View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 - 2 Celtic (Murphy, Nisbet)
21-11-2020, 03:53 PM
Overall a good performance but the two centre halves have cost us the game. Draw is still a decent result but not from where we were.
Lee Marvin
Oh well. Back to not caring about football for another few weeks, life is easier that way
Point against Celtic is of course "acceptable", but we really are a poor footballing unit despite a more spirited 2nd half performance ... Celtic were so poor in defence today, and we gave them the ball at every opportunity as the game progressed to let them pound us until the goals came - too many wrong decisions being made all over the park
full time 2-2
cue the moaning minnies.
Who wouldn't have taken a point at 3pm?
That's before we realised Celtic are just expensive garbage. If Hibs had an ounce of composure and belief, we'd have won that game at a canter.
That's so disappointing.
A poor refereeing decision and two crazy individual errors by our CBs cost us 2 points. We just panicked when they started coming at us and that will always lead to the kind of mistakes that we just witnessed.
So many positives to take from the 2nd half performance in particular but we gifted Celtic a point in the end. They were there for the taking today.
Hanlon has had a great season but WTF the whole team did not deserve that
No excuses, shocking defending and too many stupid free kicks given away against as poor a Celtic team as you'll see. The decision to bring in Gray was ridiculous. So much good work before that as well.
Magpie
21-11-2020, 03:54 PM
Gutted
It was NEVER a Celtic penalty, unbelievable decision even in the current climate. Disgraceful weegie ref decisions. 😡😡😡
I think I speak for most on here when I say you can GTF long before Paul Hanlon.
He made a mistake, sure. So did plenty others. 11 players lost 2 goals, not just him.
Yeah. Same poster who just appears in match threads to abuse Hibs players. Best ignored.
Good result. Sickening not winning it in the end.
Back to being a team full of bottle jobs.
Anyone who looks at that and says it was anything other than bottling it after being 2-0 up is kidding themselves on.
The tactics caught up with us eventually. Let them into our box so often and they are bound to score. I'd have taken a point though and we had a 15-20 minute spell where we played really well. Game management was again very poor and I feel for Hanlon who was excellent again but panicked at the wrong moment and cost us two points. Mackie has to keep the LB jersey after that. He was excellent throughout and one of the few players on the park who went toe to toe with his opposite number. Fringpong is normally excellent against us and Mackie completely snubbed him out. I just wish some of the other players had tried to imposed themselves against their opponents as much as Sean did
Antonyopus
Absolute garbage yet so predictable snatching defeat from the jaws of victory yet again. Pathetic just pathetic. A win would have been a great fillip after the Hearts disaster. How many times have we squandered a 2 goal lead.
21-11-2020, 03:55 PM
Robbed there. Should have been a Hibs foul, not a retake. In my opinion we were really good 2nd half.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
F*** off Hibs
Feel absolutley gutted not winning that from the position we were in and how we were playing second half.
WTF sort of a clearance is that from Hanlon, shocking.
Would have been delighted with a point before the game but feels like a real kick in the guts.
Agree, hate the way we give soft goals away while they are also helped big time by the dodgy ref's in the Scottish game.
:cb
Wee Effen Bee
Full time 2-2. Thanks Hanlon, you just cost 2 points. GTF.
Why don’t YOU get to **** you moaning ****. You just can’t wait to slag off Hibs. The team has played great defensively butt we mucked it up with two ***** mistakes. Both Hanlon and Porteous had great headers/Interventions/blocks throughout the match.
Same old Hanlon. Rotten
TBF it's his first **** up this season
I think I speak for most on here when I say you can GTF long before Paul Hanlon.
He made a mistake, sure. So did plenty others. 11 players lost 2 goals, not just him.
That goal was more down to SDG giving away a needless free kick and the goal came directly from that
21-11-2020, 03:56 PM
Basic defending error.
Thats a sore one to take.
Bobby Madden of East Kilbride helping Celtic get a draw there. Should have gave the foul on Mackie with the free kick in the first place but instead allows them to retake? :confused:
And then Hanlon with an absolute shocker of a clearance gifts them the goal.
Lendo
Had a Draw on the coupon, but that’s a sore one to take.
Seconded. Pain in the ****ing arse.
2-2 with Celtic is ok but that’s it, 2-1 Dunfermline is simply awesome! Keep the perspective peeps 👏
Well done Madden ya ****, robbed us of a deserved victory.
21-11-2020, 03:57 PM
Disappointing to drop 2 points from that position. Some people need to stay off forums and stop acting like big babies.
Player makes mistake so everyone who considers said player to have any level of value to the club must now change their opinions...
On a more serious note, why were they allowed to retake that free kick?
I don't get that either. Hibs player fouled, so should have been a free-kick to Hibs.
Terrible mistake by Hanlon for their goal, though. That should have been booted right up the park.
It was NEVER a Celtic penalty, unbelievable decision even in the current climate. Disgraceful weegie ref decisions. 😡😡😡
If that was a pen how on earth was the Celtic hand ball in the first half not a penalty.
You can speak for yourself and yourself only.
Hanlon ****ed up with a pathetic clearance. 11 minutes to play and we were 2-0 but we draw the game. Unacceptable, even against Celtic.
The bit in bold is the sort of attitude we need rid of, just accepting that players make mistakes like that and its ok. Nah, we need to do so much better, the worst Celtic team in years and we gift them a point...
Disappointing to drop 2 points from that position. Some people need to stay off forums and stop acting like big babies.
Yup
Gutted. Soft penalty and then bizarre retake of free kick when our player fouled.
However two terrible attempts at clearances led to both goals.
21-11-2020, 03:58 PM
That goal was more down to SDG giving away a needless free kick and the goal came directly from that
Indeed.
Folk just making the hot takes and picking the low hanging fruit in blaming Hanlon and Porteous. You rarely lose goals purely down to 1 person. Plenty of small errors led to both. It happens.
Decent point, good performance overall. Better than last 2. Winning next one will make this a very good result.
Poor from gray and hanlon. Should have been seeing that out.
We got a reply of the freekick? Was the ball in play when ref blew etc? Seemed like a clear freekick to us. Feels like a defeat when it happens in this manor.
rossevenil
Absolutely,comments on here after the equaliser are way ott
Looking at stats it seems a decent result but losing a 2 goal lead with 10 mins to go is crap no matter the nature of the game. Really poor game management.
We really, really need to sort out our game management. We have good players, a good manager and great set up behind the scenes.
But we've not been mentally strong enough against Hearts, Aberdeen and now today.
This David tanner is a prick looks delighted we f€£/d it up prick of the highest order get cliff on the interviews
It absolutely was. What was he thinking about? Had them exactly where you’d want them to keep them pinned in.
21-11-2020, 03:59 PM
I don't get that either. Hibs player fouled, so should have been a free-kick to Hibs.
Terrible mistake by Hanlon for their goal, though. That should have been booted right up the park.
The ball wasn't in play. He got that right
21-11-2020, 03:59 PM
Hanlon ****ing murder. Lets see Jonnyboy defend that in his write up Utter mince.
Any need for that, really?
Robbed there. Should have been a Hibs foul, not a retake. In my opinion we were really good 2nd half.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Totally robbed,as blatant a 12th man as you’ll ever see pen for nothing retake free kick instead of a foul to us.
Feel gutted after that team where great second half as well deserved much more hopefully they can take the positives out that was much better than previous games
21-11-2020, 04:00 PM
Hanlon ****ed up with a pathetic clearance. 11 minutes to play and we were 2-0 but we draw the game. Unacceptable, even against Celtic.
The bit in bold is the sort of attitude we need rid of, just accepting that players make mistakes like that and its ok. Nah, we need to do so much better, the worst Celtic team in years and we gift them a point...
Grow up ffs
Hanlon makes one mistake and the lynch mob are out. Shower of fannies who call themselves Hibs fans who cannae wait to lay the boot in. Cannae hide the glee in their posts to rip into one of our best and most consistent players this season.
He’s made a **** of it, nae doubt, but gie it a ****ing rest
Gray gave away the sort of stupid free kick that just irritates the hell out of me. Player going nowhere so just back off a little but no, he dives and and gives Madden the easy option.
Terrible from an experienced player.
Na, I speak for plenty who are sick to death of you posting negative, abusive pish every time something goes even remotely wrong.
You can chose to accept whatever you like mate, its a fact that players make mistakes. Scott Brown, who has won this league 10 times made a dreadful one for our penalty. Does that suddenly erase all sense and logic? Will they be releasing him tomorrow?
If enough of us don't accept it, do we get 3 points?
I would’ve taken a point beforehand but to chuck a 2-0 lead away like that is a sore one. Shocking from Hanlon, no escaping it he’s cost us the three points with that attempt at a clearance.
Dundee u 2 Hamilton 1
Livingston 0 st.mirren 1
Kilmarnock 3 ross co 1
st.johnstone 1 Motherwell 1
Allez Hibs
21-11-2020, 04:01 PM
2-0 up at home against anybody with 20 minutes to go and not seeing it out is unacceptable.
Jack Ross does not have it in big games.
21-11-2020, 04:01 PM
Hanlon makes one mistake and the lynch mob are out. Shower of fannies who call themselves Hibs fans who cannae wait to lay the boot in. Cannae hide the glee in their posts to rip into one of our best and most consistent players this season.
I don’t think the lynch mob are out at all bar one poster, but it was a shocking mistake. Don’t think anyone is saying much more than that.
21-11-2020, 04:02 PM
It was a monumental one right enough.
2-0 up at home against anybody with 20 minutes to go and not seeing it out is unacceptable.
11 minutes to go and yes it is unacceptable.
OstKurve Hibs
You mean another mistake, it's the same stupid mistakes that have been happening for years
How is it Jack Ross’ fault we concede a pen or in the last minute Hanlon has a howler and passes it to the opposition 12 yards out?
21-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Jack Ross does not have it in big games.Lol. Mmmkay.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
**** off then or use ignore function. :dunno:
How is this allowed on here
Disgraceful from Hanlon. Porteous and Gogic lack composure and need replaced
This team and manager have such a weak mentality
How is it Jack Ross’ fault we concede a pen or in the last minute Hanlon has a howler and passes it to the opposition 12 yards out?Ofcourse it was nowt do to with him that we were 2-0 up on the champions
Drawing after leading for most if the game is a punch in the stomach. Feels like a loss so can understand why some on here will be angry at drawing. Tbh looks like 10 in a row has gone though 😀
Watching the replay of their equaliser, how the **** is that not a free kick to us. Duffy is rugby tackling our defenders
21-11-2020, 04:04 PM
I'm gutted and somewhat pleased at the same time as being a smug b@@@@@d.
Gutted to blow that the way we did.:brickwall
Somewhat pleased to take a point from one of the arse cheeks again.:greengrin
Smug b@@@@@@d for getting another 3 points in our prediction league.:cb
Why is gray giving a foul away there - bloody stupid!!
Is the correct question.
All he had to was stand behind the guy who had nowhere to go but naw decides the best idea is to foul him.
When did Celtic last beat us in the league at ER? 2014?
inglisavhibs
21-11-2020, 04:05 PM
Absolute bottle-job by our two CBS. They have sold the win today. Would have been a huge win.
Our 2 centre backs kept us in the game for the whole first half.
Looking at stats it seems a decent result but losing a 2 goal lead with 10 mins to go is crap no matter the nature of the game. Really poor game management.
The game management was good. Individual errors are what has cost us there. Jack Ross has had a good game.
I think so. To be fair we were not in the Premiership for 3 of those years so it's not quite as good as it sounds.
Ross had us 2-0 up. Did he concede the penalty or make the poor clearance? He set us up to be compact and hit them on the break and it worked for 79 minutes. You cant blame him for individual errors made by the players
This team and manager have such a weak mentalityRight.
Robbo6-2
How many times do we lose a last minute goal?
There is a fundamental issue at our club. It was so obvious we were going to blow that lead.
All the hard work done by a shocking piece of defending done by our captain.
Feels like a defeat
21-11-2020, 04:06 PM
Lack of composure is a valid point. Wild swings at the ball led to both goals.
We need a McGeough type more than a Gogic type IMO.
inglisavhibs
have a word with yourself.
You mean another mistake, it's the same stupid mistakes that have been happening for years
Yes. Nearly 150 years now. Every player to ever play for us will have made mistakes.
Col L
21-11-2020, 04:07 PM
The game management was good. Individual errors are what has cost us there. Jack Ross has had a good game.
‘Game management’ is surely about staying mentally strong and not making stupid mistakes. It was far from good.
full time 2-2
cue the moaning minnies.
Who wouldn't have taken a point at 3pm?
Aye, let's all be delighted
I think supporters have a weak mentality.
He’s made a **** of it, nae doubt, but gie it a ****ing restSame with Gray. How many minutes has he had this season?
The tactics caught up with us eventually. Let them into our box so often and they are bound to score. I'd have taken a point though and we had a 15-20 minute spell where we played really well. Game management was again very poor and I feel for Hanlon who was excellent again but panicked at the wrong moment and cost us two points. Mackie has to keep the LB jersey after that. He was excellent throughout and one of the few players on the park who went toe to toe with his opposite number. Fringpong is normally excellent against us and Mackie completely snubbed him out. I just wish some of the other players had tried to imposed themselves against their opponents as much as Sean did
Agree with every word of this.
Draws, throwing away points from winning positions cost Ross his job at Sunderland.
We were always going to be forced back late in that game but I thought we brought a lot of our trouble there on ourselves. We panicked over a few too many clearances when a bit more composure might have seen us get out and get up the park. Not sure Ross or the team wanted us to though.
Arguably a decent point but not from where we were.
he can't be blamed for our defenders mucking up
21-11-2020, 04:08 PM
have a word with yourself.
Do you disagree?
21-11-2020, 04:09 PM
There is a fundamental issue at our club. It was so obvious we were going to blow that lead.
Feels like a defeat
Thats the first goal we have lost after 85 minutes since Febuary against Inverness, a game we won 5-2.
Its a Hibs thing , it happens
21-11-2020, 04:09 PM
Garbage.
We've now played both Celtc and The Rangers at home, two teams who'll finish miles ahead of everybody else, and both games finished 2-2.
Yes it's dissapointing that we let them back in it today but that's another big game we didn't actually lose.
21-11-2020, 04:10 PM
Proper annoyed me this one. Couldn’t even watch the last 10 minutes because I just had a gut feeling I knew what was coming after they scored the pen.
Jack Ross does not have it in big games.Jack Ross had us 2-0 up with 10-15 minutes to go. Jack Ross didn't make the unforced, schoolboy errors.
I just wonder how much enjoyment you can take from this 'watching Hibs' lark. 90% of your posts are hammering someone. Today it was Gogic first, then Hanlon. Theres always a scapegoat. Then Nisbet scores a pearler, and you're like 'nice goal'. Almost like it annoyed you :dunno: You cant be surprised when folk get peed off, watching your team seems to make you miserable.
Oh, and Gogic was fine today. hes not Pirlo but thats not his job.
21-11-2020, 04:11 PM
Same with Gray. How many minutes has he had this season?
A player of that experience giving such a daft foul away is ridiculous though.
Lee Marvin
21-11-2020, 04:12 PM
You only need to read the reactions here to see how much damage that Hampden horror show has done to the Hibs support.
Not very often this season.
hibee62
Feels like a defeat
That would be the first last minute goal we’ve lost this season.....
Bad mistakes, decent result, Werder Bremen got a point in Munich and we're not in the Championship losing to Dunfermline. Not exactly a Carlsberg weekend but I've had worse as a Hibby.
Jack Ross had us 2-0 up with 10-15 minutes to go. Jack Ross didn't make the unforced, schoolboy errors.
:agree: Hanlon puts his foot through that clearance instead of sclaffing it and we get three points.
He couldn’t do anything about that.
21-11-2020, 04:14 PM
I just wonder how much enjoyment you can take from this 'watching Hibs' lark. 90% of your posts are hammering someone. Today it was Gogic first, then Hanlon. Theres always a scapegoat. Then Nisbet scores a pearler, and you're like 'nice goal'. Almost like it annoyed you :dunno: You cant be surprised when folk get peed off, watching your team seems to make you miserable.
Oh, and Gogic was fine today. hes not Pirlo but thats not his job.Even Jonnyboy was getting stick.
Indeed.
Folk just making the hot takes and picking the low hanging fruit in blaming Hanlon and Porteous. You rarely lose goals purely down to 1 person. Plenty of small errors led to both. It happens.
Decent point, good performance overall. Better than last 2. Winning next one will make this a very good result.
How is it a hot take? It was 2 simple clearences that they probably do with ease 10-15 times a game. Its 2 daft lapses in concentration from both thats lead to the 2 goals. Its a decent point but it shouldve been 3 and probably deserved to be 3 for our 2nd half performance.
Robbo6-2
That would be the first last minute goal we’ve lost this season.....
How many over the last 3 seasons
You only need to read the reactions here to see how much damage that Hampden horror show has done to the Hibs support.
I don't remember post match threads being all sweetness and light before that either to be honest!
21-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Thats the first goal we have lost after 85 minutes since Febuary against Inverness, a game we won 5-2.Shut up with your stats
Folk want to morph into children, stamp there feet and have tantrum
Your stats completely destroying the myth of mentality just won't do.
hibbydog
21-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Understand the frustration with blowing a 2 goal lead with 12 to go.
But FFS, Some people need to get a grip. I’m in the ‘***** it’ camp when it comes to bad results. We don’t have any control over it, and abusing our players won’t make any difference.
21-11-2020, 04:16 PM
I’ll be honest as much as I hate to admit it it really has put a right dampner on my attitude towards Hibs just now and results like today aren’t helping. Would be fine if we could get back in grounds to help clear the emotions but sitting at home watching us chuck yet another big game is just a complete kick in the balls
21-11-2020, 04:17 PM
How is it a hot take? It was 2 simple clearences that they probably do with ease 10-15 times a game. Its 2 daft lapses in concentration from both thats lead to the 2 goals. Its a decent point but it shouldve been 3 and probably deserved to be 3 for our 2nd half performance.
Of course its a hot take. Its just the easist person to blame. You think Jack Ross will just blame Hanlon? Or will he ask why did Celtic have the ball? Why did we give a free kick away under no pressure? Why was no one closing the guy down?
Hanlon make a mistake, something you cant account for. Reducing the risk of it happening but actually doing the other things correctly is how to sort these problems.
Oh, and Gogic was fine today. hes not Pirlo but thats not his job.
This in buckets. He did what he was brought in to do and has mostly done since he got here. I just don't get the comments some folks make about him. It's almost as if they watch football but don't really understand the role of some positions or players.:confused:
If everyone that was sick of your negative attention seeking posts put you on ignore you’d end up staring at a blank forum.
I don't remember post match threads being all sweetness and light before that either to be honest!Correct. It must be due to lockdown, etc. but there have been some ludicrous reactions on here. I honestly wonder what team & league some people are used to watching with the levels of perfection that are being demanded.
hibee62
How many over the last 3 seasons
No idea but:
1. I can’t remember the last one and,
2. What relevance is that to this season’s team?
I’ll be honest as much as I hate to admit it it really has put a right dampner on my attitude towards Hibs just now and results like today aren’t helping. Would be fine if we could get back in grounds to help clear the emotions but sitting at home watching us chuck yet another big game is just a complete kick in the balls
Exactly. That hampden result is one of the worst in my time watching Hibs. Unforgivable to lose that game.
21-11-2020, 04:18 PM
Tuesday is a big one now, got to win to open up the gap to United and to a lesser extent Killie again.
Thought we performed well today and carried out JR’s game plan to nullify them and break. Poor individual errors cost us, not sure it was a penalty for them.
Green_one
When Gray came on I thought WHY
He was off the pace and cost us at a key moment. Instead of being a level head he was the opposite
Jack needs to explain that one
Otherwise a draw is not a disaster. Thought we were awful in the first half, better in part of the second. That is two pens missed.
Hanlon was poor, but what on earth was SDG thinking about - total lack of composure and for me, it's his error that's cost us the 3 points. Awful defending.
We are bereft of proper experience in the side. Not enough leadership, not enough grit in the middle of the park and players who can instruct play.
Good point, but could have been so much more.
Huge goal for Kevin Nisbet, not only a great strike, but to lift himself after the penalty he showed real bravery and class. Top player :aok::agree:
21-11-2020, 04:19 PM
The result was worse for Celtic than it was for us. We got a point which most teams below us won’t get. Rangers will go on to win the league and Celtic will wait till it’s mathematically impossible to win it and Lennon will be history.
Correct. It must be due to lockdown, etc. but there have been some ludicrous reactions on here. I honestly wonder what team & league some people are used to watching with the levels of perfection that are being demanded.
So you would deem defenders clearing their lines and a midfielder capable of passing a ball perfection?
Couple of years ago we came back from 2 down to draw with them. It happens and it's annoying but in the wider context, it's a good point.
Hanlon was poor, but what on earth was SDG thinking about - total lack of composure and for me, it's his error that's cost us the 3 points. Awful defending.
We are bereft of proper experience in the side. Not enough leadership, not enough grit in the middle of the park and players who can instruct play.
Huge goal for Kevin Nisbet, not only a great strike, but to lift himself after the penalty he showed real bravery and class. Top player :aok::agree:
Hanlon wasn’t poor. He ****ed up with that clearance. He had a good game otherwise.
How many over the last 3 seasonsHahaha!
Apart from that, what have the romans done for us ?
Jack Ross had us 2-0 up with 10-15 minutes to go. Jack Ross didn't make the unforced, schoolboy errors.
Jack Ross didn't score either of the great finishes.
I wouldn't necessarily blame him but you can't have it both ways.
21-11-2020, 04:20 PM
Couple of years ago we came back from 2 down to draw with them. It happens and it's annoying but in the wider context, it's a good point.
Indeed. That was hailed as a great result despite us not having a kick for 70 minutes. I'll take todays performance over that. Nullified them really well, took our chances, couple of silly errors cost us. No great disaster. Win the next one and its a very solid point.
Nah he speaks for me too. It’s ****ing boring
It’s definitely a good point. On the balance of the game, we deserved a point, and got one. It’s the manner of it that’s disappointing.
It’s a shame some will still use this as some kind of “proof” that Jack Ross cannae handle the big games...nonsense.
21-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Hanlon wasn’t poor. He ****ed up with that clearance. He had a good game otherwise.
I was referring to his clearance attempt, not overall play :wink::aok:
Lee Marvin
21-11-2020, 04:22 PM
Exactly. That hampden result is one of the worst in my time watching Hibs. Unforgivable to lose that game.
I honestly had not read hibs.net, read any articles or press conferences about hibs since that game. I watched the first half today barely caring, got lulled back in again only to feel utterly deflated once more.
Honestly, our big game record over my lifetime has been utterly atrocious for a club of our size.
Of course it's dissapointing to throw away a lead in the last couple of minutes but the (over) reactions on here are unbelievable.
So you would deem defenders clearing their lines and a midfielder capable of passing a ball perfection?Folk don't need errors like that to moan.
We went in 0-0 at HT and you'd have thought we were getting cuffed given some of the reactions on here.
Can't agree that givin a foul away wide is worse than not being able to clear a ball under no pressure at al.
21-11-2020, 04:23 PM
The gameplan from the manager worked a treat. Some very experienced players cost us today.
HendoDelivered
21-11-2020, 04:24 PM
I had the same amount of confidence of winning the game at 2-0 as I did at 0-0 (zero)
We manage to **** most things up its so boring and predictable.
We were never really in trouble then hemmed ourselves in by the substitutions we made We were always going to be under the cosh snd that brings with it the possibility that pressure leads to mistakes and that’s what happened
Think Hanlon in particular had time to boot it higher and further from goal To hit it straight to player was poor Imo
But will take the point as long as we now go on and win next two games
Wish Boyle would find form
Nah he speaks for me too. It’s ****ing boring
And me!!
Of course it's dissapointing to throw away a lead in the last couple of minutes but the (over) reactions on here are unbelievable.Not really
They same handful of posters on here do nothing but
I wouldn't necessarily blame him but you can't have it both ways.He brought in the players that did. He didn't bring in the players that made the mistakes.
HFC93
Gutted, but my god their are some absolute weirdos on here.
21-11-2020, 04:25 PM
Is this actually some running joke now or are people seriously still going to wallow in this?
One would almost suspect it was Jambos just coming on to stir the pot.
21-11-2020, 04:25 PM
And me!!
Christ, my popularity is turning. I may run for fans rep soon :thumbsup:
21-11-2020, 04:26 PM
Can't agree that givin a foul away wide is worse than not being able to clear a ball under no pressure at al.
It was so unnecessary Jim, that was my point. Just harry and make them play back. He dived in and was reckless. Hanlon will know how poor he was in that moment, but for me, giving away needless set piece opportunities in the dying embers of games is poor.
It's a frustrating end to overall a decent performance.
Well don't accept it, what happens now?
Stonewall
I wouldn't necessarily blame him but you can't have it both ways.
No but set up the team to play in a certain way and we’re 2-0 up. Then individual errors cost us.
Christ, my popularity is turning. I may run for fans soon :thumbsup:
I wouldn't if I were you!! 😃
21-11-2020, 04:27 PM
Dundee United creeping up so a win would have been ideal
21-11-2020, 04:27 PM
It’s definitely a good point. On the balance of the game, we deserved a point, and got one. It’s the manner of it that’s disappointing.
It’s a shame some will still use this as some kind of “proof” that Jack Ross cannae handle the big games...nonsense.
Celtic really should have won the match in the first half as we were terrible, although defended well. Second half was much better and we found ourselves 2 up which was probably much more than we deserved. However losing the 2 goals as we did is gutting and the penalty is utterly ridiculous. Amongst all the other goings on with their equaliser Porteous was flattened in the box when the ball was swung in, it was a blatant foul and as far as I’m concerned it’s another ref giving the weegie masses everything. The players did make mistakes but they were equally brilliant digging in and unlucky with the decisions.
21-11-2020, 04:28 PM
Is this actually some running joke now or are people seriously still going to wallow in this?
One would almost suspect it was Jambos just coming on to stir the pot.
Überhibs user name but constantly only post when Hibs get a poor result and always sneak in a wee mention of Hearts derby wins. Sniff sniff sniff, this place is crawling with them.
21-11-2020, 04:29 PM
Not accepting a defeat automatically converts it into a victory.
Have you learned nothing from Donald Trump?
Robbo6-2
21-11-2020, 04:31 PM
29% of the possession at home..
Our league position is fine but Jack Ross style of play is horrendous to watch
This in buckets. He did what he was brought in to do and has mostly done since he got here. I just don't get the comments some folks make about him. It's almost as if they watch football but don't really understand the role of some positions or players.:confused:
I like Gogic. He constantly breaks up play and protects our defence. We’d be in a terrible state without him. He needs a bit of help in there though.
Not accepting a defeat automatically converts it into a victory.
Have you learned nothing from Donald Trump?
Are you saying Trump lost, what a wierdo. 😀
Dundee United creeping up so a win would have been ideal
Win on Tuesday and we keep them at a good distance. Massive game.
21-11-2020, 04:32 PM
Our league position is fine but Jack Ross style of play is horrendous to watchI wonder what average percentage of possession. Leicester had when they won the EPL?
We are playing the team that has won every trophy going the last few years and can spend more 1 player than our total team worth
21-11-2020, 04:33 PM
No but set up the team to play in a certain way and we’re 2-0 up. Then individual errors cost us.
Correct but individual brilliance put us ahead. Take that away and we lose?
It's nonsense to cherry pick which parts of the game the manager is responsible for.
21-11-2020, 04:33 PM
He brought in the players that did. He didn't bring in the players that made the mistakes.
:greengrin That's a stretch
The Captain....
21-11-2020, 04:34 PM
Thoughts on today...extremely disappointing to concede the two goal lead but tbh Id have taken a point before the game.
Thank god Lennon didnt start Edouard and Griffiths...it would have been a much more difficult game. Marciano made some superb saves today.
Delighted for Nisbet that he got the goal today..was a very tidy finish. He is far and away the best player at the club..although Murphy has impressed me in the last couple of games also.
The "small squad" is probably costing us. I understand the reasons financially why we are doing it but all the same the lack of quality in certain positions means we have few options in the latter stages of games imo. Not sure there will be much chance to remedy it but I hope we can get a couple more in next window.
Hibidiocy is strong on this thread.
Disappointing we never saw the game out, but overall a good performance with some unfortunate errors from our experienced players costing us a victory.
Delighted for Nisbet that he scored, but time for him to stop taking penalties.
Hopefully he stops ****ing posting.
That Gray substitution is mental.
Our league position is fine but Jack Ross style of play is horrendous to watchYou keep coming back for another pop don't you. Those possession stats aren't the norm for Hibs, neither home nor away. What else are you going to moan about?
I wonder what average percentage of possession. Leicester had when they won the EPL?
We are playing the team that has won every trophy going the last few years and can spend more 1 player than our total team worth
Had a quick look - * Leicester rank 18th in terms of possession in the Premier League this season, have recorded the lowest pass success rate, and only two teams play more long balls.
Win on Tuesday and we keep them at a good distance. Massive game.
Please no one tell the players it’s a massive game.
Disappointing to draw that after being 2 up with 10 to go.
21-11-2020, 04:35 PM
It's nonsense to cherry pick which parts of the game the manager is responsible for.
So overall he was responsible for a draw against a team with over a £50m per year wage budget. Seems like he should get some credit for that?
21-11-2020, 04:36 PM
I like Gogic. He constantly breaks up play and protects our defence. We’d be in a terrible state without him. He needs a bit of help in there though.
I agree, I think that's one area we need to look at if we have finances to strengthen in January. A player with higher energy and as combative would be ideal for Gogic.
21-11-2020, 04:37 PM
:greengrin That's a stretchI know. It's too easy to blame today on JR. You can't say it's his fault without acknowledging that he had us in a winning position.
RossScott1991
21-11-2020, 04:37 PM
Not read much.
I thought Hibs played well today? 2nd half up til the 80th minute we were comfortable and the better side.
21-11-2020, 04:38 PM
I agree, I think that's one area we need to look at if we have finances to strengthen in January. A player with higher energy and as combative would be ideal for Gogic.Isn't that magennis?
21-11-2020, 04:39 PM
Isn't that magennis?
I really hope so Callum :aok: bit concerned that injuries KM has had, and has now, could see us with a player who is out more than in the side. But yes, certainly hope KM does turn out to be that player.
21-11-2020, 04:41 PM
My thoughts are that Ross got away with it today. If Celtc had even been at half throttle they would have destroyed us. That being said he set us up to defend on the edge of our box and until a very unlucky penalty it had worked very well. In terms of what happened then I have to give credit to Ross, we ended up quite unlucky to lose, and a point at home to a team with 10 times our budget is never a disaster. It came down to individual errors but the set up meant those errors were more likely to be in or around our box so Ross has a small part to play there imo.
Against Lennon it is probably a tactic that has a chance as Lennon doesn't really do tactics so if his team are off form he will just sub who he is most in the huff with. He was spoilt for choice today as I doubt any Celtc player will score 5 or more out of 10 today.
21-11-2020, 04:44 PM
Ach on reflection a draw against either Huns or Celtc is never a bad result and is more than most have got this season. It puts us 1 point behind the sheep whose 2 games in hand are Huns away and Celtc away. Beat St Johnstone at home Tuesday and Dundee at home Saturday and we're 3rd and in the 1/4's of the cup
Robbo6-2
21-11-2020, 04:46 PM
I wonder what average percentage of possession. Leicester had when they won the EPL?
Are we top of the league like Leicester?
21-11-2020, 04:48 PM
Are we top of the league like Leicester?
Dug wae a bone. Gonnae give it a rest, boring as **** now.
Roxyhibee
21-11-2020, 04:48 PM
Two pretty extreme sides on this thread. Ok, Paul Hanlon is a really fine footballer and a good passer of the ball, especially for a Scottish CB. You could see he had a bit finesse about him when he made his debut all those years ago and he’s played some great periods for us throughout his career. But, for me, he does have a noticeable mental weakness under pressure and lacks a captains aggression and drive - the very reasons he’s still with us and worthy to us and not got 40 or 50 international caps. On the subject of Hibs’ mental toughness under Ross at the moment - it’s not that bad, we’ve got good points and not played well and we’ve lost when we should have won. Jury’s out. And yes, I’m still genuinely angry about Hampden - we absolutely bottled that from manager to players.
Weegreenman
21-11-2020, 04:49 PM
We’re murder on the eye but I suppose that doesn’t matter in this league.
So frustrating giving away two late goals.
21-11-2020, 04:50 PM
Absolute garbage yet so predictable snatching defeat from the jaws of victory yet again. Pathetic just pathetic. A win would have been a great fillip after the Hearts disaster. How many times have we squandered a 2 goal lead.
Yawn.
21-11-2020, 04:50 PM
Doig as a replacement would have made more sense - or even Gullan for fresh legs and energy if Murphy was done. Hallberg should have been on 10 mins earlier too - and for Boyle.
Anyhoo, spilled milk now, a point will probably seem more palatable tomorrow...
21-11-2020, 04:51 PM
Are we top of the league like Leicester?Do percentages only count when your top?
We've had the best start to the league for ages - we don't need to be top of it to show that percentages mean f all.
21-11-2020, 04:52 PM
Two pretty extreme sides on this thread. Ok, Paul Hanlon is a really fine footballer and a good passer of the ball, especially for a Scottish CB. You could see he had a bit finesse about him when he made his debut all those years ago and he’s played some great periods for us throughout his career. But, for me, he does have a noticeable mental weakness under pressure and lacks a captains aggression and drive - the very reasons he’s still with us and worthy to us and not got 40 or 50 international caps. On the subject of Hibs’ mental toughness under Ross at the moment - it’s not that bad, we’ve got good points and not played well and we’ve lost when we should have won. Jury’s out. And yes, I’m still genuinely angry about Hampden - we absolutely bottled that from manager to players.It's not about extremes. I'm annoyed that we dropped points today, but I also realise that a draw against Celtic is never that bad.
The disagreements come from the OTT reaction and unrealistic expectations of some so called supporters. And I'm not talking about after we lost the goals, the usual suspects were in action well before that.
21-11-2020, 04:53 PM
Think the subs cost us today.
Jack Ross deserves credit, especially for the start to the second half and for going two up. But deserves equal criticism for the subs and inviting them on to us with what, 15 minutes to go. Crazy stuff.
On to Tuesday though! I'm confident of a good win on Tuesday.
Two pretty extreme sides on this thread. Ok, Paul Hanlon is a really fine footballer and a good passer of the ball, especially for a Scottish CB. You could see he had a bit finesse about him when he made his debut all those years ago and he’s played some great periods for us throughout his career. But, for me, he does have a noticeable mental weakness under pressure and lacks a captains aggression and drive - the very reasons he’s still with us and worthy to us and not got 40 or 50 international caps. On the subject of Hibs’ mental toughness under Ross at the moment - it’s not that bad, we’ve got good points and not played well and we’ve lost when we should have won. Jury’s out. And yes, I’m still genuinely angry about Hampden - we absolutely bottled that from manager to players.
Pretty well summed up.
My thoughts are that Ross got away with it today. If Celtc had even been at half throttle they would have destroyed us. That being said he set us up to defend on the edge of our box and until a very unlucky penalty it had worked very well. In terms of what happened then I have to give credit to Ross, we ended up quite unlucky to lose, and a point at home to a team with 10 times our budget is never a disaster. It came down to individual errors but the set up meant those errors were more likely to be in or around our box so Ross has a small part to play there imo.
Against Lennon it is probably a tactic that has a chance as Lennon doesn't really do tactics so if his team are off form he will just sub who he is most in the huff with. He was spoilt for choice today as I doubt any Celtc player will score 5 or more out of 10 today.
You’ll probably get some stick for your opening sentence. But I get it.
I couldn’t believe we were two up. Then I couldn’t believe we threw it away.
Strange game. I didn’t think we were good but we’re two up. Nisbet got lucky at the pen but his goal was brilliant. Really bad mistakes to throw it away, but not terribly surprised.
21-11-2020, 04:54 PM
Jack Ross deserves credit, especially for the start to the second half and for going two up. But deserves equal criticism for the subs and inviting them on to us with what, 15 minutes to go. Crazy stuff.
On to Tuesday though! I'm confident of a good win on Tuesday.I was surprised when he brought Stephen McGinn on, but it wasn't him that screwed up.
21-11-2020, 04:56 PM
The worrying thing for me is if Nisbet gets injured we will seriously struggle. We are very reliant on him not just for goals but general attacking intent.
If he stays fit in pretty confident we will finish 4th (3rd possible but Aberdeen are more consistent). If he was to get injured I feel we would be looking at a much lower placing.
21-11-2020, 04:58 PM
So overall he was responsible for a draw against a team with over a £50m per year wage budget. Seems like he should get some credit for that?
Absolutely
I know. It's too easy to blame today on JR. You can't say it's his fault without acknowledging that he had us in a winning position.
Aye, odd. Lots of people influenced the result - both positive and negative.
Overall we'd probably have taken a point before kick off but dropping points like that could make the difference between 3rd and 4th for us which is very frustrating
He's away writing his unacceptance speech.
Robbo6-2
21-11-2020, 05:02 PM
Do percentages only count when your top?
We've had the best start to the league for ages - we don't need to be top of it to show that percentages mean f all.
Your missing my point.
I said the style of play under Ross is poor, ie we don't get the ball down and play. The majority of the time it's long ball from Porteous or Hanlon. It's not great to watch. Yes we are in a good position in the league but I'd much prefer to watch good football that what us currently on offer.
Of course we would take 29% possession if we were top of the league but we arent
21-11-2020, 05:02 PM
Isn't that magennis?
Who knows??
21-11-2020, 05:07 PM
A lot of people would be saved a lot of stress if we just copied and pasted the match day thread every week.
The same people post the same things almost regardless of what happens on the park. Chop and change a few players names and you'd have something that would make something resembling sense.
21-11-2020, 05:08 PM
He's away writing his unacceptance speech.
The outrageometer is going unacceptably high on this thread.
Decent result overall, given that Doidge was out and Boyle was anonymous again.
Stonewall
21-11-2020, 05:11 PM
In a game mistakes are made and people are brilliant. This is normal. Manager selects, dictates tactics, subs and motivates.
inglisavhibs
21-11-2020, 05:13 PM
Do you disagree?
yes
yerauldda
21-11-2020, 05:14 PM
Gutted, but my god their is some absolute weirdos on here.
This. Bizarre. Hanlon was terrific then shanked one clearance and people are slating him.
21-11-2020, 05:15 PM
Your missing my point.
I said the style of play under Ross is poor, ie we don't get the ball down and play. The majority of the time it's long ball from Porteous or Hanlon. It's not great to watch. Yes we are in a good position in the league but I'd much prefer to watch good football that what us currently on offer.
Of course we would take 29% possession if we were top of their l league but we arent
The old style over substance argument is a classic on here. Would you genuinely be happy if we were to be say 6th/7th in the league but playing “good football”? We’ve played some good stuff this season but we’ve also been grinding out plenty of wins which we never used to do.
Despite our history as a club of trying to play a certain way we’ve rarely managed it in modern times to any sort of great success.
21-11-2020, 05:16 PM
The worrying thing for me is if Nisbet gets injured we will seriously struggle. We are very reliant on him not just for goals but general attacking intent.
If he stays fit in pretty confident we will finish 4th (3rd possible but Aberdeen are more consistent). If he was to get injured I feel we would be looking at a much lower placing.
I think we just have to touch wood on that. He had a bad ankle injury at the Pars, and missed a couple of games at the start of this season for us, but he's reportedly an obsessive trainer and looks fit and strong. Agree that he's the player we could least afford to lose.
21-11-2020, 05:16 PM
Strange game, thought we were passive in 1st half, and allowed them too much of the ball (to do little with). Two goals in 5 minutes, had us ahead and at the point of penalty looking comfortable.
If that was a penalty then we should have had one too.
Disappointing to surrender the lead, we needed calm heads in there. I'm annoyed at drawing but didn't see a draw when half time whistle came. We created them much more problems in second half, which makes we question why we never had same drive in 1st half.
21-11-2020, 05:17 PM
This. Bizarre. Hanlon was terrific then shanked one clearance and people are slating him.
I shouted at the telly and swore at Hanlon at the time, but he was pretty immense today except one time and he was punished.
It was a pretty brutal attempt at a clearance to be fair. It's the nature of the beast though and individual errors that lead directly to a goal, especially a last minute equaliser will always draw criticism. Hibs fans are not unique with that.
If we win our next two games everything will be looking good again. Until we lose again and the team look *****.
Will always be the way with football fans.
It's really not worth getting as worked up as some people seem to get on here.
Gordy M
On to Tuesday though! I'm confident of a good win on Tuesday.
It wouldnt have made any difference if he made different subs or none at all....celtic were always going to put us under pressure in the last 10 mins.
21-11-2020, 05:19 PM
The old style over substance argument is a classic on here. Would you genuinely be happy if we were to be say 6th/7th in the league but playing “good football”? We’ve played some good stuff this season but we’ve also been grinding out plenty of wins which we never used to do.
Despite our history as a club of trying to play a certain way we’ve rarely managed it in modern times to any sort of great success.
Good football? Most of the time during the Mowbray era. For a brief time during Collins. For a brief time during Stubbs. Thats about it really in the last 45 years :faf:
edit-Oh yeah the 6-2. latapy and sauzee. Obvs.
NC1875
21-11-2020, 05:19 PM
What were Jacks after match comments ? Really hope he asked the question of how it’s a penalty for one side and not for the other ? Even just to highlight it and make people look at it.
As you know sport scene will never show the ajer incident.
21-11-2020, 05:20 PM
Nobody will be more frustrated than Paul Hanlon. As brutal as it was I feel for him. Been very good this season on the whole.
monarch
21-11-2020, 05:21 PM
Gutted, but my god their is some absolute weirdos on here.
I’m no psychiatrist but there are posters on here who appear to have some serious wellbeing and anger management issues. Maybe lockdown etc has had an adverse effect. Hopefully things improve once the vaccine is rolled out.
21-11-2020, 05:22 PM
What were Jacks after match comments ? Really hope he asked the question of how it’s a penalty for one side and not for the other ? Even just to highlight it and make people look at it.
As you know sport scene will never show the ajer incident.
He said the penalty changes the momentum of the game and fancied us to score again before it. He never directly challenged the decision but sort of hinted towards that.
It's not really his style to complain about decisions after games. I've very rarely heard him do that.
21-11-2020, 05:22 PM
Good football? Most of the time during the Mowbray era. For a brief time during Collins. For a brief time during Stubbs. Thats about it really in the last 45 years :faf:
edit-Oh yeah the 6-2. latapy and sauzee. Obvs.
and a number of times under Neil Lennon
21-11-2020, 05:23 PM
And GJP
21-11-2020, 05:23 PM
Strange game, thought we were passive in 1st half, and allowed them too much of the ball (to do little with). Two goals in 5 minutes, had us ahead and at the point of penalty looking comfortable.
If that was a penalty then we should have had one too.
Disappointing to surrender the lead, we needed calm heads in there. I'm annoyed at drawing but didn't see a draw when half time whistle came. We created them much more problems in second half, which makes we question why we never had same drive in 1st half.
Pretty much how I saw it.
Feel the players, especially middle to front, have more in them. John Collins, when asked before the game how we improve, said we need to look to have more/better possession of the ball. I totally agree with that but think it requires an addition in midfield. Still think that area is the biggest issue.
21-11-2020, 05:25 PM
Are you saying Trump lost, what a wierdo.
Sorry G
21-11-2020, 05:26 PM
Does this count as laying a glove on them? Also, was this a big match? Handy to know for future reference. :greengrin
NC1875
21-11-2020, 05:26 PM
He said the penalty changes the momentum of the game and fancied us to score again before it. He never directly challenged the decision but sort of hinted towards that.
It's not really his style to complain about decisions after games. I've very rarely heard him do that.
Cheers. Didn’t think he’d directly comment on it. At least he’s hinted at it and hopefully brings some attention to it. Blatant cheating as far as I’m concerned. Although neither should be a penalty, stupid rule is a joke.
inglisavhibs
21-11-2020, 05:27 PM
I shouted at the telly and swore at Hanlon at the time, but he was pretty immense today except one time and he was punished.
So true and without him in the first half, they might have been out of sight.
21-11-2020, 05:27 PM
It wouldnt have made any difference if he made different subs or none at all....celtic were always going to put us under pressure in the last 10 mins.
Of course it would have made a difference. Crazy to suggest otherwise.
They put us under pressure for the majority of the game and we were dealing with it well. But changing shape to go five at the back cost us.
21-11-2020, 05:30 PM
Also fair. The 5-5 remains one of my favourite moments at ER. Its all down to the what constitutes 'good football' argument again though:greengrin Lennon played a simple, effective style but it wasnt the purist, passing football that we have become associated with over the years, that is probably a bit of a myth in itself. Probably came about because we play prettier football than Hearts but really thats not saying much.
21-11-2020, 05:32 PM
Does this count as laying a glove on them? Also, was this a big match? Handy to know for future reference. :greengrin
You beat me to it Matty:thumbsup:
21-11-2020, 05:39 PM
Of course it would have made a difference. Crazy to suggest otherwise.
They put us under pressure for the majority of the game and we were dealing with it well. But changing shape to go five at the back cost us.
No it didn’t. It was the right thing to do to match them up. The mistakes that cost us were nothing to do with shape.
21-11-2020, 05:40 PM
No it didn’t. It was the right thing to do to match them up. The mistakes that cost us were nothing to do with shape.
Why? Why change what was working perfectly well? It wasn't the right thing to do and it cost us.
Why make a change in shape for the sheer sake of it?
21-11-2020, 05:42 PM
Jack Ross showing us exactly why Sunderland fans wanted rid.
21-11-2020, 05:43 PM
Why? Why change what was working perfectly well? It wasn't the right thing to do and it cost us.
Because they had changed. It was the obvious thing to do. It’s unfortunate that they scored when we had the sub waiting.
Shape had nothing to do with the errors.
21-11-2020, 05:44 PM
nah. An individual error cost us two points. Ross is the right man for us right now
21-11-2020, 05:45 PM
When you're winning, making a sub to shore up the defence is an obvious thing to do. Its predictable, but obvious. What did you want, him to go all hipster on us and put Jamie on and go 343? Its only with the benefit of hindsight you can criticise it. If theres no individual errors, we hold on to win that game.
21-11-2020, 05:46 PM
Jack Ross showing us exactly why Sunderland fans wanted rid.Did he?
21-11-2020, 05:46 PM
Tell you what. We’ve come along way - now people are questioning Ross as manager after a 2-2 with Celtic ..it wasn’t that long ago it was getting thumped by Falkirk or St Mirren
21-11-2020, 05:47 PM
Rubbish attempt at trolling.
aljo7-0
21-11-2020, 05:48 PM
Jesus wept.
BlackSheep
21-11-2020, 05:49 PM
Shame we drew today, I was looking forward to all the turn coats singing Ross’ praise, instead they’ve still got their negative heads on!
Ah, there you are.
Tell you what. We’ve come along way - now people are questioning Ross as manager after a 2-2 with Celtic ..it wasn’t that long ago it was getting thumped by Falkirk or St Mirren
It’s unfortunately all to do with the derby defeat and will be for those involved until he loses his job.
21-11-2020, 05:50 PM
Because they had changed. It was the obvious thing to do. It’s unfortunate that they scored when we had the sub waiting.
Shape had nothing to do with the errors.
Sorry but I disagree man, shape had everything to do with it.
We took off Murphy for Gray and with that they had absolutely nothing to worry about from Hibs as an attacking threat.
21-11-2020, 05:51 PM
Jack Ross also didn't score the 2 goals.
He brought in the players that did. He didn't bring in the players that made the mistakes.
Ah so you agree then, that they need replaced?
21-11-2020, 05:51 PM
When you're winning, making a sub to shore up the defence is an obvious thing to do. Its predictable, but obvious. What did you want, him to go all hipster on us and put Jamie on and go 343? Its only with the benefit of hindsight you can criticise it. If theres no individual errors, we hold on to win that game.
No. Just see the game out as is. We were comfortable until the subs.
21-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Yet strangely a lot of them would take him back now in a heartbeat.
21-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Apart from the fact that both Celtic goals would not have been given to Hibs, the penalty would have been waved away and the equaliser would have been disallowed on a number of fouls commuted during its first and second takes. Jack Ross has to manage a small squad to overturn a multi £million team. What else is he meant to do apart from cutting McGinn!’s arms off!
21-11-2020, 05:56 PM
Yet strangely a lot of them would take him back now in a heartbeat.
Would they? Proof?
21-11-2020, 05:57 PM
Apart from the fact that both Celtic goals would not have been given to Hibs, the penalty would have been waved away and the equaliser would have been disallowed on a number of fouls commuted during its first and second takes. Jack Ross has to manage a small squad to overturn a multi £million team. What else is he meant to do apart from cutting McGinn!’s arms off!
Not make **** substitutions again.
21-11-2020, 05:58 PM
It’s unfortunately all to do with the derby defeat and will be for those involved until he loses his job.
We knew that before that game though. Whether folk like it or no, it was a defining game for a lot of our support.
I’m happy with where we are. Don’t find it terribly enjoyable to watch. Think he needs some time. And players.
21-11-2020, 06:00 PM
Actually agree with this. I've been pretty vocal about subs and shape and other pish on this thread. But agree with the above more than anything.
21-11-2020, 06:00 PM
Gutted. Would have taken a point beforehand but definitely 2 points dropped from where we had put ourselves in the match. Thought we had a good shape but our passing and composure were poor. Definitely improved this second half but this is a poor Celtic team. They were so open to counter attacks and we could have scored a few with better passing and decision making.
21-11-2020, 06:01 PM
:faf: yeah,, bet they’d have been ****ing livid at a draw with the best team in the country over the last decade.
The Captain....
I think there was a vocal minority maybe. Funnily enough social media today was full of Sunderland fans bemoaning their current manager, (Parkinson I think), saying he is much worse than Ross ever was.
I think Jack Ross is doing fine...its still relatively early in his time here and his plans to bring players in and refresh an ageing squad were no doubt curtailed by the current covid circumstances. Im as frustrated as anybody at losing to Hearts and surrendering leads like we did today but put in context we're still doing well in the league. I also agree with those who say that we were better than Hearts for the majority of the semi..fair enough the last 20 mins we lost control of the game a bit and a valid criticism is that we sometimes fail to capitalise on period of dominance.
Given time I think Ross could be a great manager at this club..he seems highly thought of by other teams supporters and the pundits. Given further resources to bring in some more quality of the standard of Nisbet and Murphy I think we'll see us become more consistent...3rd or 4th this season and build into next season would be success given the circumstances imo.
I think Ross knows we’re not the finished article. He said so in his pre match interview
He’s been here a year. Inherited a mess but got us away from the bottom area last year. We’re sitting 4th, only a point behind Aberdeen who have beaten us twice.
Today was a frustrating end for everyone but in the end was another point against the old firm. Sure someone said the other day we never lay a glove on them.......
At this moment we’re a strong midfielder light and another striker light.
Time for a wee bit of realism
21-11-2020, 06:02 PM
Jack Ross also didn't score the 2 goals.
Ah so you agree then, that they need replaced?Where did I say that? That's maybe the difference between myself and some others on here.
I accept that players will sometimes make mistakes.
Kevin Nisbet missed a penalty then scored a goal. He's great.
Paul Hanlon makes a mistake but despite an otherwise solid performance. He's s***e.
I'm sorry but that doesn't work for me.
21-11-2020, 06:03 PM
No. Just see the game out as is. We were comfortable until the subs.
They scored before we made one.
21-11-2020, 06:03 PM
Not make **** substitutions again.
You really are a strange specimen.
21-11-2020, 06:05 PM
:faf: yeah,, bet they’d have been ****ing livid at a draw with the best team in the country over the last decade.
Nah they'd have been livid chucking away a 2 goal lead and changing things when we were comfortable.
21-11-2020, 06:05 PM
Would they? Proof?
I told you. Surely that's proof enough.
21-11-2020, 06:07 PM
You really are a strange specimen.
I suspect this will be swept under the carpet because of your 'status' on here but whatever :aok:
21-11-2020, 06:08 PM
They scored before we made one.
From a penalty to that should never have been given.
It is what it is I guess. Just the think the subs were poor and we'd have won without them.
21-11-2020, 06:13 PM
I suspect this will be swept under the carpet because of your 'status' on here but whatever :aok:
I don't have a status, I'm just an ordinary bloke like the vast majority of Hibs fans.
You are entitled to your opinions but at times I feel you are just out to be awkward and argumentative.
Shame because there are times I do enjoy your posts.
21-11-2020, 06:17 PM
They'll be wanting him back. Gone backwards since he left
We knew that before that game though. Whether folk like it or no, it was a defining game for a lot of our support.
I’m happy with where we are. Don’t find it terribly enjoyable to watch. Think he needs some time. And players.
I’ve been critical of Jack Ross especially after the derby defeat but I thought the team done well today, had to find a way to get us going without doidge,made a big call in Mackie starting and he was 2 ref decisions away from getting a cracking win.
I do find it tough to watch more often than not but I keep reminding myself of the absolute dross hecky signed and how we where playing and I think Ross has done enough since taking over to merit an opportunity at a couple more transfer Windows at least before he’s hounded out the door.
21-11-2020, 06:20 PM
I think Ross knows we’re not the finished article. He said so in his pre match interview
He’s been here a year. Inherited a mess but got us away from the bottom area last year. We’re sitting 4th, only a point behind Aberdeen who have beaten us twice.
Today was a frustrating end for everyone but in the end was another point against the old firm. Sure someone said the other day we never lay a glove on them.......
We’re definitely a striker light, even a holding type big guy that may not score many but can take the pressure off. I’m sure we could find a back up somewhere that would fit the bill. Even ageing player like Holt that could come in when we’re bodies short like today.
21-11-2020, 06:21 PM
Don’t worry you’ll soon have your own status on here too.
21-11-2020, 06:25 PM
It was a massive game but people shouldn’t be throwing the toys out the pram like they currently are and have been since the game. Every thread we get “aye but what about the derby” from a certain few posters and it’s getting tiresome. Move on and support the team.
4th in the league and as you say he needs time. We need a much better squad than we’ve currently got, hopefully with a vaccine on the way we’ll get a more normal season next year.
21-11-2020, 06:31 PM
It was a massive game but people shouldn’t be throwing the toys out the pram like they currently are and have been since the game. Every thread we get “aye but what about the derby” from a certain few posters and it’s getting tiresome. Move on and support the team.
4th in the league and as you say he needs time. We need a much better squad than we’ve currently got, hopefully with a vaccine on the way we’ll get a more normal season next year.
There were absolute roasters on the social media pages before that game as good as threatening not to renew their season ticket because they didn't get a twix and a bovril from the club as they lived too far away to drive down to ER. Weirdos.
21-11-2020, 06:34 PM
We’re definitely a striker light, even a holding type big guy that may not score many but can take the pressure off. I’m sure we could find a back up somewhere that would fit the bill. Even ageing player like Holt that could come in when we’re bodies short like today.
21-11-2020, 06:36 PM
The same folk moaning about Ross will be the same ones moaning if Aberdeen finish above us. Conveniently forgetting that he has been here for 1 year where McInnes has been at Aberdeen for 7 years and multiple transfer windows. Give him time, we need stability and constant improvement
Can't be arsed trawling through the last 6 pages of people moaning and others moaning at them.
Deserved 2 goal lead, ref cheated to give them a penalty and whether Gray made a mistake giving away a foul it still should've been dealt with better, couple silly wee mistakes yes but in general kept Celtic to a lot of half chances from outside the box. I'd have taken a point before the kickoff but ended up disappointed we drew, I think it shows we're not a million miles away from the OF, consistency is our problem.