McBurnie
15-11-2020, 11:49 AM
Clarke makes 8 changes
Gordon
Palmer Cooper McKenna Tierney Considine
McLean Christie McGinn (Captain) Armstrong
McBurnie
I expected changes so not too surprised there has been some. Wasn't expecting so many though.
C'mon Scotland!
15-11-2020, 11:51 AM
I expected changes so not too surprised there has been some. Wasn't expecting so many though.
C'mon Scotland!
A load of fresh players trying to impress
15-11-2020, 11:52 AM
Admins, feel free to merge with Nations League thread
15-11-2020, 11:57 AM
Have to say I'm a wee bit disappointed with this as we should be going all-out to win this group and get into league A/have a backup route to the 2022 playoffs.
That said, fully appreciate some of the squad will be physically and mentally drained right now!
JimboHibs
15-11-2020, 12:01 PM
Have to say I'm a wee bit disappointed with this as we should be going all-out to win this group and get into league A/have a backup route to the 2022 playoffs.
That said, fully appreciate some of the squad will be physically and mentally drained right now!
Would have preferred Griff up top doesnt look to bad intresting to see how Tierney plays in the wing back position,I'm assuming Considine will play left side of back 3
15-11-2020, 12:03 PM
After the scenes that were shown from the after party on Thursday night, I'm surprised there hasn't been 11 changes.
15-11-2020, 12:17 PM
McBurnie better get his arse in gear.
15-11-2020, 12:18 PM
Would have preferred Griff up top doesnt look to bad intresting to see how Tierney plays in the wing back position,I'm assuming Considine will play left side of back 3
Saying Considine on the right of a 3, McKenna on the left
murray26
15-11-2020, 12:34 PM
Slovakia have nothing to play for and maybe have a bigger hangover than us.. 3 points and the job is done with a game to spare..
Come on Scotland 🏴
15-11-2020, 12:34 PM
As someone who was there there the last time we played Slovakia away it’s no bad thing fans are missing this trip to Trnava 😀
15-11-2020, 12:35 PM
Hopefully today is the day McBurnie shuts me up :greengrin
15-11-2020, 12:48 PM
Even with the team from the other night this would be a tough game, freshen it up and hope the boys from the sidelines carry on that high, but if not, it’s an extra few days rest for the ‘first teamers’ going into the Israel game.
15-11-2020, 12:54 PM
Slovakia have nothing to play for and maybe have a bigger hangover than us.. 3 points and the job is done with a game to spare..
Come on Scotland 🏴
Got to be Considine on the left with Cooper on the right I'd have thought.
15-11-2020, 12:54 PM
Tierney is the only player selected to start today that played 120 minutes on Thursday
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2020, 12:58 PM
SJM Captain:aok::aok:
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2020, 01:01 PM
Come on Scotland 🏴
Draws in both games today and we win the group
15-11-2020, 01:02 PM
Got to be Considine on the left with Cooper on the right I'd have thought.
Maybe not 😀
15-11-2020, 01:07 PM
Palmer should have scored.
15-11-2020, 01:11 PM
Palmer should have scored.
A better touch from McBurnie and he would've scored himself
15-11-2020, 01:17 PM
Another big chance for McBurnie, good tackle though
15-11-2020, 01:17 PM
what a chance for mcburnie
A better touch from McBurnie and he would've scored himself
A better touch, he had a least 3!!,should have scored.
15-11-2020, 01:19 PM
what a chance for mcburnie
Must have compromising photos of Clarke......
Christie & McBurnie as a pairing they don't work.
15-11-2020, 01:21 PM
Must have compromising photos of Clarke......
:ill:
Just in and the 1st thing I see is McBurnie with an elephants touch and then on a counter break he makes a terrible run with Christie, how has he made it as a pro footballer.
15-11-2020, 01:23 PM
hope i dont jinx it but we're looking fairly comfortable the first 20 mins
15-11-2020, 01:28 PM
A familiar story.
Dominating but wasting chance after chance.
15-11-2020, 01:31 PM
Armstrong booked, out of game in israel, after watching the fouls on christie i think that's a tad harsh
1-0 Slovakia
A familiar story.
Dominating but wasting chance after chance.
This could be a Hibs match day thread
15-11-2020, 01:32 PM
Kin no real 1-0 slovakia
15-11-2020, 01:32 PM
Deflected and in
1-0 Slovakia
Good finish but no one went out to the ball.
15-11-2020, 01:33 PM
Clarke oot!
....and that's why we can't afford passengers like mcburnie squandering chances.
Bring back Craig Levein.
15-11-2020, 01:34 PM
Deflected off of Mclean
15-11-2020, 01:34 PM
Kenny McLean is useless, he just dropped deeper and deeper and he ends up behind the central defender's rather than keeping his position and pressing the ball.
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2020, 01:35 PM
McBurnie straight at the goalkeeper!!
15-11-2020, 01:36 PM
Mcburnue header straight at keeper unfortunately
15-11-2020, 01:36 PM
Kenny McLean is useless, he just dropped deeper and deeper and he ends up behind the central defender's rather than keeping his position and pressing the ball.
Exactly what I was thinking why was he so deep when the shot came from his area of the pitch.
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2020, 01:38 PM
Unfortunately look like a bunch of guys who have never played together before...which is true
Mcburnue header straight at keeper unfortunately
It was like a pass back to the keeper
15-11-2020, 01:39 PM
Armstrong booked, out of game in israel, after watching the fouls on christie i think that's a tad harsh
He so stupid to get it, he misses and another game for us, and he’s desperate to start
15-11-2020, 01:42 PM
sjm carded
HibsGW
15-11-2020, 01:42 PM
Think we’re actually playing pretty well again and showing plenty attacking threat, unfortunate to be behind. Need to take our chances. Christie looking bright every time he’s on the ball, so is Tierney.
A lot of going nowhere pit pat football going on from Scotland at the moment.
Unfortunately look like a bunch of guys who have never played together before...which is true
I think Scotland have played quite well and unlucky to be losing.
15-11-2020, 01:44 PM
Leigh on for McBurnie at half time.
15-11-2020, 01:45 PM
He so stupid to get it, he misses and another game for us, and he’s desperate to start
ref spoke to their captain just minutes before it after yet another foul on christie, that's what refs at the rugby normally do
yellow card for obe of them now
15-11-2020, 01:45 PM
this really should have been so different
15-11-2020, 01:46 PM
McBurnie should have two by now, Griffiths would’ve scored at least one in the same positions.
15-11-2020, 01:48 PM
By far the better team. Get griff on for Mick Burnie and we'll win imo
McBurnie is still absolutely honking and should be nowhere near the Scotland squad nevermind ahead of Griffiths, Shankland and Nisbet
Green Man
We’ve played some good football first half, hard to believe we’re behind. McBurnie just isn’t good enough, get Griffiths on for the second half.
McBurnie is like a man down and McLean offers nothing also, would like to see McTominay played in his natural central midfield role, it's where he shines when playing for Man U.
Is there, per chance. McBurnie isn’t Scottish ?! And so ineligible to play ?!
15-11-2020, 01:50 PM
Created a lot of chances, rarely tested in defence, two shots from outside the box is about as much as they’ve mustered. Quite impressed by our second string, positive signs despite the scoreline.
15-11-2020, 01:53 PM
Performance was good, with a proper striker we'd be leading. Armstrong should have scored as well.
Not a huge fan of Kenny McLean, he just seems to coast through games and sits too deep.
Wtf was that header from McBurnie? If it wasn’t for the fact he went for goal it looked like he’s trying to knock it down to a team mate rather than score with it with the way he’s cushioned it.
Unfortunate to be behind but need to take our chances. I'm no hiding behind the couch watching us these days which is a massive improvement from past decades.
15-11-2020, 01:54 PM
Think we’ve played well. Positive signs. Watching us the other night and today, you can see that we have some good footballers. It’s not like Scotland teams of the past that might nick the odd result away from home but did it through defending for 90 minutes and nicking a goal on the break.
McBurnie is like a man down and McLean offers nothing also, would like to see McTominay played in his natural central midfield role, it's where he shines when playing for Man U.
Spot on, must be doing something at club level but certainly not producing it here.
15-11-2020, 01:58 PM
Spot on, must be doing something at club level but certainly not producing it here.
He’s scored 6 goals in 48 games for SU so I’d suggest he’s not doing it there either.
15-11-2020, 02:07 PM
all we are saaaying
is give us a draw
SJNB Hibby
15-11-2020, 02:08 PM
all we are saaaying
is give us a draw
If the Czech v Israel game ends in a draw---this game is irrelevant
15-11-2020, 02:12 PM
i can't see israel getting a point there unfortunately
15-11-2020, 02:12 PM
Can’t see Israel taking anything from them, really could do with at least picking up a point today
15-11-2020, 02:17 PM
McLean should be scoring that. Great save though.
15-11-2020, 02:18 PM
How bad is Provan? “McBurnie’s elbows were up but nowhere near fouling”. Replay, “No problem there.” 2nd replay, “I might be wrong”.
Another good chance missed there, great save from the keeper. McBurnie has had chances, time to bring on LG
McLean should be scoring that. Great save though.
It was a great save. Can't blame McLean
aw cmon mclean
15-11-2020, 02:19 PM
Definitely get McBurnie off doing nothing
15-11-2020, 02:19 PM
Hope clarke give any subs more than 7 mins this time
15-11-2020, 02:20 PM
It was a great save. Can't blame McLean
Shouldn’t be missing a free header from there imo.
15-11-2020, 02:20 PM
Shouldn’t be missing a free header from there imo.
He hit the target
15-11-2020, 02:22 PM
He hit the target
Yes but he missed the chance.
He’s scored 6 goals in 48 games for SU so I’d suggest he’s not doing it there either.
I didn't know that, but watching him lumber around today I can see why.
15-11-2020, 02:23 PM
I didn't know that, but watching him lumber around today I can see why.
He hit the target
He passed it back to the keeper, no power no direction.
15-11-2020, 02:24 PM
Griffiths replaced considine
sparky finally on
for considine
Yes but he missed the chance.
So we take the goalies - not inconsiderable - contribution out of the equation?
McLean is our Slivka.
15-11-2020, 02:25 PM
So we take the goalies - not inconsiderable - contribution out of the equation?
The goalies contribution should never be part of the equation with a free header from 8 yards. It should be in the back of the net regardless of what the keeper does unless it’s something outrageous. Whilst it was a good save, it wasn’t outrageous.
15-11-2020, 02:27 PM
The goalies contribution should never be part of the equation with a free header from 8 yards. It should be in the back of the net regardless of what the keeper does.
Gordon Banks might disagree
15-11-2020, 02:28 PM
The goalies contribution should never be part of the equation with a free header from 8 yards. It should be in the back of the net regardless of what the keeper does.
Tell Nisbet that. 😉
15-11-2020, 02:29 PM
Gordon Banks might disagree
See the edit to my post before you replied :greengrin
15-11-2020, 02:29 PM
The goalies contribution should never be part of the equation with a free header from 8 yards. It should be in the back of the net regardless of what the keeper does unless it’s something outrageous. Whilst it was a good save, it wasn’t outrageous.
Pele six yards out + Gordon Banks = save was some equation.
15-11-2020, 02:30 PM
Pele six yards out + Gordon Banks = save was some equation.
Yup. Safe to say that wasn’t a save of Gordon Banks proportions though.
15-11-2020, 02:32 PM
Yup. Safe to say that wasn’t a save of Gordon Banks proportions though.
Best player in the world let him in the equation though!
15-11-2020, 02:34 PM
This is the Scottish National team I’m more accustomed too...
Chance of promotion today and to delegate the Slovaks!
Looks like that chance has gone for now!
15-11-2020, 02:49 PM
What a chance at the end.
15-11-2020, 02:50 PM
how disappointing that mcburnies missed chances cost us at least a point, still, only a p@shy deflected goal gave them the points as they never really bothered us.
Decent performance but a poor result.
15-11-2020, 02:51 PM
Actually played no to bad TBH
Win Israel and all is well again
Well I guess there will be no boogie boogie tonight after that powder puff display.
MartinfaePorty
15-11-2020, 02:52 PM
Thought they'd played ok, but petered out 2nd half
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
Poor performance against a poor opponent, very little urgency or pace with even less threat up front. How McBurnie is still around is anyone's guess?
I wouldn't give pass marks to any of them, thought they were all pretty anonymous. Guess that's Scotland for you!
15-11-2020, 02:53 PM
Good save at the end but a fit Griffiths would have finished it.
15-11-2020, 02:55 PM
Poor performance against a poor opponent, very little urgency or pace with even less threat up front. How McBurnie is still around is anyone's guess?
I wouldn't give pass marks to any of them, thought they were all pretty anonymous. Guess that's Scotland for you!
Your names not Davy Provan is it :greengrin
Didn't think we were too bad. How mcburnie and mclean got a full game is surprising
15-11-2020, 02:56 PM
McBurnie?
I just don't know if he is poor or we're playing in a way that uses his strengths. Whatever, that performance to will do little to build his confidence I guess.
Magpie
15-11-2020, 03:01 PM
Just need Czech and Israel to draw tonight to be promoted. If not, it comes down to the last game.
15-11-2020, 03:01 PM
McBurnie?
I just don't know if he is poor or we're playing in a way that uses his strengths. Whatever, that performance to will do little to build his confidence I guess.
That's the big worry. It used to be a lack of central defenders, now we've loads of them. But strikers is a real problem, without Dykes we're toiling.
Your names not Davy Provan is it :greengrin
🤣 Thankfully no, but I probably did sound like him, nothing to get enthused about for me today sadly.
15-11-2020, 03:05 PM
I think McLean is totally overrated and McBernie is just pish. It just shows how ridiculous the prices floating about the top 2 English leagues are, forking out big bucks for bang average players.
15-11-2020, 03:08 PM
That's the big worry. It used to be a lack of central defenders, now we've loads of them. But strikers is a real problem, without Dykes we're toiling.
We don't have a right sided centre back hence Considine playing there out of position today.
What now?
Scotland could approach the Southampton striker Che Adams again.
Palmer not good enough and after the 1st half we didn't play down that side. Should also explore forcing the situation with the current UK agreement to get Tavernier in. The agreement is not binding and he meetstheUEFA criteria. Alternatively move Robertson to right back. Tierney played the left side role far better today than Robertson has.
Time for Hibs game now.
15-11-2020, 03:18 PM
We don't have a right sided centre back hence Considine playing there out of position today
McTominay. Gallagher can play there as well.
16-11-2020, 12:00 AM
McTominay. Gallagher can play there as well.
One of them should have been playing there today but i understand why they weren't
16-11-2020, 06:03 AM
🤣 Thankfully no, but I probably did sound like him, nothing to get enthused about for me today sadly.
Thought we were pretty good first half and at this level simply can't be missing the quality of chance we did. Unlucky with the goal but looked a bit powder puff in the second half until Griffiths came on. Personally would have brought Burke on for Mcburnie for something different late on.
16-11-2020, 06:06 AM
Actually played no to bad TBH
Win Israel and all is well again
Personally think Israel away is a harder game but that is the way the fixtures landed. Will be interesting to see who plays Wednesday get the impression he has agreed with certain clubs so expect Tierney for example not to start but we will see.
The dalmeny
16-11-2020, 06:17 AM
what a load of pish, what do you think the keeper is there for. Lost for more words.