View Full Version : Sean Mackie

03-11-2020, 02:50 PM
Not seen him mentioned much since the weekend but I thought he done well on Saturday when he came on.

Doig got potential but to me he gets turned, backs off and allows too many crosses in.

Id be tempted to start Mackie on Friday in what will be a very tough game.

I think with some they forget how good he actually was when he broke through under Lennon and some of his performances were very positive. A poor start under Hecky and he was put out on loan and it seems forgotten about ever since then.

Big, strong, mobile and good with the ball at his feet.

03-11-2020, 02:57 PM
I'd completely forgotten about Mackie in all honesty and thought he'd moved on, I wasn't sure who he was at first!

I agree, I thought he had a good game. There was one point where he showed some great pace to get back onto a ball so he's got a bit of pace as well as looking like a but more of a unit (obviously that time the result was a free kick to hearts, but any other game he'd have just got away with winning the ball back fairly).

03-11-2020, 02:58 PM
Not seen him mentioned much since the weekend but I thought he done well on Saturday when he came on.

Doig got potential but to me he gets turned, backs off and allows too many crosses in.

I think with some they forget how good he actually was when he broke through under Lennon and some of his performances were very positive. A poor start under Hecky and he was put out on loan and it seems forgotten about ever since then.

Big, strong, mobile and good with the ball at his feet.By all accounts had a shocker in that game at Ibrox where he got sent off.

He always looked decent before that anytime i saw him and maybe this is the time to give him another crack. Whether he's good enough for a regular start I have no idea.

03-11-2020, 03:04 PM
By all accounts had a shocker in that game at Ibrox where he got sent off.

He always looked decent before that anytime i saw him and maybe this is the time to give him another crack. Whether he's good enough for a regular start I have no idea.

I think this is the main point, he shouldn’t be written off for having a poor game under Hecky as the whole team done that.

Against Rangers the conditions were shocking and I think he allowed his frustration to get the better of him by conceding poor fouls which lead to his early exit.

03-11-2020, 03:05 PM
By all accounts had a shocker in that game at Ibrox where he got sent off.

I felt a lot of it was down to Newall that day playing wide in front of him and not tracking back once to match the run of Tavernier. Mackie was completely shafted that day by his teammates.

03-11-2020, 03:41 PM
Nowhere near good enough imo but if he gets a chance then hopefully he can take it.

03-11-2020, 04:08 PM
Hecky threw Mackie under a bus after Ibrox

Hecky came with a so-called reputation for giving youth a chance but did not deliver he was too set in his ways

Mackie put in a couple of good performances for us and had a good rep at Dundee so worth a chance in my book we have nothing to lose

It’s now or never for Mackie

Daydreamer
03-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Hecky threw Mackie under a bus after Ibrox

Hecky came with a so-called reputation for giving youth a chance but did not deliver he was too set in his ways

Mackie put in a couple of good performances for us and had a good rep at Dundee so worth a chance in my book we have nothing to lose

It’s now or never for Mackie

Yip must start for the next three or four games. There is something there with Mackie but we must find out now. Really hope he does well.

03-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Yip must start for the next three or four games. There is something there with Mackie but we must find out now. Really hope he does well.

Wand of a left peg and built like the side of a hoose

What’s not to like? 😃

03-11-2020, 04:30 PM
Thought he looked decent when he came on, definitely had a bit pace and he's a big strapping lad.

03-11-2020, 04:33 PM
Think it’s time for Doig to take a wee step back. So, if Stevenson isn’t fit, I’d play Mackie on Friday.

He’s bordering on last chance, maybe that’ll give him the push he needs.

03-11-2020, 05:05 PM
Mackie was seen as Stevenson's successor before that Rangers game and he was doing quite well, the tactics that day let him down and he was exposed. I instead of putting an arm around him, Hecky bombed him out on loan leaving us with an under prepared Stevenson to come back too soon.

He did well at Dundee getting praise from McPake and a couple of injuries have hampered him, cracking left peg and like Gullan has worked hard to bulk up for bigger league.

As far as I'm aware Mathie and Co see Doig as Hanlon's successor.

03-11-2020, 05:09 PM
Mackie has worked his way back from a bad injury and is now fit. He's a welcome addition to the squad. We are going to need strength in depth in our quest for a top 4 place. Welcome back Mackie.

03-11-2020, 06:14 PM

Big, strong, mobile and good with the ball at his feet.

Thought he was fouled near the end of the match but didnt get the free kick unlike them he didnt howl when he went down. Sorry to say thats part of the game so apart from being genuine, he had a good game.

03-11-2020, 06:32 PM
Why are so many of the opinion that Doig needs to take a step back?

I genuinely don't think he played badly on Saturday, is it just because the goal came down the left hand side? If so the goal was due to many factors and you could equally criticise the other side which gave away a pen.

We look a much better rounded side, particularly going forward, when Doig plays. I really like him and he's a better option than Stevenson at LB for me, Lewis still has a role to play but in my eyes it's as a mentor and sub for Doig when fit.

cmcd
03-11-2020, 06:50 PM
Why are so many of the opinion that Doig needs to take a step back?

I genuinely don't think he played badly on Saturday, is it just because the goal came down the left hand side? If so the goal was due to many factors and you could equally criticise the other side which gave away a pen.

We look a much better rounded side, particularly going forward, when Doig plays. I really like him and he's a better option than Stevenson at LB for me, Lewis still has a role to play but in my eyes it's as a mentor and sub for Doig when fit.

Inn my opinion Doig can't defend but he looks good going forward

03-11-2020, 08:18 PM
Inn my opinion Doig can't defend but he looks good going forward

Doig can defend. We wouldn’t have such a strong defensive record this season if that was the case. I agree he’s still raw and can improve defensively, but I struggle to see the clamour to drop/rest him. We’re 3rd in the league, have a very solid defence and good defensive record. Surely that’s the ideal platform to let him continue to develop.

03-11-2020, 08:29 PM
I find it quite hard to comment on Doig until I’ve actually seen him in the flesh.

It’s weird all this tv stuff. You get swayed by commentators, replays, comments on here etc.

Even though I’ve seen him play a lot of matches on tv I don’t feel like I can really judge him yet. The position he plays, there are lots of things like his positioning over 90 minutes that are important and I know nowt about.

In the other hand, I’m happy to accept that Nisbet and Murphy are good players based on what I’ve seen.

03-11-2020, 08:31 PM
Inn my opinion Doig can't defend but he looks good going forwardIf I'm honest I think the can't defend thing is a bit exaggerated. I think that because he is so much more effective than Stevenson when going forward people assume it must mean he's a lot worse defensively.

The only time I think he's struggled was against Celtic and most of the team struggled that day.

I love Stevenson but I honestly can't go back to watching him slow down play going forward again, it's a massive weakness in the team when he plays.

03-11-2020, 08:41 PM
If I'm honest I think the can't defend thing is a bit exaggerated. I think that because he is so much more effective than Stevenson when going forward people assume it must mean he's a lot worse defensively.

The only time I think he's struggled was against Celtic and most of the team struggled that day.

I love Stevenson but I honestly can't go back to watching him slow down play going forward again, it's a massive weakness in the team when he plays.

He’s also had James Forrest in his pocket once or twice defensively.

A player who can come up against the best team in the country and let next to nothing happen down his side is worth having, even if it sacrifices a wee bit going forward.

03-11-2020, 08:45 PM
If I'm honest I think the can't defend thing is a bit exaggerated. I think that because he is so much more effective than Stevenson when going forward people assume it must mean he's a lot worse defensively.

I think Doig is somewhere in the middle on both sides of the game. He’s comfortable on the ball and wants to pass it forward. But I can’t recall him doing much in the final third in the games he’s played. I can hardly remember him even putting a cross in on Saturday.

I think he’s generally been fine defensively. Had a tough time against Rangers and Celtic which can happen. Thought he was poor on Saturday all round though.

03-11-2020, 08:53 PM
He’s also had James Forrest in his pocket once or twice defensively.

A player who can come up against the best team in the country and let next to nothing happen down his side is worth having, even if it sacrifices a wee bit going forward.Yes that's true, I do agree actually that Stevenson is a good asset for games where you're expecting to be under pressure defensively for most of the game.

Doig does have assets defensively though which Lewis doesn't, his recovery speed on the occasion someone gets past him in particular has impressed me at times.

03-11-2020, 09:00 PM
I think Doig is somewhere in the middle on both sides of the game. He’s comfortable on the ball and wants to pass it forward. But I can’t recall him doing much in the final third in the games he’s played. I can hardly remember him even putting a cross in on Saturday.

I think he’s generally been fine defensively. Had a tough time against Rangers and Celtic which can happen. Thought he was poor on Saturday all round though.This will sound like a stock answer but I think offensively what Doig brings that Stevenson doesn't is his running (with and without the ball), overlapping runs and link up down the left.

All of the above doesn't necessarily result in him crossing the ball more or providing significantly more assists, but that being said I do think that it means we create more as a team down that side. Newell, Murphy and the strikers all benefit. Even the right hand side benefit as the switch is on more often.

HendoDelivered
03-11-2020, 09:00 PM
I thought he looked a bit overweight.

03-11-2020, 09:03 PM
I find it quite hard to comment on Doig until I’ve actually seen him in the flesh.

It’s weird all this tv stuff. You get swayed by commentators, replays, comments on here etc.

Even though I’ve seen him play a lot of matches on tv I don’t feel like I can really judge him yet. The position he plays, there are lots of things like his positioning over 90 minutes that are important and I know nowt about.

In the other hand, I’m happy to accept that Nisbet and Murphy are good players based on what I’ve seen.

Good point.

03-11-2020, 09:31 PM
Thought he did very well when he came on lively looking for the ball he has been unlucky of late with injury great to see him back could move Hanlon over and play Doig at LCH good options on left now

03-11-2020, 10:20 PM
My opinion on Doig is that he’s benefitting massively from our good form and current position. Some fans and commentators rate him higher than he is because of how well we’ve started and he’s been part of a solid team defensively.

In fairness I think his flaws are due to inexperience;

Not getting close enough to his man and allowing crosses in
Getting too tight and getting turned
Not clearing his lines effectively

Hearts 1st goal was the prime example, he was more than happy to give Olly Lee 10 yards of space to whip in a ball to Wighton rather than getting close and stopping it.

I also don’t think he’s as good on the ball or going forward as others, I can’t think of a time he’s contributed much or played in a great ball for the attackers. More when he’s been in decent positions he’s been wasteful.

What he is quite good at is trying to drive us forward which often results in us winning a throw a bit higher up.

Its not he’s a bad player or doesn’t have potential as I think he absolutely does. I actually think he’ll be missing fans the most as for a young player they will drive you on and make you grow in confidence

Hes 18 though and should be given the time to grow and develop, whether that’s here or out on loan.

What I will also say as I think he’s only going to get better, he seems to have a terrific attitude and work rate.

04-11-2020, 06:51 AM
Sean was hung out to dry after that 6-1 defeat.

He stupidly got sent off for a needless second booking but it maybe should be remembered that it was only 2-1 when he saw red.

Not excusing his sending off for a second but it's not as if he cost us a lot of goals through errors in that game.

He had tremendous assists in a 2-0 win over Celtic and a 1-1 draw at Ibrox, a lot of people saying Hibs don't cut it in big games but maybe Sean does.

Now that he's back from a bad injury he deserves a chance.

All in my opinion of course.

04-11-2020, 06:56 AM

He stupidly got sent off for a needless second booking but it maybe should be remembered that it was only 2-1 when he saw red.

Not excusing his sending off for a second but it's not as if he cost us a lot of goals through errors in that game.

He had tremendous assists in a 2-0 win over Celtic and a 1-1 draw at Ibrox, a lot of people saying Hibs don't cut it in big games but maybe Sean does.

Do you think he’s got it mate, aye? I hope so, probably more in midfield for me as I think he’s not defensively sound but not sure tbh.

04-11-2020, 06:57 AM

Not quite ..Mackie played after that - including a terrible first half performance away to Celtic in December..

That said, obviously Ross rates him, bringing him on at the weekend - and I actually thought he contributed well in his time in the pitch on Saturday. Perhaps we will see more of him going forward and see if he can take his chance to get some regular game time ..

04-11-2020, 07:21 AM
Do you think he’s got it mate, aye? I hope so, probably more in midfield for me as I think he’s not defensively sound but not sure tbh.

He's got a chance, big strong and a sweet left peg.

Needs to show it soon though, 22 today so needs first team football.

Cant be many Hibs players who walk or run to training :greengrin

04-11-2020, 07:24 AM
Not quite ..Mackie played after that - including a terrible first half performance away to Celtic in December..

That said, obviously Ross rates him, bringing him on at the weekend - and I actually thought he contributed well in his time in the pitch on Saturday. Perhaps we will see more of him going forward and see if he can take his chance to get some regular game time ..

You've got that wrong bigwheel.

After Sean was sent off against Rangers he never kicked another ball for Hibs until the recent BetFred games.

He went on loan to Dundee and played a few games before picking up his injury.

Prof. Shaggy
04-11-2020, 07:30 AM

I can't see any reference to Mackie playing for Hibs in December 19. Seems he went on loan at the end of the summer window.

04-11-2020, 07:40 AM
He's got a chance, big strong and a sweet left peg.

Needs to show it soon though, 22 today so needs first team football.

Cant be many Hibs players who walk or run to training :greengrin

Defender or midfielder in your eyes mate? Wish him happy birthday from us all tae 👍

04-11-2020, 07:45 AM
I can't see any reference to Mackie playing for Hibs in December 19. Seems he went on loan at the end of the summer window.

Think You’re right actually the game I was thinking of was much earlier , probably Feb 2019! Good catch [emoji106]

04-11-2020, 08:02 AM
Think You’re right actually the game I was thinking of was much earlier , probably Feb 2019! Good catch [emoji106]

Hey, I caught it five minutes before him :greengrin

04-11-2020, 08:06 AM
I thought we had played a blinder and brought on Jason Cummings

04-11-2020, 09:52 AM
I expect him to play v Aberdeen as he is the only fit LB for now.

04-11-2020, 10:03 AM
I expect him to play v Aberdeen as he is the only fit LB for now.

I don’t think he’s a left back. I would play a five at the back of hes to play there and let him play wing back. Something we should have went to went Doig went off Saturday. I would play McGregor if Doig plays.

04-11-2020, 10:20 AM
I thought we had played a blinder and brought on Jason Cummings

I thought I was the only one who thought this.

When you see him at a distance, at a game, he is Jason's double.

Running style, all left foot - you would swear it was him.

04-11-2020, 10:24 AM
I thought I was the only one who thought this.

When you see him at a distance, at a game, he is Jason's double.

Running style, all left foot - you would swear it was him.

Was the build and the hair.

04-11-2020, 11:13 AM
Hey, I caught it five minutes before him :greengrin

Lol. Sorry Scoops...didn’t follow the thread back [emoji119][emoji106]

04-11-2020, 10:24 PM
I assume he’ll get his chance for more game time now, Stevenson out for 6 weeks.

https://t.co/UMjXyL1fvi

04-11-2020, 10:33 PM
[QUOTE=Heisenberg;6347483]I assume he’ll get his chance for more game time now, Stevenson out for 6 weeks.

https://t.co/UMjXyL1fvi[/QUOTE
Thats not good news.

04-11-2020, 10:49 PM
I assume he’ll get his chance for more game time now, Stevenson out for 6 weeks.

https://t.co/UMjXyL1fvi

I think Mackie will play on Friday. If he does, it’s probably the last chance he’ll have to make that position his.

05-11-2020, 06:59 AM
I think Mackie will play on Friday. If he does, it’s probably the last chance he’ll have to make that position his.

Josh went off injured at the weekend. So its a cert Mackie will play. The boys doesnt exactly get easy games to make his mark! :greengrin

LeithMike
05-11-2020, 08:43 AM
I thought Mackie looked strong, gamewise and composed on the ball when he came on. Hard to judge on 30 minutes but he looks like he's really pushed on. I'd be giving him a run in the team regardless of the fitness of others now to see if he can establish himself.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

05-11-2020, 10:15 AM
I thought he looked good on Saturday, no problem with him starting tomorrow especially with defending set pieces.

Agree with starting him at wing back too.

05-11-2020, 10:23 AM
His throw ins were very suspect on Sat so he'll need to improve that if he's going to play at LB.

I've enjoyed this season watching quickly taken throw ins for once, don't want to regress back to the usual ponderous nonsense

05-11-2020, 11:06 AM
His throw ins were very suspect on Sat so he'll need to improve that if he's going to play at LB.

I've enjoyed this season watching quickly taken throw ins for once, don't want to regress back to the usual ponderous nonsense

It always helps if somebody moves for you when taking a throw in.

05-11-2020, 11:31 AM
He’s obviously been in the gym. Hopefully that’ll help him push on.