View Full Version : Hibs Whisky
Ardenttwo
21-11-2020, 04:14 PM
Finally managed to get in and it’s out of stock 🥶🥶🥶
21-11-2020, 04:16 PM
There's no E in whisky. One of my biggest peeves ever. Just popping over to the peeve thread now!!
Edit. Just noticed but there is an H!
hibee
21-11-2020, 04:16 PM
There's no E in whisky. One of my biggest peeves ever. Just popping over to the peeve thread now!!
There is an H though [emoji3]
21-11-2020, 04:17 PM
There is an H though [emoji3]
Just beat me to my edit!!😆
Weegreenman
21-11-2020, 04:18 PM
Geez some, I’m in need of a few Drama eftir that.
21-11-2020, 04:18 PM
Finally managed to get in and it’s out of stock ������
It's just a bottle of whisky that they have stuck a Hibs label on and hiked up the price.
The joy of Christmas.
hibee
21-11-2020, 04:19 PM
Geez some, I’m in need of a few Drama eftir that.
Was that not enough drama for one night!
21-11-2020, 04:32 PM
It's just a bottle of whisky that they have stuck a Hibs label on and hiked up the price.
The joy of Christmas.
I went for it but not at £70 I'm not.
Shame would have been nice but not at that price
Ardenttwo
21-11-2020, 04:47 PM
Never knew it was that price. That’s a rip off surely but still if it’s into Hibs coffers I will get one if they come back for sale
21-11-2020, 05:30 PM
That is one very expensive sticky label.
MGmick
21-11-2020, 05:37 PM
At the risk of sparking a flag debate, there is one in Irish. :flag:
BlackSheep
21-11-2020, 05:45 PM
That is one very expensive sticky label.
It’s only £10 more expensive than the same speyside variety... so yes a £10 label could be thought of as expensive, but a £70 limited run bottle of whisky is hardly expensive.
21-11-2020, 05:47 PM
At the risk of sparking a flag debate, there is one in Irish. :flag:
Aye, there's an h in Irish! ☺
21-11-2020, 05:55 PM
It’s only £10 more expensive than the same speyside variety... so yes a £10 label could be thought of as expensive, but a £70 limited run bottle of whisky is hardly expensive.
That makes it a Limited run label on a standard bottle of Whisky
21-11-2020, 06:01 PM
im from Belfast and there 100% is an e in whiskey :greengrin
21-11-2020, 06:06 PM
And as ever, there is a choice, either buy or don't buy. The whisky comes in a very attractive presentation box and makes an excellent gift. I, for one, was delighted to receive it.
😄
21-11-2020, 06:07 PM
im from Belfast and there 100% is an e in whiskey :greengrin
There's an e in whiskey, but there's no e in whisky.
MGmick
21-11-2020, 06:20 PM
Aye, there's an h in Irish! ☺
Gold :not worth
BlackSheep
21-11-2020, 06:34 PM
And as ever, there is a choice, either buy or don't buy. The whisky comes in a very attractive presentation box and makes an excellent gift. I, for one, was delighted to receive it.
😄
Agreed, I’m awaiting delivery of mine as well. Always folk looking for a way to criticise.
BlackSheep
21-11-2020, 06:35 PM
That makes it a Limited run label on a standard bottle of Whisky
Glass half empty aye?
21-11-2020, 06:43 PM
Interesting there is an age statement on a blended Whisky?
I assume it means every single single malt they used is at least 18 years old?
Could buy a very nice bottle of single malt for £70 instead :agree:
Juniper Greens
21-11-2020, 06:47 PM
That's exactly what it means. Think about Dewar's for instance. All blends based on the aberfeldy single malt, but with years on the lable
21-11-2020, 06:50 PM
Bash on....nobody is forcing you to buy the Hibs one.
21-11-2020, 07:13 PM
I love a good whisky and anyone else who does should check out the whisky stramash every may at Surgeons Hall, loads of free tasting and all for around £20 for 4 hours, yes I know 😳. Anyway I think £70 is a bit steep although it is limited but it’s also a blended malt. A lot of money but if it helps Hibs then great. 👍
21-11-2020, 07:47 PM
I shall, thanks for you permission!
21-11-2020, 08:01 PM
I love a good whisky and anyone else who does should check out the whisky stramash every may at Surgeons Hall, loads of free tasting and all for around £20 for 4 hours, yes I know 😳. Anyway I think £70 is a bit steep although it is limited but it’s also a blended malt. A lot of money but if it helps Hibs then great. 👍
Whisky isn't cheap generally. I like a whisky too. Old Pulteney 18 year old is over £100. Glenfiddich 21 year old rum finish also over £100. Glenfarclas 25 year old strangely reasonably priced next to these but the 15 year old is good enough but that must be £60 to £70.
The hibs one is blended right enough but it is limited and has an age statement. If you're of a mind to spend that much on whisky then why not? It is only too expensive if it isn't any good.
21-11-2020, 09:04 PM
Yes it does (Whisky geek here) the age in blends go by the youngest used, so there could be older ones in there but the youngest will be 18.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
21-11-2020, 09:20 PM
Whisky isn't cheap generally. I like a whisky too. Old Pulteney 18 year old is over £100. Glenfiddich 21 year old rum finish also over £100. Glenfarclas 25 year old strangely reasonably priced next to these but the 15 year old is good enough but that must be £60 to £70.
The hibs one is blended right enough but it is limited and has an age statement. If you're of a mind to spend that much on whisky then why not? It is only too expensive if it isn't any good. You sound like you know your whisky though, where did that come from?
There’s a whole lot of discussion on that subject, probably not on Hibs net but over a nice malt lol 👍
wandering_hibee
21-11-2020, 09:43 PM
There is an e in whiskey but not in Scotch. 😉
Saturday Boy
21-11-2020, 09:51 PM
There is an e in whiskey but not in Scotch. 😉
Indeed. As we used to say at work, there’s no F in point.
Ardenttwo
22-11-2020, 10:41 AM
At the moment it’s out of stock. Anybody know if it will be back on sale. They said only 500 bottles so probably won’t
22-11-2020, 10:54 AM
Maybe an expensive whisky to take out of the box and drink but maybe not to keep and collect.
G-Reg
13-12-2020, 08:39 AM
Hey folks, I'm happy to clear a few things up on the hibs whisky.
For people asking about age statement and the limited nature of the whisky the 18 year old age statement refers to the youngest malt in the bottle and there is indeed older whisky in there. The blend itself is an award winning spirit that was selected by the club based on quality. It is indeed limited and there won't be another release of this 18yo Speyside.
Hibs don't make whisky but neither do they weave the hibs branded bedsheets or mould the clay for the mugs, these types of project are a good way for the club to raise income and fans get something tangible that they can gift or enjoy themselves.
The bottles all sold out very quickly which shows there is an appetite for these kind of things.
Most people that refer to blends maybe are thinking about blended scotch which has malt whisky and grain whisky in it. This bottle is a blend from several casks of malt whisky from different distilleries. Single Malts also comprise of several casks vatted together but they come from one distillery hence the use of the word single. Using more than one distillery allows us to create something as rich and complex as this bottling. If people would like a single cask release that is something that could be done too if there was a demand
13-12-2020, 12:43 PM
You'd think it'd be a bottle of McGinn.
No one drinks whisky except yer auld yin.
13-12-2020, 12:47 PM
For people asking about age statement and the limited nature of the whisky the 18 year old age statement refers to the youngest malt in the bottle and there is indeed older whisky in there. The blend itself is an award winning spirit that was selected by the club based on quality. It is indeed limited and there won't be another release of this 18yo Speyside.
Hibs don't make whisky but neither do they weave the hibs branded bedsheets or mould the clay for the mugs, these types of project are a good way for the club to raise income and fans get something tangible that they can gift or enjoy themselves.
The bottles all sold out very quickly which shows there is an appetite for these kind of things.
Most people that refer to blends maybe are thinking about blended scotch which has malt whisky and grain whisky in it. This bottle is a blend from several casks of malt whisky from different distilleries. Single Malts also comprise of several casks vatted together but they come from one distillery hence the use of the word single. Using more than one distillery allows us to create something as rich and complex as this bottling. If people would like a single cask release that is something that could be done too if there was a demand
Good informative post
13-12-2020, 11:14 PM
Thanks for this.... I'm really wishing my wife had bought two! it's a thing of beauty.. one to keep and one to drink!
Is there another whisky in the "stable" that'll be a similar taste that I can get for my Christmas? :greengrin otherwise it'll be getting cracked open in the new year :hyper:boo hoo::dizzy::party:
Theinsider
13-12-2020, 11:59 PM
Thanks for this.... I'm really wishing my wife had bought two! it's a thing of beauty.. one to keep and one to drink!
Is there another whisky in the "stable" that'll be a similar taste that I can get for my Christmas? :greengrin otherwise it'll be getting cracked open in the new year :hyper:boo hoo::dizzy::party:
Son and I got one each. Surely one will survive Christmas?:greengrin
G-Reg
14-12-2020, 10:04 AM
The standard 18yo speyside is online on Royal mile whisky. The spirit is coming to an end so we are working hard to blend something similar for a future release.
EI255
14-12-2020, 10:59 AM
Is there an Eden Mill Hibs gin available to purchase?
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
Juniper Greens
14-12-2020, 02:16 PM
I think I'm right in saying it's this bottle rebadged?
https://www.royalmilewhiskies.com/speyside-2001-18-year-old-blended-malt-46-8-70cl/
14-12-2020, 10:14 PM
I think I'm right in saying it's this bottle rebadged?
https://www.royalmilewhiskies.com/speyside-2001-18-year-old-blended-malt-46-8-70cl/
The standard 18yo speyside is online on Royal mile whisky. The spirit is coming to an end so we are working hard to blend something similar for a future release.Thanks guys!