View Full Version : Today's Semi Final - Weather

31-10-2020, 08:35 AM
I'm currently sitting at home in Mount Florida and looking out the window and my first thought is that I'd be surprised if the game is still on.

It's absolutely horrendous weather here right now.

31-10-2020, 08:36 AM
I'm currently sitting at home in Mount Florida and looking out the window and my first thought is that I'd be surprised if the game is still on.

Over 7 hours till kick off. I'd be surprised if the game is off.

mjh
31-10-2020, 08:38 AM
I’m further west and you’ve got plenty more rain and wind heading for mt Florida. It’s going to be wet and wild

31-10-2020, 08:39 AM
Can't be any worse than last season's Betfred semi. I'm still drying off

Over 7 hours till kick off. I'd be surprised if the game is off.

The forecast for later is actually worse... but you're probably right.

I suppose they'll be desperate just to get these games over with, no matter what.

It’s not often you see 60mph+ winds in a forecast. Both the wind and the rain will drop slightly between 2pm-5pm kickoff. I think it’ll go ahead but it will make the contest more of a lottery.

31-10-2020, 08:47 AM
16 degrees with a warm breeze in Edinburgh

31-10-2020, 08:55 AM

I’m about 5 minutes away and was woken up by the gusts and rain lashing against the windows. Forecast says rain will ease a little but wind will get t even stronger.
A day for rolling the sleeves up and getting stuck in.
The poor groundsman will be in tears. His pitch will get ripped to shreds and then they’ll play again tomorrow.

31-10-2020, 10:30 AM
Always a thread like this when the weather is a bit poor!
When was the last time a high profile was off for a waterlogged pitch?
It's very rare, and takes something exceptional - not normal Scottish weather.

31-10-2020, 10:34 AM
Game will go ahead unless pitch completely unplayable. Last thing SFA will want is to reschedule in a season like this. Weather could have a big impact on the game though.

31-10-2020, 10:40 AM
Its mental here at the moment off the atlantic & due to get worse so Im guessing your gonna get what were experiencing right now..

Radge70
31-10-2020, 10:40 AM
16 degrees with a warm breeze in Edinburgh

We should switch this one to Murrayfield

31-10-2020, 10:45 AM
53 mph wind and 85% chance of rain at kick off time. The drainage on the pitch is good so hopefully any excess water will be gone by then.
The wind won't suit us but hey ho that's how it's going to be.

31-10-2020, 10:52 AM

Keith you are due some sun this afternoon to go with your rain and wind ..........apparently :thumbsup:

31-10-2020, 10:55 AM
Weather will be more wind than rain by kick off and the drainage on the pitch is good so hopefully any excess water will be gone by then.
The wind won't suit us but hey ho that's how it's going to be.

Seems like more showers from midday onwards so can't see there being any threat to the game though the open bowl shape of Hampden may make the pitch more impacted by wind than stadiums with taller stands.

31-10-2020, 11:05 AM
Of course we’re due to play Hearts in a cup semi final in extreme weather conditions which will suit them down to the ground :rolleyes:

31-10-2020, 11:06 AM
Seems like more showers from midday onwards so can't see there being any threat to the game though the open bowl shape of Hampden may make the pitch more impacted by wind than stadiums with taller stands.

The forecast for today has improved massively in the last 24 hours. Previously they were predicting heavy rain all day and that was scaled back to raining all day.
The West have seen the worst of it so far but should be stabilising now.
It's bright and sunny in East Edinburgh :rolleyes: ............at the moment.

31-10-2020, 11:07 AM
Of course we’re due to play Hearts in a cup semi final in extreme weather conditions which will suit them down to the ground :rolleyes:

Playing football in 80mph winds is utter madness!, it will turn a national semi final into a farce.

31-10-2020, 11:09 AM
I'm in Glasgow. Rain has stopped but wind still mental. Stays like this then game should be on.

31-10-2020, 11:10 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201031/ede2c7f5d307765e41d9b3f00b246a64.png

31-10-2020, 11:14 AM
Game on. Bit of wind is ok. Keep it on the floor hibs and play through them.

31-10-2020, 11:17 AM
Playing football in 80mph winds is utter madness!, it will turn a national semi final into a farce.

80 mph would indeed be madness. Fortunately it will be 50 mph.

31-10-2020, 11:22 AM
80 mph would indeed be madness. Fortunately it will be 50 mph.

Well according to the BBC weather I just watched it was winds of 77mph moving eastwards into Glasgow at 4pm.

et_hibby
31-10-2020, 11:24 AM
Hearts didn’t look too great v. Falkirk in the earlier round in similar conditions. They were extremely lucky to scrape through that one.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51337075

31-10-2020, 11:28 AM
Well according to the BBC weather I just watched it was winds of 77mph moving eastwards into Glasgow at 4pm.

It’s the old ‘average wind speed vs ‘gusting up to’ chestnut. The wind in Edinburgh at the moment seems to be a calm 5 mph for 30 seconds followed by a mad 60 mph for the next 10 seconds, on repeat.

31-10-2020, 11:28 AM
A lot of weather related call-offs are due to fan safety and potential travel chaos. There's probably less chance of it being postponed because these aren't going to be issues today.

hibeejeebies
31-10-2020, 11:34 AM
We should switch this one to Murrayfield

😁

31-10-2020, 12:05 PM
According to BBC Weather Edinburgh should currently have wind speed of 56pmh and it's not even that bad. Game will definitely be on.

31-10-2020, 12:07 PM
If they beat us i will fully blame the weather. Getting my excuses in early

ClermistonGreen
31-10-2020, 12:18 PM
Anyone want to buy my ticket ?

Face value , of course !

:flag: :thumbsup:

31-10-2020, 12:29 PM
Maybe the respective captains can play the game on a PS4 instead..........

Partyraiser
31-10-2020, 12:32 PM
I'm currently sitting at home in Mount Florida and looking out the window and my first thought is that I'd be surprised if the game is still on.It's absolutely horrendous weather here right now.I'm in Mount Florida too, does this constitute a Mount Florida Hibs supporters club?!

31-10-2020, 12:39 PM
Or we will be 5 -0 up with five minutes to play and the game will be abandoned

31-10-2020, 12:46 PM
Keith you are due some sun this afternoon to go with your rain and wind ..........apparently :thumbsup:

Cheers, good to hear

👍

The Pointer
31-10-2020, 12:46 PM
Ach, it'll be fine. I'm in Argyll and there was a blink of sunshine earlier but now cloudy again. Strong, blustery winds but it's never as bad in Glasgow.

It's not like it's being played in a public park.

31-10-2020, 12:48 PM
I'm in Mount Florida too, does this constitute a Mount Florida Hibs supporters club?!

Woohoo, party time outside the stadium tonight then

🌧 ☂️ ⚽️ 🌅 📢

31-10-2020, 01:28 PM
Watching the rugby ahead of our semi, we really need to keep the ball down on the deck, it's swirling all over the shop ther and will be murder for defences and keepers.

31-10-2020, 01:33 PM
Always a thread like this when the weather is a bit poor!
When was the last time a high profile was off for a waterlogged pitch?
It's very rare, and takes something exceptional - not normal Scottish weather.
It's the wind not the rain that can be the problem

31-10-2020, 01:34 PM
Lovely weather, washing dried faster than the machine done the next load.

31-10-2020, 02:39 PM
Sunny bright skies all afternoon ............ ower Arthur's Seat but awfy windy.
Probably need to tie a string to the ball so as not to lose it.

31-10-2020, 03:09 PM
Just been out to get beers in (Glasgow) weather is mental. If we were going to the game I've no doubt it would be off.

31-10-2020, 03:37 PM
Just been out to get beers in (Glasgow) weather is mental. If we were going to the game I've no doubt it would be off.

The game is going to be a total lottery and a bit of a nightmare for the players and officials.

31-10-2020, 03:40 PM

No it wouldn’t.

31-10-2020, 03:43 PM
No it wouldn’t.

Are you in Glasgow just now?

31-10-2020, 03:47 PM
Lovely weather, washing dried faster than the machine done the next load.

A Hibs win and I’ve a load ready as well.

31-10-2020, 03:51 PM
Are you in Glasgow just now?

I’m not but I don’t think that’s the defining factor in whether the game would have been called off.

31-10-2020, 03:58 PM
No it wouldn’t.

Aye it would :greengrin.

Went 5 minutes along the road to shops, motor was blowing all over the place. No chance they'd have bus loads of fans bombing about the place and travelling along the M8. Haven't checked but being Scotland I'd be surprised if the trains are running.

31-10-2020, 04:00 PM
Aye it would :greengrin.

Went 5 minutes along the road to shops, motor was blowing all over the place. No chance they'd have bus loads of fans bombing about the place and travelling along the M8. Haven't checked but being Scotland I'd be surprised if the trains are running.

There has hardly ever been a game off in those circumstances. Today would have been no different.

Since they started naming storms people have got a bit carried away. It has been windy and rainy in Scotland before.

31-10-2020, 04:05 PM
There has hardly ever been a game off in those circumstances. Today would have been no different.

Since they started naming storms people have got a bit carried away. It has been windy and rainy in Scotland before.

Ive told my daughter not to park across from our house when she comes home from work. Trees their look like there gonna come down. Never had to say that to her before. These winds arent normal winds.

31-10-2020, 04:05 PM
I’m not but I don’t think that’s the defining factor in whether the game would have been called off.

So if you were in Glasgow. the game would be off?

31-10-2020, 04:23 PM

All downhill since Hurricane Bawbag