View Full Version : Kevin Nisbet

Magpie
12-11-2020, 09:51 PM
Time to get those shooting boots back on and get yourself into that Scotland team next summer.

Point to prove from all our Scottish players 👍🏻👊🏻

hibbydog
12-11-2020, 09:54 PM
Time to get those shooting boots back on and get yourself into that Scotland team next summer.

Point to prove from all our Scottish players 👍🏻👊🏻

He is 100% good enough. Jesus, McBurnie and Burke are in the squad.

Put him in for a few friendlies first.

12-11-2020, 09:56 PM
Nisbet would be a great addition to the squad. Big incentive for all the Scottish boys at the club now to have the season of their lives.

12-11-2020, 10:00 PM
Nisbet would be a great addition to the squad. Big incentive for all the Scottish boys at the club now to have the season of their lives.

Could really spur Scottish football on to the next level. What a moment for the game as a whole.

Keyser Sauzee
12-11-2020, 10:27 PM
How much loyalty will Clarke show to this squad that have got us there, I don’t think u will see any change really when next summer comes.

davy67 +
12-11-2020, 10:32 PM
How much loyalty will Clarke show to this squad that have got us there, I don’t think u will see any change really when next summer comes.

The more options he has the better, Nisbet must be in his mind for at least a squad place if he can keep fit and keep scoring

12-11-2020, 10:50 PM
He is 100% good enough. Jesus, McBurnie and Burke are in the squad.

Put him in for a few friendlies first.

Has Jesus got a Scottish granny?

Prof. Shaggy
12-11-2020, 11:02 PM
Has Jesus got a Scottish granny?

👋👋👋👋

12-11-2020, 11:08 PM
The further from that team McBurnie is the better. Dykes on the other hand was fantastic.

12-11-2020, 11:15 PM
In away Dykes gives Scotland what Doidge gives us. Great performances from Dykes

13-11-2020, 02:01 AM
Been saying for a full season now that I've no clue about what McBurnie brings to the team. He's no more good enough for this level than i was in my best years.

13-11-2020, 09:15 AM

Clarke will have his first picks by now but you have to allow for injuries and other call-offs. Nisbet has to have a chance if he keeps going as he is. Any player who has also been in and around the squad should also look to impress. You just never know.

13-11-2020, 09:42 AM
Oliver burke's squad position must be in doubt if players like Nisbet continue their form

13-11-2020, 12:45 PM
If he can hit 25 goals this season it would be impossible not to pick him, Clarke has shown that he doesn't have usual snobbery managers of the past have had about picking players who are performing well from the SPFL.

13-11-2020, 12:50 PM
Think he has a real chance. Dykes is clearly favourite, Leigh doesn't seem to be trusted, Shankland is out of the picture and McBurnie has struggled.

thegaffer12
13-11-2020, 03:37 PM
Think he has a real chance. Dykes is clearly favourite, Leigh doesn't seem to be trusted, Shankland is out of the picture and McBurnie has struggled.

Shankland has 2 goals in 9 games in comparison to Nisbet's 8 goals in 15 games. Nisbet should be miles ahead in Clarke's mind.

23-12-2020, 08:46 PM
69 goals in his last 101 appearances.

12-01-2021, 07:16 AM
Brilliant instinctive finish last night reminded me of Sparky versus them in the Cup Final

Showed his value to the team and represents our best chance of silverware this season

Not for sale

12-01-2021, 08:03 AM
Brilliant instinctive finish last night reminded me of Sparky versus them in the Cup Final

Showed his value to the team and represents our best chance of silverware this season

Not for sale

Sparky versus who? what cup final are you meaning?

12-01-2021, 08:04 AM

Celtic V Hearts the other week I presume.

Was quite similar to Sparkys goal in ET.

12-01-2021, 08:04 AM

Celtic v Hearts I'd imagine.

12-01-2021, 08:11 AM
It shouldn’t be underestimated how good a finish that was from Nisbet last night. Moving into injury time, frustration at being a goal behind 10 minutes from end at Celtic Park and when the chance fell he kept cool and pretty much placed the ball in the back of the net. How many of these chances do you see players lose composure and snatch at the ball trying to lash it in but instead launching it over the bar?

It was more the finish of an experienced striker.

12-01-2021, 08:14 AM
It shouldn’t be underestimated how good a finish that was from Nisbet last night. Moving into injury time, frustration at being a goal behind 10 minutes from end at Celtic Park and when the chance fell he kept cool and pretty much placed the ball in the back of the net. How many of these chances do you see players lose composure and snatch at the ball trying to lash it in but instead launching it over the bar?

It was more the finish of an experienced striker.

A thing of wonderful beauty. Will be in a good mood till Saturday now.

12-01-2021, 08:31 AM
He's a very good player and if he keeps scoring, I'd hope to see him in the Scotland squad come the summer.

Like all Hibs players he will have a price but I think that will be very very high at the moment.

He'd be best to stick around at Hibs for a bit longer though as there are still elements of his game that need a bit of work.

12-01-2021, 08:33 AM

12-01-2021, 08:34 AM
Celtic v Hearts I'd imagine.

12-01-2021, 08:36 AM
How many of these chances do you see players lose composure and snatch at the ball trying to lash it in but instead launching it over the bar?

Mackie in the last game against Celtc at ER. That still rankles!

12-01-2021, 08:43 AM
Mackie in the last game against Celtc at ER. That still rankles!

Yes, that’s a good example.

12-01-2021, 08:49 AM
Every time I hear Jack Ross talk about Nisbet you can tell he wants a wee bit more from him. Which can only be a good thing.

12-01-2021, 08:59 AM

Duh. Of course.

Apologies Billy

12-01-2021, 09:01 AM
Duh. Of course.

Apologies Billy

CL0762
12-01-2021, 09:38 AM
I’ll be devastated if, due to the pandemic, we’re not able to see Nisbet in the flesh. He’s an excellent player.

Renfrew_Hibby
12-01-2021, 09:44 AM
Of course I would give big Kev a chance at international level but I would be astounded if Clarke names him in the finals squad.
It would be galling to see Shankland there if Nisbet has finished the season outscoring him by 3 or 4 to 1.

EI255
12-01-2021, 10:47 AM
Really good goal last night. Looked easy but it wasnt. Saw that type of chance get ballooned over loads of times. Looked effective all night too. Unfortunately, there would have been many suitors watching last night.

Hibs have seemingly quoted a seven figure sum should we sell him. I'm hoping it starts with 3 or 4, not 1 or 2.

12-01-2021, 10:53 AM
Shankland won't be in the squad ahead of Nisbet unless he has an absolutely sensational end to the season.

If one of them makes the squad, and that's not guaranteed, it will be Nisbet.

12-01-2021, 10:54 AM
Really good goal last night. Looked easy but it wasnt. Saw that type of chance get ballooned over loads of times. Looked effective all night too. Unfortunately, there would have been many suitors watching last night.

Hibs have seemingly quoted a seven figure sum should we sell him. I'm hoping it starts with 3 or 4, not 1 or 2.

Of course we would quote a seven figure sum. I'm not sure that's even up for debate.

12-01-2021, 07:35 PM

And if we sell him this early we're back to where we always end up, a mid table, big club with limited ambition, been that way for many many years.

12-01-2021, 07:36 PM
Shankland won't be in the squad ahead of Nisbet unless he has an absolutely sensational end to the season.

If one of them makes the squad, and that's not guaranteed, it will be Nisbet.

His wonder strike tonight won’t have done him any harm.

12-01-2021, 08:15 PM
Was up top on his own last night for most of the game and still played very well, plenty time left but a 20+ league goal season shouldn't do him any harm in a chance for a call up.

Maybe an indication will be on the next friendly or competitive match squads, which I'm not sure when that is off the top of my head.

12-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Rangers fans are now taking to social media wanting their club to sign Kevin. Don't think they have enough cash at the moment.

12-01-2021, 08:31 PM
Was up top on his own last night for most of the game and still played very well, plenty time left but a 20+ league goal season shouldn't do him any harm in a chance for a call up.

Maybe an indication will be on the next friendly or competitive match squads, which I'm not sure when that is off the top of my head.

I don’t think playing up on his own suits him. Got the goal which is what matters but before that I don’t think he kept the ball very well and should have done something more with the shot he hit early.

12-01-2021, 08:45 PM
I don’t think playing up on his own suits him. Got the goal which is what matters but before that I don’t think he kept the ball very well and should have done something more with the shot he hit early.

Definitely an instinctive finisher. The more time he gets the less likely he is to score.

More composure can be coached / comes with age though...that instinct can’t.

Thought some of his runs were excellent last night and it’s really quite exciting to think like how good a player he might become. Hopefully at Hibs for another season or two!

12-01-2021, 09:03 PM
Definitely an instinctive finisher. The more time he gets the less likely he is to score.

Thought some of his runs were excellent last night and it’s really quite exciting to think like how good a player he might become. Hopefully at Hibs for another season or two!

Yep, seems to keep learning through every level he’s been at. I’ve no doubt he’ll play for Scotland and score goals.

12-01-2021, 09:06 PM

Thought some of his runs were excellent last night and it’s really quite exciting to think like how good a player he might become. Hopefully at Hibs for another season or two!Ala Fletcher

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

12-01-2021, 09:09 PM

The run first half where he went in towards the defence then darted back out and Porteous (I think) found him was sublime. He’s obviously better in a two when he can drop in and play as a ten and essentially just roam around, but there’s no doubt he can play as a one due to his movement and his touch.

12-01-2021, 10:08 PM
His workrate is tremendous. He just needs to try to hold onto the ball sometimes and improve his distribution. Think we have a player who can go to the top.

23-01-2021, 06:39 PM
What has happened to Kev? Poor recently.

Has be been found out at this level or just in poor form?

23-01-2021, 06:42 PM
Oh but he's a £5million pound player 🤣

23-01-2021, 06:44 PM
Not been the same since jack stop putting Christian up top with him

craigmcfarlane
23-01-2021, 06:45 PM
Nisbet gets absolutely no service from the midfield and when he does get the ball he has to do it all himself.

He's being hung out to dry by poor service from the rest of his teammates

23-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Nisbet gets absolutely no service from the midfield and when he does get the ball he has to do it all himself.

:agree: we dont get him involved nearly enough, he's expected to do it all himself.

smack
23-01-2021, 06:48 PM
Was he playing tonight [emoji1745]

23-01-2021, 06:48 PM
Missing tonight.

Not sure the way Ross likes to play (!!) plays to his strengths.

Doidge hasn’t been having a great season but Nisbet looks a better player playing in a pair with Doidge.

Murphy is the player I struggle to fit into a Hibs team.

Scott Allan playing behind Nisbet and Doidge. Boyle on the right. The rest, I’m not that fussed but it seems to work into a 352. 3 or 4 big Ross signings at least on the bench though.

23-01-2021, 07:22 PM
Never kicked a ball tonight.

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 07:27 PM
Our worst player tonight and that is saying something. Completely anonymous.

Robbo6-2
23-01-2021, 07:28 PM
Hopeless

23-01-2021, 07:29 PM
Not been the same since jack stop putting Christian up top with him

Doidge is a good foil for Nisbet and is very good at defending set pieces.
Both things that would have been useful tonight

hfc-1875
23-01-2021, 07:32 PM
Gets away with murder cause he scored a few goals early on. Think he is a decent player but done nothing for weeks and never mentioned.

23-01-2021, 07:37 PM
Not as good as he thinks he is. His lay-offs/passes very rarely come off and he can’t take a penalty. Focuses too much on getting a fresh haircut it seems

23-01-2021, 07:42 PM
Playing too deep, yes he has intelligence to do that but we miss him in the box, Murphy on the left is a waste, had I half decent game since he came and that's it. We have pace from Boyle but nothing on the left unless Doig bombs forward but he leaves space behind that Hanlon cant cover as Murphy doesn't slot in.

Poor tactics half the time and average players asked to do too much.

Chorley Hibee
23-01-2021, 07:42 PM

That's it for me too, isolated by and large, and the one thing he isn't great on is playing the lone striker and holding a ball up.

Nisbet is the least of our worries.

Daydreamer
23-01-2021, 07:51 PM
Doidge is a good foil for Nisbet and is very good at defending set pieces.
Both things that would have been useful tonight

The most sensible post I've read on every thread tonight.

We were doing not great earlier in the season but were getting results. Why start tinkering with starting line ups and since then results have taken a turn for the worse. What was needed was a dominating left footed central defender not another two midfield players. Hallberg was never great but he had a presence. People will say that Doig is a young guy but the St Johnstone right wing back was probably the best player on the park without being exceptional.

23-01-2021, 07:55 PM
Oh but he's a £5million pound player 🤣

Whilst I’m not going to laugh about the form of him - he’s clearly a decent player - the idea that we will ever get £5m for him was ridiculous.

He’ll never go for anything near that. He’s nearly 24 and doesn’t exactly stick out like a sore thumb at this level.

Mutu
23-01-2021, 08:34 PM
I watched him closely all game.

Touch was fantastic by and large and his link up play was on point - rarely gave the ball away. He generally did as much as was realistically possible in what was an abject creative performance from the team as a whole. Nisbet is our best player and as others have said, the least of our worries.

We should be building a team around him.

23-01-2021, 09:10 PM
I watched him closely all game.

Touch was fantastic by and large and his link up play was on point - rarely gave the ball away. He generally did as much as was realistically possible in what was an abject creative performance from the team as a whole. Nisbet is our best player and as others have said, the least of our worries.

We should be building a team around him.

His touch was awful are hardly ever found a Hibs player, he had a shocker. However he's still finding his feet, has probably performed above expectations so has an excuse for tonight unlike some of his experienced teammates.

23-01-2021, 09:14 PM
Doidge and Nisbet should be the starting point then work out the rest of the team from there.

23-01-2021, 09:15 PM
The clubs history is built on memories of Hampden days out, cup wins and famous victories over our bitter rivals, not 4th or 5th league places. Jack Ross is doing a lot right but is failing in THE most important things.

Mutu
23-01-2021, 09:19 PM
His touch was awful are hardly ever found a Hibs player, he had a shocker. However he's still finding his feet, has probably performed above expectations so has an excuse for tonight unlike some of his experienced teammates.

We weren't watching the same game.

His link up play was absolutely fine. Did a lot of basics very well.

2nd half was a complete joke - cannot understand why Ross did not intervene and tell his team to stop lumping it.

23-01-2021, 09:55 PM
Whilst I’m not going to laugh about the form of him - he’s clearly a decent player - the idea that we will ever get £5m for him was ridiculous.

He’ll never go for anything near that. He’s nearly 24 and doesn’t exactly stick out like a sore thumb at this level.

There was a thread end of December, would we accept a January bid for Nisbet & some were touting him for £5million.

23-01-2021, 09:56 PM
There was a thread end of December, would we accept a January bid for Nisbet & some were touting him for £5million.

I know mate, I was quite vocal on it that we wouldn’t get near that :aok:

£2m and he’d be gone in a flash imo.

23-01-2021, 09:58 PM

There was even talk of him attracting wages of 30k a week :greengrin

23-01-2021, 09:59 PM

👍

23-01-2021, 10:05 PM
He made one great little run in behind tonight. Ghosted in behind the defender on the angle and a simple pass would have had him in. Instead Murphy took another 3 touches with his head down then sliced a shot 10 yards wide. He never saw Nisbet and wasn't even looking for him, or anyone.

He hasn't been great for a while but he's not getting much service and without Doidge doesn't have a lot of support either.

northern-hibee
23-01-2021, 10:06 PM
He’s not nearly as good as he thinks he is, any bid for him should be seriously considered, totally out of his depth

23-01-2021, 10:12 PM
He made one great little run in behind tonight. Ghosted in behind the defender on the angle and a simple pass would have had him in. Instead Murphy took another 3 touches with his head down then sliced a shot 10 yards wide. He never saw Nisbet and wasn't even looking for him, or anyone.

He hasn't been great for a while but he's not getting much service and without Doidge doesn't have a lot of support either.

If Ross wants to play 1 striker he needs to get an attacking midfielder playing in behind him to give support and create for him, we've really missed Allan for that but can't understand why Mallan hasn't been played there, came on against Alloa playing in behind the striker and changed the game, now nowhere to be seen.

monarch
23-01-2021, 10:19 PM
The clubs history is built on memories of Hampden days out, cup wins and famous victories over our bitter rivals, not 4th or 5th league places. Jack Ross is doing a lot right but is failing in THE most important things.
Too true. We’ve won all of 4 cups in the 76 years since the end of the war.

23-01-2021, 10:25 PM
He’s not nearly as good as he thinks he is, any bid for him should be seriously considered, totally out of his depthI actually don't believe Kevin has any kind of ego

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-01-2021, 12:00 AM
I actually don't believe Kevin has any kind of ego

He seems like a level headed lad, definitely wouldn't say he has an ego

24-01-2021, 12:09 AM
He’s not nearly as good as he thinks he is, any bid for him should be seriously considered, totally out of his depth

What aload of pish.

24-01-2021, 12:17 AM
Not as good as he thinks he is. His lay-offs/passes very rarely come off and he can’t take a penalty. Focuses too much on getting a fresh haircut it seems

He's probably thinking why the **** did I sign for this bunch of losers.

24-01-2021, 12:18 AM

Right enough aye, 4 cup wins in what, 50 years? How many relegations and anonymous finishes in that time?

MagicSwirlingShip
24-01-2021, 02:30 AM
Plays well with a strike partner. Needs service.

Isn’t getting either at the moment

Yorkshire HFC
24-01-2021, 05:43 AM
He seems like a level headed lad, definitely wouldn't say he has an ego

I've no idea about that - but I think things would be looking very different if he'd scored that penalty against Hearts.

24-01-2021, 07:01 AM
He's a quality player. Let's not forget he's had a family tragedy fairly recently and it would have been brought back into focus over the Christmas and New Year period.

There are alot of things wrong with the team currently, Kevin Nisbet is the least of our worries.

24-01-2021, 07:41 AM
He's probably thinking why the **** did I sign for this bunch of losers.

But he’s a part of it? Also missed a penalty in the last semi-final so surely a loser himself then?

24-01-2021, 07:43 AM
I actually don't believe Kevin has any kind of ego

I think many are forgetting he's just lost his father only weeks ago, he's carried on playing through that and is still a young lad, we need to remember these things.

24-01-2021, 07:44 AM
But he’s a part of it? Also missed a penalty in the last semi-final so surely a loser himself then?

Missing a penalty makes you a loser?

-Jonesy-
24-01-2021, 07:58 AM
We would be sitting 9th or 10th in the league if we hadn’t signed him

24-01-2021, 09:02 AM

Well if he scored he’d have likely been on the winning side. His pathetic attempt resulting in us LOSING the match so yes

monarch
24-01-2021, 09:19 AM
Well if he scored he’d have likely been on the winning side. His pathetic attempt resulting in us LOSING the match so yes

It’s times like this I wish social media should be shut down.

24-01-2021, 09:39 AM
Some really classy comments on this thread towards a young guy playing in the top division for the first time who is second top scorer in that league.
He has also just lost his dad at a young age.
I genuinely despise some of our "supporters" sometimes.

24-01-2021, 09:44 AM

He hit the post after being brave enough to play 3 days after his father passed away. I can only imagine the thoughts running through his head as he took that penalty and you brand him a loser.

Disgraceful post.

24-01-2021, 09:45 AM
Some really classy comments on this thread towards a young guy playing in the top division for the first time who is second top scorer in that league.
He has also just lost his dad at a young age.
I genuinely despise some of our "supporters" sometimes.

Think he’s still the joint top scorer isn’t he? Tavernier never scored yesterday.

Mutu
24-01-2021, 09:45 AM
Genuinely wonder how folk like that are able to communicate with people in the outside world.

24-01-2021, 09:46 AM
He hit the post after being brave enough to play 3 days after his father passed away. I can only imagine the thoughts running through his head as he took that penalty and you brand him a loser.

Disgraceful post.

At no point did I mention what happened to him a few days before so to suggest that is disgraceful.

It comes from a poster suggesting Nisbet thinks he’s playing with losers, yet he is part of it?

24-01-2021, 09:46 AM

Right up there with your ridiculous Porteous comment.

24-01-2021, 09:48 AM

Our dull and boring style of play is no good to him.

24-01-2021, 09:48 AM
Think he’s still the joint top scorer isn’t he? Tavernier never scored yesterday.

Yeah he is. Useless git that he is.

24-01-2021, 09:54 AM
Yeah he is. Useless git that he is.

Unbelievable that people are calling him out.

He's in a ***** team that produces virtually zero chances for him.

24-01-2021, 09:57 AM
I’ve no clue where this “think he’s better than he is” patter has come from. Baffling.

25-01-2021, 02:16 PM
Sone people just have no sense of context at all.

The boy has a lot he can improve upon but seems to have a great attitude and is a very willing runner indeed. The overall body of work which is basically that he’s the top score in the SPFL is really phenomenal bearing in mind he was in League 1 two years ago.

It’s getting pretty disgusting the abuse we’re aiming at our own players. They’ve performed well for most of the season but if you read this forum there seems to be hatred aimed at virtually all of them except Allan, Irvine and Cadden ... and there’s plenty time for that to happen.

25-01-2021, 02:23 PM
How good does Kevin think he is?

25-01-2021, 02:23 PM
Crazy, Kevin Nesbit is joint top scorer in the league. Hibs are never going to have a striker that scores in every game he plays for us. In fact, most teams won't.

He's young and still learning and will only get better. He also needs more service and players who notice the runs he makes.

25-01-2021, 02:27 PM

Better than joint top scorer in the league thats for sure.

The prick. :rolleyes:

25-01-2021, 02:35 PM

This is an absolute belter.
Out of his Depth, what an absolutely slaver

25-01-2021, 10:12 PM

I think you’re out of your depth in hibs.net pal and that takes some doing.

Bright_Hibee
25-01-2021, 11:33 PM

How good do the ones that think he he thinks he is think he is?

25-01-2021, 11:40 PM
I once said SJM wasn't as good as he thought he was and I was right...because he was much much better.

Let's hope that Kevin Nisbet proves to be as good as SJM and we can all enjoy watching him realise his potential.

25-01-2021, 11:51 PM
I once said SJM wasn't as good as he thought he was and I was right...because he was much much better.

Let's hope that Kevin Nisbet proves to be as good as SJM and we can all enjoy watching him realise his potential.
You make a good point but the fact i distinctly remember quite a few criticisms of McGinn in his last full season at Hibs when he was voted one of the top 4 players in the LEAGUE by his fellow pros kind of sums up the fact that nothing is ever good enough for some of our fans.

Nobody in their wildest dreams could have predicted Nisbet may well end up top scorer in the league but according to somebody on this thread he’s out of his depth. Beyond incredible.

26-01-2021, 09:23 AM
How good do the ones that think he he thinks he is think he is?

26-01-2021, 09:30 AM
Unbelievable that people are calling him out.

He's in a ***** team that produces virtually zero chances for him.

If they've produced zero chances for him how is he top goalscorer in the league.

26-01-2021, 09:33 AM

Disgraceful post.

Agree with everything. But if all these thoughts were running through his mind he should never have stepped up to take that penalty.

HibsGW
26-01-2021, 10:06 AM

Just to clarify here, you’re the f*nny not Kevin Nisbet

green with envy
26-01-2021, 10:22 AM

The only one in relation to this thread that is out of their depth is you. FULL STOP.

26-01-2021, 10:23 AM
What a classless idiot you are.