View Full Version : The Celtic Fixture
Key West
17-11-2020, 10:11 AM
I have to say this is a fixture that I don’t look forward to the reason being that it is not a level playing field and I can’t wait for it to be over and done with, it is very rarely an enjoyable experience even in the games where we are beating them and hanging on. Then you have to endure the post match analysis from some of their fans that haven’t been to see them since Jimmy Johnstone was playing.
17-11-2020, 10:56 AM
We have a good home record against them since we came up, try and look forward to it with cautious optimism
17-11-2020, 11:02 AM
They are streets ahead of everyone in Scotland bar Rangers so anything would be a bonus. I agree though. It almost feels like a waste of a game playing them. Don't look forward to them at all.
17-11-2020, 11:10 AM
On their form so far this season the current Rangers team look a better side than Celtc*.
If we can draw 2-2 with The Rangers, then surely there's still a possibility we could get something from the Celtc game.
* With apologies to any posters that interpret that as 'some kind of a Rangers love-in'
17-11-2020, 11:11 AM
They have a very pedestrian way of playing football which makes it feel like they're rarely out of second gear.
It's a "free hit" and one we're unlikely to take. I'm more excited about the St Johnston and Dundee games.
17-11-2020, 11:13 AM
Should always be looking to give them a decent game at Easter Road, but it’s a trickier task without a big Hibs crowd backing you on the day.
For all the gulf in finances, they are not really that great.
2-1 Hibs.
HFC93
I have to say this is a fixture that I don’t look forward to the reason being that it is not a level playing field and I can’t wait for it to be over and done with, it is very rarely an enjoyable experience even in the games where we are beating them and hanging on. Then you have to endure the post match analysis from some of their fans that haven’t been to see them since Jimmy Johnstone was playing.
We've done pretty well against them at Easter Road since we came back up. Some cracking games that I've enjoyed.
We have a good home record against them since we came up, try and look forward to it with cautious optimism
Agree can't remember the last time they beat us at home. We gave Rangers a very good game and deservedly got a point, no reason we can't do the same.
17-11-2020, 11:14 AM
I'm looking forward to it. A chance for us to test ourselves against the best in the league (as in OF not just Celtic), not too much expectation but a great deal of satisfaction should we get a result and a good measuring stick as to were we are or are progressing. Given the chance i'd sooner see us play Rangers and Celtic than I would Hamilton or St Mirren, with the greatest of respect. Nothing like the buzz of a big game.
17-11-2020, 11:14 AM
As has been pointed out, we've had a few decent games v Celtic at ER since promotion. Ross needs to get the tactics spot on and make sure we get right into them, in a controlled manner.
I'm travelling more in hope than expectation (metaphorically speaking, of course).
Just debating whether my prediction league score will be based on trying to reach the summit or whether sentiment will prevail.
17-11-2020, 11:19 AM
Have we actually lost a league game at home to Celtic since we came back up?
HFC93
17-11-2020, 11:23 AM
Don't think so, just the Scottish Cup game. Which makes the original post stranger.
17-11-2020, 11:23 AM
Rocky
McGinn McGregor Porteous Hanlon Mackie
Newall Gogic
Mallan
Nisbet Doidge
5-3-2
We must take the game to them, if we sit back we wont get anything from the game. Start McGinn with Boyle on the bench and bring him on later in the game - particularly if Celtic are chasing. Murphy could be an option as a number 10 instead of Mallan but I'd like SM to get a start - we see what he can do from range and I'd like to have that option in place. Mackie has looked strong when hes been involved and I'd give him the start instead of Doig this time.
17-11-2020, 11:24 AM
It shouldn't be a game we write off before it's played. It's a tough game, and we'll have to play well to get a result, but we're capable.
It's also not a game that defines our season, if we do lose, it's not the end of the world, it's not because we're terrible, and it doesn't mean we're never going to achieve anything.
hibbydog
17-11-2020, 11:27 AM
I don't think so.
But we rarely get a result in a big game any more.
Maybes it shows that Scottish Football is back to the bad old days of Celtic and Rangers being miles ahead of everybody. We've went backwards sadly. Yes, Ross is making progress but I'd have the team that got promoted over this team every day of the week.
I'm not pleased to say that I'll be pleased with a point. Ken?
17-11-2020, 11:29 AM
Getting it on ppv, first time for a bit, anyone got an idea what time coverage would start?
Gloucester Hibs
17-11-2020, 11:29 AM
Noticed this game isn't on Sky, must be our first home game v the Soapdodgers that hasn't been televised for, what, 20 years? Should be a money-spinner for Hibs PPV though.
17-11-2020, 11:31 AM
No, our last home defeat to them in the league was in January 2014.
17-11-2020, 11:32 AM
Getting it on ppv, first time for a bit, anyone got an idea what time coverage would start?
Usually about 30-40 minutes before kick off I think.
Anyone struggling to afford to pay for the game due to the current world issues.
Pm me, i won a competition to watch the match for free so you can be entered into the draw for it.
I'm going to pay for it myself but will give away the log in for this one to help someone out.
Tough times for everyone.
17-11-2020, 11:38 AM
I don't think so.
But we rarely get a result in a big game any more.
Maybes it shows that Scottish Football is back to the bad old days of Celtic and Rangers being miles ahead of everybody. We've went backwards sadly. Yes, Ross is making progress but I'd have the team that got promoted over this team every day of the week.
I'm not pleased to say that I'll be pleased with a point. Ken?
Really. :rolleyes:
Drew with Rangers already this season.
17-11-2020, 11:38 AM
Noticed this game isn't on Sky, must be our first home game v the Soapdodgers that hasn't been televised for, what, 20 years? Should be a money-spinner for Hibs PPV though.
Yep, should make a few quid. Will be interesting to see if the demand impacts on the stream at all.
17-11-2020, 11:40 AM
Should be a money-spinner for Hibs PPV though.
Anyone care to estimate how much we could take in from the Celtic fans? Must be a fare number who will pay for especially as there isn't the watch in the pub option for many in the central belt.
davhibby
17-11-2020, 11:44 AM
Played Celtic in December(I think) 2012 not on TV and won 1-0, Griffiths rounded Forster in the first half. Lennon was the Celtic manager that day so possibly a good omen!
17-11-2020, 11:45 AM
Yup its a free hit and any kind of result in a match like this does wonders for positivity.
We need one to get over the last few weeks.
17-11-2020, 11:46 AM
Yep, should make a few quid. Will be interesting to see if the demand impacts on the stream at all.
Yeah hope not.
Is the Ppv charge more than other games?
17-11-2020, 11:57 AM
Always a chance when Lennon is manager. Hopefully he throws in another bizarre team selection and we can take advantage
17-11-2020, 11:58 AM
Yeah hope not.
Is the Ppv charge more than other games?
Yes £15.
davhibby
17-11-2020, 12:09 PM
Anyone care to estimate how much we could take in from the Celtic fans? Must be a fare number who will pay for especially as there isn't the watch in the pub option for many in the central belt.
Ross County said they made more from PPV earlier this season than they would have from ticket sales. Obviously that’s harder for us but hopefully it’ll still be good money
17-11-2020, 12:24 PM
Usually about 30-40 minutes before kick off I think.
😊👍
17-11-2020, 12:30 PM
Ross County said they made more from PPV earlier this season than they would have from ticket sales. Obviously that’s harder for us but hopefully it’ll still be good money
I'm not surprised at that, you're potentially looking at 1,000s if not 10s of thousands of Celtic fans paying £15 a pop or whatever it is as oppose to a couple of thousand buying a match ticket.
17-11-2020, 02:14 PM
Anyone struggling to afford to pay for the game due to the current world issues.
Pm me, i won a competition to watch the match for free so you can be entered into the draw for it.
I'm going to pay for it myself but will give away the log in for this one to help someone out.
That's a kind and generous offer by you. :top marks
17-11-2020, 03:08 PM
Free hit, nothing to lose and everything to gain. Love games against them, their ugly sister, hearts and to an extent Aberdeen. It's what football is all about for me. Rather that than Hamilton, St Johnstone and Ross county every week.
hibbydog
17-11-2020, 03:46 PM
Really. :rolleyes:
Drew with Rangers already this season.
Och I suppose that counts as a result.
But it was only a couple of years ago where we’d look at Rangers at home with confidence that we’d turn them over.
Changed days is my point.
Ach weel
11 verses 11 with no crowd advantage ,how’s it not a level playing field ?
17-11-2020, 05:36 PM
Nice one! Great gesture 💚
17-11-2020, 05:52 PM
A good fast start is key, celtic have looked really poor this season compared to previous so defenfitly a chance.
Need to keep Christie quiet and Daz deserves to keep his place.
3-5-2? 4-4-2 and go for it?
17-11-2020, 05:52 PM
Helluva lot of pressure on Celtic.
They can't afford any slip ups or their 10 in a row could be up in the air before Christmas.
Aberdeen and Killie drew with them and it took late goals to edge out Dundee Utd and St. Johnstone.
That's four away games they certainly didn't dominate.
We've got a fighting chance
17-11-2020, 06:36 PM
nice one. Hope most of the clubs are getting a wee bit of cash in.
17-11-2020, 08:45 PM
Top man fi Halifax or thereabouts :flag: :top marks
18-11-2020, 07:44 AM
Just had a look and the home results against Celtc since we were promoted in 2017
(D) 2-2
(W) 2-1
(W) 2-0
(D) 0-0
(D) 1-1
Maybe best to ignore the results against them at Celtc Park and Hampden, though ;-)
Key West
18-11-2020, 10:00 AM
11 verses 11 with no crowd advantage ,how’s it not a level playing field ?
It is not a level playing field in the sense that their team is worth millions.
18-11-2020, 10:09 AM
Rocky
McGinn McGregor Porteous Hanlon Mackie
Newall Gogic
Mallan
Nisbet Doidge
5-3-2
We must take the game to them, if we sit back we wont get anything from the game. Start McGinn with Boyle on the bench and bring him on later in the game - particularly if Celtic are chasing. Murphy could be an option as a number 10 instead of Mallan but I'd like SM to get a start - we see what he can do from range and I'd like to have that option in place. Mackie has looked strong when hes been involved and I'd give him the start instead of Doig this time.
Not sure a 532 will take the game to them, especially when the 2 FBs/WBs are defensively minded and not blessed with pace. If we are going to press them we have to go 433 and press them where they make mistakes (in defence). Assuming they will play a 352 their WBs will push high - we either suck up that pressure and attack on the break or just press them back from the off. Frimpong ripped us a new one when we tried to just defend.
18-11-2020, 10:10 AM
When do you suppose the last time our team was worth more than theirs?
Do have the same gripe when we play Hamilton? After all our squad is worth a lot more than theirs.
Key West
18-11-2020, 10:15 AM
I respect all your opinions on why I should be more optimistic about this fixture but I’m still convinced that we won’t get anything and I hope that I am proved wrong.
18-11-2020, 10:21 AM
Och I suppose that counts as a result.
But it was only a couple of years ago where we’d look at Rangers at home with confidence that we’d turn them over.
Changed days is my point.
Ach weel
Really? Apart from when they were chucked down to the bottom of the leagues I cant remember many games were we would be fav against any of the old firm
18-11-2020, 10:26 AM
Do you think Livingston and Hamilton complain it's not a level playing field when they play us?
Key West
18-11-2020, 10:46 AM
Do have the same gripe when we play Hamilton? After all our squad is worth a lot more than theirs.
The disparity between Hibs and Celtic is far greater than say between the likes of Hibs and the other sides, all the leagues accross Europe would be far more interesting if all the teams worked from the same budget.
18-11-2020, 10:59 AM
Celtc. There is no I in team. We should just give it a go. I will take a beating any day over a surrender.
18-11-2020, 11:42 AM
I respect all your opinions on why I should be more optimistic about this fixture but I’m still convinced that we won’t get anything and I hope that I am proved wrong.
The results at ER v Celtic since promotion suggest optimism isn’t misplaced. That said, I still expect Celtic to win, but I’m far from convinced they will.
18-11-2020, 12:13 PM
Played Celtic in December(I think) 2012 not on TV and won 1-0, Griffiths rounded Forster in the first half. Lennon was the Celtic manager that day so possibly a good omen!
I had £100 on Celtic that day which was obviously a sair yin! 😠
:agree: Or the lower teams in the league cup we’ve just played ,we’ve just got to roll our sleeves up & get intea them
HFC93
18-11-2020, 12:47 PM
We'll get something. Too much doom and gloom on here.
one day maybe...
18-11-2020, 01:37 PM
Marciano
McGinn Porteous Hanlon
Gogic
Boyle Magennis Newell Mallan Murphy
Nisbet
Saint Hibee
18-11-2020, 01:44 PM
I had £100 on Celtic that day which was obviously a sair yin! 😠
Was that not the match when Sam Stanton totally dominated the midfield against them? Or was that later? I remember coming away thinking he'd earn us millions.
18-11-2020, 02:04 PM
Was that not the match when Sam Stanton totally dominated the midfield against them? Or was that later? I remember coming away thinking he'd earn us millions.
No we actually got humped 4-0 the day he put in that performance. It was January 2014 and it was the last time Celtic beat us in the league at Easter Road.
18-11-2020, 02:54 PM
Just had a look and the home results against Celtc since we were promoted in 2017
(D) 2-2
(W) 2-1
(W) 2-0
(D) 0-0
(D) 1-1
Maybe best to ignore the results against them at Celtc Park and Hampden, though ;-)
Also a 2-0 defeat in the Scottish Cup.
USAHibee
18-11-2020, 03:03 PM
😊👍
Lovely 10am kick off time over here, have a good feeling we will get something from this game🤞
semaj64
18-11-2020, 03:11 PM
Hibs need to get at them and not allow them to settle down. We have got results before when Hibs have played like that. Celtic nothing special at the moment so a win for Hibs is on the cards
Soldiersteve
18-11-2020, 03:26 PM
Class:aok::flag:
My offer still stands everyone.
Anyone struggling just get in touch to win a free log in for the game.
Top man fi Halifax or thereabouts :flag: :top marks
Ex Halifax and now just up the road :-)
1875Sean
18-11-2020, 07:23 PM
If we are focusing on Celtics weakness we need pace upfront, especially is Duffy is playing, in Europe a lot of teams have been playing the ball over the back line and they are so slow, think we should play Boyle and Nisbet up top and focus on the counter attack
21-11-2020, 01:35 PM
Match coverage is on.
John Collins on but no Yogi due to Covid protocol!
Magennis still broken
21-11-2020, 01:41 PM
Match coverage is on.
John Collins on but no Yogi due to Covid protocol!
Magennis still broken
Anything on when Magennis may return?
21-11-2020, 01:44 PM
Doidge did his ankle in training yesterday
21-11-2020, 03:55 PM
What's your view on it now?
Key West
21-11-2020, 04:24 PM
What's your view on it now?
The same but it is a bit harsh considering we were not too far away from a victory.