View Full Version : Club mentality

h1bs4life
01-11-2020, 09:47 AM
Yet again when it comes to the crunch the team lets us down.
While there is a bit of over reaction there is something wrong within our club.
I am not calling for Jack Ross to be sacked but the jury is out after losing what will probably be our biggest game of the season
Some fans seem to think a bit unlucky blame the ref etc yet again let down while not as bad s 2012 I am very pissed off.
There fans demand that they beat us or they want the manager gone , they demand there players beat us or they are gone which put them under pressure and as yet again shows they do anything to win , pull jerseys cynical fouling diving.
Even away back the keeper that let O'Conor shot go under him never played again for them, we gave Zibby the clown a 3 year deal.
After 2012 instead of sacking the manager we let him carry on only to be humiliated against Malmö finally only sacking him after a fans protest after another Derby defeat.
We still have players who played back then in fact one is the current captain
who is quoted as saying he will tell Josh Doig it is only another game.
Also quoted in the press talking about 2016 ,
Porteous in the press talking about how he is more mature blah blah . if they have to take part in press conferences all they should be talking about is how difficult it will be , how they will be hurting etc .
Shout your mouth off after a win.

01-11-2020, 09:51 AM
I just posted this on the PM board but it's arguably relevant here as well:

I'm not sure if Hearts truly care about the derby more than us.

Looking at the game last night, being able to bring a player of Naismiths quality off the bench (and he is still a quality player) made a huge difference. They improved a lot for the introduction of him and Haring. In terms of effort and fight I don't think they looked massively more up for it than us.

I wonder if it's a pressure thing. For years a player walked through the door at ER and knew about our Scottish Cup record. Now that monkey is off our back maybe the derby has replaced it. The trademark of Nisbets penalties has been low, hard and in the corner. Last night he tried something totally different and missed the target. Is that technique or pressure? We didn't look like a team that really believed we could blow Hearts away last night. We were nervy throughout from the goalkeeper getting closed down and into bother a couple of time through to forwards repeatedly making poor decisions.

It is a mentality thing but I don't think it's down to us not caring. We hope to win derbies, Hearts expect it.

01-11-2020, 09:58 AM

Looking at the game last night, being able to bring a player of Naismiths quality off the bench (and he is still a quality player) made a huge difference. They improved a lot for the introduction of him and Haring. In terms of effort and fight I don't think they looked massively more up for it than us.

I wonder if it's a pressure thing. For years a player walked through the door at ER and knew about our Scottish Cup record. Now that monkey is off our back maybe the derby has replaced it. The trademark of Nisbets penalties has been low, hard and in the corner. Last night he tried something totally different and missed the target. Is that technique or pressure? We didn't look like a team that really believed we could blow Hearts away last night. We were nervy throughout from the goalkeeper getting closed down and into bother a couple of time through to forwards repeatedly making poor decisions.

It is a mentality thing but I don't think it's down to us not caring. We hope to win derbies, Hearts expect it.

Really doesn't help when manager and player publicly say it's another game PB - in house I'm sure they don't say that, but the outward public message should be it's be all and end all - games are won with psychological edge as well as skill, players from both sides read media - last night was an even game, no shortage of effort and chances for both, it was never going to be a walk in the park or one side hammering the other. What was noticeable for the upteenth time was our pedestrian start and approach throughout, with no one being brave to take men on and run with the ball to stretch them. Too intricate and safe.

Mikey_1875
01-11-2020, 10:03 AM
Its hard to put a finger on it but there is definitely something there. Its hypothetical but I wonder if the roles in the league were reversed would hibs have returned to training 6 weeks/2 months before everyone else in the championship purely for the benefit of this semi final?

Obviously not the main reason for whats happened through the years but possibly a symbol of the mentality and how much it means to them.

h1bs4life
01-11-2020, 10:14 AM
It's drummed in to them that they must win a Derby from the minute they join.
The pressure is on them and they also know that even if they have played crap up until then win a Derby and all is forgiven.
If 2012 was reversed do you think there manager would have continued
Do you think they would still have players from 2012 and one as captain if we won in 2012.
No leaders in our team and players who are used to Derby defeats.
Stubbs and I think Lennon had half decent records , they had been at clubs who know what a Derby means.
That hacked off just now that if Ron Gordon decided to replace Ross I wouldn't be bothered maybe show all at the club that defeat in a Derby is a no.

mcfly
01-11-2020, 10:16 AM
The club isn’t going to win the league.
We must aim to get to cup finals but we also must target the derbies and win them.

Yesterday was awful. We are soft mentally. It’s gone on for years and years.

I don’t get why people are surprised about the result.

Hearts turn up at derbies expecting to win
We just hope to.

Until we get players and a manager who don’t bottle it under pressure I can’t see this changing

Fans backed the club with 11000 season tickets in a season we won’t get to attend. Club let us down again

Very disappointing

01-11-2020, 10:16 AM
The pressure is on them and they also know that even if they have played crap up until then win a Derby and all is forgiven.
Do you think they would still have players from 2012 and one as captain if we won in 2012.
Stubbs and I think Lennon had half decent records , they had been at clubs who know what a Derby means.
That hacked off just now that if Ron Gordon decided to replace Ross I wouldn't be bothered maybe show all at the club that defeat in a Derby is a no.

If we replaced our manager every time we lost a derby we would have 3 or 4 managers per season.

Hibee ultra
01-11-2020, 10:18 AM
Yet again when it comes to the crunch the team lets us down.
While there is a bit of over reaction there is something wrong within our club.
I am not calling for Jack Ross to be sacked but the jury is out after losing what will probably be our biggest game of the season
Some fans seem to think a bit unlucky blame the ref etc yet again let down while not as bad s 2012 I am very pissed off.
There fans demand that they beat us or they want the manager gone , they demand there players beat us or they are gone which put them under pressure and as yet again shows they do anything to win , pull jerseys cynical fouling diving.
Even away back the keeper that let O'Conor shot go under him never played again for them, we gave Zibby the clown a 3 year deal.
After 2012 instead of sacking the manager we let him carry on only to be humiliated against Malmö finally only sacking him after a fans protest after another Derby defeat.
We still have players who played back then in fact one is the current captain
who is quoted as saying he will tell Josh Doig it is only another game.
Also quoted in the press talking about 2016 ,
Porteous in the press talking about how he is more mature blah blah . if they have to take part in press conferences all they should be talking about is how difficult it will be , how they will be hurting etc .
Shout your mouth off after a win.

I honestly think it means no more to them than it does to us but they just base their whole existence on their derby record whereas we it seems as a club care more about European qualification and cup runs not the fans but the club itself the second they hire a manager he is told if he doesn’t win Derbies he looses his job however hibs seem to take a more relaxed approach

01-11-2020, 10:20 AM

Hearts are a pish second rate team that for once we should be beating in a SC semi final. They have said that this was a game they have been preparing for months as it was so important. Jack Ross has failed once again in the big games and it’s unacceptable. It’s no good getting a 1 nil win against Kilmarnock if you fail to win derby semifinals against lower league pish who’ve played 2 competitive league games in 7 months.

01-11-2020, 10:25 AM
Really doesn't help when manager and player publicly say it's another game PB - in house I'm sure they don't say that, but the outward public message should be it's be all and end all - games are won with psychological edge as well as skill, players from both sides read media - last night was an even game, no shortage of effort and chances for both, it was never going to be a walk in the park or one side hammering the other. What was noticeable for the upteenth time was our pedestrian start and approach throughout, with no one being brave to take men on and run with the ball to stretch them. Too intricate and safe.

I was quite positive when I heard Jack Ross speaking on Thursday. It was Hanlon’s comments that I didn’t like about trying no too build it up too much and all that. Maybe that’s why he couldn’t be bothered running after Wighton for his goal having been right next to him in the centre circle.

Hutchie
01-11-2020, 10:27 AM

A lot of overreacting on this thread.
Its disappointing to lose, yes but Ross is correct it's down to fine margins.
Also the talk of having players from 2012 out the club because they played is ludicrous. Hanlon for example is a Scotland international and a very good footballer. We're a better team for having him in it.

He could be right.. it's just another game for a professional. That way they should make the right decisions and not feel the pressure. Unfortunately it seems as another poster pointed out Nisbet felt the pressure and changed his mind and missed the penalty. ..

This will not define our season. And let's not forget it isn't even this season.

We were a bit unlucky. Time to dust ourselves down and focus on this season and doing the right things again.

01-11-2020, 10:29 AM
Not the club, but the manager and certainly the players who have a mentality issue based on last nights performance. Far too many “nice” technical players but we are still missing someone with dig and drive, someone who when the going gets tough they step up to the mark. Far too many last night expecting someone else to make a difference. I had hoped Gogic would be that type but he was sadly wanting last night.

01-11-2020, 10:30 AM
Yes, if Nisbet had scored the penalty we'd have been though. But he didn't.

Put it this way - if Hearts had a penalty at that point in the game, would their player, their fans, their squad, their manager have even CONTEMPLATED that being missed? If Kevin Nisbet had signed for them instead would that penalty have been struck like he did for us? You all know the answer, because they got one, and it wasn't even CLOSE to being missed.

Hearts value the derby over everything and Hibs don't. As a club we simply don't care. If that's okay for you then get ready for more pish defeats like this next season to ***** Hearts teams when they get promoted. I for one am not going to place as much importance on these games in future because we as a club don't.

Hopefully Ron watches that and decides seasonal humiliation isn't a good business model. Maybe if he does those baseless 3-0 predictions on here before every derby might become closer to reality.

Sorry. I've slept on it and I'm still as utterly dejected as before.

H18S NX
01-11-2020, 10:31 AM
I think it is all about bottle,we were like rabits in headlights,at the back it was kick and run,midfield were non existant and up front just no very good,plus,it all goes back to taking your chances and once again we did not.

h1bs4life
01-11-2020, 10:31 AM
If we replaced our manager every time we lost a derby we would have 3 or 4 managers per season.

If that's what it takes do it. Coming up for 60 growing up and at school very rare for us to lose derbies since around 1978 Derby record has been murder.
It's almost impossible to win the league and like most clubs out with the old firm it's quite rare to win cups.
The Scottish Cup monkeys of our back any manager that comes in should be made aware part of his remit is to win derbies

allmodcons
01-11-2020, 10:39 AM
If that's what it takes do it. Coming up for 60 growing up and at school very rare for us to lose derbies since around 1978 Derby record has been murder.
It's almost impossible to win the league and like most clubs out with the old firm it's quite rare to win cups.
The Scottish Cup monkeys of our back any manager that comes in should be made aware part of his remit is to win derbies

Get real ffs - 3 or 4 Managers every season you are, of course, having a laugh.

Their mentality is so much better than ours that we were the last Edinburgh Club to win a trophy and we are a Premiership Club whilst they languish in the 1st Division.

01-11-2020, 10:40 AM
A lot of overreacting on this thread.
Its disappointing to lose, yes but Ross is correct it's down to fine margins.
Also the talk of having players from 2012 out the club because they played is ludicrous. Hanlon for example is a Scotland international and a very good footballer. We're a better team for having him in it.

He could be right.. it's just another game for a professional. That way they should make the right decisions and not feel the pressure. Unfortunately it seems as another poster pointed out Nisbet felt the pressure and changed his mind and missed the penalty. ..

This will not define our season. And let's not forget it isn't even this season.

We were a bit unlucky. Time to dust ourselves down and focus on this season and doing the right things again.

Your last line is exactly the reason we come out on the losing side in these derby matches. We weren’t a bit “unlucky” the team we had out there yesterday should’ve taken 2 or 3 off hearts yesterday. Countless times we got in great positions and squandered it & that’s been a problem for us not just yesterday but the past few weeks. Twice yesterday we had 2 on 1 situations and we passed the ball straight to their defender.

I’m sick of us just being “unlucky” and moving on because it gets us ****ing nowhere.

h1bs4life
01-11-2020, 10:48 AM
Get real ffs - 3 or 4 Managers every season you are, of course, having a laugh.

Their mentality is so much better than ours that we were the last Edinburgh Club to win a trophy and we are a Premiership Club whilst they languish in the 1st Division.

Not serious about 3 or 4 a season but maybe if got a manager who could actually win derbies they wouldn't need to be replaced regularly.
Jack Ross was part of their coaching staff so he must be fully aware of how they treat derbies.
While Hanlon has been playing well this season has he got the mentality to play against Hearts never mind captain the team.

Talk about where we are in the league is a comfort blanket like they use 2012,yet again been let down.

01-11-2020, 10:50 AM

Eh. Paul and Lewis are really far down the list of things to blame. They were part of the side who went 9 unbeaten against them and gave us silverwhere, 2 trophies in Lewis' case.

I wouldn't trade Lewis, a man who has won 20% of the trophies this club has won, to just clear our after that game.

allmodcons
01-11-2020, 10:51 AM
Your last line is exactly the reason we come out on the losing side in these derby matches. We weren’t a bit “unlucky” the team we had out there yesterday should’ve taken 2 or 3 off hearts yesterday. Countless times we got in great positions and squandered it & that’s been a problem for us not just yesterday but the past few weeks. Twice yesterday we had 2 on 1 situations and we passed the ball straight to their defender.

I’m sick of us just being “unlucky” and moving on because it gets us ****ing nowhere.

I actually agree with this. Our decision making is very poor at times and we are wasteful when in get some really good positions. This cost us yesterday was also a major factor in us not picking up all 3 points in Dingwall.

That said, we are 3rd in the league and if can improve our decision making should make a top 4 finish.

Nobody likes get beating by them but the overreaction on these boards beggars ****ing belief.

01-11-2020, 10:57 AM
Nobody likes get beating by them but the overreaction on these boards beggars ****ing belief.

Why should it be classed as an overreaction? It’s just a reflection of people’s mood having seen this happen so many times before. It’s not a minority either. Large sections of a support being pissed off is not good for the club.

EI255
01-11-2020, 03:34 PM
I honestly think it means no more to them than it does to us but they just base their whole existence on their derby record whereas we it seems as a club care more about European qualification and cup runs not the fans but the club itself the second they hire a manager he is told if he doesn’t win Derbies he looses his job however hibs seem to take a more relaxed approach

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI actually think it does mean more to Hearts players than it does to ours. Its always been that way and will always be that way.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

BlackSheep
01-11-2020, 06:05 PM
Why is it everyone harps on about the club’s public opinion of the game? If they’d come out and said this is the biggest game of our season and we lost it, then we’d have egg on our face! We kept our cards close to our chest and in doing so don’t look like total numpties... by saying we treat it as every other game to the press etc we come away from a loss like yesterday gutted but not embarrassed, if you don’t listen to half the bedwetters on here!

Wise up!

01-11-2020, 06:23 PM
Why is it everyone harps on about the club’s public opinion of the game? If they’d come out and said this is the biggest game of our season and we lost it, then we’d have egg on our face! We kept our cards close to our chest and in doing so don’t look like total numpties... by saying we treat it as every other game to the press etc we come away from a loss like yesterday gutted but not embarrassed, if you don’t listen to half the bedwetters on here!

Wise up!
Totally disagree. The semi final of the Scottish Cup was our biggest game of the season. We should be treating it differently from run of the mill league games.

DetroitHibs
02-11-2020, 03:02 AM
They had 3-4 bookings before we even had one. They get set in about us early and then grind it out every time. The team needs a nasty streak against these cants.

02-11-2020, 05:45 AM
I actually agree with this. Our decision making is very poor at times and we are wasteful when in get some really good positions. This cost us yesterday was also a major factor in us not picking up all 3 points in Dingwall.

That said, we are 3rd in the league and if can improve our decision making should make a top 4 finish.

There's no overreaction, we have a terrible record in these derbies and especially in big games like this, fans are again right pissed off after watching another Hibs team bottle it to their min rivals ( who are pretty pi sh )yet again, at what point does it all stop and we get a team that goes out and bullies/dominates Hearts. In all the years I've followed Hibs I've seen that happen on the odd occasion 7-0 and 6-2 being the most famous ones, the rest are generally close games but there has to come a time and say we've had enough of not turning up to these games.

02-11-2020, 05:46 AM
They had 3-4 bookings before we even had one. They get set in about us early and then grind it out every time. The team needs a nasty streak against these cants.

I lost count of the number of fouls we gave away

Yorkshire HFC
02-11-2020, 06:37 AM
I actually think it does mean more to Hearts players than it does to ours. Its always been that way and will always be that way.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

How can that be?

Hibs players are professional footballers - they give 100% in training and on match day - how much more 100% can they give?

02-11-2020, 06:41 AM
I lost count of the number of fouls we gave away

We fouled more than them 😂

28 to their 27.

So there goes the usual trope of being kicked off the park/fouled their way to a win.

OstKurve Hibs
02-11-2020, 06:55 AM
We needed to see a similar performance like when we played the huns a few weeks back, the 2 all game.
Got in their faces, snapping at the heels n gettin stuck in, on Saturday the players walked out on that pitch and shat it, sat and watched that maroon pish pass the ball aboot like they were Liverpool at times, weak as ***** !

02-11-2020, 07:02 AM
The club isn’t going to win the league.
We must aim to get to cup finals but we also must target the derbies and win them.

Yesterday was awful. We are soft mentally. It’s gone on for years and years.

I don’t get why people are surprised about the result.

Hearts turn up at derbies expecting to win
We just hope to.

Until we get players and a manager who don’t bottle it under pressure I can’t see this changing

Fans backed the club with 11000 season tickets in a season we won’t get to attend. Club let us down again

Very disappointing

Well summed up. Definite difference in mentality between the two clubs (and players) that puts Hearts 1-0 up before they take the field. IMO it starts as early as recruitment looking for players who have drive and determination. 9/10 that has proved to be more than enough over the years to freak out many weak-minded Hibs teams/players who may have had more talent but lacked balls. Currently, there is not a single player in our squad of the stature of Griffiths, Cummings, McGinn, Holt, Brown Gray, McGregor. We have a decent mix of players but none of them are leaders or have the strength of conviction to make a difference when it really matters. If we did, they'd already be pencilled in for a move to Celtic. The stark reality is that Hibs would never have won the Cup in 2016 without Stokes and Henderson - both players who were bigger and better than Hibs, with belief in themselves and a winners mentality. The two of them gave the whole team belief and pulled the rest to higher levels. We have no one like that now.

02-11-2020, 07:12 AM
Currently, there is not a single player in our squad of the stature of Griffiths, Cummings, McGinn, Holt, Brown Gray, McGregor

There are a couple of players in our squad quite like Gray and McGregor. Themselves. Problem is they are there based on sentiment. We hear about all the ‘off the pitch’ benefit that we get from them. That wasn’t in evidence the other day and when we needed to look to the bench there was very little there, with two places taken up by players who aren’t going to contribute.

BlackSheep
02-11-2020, 08:55 AM
Totally disagree. The semi final of the Scottish Cup was our biggest game of the season. We should be treating it differently from run of the mill league games.

Biggest game of the season so far... at most.

And I would say I think you missed my point... what I was saying is how we treat the game in public and how we prepare inside east mains are two different things.

Act like it means the world to us in public and lose then we come out of a loss looking poorer than if we go in with a level head (in public).

02-11-2020, 09:09 AM

And I would say I think you missed my point... what I was saying is how we treat the game in public and how we prepare inside east mains are two different things.

Act like it means the world to us in public and lose then we come out of a loss looking poorer than if we go in with a level head (in public).

It may well end up being our biggest game the whole season, we need to wait and see. I don’t think I missed your point at all, just don’t agree with it. Not that I think it actually matters much either way if I’m honest but admitting in public what we all knew about it being our biggest game of the season is hardly a surprising statement to make.

What we don’t know is what the message or sentiment behind the scenes actually were.

02-11-2020, 09:18 AM

02-11-2020, 10:38 AM
I thought it was all the Fans fault when Hibs lose a derby?

We have to put up with that kind of crap every time we get beat by that lot.

Maybe these geniuses could explain how their theory works THIS time. Y'know, what with their being sod-all supporters in the ground to watch it.

Did we emanate a sense of negativity on some spiritual level that caused our players to miss chance after chance? Is that maybe the reason Boyle totally messed it up when a simple pass to a colleague would have opened the scoring?

Is that the reason our defence were ***** at their first goal then we gave away a penalty?

Yes, I'm still raging and these players need to realise how badly they've let us down and damn well do something about.

If they don't share that viewpoint, then they should just sod off somewhere else.

02-11-2020, 10:39 AM
Yes, if Nisbet had scored the penalty we'd have been though. But he didn't.

Put it this way - if Hearts had a penalty at that point in the game, would their player, their fans, their squad, their manager have even CONTEMPLATED that being missed? If Kevin Nisbet had signed for them instead would that penalty have been struck like he did for us? You all know the answer, because they got one, and it wasn't even CLOSE to being missed.

Hearts value the derby over everything and Hibs don't. As a club we simply don't care. If that's okay for you then get ready for more pish defeats like this next season to ***** Hearts teams when they get promoted. I for one am not going to place as much importance on these games in future because we as a club don't.

Hopefully Ron watches that and decides seasonal humiliation isn't a good business model. Maybe if he does those baseless 3-0 predictions on here before every derby might become closer to reality.

Sorry. I've slept on it and I'm still as utterly dejected as before.

Incredible that you are posting this drivel after a good night's sleep and whilst sober.

02-11-2020, 11:44 AM
Derby matches mean more than just three points or advancement in a cup competition. Derby wins foster a lifting of spirits of squad and supporters, but more so the support. Having the bragging rights until the next derby is hugely important, and that sense of superiority with the support over our closest rivals keeps the fans onside and give the management some breathing space when things may not go to plan in other fixtures, which naturally will happen on numerous occasions throughout a season.

If we put in a poor show in Aberdeen and come home empty handed the anger being directed at Jack Ross by a large chunk of the support as we have seen in the last 48 hours or so will intensify, which would be a ridiculous situation given the good work he has to date generally speaking.

That said, it’s something that should go with the territory of being a Hibs or Hearts manager where the rivalry is bitterly fierce in a small city. If a manager wants to be a success in Edinburgh he has to win more derbies than he loses.

Henderson2Del
02-11-2020, 12:09 PM
We need winners. In my opinion our mentality was better when we had winners in the dug out. I am sure McLeish, Lennon and Stubbs has a better record. They know what winning means and feels like.

02-11-2020, 12:31 PM
We need winners. In my opinion our mentality was better when we had winners in the dug out. I am sure McLeish, Lennon and Stubbs has a better record. They know what winning means and feels like.

Not sure about that. Was watching after Man U v Arsenal game and Roy Keane was talking about motivation and how it should be something within the players themselves, it wasn’t up to the manager to motivate the players. I totally agree with him, I don’t think we have those type of players in our team who are really up for a battle.

02-11-2020, 12:35 PM
This thread, and a few others just show how lots of fans simply react to the result ...if Nisbet scores and we go through , there would be largely positive messages on here. Same performance, different result and there’s a completely different tone ....

Fine margins indeed ...

02-11-2020, 12:52 PM
This thread, and a few others just show how lots of fans simply react to the result ...if Nisbet scores and we go through , there would be largely positive messages on here. Same performance, different result and there’s a completely different tone ....

Fine margins indeed ...

In a cup semi final there is only one thing that matters. That’s before you’ve considered the opposition. That’s probably me stating the obvious. But I’d rather have been battered for 120 minutes and scraped through on penalties.

02-11-2020, 01:17 PM

I think you need to check the figures for that.

02-11-2020, 02:53 PM
In a cup semi final there is only one thing that matters. That’s before you’ve considered the opposition. That’s probably me stating the obvious. But I’d rather have been battered for 120 minutes and scraped through on penalties.

so would I...my point is about the reaction on here...a lot of the more emotive posts are triggered by the hurt of the result, rather than balanced analysis. The performance wasn't "abysmal" as some imply, neither was it strong. It was somewhere in between. Hearts are a decent side (not a shower from a lower league), as we were when we were a league below..we were punished when they took their chances and we didn't. A bad game for it to happen it - but it did.

Daydreamer
02-11-2020, 08:25 PM
One of the biggest problems in the future is going to be the difference between FOH and HSL. It is 6 times more to Hearts as what HSL put into Hibs. That is the difference of another 5 top class players on £4k a week. I cannot believe that any Hibs supporter who can afford it has a subscription of £10 a month. Even if we could sign up another three thousand who dont need to be supporters just fans that maybe see Hibs a couple of times a season would be wonderful. If not derby wins will be few and far between in the future. £10 a month is only 33pence a day Get signed up now or you will start feeling like how you felt on Saturday night a lot more in the future