26-11-2020, 10:37 AM
Thought he was a decent player for us, done a job in the championship

Oh yes, :greengrin

26-11-2020, 10:40 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55087104

26-11-2020, 10:50 AM
Admittedly they're not doing great so far this season, but that's unexpected.

Magpie
26-11-2020, 10:55 AM
Perhaps looking to take the Wigan job? They probably wouldn’t be in a position to pay compensation so he took the decision to resign?

SiinDubai
26-11-2020, 10:55 AM
Watched his interview at the weekend and thought it was a bit strange when he said he was considering his future. Overall I think his record at livi has been far better than expected.

26-11-2020, 11:04 AM
'Goalkeeping coach Tony Caig....'

Anyone else just experience an involuntary shudder when reading that name. Of all the awful keepers we have had he ranks somewhere close to the top of the list.

26-11-2020, 11:09 AM

Anyone else just experience an involuntary shudder when reading that name. Of all the awful keepers we have had he ranks somewhere close to the top of the list.

Stop it, I'm having a horrible flashback of Caig in goals with Mark Dempsie marking De Vries....:grr:

26-11-2020, 11:14 AM

Nah, think Simon Brown, Maka, OLI, Zibby, Grame Smith.....Caig was pish, but not memorably so :wink:

With Holt, there surely has to be something more behind the resignation. His record with Livi has been very good overall, although they are struggling this season. The sale of key players has undoubtedly been a factor in that, so maybe he feels he's taken them as far as he can and it's only going to go downhill.

26-11-2020, 11:23 AM
Nah, think Simon Brown, Maka, OLI, Zibby, Grame Smith.....Caig was pish, but not memorably so :wink:

With Holt, there surely has to be something more behind the resignation. His record with Livi has been very good overall, although they are struggling this season. The sale of key players has undoubtedly been a factor in that, so maybe he feels he's taken them as far as he can and it's only going to go downhill.

Were there not rumours that Holt and Miller were purely there as fronts for someone behind the scenes who can’t get a coaching badge?

26-11-2020, 11:27 AM
Were there not rumours that Holt and Miller were purely there as fronts for someone behind the scenes who can’t get a coaching badge?

Nae idea pal. Holt has some pedigree as a coach and has done well at Livi (and Falkirk?). Who's the guy you're referring to, out of interest. TBF, Miller's appointment and subsequent resignation was a tad bizarre.

Stairway 2 7
26-11-2020, 11:43 AM

Rumours are holt doesn't pick the team its the boy that can't get the badges because of being big time drug dealer

Clarence
26-11-2020, 11:48 AM
Perhaps his top secret work for the military is taking up too much of his time.

26-11-2020, 12:03 PM
Davie Hopkin to return lol

26-11-2020, 12:12 PM
Davie Hopkin to return lol

Good shout

26-11-2020, 12:56 PM

You weren’t there then. Or steamin’? :greengrin

26-11-2020, 12:57 PM
Still think that Martindale character pulls all the footballing strings at Livi.

EI255
26-11-2020, 02:50 PM
Fair play to GH but where does he go next? Brave decision to do what he did though.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
26-11-2020, 02:50 PM
Still think that Martindale character pulls all the footballing strings at Livi.100%

EI255
26-11-2020, 03:22 PM
Perhaps his top secret work for the military is taking up too much of his time.He is the Sapper boy

McSwanky
26-11-2020, 03:40 PM
Perhaps his top secret work for the military is taking up too much of his time.

:top marks:tee hee:

26-11-2020, 03:55 PM
i wanted Gary Holt at us before we signed heckingbottom, i think holt is a very capable coach

26-11-2020, 03:55 PM
Still think that Martindale character pulls all the footballing strings at Livi.

Here's what Marv said a couple of months ago when he got the job of Reserve manager.............

“Obviously it’s a natural progression for me to go from coach to manager and I have to thank Davie (Martindale) and the club for trusting me in that position and it’s something I’m looking forward to.”

berwickhibee
26-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Yogi for livi

26-11-2020, 04:31 PM

Did his badges; started at Saughton.

Max_Shah
26-11-2020, 05:07 PM
Very odd indeed.

Scottish Fitbaws worst kept secret that the convicted drug dealer pulls the strings.

https://www.sundaypost.com/news/scottish-news/livingston-fc-under-fire-for-giving-coaching-role-to-drugs-crook/

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/livingston-fcs-david-martindale-cough-13178358

I know a few guys/gals within the youth and girls setup [I am not ITK] and it is their community [they do great work all over West Lothian for a ****ing pittance] as well as their 40 odd fans I feel sorry for.

Holt is a shrewd operator and will have no problem finding a new coaching gig.

Dr Max's Fun Fact - He was discovered by Celtic scouts [alongside Justin Whittle - he has quite the story look it up when you get a minute] playing for the British Army XI.

Something stinks at that club. Thank Christ have a professional forward-thinking corporate structure.

26-11-2020, 05:49 PM
i wanted Gary Holt at us before we signed heckingbottom, i think holt is a very capable coach

26-11-2020, 05:55 PM
I thought that he was trying to gee up his players by taking the opposite tack from Lennon.

26-11-2020, 07:22 PM
I thought that he was trying to gee up his players by taking the opposite tack from Lennon.

Me too, must something going on, that he’s not happy with, and wasn’t resolved

26-11-2020, 11:02 PM
Me too, must something going on, that he’s not happy with, and wasn’t resolved

Maybe something to do with the assistant Martindale (spelling) running the show there. I’m sure he’s in charge of most things. A dodgy character

CloudSquall
26-11-2020, 11:38 PM

I've never seen a keeper with such little agility, he almost couldn't dive for the ball.

The Baldmans Comb
27-11-2020, 12:32 AM
Is there something in that West Lothian water that makes Livingston to be historically the most dodgy run club in Scotland.

Dunno how many receiverships they have had now or the parade of dodgy owners from crazy lottery winners to mad Italians to convicted criminals plus the comical wee Domnick and the original Mr Blobby as Bill Hunter got christened by the Meadowbank fans.

27-11-2020, 05:45 AM
Maybe something to do with the assistant Martindale (spelling) running the show there. I’m sure he’s in charge of most things. A dodgy character

Saw him talking on one of the news shows yesterday about Holt. First of all thought it was very odd he was doing the press conference would have assumed they had a CEO. Secondly thought he came over very poorly in the way he spoke and not particularly professionally and apparently no issues with Holt and they left on the best of terms. :rolleyes:

27-11-2020, 06:20 AM
Saw him talking on one of the news shows yesterday about Holt. First of all thought it was very odd he was doing the press conference would have assumed they had a CEO. Secondly thought he came over very poorly in the way he spoke and not particularly professionally and apparently no issues with Holt and they left on the best of terms. :rolleyes:

He runs everything at Livi. Gary Holt was really on head coach.