View Full Version : Israel v Scotland

18-11-2020, 06:27 PM
Is there another thread that I can't see?

Are we boycotting the game?

Are we still resting on the laurels of last week?

18-11-2020, 06:27 PM
Is there another thread that I can't see?

Are we boycotting the game?

Are we still resting on the laurels of last week?

Three no's.

murray26
18-11-2020, 06:31 PM
Come on Scotland massive game.. let’s get the job done 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

We seem to play Israel every month just now

SJNB Hibby
2 computers set up side by side, hopefully we score early settle some nerves and the Czechs cant raise their game

18-11-2020, 06:32 PM
We seem to play Israel every month just now

Hopefully this will be the last time for a while.

18-11-2020, 06:35 PM
My stream is in Israeli 😭

18-11-2020, 06:40 PM
The run starts here, come away the lads

Hope Ofir has a stinker :saltireflag

18-11-2020, 06:44 PM
Hope Marciano has a terrible game :greengrin

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2020, 06:51 PM
Czechs hit the bar

JXM73
18-11-2020, 06:53 PM
Think ive got some paint drying in the other room...

18-11-2020, 06:59 PM
Think ive got some paint drying in the other room...

2/10 trolling. Must try harder.

18-11-2020, 07:01 PM
Don’t think I’ve appreciated just how good a player Christie is until the last few games. Now as important as Dykes IMO.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2020, 07:02 PM
Czechs are threatening

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2020, 07:02 PM
F#$# 1-0 Czechs---we need to win

18-11-2020, 07:03 PM
1-0 Czechia.

18-11-2020, 07:06 PM
1st attempt on goal goes to Israel in the 20th minute

EI255
18-11-2020, 07:13 PM
Anyone else think these two badges look the similar ? [emoji848]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201118/aef231a3621957b14b774ce8a5c8e800.jpg

18-11-2020, 07:15 PM
Nice play by Scotland but really poor effort by O’Donnell

18-11-2020, 07:17 PM
Nice play by Scotland but really poor effort by O’Donnell

Woeful is the word you are looking for

18-11-2020, 07:18 PM
Anyone else think these two badges look the similar ? [emoji848]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201118/aef231a3621957b14b774ce8a5c8e800.jpg

Outline is the same 😁

18-11-2020, 07:18 PM
Good stop from Rocky.

18-11-2020, 07:20 PM
looks useful that lad in goal for Israel :wink:

18-11-2020, 07:20 PM
**** off Rocky. Save those ones for the Hibees.:greengrin

18-11-2020, 07:23 PM
**** off Rocky. Save those ones for the Hibees.:greengrin

Classic Marciano

18-11-2020, 07:29 PM
1-0 Israel.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2020, 07:29 PM
Well that should wake us up.

18-11-2020, 07:31 PM
and there we have it, there's not a hope in hell we will score two

Defenders left massively exposed.

Shocking defending,

Ruing missed chances.

18-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Absolutely horrific defending from McTominay.

18-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Defenders left massively exposed.

Midfielder playing in defence turned inside out.

18-11-2020, 07:33 PM
Need to get the next goal. It’s going to take character now.

1-0 Israel.
Woeful defending from McTominay again. He is great with the ball but that is two bread and butter bits of defending he has made a complete mess off. One could have cost us qualification and the other may cause us top spot. Not sure having the ability to pass is worth sacrificing goals so regularly particularly when we don't score many. I would play him in the centre instead of Jack

Unfortunately this is our level, last week was fantastic but this is our reality. We huff and puff but not a lot more. Fingers crossed for a more attacking 2nd half.

Christie missed out a couple of key passes

Woeful defending from McTominay again. He is great with the ball but that is two bread and butter bits of defending he has made a complete mess off. One could have cost us qualification and the other may cause us top spot. Not sure having the ability to pass is worth sacrificing goals so regularly particularly when we don't score many. I would play him in the centre instead of Jack

Aye, shown up there.

1875Sean
Serbia 4-0 up against Russia at half-time, we must have got them on a off day

18-11-2020, 07:34 PM
Christie missed out a couple of key passes

Some strange decision making in final third. Christie passing to McGinn when it would have been better to shoot. Same with Jack passing to O'Donnell.

Missed the 1st 25 mins but Scotland have been poor that I've seen, Israel deserved the lead.

I think we knew this was on the cards, after putting a poor team out against a Slovakian team we should have beaten, f,n no real.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2020, 07:35 PM
Holy $h!t, Serbia leading the Russkies 4-0 at half time!!

Midfielder playing in defence turned inside out.

He has to do better I agree. But our back 3 are caught in 1v1s. That’s not supposed to happen.

It’s Sparky Time

18-11-2020, 07:36 PM

He's a midfielder it's that simple, Clarke trying to shoehorn players in, play him where he belongs as a DM.

Suburban Hibby
18-11-2020, 07:37 PM
Dominate a game, miss chances and lose a goal- sound familiar???

Gloucester Hibs
This is more like the Scotland we know, 2 games to win the group against teams that have nothing to play for and we still blow it 😍

Need to stop trying to walk the ball into the net.

18-11-2020, 07:38 PM
Some strange decision making in final third. Christie passing to McGinn when it would have been better to shoot. Same with Jack passing to O'Donnell.
Also Christie not going down when clipped by Bitton. There were a few others too. We will make chances. We just need to make better decisions and finish the chances.

18-11-2020, 07:39 PM
It’s Sparky Time

aye probably with 5 mins left

18-11-2020, 07:40 PM
Thought we were starting to control the game for the 15 mins before they scored. Was starting to get confident of us winning. Should have known better!!

18-11-2020, 07:43 PM
Clarke needs to be bold here and bring Griffiths on early to play alongside Dykes. Dykes too isolated up front.

delbert
18-11-2020, 07:44 PM
It’s Sparky Time

Do we seriously believe that IM Jolly will put Sparky on ahead of McBurnie, almost no chance

18-11-2020, 07:46 PM
The mistake was not putting the strongest team out against the weakest of the 2 remaining opposition, leaving us needing to chase and find a result here. That's on Clarke.

Failure to create clear cut chances here is killing us. Service into Dykes has been awful, and some of the final passes from Christie, McGregor have been very very poor.

18-11-2020, 07:47 PM
Almost immediately turned off.

Almost 2-0.

18-11-2020, 07:51 PM
Fancy Slovakia to draw for some reason.

18-11-2020, 07:52 PM
Fancy Slovakia to draw for some reason.

I do hope you're correct, sir. I can't see it, but I hope you're right!

Hope you're doing OK by the way :aok:

18-11-2020, 07:54 PM
Israel score next and Scotland are toast

We need the next goal bad

18-11-2020, 07:56 PM
2-0 Czechia

18-11-2020, 07:57 PM
a free header gallacher

18-11-2020, 07:59 PM
o'donnell finds the keeper quite easily

Hibeesforever
18-11-2020, 08:01 PM
Bring on the Griff....you know it makes sense Stevie...

18-11-2020, 08:02 PM
Need to get Griffiths on and not just for the last 5 minutes

18-11-2020, 08:03 PM
Clueless.

18-11-2020, 08:03 PM
for the love of god clarke make positive subs earlier man, it's not working

18-11-2020, 08:04 PM
Mcburnie and Griff coming on

McGinn and Dykes off... But Jack and McGregor still on? See how this goes then.

FFS - another half hour for McBurnie to swan about with minimal effort.

McGinn and Dykes are two of our biggest threats - why not try Leigh up beside Dykes FFS?!

I hope I'm eating these words at FT. I truly do.

18-11-2020, 08:05 PM
oops. WD mr clarke

john mcginn off :(

18-11-2020, 08:05 PM
McGinn and Dykes off... But Jack and McGregor still on? See how this goes then.

McGinn has looked most likely to score for me. Take Jack or McGregor off and drop SJM back. McGregor has been completely anonymous, not unusual

18-11-2020, 08:06 PM
Do we need to win this or will a draw be ok

O’Donnell just kicked the ba oot o play ?

Dearie me!

Win if the Czechs win

18-11-2020, 08:08 PM
Win if the Czechs win

Well they are two up so we do need the win

18-11-2020, 08:09 PM

Need to match Czech result i.e. win :greengrin

18-11-2020, 08:10 PM
Robertson looks three yards slower for Scotland. So easily beaten on the outside. Tierney looks a much better option on the left defensively and is far better going forward at least in a Scotland jersey.

18-11-2020, 08:14 PM
We take ages to get the ball in the dangerous areas. 😭

imagine listening to a provan/clarke conversation

Robertson looks three yards slower for Scotland. So easily beaten on the outside. Tierney looks a much better option on the left defensively and is far better going forward at least in a Scotland jersey.

Yup. Robertson is pish for Scotland. Doesn’t look any better than O’Donnell. If Tierney can stay fit he’s a much better option.

18-11-2020, 08:16 PM
McBurnie with a great defensive header for Israel.

This guy's a total and utter fraud.

18-11-2020, 08:18 PM
fast forward 5 years

McBurnie, still looking for his first scotland goal

:)

18-11-2020, 08:19 PM
Well they are two up so we do need the win

Yes if they win, we need to win.

18-11-2020, 08:20 PM
get o'donnell off for the love of gawd

18-11-2020, 08:21 PM
Someone is going to need to have a shot at some point. Lots of pointless sideways passing

18-11-2020, 08:22 PM
get o'donnell off for the love of gawd

He went off a while ago.

18-11-2020, 08:22 PM
He went off a while ago.

oops thought odonnell was 4...thats mctominay :)

18-11-2020, 08:24 PM
How long to go

18-11-2020, 08:24 PM
Can someone explain to me what McGregor brings to the Scotland team? For the life of me I can't see how he keeps getting capped. He was ok in very good team performance v Serbia but that is 1 in God knows how many games

18-11-2020, 08:26 PM
Can someone explain to me what McGregor brings to the Scotland team? For the life of me I can't see how he keeps getting capped. He was ok in very good team performance v Serbia but that is 1 in God knows how many games

World class at passing the ball anywhere but forward.

18-11-2020, 08:27 PM
fast forward 5 years

McBurnie, still looking for his first scotland goal

:)

More chance of Hearts winning the champions league in those 5 years than him scoring.

How long to go

5 minutes plus stoppage time.

NC1875

Learnt from his pal Broony at Celtic how to pass sideways

Can someone explain to me what McGregor brings to the Scotland team? For the life of me I can't see how he keeps getting capped. He was ok in very good team performance v Serbia but that is 1 in God knows how many games He is the same as Robertson for me. Excellent for his club but an empty jersey for Scotland. How they keep starting is beyong me when we have better options. He was totally anonymous tonight and that is a fairly typical performance.

Magpie
Missed a great opportunity tonight.

18-11-2020, 08:28 PM
5 minutes plus stoppage time.

Ffs snd we need two goals

18-11-2020, 08:28 PM
Just don’t blame it on the boogie.

18-11-2020, 08:29 PM
Some good spells of play, but very rarely looked like troubling Rocky...

Last 2 games havent been anywhere near good enough. 2 chances to win the group and blown it.

Slow and ponderous, it's like watching Hibs.
How many left footers do you need in a team, all on the pitch at the same time were Tierney, Robertson, McGregor, McKenna, Christie and Griffiths leaving 4 right footed outfield players, a bit of an imbalance, nothing coming from the right all from the left, so predictable.

NC1875
18-11-2020, 08:30 PM
Could play for a month and not score. Someone needs to tell Clarke goals win games

18-11-2020, 08:32 PM
Slow and ponderous, it's like watching Hibs.
How many left footers do you need in a team, all on the pitch at the same time were Tierney, Robertson, McGregor, McKenna, Christie and Griffiths leaving 4 right footed outfield players, a bit of an imbalance, nothing coming from the right all from the left, so predictable.

Nothing like watching hibs.

18-11-2020, 08:33 PM
what an utterly dreadfull performance from a team that had so much to play for, well done the Czechs, they knew what they had to do and grabbed the chance, thank goodness for penalty wins, eh clarke

18-11-2020, 08:34 PM
Embarrassing.

18-11-2020, 08:34 PM
what an utterly dreadfull performance from a team that had so much to play for, well done the Czechs, they knew what they had to do and grabbed the chance, thank goodness for penalty wins, eh clarke
2 wins via penalties says it all

18-11-2020, 08:35 PM
Oli Burke 😂

And penalty wins just papered over the cracks Clarke s decision making has been poor in last three games

Gloucester Hibs
Ach well, we’d only have embarrassed ourselves in Group A anyway

Normal service is resumed

1875Sean
18-11-2020, 08:36 PM
Rocky has played really well

Berwickhibby
18-11-2020, 08:36 PM
Absolutely dire tonight

18-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Jeezo we can't even get a deserved penalty

18-11-2020, 08:38 PM
Rocky has played really well

Doing what he does best. Distribution has been a little suspect at times but his shot stopping is fantastic!

This refs been a ****ing fanny

We handed the group to Czech Republic.

18-11-2020, 08:39 PM
Missed chances, poor decision making. Never mind, we achieved the most important thing.

18-11-2020, 08:41 PM
It makes you wonder if Scotland were really fussed about getting into group A..........blown the last two games

18-11-2020, 08:41 PM
Clarke has to shoulder a big slice of the blame for not winning the group. Wrong team and ended up breaking the momentum in the last game and some bizarre subs tonight. To me he has to start picking the best players for a position rather than the best players. That means Tierney at LB/LWB and McTominay in Midfield or not at all. McBurnie, Burke and Paterson need taken out the squad. The first man to be dropped in the Scotland set up should be Provan. He makes our good performances dull and he has no idea what the rules are. It wasn't a penalty you halfwit

18-11-2020, 08:42 PM
Pish!

H18S NX
18-11-2020, 08:43 PM
Goals win games,unfortunately Clarke's too defensive,IMO.

18-11-2020, 08:44 PM
We handed the group to Czech Republic.

Scotland were ridiculously lucky to take 6 points from Czech Republic... League B is where we belong.
No punch up front. Clarke's coaching seems to come unstuck when it comes to the final third.

18-11-2020, 08:44 PM
Well done israel, another huge letdown to go with a p@ss poor u21's performance last night...two winnable games to progress in the european stage and two ******* horrid performances

18-11-2020, 08:45 PM
Clarke has to shoulder a big slice of the blame for not winning the group. Wrong team and ended up breaking the momentum in the last game and some bizarre subs tonight. To me he has to start picking the best players for a position rather than the best players. That means Tierney at LB/LWB and McTominay in Midfield or not at all. McBurnie, Burke and Paterson need taken out the squad. The first man to be dropped in the Scotland set up should be Provan. He makes our good performances dull and he has no idea what the rules are. It wasn't a penalty you halfwit

Tierney has played left CB regularly for Arsenal and McTominay has been excellent in defence, OK a couple of errors in the last 2 games but I think he is quality. I definitely agree about Provan, jeez is that the best Sky can do.

18-11-2020, 08:45 PM

Would disagree on McTominay. If we are playing a back three he has shown himself to be the best option we have on the right of it. Wasn’t great at the goal tonight but was really good in that position in the last set of internationals and in Serbia.

Agree about his team selections and subs though. A centre half for a centre half when chasing the game was really odd.

18-11-2020, 08:46 PM
Nothing like watching hibs.

Apart from the odd decent win it's not been the best watching, 0-1 Forfar, 0-0 Ross C, 0-1 Killie, 1-2 Hearts, 2-0 Aberdeen, grinding out wins or draws.

murray26
Disappointed tonight but if you offered me euro qualification and runners up in this group this time last week I would have bit your arm off.. we’re not a bad team but just lacking something in the final third.. I think playing the better teams will suit us better..

Missed chances, poor decision making. Never mind, we achieved the most important thing.
That’s how I see it. Missed a big chance to win our group but achieved our main objective.

Scotland were ridiculously lucky to take 6 points from Czech Republic... League B is where we belong.
No punch up front. Clarke's coaching seems to come unstuck when it comes to the final third.

Aye, crap.

Needs to have a serious word with himself. Poor selections, far too many huddies.

Bangkok Hibby
18-11-2020, 08:47 PM
Embarrassing.

It would be embarrassing if we could genuinely expect to win games like this, but we can't. Scotland are a very mediocre international side and have been for years.

18-11-2020, 08:47 PM
Clarke has definitely improved us and we've now got some really good players. Need more of a cutting edge though and more of a goal threat. We rely too much on Christie. Ryan Fraser was a loss.

18-11-2020, 08:48 PM
Clarke has to shoulder a big slice of the blame for not winning the group. Wrong team and ended up breaking the momentum in the last game and some bizarre subs tonight. To me he has to start picking the best players for a position rather than the best players. That means Tierney at LB/LWB and McTominay in Midfield or not at all. McBurnie, Burke and Paterson need taken out the squad. The first man to be dropped in the Scotland set up should be Provan. He makes our good performances dull and he has no idea what the rules are. It wasn't a penalty you halfwitAgree with every word.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

18-11-2020, 09:05 PM

Provan is an arse, but it was a penalty. The rules clearly state that when your hand is that high and away from your body, it doesn’t matter if it hits your body first. Stonewaller.

Tierney plays left centre half for arsenal week in week out, so not sure why we’d drop Robertson for someone like Considine.

It was a decent performance, with no cutting edge. Griffiths missing a sitter and generally being well off the pace doesn’t help.

18-11-2020, 09:06 PM
It would be embarrassing if we could genuinely expect to win games like this, but we can't. Scotland are a very mediocre international side and have been for years.

Agree, we as a country have had a pretty poor team for more than a generation, no going anywhere fast.

Hibeesforever
18-11-2020, 09:11 PM
Talking about Burke now...a waste of space the verdict!

18-11-2020, 09:25 PM
Provan is an arse, but it was a penalty. The rules clearly state that when your hand is that high and away from your body, it doesn’t matter if it hits your body first. Stonewaller.

Tierney plays left centre half for arsenal week in week out, so not sure why we’d drop Robertson for someone like Considine.

It was a decent performance, with no cutting edge. Griffiths missing a sitter and generally being well off the pace doesn’t help.

If the deflection didn't change the route of the ball you may be right but it caused the handball. As for Robertson he offers little for Scotland and we need all the attacking threat we can muster. Tierney looks a far better option in an attacking sense

So should a penalty be given every time the ball hits a player's hand in the area?

No. The exceptions are if the ball hits a player's arm directly from the player's own head or body and if a player is falling and their arm is between themselves and the ground for support. There is also room for interpretation as to what makes a player's body 'unnaturally bigger'.

18-11-2020, 09:56 PM
If the deflection didn't change the route of the ball you may be right but it caused the handball. As for Robertson he offers little for Scotland and we need all the attacking threat we can muster. Tierney looks a far better option in an attacking sense

So should a penalty be given every time the ball hits a player's hand in the area?

No. The exceptions are if the ball hits a player's arm directly from the player's own head or body and if a player is falling and their arm is between themselves and the ground for support. There is also room for interpretation as to what makes a player's body 'unnaturally bigger'.

That’s simply not the rule.

- the hand/arm has made their body unnaturally bigger
- the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm

The above offences apply even if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close.

Straight from IFAB. The touch off his knee makes no difference to the fact his hand was above his shoulder and well away from his body. Handball every day of the week.

18-11-2020, 09:58 PM
Disappointed tonight but if you offered me euro qualification and runners up in this group this time last week I would have bit your arm off.. we’re not a bad team but just lacking something in the final third.. I think playing the better teams will suit us better..

Absolutely. Of all three games the past week. We got the result where it matters most.

A bit like England in the rugby World Cup when they beat the All Blacks in the semi, I feel the lads thought the job was done and they just needed to turn up.

If we are honest second in this group was about right. Shame we couldn’t get any momentum.

Crosses in all night from Tierney (over both games) and not a soul in the box. And our corner game is rubbish. Floated into the box with the Love Train doing nothing.

Meat and drink for a half decent defence.

Sparky needs to get his swagger back soon.

18-11-2020, 10:31 PM
That’s simply not the rule.

- the hand/arm has made their body unnaturally bigger
- the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm

The above offences apply even if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close.

Straight from IFAB. The touch off his knee makes no difference to the fact his hand was above his shoulder and well away from his body. Handball every day of the week.The foot etc of another player. It deflected of him and onto his hand. Read a couple of paras down from where you lifted your quote

18-11-2020, 11:27 PM
Apart from the odd decent win it's not been the best watching, 0-1 Forfar, 0-0 Ross C, 0-1 Killie, 1-2 Hearts, 2-0 Aberdeen, grinding out wins or draws.

4 out of 4 in a LC group with under strength squad. 2-2 Huns: 1-3; St Mirren were fine watching and other “odd decent” wins away at Tannadice and Perth, A draw at Dingwall was preferable to some recents.
Give yourself a shake. Or the rest of us a break.

Magpie
18-11-2020, 11:34 PM
Scotland bottled it tbh

19-11-2020, 02:57 AM
Ach well! Still got the Euros to look forward to next summer and we'll just need to qualify for the World Cup when the qualifiers start in March.

Wasn't sure about Clark a few months ago. But we're definitely improving as a team and finally have a major tournament to look forward to.

A few players in the squad that should be nowhere near it. But hopefully with the appeal of major tournament football we'll see a few players on the fringes really have a go this year and force their way into the squad.

Also, how good waa Rocky! That save from McGinn's header was world class.

19-11-2020, 05:15 AM
Ach well! Still got the Euros to look forward to next summer and we'll just need to qualify for the World Cup when the qualifiers start in March.

Wasn't sure about Clark a few months ago. But we're definitely improving as a team and finally have a major tournament to look forward to.

A few players in the squad that should be nowhere near it. But hopefully with the appeal of major tournament football we'll see a few players on the fringes really have a go this year and force their way into the squad.

Also, how good waa Rocky! That save from McGinn's header was world class.
Naw Rocky pulls off one of those saves every game for the cameras usually while he is lighting up a cigar :greengrin

I was sort of hoping he would throw one in or kick a few out the park or accidentally on purpose let the ball cross the goal line but nut he was brilliant

:cb

19-11-2020, 05:38 AM
Actually thought the ref done us over a bit.looked like a couple of pens including one just before the final whistle when Scottish player bundled over in the box. McGinn should have went down when fouled in the box also. Every other team does it we should to. Didn't think we were too bad but decision making in final third was poor with Christie one of the worst offenders choosing to pass when should have shot and the opposite too not one of his better games. Very poor miss from Griffiths also when fluffed a clear chance.

19-11-2020, 05:54 AM
https://twitter.com/SofaScoreINT/status/1329184302085627906?s=19

Delighted for Rocky. We gotta renew that contract

19-11-2020, 06:01 AM
Actually thought the ref done us over a bit.looked like a couple of pens including one just before the final whistle when Scottish player bundled over in the box. McGinn should have went down when fouled in the box also. Every other team does it we should to. Didn't think we were too bad but decision making in final third was poor with Christie one of the worst offenders choosing to pass when should have shot and the opposite too not one of his better games. Very poor miss from Griffiths also when fluffed a clear chance.

Agree with all this. Also Dykes was brilliant against Serbia but we're putting a huge burden on him as the new messiah when he hasn't actually scored from open play yet in England. We're only a top notch striker away from being a decent team.

19-11-2020, 06:42 AM
Agree with all this. Also Dykes was brilliant against Serbia but we're putting a huge burden on him as the new messiah when he hasn't actually scored from open play yet in England. We're only a top notch striker away from being a decent team.

i have to agree Dykes does a particular job very well, but he isn’t a very prolific striker even when at Livi, but don’t see Clark going with two upfront

19-11-2020, 07:49 AM
At least we can concentrate on Hibs now.

19-11-2020, 09:44 AM
And
i have to agree Dykes does a particular job very well, but he isn’t a very prolific striker even when at Livi, but don’t see Clark going with two upfront

No he won’t but Dykes wins most of the balls in the air and the midfield should be bursting a gut to get beyond him.They’re not.Much like our midfield didn’t when Grant Holt was here.

19-11-2020, 10:55 AM
The foot etc of another player. It deflected of him and onto his hand. Read a couple of paras down from where you lifted your quote

‘Except for the above offences’ is the key part you’ve missed in the next paragraph. Previous offences include hand being above the shoulder and making the body unnaturally bigger. The defender failed on both of these aspects and it should’ve been a penalty.

19-11-2020, 11:31 AM
Not read the thread, so not sure what the general consensus is, but here's my views for what it's worth.

The big improvement in recent games has been that we look much more resilient at the back and more in control in midfield. We're not losing the soft goals like we have done in the recent past. So that to me is a huge improvement. It feels like Clarke has developed a team mentality in this area.

However, it's clear for all to see that we lack something in the final third. I was very impressed by Fraser in the last game at Hampden, so maybe he's the answer. Without him, there doesn't seem to be much creativity in the team, unless Christie or McGinn create it, nor the ability to take the few chances that come. I'm also disappointed by our lack of threat from corners and free-kicks, along with shots from distance.

I feel we're becoming more Republic of Ireland in that we're hard to beat, but struggle to score goals. The one difference between us and them is that they do seem to have that ability to score late goals to nick undeserved draws/wins that we don't.

I also feel we need to sort out the right back / wing back position. I have been impressed by O'Donnell, but think we need someone who's more direct once in the final third. If only we had Boyle at right wing back, or someone like him.

pollution
19-11-2020, 11:34 AM
All the talk of World Cup qualification etc was a diversion from the last two games.

Now we can concentrate on the Euros and Hibs in reverse order.

19-11-2020, 11:43 AM
I do wonder if some people got a bit carried away with our momentous qualification after playing Serbia and imagined we were suddenly a decent side.

I'm glad we qualified, and also appreciate the long unbeaten run, but we've hardly been setting the heather alight. Under Clarke, Scotland have scored 20 goals in 17 games... 6 of those were against San Marino and 3 against Kazahkstan.

TBH, Israel is about our level.

19-11-2020, 12:02 PM
I thought we looked decent enough for much of the 3 games but the thing that blew me away last night was how abysmal our attacking set pieces were.

We’ve got lots of left footers in the squad, and the out swinging corners from the left were just pitiful. We had enough of them, and we’re not exactly short of players with physical presence.

The way we play, games are tight and likely to be decided on fine margins. We need to find a way to make better use of situations like that when they come along.

19-11-2020, 12:36 PM
Agree, we as a country have had a pretty poor team for more than a generation, no going anywhere fast.

Apart from the euros.

19-11-2020, 12:48 PM
I thought we played better last night than in the play off game we won - swings and roundabouts, i'm sure Israel felt they were "due" a win against us.

IMO people were getting carried away after qualifying thinking we'd turn everybody over. I dont think its unreasonable to be hoping to beat Israel, but its also been an incredible 7 days that hs taken a lot out of the players physically and mentally.

For 2.5 games this week we played some excellent football IMO and don't think we got the rewards for it (some would say Euro qualification is more than just)

I like the direction we're going in. We press the opposition, we play nice football (or did vs Serbia and Slovakia, both of whom are deemed "Above" us in international football terms these days)

Frustrating way to end the campaign as it was in our hands but on reflection of the group as a whole we've probably finished where we'd hoped to at the start, a reserve Czech side in the away tie gave us hope of promotion.

I think it has given the whole country a boost, the league should be even more competitive this year with places up for grabs next summer

Onwards and upwards

19-11-2020, 01:07 PM
‘Except for the above offences’ is the key part you’ve missed in the next paragraph. Previous offences include hand being above the shoulder and making the body unnaturally bigger. The defender failed on both of these aspects and it should’ve been a penalty.

I did miss that but I still think the rules say no pen. My view is the player played the ball and then it hit their arm. I have made bold the part of the law I think best fits what happened.
the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm)

EI255
19-11-2020, 02:23 PM
Scotland are in the right Nations League group. Any higher and we'd be well out of our depth. That's been proven now.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

19-11-2020, 04:42 PM
Scotland are in the right Nations League group. Any higher and we'd be well out of our depth. That's been proven now.

Sorry to say I have to agree

19-11-2020, 04:56 PM

Yup

The dalmeny
19-11-2020, 05:14 PM
Sorry to say I have to agree

nothing to be sorry about, we’d got skelped and straight back down.

19-11-2020, 05:39 PM
I do wonder if some people got a bit carried away with our momentous qualification after playing Serbia and imagined we were suddenly a decent side.

I'm glad we qualified, and also appreciate the long unbeaten run, but we've hardly been setting the heather alight. Under Clarke, Scotland have scored 20 goals in 17 games... 6 of those were against San Marino and 3 against Kazahkstan.

TBH, Israel is about our level.

Just checked and Israel's FIFA ranking is 88th. I remember when we lost to them under McLeish it was billed as one of our all-time low results, but understandably the qualification for the Euros has spared Clarke similar flak.

I'd suggest that losing the last two games (while making allowances for tiredness/comedown after last week) underlines that beating Serbia was not necessarily the incredible achievement many seemed to think it was and the manner in which we qualified for the play-off was far from demanding.

It's a pretty miserable take on things I know, but for all it's given our game a boost by ensuring we'll be at a major tournament for the first time in 23 years I remain unconvinced we're suddenly 'back' as a football nation.

19-11-2020, 05:45 PM
And

No he won’t but Dykes wins most of the balls in the air and the midfield should be bursting a gut to get beyond him.They’re not.Much like our midfield didn’t when Grant Holt was here.

id rather have a prolific striker getting the goals, a McCoist type, rather than having to rely on midfielders.....

Magpie
19-11-2020, 05:53 PM

Very true, being in League A would have seen an automatic Play Off place for the next Euro’s though but that ship has sailed now.

19-11-2020, 05:58 PM

Although you are probably correct, I’d have taken getting pumped 5/6 times to be almost guaranteed a World Cup and Euro 2024 play off place, which is what promotion to A would have brought.

19-11-2020, 06:28 PM
How times change.

Just over a year ago, we were ticking along in Division 3. Now, we have just qualified for Euro21, and almost had a second successive promotion.

Beating Serbia (not just beating them, but outplaying them for most of the game) was no mean feat. Serbia battered Russia last night .

I agree that we have found our level just now; we weren't ready for Division 1. But we can look forward to being competitive in Division 2, and challenging for play-off spots in our WC group. The trend is upwards for now.

We couldn't have envisaged that a year ago.

19-11-2020, 06:38 PM
How times change.

Just over a year ago, we were ticking along in Division 3. Now, we have just qualified for Euro21, and almost had a second successive promotion.

Beating Serbia (not just beating them, but outplaying them for most of the game) was no mean feat. Serbia battered Russia last night .

I agree that we have found our level just now; we weren't ready for Division 1. But we can look forward to being competitive in Division 2, and challenging for play-off spots in our WC group. The trend is upwards for now.

We couldn't have envisaged that a year ago.

Winnings those game could also have been the difference between being 2nd seed and 3rd group in the world cup qualifiers.

Huge missed opportunity and I think it is very unprofessional the way we approached it.

19-11-2020, 07:17 PM
Winnings those game could also have been the difference between being 2nd seed and 3rd group in the world cup qualifiers.

Huge missed opportunity and I think it is very unprofessional the way we approached it.

Winning those games would have made zero difference to our seeding firstly. Secondly, I’ve no idea how it was unprofessional. We dominated both games in the main, failed to take gilt edged chances in both. The players celebrated for a night before heading to Slovakia, where preparation was exactly as it should be. One thing you can’t throw at this squad and management is unprofessional.

19-11-2020, 07:49 PM
Just checked and Israel's FIFA ranking is 88th. I remember when we lost to them under McLeish it was billed as one of our all-time low results, but understandably the qualification for the Euros has spared Clarke similar flak.

I'd suggest that losing the last two games (while making allowances for tiredness/comedown after last week) underlines that beating Serbia was not necessarily the incredible achievement many seemed to think it was and the manner in which we qualified for the play-off was far from demanding.

It's a pretty miserable take on things I know, but for all it's given our game a boost by ensuring we'll be at a major tournament for the first time in 23 years I remain unconvinced we're suddenly 'back' as a football nation.

Football always seems to be black and white with little room for grey.

McLeish got some very good results and in many ways built the foundations of this impressive qualification. His legacy should now be viewed a bit more positively. Yes, Clarke was the man who nudged it over the line but McLeish played a part.

For the first time in a while Scotland look quite hard to beat again. They don't lose cheap goals, and Clarke has found a way to make a solid defence out of some pretty average (as well as some very good) defenders. Over-achieving Scotland sides of the past had this characteristic, so when we see this return I think we have the right to feel optimistic.

I don't fall for the hyperbole, but I do think there are reasons to be optimistic about our national side at long last.

Rumble de Thump
19-11-2020, 08:16 PM
The goal against Serbia was very cheap. The scorer was left unmarked seven yards out from goal at a corner with 89 minutes and 33 seconds played.

19-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Winning those games would have made zero difference to our seeding firstly. Secondly, I’ve no idea how it was unprofessional. We dominated both games in the main, failed to take gilt edged chances in both. The players celebrated for a night before heading to Slovakia, where preparation was exactly as it should be. One thing you can’t throw at this squad and management is unprofessional.

The nations league playoff place is for the highest ranked group winner so number of points would've mattered for that. Also, world cup qualifiers seedings are based on November Fifa rankings are they not?

The Slovakia game was treated like a friendly. No need to change the entire defence and goalkeeper, it screams 2nd priority. As does the various comments about the main job being done last Thursday. Great that we qualified for the euros but it was a poor attitude imo.

19-11-2020, 08:45 PM

Your quick to mention Israel’s ranking, yet totally ignore Serbia’s first and foremost (30th) and the pumping they’ve just given to Russia. It was a top performance, and an even better result. Slovakia are 37th, the Czech’s are 1 place below us. If qualifying for our first tournament this millennium isn’t a huge achievement then we’d be as well packing it in.

The defeat to Israel two years ago was far from billed as the worst result ever, we had ten men. There was apathy around the appointment of Mcleish, and that result was early in a huge campaign, but it was far from our worst result ever.

We get that you think the nations league is ****, and that we had a walkover into the Euro’s, even when it’s clear that the team we beat in the final was a team that we would’ve probably played if it was the old route.

19-11-2020, 08:46 PM
The goal against Serbia was very cheap. The scorer was left unmarked seven yards out from goal at a corner with 89 minutes and 33 seconds played.

Yeah, fair point.

But over the piece, against a team who beat Russia 4-0 a week later, we didn't do badly at restricting opportunities - and that one was to a 60 million Euro Real Madrid player.

Over the 3 games, 3 away games of varying toughness, I thought we looked a lot more solid defensively than we have.

I was more concerned about the lack of a cutting edge in the final third and the poor threat from set pieces. That was what ultimately cost us imo.

19-11-2020, 08:50 PM
The nations league playoff place is for the highest ranked group winner so number of points would've mattered for that. Also, world cup qualifiers seedings are based on November Fifa rankings are they not?

The Slovakia game was treated like a friendly. No need to change the entire defence and goalkeeper, it screams 2nd priority. As does the various comments about the main job being done last Thursday. Great that we qualified for the euros but it was a poor attitude imo.

Your point was based on seedlings for the world cup qualifiers, fact is even winning both games would not have seen us in a higher pot. The players had just gone through mental and physical exhaustion 3 days prior to that, there were always going to be big changes. That was normal, knowing we had yet another huge game just three days after that one as well. The tempo in the Slovakia game as a result of the changes was far higher. There was a greater energy and we battered them. We never took our chances, that’s football. It happens. It’s not unprofessional.

20-11-2020, 08:07 AM
Your point was based on seedlings for the world cup qualifiers, fact is even winning both games would not have seen us in a higher pot. The players had just gone through mental and physical exhaustion 3 days prior to that, there were always going to be big changes. That was normal, knowing we had yet another huge game just three days after that one as well. The tempo in the Slovakia game as a result of the changes was far higher. There was a greater energy and we battered them. We never took our chances, that’s football. It happens. It’s not unprofessional.

I said it could have been the difference. It absolutely could have been.

If that was another play off final there's no way we all make those changes. Likewise if it was a group stage of a tournament itself. It was given a lower priority - make a few changes, fine but when you start doing things like changing the keeper it's not because he needs a rest. It's because you see it as 2nd fiddle and you want to give folk a run out and a chance to prove themselves.

20-11-2020, 10:25 AM
I said it could have been the difference. It absolutely could have been.

If that was another play off final there's no way we all make those changes. Likewise if it was a group stage of a tournament itself. It was given a lower priority - make a few changes, fine but when you start doing things like changing the keeper it's not because he needs a rest. It's because you see it as 2nd fiddle and you want to give folk a run out and a chance to prove themselves.

Absolutely nothing that scotland could’ve done over the two games would have had us in pot 2, nothing whatsoever.

All three keepers are more than good enough, changing it made no difference to the outcome. If you don’t think Marshall’s mental fatigue would have been taken into account then fair enough. It’s very hard to go again a few days after a gruelling 120+ minutes and the elation that you felt after the game. Any side in the world would’ve made most of the changes we made, especially when at least 3 of them were enforced, and clubs will also have had an input into how many minutes players play.

Folk were wanting Armstrong etc to play, then when they do play the following game it’s disrespectful and amateurish.

mal
20-11-2020, 10:52 AM
Football always seems to be black and white with little room for grey.

McLeish got some very good results and in many ways built the foundations of this impressive qualification. His legacy should now be viewed a bit more positively. Yes, Clarke was the man who nudged it over the line but McLeish played a part.

For the first time in a while Scotland look quite hard to beat again. They don't lose cheap goals, and Clarke has found a way to make a solid defence out of some pretty average (as well as some very good) defenders. Over-achieving Scotland sides of the past had this characteristic, so when we see this return I think we have the right to feel optimistic.

I don't fall for the hyperbole, but I do think there are reasons to be optimistic about our national side at long last.

We won 5 out of 12 under McLeish, losing the other 7, including an abject humiliation against Kazakhstan. We beat Hungary, Albania (twice), Israel and San Marino. That's not impressive unless you're prepared to accept an extremely low standard. McLeish took us many steps backwards after we had started to show real promise under Strachan.

20-11-2020, 11:13 AM
Absolutely nothing that scotland could’ve done over the two games would have had us in pot 2, nothing whatsoever.

All three keepers are more than good enough, changing it made no difference to the outcome. If you don’t think Marshall’s mental fatigue would have been taken into account then fair enough. It’s very hard to go again a few days after a gruelling 120+ minutes and the elation that you felt after the game. Any side in the world would’ve made most of the changes we made, especially when at least 3 of them were enforced, and clubs will also have had an input into how many minutes players play.

Folk were wanting Armstrong etc to play, then when they do play the following game it’s disrespectful and amateurish.

Fine, happy to agree to disagree.

The game should have been treated as if it was the difference between qualifying for the world cup or not. I don't think it was taken seriously enough but others may have a different view.

20-11-2020, 11:44 AM
We won 5 out of 12 under McLeish, losing the other 7, including an abject humiliation against Kazakhstan. We beat Hungary, Albania (twice), Israel and San Marino. That's not impressive unless you're prepared to accept an extremely low standard. McLeish took us many steps backwards after we had started to show real promise under Strachan.

I'm not saying he was a success - overall, this time he wasn't.

He did get some good results. As it happens, his poor results (including the Kazakhstan one) ended up being of little consequence as his good ones helped pave the way for our qualification.

My point was just that it was bit more nuanced than Strachan = good, McLeish = bad, Clarke = brilliant, in my opinion. All have very mixed records with high and low points.

The emergence of a few pretty good players has probably been of greater significance than the manager in the dugout.