View Full Version : What do you enjoy in autumn and winter?

01-11-2020, 11:02 AM
With a lot of people dreading the darker months ahead I thought it might be an idea to start a thread sharing what we enjoy about the winter. A place where we can exchange ideas and share tips.

I'll start by saying that low level walks on a crisp day can be amazing at this time of year. A day like today is perfect. I love the hills and mountains but my winter skills are a bit lacking so I tend to stick closer to the ground as the year progresses. For those close to Edinburgh I'd recommend Roslin Glen, the colours are spectacular:

https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/lothian/roslin-glen.shtml

On days when the weather is less kind we quite often like to close the blinds, drag the duvet through to the couch, turn the lights off and light a few candles. Disney+ is a bit of a godsend and we have worked our way through the back catalogue as a family.

With food I try to think about seasonality. Big hearty casseroles and stews with a lot of root veg served with crusty bread is a simple treat. I currently have a big sausage casserole on the go with squash, carrots, onion, turnip and sweet potato. I made a beef stew yeaterday and I have a mince base made for lasagne and the like.

I think they key is to get outside when you can. If it's dry then wrap up with a few extra layers, go a long walk and get away from the noise then go home and settle down with a hot drink. There's no point in pretending this winter won't be tough but hopefully this thread can give a few ideas and some inspiration to get through it.

01-11-2020, 11:20 AM
I think they key is to get outside when you can. If it's dry then wrap up with a few extra layers

:agree: Even if it's not dry, get out. People are not water-soluble and skin isn't that porous, so if you've got the right clobber even walking, or cycling, in a shower easily beats deliberately cooping yourself up indoors to watch the idiotbox or stare at a screen. Watch out for slippy leaves this time of year though, especially on a bike.

01-11-2020, 11:28 AM
Food is a big one for me. I’m not a skilled cook so stodgy one pot dishes tend to suit winter more. Yesterday I got all the stuff to make a steak pie - I’ll make the beefy bit today/ tomorrow, freeze it, then make it into the pie for an unexpectedly good midweek meal later in the week. Lentil soup is another one of mine, and neither hit the spot as much during the summer as they do in winter.

Watching Hibs is one, I have to say. In terms of things I’ve not been able to do for a while I’m just gagging on going to an away game either with company or just on my tod, either by car or by train. I really feel like seeing another town for a change.

01-11-2020, 12:37 PM
Walking the dog in the forests here is an absolute visual joy at this time of year. The forest floor is covered in a colourful blanket of leaves with the trees still holding about half of their payload. Most people don't realise how many forests, lakes and rivers surround Berlin and it's a fantastic area for long walks.

Soon the autumn will change to winter and if we're lucky we'll see temperatures drop to well below zero and the landscape change to a winter wonderland where everything appears to be just black and white with the lakes frozen over and the ground crisp underfoot. If we get a lot of snow I like to get my cross country skis out and have a jaunt over the golf course. It's a great way to keep active in the winter months.

It's also Grünkohl (Green Cabbage) season in Northern Germany. I could eat it every day when it's cold outside and normally have some fatty pinkel sausage and gammon with potatoes.

01-11-2020, 01:31 PM
I'm one of those people who is chronically warm, so I enjoy the drop in temperature and crisp weather. There's very few things I find more beautiful and satisfying than a frosty, bright morning in a grass covered field, shimmering with frost and dew. Heavenly.

I prefer the clothes I get to wear during the colder seasons too, more my style. Jumpers, jeans, boots, and overcoats are a step up from shorts, t-shirts, and flimsy summer shoes IMO.

When I was a lot fitter, I'd enjoy the seasonal change because the nets would get put back up on the goals in public parks, plus the pitches are nicer to play on when they've got some moisture on them. Some way to go before I'm thinking about that side of things again, unfortunately!

01-11-2020, 03:22 PM
I like the crispness of the air in winter.

I think it came up on the wildlife thread that there was a noticeable difference during initial lockdown because of reduced traffic.

I fully believe we will go through various waves of restrictions between now and March or thereabouts, which will impact on car usage, though couriers will be round-the-clock!

But the overall reduction in traffic volume will likely make a massive difference to air quality in the winter months.

01-11-2020, 03:37 PM
Cups of tea.

Clothing.

A nice, brisk, fresh walk.

01-11-2020, 04:06 PM
I love watching snow falling, especially heavy snow, it’s mesmerising.

I like scraping frost off of the cars, and getting in to what feels like a warm car afterwards.

I enjoy coming into a nice warm house after being outside in the cold.

I like the dark nights, closing the curtains and the cosy feel of it all

01-11-2020, 04:52 PM
Looking forward to the Solstice 😆

01-11-2020, 05:35 PM
I love watching snow falling, especially heavy snow, it’s mesmerising.

I like scraping frost off of the cars, and getting in to what feels like a warm car afterwards.

I enjoy coming into a nice warm house after being outside in the cold.

I like the dark nights, closing the curtains and the cosy feel of it all

I like the fall of snow too.

Whilst it is not the safest for driving, I love being in the car and driving in snow and playing the Finnish composer Sibelius, especially his symphonies and and especially his Second.

There is just this real match between the emotion of his music and snow falling, especially at night.

01-11-2020, 05:46 PM
An alternate point of view :

Literally nothing. I hate the wind, rain, greyness, early dark nights, the cold, the ice and snow. Brutal! And I hate it all a little more as each year passes. If I could eff off to somewhere like the Canary Islands I'd be off in a heartbeat.

Good luck to those of you that enjoy a Scottish winter but you can count me out.

Chorley Hibee
01-11-2020, 05:56 PM
As a photographer, I love the colours of autumn.

01-11-2020, 06:15 PM
It’s the colours for me. And if it’s dry then a walk through fallen leaves is a great feeling

01-11-2020, 06:25 PM
I really hate the continual waking up to rain battering the windows.

But I do love the proper cold weather, hard frosts with fast walks and getting the log burner lit.

I’m a lazy sod by default but I start to bore myself with it too, so I force myself out the house.

Renfrew_Hibby
01-11-2020, 06:40 PM
Oh to live in Siberia.
The major rivers are already starting to freeze over with the snows starting a couple of weeks ago which are now becomming compacted and brilliant white, contrasted against the deep dark green taiga forests.
Once the Siberian high sets in and the air completely dries out it is immense!

It's my dream to visit Lake Baikal and the city of Irkutsk (the Paris of Siberia) during the winter. Truely magical.
I would also love to travel by boat up the mighty Lena river from Ust Kut to Yakutsk in late summer and also explore and experience the indigenous cultures of the Altai and Transbaikal regions.

I know im havering to most but Siberia is my secret passion.

01-11-2020, 07:11 PM

Literally nothing. I hate the wind, rain, greyness, early dark nights, the cold, the ice and snow. Brutal! And I hate it all a little more as each year passes. If I could eff off to somewhere like the Canary Islands I'd be off in a heartbeat.

Good luck to those of you that enjoy a Scottish winter but you can count me out.
I’m with you on that, I can’t stand the cold.

01-11-2020, 08:03 PM
I love the cold whether it’s out for a run or dipping in the sea. Dark nights i like going for walks with some intense off kilter techno playing or some floaty ambient. Having the stove on & not having to water the house plants every day or cut the lawn is a bonus.

01-11-2020, 08:14 PM

Me too. Walking the dog it's just mud everywhere. I just hate rain, wind and cold. When it freezes you fall on your erse and scraping the car is a pain. A day or 2 of deep snow is ok for a wee change but that's about it. Any more is just a nightmare for driving.

Some of the posts on here are very admirable but seem to come from a different planet to me!

01-11-2020, 10:30 PM
Me too. Walking the dog it's just mud everywhere. I just hate rain, wind and cold. When it freezes you fall on your erse and scraping the car is a pain. A day or 2 of deep snow is ok for a wee change but that's about it. Any more is just a nightmare for driving.

Some of the posts on here are very admirable but seem to come from a different planet to me!

I suppose it boils down to everyone's ability or lack off to concentrate on the positives.

Andy Bee
02-11-2020, 03:12 AM
No grass cutting, I absolutely love that and after the goddam summer of weeding and keeping the goddam garden looking presentable I can now hack the plants and now sit back and wait on the same goddam happening next season, what's the point?

02-11-2020, 06:45 AM
I suppose it boils down to everyone's ability or lack off to concentrate on the positives.

Maybe just different lifestyles. What I do like is sitting in a warm house with a mulled wine watching the darts around the festive season. But that's indoors :greengrin

02-11-2020, 07:12 AM
Maybe just different lifestyles. What I do like is sitting in a warm house with a mulled wine watching the darts around the festive season. But that's indoors :greengrin

That's fair enough, I don't think the OP was looking for us to share outdoor only seasonal pleasures.

I remember my mum telling me as a kid, that she loved the sound of the wind and rain against the window at night. Whilst curled up in bed she liked to think about all those people still running about outside in the rain and wind, it gave her a sense of well being and helped her off to sleep.

02-11-2020, 07:17 AM

Likewise.

All of my favourite things to do are summer activities or things that involve being abroad in the sun.

Once the weather drops below about 15 degrees I’m desperately waiting for the next summer already.

02-11-2020, 08:24 AM
Being able to go outside without suffering hay fever. It's easy to forget how miserable that can make you earlier on in the year, and I've always had mixed results with every remedy going.

02-11-2020, 08:41 AM
I remember my mum telling me as a kid, that she loved the sound of the wind and rain against the window at night. Whilst curled up in bed she liked to think about all those people still running about outside in the rain and wind, it gave her a sense of well being and helped her off to sleep.

My mum liked that too.

02-11-2020, 12:36 PM
I love the mountains year round. Autumn colours are magical. I was up some hills north of Ben Alder a couple of weeks ago https://photos.app.goo.gl/oabZvfzNCoPETdYU8 . A beautiful day of swirling mist and a soundtrack of roaring stags - randy buggers kept at it most of the day. :greengrin

In the winter, the snow adds an extra layer of grandeur I think. I've got into ski touring the last few years and just had some amazing days out. These pics https://photos.app.goo.gl/4KPgDq3knqgZNQhr9 are from Ben Lawers in early March just before the lockdown.

02-11-2020, 12:39 PM
Being able to go outside without suffering hay fever. It's easy to forget how miserable that can make you earlier on in the year, and I've always had mixed results with every remedy going.

No midgies either.

02-11-2020, 01:20 PM
I love the mountains year round. Autumn colours are magical. I was up some hills north of Ben Alder a couple of weeks ago https://photos.app.goo.gl/oabZvfzNCoPETdYU8 . A beautiful day of swirling mist and a soundtrack of roaring stags - randy buggers kept at it most of the day. :greengrin

In the winter, the snow adds an extra layer of grandeur I think. I've got into ski touring the last few years and just had some amazing days out. These pics https://photos.app.goo.gl/4KPgDq3knqgZNQhr9 are from Ben Lawers in early March just before the lockdown.

Awesome.

02-11-2020, 01:31 PM

Yep, totally agree. While I wouldn't want to live in Tenerife and be baked to death all year round, I'm beginning to loathe Scottish autumn and winter - seems to be no difference between them anyway. Just rain, miserable temps and perma sogginess.

Add in the fact I think the circulation in my hands has gone to ***** and anything below 10c feels like the north pole on a bad day to me.

I would say roll on summer but that's usually more rain 😂

stu in nottingham
02-11-2020, 02:27 PM
Being outside and doing a lot of running over the years has maybe tought me an appreciation of all four seasons in their own way (I'll probably kick myself for saying that!). The passing of the seasons have their own atmosphere and to me, that things die off to be reborn in the green shoots of Spring is very meaningful and feels like life itself.

We're talking about Autumn though and whilst, like a lot of people, I enjoy the Spring and Summer the most I do love the whole 'Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness' way of thinking. The abundance of colourful berries and other fruits of the fall are a pleasure to witness.

In Nottingham around early Autumn they have a saying, 'Goose Fair weather'. The huge annual travelling Goose Fair 'Goosey' gathers in the first week of October each year. It heralds the time of days beginning to having a 'nip' in the air, not felt for some months.

I like to get some wood chopped up and stacked and ready for days and nights when I'm at home and there's an open fire with me and the cat sit in front of it and listen to the radio, watch Zitelli or he beats me at chess. It feels like I'm getting ready to 'beat' the winter.

Sometimes I'll even go and gather a bag or two of chestnuts from the woodlands nearby and roast them on the fire. Beautifully sweet tasting and free, apart from a bit of a walk. And as they say, if your nuts are roasting, sit a bit further back from the fire...

02-11-2020, 02:36 PM
I like the fact the my youngest isn't allowed out to play when it's dark. It means I can relax knowing he is in safe and sound.

I cant stand the Winter though. When i have the funds , 'i'll be off to live abroad.

02-11-2020, 02:55 PM
Love the autumn and winter. It’s my time of year.

as others have said, amazing colours everywhere. Crisp yet cosy nights. Hearty meals. Festive atmosphere, the warm glow of a pub on a freezing cold day (obviously this one will be very different this year)

02-11-2020, 02:55 PM
Autumn is great but it’s when it toppled into winter that I don’t like it.

October I always associate with good things, November I only associate with bad things.

I’ve even noticed that the stuff I like to do these days ie taking my daughter to parks, is a wee bit colder, muddier and more miserable.

I realise this is meant to be a positive thread but I’m not looking forward to this winter at all, on any level.

02-11-2020, 06:22 PM
Had a lovely walk along Balmaha today, beautifully scenic and the leaves on the track made it all the more colourful.

02-11-2020, 07:46 PM
Autumn is probably the time of year I love best. It is the season that makes me feel closest to nature. Walking in the woods or hills just the way the air smells, the way the trees change colour, the leaves on the ground etc. Even the weather of wind and rain, I love it, don't mind the wind and rain as long as it's not too cold. And it also lets you see and feel the power of mother nature.

02-11-2020, 08:14 PM
October kicks off the real start of the cod season and fishing in the dark which is brilliant. Generally you want to set up in daylight and fish into darkness and some of the sunsets at this time of year are stunning to say the least. You will not come across the hordes of summertime people who clog up piers and act like idiots with their barbeques and booze, leaving all their crap behind them. The people you meet tend to be ramblers or walkers who will stop for a bit of a natter. As I suffer from tinitus quite badly the sound of the ocean against rocks or sand is also very therapeutic. Also coming home to a real fire, and maybe some home made lentil soup and bread is fantastic.

03-11-2020, 08:44 AM
Awesome.

Here's some more (not quite so autumnal but) from doing a bit of the Skye Cuillin ridge at the start of October.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/m1w8eErs7YX75ZHFA

What a place!

03-11-2020, 12:01 PM
I hate the winter and we’re looking to buy a place in Spain soon - although who knows how long that’s likely to take in the current situation.

We went to Tenerife twice last winter just to get away from the darkness and gloom here.

The one good thing about this year is I’ll get to see my garden in daylight other than just at the weekends and not need to bother about travelling to and from work in the dark.

Bring on the Spring again 🙂

03-11-2020, 12:18 PM

Here's some more (not quite so autumnal but) from doing a bit of the Skye Cuillin ridge at the start of October.

What a place!

Great shots. Was in Skye early march for a wedding pre lockdown and had hoped to get up Blaven
I'm told the view of the Cuillin ridge from the summit is unreal. Weather had other plans though. Rain and mist for 4 days straight.

03-11-2020, 12:42 PM
Great shots. Was in Skye early march for a wedding pre lockdown and had hoped to get up Blaven
I'm told the view of the Cuillin ridge from the summit is unreal. Weather had other plans though. Rain and mist for 4 days straight.

Certainly is. :agree:

https://i.ibb.co/LNtrSkx/bla-ridge.jpg

This is from May 2017, so o/t and into spring. :greengrin

03-11-2020, 02:20 PM
I hate the winter and we’re looking to buy a place in Spain soon - although who knows how long that’s likely to take in the current situation.

We went to Tenerife twice last winter just to get away from the darkness and gloom here.

The one good thing about this year is I’ll get to see my garden in daylight other than just at the weekends and not need to bother about travelling to and from work in the dark.

Bring on the Spring again 🙂

I’d do that too if I could afford it

03-11-2020, 02:28 PM
Certainly is. :agree:

https://i.ibb.co/LNtrSkx/bla-ridge.jpg

This is from May 2017, so o/t and into spring. :greengrin

Wow - what a shot, and what a day! Definitely one to look forward to. Sgurr nan Gillean is a scary looking beast!

03-11-2020, 02:47 PM

What a place!

That sets my mountain man heart racing.

03-11-2020, 02:53 PM
That sets my mountain man heart racing.

You'll be looking out the Hiking Boots and climbing Ben Hagelberg before the day's out :wink:

03-11-2020, 03:32 PM
I like the sound of the geese bragging that they're off to warmer climes for the winter.

I also hate them for it! :greengrin

03-11-2020, 03:52 PM
I totally sympathise with people who hate the winter. I usually fall into the same boat. However I've wasted so much of this year being miserable and worrying about the day that might never come that I'm determined to make the best of it.

I've gone on to reduced working hours and that means I have every Tuesday off. My normal inclination would have been to spend today at home miserable and worrying but I forced myself to contact 2 friends (one a chef, one a soft play worker and both furloughed) and arrange to meet for a walk. Myself, my fiance and my daughter walked to meet them at Portobello and walked the length of the prom. We stopped at the Beach House who have converted their summer beer terrace into a winter snug with fairy lights, candles and patio heaters and had a coffee. We have now made plans to meet up every 2nd Tuesday for as long as this lasts to get outside and walk the various parks and hills of Edinburgh. It's a crap situation but we have decided to try and make something positive from it. After walking home I made the family hot chocolate with whipped cream to keep us going until dinner.

I can't be bothered with all the patronising 'hygge lifestyle' stuff that the Guardian print in G2. However I think there probably is merit in trying to adjust your mindset to make the best of a time of year that can be a bit uninspiring. I wouldn't say I feel full of positivity all of a sudden but I turned a day that would have seen me stare at the TV and never get out of my pyjamas into one where I feel like I achieved something and feel quite content for that.

03-11-2020, 04:23 PM
With a lot of people dreading the darker months ahead I thought it might be an idea to start a thread sharing what we enjoy about the winter. A place where we can exchange ideas and share tips.

I'll start by saying that low level walks on a crisp day can be amazing at this time of year. A day like today is perfect. I love the hills and mountains but my winter skills are a bit lacking so I tend to stick closer to the ground as the year progresses. For those close to Edinburgh I'd recommend Roslin Glen, the colours are spectacular:

https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/lothian/roslin-glen.shtml

On days when the weather is less kind we quite often like to close the blinds, drag the duvet through to the couch, turn the lights off and light a few candles. Disney+ is a bit of a godsend and we have worked our way through the back catalogue as a family.

With food I try to think about seasonality. Big hearty casseroles and stews with a lot of root veg served with crusty bread is a simple treat. I currently have a big sausage casserole on the go with squash, carrots, onion, turnip and sweet potato. I made a beef stew yeaterday and I have a mince base made for lasagne and the like.

I think they key is to get outside when you can. If it's dry then wrap up with a few extra layers, go a long walk and get away from the noise then go home and settle down with a hot drink. There's no point in pretending this winter won't be tough but hopefully this thread can give a few ideas and some inspiration to get through it.

All those things tick the right boxes for me. It can be a pain persuading the kids to come out on a big dog walk, but once we're all out as a family we tend to enjoy it.

As you say, Disney Plus must have sustained many families through this year.

03-11-2020, 04:28 PM
You'll be looking out the Hiking Boots and climbing Ben Hagelberg before the day's out :wink:

Lederhosen and Seppelmütze at the ready.

pollution
03-11-2020, 04:51 PM
Roasting chestnuts in the fire. Horse chestnuts.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-11-2020, 06:17 PM
Golfing on a crisp morning. Can't beat it.

04-11-2020, 06:27 AM
I don't know if 'enjoy' is the right word, but I've increasingly found I'm content not to bother too much about football. The fact we haven't been able to go to ER for so long doubtless has a bearing but there's no question I'm feeling less and less connected to Hibs the more I find myself focusing on other, more family-orientated activities.

Autumn/winter is usually very much a football-focused time of year but I've barely even watched any on TV. I didn't watch the derby - partly because it clashed with a Halloween-related activity we had planned for local kids, but also because I really didn't fancy it. Not because I didn't think we could win but because I knew it would just sour my mood if Hibs ended up contriving a way to lose. When I checked the score afterwards and saw the manner in which we'd lost I just thought 'you know what, I can do without this nonsense'.

I do seriously wonder if the enforced break may ultimately see me drift away from the game, if not completely, but certainly in a way that sees me focus more on things that bring more consistent satisfaction/enjoyment. Hard to imagine I'd have felt that way when I was younger, but as I've got older/had kids etc football just doesn't seem to have the 'edge' it once provided me with.

goosano
04-11-2020, 09:40 AM
I try and get outside as much as I can when the weather allows. The last 3 years I have walked one stage of a long distance route with a friend each week and have done the John Muir Way, the Fife Coastal Path and Berwickshire coastal trail. This year we had started the Fife pilgrims way but that is on hold now until Edinburgh moves out of tier 3. I also take part in nature surveys counting birds and mammals. and if not doing anything go out for an hours walk on Arthur's Seat by the house. I usually save up tasks to do in the winter months-the front door to sand and varnish, some railings and gates to paint, the greenhouse to clean. I try and play golf once a week.

Indoors I tend to experiment a bit with cooking making different soups and stews and random recipes from Youtube that take my fancy. I have been learning Spanish intensively and in the darker months do more lessons and do a language exchange with a Spaniard and Argentinian that I have met. Looking after my vulnerable mother and doing all her shopping and chores takes some time. I rarely watch TV but am more inclined to watch something on Netflix in the colder months.

So time passes fairly quickly and I don't get bored. I much prefer the spring and summer though when everything is coming to life.

04-11-2020, 10:13 AM
I love the outdoors, even in the winter.

I think that's the key to accepting autumn/winter is to embrace what it has to offer. I go Mountain biking, fishing and used to go snowboarding, although i'm getting on a bit for snowborading.

The Mountain biking - I love nothing more than being at the top of a hill looking at the scenery - the hard-packed frost on the coldest days are my favourite.
The fishing - I have been chest deep in the rivers during a snowstorm and been happy as a pig in *****.

The best part about being out is coming home to a cosy house and not feeling guilty for being a couch potato in the evening, sitting back watching various things on Netflix/Youtube with a few whiskies.

I also love cooking and I can now make 'authentic' curries like the ones you get in the Indian restuarants.

The only thing I miss right now is going to ER with my son as that means a lot to both of us.

04-11-2020, 12:58 PM
Lederhosen and Seppelmütze at the ready.

Just_Jimmy
04-11-2020, 10:15 PM
Golfing on a crisp morning. Can't beat it.can't even do it now. golfs kept me sane this year. pissed off they banned it down here for no logical reason

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-11-2020, 05:27 PM
can't even do it now. golfs kept me sane this year. pissed off they banned it down here for no logical reason

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Not had much of a chance to get out my neck of the woods last week or two either to be fair mate, 16th and 17th were totally waterlogged the other day when I managed to get out and that was supposedly a massive improvement 😂 weather's been shan

Mr Grieves
06-11-2020, 06:16 PM
I love an early morning winter run along porty promenade, always a bracing experience.

11-11-2020, 11:24 AM
**** all. Bring on the Spring/Summer.