View Full Version : Leeann Dempster
h1bs4life
26-11-2020, 01:38 PM
Have had a few messages saying Leanne has left Hibs. Not in the know , anybody else heard anything ?
Certainly hope not she has been very good for us ?
Have had a few messages saying Leanne has left Hibs. Not in the know , anybody else heard anything ?
Certainly seems to have disappeared from the face of the earth just now.
26-11-2020, 01:39 PM
She was tweeting about hibs 2 hours ago so I’d be surprised.
26-11-2020, 01:40 PM
Certainly seems to have disappeared from the face of the earth just now.
26-11-2020, 01:44 PM
Forgot she was still there!
26-11-2020, 01:47 PM
Wonder why I don’t see her tweets? I follow her on Twitter but I’ve accused her before of not saying enough, only to find she had tweeted without me seeing it.
Is there a setting on Twitter I might have muted her or something?
h1bs4life
26-11-2020, 01:47 PM
As I said not in the know , just had a few texts saying she is away.
Hope not been very good for us
26-11-2020, 01:52 PM
I saw on social media that we're taking on Al Bundy's neighbour. Maybe leeann's replacement?
26-11-2020, 01:54 PM
I saw on social media that we're taking on Al Bundy's neighbour. Maybe leeann's replacement?
Who’s social media page FFS?!!!
😉
Mr. Wonderful
26-11-2020, 01:56 PM
Lianne is going nowhere
26-11-2020, 01:57 PM
Who’s social media page FFS?!!!
😉
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-fc-announce-partnership-with-marc-darcy
26-11-2020, 01:57 PM
She must've left more times than Martin Boyle at this stage.
26-11-2020, 02:02 PM
Peak Hibs.net
26-11-2020, 02:04 PM
My pal's nephew heard from his mate's Facebook that it is true.
Is that credible?
andudare2
26-11-2020, 02:07 PM
Is that credible?Probably a sh☆☆ rumour started on keekback for the gullable to get their rocks of😁
26-11-2020, 02:11 PM
Evidently taking up the newly created post of apprentice CEO to learn the ropes from Dr.Budge at Tynecastle.
26-11-2020, 02:15 PM
Probably a sh☆☆ rumour started on keekback for the gullable to get their rocks of😁
Correct, they have a Thread on there about it
ben johnson
26-11-2020, 02:25 PM
No bras in the range I see. No surprise
26-11-2020, 02:27 PM
No bras in the range I see. No surprise
AugustaHibs
26-11-2020, 02:33 PM
Heard Ron Gordon’s son is taking over
26-11-2020, 02:34 PM
Would imagine that she'll have a fairly lengthy notice period anyway, so even if the rumour is true I wouldn't expect to see much happening immediately anyway.
26-11-2020, 02:35 PM
Ron Gordon’s son was Al Bundys neighbour?
Wow, all starting to make sense now.
Good scoop Peevemor
26-11-2020, 02:40 PM
Correct, they have a Thread on there about it
Pesky jambos trying to be noticed.
26-11-2020, 02:42 PM
Confirmed by Stephen McGowan on Twitter that she’s leaving and should be confirmed soon
I wonder if she’s leaving to be part of the set up at the SFA? Malky Mackay just left his post
26-11-2020, 02:47 PM
Confirmed by Stephen McGowan on Twitter that she’s leaving and should be confirmed soon
I wonder if she’s leaving to be part of the set up at the SFA? Malky Mackay just left his post
Doubt she’s taking his job.[emoji23]
There has been a lot more commercial activity at Hibs recently and it could be that RG wants to go with his own appointment.
ABZHFC
26-11-2020, 02:48 PM
I'll always be thankful for her hard work in restoring the club to a much, much better place when she first came in, even if I have disagreed with some of her decisions in the latter half of her time at Easter Road.
Wish her all the best in the future if the news is true!
Last Minute
She has tendered her resignation .
Doubt she’s taking his job.[emoji23]
There has been a lot more commercial activity at Hibs recently and it could be that RG wants to go with his own appointment.
Could be right mate
I’d be pretty worried if he hands it to his laddie, which has been rumoured
26-11-2020, 02:50 PM
Could be right mate
I’d be pretty worried if he hands it to his laddie, which has been rumoured
I’m absolutely fine with Ron putting his own person in there.
If it’s his son I’d be interested to know what experience he has that makes him the right person for the job.
Who is Steven McGowan?
Would imagine that she'll have a fairly lengthy notice period anyway, so even if the rumour is true I wouldn't expect to see much happening immediately anyway.
Gardening leave? Not that she can do much gardening at this time of year apart from sweep the leaves, Hmm, maybe get her in as sweeper?
This worries me a bit.
26-11-2020, 02:51 PM
If it’s his son I’d be interested to know what experience he has that makes him the right person for the job.
Yep. That’s my worry. He appoints his son with no explanation as to why he’s the man for the job.
26-11-2020, 02:51 PM
A totally unsurprising and well-contingenced departure based on new ownership and the passing of time?
I would hope that her overall impact on a football club, how it performed and functioned during her time there, could be reviewed by everyone at some levels about 'loyalty points'.
AugustaHibs
26-11-2020, 02:52 PM
Alarm bells ringing if he drafts his son in.....
26-11-2020, 02:52 PM
Who is Steven McGowan?
Daily Mail journo.
26-11-2020, 02:53 PM
As a few have mentioned, if his Son has any experience in this kind of work then I'm not overly worried. If he doesn't though then it doesn't look great.
Just have to trust Ron I guess!
26-11-2020, 02:54 PM
At least this will remove the problem of spelling her name correctly, wrong in McGowan's tweet, wrong in the title of the thread, its never been difficult, it has always been Leeann :greengrin
The Sun is running the story now too.
26-11-2020, 02:55 PM
Who is Steven McGowan?
Awful sports journo for the Mail I think.
Hang on, first Gary Holt resigns at Livingston, followed few hours later by Leeann handing in her resignation.
There are no such things as coincidences in life. :greengrin
The knuckle draggers on Brokeback wil be saying Ron the Con is getting his son in to secretly siphon off money, just the usual guff that they come out with. I won't believe it's true until Leslie Deans squeals it's true
Yep. That’s my worry. He appoints his son with no explanation as to why he’s the man for the job.
If it turns out to be the case, Maybe Ron deserves the benfit of the doubt?
Believe or not I've known a few self made millionaires over the years (mostly clients) and while it's not unusual that they employ members of their family, it's extremely rare that they'll risk giving too much responsibility to somebody who simply isn't up to it just because of who they are - quite the opposite in fact.
26-11-2020, 02:57 PM
The knuugledraggers on Brokeback wil be saying Ron the Con is getting his son in to secretly siphon off money, just the usual guff that they come out with. I won't believe it's true until Leslie Deans squeals it's true
You worry far too much about what’s going on over on JKB
percy veer
Alarm bells ringing if he drafts his son in.....
Does he not know the code like
Perhaps Ron Gordon has taken the last year and a half to take a look at things and wants to freshen the club up? New ideas. new energy. Not opposed to this but as others have said if its his son then i would be keen to know what qualifies him to run a club the size of Hibs.
26-11-2020, 02:58 PM
Daily Mail journo.
Thanks.
26-11-2020, 02:59 PM
The Sun
HIBS chief executive Leeann Dempster is set to LEAVE the club, according to reports.
Daily Mail football writer Stephen McGowan claims that she is set to depart her position, with confirmation expected in due course.
The news will come as a huge shock to the Easter Road club's (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14943/hibernian/) supporters.
Dempster has been on the Hibs board since leaving Premiership rivals Motherwell in 2014 and is highly respected throughout the Scottish game.
26-11-2020, 03:05 PM
Yes this is it bingo. If he gets the job because he’s qualified for it then fair enough, if it’s simply because he’s related to the owner then I’ll be extremely worried.
26-11-2020, 03:11 PM
Yes this is it bingo. If he gets the job because he’s qualified for it then fair enough, if it’s simply because he’s related to the owner then I’ll be extremely worried.
Don't have an issue if Ron brings in his own person whether that be his son or not but will need to clearly communicate how he is capable of doing such a role.
ElginHibbie
26-11-2020, 03:12 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-leeann-dempster
All the best Leeann!
26-11-2020, 03:13 PM
As long as his son isn't Jarkko Wiss.......
From what we know of Ron what is the likelihood he’d give it to anyone just for the sake of it?
Statement out. She is leaving
26-11-2020, 03:14 PM
Don't have an issue if Ron brings in his own person whether that be his son or not but will need to clearly communicate how he is capable of doing such a role.
Why?
Anything that's said can be taken with a pinch of salt. He's hardly going to say "in fact he's a bit of an arse but he's ma laddie?"
If Leeann is away, we'll know in the coming months and years whether her replacement is a success.
26-11-2020, 03:15 PM
If true then you have to recognise her consistently high performance week in week out since 2014, so much so maybe some would have had her in midfield instead of Mallan!
26-11-2020, 03:16 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201126/b24df7b89ae377cb191a730d043a1919.png
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-leeann-dempster
Personally think she has done a fantastic job and wish her well in the future. Thanks Leeann. :aok:
Official
Gordy M
26-11-2020, 03:17 PM
Reading the statememt it certainly doesnt look like RG wanted her to leave........
26-11-2020, 03:17 PM
Good statement.
All the best Leeann!
26-11-2020, 03:18 PM
If it turns out to be the case, Maybe Ron deserves the benfit of the doubt?
Believe or not I've known a few self made millionaires over the years (mostly clients) and while it's not unusual that they employ members of their family, it's extremely rare that they'll risk giving too much responsibility to somebody who simply isn't up to it just because of who they are - quite the opposite in fact.
The issue comes down to how Ron sees us and what he is expecting for his investment.
I would agree with your point above if we are talking about a commercial venture. Its unlikely a smart, experienced business person will stick a family member into a job they are ill suited or experienced for and risk losing money.
But does Ron see his ownership of us in the same way? If we are more of a hobby for him he might not be too fussed about giving family a chance.
FWIW I've liked what I've seen and heard of Ron.
But if my work did something similar I'd be worried about cronyism.
26-11-2020, 03:18 PM
Why?
Anything that's said can be taken with a pinch of salt. He's hardly going to say "in fact he's a bit of an arse but he's ma laddie?"
If Leeann is away, we'll know in the coming months and years whether her replacement is a success.
Just think he will need to sell that message as think there would be some scepticism. He owns the club so he makes the decisions though.
26-11-2020, 03:20 PM
Thanks Leeann for everything you have done for the club. You came at one of our darkest times and moved us onto a new level.
Won't be the same without you.
Btw does this mean we now get loyalty points?😂
Fuzzywuzzy
26-11-2020, 03:21 PM
Will be interesting to see where she goes next. If she even remains in football or sport
26-11-2020, 03:22 PM
Hardly a shock. 5 years is probably about the shelf life for someone in that position.
She came in, made some very good decisions and freshened things up. I think the arrival of RG proved that things needed freshened up again/further. If he wants his own person in to do that then that is totally understandable.
LD done a very good job at Hibs but I don't buy into the idea she is irreplaceable. Time will tell.
26-11-2020, 03:23 PM
Will be interesting to see where she goes next. If she even remains in football or sport
I think she'll stay in the game, next stop Rangers or the SFA.:wink:
h1bs4life
26-11-2020, 03:24 PM
Unfortunately the rumours were right .
Thanks Leanne for all your hard work played a very big part in us achieving the Holy Grail in 2016.
Good luck in the future.
Wonder when we will announce Ron Gordon's son who is Al Bundy's neighbour as her replacement , have messaged my mates but they have not heard anything in fact one of them said who is Al Bundy.
26-11-2020, 03:25 PM
Is that credible?
Well this hasn't aged well in the last hour or so...
Actually surprised she stayed here so long. She was always going to move onto a bigger project. Be interesting where she ends up next. I think she’s based west coast so SFA or Rangers quite probable.
She has done some fantastic work and built some really solid foundations.
The next appointment is going to be really interesting. Ideally some more stability (she was here 6 years) but fresh ideas will also be welcomed as the club keeps evolving.
She's done a great job but I think the timing is right for both parties for her to move on.
It's important that Hibs get the right person in next, have thought for a while we're ready to really push on with Gordon's plans for the club, so lets hope we do it.
Radge70
Frees her up for the next league reconstruction committee anyway 😂
EI255
No real shock here. Money saver and things really need freshened up throughout the club and change is long overdue. Thanks Leanne though [emoji106]
In Ronnie Boy we trust [emoji1262]
Fuzzywuzzy
26-11-2020, 03:27 PM
EI255
26-11-2020, 03:28 PM
Will be interesting to see where she goes next. If she even remains in football or sportWere there not rumours that Hearts, Rangers, Scottish Rugby, Celtic.... etc etc etc all wanted her?
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
h185forever
26-11-2020, 03:30 PM
Good Luck and thank you!!......I just hope you don't go to Castle Greyskull
26-11-2020, 03:31 PM
Good Luck and thank you!!......I just hope you don't go to Castle Greyskull
She was a season ticket holder at Rangers so wouldn't be a great surprise if she ended up there
Thanks for the memories, Leeann
26-11-2020, 03:33 PM
Thanks for your efforts Leeann
You were greatly appreciated
I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the future
Good luck!
26-11-2020, 03:34 PM
Great servant and ambassador for the club. Will be a big loss for Hibs. Her contribution, especially during he dark days of relegation was invaluable. She will be a difficult act to follow.
Best wishes for the future.
Mikey_1875
26-11-2020, 03:35 PM
Leeann has done a fantastic job and certainly in the early and middle part of her tenure linked everything together between fans, board and managers.
She has definitely been less in the public eye pre and during Gordons takeover so now that Gordon has familiarised himself with things it makes sense.
While replacing her in a purely business sense might not be as difficult as thought I think it is very important that we get the position or new structure spot on in the PR side of things. Although Leeanns presence may have reduced in the last year or two she was still a familiar and friendly face for the fans to feel connection to the upper echelons of the club and this is a gap that will need to be filled.
My very best wishes to Leeann. She has done a magnificent job at Hibs and I think we should accept her reasons at face value. It must be a 24/7 job and it seems a good time to stop to take a breath and decide what she want to do with her life. I think we should accept that and stop all the ridiculous speculation.
In terms of her successor, I would like to see someone with experience in the leisure and entertainment industry that can take us to the next step. If by any chance Ron feels that a family member is qualified for the role then I trust the man to know better than any of us do. If it was his son, for instance, then I think it shows that he and his family are in this for the long term and that has to be good for the Club.
Leeann was excellent for the club. Like all leaders she didn't get everything right nor please everyone. But she has had a massive positive impact and she leaves us in a better place than when she came in. All the best to her in the future. She helped make 21/05/16 happen!!
26-11-2020, 03:38 PM
We absolutely need to make the right appointment now.
Ron giving it to his son sounds like a disaster
Thanks for everything Leeann
26-11-2020, 03:38 PM
Sad news. Overall I think she's done a very good job. I wonder where she is off to - The Rangers? Hope not. Best of luck to her for the future; she leaves big shoes to fill.
Greenworld
26-11-2020, 03:39 PM
She's done a great job but I think the timing is right for both parties for her to move on.
It's important that Hibs get the right person in next, have thought for a while we're ready to really push on with Gordon's plans for the club, so lets hope we do it.Exactly my thoughts on it happy to see a new person with fresh ideas
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Unfortunately the rumours were right .
Thanks Leanne for all your hard work played a very big part in us achieving the Holy Grail in 2016.
Good luck in the future.
Wonder when we will announce Ron Gordon's son who is Al Bundy's neighbour as her replacement , have messaged my mates but they have not heard anything in fact one of them said who is Al Bundy.
I just hope he is not a square Peg in a round hole...
Sorry to see her go, done a fantastic job.
Wish her all the best.
James Stephen
I think she leaves the job in a much better state than she found it, which is a great legacy, especially in the difficult world of football.
Do agree than senior posts probably have a shelf life, and must be very demanding for her too from a personal point of view, so i dont necessarily think its a bad move for either side.
She has made a very positive contribution to Hibs and in the main been an excellent chief executive. Can only wish her well in whatever she does next. (Unless that’s at Ibrox)
We absolutely need to make the right appointment now.
Ron giving it to his son sounds like a disaster
Thanks for everything Leeann
"Look at me everyone"
26-11-2020, 03:40 PM
A long time to be in any role. Been an excellent effort from her and we can only hope we get someone else of the same quality. I will be very worried if its a relation of Ron..
26-11-2020, 03:40 PM
Can we now appoint someone whose name is easy to spell?
26-11-2020, 03:41 PM
"Look at me everyone"
Please explain what about my post points to me wanting attention?
****ing grow up mate.
Plenty posters said the exact same as I just have
HSL was her big thing, and it seems to be dropping off. Without that, I don't know what her role would be here.
She had some success and backed the managers. If Ron Gordon keeps backing the management, I'm not concerned.
Up The Bracket
lianne is going nowhere
in the know
HendoDelivered
26-11-2020, 03:42 PM
Gutted
26-11-2020, 03:43 PM
wouldnt be surprised if she ends up in the SFA
26-11-2020, 03:44 PM
Alan Burrows from Motherwell would be a good replacement for her.
AugustaHibs
****ing grow up mate.
Your post is spot on mate. Unsure how people think him giving it to his son would be a forward step.
Greenworld
Maybe raid motherwell again think the guy there is very good
Greenworld
26-11-2020, 03:45 PM
Alan Burrows from Motherwell would be a good replacement for her.Thats the guy I'm thinking as well
26-11-2020, 03:47 PM
Alan Burrows from Motherwell would be a good replacement for her.
He's a lifelong Motherwell fan who went from the terraces to the boardroom. He used to run the Motherwell equivalent of .net. I don't think he would leave there.
26-11-2020, 03:48 PM
****ing grow up mate.
Because I find it difficult not to read your original post like some breathless 19 year old airhead reporter..........
She has done a decent job, we will get someone else in to deliver Rons vision - I doubt that Dempster was keen to play 2nd fiddle for the long term so it suits all parties. :aok:
26-11-2020, 03:48 PM
Your post is spot on mate. Unsure how people think him giving it to his son would be a forward step.
Equally, we don't know that it wouldn't be.
Gutted
Why, people move jobs all the time, I certainly did.
26-11-2020, 03:49 PM
We don't know if he's going to give it to his son.
We don't know anything about his son.
But we definitely will assume that it'll be a bad move?
26-11-2020, 03:50 PM
Because I find it difficult not to read your original post like some breathless 19 year old airhead reporter..........
She has done a decent job, we will get someone else in to deliver Rons vision - I doubt that Dempster was keen to play 2nd fiddle for the long term so it suits all parties. :aok:
What a ****ing strange way to read my post then.
That’s on you
26-11-2020, 03:51 PM
Very disappointed to see Leeann on the way out, I think she's the best thing to happen to the club in my time as a supporter.
Thank you for all your time, effort, and leadership, Leeann. An example for CEOs all across football.
Huge ask for Ron Gordon on pursuing a replacement now. Hopefully he makes a sound choice.
Magpie
26-11-2020, 03:51 PM
Thank you Leeann, she could easily have decided to not bother after we got relegated but she came in made some tough decisions which led us to a Scottish Cup etc.
We now have the opportunity of someone with fresh ideas to come in and take us to that next level.
26-11-2020, 03:53 PM
Burrows from Motherwell would be a terrific appointment
badabing67
26-11-2020, 03:54 PM
Thank you Leeann, truly feels like a changing of the guard..... all the best for the future
26-11-2020, 03:55 PM
Thank you Leeann, you were good for our club and vice versa. We can only be wishing you good luck and fair weather in the future. You were there on that great day having played your part in bringing us the holy grail.
26-11-2020, 03:56 PM
Very disappointed to see Leeann on the way out, I think she's the best thing to happen to the club in my time as a supporter.
Thank you for all your time, effort, and leadership, Leeann. An example for CEOs all across football.
Huge ask for Ron Gordon on pursuing a replacement now. Hopefully he makes a sound choice.
It wouldn't surprise me if LD has done most of the work on that already. A succession plan is what a good CEO does.
26-11-2020, 03:56 PM
Burrows from Motherwell would be a terrific appointment
As above mate, I don't think it would happen, even if we asked. Motherwell is more than a job to him, it's his lifelong club. If you got the CEO job at Hibs, would you leave to join Celtic or Rangers, even for much more money?
26-11-2020, 03:57 PM
Did a great job but probably time for new blood for us and a new challenge for LD. Hopefully loyalty points can now have a chance of returning.
26-11-2020, 03:57 PM
I'll dae it. What's a mair Hibs name than Mick? :greengrin
Just_Jimmy
26-11-2020, 03:58 PM
she's had successes and failures. she came in at the right time and she's generally got it right.
her managers can all be labelled a success except Heckingbottom and even then he wasn't a complete failure for his full reign.
I wish her well. it's probably right for Hibs too and it'll being fresh ideas in. a few things had gone a bit stale and could do with a shake up.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
26-11-2020, 03:59 PM
I'll dae it. What's a mair Hibs name than Mick? :greengrin
Ok mikk, it's all yours
26-11-2020, 04:00 PM
26-11-2020, 04:01 PM
Well done to the OP, called it spot on.
Time for change and not surprised by this at all. She said from day 1 that 5 years is about the right length of time to serve as a CEO.
Wish her well in the future, she’s been good for us but probably for the best that she moves on.
davhibby
26-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Why has everyone decided that Ron’s bringing his son in
Bangkok Hibby
26-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Just emailed her. Automatic reply says she's on leave.
Bangkok Hibby
26-11-2020, 04:05 PM
"Look at me everyone"
Shan comment
Just emailed her. Automatic reply says she's on leave.
You asking her to put a word in for you?
HSL was her big thing, and it seems to be dropping off. Without that, I don't know what her role would be here.
She had some success and backed the managers. If Ron Gordon keeps backing the management, I'm not concerned.
HSL? I can't imagine that will be high on her CV.
26-11-2020, 04:06 PM
Ok mikk, it's all yours
:greengrin congrats Mike
Rumble de Thump
26-11-2020, 04:06 PM
Not a huge surprise. Now that Ron Gordon has seen all three episodes of the Hearts documentary he'll have had a glimpse of how a big club is run and I imagine he'll try to lure one of the big guns from the Hearts management team - perhaps the finance lady who described their transfer window as chaos or the media lady who never seemed to know what was going on.
26-11-2020, 04:12 PM
Ok mikk, it's all yours
CEO requires a serious, business heid type, not a crazy idealist. More your area, CWG; though turning Hibs into a worker run enterprise would be very popular I think. The James Connolly Main Stand - I like that.
green with envy
26-11-2020, 04:12 PM
Hang on, first Gary Holt resigns at Livingston, followed few hours later by Leeann handing in her resignation.
There are no such things as coincidences in life. :greengrin
Are you suggesting that Gary Holt is in the frame to replace LD as the new CEO?😂
sadtom
26-11-2020, 04:13 PM
Thanks Leeann.
You've done an excellent job.
You should go down in Hibernian history as a vital component in securing the Holy Grail.
Just as important, if not more so, than any coach or player involved.
Forever grateful.
26-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Can't see replacement being the obvious one here. Think Ron Gordon will have ideas and may want someone from the US. Needs football knowledge but has to be a business person. Think this has been coming for a while, in interviews Leeann has frequently flirted with the "I won't always be here" type stuff so I think she probably stayed on to help Ron Gordon get a start.
Not So Young
26-11-2020, 04:16 PM
It will be intersting to see where her next challenge takes her
She has been central to the growth for the last six years so will be missed
Equally, we don't know that it wouldn't be.
Equally one unsubstantiated post saying his son will the replacement has everyone in a frenzy, could be anyone.
Robbo6-2
26-11-2020, 04:20 PM
Very strange time to leave, makes me wonder if there has been issue.
Must admit its abit worrying. There is a absolutely no doubt she has turned this club around. The club was a mess when she took over and has turned us into a modern day club.
Sad day for me
26-11-2020, 04:21 PM
From what we know of Ron what is the likelihood he’d give it to anyone just for the sake of it?
Some folk just can’t help themselves it seems.
26-11-2020, 04:22 PM
Must admit its abit worrying. There is a absolutely no doubt she has turned this club around. The club was a mess when she took over and has turned us into a modern day club.
Sad day for me
Me too. I thought she did an outstanding job overall.
26-11-2020, 04:23 PM
Has she left though?
Haven't had time to go through five pages since getting home from work?
26-11-2020, 04:24 PM
Has she left though?
Haven't had time to go through five pages since getting home from work?
Officially confirmed mate aye.
Unsure when she actually leaves her role
andudare2
26-11-2020, 04:24 PM
Sad day for meBeing stated on some Facebook Hibs groups that her Mum has terminal cancer,if this is the case then she has definitely done the right thing in leaving the club.
26-11-2020, 04:26 PM
Maybe now Stubbsy can return
26-11-2020, 04:27 PM
Just give it to SDG.
Rumble de Thump
26-11-2020, 04:30 PM
What's Scott Gardiner up to?
26-11-2020, 04:30 PM
Just give it to SDG.
Only if I'm allowed to do it alongside my role on delivering updates on the Coronavirus thread on here.
26-11-2020, 04:35 PM
Only if I'm allowed to do it alongside my role on delivering updates on the Coronavirus thread on here.
Done.
green with envy
26-11-2020, 04:43 PM
Maybe now Stubbsy can return
Don't think he has the experience.🙈
26-11-2020, 04:46 PM
Sad day for me
She likely gave notice some time ago and we’re hearing as she’s about to leave.
26-11-2020, 04:47 PM
Sad day for me
On her first day there was a protest in the carpark by supporters. There wasn't even a match on.
That is how bad things were.
26-11-2020, 04:48 PM
Done.
So who is getting it then? Davey or Mikey?
26-11-2020, 04:49 PM
The fans of the club she goes to next better brace themselves if they have a Loyalty Points scheme..
26-11-2020, 04:50 PM
So who is getting it then? Davey or Mikey?
CWG is getting it. The suits always win in the end :greengrin:rules:
26-11-2020, 04:53 PM
Maybe Ron is thinking about appointing an - available mid January - ex politician from the USA :cb
26-11-2020, 04:54 PM
CWG is getting it. The suits always win in the end :greengrin:rules:
CGW hasn't worn a suit in years. **** him.
banchoryhibs
26-11-2020, 04:59 PM
I wish Leeann all the very best in whatever role she takes on now. She has undoubtedly left the club in a much better shape than it was in when she arrived. We've a proper football department that's not reliant upon the whim of the manager who is in place at any moment in time and she was engaged in Ron's plans to re-vitalise the commercial departments following their stagnation under the latter years of Rod Petrie's stewardship. She also spearheaded our Club's initiatives to fully engage in our community.
Ron has demonstrably committed to our Club, investing a considerable amount of his personal wealth, so I'd be very surprised if Leeann's successor was someone who was unsuitable for the role - be it his son or a new appointee.
26-11-2020, 05:02 PM
Sorry to hear she is leaving. This club was a bloody car crash when she arrived, in fact as I recall as she conducted her very first board meeting there was 2000 folk in the car park outside with pitchforks and fiery torches screaming for the head of Rod Petrie ( I know, I was one of them :greengrin ) we had a manager everybody hated and not even enough players to put a team on the park.
The difference two years later was night and day, we had a team worth paying to watch, the Scottish cup in the bag and fans and the club were all pals again. In the few years after that we were back in the premiership and achieving our highest average crowds in 40 years.
Yes there were glitches. Lets face it, no owner, chairman or CEO can keep every fitba fan happy, achieving that makes herding cats look like a piece of piss. But in the balance Leeann Dempster has been brilliant for this club and I wish her all the very best in whatever she chooses to do next, when you look at her work here she should't be short of offers.
Thanks for everything Leeann, your successor has some big shoes to fill :aok:
Edit: Unless you end up at the Currant Buns of course, in which case I retract my best wishes :na na:
Hakim Sar
26-11-2020, 05:03 PM
As part of the Scottish cup winning team she deserves immense gratitude. Always quite liked her really, although in the last 18 months communication with the supporters was a bit lacking, particularly with Neil Lennon’ exit.
Wish her all the best.
26-11-2020, 05:06 PM
When she said “right time to leave Hibs”. I think the right time would be end of the season surely giving more time for someone to settle in?
Did she help find a replacement or ?
Mid season is either she wants a complete break or as said before she has an another opportunity lined up. Expecting some movement in near future on both sides to see what happens.
The Wireless
26-11-2020, 05:08 PM
I hope he is more capable than Romanovs son.:confused:
GORDONSMITH7
26-11-2020, 05:09 PM
Hi, I am an Admin on the Bounce as several may know on here. I posted this on the Bounce. It may or not be of interest but would like to share it with you.
Clearly nobody knows much at all, perhaps an SFA post teaming up with Rod? A move to her girlhood club? Who knows.
No matter I wish her nothing but good luck. She will go down in Hibernian folklore along with Sir David, Alan Stubbs et al. I personally will always fall at the feet of Stubbs, Leeann and Greig Mailer for their generosity of both material and spiritual help to a dying son.
BIG G
All the best Leann , took the club forward
When she said “right time to leave Hibs”. I think the right time would be end of the season surely giving more time for someone to settle in?
Mid season is either she wants a complete break or as said before she has an another opportunity lined up. Expecting some movement in near future on both sides to see what happens.
She is helping with the transition though so the right time IS now. Help the new incumbent transition over the remaining months and leave them ready to go for next season.
26-11-2020, 05:11 PM
If the rumours going around that her mum is very ill are true then that is every reason to quit when she want's, that makes any time the right time. It could of course be that between her and Ron Gordon this has been known for months and plans are already advanced for her replacement.
26-11-2020, 05:16 PM
Mid season is either she wants a complete break or as said before she has an another opportunity lined up. Expecting some movement in near future on both sides to see what happens.The end of the season and the close season are probably among the busiest periods for a CEO of a football club. Now is as good a time as any.
26-11-2020, 05:19 PM
If the rumours going around that her mum is very ill are true then that is every reason to quit when she want's, that makes any time the right time. It could of course be that between her and Ron Gordon this has been known for months and plans are already advanced for her replacement.
I’m sorry to hear that if true and family comes before anything.
It wasn’t a dig at her or the club just curious with the wording. It’s taken majority by surprise today but the response also has shown how much of an asset she has been to the club - so very grateful for that.
26-11-2020, 05:21 PM
Hi, I am an Admin on the Bounce as several may know on here. I posted this on the Bounce. It may or not be of interest but would like to share it with you.
Clearly nobody knows much at all, perhaps an SFA post teaming up with Rod? A move to her girlhood club? Who knows.
No matter I wish her nothing but good luck. She will go down in Hibernian folklore along with Sir David, Alan Stubbs et al. I personally will always fall at the feet of Stubbs, Leeann and Greig Mailer for their generosity of both material and spiritual help to a dying son.
BIG G
Good to see you again, big yin. Hope you and the family are well.
Allez Hibs
26-11-2020, 05:25 PM
Lets get in someone who understands how big Hibs are and who creates a proper culture of competitiveness and success. 2016 is brought up far too often now, we cant live off that forever - we should be looking forward to the next cup win.
Eaststand
26-11-2020, 05:25 PM
We don't know if he's going to give it to his son.
We don't know anything about his son.
But we definitely will assume that it'll be a bad move?
This type of commonsense observation will surely never catch on 👍
BIG G
💚
26-11-2020, 05:36 PM
In these days of every single social media post or comment seemingly attracting at least one ****hole, the responses to her tweet are fantastic.
davhibby
26-11-2020, 05:38 PM
Is it possible that she was originally planning to go at the end of last season and stayed on through the worst of the uncertainty etc that’s surrounded this year
26-11-2020, 05:39 PM
BIG G
Well said Gordon. Spot on mate.
26-11-2020, 05:39 PM
In these days of every single social media post or comment seemingly attracting at least one ****hole, the responses to her tweet are fantastic.
I don't do Twitter, but that's good to hear.
26-11-2020, 05:40 PM
BIG G
Hi Big G. I hope all is well.
I remember you telling me about how great they were at the time. She really did get the community aspect.
I used to do the school tickets with the late Rod Cranston. He was terminally ill at the time of the cup final.
Leeann organised for his grandson to be Jason Cummings mascot and great seats for Rod and family.
I have a lot of time for her.
26-11-2020, 05:45 PM
Thanks for everything Leeann.
Max_Shah
26-11-2020, 05:49 PM
Good luck in your future endeavors Leeann.
Your efforts to turn us into a professional 21st Century football club with strong community/inclusive values have been very much appreciated by this fair-weather [LGBT] fan.
I truly hope this is part of a grand plan by Big Ron.....
1875Sean
26-11-2020, 05:52 PM
Hopefully she doesn’t join Rangers, would love to see her replace Doncaster and get the SPL on the right track
AltheHibby
26-11-2020, 05:52 PM
Maybe Ron is thinking about appointing an - available mid January - ex politician from the USA :cb
Surely he would be better suited to his fellow orangemen?
26-11-2020, 05:53 PM
Lets get in someone who understands how big Hibs are and who creates a proper culture of competitiveness and success. 2016 is brought up far too often now, we cant live off that forever - we should be looking forward to the next cup win.
This post smells.
There isn’t a hibs fan on planet earth who thinks our Scottish cup win is “brought up far too often”
After decades of being slagged about it we’ve to shut up after 4 years?
Naw.
26-11-2020, 05:57 PM
She did an excellent job when she arrived and really transformed us beyond all recognition. Can’t help but feel it’s probably time for a fresh approach.
Hope she joins the SFA and takes a broom with her to do a similar job to what she inherited at Hibs.
26-11-2020, 06:20 PM
Lianne is going nowhere
In the know :wink::doh:
If the information about her mum is true it is absolutely the right time leave. Going by the statement it does not appear she will jump straight back in to another football job.
Really like Leeann and wish her and her family all the best.
This post smells.
There isn’t a hibs fan on planet earth who thinks our Scottish cup win is “brought up far too often”
After decades of being slagged about it we’ve to shut up after 4 years?
Naw.
Doesn't smell at all, too often I get the impression that we won the cup all is well and maybe we'll win it again so day.
26-11-2020, 06:38 PM
Surely he would be better suited to his fellow orangemen?
Trump and his white robes and hood, along with burning cross. Same lineage as the Orange, certainly: Grand Wizard (Grand Master) Donnie.
26-11-2020, 07:01 PM
Doesn't smell at all, too often I get the impression that we won the cup all is well and maybe we'll win it again so day.
Opinions and all that. I don’t think winning the cup is an excuse for believing all is well but saying we go on about it too much is a different thing altogether
26-11-2020, 07:12 PM
Scott Burns just tweeted
“A big loss to @HibernianFC. Unfortunately, the new owner won’t realise how big until it is too late.”
He’s the journalist that’s always been said to have a good relationship with Dempster. Sounds like he’s suggesting it’s not been as amicable a parting as the statement suggests.
Also seems like a bit of a fanny that guy so probably just stirring.
Going by the club statement, it looks like she's done all she can do after she took over her job, with a new owner who's more commercially astute that Petrie, she's probably realised her job is nothing like it was when she first came. Ron was always going to do things his way as he's entitled to do and possibly Leeann has seen that her role is becoming less important.
I thank her for all her hard work and helping Hibernian be a force in Scottish football again, she leaves with the club in a very good position, so the best of wishes in whatever she does now.
26-11-2020, 07:21 PM
Scott Burns just tweeted
“A big loss to @HibernianFC. Unfortunately, the new owner won’t realise how big until it is too late.”
He’s the journalist that’s always been said to have a good relationship with Dempster. Sounds like he’s suggesting it’s not been as amicable a parting as the statement suggests.
Also seems like a bit of a fanny that guy so probably just stirring.
Very strange line to take imo. Until what's too late.
26-11-2020, 07:22 PM
Exactly, just replied to it on Twitter.
Can he define “too late”? Most likely not.
Slavering Hun dick who’s constantly trying to stick the boot in to us
26-11-2020, 07:27 PM
Taking what he says at face value and suppose he does have some inside information from Dempster it would suggest to me Dempster has tried to negotiate more money and Hibs have told her to bolt.
Given the way of the world just now I find that pretty unlikely.
I think he’s just stirring, would be good to see Dempster put him right but she doesn’t owe us anything to do that.
26-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Very grateful to Dempster for her hard work in rebuilding us off the pitch and wish her well for the future.
As regards who replaces her, I'll judge them on their history and not their family until they've been here long enough to be judged on their record with Hibs.
Taking what he says at face value and suppose he does have some inside information from Dempster it would suggest to me Dempster has tried to negotiate more money and Hibs have told her to bolt.
I think he’s just stirring, would be good to see Dempster put him right but she doesn’t owe us anything to do that.
I would probably suggest her role at Hibs is less than it was with Ron possibly having a lot more say in the running of the club, STF had noting to do with us and Petrie was an accountant, Leeann was a football person charged with restructuring our club, this has now been done and the club is in new hands.
26-11-2020, 07:36 PM
He seems to have a bit of an agenda to be honest.
26-11-2020, 07:37 PM
That’s been the case a few times with him recently.
26-11-2020, 07:43 PM
Maybe. Or maybe LD wanted more control or advocated a different path and RG disagreed.
I'm not reading a whole lot into it. RG is entitled to have the final say on decisions, he's the man in charge now.
Who does he write for?
Hibees1973
26-11-2020, 08:12 PM
Must admit the timing of this is strange with the situation Scottish Football is in. Given the job Leeann has done and the integrity she has shown she would not have chosen to leave now unless she had to.
Hibs are a much better club now, mainly due to Dempster. She has my gratitude and best wishes for the future.
The next couple of years are going to be huge for the club given the financial mess the game is in up here.
We will now find out how good an owner Ron is. He is at the helm of a club who are now consistently at the top end of the table and numerous visits to Hampden over the last 4 or 5 years. Will this continue or a decline/slide down the table.
Ron needs to appoint a Chief Exec with experience of the game up here.
His next move will determine how successful his tenure will be at Hibs.
I hope we are in good hands.
26-11-2020, 08:19 PM
5/6 years is probably about the right time to be moving on, especially with the new owner. Been a few bumps along the way but all in all she's done a very good job. She'll be thought of as warmly as our cup winning team in years to come, perhaps even more so. All the best Leeann, you deserve it.
26-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Maybe Hibs tried to negotiate less money and Dempster told us to bolt?
I think she's been outstanding. Not many people will join our club with us in a particular role, with the club being in a certain position, and leave with the club in so far superior a position as she has. It was a significant role too.
People love to dwell on negatives but LD has been a resounding success for us and I hope we can all show her the level of gratitude that she deserves.
It would help if she went nowhere near the huns, ever.
I suspect her time probably just ran it's course. When that happens little niggles just tend to arise, and this year hasn't exactly been an easy one. Knowing when to leave is a skill that requires good judgment, judgment that she has shown to be largely impeccable throughout her time with us.
Whatever has happened she is a tough act to follow, and I hope we don't live to regret whatever might have happened.
This IS the best time for LD to leave if she had to.
She has been fantastic. We do have a new hands on owner now though and I always thought this change was coming. LD galvanized the club, professionalized it, put a strong structure in place and has been a big success.
Commercially though it has to be said we are miles behind. Even before the pandemic we well behind Hearts and Aberdeen on commercial and hospitality income despite in the main having more fans through the door. I would expect this to be the area Ron will be focusing on in the future when life gets back to normal. LD was more a COO than a CEO in my opinion. What we needed given relegation starting point.
26-11-2020, 08:29 PM
Maybe Hibs tried to negotiate less money and Dempster told us to bolt?
I think she's been outstanding. Not many people will join our club with us in a particular role, with the club being in a certain position, and leave with the club in so far superior a position as she has. It was a significant role too.
People love to dwell on negatives but LD has been a resounding success for us and I hope we can all show her the level of gratitude that she deserves.
It would help if she went nowhere near the huns, ever.
I suspect her time probably just ran it's course. When that happens little niggles just tend to arise, and this year hasn't exactly been an easy one. Knowing when to leave is a skill that requires good judgment, judgment that she has shown to be largely impeccable throughout her time with us.
Whatever has happened she is a tough act to follow, and I hope we don't live to regret whatever might have happened.
Just to clarify. I’m not saying Dempster tried to negotiate anything. I’m saying that to me, that is what Scott Burns is insinuating..
You are right though, in the hypothetical scenario Scott Burns appears to be creating the negotiation could have got either way.
I think the likelihood is that it had nothing to do with that and it is simply that she felt it was the right time for her to move on.
26-11-2020, 08:36 PM
Must admit the timing of this is strange with the situation Scottish Football is in. Given the job Leeann has done and the integrity she has shown she would not have chosen to leave now unless she had to.
Hibs are a much better club now, mainly due to Dempster. She has my gratitude and best wishes for the future.
The next couple of years are going to be huge for the club given the financial mess the game is in up here.
We will now find out how good an owner Ron is. He is at the helm of a club who are now consistently at the top end of the table and numerous visits to Hampden over the last 4 or 5 years. Will this continue or a decline/slide down the table.
Ron needs to appoint a Chief Exec with experience of the game up here.
His next move will determine how successful his tenure will be at Hibs.
I hope we are in good hands.
I don’t think they need to have experience of the game up here. A fresh set of eyes would be a good thing imo.
Is there anybody at the club that could be promoted into Dempster role?
26-11-2020, 08:42 PM
I don’t think they need to have experience of the game up here. A fresh set of eyes would be a good thing imo.
Is there anybody at the club that could be promoted into Dempster role?
No one springs to mind. Greg McEwan head of marketing is the obvious internal candidate but lacks experience in anything other than marketing.
I suppose it depends on what RG is looking for in a CEO
26-11-2020, 08:46 PM
Is that credible?
Obviously.
26-11-2020, 08:55 PM
Did a sterling job and certainly improved the club all round, for which I'm eternally grateful.
I couldn't see how we were going to kick on again from where we are now and maybe we'd peaked under her direction? Also a reasonable chance she'll pop up at greyskull, or maybe a bigger and better role somewhere else.
All the best regardless.
26-11-2020, 08:57 PM
Why does anything need to have happened?
Why not just take Leanne and Ron at their word and accept that she wanted to move on to a new challenge?
It doesn’t suggest there is any problem at all unless you’re looking to make one.
My guess is she’s moving into a whole new area, I think she’s maybe involved in community housing or something similar.
Dalkeith Boy
26-11-2020, 08:57 PM
Leanne Dempster is the best thing that happened to Hibs in recent years. I think she has done a magnificent job for Hibs. I am sorry that she is leaving and I hope there is nothing sinister going on that we don't know about. If it was totally her decision then we can only accept it and thank her for being someone who put her heart and soul into making us better.
Thank you Leanne and whatever direction you go in I have no doubt that you will continue to be very successful.
I did have the pleasure of meeting Leanne in the corridors of Hibs offices in 2016 when I was in ordering an East Terrace stone for my brother and myself. She graciously stopped and introduced herself and spent about 10 mins chatting and listening to me as I spoke about the "Stanton, McNamee and Baxter" days. A class act for sure!
26-11-2020, 09:06 PM
Why does anything need to have happened?
Why not just take Leanne and Ron at their word and accept that she wanted to move on to a new challenge?
It doesn’t suggest there is any problem at all unless you’re looking to make one.
My guess is she’s moving into a whole new area, I think she’s maybe involved in community housing or something similar.[emoji106]
Not that unusual for people in that sort of role to move on, sometimes coinciding with achieving a big target, Leanne might actually have stayed longer than some especially when the club was turned around and the cup won earlier in her time.
26-11-2020, 09:09 PM
I must admit I was sad to hear that Leeann is leaving but respect her decision to find new challenges.
On the very few occasions I've had dealings with her she has been professional, friendly, supportive and a fine ambassador for our club.
I know she had/has some detractors but over the piece I am sure that every decision she took was taken with the club in mind. I know the Loyalty Points saga infuriated some folk and I believe the abuse she took over that, on twitter, was quite simply disgusting.
As usual, as soon as news like this breaks, folk go in to rumour mill mode and before you know it said rumours are discussed on here as fact. A case in point is the suggestion that Ron will appoint his son as CEO. That had the effect of posters saying it would be outrageous as he has no experience. How do they know that? I know nothing about his son and, I'll wager, very few if any on here do.
I don't know if Leeann will read this thread but in case she does - it's a massive thank you from me - together with good luck in your new venture.
26-11-2020, 09:19 PM
I wonder if the new challenge could be Celtic? if they don't realise they need change at the top then they are dafter than I thought.
hibsfan7
26-11-2020, 09:23 PM
21/05/2016
thank you for that day alone
26-11-2020, 09:30 PM
21/05/2016
thank you for that day alone
Indeed....at the parade I shouted "I love you Leann!" up to her on the open top bus :greengrin
hhibs
26-11-2020, 09:42 PM
[QUOTE=Col2;6365911]This IS the best time for LD to leave if she had to.
She has been fantastic. We do have a new hands on owner now though and I always thought this change was coming. LD galvanized the club, professionalized it, put a strong structure in place and has been a big success.
Commercially though it has to be said we are miles behind. Even before the pandemic we well behind Hearts and Aberdeen on commercial and hospitality income despite in the main having more fans through the door. I would expect this to be the area Ron will be focusing on in the future when life gets back to normal. LD was more a COO than a CEO in my opinion. What we needed given relegation starting point.[/QU
Fully agree with your second paragraph,time to move on.
26-11-2020, 09:46 PM
All the best, unless you go to Rangers :greengrin
KingPat4
26-11-2020, 09:48 PM
My thoughts entirely. Thank you Leanne and good luck. But if you go to Greyskull, I hope you're next ***** is a hedgehog.
26-11-2020, 09:53 PM
Leeann's strength was in structuring and organising the club which was badly needed.
Ron's focus is improving the team and club by boosting revenues.
There was probably a realisation by both that Leeann did not fit the bill for the new mission.
26-11-2020, 11:39 PM
Must say I'd be a lot happier if Leeann had decided to stay. If the parting is amicable then fair enough, I suppose we've been fortunate to have held on to her for 6 years. As others have said she will be a hard act to follow.
Thanks for all your hard work and dedication, LeeAnn, you'll be very much missed. All the best for the future.
27-11-2020, 01:13 AM
I cannot remember a CEO having such a positive impact as Leanne has in all my time being a Hibee and I thank her for all she's brought to the table at Hibs. The fact an 8 page thread has popped up over only 12 hours here discussing her departure and wishing her well speaks absolute volumes.
Ron's statement is effusive in it's praise and I don't get the feeling there is anything untoward about what's happened. A CEO moving on after 5 or 6 years is certainly not unusual. It's an all consuming role, and if the rumours are true about her Mum having health problems then I certainly don't blame her for taking a break and have nothing but good wishes for her.
Re her successor I don't pretend to have my finger on the pulse at all about who would be a good appointment. What I do know is that it's a big job that will take a person with requisite skills and total dedication to make a success of it. Certainly Leanne is a tough act to follow!
Good luck and THANK YOU x
:flag::hibees:flag::hibees:flag:
27-11-2020, 07:12 AM
Or cross the city... [eeek!]
Dazzjw1875
27-11-2020, 07:29 AM
I think the guy at Motherwell would be in the running, just a guess buy i know him and Dempster are close and he seems to have done a good job there.
27-11-2020, 07:34 AM
I think the guy at Motherwell would be in the running, just a guess buy i know him and Dempster are close and he seems to have done a good job there.
No chance. He’s in his dream job just now as he’s a big Motherwell fan.
Think he made it to that role from being involved with their supporters trust.
I really like him though, I think he seems excellent for them. Would like to see him involved involved with the SFA or SPFL if he’s not already.
Percy Vere
27-11-2020, 07:44 AM
All the best Leanne.
Fantastic CEO and has brought Hibs through some difficult times.
I hope she’s going on to bigger and better things (though there’s nothing better than the Hibees).
Fingers crossed for her successor, tough act to follow.
Key West
27-11-2020, 07:47 AM
A fantastic contribution from Leeann who took the job on in extremely difficult circumstances and was in my opinion pivotal in turning things around.
27-11-2020, 08:34 AM
I really like him though, I think he seems excellent for them. Would like to see him involved involved with the SFA or SPFL if he’s not already.
Was much the same not true of George Craig at Falkirk before he joined us?
27-11-2020, 08:38 AM
Good luck and thanks to LD for everything, instrumental at turning the club around. I hope her family is well and wish them nothing but love.
27-11-2020, 08:42 AM
Regardless of whether he's in his dream job, if he's ambitious then there are bigger jobs than Motherwell out there, the Hibs post being one of them.
27-11-2020, 08:50 AM
LD has been fantastic for Hibs and I wish her all the best for the future. But it’s obvious that Ron has his ideas how the club is run and wants his team in place. Hopefully Hibs will continue the positive engagement that LD started might even get a loyalty points system back :greengrin
27-11-2020, 09:03 AM
Regardless of whether he's in his dream job, if he's ambitious then there are bigger jobs than Motherwell out there, the Hibs post being one of them.
If you managed to work your way up to that position for Hibs would you take a job for another Scottish team?
Absolutely no chance imo.
There are bigger jobs out there but I’m not sure there’s better jobs out there for someone like that and if there was, it won’t be moving from a club like Motherwell to Hibs.
27-11-2020, 09:06 AM
Good shout. We know he'd refuse to accept any result that went against us, demand replays, accuse the opposition of having twelve on the pitch, file lawsuits against the match officials, SPFL, SFA and anyone else who doesn't let Hibs win, and the Hibs Twitter account would be a good read. Not sure JR will relent to playing Donald Jnr in goals though. Or Melania in place of Mallan.
27-11-2020, 09:12 AM
If you managed to work your way up to that position for Hibs would you take a job for another Scottish team?
There are bigger jobs out there but I’m not sure there’s better jobs out there for someone like that and if there was, it won’t be moving from a club like Motherwell to Hibs.
I probably wouldn't but then that's because the only two jobs in Scotland that I would consider to be bigger than the Hibs job would be at two clubs that I absolutely detest.
27-11-2020, 09:23 AM
Want a replacement in within the next month according to the EEN. Probably just speculation on the papers part but “knowledge of the Scottish game” noted as a criteria.
https://t.co/CNuBwgIh65
27-11-2020, 09:35 AM
Want a replacement in within the next month according to the EEN. Probably just speculation on the papers part but “knowledge of the Scottish game” noted as a criteria.
https://t.co/CNuBwgIh65
I can imagine various executive search agencies are already submitting CVs to Ron. :greengrin
27-11-2020, 09:42 AM
For work, yes, I would move on from Hibs if there were bigger and better paying jobs elsewhere.
Motherwell to Hibs would be a big enough jump at CEO level. We've already seen that one done too.
27-11-2020, 11:44 AM
It’s such a shame that there are still no crowds at matches. It would have been a good opportunity for us to show our appreciation to Leeann.
27-11-2020, 12:00 PM
It’s such a shame that there are still no crowds at matches. It would have been a good opportunity for us to show our appreciation to Leeann.
Banner for first game back? Certain to be plenty willing to contribute judging by this thread.
27-11-2020, 12:04 PM
Banner for first game back? Certain to be plenty willing to contribute judging by this thread.
Banner from .net next league game I would contribute
TheGreenMan
27-11-2020, 12:05 PM
Anyone who's done what he has must have ambition. If offered double his salary and a bigger job with potential to grow even further as well as a platform to move on again if he perfs well, I don't think there's any doubt he'd move.
Pilrig_Sauzee
27-11-2020, 12:05 PM
Instrumental in restoring pride and reconnecting club and community. A class act, and wish her the very best wherever she ends up.
27-11-2020, 12:18 PM
You mean you wouldn’t expect someone at Hibs to take a similar job at Celtic or Rangers? Don’t be silly now.
27-11-2020, 12:27 PM
You mean you wouldn’t expect someone at Hibs to take a similar job at Celtic or Rangers? Don’t be silly now.
The jump from Hibs to rangers and Celtic isn’t the same as Motherwell to Hibs.
Fwiw I wouldn’t work for Rangers or Celtic and I certainly wouldn’t leave Hibs to join them.
27-11-2020, 12:51 PM
The Sun reporting that she could be off to Queens Park as their new chief exec.
27-11-2020, 12:57 PM
A banner thanking a CEO that left months prior??
Almost as cringeworthy as some of the stuff in the Hearts doc recently.
27-11-2020, 01:02 PM
The jump from Hibs to rangers and Celtic isn’t the same as Motherwell to Hibs.
Fwiw I wouldn’t work for Rangers or Celtic and I certainly wouldn’t leave Hibs to join them.
Easy to say.
If you were a CEO and a Hibs fan then you wouldn't be tempted by the near £3m salary for a Celtic CEO just because you support Hibs? That is around 20 times what you'd be paid at Hibs.
27-11-2020, 01:13 PM
Easy to say.
If you were a CEO and a Hibs fan then you wouldn't be tempted by the near £3m salary for a Celtic CEO just because you support Hibs? That is around 20 times what you'd be paid at Hibs.
Hell of a lot of baggage for that money though.
If I was getting paid a considerable CEO salary at Hibs and in my dream job, no, I don’t think I would risk that to go chasing more money.
I appreciate I’ll probably be in the minority with that though.
27-11-2020, 02:30 PM
This would be one of the most bizarre stories if it ends up being true - leaving Hibs to go to a League Two club. I suppose she could keep an eye on the goings on at the SFA though!
G15 Hibs
27-11-2020, 02:43 PM
This would be one of the most bizarre stories if it ends up being true - leaving Hibs to go to a League Two club. I suppose she could keep an eye on the goings on at the SFA though!
A League Two club which has recently gone both professional and full-time, has ambitions to climb the leagues and is backed by a prominent Scottish millionaire. Maybe she fancies the challenge.
ElginHibbie
27-11-2020, 02:54 PM
She must be a big Simon Murray fan
Interesting move, completely new challenge for her at a club basically starting with nothing but obviously have big ambitions
27-11-2020, 03:01 PM
She must be a big Simon Murray fan
Interesting move, completely new challenge for her at a club basically starting with nothing but obviously have big ambitions
Ziggy Dempster takes the Spiders to Mars.
27-11-2020, 03:07 PM
It'd be bizzare from a football perspective, but if spending more time with her family is imperative right now, then it makes a lot of sense for Leeann to find a role in Glasgow, rather than continuing to commute to Edinburgh.
27-11-2020, 03:22 PM
Good shout. We know he'd refuse to accept any result that went against us, demand replays, accuse the opposition of having twelve on the pitch, file lawsuits against the match officials, SPFL, SFA and anyone else who doesn't let Hibs win, and the Hibs Twitter account would be a good read. Not sure JR will relent to playing Donald Jnr in goals though. Or Melania in place of Mallan.Or assassinate Stuart Kettlewell for looking like an Iranian general.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
27-11-2020, 03:27 PM
I never knew/cared about Hibs CEOs, Directors of Football etc. in the past - just meeting my pals for a pint and going to the game. They never came up in conversation and seemed far removed from the average punter. That changed for me (and my pals) when LD came along as she was the first to engage with the supporters over a wide range of initiatives, She talked the talk and by and large walked the walk, not a perfect fit for everyone but over time she helped to restructure the club. Whoever comes in now has big boots to fill (just like whoever comes in after Mr Power as fans rep).
Hibs07p
27-11-2020, 04:22 PM
All the best Leeann whatever you do next, and I expect you to be very successful in your next venture. In my mind, "you came, you saw, you conquered"
Scottish Cup Winners 2016.
27-11-2020, 04:34 PM
A banner thanking a CEO that left months prior??
Almost as cringeworthy as some of the stuff in the Hearts doc recently.
Well, the suggestion was to do it when fans are able to return. Given what she has done for the club and the impact she made I fail to see what's cringeworthy about it, it's reasonably rare for a board member at any club to be held in anything akin to affection, especially one who had no emotional ties to it when they arrived ... Leeann Dempster has managed that IMO.
27-11-2020, 05:00 PM
If its true Queens Park makes sense, close to home for her and I'm pretty sure not as high pressured as some of the offers she will have received.
On the other hand having turned professional and as I understand it full time, the premiership must be their ultimate goal. It's some challenge .... Partick Thistle have been around forever, they have an ok stadium, a reputation as a family club and also in my opinion attractive colours, they are ideally placed as the alternative to the bigot fest and yet even as a premiership club can barely attract more than 4000* Weegies to turn up on a Saturday and therein lies Queen's Parks problem.
Yes you can make the top league if you throw enough money at it ( see Gretna ) but in order to sustain yourself as a regular top flight club you have to grow a reasonable fan base, if you can't you will suffer for it ( see Gretna ) and as Partick Thistle have proved that isn't easy in Glasgow with the bigot brothers literally on your doorstep.
Queens Park could well make the top league eventually, edging out the likes of Dundee, Dunfermline, Ayr Utd and ICT ....... But lets forget the old 'on merit' argument for the time being, does our top league really need another Hamilton Accies or Livvi with so few supporters they would easily fit into a decent sized JD Wetherspoons?
* ... Fair play to Partick mind, coz their away support regularly belies their home attendances.