View Full Version : Diego Maradona
AugustaHibs
25-11-2020, 03:25 PM
Reports in South America that he’s passed away.
Terrible news if true.
Was just about to post this. Sad news. The greatest ever. RIP.
Magpie
25-11-2020, 03:33 PM
RIP, one of football’s greats.
hibee
25-11-2020, 03:36 PM
Sad news especially after surviving a bleed on the brain just recently.
I watched the documentary about him recently and thought it was really sad that he didn’t get to live the kind of relatively normal but luxurious life afforded to today’s even average players.
The famous warm up routine with the Mars sponsored tracksuit would have been worth the entrance money on its own, fantastic entertainment.
Rest Peacefully Diego.
(Though hopefully the reports are incorrect).
Lots of reports but as yet no exact news, sad if true though, genius of a player who like many geniuses had his flaws in his personal life with drugs and alcohol, his keepy uppy warm up routine is a thing that makes legends.
25-11-2020, 03:39 PM
Being reported as cardiac arrest. RIP
Lots of reports but as yet no exact news, sad if true though, genius of a player who like many geniuses had his flaws in his personal life with drugs and alcohol, his keepy uppy warm up routine is a thing that makes legends.
Being reported everywhere now. News broadcasters in Argentina in tears on air. Shows what an icon he is and the impact he’s had.
Coach Jon
25-11-2020, 03:41 PM
The best player I ever saw, RIP
25-11-2020, 03:41 PM
A man that was bonkers with a bonkers lifestyle, adored at Boca and not only there. That will be a country in mourning. What a talent.
Being reported everywhere now. News broadcasters in Argentina in tears on air. Shows what an icon he is and the impact he’s had.
Checked BBC site etc and nothing, just one or two reports from Argentina, such a young age as well.
25-11-2020, 03:42 PM
Checked BBC site etc and nothing, just one or two reports from Argentina, such a young age as well.
BBC also reporting it.
:aok: Must've been the last few minutes, wasn't there when I 1st posted.
25-11-2020, 03:44 PM
Tragic, what a player he was....RIP Diego
Same date as George Best's passing.
Two of the great entertainers.
Saw his debut for Argentina at Hampden. Obvious from then that he was a prodigious talent.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Stairway 2 7
25-11-2020, 03:45 PM
Hopefully no one talks about his addiction problems and later life now going forward. Remember the greatest player to kick a ball Ronaldo and Messi while phenomenal, would have half there achievements if tackled like Diego was
https://youtu.be/Cdf6D19Etmc
His legendary warm up routine and the reason we all loved him as a player.
25-11-2020, 03:46 PM
Terrible news. With the lifestyle he lived he was never likely to make an old man but it's still a shock to read this.
I think it's fair to say it was a life well lived though. The classic flawed genius. The outpouring of emotion in Argentina will be something to behold, he was a deity there.
RIP.
25-11-2020, 03:47 PM
Hopefully no one talks about his addiction problems and later life now going forward. Remember the greatest player to kick a ball Ronaldo and Messi while phenomenal, would have half there achievements if tackled like Diego was
Why wouldn't they? It's not disrespectful, he was more than open about it himself, part of what made him such a fascinating character
25-11-2020, 03:48 PM
Rest easy Diego 💚
25-11-2020, 03:51 PM
Great player. One of, if not the, greatest of all time. Was a joy to watch on the football field. A flawed genius but that is the way I like them!! RIP Diego
Saint Hibee
25-11-2020, 03:53 PM
Terrible news. With the lifestyle he lived he was never likely to make an old man but it's still a shock to read this.
I think it's fair to say it was a life well lived though. The classic flawed genius. The outpouring of emotion in Argentina will be something to behold, he was a deity there.
RIP.
Naples will implode as well. There's a mural of him on pretty much every street.
25-11-2020, 03:56 PM
I was born the same year as the great man and finally I am a better player than him.
It's taken 60 years but I got there in the end :wink:.
25-11-2020, 03:57 PM
A truly amazing player, thanks for the memories Diego, I've just been playing a few of his Napoli exploits on youtube.
Often troubled off the park but a sheer genius on it.
25-11-2020, 03:59 PM
Tragic news. Brilliant player and huge character. RIP Diego [emoji25][emoji25]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
25-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Best player ever RIP Diego .
murray26
25-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Genuinely upset about this.. one of my favourite footballers of all time.. nobody compares IMO RIP legend
25-11-2020, 04:04 PM
There is an iconic picture of him with six Belgian players in front of him, some going left, some going right, but I can't get it to upload.
25-11-2020, 04:05 PM
There is an iconic picture of him with six Belgian players in front of him, some going left, some going right, but I can't get it to upload.
https://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2014/7/4/1404494786925/Maradona-001.jpg
25-11-2020, 04:09 PM
Sorry to hear of a football legend's passing - gifted footballer, troubled personality - only 60!
25-11-2020, 04:11 PM
The story behind that photo is interesting as well: https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/jul/05/diego-maradona-belgium-famous-photo
bringbackbenny
25-11-2020, 04:17 PM
If you have Netflix this is a great watch, Maradona in Mexico
https://www.netflix.com/title/81034946?s=a&trkid=13747225&t=cp
25-11-2020, 04:18 PM
I'm too young to have remembered watching him play but he was one of these people who comes along every so often and everyone knows their name, even if they have no interest in the person's profession.
He lead a wild lifestyle and today's news won't come as a huge shock to many who studied his life but still it's one of those moments you just know will be spoken about around the world.
This will be huge news in Argentina, there will be an outpouring of grief for days that will possibly be unlike anything we have ever seen before - I don't think that what he meant to the Argentinian people can really be overstated.
Goodbye to a genius.
Renfrew_Hibby
25-11-2020, 04:22 PM
Rip Diego, thee icon of my childhood.
The film/documentary of his time with Napoli was absolutely mesmerising, just like he was at Mexico 86.
Biggest thing in Argentina since the Falklands war, way bigger than an Argy pope. The streets will be flowing with tears today and for a while after.
25-11-2020, 04:27 PM
https://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2014/7/4/1404494786925/Maradona-001.jpg
Nice one.
stu in nottingham
25-11-2020, 04:27 PM
How he was adored in Napoli, hero of the San Paulo. Truly a god in that city and everywhere he played.
Rest in Peace Diego Maradona, El Pibe de Ora
https://scontent-lhr8-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/127238359_10164753694150045_4255861629485203020_o. jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=2&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=QTRFc7rSMNAAX96-z5r&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr8-1.xx&oh=417de84f28fe888c271fe7b7d75b8959&oe=5FE2843B
25-11-2020, 04:35 PM
Very sad to hear this, imho he was the 2nd best in my lifetime of watching games for close to 60 years.
I seen him play in the Eufa cup final in Germany for Napoli against Stuttgart, what a performance safe to say that he won the game on his own.
So he was also human, with human flaws, makes him all the better to this auld football supporter.
His hand of god goal over-shadowed his best ever goal (only in England right enough, the rest of the world did not give a monkeys) that was the 2nd goal against England, sheer brilliance.
semaj64
25-11-2020, 04:44 PM
A truly very talented player, watched the recent documentary which showed how he transformed the teams he played for especially Napoli, was a shame those out with football ruined him.
Hakim Sar
25-11-2020, 04:44 PM
Farewell to the Icon.
The Argentinians will be distraught. Surely there will be millions on the street grieving, a national declaration of at least a days mourning, and a monument built for him.
I wish I had seen him at his best. First experience was 94 World Cup. It didn’t end well.
25-11-2020, 04:47 PM
Farewell to the Icon.
The Argentinians will be distraught. Surely there will be millions on the street grieving, a national declaration of at least a days mourning, and a monument built for him.
I wish I had seen him at his best. First experience was 94 World Cup. It didn’t end well.
Three days of national mourning......
25-11-2020, 05:01 PM
Farewell to the Icon.
Closest thing to the Brazilians when Senna died
25-11-2020, 05:08 PM
What he did at Napoli was amazing. A truly brilliant footballer
25-11-2020, 05:15 PM
RIP Diego The Best of the Best a true Superstar
25-11-2020, 05:19 PM
Was at the Scotland v Argentina in 1979 he was unbelievable that day. He ran the show the best player I have seen in the flesh in my opinion the best of all time. Watch some of the highlights of the 1979 game on YouTube and remember he was still in his teens.
25-11-2020, 05:26 PM
An absolute genius with a football, the best I’ve ever seen. RIP legend.
Hibiza
25-11-2020, 05:27 PM
R.I.P Diego , best ever.
25-11-2020, 05:28 PM
Shaken to the core by this. He’s the reason I fell in love with football.
h1bs4life
25-11-2020, 05:47 PM
What a player and character. RIP Diego
murray26
25-11-2020, 05:52 PM
The best player of my generation.. I’m genuinely upset at his passing.. obviously a troubled soul.. RIP to a true legend
25-11-2020, 05:57 PM
Sorry to hear of a football legend's passing - gifted footballer, troubled personality - only 60!
I remember seeing footage of him when he was only in his 40s and it was alarming to witness the damage he'd done to himself. He was struggling to walk. In that respect I'm glad he ended up living as long as he did.
hibeg
25-11-2020, 06:04 PM
I was born the same year as the great man and finally I am a better player than him.
It's taken 60 years but I got there in the end :wink:.
I was born the same day as him. ! RIP Diego, a special footballing talent. 😥
25-11-2020, 06:12 PM
sad loss , i never could decide the greatest ever striker, diego or pele, i think the former just shades it
RIP :(
25-11-2020, 06:23 PM
Was at the Scotland v Argentina in 1979 he was unbelievable that day. He ran the show the best player I have seen in the flesh in my opinion the best of all time. Watch some of the highlights of the 1979 game on YouTube and remember he was still in his teens.
Was about to post the same
Every time he got the ball the crowd fell silent and there was a collective sharp intake of breath
I remember one run when he appeared to glide across the grass with the ball at his feet effortlessly leaving three Scotland defenders trailing in his wake
Mr Grieves
25-11-2020, 06:37 PM
What a life, what a player. RIP Diego
25-11-2020, 06:44 PM
RIP Diego. One of the all time greats and will never forget watching Mexico 86 as a wee boy growing up.
25-11-2020, 07:10 PM
I’ll raise a glass of Argentinian Malbec tonight to the icon.
not getting into another tireless and pointless greatest ever debate. He was, quite simply, the player that excited me more than anyone else I’ve seen.
RIP Diego - 86 was the first World Cup I remember watching. Genius
25-11-2020, 07:15 PM
That’s the one. Good work Matt :greengrin
25-11-2020, 07:22 PM
Nobody will ever tell me that he's not the greatest player ever and although he's not led a conventional life I'm pretty sure he's had an absolute blast. He could not be any more loved by his own people than he is and was. There are many players that have won more than him but nobody will ever be as iconic.
25-11-2020, 07:23 PM
The story behind that photo is interesting as well: https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/jul/05/diego-maradona-belgium-famous-photo
Yeah, good article and I had read it before. Still a brilliant picture though :greengrin
25-11-2020, 07:36 PM
His film is on youtube for anyone wanting to watch.
25-11-2020, 07:55 PM
Not only was he utterly brilliant, he dragged otherwise ordinary teams in Napoli and Argentina to greatness alongside him.
RIP El Diego.
25-11-2020, 07:59 PM
I’m genuinely sad. As far as I’m concerned, the best ever. RIP.
StirlingHibee
25-11-2020, 08:08 PM
Sad news. Best player of my generation and arguably the best ever.
25-11-2020, 08:11 PM
A footballing genius has left this realm. Feel privileged to have witnessed the greatest ever. One of a kind. Rest in peace Diego.
EI255
25-11-2020, 08:16 PM
Infinitely better than any past or present EPL player. He was genuis.
RIP son
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
25-11-2020, 08:25 PM
The first time I remember seeing Maradona was at Wembley in 1980, I think he was 17 and he was just working his way into the Argentinian side that had won the world cup a couple of years before. He shone even at that early stage of his career and there were more than a few glimpses in that match of what was to come. England won the game 3-1. There was a moment in the first half when he took the ball and ghosted past 2 or 3 England defenders and slid the ball just past the post a prelude to a certain goal six years later. He was simply brilliant and a very exciting watch, you anticipated something special every time he touched the ball. RIP Diego and thanks for the memories.
Snedz
25-11-2020, 09:52 PM
Not my personal greatest player ever but what a player he was. Marvelous ball skills, trickery, balance and upper body strength. Sad to hear of his passing. RIP Diego.
25-11-2020, 10:04 PM
Genuinely saddened by this news, IMO the greatest player of all time. I was at the Hampden game in 1979 but imagine what it must have been like to watch the guy play week in week out, what a privilege. In the end he was probably as much a victim of his talent as a beneficiary of it.
Rest in peace Diego ... some have come close, very very close, but you were the GOAT
25-11-2020, 10:31 PM
From pauper to king. A man who came from nothing to become arguably the greatest footballer ever. He might have been a troubled personality but there is no doubting his amazing talent. Rest in peace Guapo.
25-11-2020, 11:03 PM
I'm too young to remember Maradona in his pomp. However one of my earliest vivid memories of football is his wide eyed celebration at USA 94. Even in disgrace he produced one of the iconic moments of the entire tournament.
I don't think you can separate Maradona the man from Maradona the footballer. The troubled human aspect simply elevated his genius. Football and sport in general is full of talented and gifted people but you only get a handful of people like Maradona in a lifetime. Had he been a vanilla personality with the same football talent would there be the same outpouring of emotion today? I doubt it. His upbringing in poverty, his success coming with teams that weren't renowned as glamorous, the addictions, the erratic managerial decisions, the politics and the legal issues all add to the story and enhance the legend.
Maradona transcended football. My fiance has little interest in the game but the first thing she asked me when I got home tonight was whether I had heard the news. The world is a sadder place without a talent like Maradona.
25-11-2020, 11:19 PM
Love the pic.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/jul/05/diego-maradona-belgium-famous-photo
RIP Diego.
BobMilne
26-11-2020, 12:33 AM
The greatest footballer. Crazy mother ******!
Legends never die!!!!
26-11-2020, 12:45 AM
I’ll raise a glass of Argentinian Malbec tonight to the icon.
not getting into another tireless and pointless greatest ever debate. He was, quite simply, the player that excited me more than anyone else I’ve seen.
My thoughts exactly. He had everything in his locker. Sublime ball control,the most wonderful passer of a ball,amazing vision, unbelievable body strength and a magnificent shot. His goal against Belgium summed him up. Power,pace,quickness of thought and sublime finish. Must have been incredible to play against. RIP Diego. You’ve not idea how much joy to brought this my and millions of others lives. A true genius.
26-11-2020, 07:51 AM
A part of football has died for people of a certain age. Lucky to have seen him and Pele. Not only was he one of the greatest players of all time but he was also, on the side of the poor and oppressed from Argentina to Napoli to Cuba to Palestine. Tears have been in my eyes all day.
RiP Diego Maradona
Chorley Hibee
26-11-2020, 08:44 AM
Twitter awash with British nationalist lunatics celebrating his death and proclaiming the Falklands still British.
I despair.
26-11-2020, 08:58 AM
Twitter awash with British nationalist lunatics celebrating his death and proclaiming the Falklands still British.
I despair.
The English gutter press still not over 1986, and can’t bring themselves to show a bit of respect and let it lie for just one day. Playing into the hands of the lunatic fringe.
https://i.postimg.cc/529t6NPR/AD290-B20-0045-4-B95-BDBE-3033440-FE6-B2.jpg (https://postimg.cc/rKbTHc21)
26-11-2020, 08:59 AM
I despair.
leave them to wallow in their sad little lives mate. Best ignored.
26-11-2020, 09:08 AM
The English gutter press still not over 1986, and can’t bring themselves to show a bit of respect and let it lie for just one day. Playing into the hands of the lunatic fringe.
https://i.postimg.cc/529t6NPR/AD290-B20-0045-4-B95-BDBE-3033440-FE6-B2.jpg (https://postimg.cc/rKbTHc21)
That’s a quite incredible front page. How on earth can that be considered appropriate?
26-11-2020, 09:14 AM
That’s a quite incredible front page. How on earth can that be considered appropriate?
Quite pathetic. Better to focus on the genius of the man and the sheer joy and inspiration through the beautiful game he brought to so many. Leave the saddos to wallow in their own misery and hate.
26-11-2020, 09:16 AM
They won a world cup by cheating.
They have Harry Kane upfront who spent an entire world cup throwing himself to ground every corner.
They have Sterling and Grealish who are 2 of the biggest divers in the world.
Yeah they can **** off.
26-11-2020, 09:25 AM
They have Harry Kane upfront who spent an entire world cup throwing himself to ground every corner.
Yeah they can **** off.
no need fella.
The vast majority of decent English fans recognise his talent and feel the same sense of loss and sadness with his death as anyone else. You're always going to get people with more extreme views especially in this day and age of social media.
26-11-2020, 10:07 AM
Quite pathetic. Better to focus on the genius of the man and the sheer joy and inspiration through the beautiful game he brought to so many. Leave the saddos to wallow in their own misery and hate.
There was a point in the Sky coverage last night that pointed to the game v England as the defining one in Maradona's career. Never mind the semi or the final, or the titles - the reason was because it was against England and all that England represent to the world of football. Mental.
26-11-2020, 10:41 AM
I saw him in 1979 at Hampden when he scored, little did I realise what he would go on to achieve.
Archie MacPherson was on the radio this morning talking about that game, said a couple of times at night but I recall the game was on a Saturday afternoon.
26-11-2020, 10:44 AM
I saw him in 1979 at Hampden when he scored, little did I realise what he would go on to achieve.
Archie MacPherson was on the radio this morning talking about that game, said a couple of times at night but I recall the game was on a Saturday afternoon.
I heard Archie mentioning “ at night” twice
I defo knew he was something special that day
26-11-2020, 10:50 AM
My dad got to see George Best at his absolute peak (against Scotland in Belfast in 1967), and an emerging Maradona (Rep of Ireland v Argentina in Dublin in the early 80s). Said both performances were similar, both electrified the crowd every time they had the ball.
I am extremely envious of him for that.
26-11-2020, 11:16 AM
An English player does it and it is never mentioned. Journalism like this is why the crayons must be kept under lock and key.
pollution
26-11-2020, 11:25 AM
I heard Archie mentioning “ at night” twice
I defo knew he was something special that day
Was there not a problem of some kind that meant there was no TV coverage?
26-11-2020, 11:49 AM
[QUOTE=gbhibby;6365251]
What about Henry - handball which lead to a goal. Selective memory about too much fuss?
Not read any English media headlines or twiitter/social media crap so I can only guess at the content from the comments on here and I do despair at some of my fellow countrymen and especially so called "journalists".
I have to agree that Diego was a phenomenal player. Also, as an aside, if all of his off field antics were true what a constitution he must have had to keep up the consistency he showed on the field for the many years that he did (genuine statement, not a dig of any kind).
pollution
26-11-2020, 12:27 PM
Are you sure this is not a mock up ?
It's not on the front page of the newspaper itself
26-11-2020, 12:28 PM
Might be the English edition?
26-11-2020, 12:37 PM
Was there not a problem of some kind that meant there was no TV coverage?
Sounds about right
Definitely a hot Saturday afternoon Old Hampden wi punters pissing doon the back of your leg
Highlights on YouTube
pollution
26-11-2020, 12:49 PM
Sounds about right
Definitely a hot Saturday afternoon Old Hampden wi punters pissing doon the back of your leg
Highlights on YouTube
Thanks mate
26-11-2020, 12:57 PM
It must be the English edition, it's definitely genuine.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/blogs-the-papers-55080928
h1bs4life
26-11-2020, 12:59 PM
Just watched ITV news what an embarrassment .
Shilton on moaning about hand of God ,how he cheated , bumpy pitch , 1st goal important , crap referee etc, Maradona never apologised .
About 1 sentence about how good a player Diego was.
26-11-2020, 01:00 PM
In other news, The Daily Mail gets its banner headline prioritised.
pollution
26-11-2020, 01:02 PM
Thanks.
I have a very broad sense of humour but it fails me here. The headline even hints at the Falklands.
Shameful.
26-11-2020, 01:03 PM
Peter Shilton was on TV earlier. What a complete and utter *****. Get over it.
3 days national morning in Argintina. Laid to rest at the presidential palace, schools in Naples closed for today.
GOD :pray:
26-11-2020, 01:10 PM
Thanks.
I have a very broad sense of humour but it fails me here. The headline even hints at the Falklands.
Shameful.
Yeah I think when you're outdoing The Sun for controversial headlines, you're probably needing to have a rethink.
26-11-2020, 01:19 PM
3 days national morning in Argintina. Laid to rest at the presidential palace, schools in Naples closed for today.
Of course, no England player would ever try such a thing and even if they did there'd be a national outcry and all the other players, management and pundits would demand the goal be chalked off:
https://youtu.be/cVHnsi2H_3c?t=80
26-11-2020, 01:21 PM
Fantastic and heartfelt tribute by Gary Lineker last night.
https://mobile.twitter.com/btsportfootball/status/1331680485672706048
RIP Diego
He’s a total throbber. Diego getting it right up cretins like that even in death. Legend.
26-11-2020, 01:58 PM
https://media.newyorker.com/photos/5da0ef428eba220009899317/1:1/w_1707,h_1707,c_limit/Alarcon-Maradona.jpg
26-11-2020, 02:01 PM
Yeah they can **** off.
As can you.
RIP Diego, one of the greatest players ever.
murray26
26-11-2020, 02:13 PM
RIP Diego
Great tribute from a thoroughly decent man..
Well done Gary
EI255
26-11-2020, 02:45 PM
Peter Shilton's vocabulary on DM not the best... "forget hand of God, forget the cheating"
Did your country not benefit in '66?
carmine
26-11-2020, 02:59 PM
What a loss for the football. Probably the all time best player in the world.
I think he deserves a huge thank you from all the people who loves football. I suggest to sign a virtual card for him. Pretty sure he can see what we are doing here to show him how much we loved his magic.
https://www.leavingcard.com/gb/thankyou/manage/main/1606405737768zw5FT5Qio8Xs#
26-11-2020, 03:11 PM
Tragic news, only sixty. What a genius of a player he was. I remember as a wee boy watching the 1986 World Cup and being entranced by Maradona; I'd never seen anything like him. He was a one man team in that tournament. It seems he was on of those players who, like Gazza, lived for football and was lost after he finished playing. That, combined with his personal demons, meant his life degenerated into a circus at times, which was very sad to see. He didn't look after himself. But he will be remembered for his football forever, and rightly so. In my humble opinion, only Messi can match him.
26-11-2020, 03:14 PM
Yeah they can **** off.
Oh dear
26-11-2020, 03:18 PM
Peter Shilton's vocabulary on DM not the best... "forget hand of God, forget the cheating"
England may have had a dodgy decision go their way but how exactly does that compare to cheating?
Kenny1875
26-11-2020, 03:52 PM
England may have had a dodgy decision go their way but how exactly does that compare to cheating?
He was hacked and kicked all game. Got what they deserved.
Same Sleeves
26-11-2020, 04:42 PM
Rubbish
We couldnt get close enough to kick him
The best ever for me
RIP Diego
26-11-2020, 05:23 PM
The poster I replied to was talking about 1966 - try to keep up.
ACLeith
26-11-2020, 06:54 PM
When I watched the 86 game live and the ball sliced up in the air with DM going for it, my instant thought was that Shilton was slow to react. And then when the ball was headed (as I thought at the time) into the net I said to myself that the English press would have a go at him for it.
Argentina were really in control for much of the game, after the second (no words can ever adequately describe its quality, the World Cup GOAT) they sat back a bit and let England gain control. Then after it went to 2-1 they upped things again and at no time did I think the result would be anything other than an Argentina win.
But of course that has all been lost in the mists of time and the one incident.
At a time like this, comments made say everything about the person making them.
26-11-2020, 07:00 PM
Nice piece in the Irish Times from Liam Brady on the humility of the man.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40089860.html?fbclid=IwAR3LM0Ash4-xRadMoEGGiENUcqMjdpQq-QpZO0MGf2_LNLBJ0WevFzaoWb8
26-11-2020, 07:09 PM
Every Napoli player tonight wearing #10.
Just beautiful.
26-11-2020, 07:11 PM
Every Napoli player tonight wearing #10.
Just beautiful.
Just before the game I think?
26-11-2020, 07:18 PM
Nice piece in the Irish Times from Liam Brady on the humility of the man.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40089860.html?fbclid=IwAR3LM0Ash4-xRadMoEGGiENUcqMjdpQq-QpZO0MGf2_LNLBJ0WevFzaoWb8
That’s lovely. Thanks for sharing.
26-11-2020, 07:21 PM
The Boca Juniors game was postponed last night. They were supposed to play Internacional. For those of you who don't know, their from Brazil (So don't like Argintina) and play in green (So don't like blue). Light their stadium up all night in Argintina blue all night. Nice touch.
Also at the Bombenera last night Boca turned off all the lights in and around the stadium except for Diego's box. Some very touching pictures.
26-11-2020, 07:28 PM
Peter Shilton will never have anything like the admiration and love that Diego Maradona holds. A convicted drunk driver who can’t keep his trousers up or his mouth shut.
26-11-2020, 07:41 PM
The Boca Juniors game was postponed last night. They were supposed to play Internacional. For those of you who don't know, their from Brazil (So don't like Argintina) and play in green (So don't like blue). Light their stadium up all night in Argintina blue all night. Nice touch.
Also at the Bombenera last night Boca turned off all the lights in and around the stadium except for Diego's box. Some very touching pictures.
I was lucky enough to visit last year and the awe he was held in at Boca was remarkable. It was also surprising how many nods there were to Brazil and Pele around the place. They just love their football but not River.
You can’t help but be touched by the reaction around the world to the mans death. A real one off and a hero to a generation of football fans and indeed, players.
26-11-2020, 07:47 PM
Peter Shilton on ITV earlier today not taking Gaza’s quip well that Maradona’s famous Hand of God goal made made him anyway. Bitter and humourless.
https://i.postimg.cc/tRsws954/A5080256-FA2-A-44-B4-BFC6-5543-DA211-CB5.jpg (https://postimg.cc/23f2JRMs)
In stark contrast to the warm tribute paid to Maradona by his teammate Gary Lineker.
26-11-2020, 08:03 PM
I was lucky enough to visit last year and the awe he was held in at Boca was remarkable. It was also surprising how many nods there were to Brazil and Pele around the place. They just love their football but not River.
You can’t help but be touched by the reaction around the world to the mans death. A real one off and a hero to a generation of football fans and indeed, players.
To be fair to River Plate, they paid tribute to him on social media yesterday.
26-11-2020, 08:07 PM
Peter Shilton on ITV earlier today not taking Gaza’s quip well that Maradona’s famous Hand of God goal made made him anyway. Bitter and humourless.
https://i.postimg.cc/tRsws954/A5080256-FA2-A-44-B4-BFC6-5543-DA211-CB5.jpg (https://postimg.cc/23f2JRMs)
In stark contrast to the warm tribute paid to Maradona by his teammate Gary Lineker.
Shilton is a notorious avaricious Tory bassa. Maradona was left wing all his life :agree:
26-11-2020, 08:25 PM
Get it right up them
26-11-2020, 08:32 PM
RIP Diego
Really enjoyed that
26-11-2020, 08:35 PM
I know that twitter has predictably attracted the lowest common denominator as usual, but I've been really impressed with the dignity and class shown by by 99%+ of the English people I have encountered on the subject either on tv or on the internet.
We obviously had a bit of fun with it in Scotland, but being on the receiving end of that handball goal would really have stung. See how deep some of the scars run regarding various poor decisions given against Hibs over the years.
For so many to have been able to put that to one side to acknowledge the passing of a flawed character who was revered by so many is, in my opinion to their great credit.
Particularly so given they are a nation who have done little to endear themselves to the outside world in recent years.
Gary Lineker in particular has impressed me with the stuff he's done with Maradona since then, and then in paying tribute last night. That's a guy who performed well enough to get the golden boot at a World Cup and be on the wrong end of something like that at the quarter final stage.
We need more folk who are able to talk, listen, think, understand and build bridges rather than just antagonise from behind anonymous internet pseudonyms.
26-11-2020, 08:53 PM
Peter Shilton will never have anything like the admiration and love that Diego Maradona holds. A convicted drunk driver who can’t keep his trousers up or his mouth shut.
He also couldn't outjump a man who was 5'5" tall.
Maradona cheated but he took advantage of a goalkeeping error. Shilton knows it as well.
Renfrew_Hibby
26-11-2020, 09:09 PM
In actual fact Internacional play in RED and its their cross town rivals, Gremio, who play in light blue/black/white.
So it's doubley remarkable for them to light up their stadium in Argentine and Gremio blue.
Renfrew_Hibby
26-11-2020, 09:15 PM
Shilton is a notorious avaricious Tory bassa. Maradona was left wing all his life :agree:
Terry 'the tory bassa' Butcher better not be interviewed, he could start another war if he is. If you think Shilts is a poor excuse, he's mild and charitable compared to old Terry
Renfrew_Hibby
26-11-2020, 09:20 PM
To be fair to River Plate, they paid tribute to him on social media yesterday.
I follow River on social media and their fans have always loved Diego, he transcended football rivalry, he was a genuine living God to Argentines.
GreyJammies
26-11-2020, 10:15 PM
This didn't affect me at all yesterday when I heard. I think I was in shock all day, and it was only this morning, as I was drinking my morning coffee, in a cafe, that the tears fell.
He was one of us.
26-11-2020, 10:19 PM
If that’s real it’s as pathetic as it is disgusting.
26-11-2020, 10:26 PM
Yes, but it's The Daily Star. Never underestimate the depths of the tabloid press.
26-11-2020, 10:54 PM
It is real.
27-11-2020, 05:39 AM
I know that twitter has predictably attracted the lowest common denominator as usual, but I've been really impressed with the dignity and class shown by by 99%+ of the English people I have encountered on the subject either on tv or on the internet.
We obviously had a bit of fun with it in Scotland, but being on the receiving end of that handball goal would really have stung. See how deep some of the scars run regarding various poor decisions given against Hibs over the years.
For so many to have been able to put that to one side to acknowledge the passing of a flawed character who was revered by so many is, in my opinion to their great credit.
Particularly so given they are a nation who have done little to endear themselves to the outside world in recent years.
Gary Lineker in particular has impressed me with the stuff he's done with Maradona since then, and then in paying tribute last night. That's a guy who performed well enough to get the golden boot at a World Cup and be on the wrong end of something like that at the quarter final stage.
We need more folk who are able to talk, listen, think, understand and build bridges rather than just antagonise from behind anonymous internet pseudonym.
Agree totally never been more important.
27-11-2020, 06:08 AM
How would we in Scotland react if Maradona had done the same to us?
Much the same I'd imagine.
Or would we knuckle the forelock and put it down to his creative genius or summat?
27-11-2020, 06:15 AM
He’s a total throbber. Diego getting it right up cretins like that even in death. Legend.
I am on LinkedIn and I am in a wide network of several thousand. Lots of English football fans bitter about the "cheating" and citing drug addiction. I pointed out England's cheating went all the way in 1966 from the quarter final all the way through to the final. I also pointed out a number of their players had addiction problems e.g. Gascoigne, Merson, Adams and Shilton but it did stop people appreciating them as players.
27-11-2020, 06:21 AM
Or would we knuckle the forelock and put it down to his creative genius or summat?
To be fair that Star front page doesn't reflect how the whole of England are reacting. I listened to a fait bit of talk radio & radio 2 yesterday & the reaction was very respectful.
Even on French TV news, most of the coverage of his death spoke of the "hand of god" incident and included footage of both his goals from that match.
The Baldmans Comb
27-11-2020, 07:56 AM
I can't say I watch much English TV but the coverage yesterday seemed rather bitter and parochial with a few honourable exceptions such as Gary Lineker on both TV and Twitter.
The 'Hand of God" turn of phrase ridiculed England off the pitch in exactly the same way the 2nd goal of true genius humiliated the English defenders on the pitch and its something their country has never recovered from.
England has such a rich football heritage and in my opinion the best football fans in the world regarding depth and knowledge but their perceived and frankly laughable "cultural superiority" and English exceptionalism will never allow them to properly acknowledge the passing of one of the greatest footballers of all time.
27-11-2020, 08:04 AM
Such a pity this thread has become more about England and perceived views of England than the death and loss of a football great.
RIP Diego, true legend.
27-11-2020, 11:19 AM
To be fair that Star front page doesn't reflect how the whole of England are reacting. I listened to a fait bit of talk radio & radio 2 yesterday & the reaction was very respectful.
Even on French TV news, most of the coverage of his death spoke of the "hand of god" incident and included footage of both his goals from that match.
Yes the coverage hasn't been too disrespectful in England right enough. It's true though that the course of football history would have been different if they'd had VAR! Diego would have been sent off!
27-11-2020, 11:24 AM
You don’t see anything wrong with the wording or positioning of their front page?
The day wasn’t about VAR, England or anything else (even if it had, the wording is shameful).. it was about the passing of arguably the greatest ever man to play the game.
27-11-2020, 11:27 AM
Yes the coverage hasn't been too disrespectful in England right enough. It's true though that the course of football history would have been different if they'd had VAR! Diego would have been sent off!
Had he already been booked in that game?
27-11-2020, 12:44 PM
No way he would have been sent off for that.
27-11-2020, 01:49 PM
I hope this doesn't offend anybody* but I had mixed feelings about the guy.
Yes, he was a great footballer but I always thought he was a bit of a d1ck.
* I can't imagine there's many of Maradona's friends and family read this board but you never know
27-11-2020, 04:45 PM
Never in a million years would he have got a red for that. You had to gouge out someone’s eyes or take a chainsaw to an opponent in the 80s to get sent off.
What’s often forgotten about that game is Argentina absolutely battered England, played all the football and 4-1 wouldn’t have flattered them. The best team won. There was always a bit of bite to the England Argentina rivalry (Alf Ramsay calling them ‘animals’) but post Falklands/Malvinas that team were even more motivated to beat England than ever before.
EI255
27-11-2020, 04:45 PM
England may have had a dodgy decision go their way but how exactly does that compare to cheating?Good to see Shilton get ripped apart for his comment in the red tops. I'll remember Diego. Not Peter Shilton.
EI255
27-11-2020, 04:48 PM
He also couldn't outjump a man who was 5'5" tall.
Maradona cheated but he took advantage of a goalkeeping error. Shilton knows it as well.Aye, Shilton a bitter, bitter loser. Even all these years later. Get it right up ye.
LeithMike
27-11-2020, 05:13 PM
Watched the wonderful Diego Maradona documentary again last night.
1. What an unbelievable player he was. Simply mesmerising and I remember watching Mexico 86 when he was at his pomp.
2. A real shame how he was exploited for his talent. He recognised the path to destruction he was on in Naples and asked to leave but the President "his jailor" refused to sell at great cost to DM. Also seemed to be given a lot of injections to keep him playing.
3. A real eye opener the way the Italians and the football world turned on him after Argentina knocked Italy out of Italia 90 and his talent began to wane.
4. He was completely justified with the Hand of God after Terry Fenwick put in two shocking challenges on him clearly with the intent to injure him. Now that was proper cheating. Maybe Shilton should have a look at that?
5. What an unbelievable player he was.
RIP Diego.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
27-11-2020, 05:13 PM
Aye, Shilton a bitter, bitter loser. Even all these years later. Get it right up ye.
Shilton tweet; ‘ive been really impressed with Jacob Rees Mogg. Really knows what he’s talking about and puts himself across in a calm, confident manner’.
27-11-2020, 05:26 PM
1. What an unbelievable player he was. Simply mesmerising and I remember watching Mexico 86 when he was at his pomp.
2. A real shame how he was exploited for his talent. He recognised the path to destruction he was on in Naples and asked to leave but the President "his jailor" refused to sell at great cost to DM. Also seemed to be given a lot of injections to keep him playing.
3. A real eye opener the way the Italians and the football world turned on him after Argentina knocked Italy out of Italia 90 and his talent began to wane.
4. He was completely justified with the Hand of God after Terry Fenwick put in two shocking challenges on him clearly with the intent to injure him. Now that was proper cheating. Maybe Shilton should have a look at that?
RIP Diego.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
It's an incredible film. Hard to believe that footage was just sitting in a box for decades.
I saw it in the cinema with a group including a couple of people with almost no interest in football, and even they thought it was brilliant.
Stonewall
27-11-2020, 06:07 PM
I see the Scotland Ladies team observing a minutes silence for the woman beater Maradona.
I hope they weren’t aware of it otherwise their skin must have been crawling.
27-11-2020, 06:27 PM
You don’t see anything wrong with the wording or positioning of their front page?
The day wasn’t about VAR, England or anything else (even if it had, the wording is shameful).. it was about the passing of arguably the greatest ever man to play the game.
Arguably.
27-11-2020, 08:14 PM
I see the Scotland Ladies team observing a minutes silence for the woman beater Maradona.
I hope they weren’t aware of it otherwise their skin must have been crawling.
Good friends with Sean Connery.
27-11-2020, 09:33 PM
RIP Diego.
Sent from my SM-N960F using TapatalkEven more justified for the 'cheating' if you reference the sinking of the Belgrano.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
28-11-2020, 02:36 PM
Arguably.
Yes, arguably. Completely agree - as I actually believe Messi is probably the best footballer ever (but didn’t want to start that debate :))
28-11-2020, 05:08 PM
We need more folk who are able to talk, listen, think, understand and build bridges rather than just antagonise from behind anonymous internet pseudonyms.
It's a fair point. Had that goal been awarded against Scotland at a World Cup would we hold the guy in quite such reverence?
28-11-2020, 05:13 PM
Yes, arguably. Completely agree - as I actually believe Messi is probably the best footballer ever (but didn’t want to start that debate :))
It was actually Gordon Smith according to many Hibs fans of a certain vintage :wink:
TBH I'd say Pele beats Maradona hands down in the greatest ever debate. Messi's also in with a shout (like Pele, his longevity at the top of his game has been remarkable) but at international level he never really displayed Maradona's magic.
30-11-2020, 12:37 PM
i see argentinian prosecuters are investigating maradonas death with the polis raiding his doctors clinic and house :confused:
04-12-2020, 05:24 PM
Napoli rename their stadium
The Stadio San Paolo will now be known as the Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
08-12-2020, 09:16 AM
Maradona:Goal Of The Century
I must admit I have always thought that Maradona’s second goal was an own goal by our very own Terry Butcher
This video from a different angle shows that it was definitely not the case
https://youtu.be/icBYJMZur2U
Quality
08-12-2020, 09:50 AM
It was actually Gordon Smith according to many Hibs fans of a certain vintage :wink:
TBH I'd say Pele beats Maradona hands down in the greatest ever debate. Messi's also in with a shout (like Pele, his longevity at the top of his game has been remarkable) but at international level he never really displayed Maradona's magic.
I think that's a bit unfair on Messi. He was only a Higuain sitter away from dragging a mostly mediocre Argentina to the 2014 world cup, which would have emulated Diego.
08-12-2020, 10:04 AM
Lucky to have seen both but think Pele is ahead. Took a small town club to World Club Champions twice and three world cups. For only being 5' 8" he was good in the air. Had an incredible football brain and capable of magical innovation.