View Full Version : Hearts Documentary 9th November

Pages : 1 [2]

16-11-2020, 08:39 PM
This is so boring.

Rumble de Thump
16-11-2020, 08:50 PM
Steven Naismith's voice must really annoy dogs.

16-11-2020, 08:52 PM
Steven Naismith's voice must really annoy dogs.

I’m not a fan of the whiny weegie accent at the best of times but his his just ridiculous.

16-11-2020, 08:59 PM
Completely ignored the St Mirren game hahahahahahahahahahaha

16-11-2020, 09:00 PM
Did they just skip the st mirren game?! Wtf

16-11-2020, 09:01 PM
Did they just skip the st mirren game?! Wtf

Yeah so it’s just Covid’s fault they ended where they did.

16-11-2020, 09:03 PM
This documentary is just odd.

16-11-2020, 09:05 PM
Am I the only one who is enjoying this ?

Rumble de Thump
16-11-2020, 09:05 PM
That was even more boring than the first episode. It's difficult to see what the point of this documentary is.

The Baldmans Comb
16-11-2020, 09:11 PM
This is such a lazy documentary,Levein staying on was unprecedented and Berra being emptied were huge stories well worth more than a few sentences.

The St Mirren away game then became the set piece showdown and ultimately was the game that resulted in relegation and they just completely ignored it.

Maybe they didn't attend the game which is bad enough but they didn't even bother going out to Riccarton the following day to get the aftermath.

Unfortunately I don't pay a license fee so can hardly complain.😀

16-11-2020, 09:14 PM
Utterly bizarre. Arguably the defining game and culmination of an abysmal season and they pretend it didn't happen.

It's not really a documentary if it doesn't tell the story at hand.

16-11-2020, 09:20 PM
This is no documentary, it’s Hearts propaganda......much like most of the mainstream media has been this year.

16-11-2020, 09:22 PM
Completely ignored the St Mirren game hahahahahahahahahahaha

Classic Hearts :faf::faf:

16-11-2020, 09:22 PM
Utterly bizarre. Arguably the defining game and culmination of an abysmal season and they pretend it didn't happen.

It's not really a documentary if it doesn't tell the story at hand.

Agree. It is more of a study of how to run a professional football club in as amateur a fashion as possible from top to bottom.

And yes, I know we haven’t beaten them the past 2 times but that also says something about the way they contribute to throw money at the issue.

16-11-2020, 09:38 PM

I thought tonight's episode was very good and much better than the first one but they could have told the story far better with 6 x 45 minute episodes.
The team filming it didn't film any footage at away games which was a major gap
Sadly episode 3 is just going to be loads of greetin' about how unfairly they are being treated, court case etc which i think will be tedious.

16-11-2020, 09:39 PM
Have to say the documentary is very disappointing, not really learning anything new. Budge is way out her depth and has employed some absolute muppets. Fans are deluded, players are awful and Gary Locke is a weirdo.

16-11-2020, 09:39 PM
Agree. It is more of a study of how to run a professional football club in as amateur a fashion as possible from top to bottom.

And yes, I know we haven’t beaten them the past 2 times but that also says something about the way they contribute to throw money at the issue.
:agree: When you see the set up at Hibs, and compare with that, it’s actually only the fact that they spend a ton of money more than us that gives them any chance of beating us

They’re a shambles. Although from the documentary you’d have thought that it was a fairly uneventful season.

16-11-2020, 09:41 PM
Have to say the documentary is very disappointing, not really learning anything new. Budge is way out her depth and has employed some absolute muppets. Fans are deluded, players are awful and Gary Locke is a weirdo.

What does Locke actually do?

Logie Green
16-11-2020, 09:56 PM
What does Locke actually do?

He’s an embassadur.

16-11-2020, 09:59 PM
He’s an embassadur.

He must be properly pissed on to have gone from manager to ambassador.

16-11-2020, 10:05 PM
He must be properly pissed on to have gone from manager to ambassador.He did it for the Ferrero rocher.

They're bound to have them in the School View Lounge.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201116/91870a85e7407b819aed3a42329b1cae.gif

16-11-2020, 10:07 PM
Just finished watching it and like others my first reaction is what happened to the St Mirren game ?

They even take that tiny piece of enjoyment away from us :greengrin

16-11-2020, 10:22 PM
A joke of a documentary about a joke of a club. Totally ignored the St Mirren game where everyone knew the possibility beforehand it could be the last game of the season and Hearts had the chance to overtake them and blew it.

Interesting to see Budge mention 50% pay cuts for everyone (except those who get under min wage) but of course there'll be no mention next week of how she arsed that up and only ended up getting them onto the relegation clause salary a month earlier than it would've been. Guaranteed there won't be any mention of a player revolt over the wages.

Still, we got a nice 10 minutes worth about the catering and also plenty about how fantastic their training facilities are.

Their player recruitment team seem more like they've got a background in recruitment of office workers rather than footballers. Budge probably thought HR is HR no matter what type of business you're running so hired people who worked for her in her previous business.
Player identification probably just consisted (and still consists) of a combination of manager targeting players he's worked with before, Levein taking players offered to him by Colquhoun, players McPhee knew from the Ireland team and someone there (Locke?) reading the media to see who Hibs and Aberdeen are linked with.

Magpie
16-11-2020, 10:28 PM
A joke of a documentary about a joke of a club. Totally ignored the St Mirren game where everyone knew the possibility beforehand it could be the last game of the season and Hearts had the chance to overtake them and blew it.

Interesting to see Budge mention 50% pay cuts for everyone (except those who get under min wage) but of course there'll be no mention next week of how she arsed that up and only ended up getting them onto the relegation clause salary a month earlier than it would've been. Guaranteed there won't be any mention of a player revolt over the wages.

Still, we got a nice 10 minutes worth about the catering and also plenty about how fantastic their training facilities are.

Their player recruitment team seem more like they've got a background in recruitment of office workers rather than footballers. Budge probably thought HR is HR no matter what type of business you're running so hired people who worked for her in her previous business.
Player identification probably just consisted (and still consists) of a combination of manager targeting players he's worked with before, Levein taking players offered to him by Colquhoun, players McPhee knew from the Ireland team and someone there (Locke?) reading the media to see who Hibs and Aberdeen are linked with.

Makes me appreciate that we have a good system in place and although we are 4th in the biggest league in Scotland, it just annoys and confuses me how we have lost 3 of our last 4 games against that lot.

16-11-2020, 10:35 PM
Was it just me who thought Stendel came across as a total dud as well? Obviously his record at Hearts shows he was exactly that but he was painted as some kind of visionary yet achieved nowt in the way of improving results.

A quick glance at Kickback seems to point to them still holding a torch for him. Ultimately he was brought in to keep them up and never looked close to doing that.

16-11-2020, 10:45 PM
Was it just me who thought Stendel came across as a total dud as well? Obviously his record at Hearts shows he was exactly that but he was painted as some kind of visionary yet achieved nowt in the way of improving results.

A quick glance at Kickback seems to point to them still holding a torch for him. Ultimately he was brought in to keep them up and never looked close to doing that.

Stendel could talk the talk but couldn't walk the walk, the boy was murder

Magpie
16-11-2020, 10:50 PM

I think he didn’t even want to be there tbh, he probably just got an offer he couldn’t refuse, then felt that guilty for rinsing them out of so much money he decided to take a pay cut.

16-11-2020, 11:04 PM

I didn’t think he was even good at talking the talk. He generally wandered around looking a bit pished.

16-11-2020, 11:08 PM

Just on the point about hospitality, they did drag that out. But unless I picked it up wrong, the boy mentioned they had about a thousand in for the Rangers game. That’s a lot of money. They generally waste it, of course, but I’m not sure how it stacks up against ours or if he was including the folk just in using the bar or something like that.

17-11-2020, 05:06 AM

He was the fans choice. I've absolutely no doubt whatsoever that Budge or one of her advisors went on Kickback to gauge opinion before going for him.

17-11-2020, 05:51 AM
Just on the point about hospitality, they did drag that out. But unless I picked it up wrong, the boy mentioned they had about a thousand in for the Rangers game. That’s a lot of money. They generally waste it, of course, but I’m not sure how it stacks up against ours or if he was including the folk just in using the bar or something like that.

Yep a thousand seemed an enormous number and you would think a very good money spinner though it would be interesting to see what categories of hospitality made up that number.

17-11-2020, 05:53 AM

Agree felt a bit sorry for him when fat BBC guy McLaughlin was asking about Levein and Macphee would never have asked Levein or Budge those questions. His English wasn't great. Naismith is his whiney nasally voice came over as a bit of a know all almost like he had absolutely nothing to do with the performances of the team.

17-11-2020, 05:56 AM
He must be properly pissed on to have gone from manager to ambassador.

:faf::faf:

17-11-2020, 07:06 AM

Ein absolut gros dicken but a Jambo I know still stands up for him. ????????????

17-11-2020, 07:09 AM
Agree felt a bit sorry for him when fat BBC guy McLaughlin was asking about Levein and Macphee would never have asked Levein or Budge those questions. His English wasn't great. Naismith is his whiney nasally voice came over as a bit of a know all almost like he had absolutely nothing to do with the performances of the team.
Stevewhine Nasalsmith.
How he gets a job as a tv pundit with one of the most annoying voices on the telly beats me.
Ah, wait. BBC. Jam Tarts. Love in.

17-11-2020, 07:31 AM
Whole thing just reaffirms my hatred of Brian McLaughlin. Every jack ross interview this year has been taken over by that no mark obsessing over Covid, and seeing him all pally with that lot (I know he’s a jambo). Tosser of the highest order.

17-11-2020, 07:35 AM
Stevewhine Nasalsmith.
How he gets a job as a tv pundit with one of the most annoying voices on the telly beats me.
Ah, wait. BBC. Jam Tarts. Love in.

As much as we all go on about Naismith being a torn faced $h1t3hoose he has a heart of gold. He pays for & serves up meals for the homeless at Xmas along with all the other charities he supports. He also suffers from dyslexia. I don't know the hertz c@#t but you've got to admire him for his generosity.

17-11-2020, 07:46 AM

When Hibs played St Johnstone in the semi 2016 I went to hospitality at Tynecastle it was huge area under the Wheatfield stand i think. The seats in the stand were rubbish you had to fight your way through the normal crowd other than that it was very good and worth the money. They have it set up really well the new stand will only generate more money once fans return.

In recent times Hibs have had several chances to really put their fans on a downer and question the money they pump in to their club with no accountability we failed miserably almost always. So long as they continue to beat us regularly they will continue to generate huge sums of money. If we ever get round to beating them consistently that money from fans may dwindle.

17-11-2020, 08:05 AM
As much as we all go on about Naismith being a torn faced $h1t3hoose he has a heart of gold. He pays for & serves up meals for the homeless at Xmas along with all the other charities he supports. He also suffers from dyslexia. I don't know the hertz c@#t but you've got to admire him for his generosity.

Quite.

The man is a complete ******** on the pitch, and seems to be a general twat in all things football related, yet his generosity and humanity when removed from that scene cannot be denied.

17-11-2020, 09:44 AM

I've given the odd pound to beggars when i've come out the pub, but in general i'm a complete tosser. :wink:

17-11-2020, 10:49 AM
Could Brian McLaughlin be any further up Hearts *****?

17-11-2020, 11:50 AM
Whole thing just reaffirms my hatred of Brian McLaughlin. Every jack ross interview this year has been taken over by that no mark obsessing over Covid, and seeing him all pally with that lot (I know he’s a jambo). Tosser of the highest order.

Agree complete contrast with his questioning style for us.

17-11-2020, 12:00 PM
I have watched both episodes and my conclusion is that the documentary is as amateurish as the club.

17-11-2020, 12:15 PM
Agree complete contrast with his questioning style for us.

Fairly sure he’s the one who asks almost weekly about our team news. As much as I like knowing who is or isn’t available, I’d probably rather Ross continued with his style in the lead up to the hearts game and gave nothing away to McLaughlin.

17-11-2020, 12:18 PM

I agree with most of that.
Nice folk but it was all a bit, hiya! rather than hard nose football guys.
That sounds a bit sexist but it's not supposed to.

17-11-2020, 01:41 PM
I’ve now watched the first episode. While not the car crash TV most of us were hoping for, I think it’s a quietly devastating record of Budge and her ineptitude.

One of her first appearances shows her hovering over a minion’s desk and asking ‘anything I should know about?’ Then she disappears into her office to read lengthy diatribes from fans.

Dear me. If she was my boss I would be laughing at her for being a clueless waste of space.

Then later, she toddles over to her finance director to ‘update her’ on the search for a new manager... which seemingly entails Budge bragging about all the Big Names who’ve been in touch, while the FD just nods along. Another total waste of time.

Her reason for appointing Stendel? It went great at Barnsley before it all went wrong, and he played as a striker so, you know, he likes attacking football.

Cringey stuff. She really does look like a granny who won a ‘boss for the day’ competition, and the office dynamic looks flat and very boring, with the Head of Comms either sat at her desk reading the news or sitting in a press conference achieving very little.

Your average Jambo will no doubt be puffed up with pride, but I think it does them no favours at all.

17-11-2020, 02:07 PM

Nope, I’m loving it.

Some real laugh out loud moments in amongst all the cringe and amateur hour stuff.

Even the stuff they’ve missed out makes it funnier. To not even mention the St Mirren game thinking that everyone had forgotten about it was priceless.

17-11-2020, 02:34 PM
Nope, I’m loving it.

Some real laugh out loud moments in amongst all the cringe and amateur hour stuff.

Even the stuff they’ve missed out makes it funnier. To not even mention the St Mirren game thinking that everyone had forgotten about it was priceless.

I reckon the one who's deciding what makes the edit and what gets left on the cutting room floor is Tom English.

17-11-2020, 02:40 PM
Haven’t bothered to watch it as I’m still to pee’d off about the semi loss. Hard to laugh at them when they have just beaten us again. Doesn’t sound like I’m missing much though.

17-11-2020, 03:55 PM
Haven’t bothered to watch it as I’m still to pee’d off about the semi loss. Hard to laugh at them when they have just beaten us again. Doesn’t sound like I’m missing much though.

It is genuinely worth watching just to see what an utterly amateur and shambolic mess they make of running that club. Some of the expressions on Stendal’s face are hilarious. You can tell he is utterly unimpressed and can’t get out quickly enough.

EI255
17-11-2020, 04:12 PM
Oh damn, missed it last night

[emoji1787]

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

17-11-2020, 04:33 PM
What are the excellent training facilities the players keep banging on about?

Are these not the ones they rent from Heriot Watt?

Pretty sure last week they trained on a Junior pitch ?

17-11-2020, 04:59 PM
What are the excellent training facilities the players keep banging on about?

Are these not the ones they rent from Heriot Watt?

Pretty sure last week they trained on a Junior pitch ?

They focus on the Oriam branding several times without telling you they actually rent the pitches next door.

It appeared from the programme that they get use of the gym facilities for up to 3 times a week for 40 minutes a time.

Rumble de Thump
17-11-2020, 05:14 PM
I like how Budge reappeared back in the office at the end of transfer deadline day just in time to inform Stendel which of his players the club had got rid of while she'd been away on her holidays.

RG04
17-11-2020, 07:12 PM
It’s funny how we are talked about in both episodes, more than a reference to who they are playing against during that section.

If it was a Hibs documentary, I find no reason why we would mention them at all?

17-11-2020, 08:18 PM
Sad pathetic football club

17-11-2020, 08:35 PM
It’s funny how we are talked about in both episodes, more than a reference to who they are playing against during that section.

If it was a Hibs documentary, I find no reason why we would mention them at all?

I’ve not watched it ..but wonder if it is that type of mindset that helps them have the edge often when they play us ..they care about beating us , perhaps more than our club does ??

17-11-2020, 08:36 PM

Looked a bit creepy to be honest. Who hugs the women at work like that especially after a few weeks of working with/knowing them. Flowers? What about the Harry Potter golden snitch necklace? WTF???

17-11-2020, 08:46 PM

Agree with this. Wee prick on the pitch but seems a genuinely decent type. Wished we’d signed him all those years ago.

17-11-2020, 09:32 PM
Watched it earlier.... its just really dull. A terrible production. The team involved doesnt really matter its just ****.

Snedz
17-11-2020, 10:39 PM
Thankfully for me I had absolutely zero inclination at all to watch it. Sounds like a BBC Scotland snore fest that afforded said BBC Scotland a love in visit to their beloved pigsty.

Lucky escape for those of us sensible enough not to switch on to it.

Numptie
17-11-2020, 10:39 PM
Got bored so watched the last episode. If this was Hibs I would be mad. Everyone was having a jolly laugh, larking about at training. There was no passion as they were getting relegated. Maybe they just live in a world where big teams don't get relegated. No one seemed that bothered that they were playing crap football.

17-11-2020, 11:22 PM

They’re definitely smeg, pox, the under the skin sort, but if it was a documentary about Hibs then yes, absolutely yes, they’d definitely be mentioned. We cannot shut the **** up about them for a minute on here.

18-11-2020, 05:59 AM
Watched it earlier.... its just really dull. A terrible production. The team involved doesnt really matter its just ****.

Nowhere near as good as ‘Sunderland Till I Die’ disnae even scratch the surface

A total cover up

Even ‘Sunderland Till I Die Part 2’ was miles better

18-11-2020, 06:06 AM

I'm not believing a documentary about Heart of Midlothian is dull......

Some say they are a cure for ADHD

18-11-2020, 07:01 AM
Watched episode 2. Felt it was better than episode 1. But still missing substance and content.

The club were on an awful run and heading towards relegation. There must have been loads of footage they could have shown which gave an insight into this. Instead it’s bland and even the journalist gets more air time than some of the players.

Their recruitment structure seems odd - I can’t imagine that’s the same under Neilson surely.

Hearts get final day of what’s shown so obviously they have taken anything remotely controversial out to protect themselves.

18-11-2020, 07:19 AM
Watched episode 2. Felt it was better than episode 1. But still missing substance and content.

The club were on an awful run and heading towards relegation. There must have been loads of footage they could have shown which gave an insight into this. Instead it’s bland and even the journalist gets more air time than some of the players.

Their recruitment structure seems odd - I can’t imagine that’s the same under Neilson surely.

Hearts get final day of what’s shown so obviously they have taken anything remotely controversial out to protect themselves.Is it not the same producers that made the recent documentary on Salmond's trial? They had to edit it after it was shown so as to avoid litigation, even then the production values were shoddy and bland.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

18-11-2020, 09:03 AM
Started to doze off at the end watching the second episode last night. Some of it is interesting seeing behind the scenes but looks like they are struggling to stretch it out for three episodes and keep it engaging. As far removed from ‘Sunderland till I die’ as you’ll get.

Other than an enthusiastic Hearts fan I’m not sure really what Gary Locke brings to the show. Craig Levein surprisingly affable and I’ve kind of warmed to him which I would never have believed. Scott Wilson just screams Hearts and is the identikit annoying Jambo we all have the misfortune of having to deal with in our own localities. Plus, he didn’t get a nose like that drinking Lime & Soda..
Stendal a likeable enough character but pretty obvious from day one he was never going to there long term. The interior of the offices within the £20M incomplete stand as sterile and dull as it looks from the outside. Brian McGlaughlin just being Brian McGlaughlin, Steven Naismith sounding like someone doing an impression of Steven Naismith.

The revaluations that Hearts fans won’t eat food that’s green about the depth of the insight into the club.

Watchable, and if I’m being charitable I’ll give it a 5/10.

18-11-2020, 10:01 AM
Looked a bit creepy to be honest. Who hugs the women at work like that especially after a few weeks of working with/knowing them....

Germans.

18-11-2020, 10:30 AM
Germans.

Almost all Europeans tbh. We are a very reserved nation when it comes to greetings.

Fanforlife
18-11-2020, 11:59 AM
🤣🤣🤣 Just seen an absolute classic from a real throbber over on keekback on their documentary thread,seemingly Hibs were not allowed to have Scottish Cup winning parade to start from the City Chambers,according to the Genius who spouted this drivel our parade started from Leith Links🤣🤣

Green_one
18-11-2020, 12:06 PM
The whole thing sounds like the usual BBC Scotland quality.

I have not watched it, as I anticipated it would be poor and that now looks correct. Second rate production and boring subject.

18-11-2020, 12:08 PM
Should have been called.

'Hearts Till They Die'

18-11-2020, 01:56 PM
🤣🤣🤣 Just seen an absolute classic from a real throbber over on keekback on their documentary thread,seemingly Hibs were not allowed to have Scottish Cup winning parade to start from the City Chambers,according to the Genius who spouted this drivel our parade started from Leith Links🤣🤣

Hmmmm

I must have imagined it then! :wink:

18-11-2020, 02:40 PM
Should have been called.

'Hearts Till They Die'Agree, or at the very least, "Hearts Till They Go Into Administration" The sequel.

18-11-2020, 02:43 PM
Started to doze off at the end watching the second episode last night. Some of it is interesting seeing behind the scenes but looks like they are struggling to stretch it out for three episodes and keep it engaging. As far removed from ‘Sunderland till I die’ as you’ll get.

Other than an enthusiastic Hearts fan I’m not sure really what Gary Locke brings to the show. Craig Levein surprisingly affable and I’ve kind of warmed to him which I would never have believed. Scott Wilson just screams Hearts and is the identikit annoying Jambo we all have the misfortune of having to deal with in our own localities. Plus, he didn’t get a nose like that drinking Lime & Soda..
Stendal a likeable enough character but pretty obvious from day one he was never going to there long term. The interior of the offices within the £20M incomplete stand as sterile and dull as it looks from the outside. Brian McGlaughlin just being Brian McGlaughlin, Steven Naismith sounding like someone doing an impression of Steven Naismith.

The revaluations that Hearts fans won’t eat food that’s green about the depth of the insight into the club.

Maybe he's mellowed since being out of work, but I would never have described Levein as affable based on my experience of (once) being in his company and his relentlessly bitter post-match comments where not once did he ever find it within himself to credit the team which had beaten his.

I imagine Micheal O'Neill is among the football managers who wouldn't much fancy Levein's company.

Rumble de Thump
18-11-2020, 03:22 PM
Maybe he's mellowed since being out of work, but I would never have described Levein as affable based on my experience of (once) being in his company and his relentlessly bitter post-match comments where not once did he ever find it within himself to credit the team which had beaten his.

I imagine Micheal O'Neill is among the football managers who wouldn't much fancy Levein's company.

I wonder how affable Levein was when he was doing a diabolical job of managaing the team. We may never know as the producers of documentary chose to not show us any footage of this or clips of him being interviewed while he was in the position. It's strange to think that the makers of the show might have struggled to stretch this out to three episodes when they've glossed over or completely ignored every single thing that would have been genuinely interesting to watch.

19-11-2020, 01:31 PM
Just caught up on the two episodes. What a pointless programme, sanitised to within an inch of its life you’d think it was a normal season and a no circus at Tynecastle.

I know it’s snobbish but don’t think Gary Locke will be joining Mensa anytime soon.

19-11-2020, 03:51 PM
I know it’s snobbish but don’t think Gary Locke will be joining Mensa anytime soon.

An absolutely inspirational appointment as an 'ambassador' for them.

He epitomises the club.

Logie Green
19-11-2020, 04:11 PM
Just caught up on the two episodes. What a pointless programme, sanitised to within an inch of its life you’d think it was a normal season and a no circus at Tynecastle.

There’s not many folk who speak Bonnyrigg and German.

19-11-2020, 09:04 PM
The club seems to be run by women of a certain age. They don't seem terribly bright.
No wonder they're in the championship.

19-11-2020, 09:26 PM

Hearts were playing Rangers and were catering for a large hun following. The comment about not eating anything green referred to them.

19-11-2020, 09:44 PM
I'm pleased that I am able to put a name now to a face that has been an amusing memory for me for the last little while.

When we were both on the look out for a manager I had a conversation with one of their Board who was convinced that David Moyes was going to accept the job as their new manager.

A couple of days later I was in the lounge at Dublin airport and there was a guy speaking very loudly on the phone - I had no idea who he was but it became obvious he was talking with some authority about the Hearts manager search and it sounded very much like he was employed by them. He was also talking about David Moyes which confirmed that he was on the same page as the Hearts Board member. Amusingly the conversation was very much around how Moyes had already said he was keen to take the job and that Hearts were going to move now that Hibs had finally decided to get rid of Heckingbottom. The chat was that we really wanted Moyes too and that Hearts were going to win the race. The guy was chatting quite happily about how Hearts were now going to pull away and be fighting it out for third place whilst Hibs were probably not going to recover and would get relegated. It obviously didn't turn out at all like that.

I'm delighted to now be able to make the link that the guy on the phone was Scott Wilson. Had no idea what he looked like before but he was certainly the one.

Juniper Greens
19-11-2020, 10:02 PM
Hearts were playing Rangers and were catering for a large hun following. The comment about not eating anything green referred to them.

No it didn't

Hillsidehibby
20-11-2020, 08:15 AM
I'm pleased that I am able to put a name now to a face that has been an amusing memory for me for the last little while.

When we were both on the look out for a manager I had a conversation with one of their Board who was convinced that David Moyes was going to accept the job as their new manager.

A couple of days later I was in the lounge at Dublin airport and there was a guy speaking very loudly on the phone - I had no idea who he was but it became obvious he was talking with some authority about the Hearts manager search and it sounded very much like he was employed by them. He was also talking about David Moyes which confirmed that he was on the same page as the Hearts Board member. Amusingly the conversation was very much around how Moyes had already said he was keen to take the job and that Hearts were going to move now that Hibs had finally decided to get rid of Heckingbottom. The chat was that we really wanted Moyes too and that Hearts were going to win the race. The guy was chatting quite happily about how Hearts were now going to pull away and be fighting it out for third place whilst Hibs were probably not going to recover and would get relegated. It obviously didn't turn out at all like that.

I'm delighted to now be able to make the link that the guy on the phone was Scott Wilson. Had no idea what he looked like before but he was certainly the one.
He was probably talking to himself

20-11-2020, 08:31 AM

Scott Wilson is the kind of guy - we have all met one - who will say something disparaging then, when the inevitable backlash happens will say "hey, wheres your sense of humour, its just a joke, lighten up".

He is the 1970s DJ reincarnated.

It says quite a lot that their "celeb" DJ is that erse (who most people couldnt pick out of a lineup), while Grant Stott conducts himself with some decorum, regardless of who and which club he is describing.

20-11-2020, 09:03 AM
Scott Wilson is the kind of guy - we have all met one - who will say something disparaging then, when the inevitable backlash happens will say "hey, wheres your sense of humour, its just a joke, lighten up".

It says quite a lot that their "celeb" DJ is that erse (who most people couldnt pick out of a lineup), while Grant Stott conducts himself with some decorum, regardless of who and which club he is describing.

He's not a celeb tho... just a fan.

20-11-2020, 09:18 AM

He is their version of a celeb dj - the fact you didnt know that speaks volumes about his status !!

http://scottwilsonmedia.co.uk/

20-11-2020, 10:01 AM

I don't think you quite finished that.

20-11-2020, 10:08 AM
I don't think you quite finished that.

:top marks:faf:

linlithgowhibbie
20-11-2020, 12:30 PM

"ny" or "dan":thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-11-2020, 01:38 PM

He sounds like a desperate attention seeker but really, that's just another indication of how poorly they are run. Anyone talking in public about confidential company affairs should be out the door.

20-11-2020, 02:02 PM

No it didn't

I didn’t think so either and the only way to settle this for sure is with a re-watch, which I suspect none of us will really have the stomach for :hilarious

Any volunteers?

20-11-2020, 02:41 PM

Lol! "our celeb Dj is better than your celeb DJ!"

20-11-2020, 02:44 PM
I didn’t think so either and the only way to settle this for sure is with a re-watch, which I suspect none of us will really have the stomach for :hilarious

Any volunteers?

He was taking about the usual customers. Hearts fans.

20-11-2020, 02:45 PM
Remember all the bammers appearing on this bought into the Romanov tenure 100%, bought dodgy shares and look back misty eyed at those "glory days".

They also push the "poor us" dialogue given they were presented with the bill for those days and pushed their club into admin to evade coughing up.

Scheisters the lot of them, Hans Christian Anderson should get a writing credit for this guff of a documentary.

20-11-2020, 04:26 PM

What bizarre behaviour

20-11-2020, 04:31 PM
He sounds like a desperate attention seeker but really, that's just another indication of how poorly they are run. Anyone talking in public about confidential company affairs should be out the door.

And obviously clearly made up. Not a chance on this planet that was happening.

20-11-2020, 05:20 PM
And obviously clearly made up. Not a chance on this planet that was happening.

Which bit do you think was made up?

The phone conversation I heard was in the departure lounge for an Aer Lingus flight from Dublin to Edinburgh just before we were getting on the bus to the plane. Quite a contained area and everyone waiting to board could hear the conversation.

Hearts also genuinely wanted Moyes whether that was ever likely or not. I’d also got that from a Hearts director so I understood what the conversation was about early on.

Over the course of the days after it Budge was being asked about Moyes and Moyes himself had to come out and say he wasn’t interested.

I recall the guy’s face because it bothered me who he was. Now I know.

20-11-2020, 05:24 PM
Which bit do you think was made up?

The phone conversation I heard was in the departure lounge for an Aer Lingus flight from Dublin to Edinburgh just before we were getting on the bus to the plane. Quite a contained area and everyone waiting to board could hear the conversation.

Hearts also genuinely wanted Moyes whether that was ever likely or not. I’d also got that from a Hearts director so I understood what the conversation was about early on.

Over the course of the days after it Budge was being asked about Moyes and Moyes himself had to come out and say he wasn’t interested.

I recall the guy’s face because it bothered me who he was. Now I know.

Not your version his that Moyes was definitely signing for them. :greengrin

20-11-2020, 05:25 PM
Not your version his that Moyes was definitely signing for them. :greengrin

I think within Hearts they genuinely thought they were getting him. 😂

20-11-2020, 09:31 PM
I think within Hearts they genuinely thought they were getting him. 😂

As I said above, the scene in the documentary where Budge goes to brag to her finance director about all the big names who’ve been in touch about their managerial vacancy is absolutely cringe worthy.

They are all so self-important.

21-11-2020, 07:34 AM

Any volunteers?
No thanks, but it is true.
An acquaitance who is veggie was at pre-match hospitality and ordered the cheese and broccoli pasta bake. When it arrived he took a mouthful and forked through it but there was no broccoli in it, so he called the waitress over. "Excuse me but there is no broccoli in this cheese and broccoli bake."
"Ah", she says, "I'm sorry sir but there is no broccoli in the Tynecastle kitchen."
"That's ridiculous. Get me the Manager."
So off she toddled and a few minutes later, the hospitality manager came to the table. "Is there a problem sir?"
"Too right there is. I ordered cheese and broccoli pasta bake but there is no broccoli in it."
"Sorry sir but as my waitress explained, there is no broccoli."
"Outrageous. Get me the chef."
So, a few minutes later the chef arrived at the table. "Can I help you sir?"
"Aye. I ordered cheese and broccoli pasta bake but there is no broccoli in it."
"Well as my colleagues have explained, there is no broccoli."
"Look. It's on the menu, I ordered it and I expect to get it."
"Bear with me sir while I ask you a few questions. Can you spell dog as in dogmatic?"
Caught a bit off guard, my acquaintance immediately replies D-O-G.
"And can you spell pet as in petulant?"
"I don't know where you're going with this but yes, P-E-T."
"Thank you sir. Just one more question. Can you spell fek as in broccoli."
"There is no fek in broccoli."
"Exactly sir."

21-11-2020, 08:20 AM
He was taking about the usual customers. Hearts fans.

When watching it I was under the impression it was regarding the rangers visitors that day. Could be wrong but it definitely sounded that way.

23-11-2020, 11:17 AM
Third instalment on tonight

I do not think I can stand the suspense

Will they stay up or go down ?

Will they even mention it ?

Does anyone really care?

:cb

23-11-2020, 11:28 AM
Third instalment on tonight

I do not think I can stand the suspense

Will they stay up or go down ?

Will they even mention it ?

Does anyone really care?

:cbThe Gasman from yakback said they were going to beat St Mirren just before the season slams shut thereby relegating St Mirren and saving Hearts so they should be celebrating.

Not a whimper about immediate reconstruction then.

23-11-2020, 12:29 PM
Probably be a good episode tonight as they get relegated in this one. The BBC site said this episode ends with Ann stating, "I usually have the attitude of you can't win them all, but this year I want to win them all." This episode will be aired 3 days after hearts played their 4 game of the season and lost. Can't win them all right enough Mrs Dr Budge :na na:

23-11-2020, 12:31 PM
Probably be a good episode tonight as they get relegated in this one. The BBC site said this episode ends with Ann stating, "I usually have the attitude of you can't win them all, but this year I want to win them all." This episode will be aired 3 days after hearts played their 4 game of the season and lost. Can't win them all right enough Mrs Dr Budge :na na:

Think they get relegated about 6 times in this one. :greengrin

23-11-2020, 12:34 PM
it's been years since I bothered trying to watch any BBC stuff from France via a proxy.

Does anyone have an easy (and free) way to do it?

EI255
23-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Damn, think I missed the final instalment. And it's not even been aired yet.

23-11-2020, 04:20 PM

Any volunteers?

I haven’t watched that episode yet. I will report back.

23-11-2020, 04:22 PM
How will they manage to fit their many attempts to avoid relegation into this one. Is there really time to cover the complaints to the SPFL, the failed reconstruction attempts, the failed legal cases, the SFA "send them doon, don't pass go and don't collect £6M" decision?

delbert
23-11-2020, 04:37 PM
How will they manage to fit their many attempts to avoid relegation into this one. Is there really time to cover the complaints to the SPFL, the failed reconstruction attempts, the failed legal cases, the failed SFA "send them doon, don't pass go and don't collect £6M" decision?

Strongly suspect the softly, softly approach will continue in the last episode, it’s been a total love in with zero controversy or difficult questions asked, clearly the producers were too scared to go in with boots and ask questions which might demand a probing (or truthful) answer. I will watch the final episode tonight but I suspect it will be sympathy rather than actual investigative journalism or any form of transparency and there will never be any form of blame or responsibility attached to Chuckie’s Mum for anything that’s gone wrong.

23-11-2020, 04:41 PM
Strongly suspect the softly, softly approach will continue in the last episode, it’s been a total love in with zero controversy or difficult questions asked, clearly the producers were too scared to go in with boots and ask questions which might demand a probing (or truthful) answer. I will watch the final episode tonight but I suspect it will be sympathy rather than actual investigative journalism or any form of transparency and there will never be any form of blame or responsibility attached to Chuckie’s Mum for anything that’s gone wrong.

I'll wait for the reviews on here before wasting any time on it.

Rumble de Thump
23-11-2020, 04:50 PM
"Self interest"
"Sporting integrity"
"If something is not right then it's not right"
"No team should be worse off"

23-11-2020, 05:56 PM
it's been years since I bothered trying to watch any BBC stuff from France via a proxy.

Does anyone have an easy (and free) way to do it?It's the "famous" so it'll be streaming soon on Netflix, Amazon, Disney, etc.

23-11-2020, 06:41 PM
It's the "famous" so it'll be streaming soon on Netflix, Amazon, Disney, etc.

Coming to cinemas worldwide just as soon as they open up again...

23-11-2020, 07:10 PM
"Self interest"
"Sporting integrity"
"If something is not right then it's not right"
"No team should be worse off"

Bingo!

Magpie
23-11-2020, 08:17 PM
Stendel finding out he’s being replaced through a friend before being told himself 😂

23-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Stendel finding out he’s being replaced through a friend before being told himself 😂

No word of any contrition about it from Budge either.

23-11-2020, 08:20 PM
What an absolute basket case they are

23-11-2020, 08:28 PM
Comedy gold.

Such a bit-part, small time setup from top to bottom.

Gotta hand it to the makers trying their best to polish a turd. There is nothing positive about Hearts here.

23-11-2020, 08:31 PM
Predictably skirting over the controversy. Switch off time.

23-11-2020, 08:34 PM
Craig Gordon really is a lanky streak of rancid stale jambo pish

Wish they had dived deeper into poor Annie Bannanies massive trigger leading up to the relegation

Hibeesforever
23-11-2020, 08:34 PM
Hilarious Anne Budge likes the stadium best when it is empty!

23-11-2020, 08:36 PM
Comedy gold.

Such a bit-part, small time setup from top to bottom.

Gotta hand it to the makers trying their best to polish a turd. There is nothing positive about Hearts here.

Caught 10 mins of it. That's exactly what I took out of it. Small, wee, amateur club.

Came across as being bunch of wee cheeky chappies who didn't care about what was going on over the summer, when quite the opposite was the case. It was a polished, reinvention of reality designed to make them look well-balanced and objective in their decision making - taking their plight with a stiff upper lip :greengrin

Makes the BBC and Hearts look like a right royal bunch of *******. :greengrin

23-11-2020, 08:40 PM
Christ nothing of any note in any of the 3 episodes

23-11-2020, 08:43 PM

Yep a classy touch.

23-11-2020, 08:47 PM
Gary 'Ambasadur' Locke is a right chav.

23-11-2020, 08:48 PM
Gary Locke is an absolute moron. Has he had a lobotomy at some point?

23-11-2020, 08:48 PM
They are well ending this with the Cup game so it ends like some success story haha

23-11-2020, 08:51 PM
Drone footage of the new stand 😂🤣😂🤣

23-11-2020, 08:54 PM
Looks like Anne had a meltdown and tried to cut her own hair

23-11-2020, 08:58 PM
Good luck with winning every game Ann

Rumble de Thump
23-11-2020, 09:01 PM
The production of this documentary has been as cringeworthy as Hearts. The best thing about the show was the random, out of place grime tunes, and that was bloody awful.

wallpaperman
23-11-2020, 09:01 PM
I watched about 10 minutes just now, that’s all I’ve seen of the series, but was so dull I just had to turn off.

They seems to employ a whole bunch of people who appear to be, how can I say it, a bit slow.

23-11-2020, 09:03 PM
ORGASMIC!

Third episode was more like it

Felt sorry for Stendel finding out Hearts had a new Manager through social media

Hearts class!

23-11-2020, 09:03 PM
What an absolute state of a club

Locke is an absolute tool!

Ann Budge completely out her depth

delbert
23-11-2020, 09:04 PM
Hilarious Anne Budge likes the stadium best when it is empty!

Well as I suspected, full of self pity and indignation, with not the slightest hint of an awkward question to answer and the delusion beautifully summed up in a comedy gold moment when Christophe Berra said how well their pre season games had gone, undefeated except for a couple of games against English Premier sides, so that could better and more accurately be summed up as not undefeated !! 😆

The Baldmans Comb
23-11-2020, 09:17 PM
Its hard to see how this documentary isn't going to win every award going. Riveting, cutting edge and informative and hopefully the BBC will commission a second series next year.

It would be fascinating for example to follow the womens team in their quest back to the top.

Imagine another 3x60 minute program revolving around fitness and "weight loss" for example tough to achieve and controversial but worth waiting for.

23-11-2020, 09:34 PM
What's wi the gansta rap soundtrack?

23-11-2020, 09:35 PM
Dinner on the pitch.....wtf 🤣🤣🤣
We don't have a stadium, we have a fortress...OMG

Cringefest

sorrow sorrow
23-11-2020, 09:47 PM
Honestly that was an embarrassment to Scottish football and bbc Scotland.
I understand the Netflix and Amazon prime documentary’s on Sunderland & Tottenham wer big budget but at least there was a bit of honesty and genuine behind the scenes stuff,that was so embarrassing to not just hearts but anyone who believes in just honest reporting.
Bbc hang ur heads in shame what a lost opportunity to show a Scottish football season at it’s best

hibbydog
23-11-2020, 09:51 PM
I wish to re-iterate my previous point that Gary Locke is an uneducated knuckle dragger with all the wit of a slug.

Just an utter embarrassment all round.

23-11-2020, 09:54 PM
Only Hearts, and their pals at the BBC, could turn one of the most controversial years in Scottish football into a 180min bore fest.

23-11-2020, 10:05 PM
What an utter embarrassment hearts are .
Absolute shambles. Ann Budge looks well out her depth.
Pleasing :greengrin:

23-11-2020, 10:07 PM
No word of any contrition about it from Budge either.

That was shocking.
I almost felt sorry for him :greengrin:
What a state of a club.

HibbyDave
23-11-2020, 10:11 PM
Wonder how much bbc paid Hearts.

Loved it when the queen said she wants to win every game this season.... how’s that working out?

LeithSqualk
24-11-2020, 05:54 AM
Sickback comments are funny,
Board meetings, it’s like watching an episode of the Golden girls
Hearts are being run by the ladies who lunch
Budge is wearing a 5 grand watch
Some other guy mentioned watching 18yo birds being humped

24-11-2020, 06:57 AM
Stendel finding out he’s being replaced through a friend before being told himself [emoji23]To be fair his friend was only really the guy who was next to him every morning outside wetherspoons waiting for the door to open.

He never actually knew who Desperate Dan was until they'd had four or five sharpeners.

24-11-2020, 07:21 AM

His bottom has never been lower in my view.

24-11-2020, 07:46 AM
I didn't realise John Rankin was part of their academy setup - was surprised when he popped up!

drumatic44
24-11-2020, 08:00 AM
[QUOTE=HibbyDave;6362793]Wonder how much bbc p
Let's face it the whole thing was a highly sanitized version of events, not so much as a glimpse of what really went on. If that was supposed to be a fly on the wall documentary then the fly was well and truly swatted early doors. !!

24-11-2020, 08:15 AM
BBC were wrong in their commentary on ending the season which they said would be decided on points as they stood and did not account for the remaining games. It was of course on average points which is different.

24-11-2020, 08:38 AM
I wish to re-iterate my previous point that Gary Locke is an uneducated knuckle dragger with all the wit of a slug.

Just an utter embarrassment all round.
Said it before but worth repeating:
Pat Stanton - Hibs ambassador.
Gary Locke - Hearts embarrassador
No need to say any more.

24-11-2020, 09:20 AM
I didn't realise John Rankin was part of their academy setup - was surprised when he popped up!
Not a squiggler in sight as well

McSwanky
24-11-2020, 09:43 AM
Every time they do that drone scooting about the pitch thing, how bad do the faded seats look?

Absolute shambles.

24-11-2020, 10:48 AM
[QUOTE=HibbyDave;6362793]Wonder how much bbc p
Let's face it the whole thing was a highly sanitized version of events, not so much as a glimpse of what really went on. If that was supposed to be a fly on the wall documentary then the fly was well and truly swatted early doors. !!

Pretty accurate fly on the wall without the fly.

24-11-2020, 10:57 AM
How raging was the groundsman about the meal on the pitch. I can imagine his seeth when the orchestra had their gig there.

Was it just me, or was there little evidence of decent COVID protocols at that meal on the pitch? Waiters not wearing masks, etc.

24-11-2020, 11:02 AM
How raging was the groundsman about the meal on the pitch. I can imagine his seeth when the orchestra had their gig there.

Was it just me, or was there little evidence of decent COVID protocols at that meal on the pitch? Waiters not wearing masks, etc.

I'm more interested (in a non-voyeuristic way, y'unnerstan) in the boy who declared the food "orgasmic." And then his companion told him "yer oan the telly"

Are they the Hearts' equivalent of Boab and Doreen Coyle?

EI255
24-11-2020, 11:04 AM
Accidentally flicked over to this documentary last night and, OMG, is the Hearts groundsman for real?

24-11-2020, 11:13 AM
Every time they do that drone scooting about the pitch thing, how bad do the faded seats look?

Absolute shambles.There are a variety of reasons why colours fade, but in general red based colours fade quicker and more than other colours (except black). Nae luck pals!

maturehibby
24-11-2020, 11:33 AM
McLauchlin showed his true colours
wearing a maroon top in one part
showed himself for what he he stands for
and yet another BBC Scotland and the Hearts bias

24-11-2020, 11:37 AM

Very little in the office either and when the new Chief Exec came in. They were all working away at their desks in what looked like would have been well into the period where we knew better.

24-11-2020, 11:37 AM
The problem for Gary Locke is that he can't talk to the media in his normal manner because the swear filter would overload.

24-11-2020, 12:21 PM
If that was supposed to be a fly on the wall documentary then the fly was well and truly swatted early doors. !!

It was more mockumentary.

Spinal Crap.

24-11-2020, 12:40 PM
Accidentally flicked over to this documentary last night and, OMG, is the Hearts groundsman for real?

In what way?

1 8 7 5
24-11-2020, 12:44 PM
It was more mockumentary.

Spinal Crap.

:not worth:top marks

24-11-2020, 12:56 PM
Very little in the office either and when the new Chief Exec came in. They were all working away at their desks in what looked like would have been well into the period where we knew better.

Yeah. Budge even went to get close into the Chief Exec then it was as if she realised she was on camera and very quickly muttered something like “oh I forgot we shouldn’t get too close”.

24-11-2020, 01:00 PM
I'm more interested (in a non-voyeuristic way, y'unnerstan) in the boy who declared the food "orgasmic." And then his companion told him "yer oan the telly"

Are they the Hearts' equivalent of Boab and Doreen Coyle?

They remind me of a couple that walked into a bar I was in a few months ago and very loudly declared to the barman (but in reality to the whole bar) “we’ve just come from The Kitchin. Guess how much we spent on a bottle of wine” to which the barman just laughed. “No, really guess how much the wine was”.

Pretentious a-holes

24-11-2020, 01:20 PM

the groundsman sounded like he had more passion for the pitch than anne has for the club

24-11-2020, 01:31 PM

Sounded very much like a guy who has learned to control a lifelong stutter, that aside he probably came across better than anybody else in the programme.

24-11-2020, 01:36 PM

I thought the groundsman came across better than most to be fair. What was your issue, you're not seriously mocking him for his speech?

24-11-2020, 01:38 PM
Sounded very much like a guy who has learned to control a lifelong stutter, that aside he probably came across better than anybody else in the programme.

Beat me to it, spot on!

Newry Hibs
24-11-2020, 01:48 PM

At least his laptop showed the st mirren goal, but no comment on it.

24-11-2020, 01:56 PM
Given the season just past the BBC couldn't have picked a better club to cover, the ingredients were all there for a hard hitting documentary showing the anguish as their plight became more and more desperate, especially following defeat at St Mirren and then the anger as it became clear the other clubs were not going to vote the way Hearts wanted.

Instead of that it was as if nothing was really going on, don't tell me there weren't tensions boiling to the surface both within the board room and on the training pitch and that fans weren't raging, with the team, with the manager / managers and especially the board after only 4 wins in F knows how many games, not to mention the obvious mistake of keeping the previous manager at the club to look over the shoulder of the new guy appointed.

Being calm in a crisis is one thing, pretending it isn't happening is quite another and if that's how Hearts genuinely were dealing with the season just past no bloody wonder they got relegated. It was as if the managers didn't care, the team didn't care and the board didn't care .... in fact the only thing they did seem to care about was beating us.

In the end it was a piss poor effort .... the BBC were given all the ingredients to give us a 5 course gourmet banquet of a football documentary and instead served up egg & chips .... bland, bland, bland.

24-11-2020, 02:53 PM

Snap.

He didn't need to put himself forward for the programme. He did, though, which says something about his own self-confidence.

rossevenil
24-11-2020, 02:53 PM

I wasn`t sure if it was a "simple" speech issue or if there was more to it,regardless of that as someone else has already mentioned guy showed more passion for his pitch than anyone else throughout the programme,one of the few who didn`t appear to be prompted with what to say.

As for the actual programme,handy if you couldn`t get to sleep it was so boring,all that material available for the season and thats what they come up with?
and old Budge throwing in a "I tried to call Daniel before the manager release went out but no answer" o right so you only knew at that moment that you were tipping him and it wasn`t in the pipeline already? Shoddy and disrespectful doesn`t cover it.

24-11-2020, 03:05 PM

The Maroon buffoon definitely nailed his colours to the mast. I also spotted the half empty red wine bottles in his kitchen which may explain his ruddy complexion.

24-11-2020, 03:07 PM
Almost all Europeans tbh. We are a very reserved nation when it comes to greetings.Maybe leching over other people's partners and copping off with them is a habit that is best left to others. It may not be a bad thing being reserved. The French are awful in that respect.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

24-11-2020, 03:07 PM
I thought the groundsman came across better than most to be fair. What was your issue, you're not seriously mocking him for his speech?

I am hoping the poster was shocked at there actually being a genuine and clearly professional member of staff at hearts. Is he “for real” meaning he doesn’t belong alongside the otherwise unprofessional shambles 👍🏻

24-11-2020, 03:09 PM
Given the season just past the BBC couldn't have picked a better club to cover, the ingredients were all there for a hard hitting documentary showing the anguish as their plight became more and more desperate, especially following defeat at St Mirren and then the anger as it became clear the other clubs were not going to vote the way Hearts wanted.

Instead of that it was as if nothing was really going on, don't tell me there weren't tensions boiling to the surface both within the board room and on the training pitch and that fans weren't raging, with the team, with the manager / managers and especially the board after only 4 wins in F knows how many games, not to mention the obvious mistake of keeping the previous manager at the club to look over the shoulder of the new guy appointed.

Being calm in a crisis is one thing, pretending it isn't happening is quite another and if that's how Hearts genuinely were dealing with the season just past no bloody wonder they got relegated. It was as if the managers didn't care, the team didn't care and the board didn't care .... in fact the only thing they did seem to care about was beating us.

In the end it was a piss poor effort .... the BBC were given all the ingredients to give us a 5 course gourmet banquet of a football documentary and instead served up egg & chips .... bland, bland, bland.

To be fair to them, they bought the documentary off Wark Clements production company, mind you if I was the BBC I would have asked for a bit more editorial control as the 3 hour long shows were pretty insipid bland offerings.

24-11-2020, 03:09 PM
the groundsman sounded like he had more passion for the pitch than anne has for the club

If he's anything like the groundsmen/greenkeepers that I know then that's par for the course (no pun intended).

24-11-2020, 03:15 PM
The Maroon buffoon definitely nailed his colours to the mast. I also spotted the half empty red wine bottles in his kitchen which may explain his ruddy complexion.
Maroon face to match his maroon top and maroon heart.

24-11-2020, 03:56 PM
Just watched it. It’s a shame with everything that happened they ended up with such a dull product. More time spent chatting to the groundsman.

hibbydog
24-11-2020, 03:59 PM

I'd tend to agree.

Night and day compared to 'Sunderland 'Til I Die', which I was glued to -it offered an insight into the club, city, community and the passion of the fans for a failing team. My mrs even liked it for these reasons and she doesn't like football.

Hearts had a golden chance to trump the Sunderland series, as they had all the ingredients - poorly performing club, relegation, injustice AND a big legal battle to boot.

But like you say, it made an emotional rollercoaster and legal drama seem like watching an episode of Countdown.

No disrespect to Countdown.

24-11-2020, 04:32 PM

On a Hibs public forum you appear to have made fun of a working man with a speech defect that he will have spent his whole life working to improve. An issue which he has to face every time he wants to speak. On this occasion he has spoken on camera knowing that it is going to be on national TV and will very publicly expose his issue. Most of the regular posters on here will have seen a man with real balls make himself heard and will respect him for that. You have embarrassed yourself.

24-11-2020, 04:59 PM
I thought it was badly manipulated by the BBC, was weak and bland. ***** TV so very accurate in portraying the season they had.

24-11-2020, 05:10 PM

Thought he spoke very well and passionately. Can see his point about having a meal on the pitch? Did they not learn their lesson from the vanity concert which ruined the pitch?

24-11-2020, 05:22 PM
Thought he spoke very well and passionately. Can see his point about having a meal on the pitch? Did they not learn their lesson from the vanity concert which ruined the pitch?

I actually thought it was great seeing someone so passionate about their club Jim. That said, he's the same groundsman who Levein didn't want cutting the grass v Celtic (under Rodgers) and who allowed it to be continually over watered right up to kick off under both Cathro and Levein:cb so he let standards slip when he wanted to :wink::greengrin

The documentary was awful. I know a few staff at Hearts and none were in it which is sad - allegiances aside they do a power of work for Hearts and the community. The lack of dressing room material during half time / full time must have been written into the brief (as in Hearts didn't want it). The complete lack of in-depth behind the scenes when the court case was going on must simply be because they knew it would portray them in an even worse light in my opinion.

There was too much John Rankin and Robbie McGregor :rolleyes: and not enough of Jonathan Obika :greengrin

24-11-2020, 05:36 PM
On a Hibs public forum you appear to have made fun of a working man with a speech defect that he will have spent his whole life working to improve. An issue which he has to face every time he wants to speak. On this occasion he has spoken on camera knowing that it is going to be on national TV and will very publicly expose his issue. Most of the regular posters on here will have seen a man with real balls make himself heard and will respect him for that. You have embarrassed yourself.

Great post.

He's a brave guy.
Nothing wrong with having passion for your club even if it is them.

24-11-2020, 05:43 PM
I actually thought it was great seeing someone so passionate about their club Jim. That said, he's the same groundsman who Levein didn't want cutting the grass v Celtic (under Rodgers) and who allowed it to be continually over watered right up to kick off under both Cathro and Levein:cb so he let standards slip when he wanted to :wink::greengrin

The documentary was awful. I know a few staff at Hearts and none were in it which is sad - allegiances aside they do a power of work for Hearts and the community. The lack of dressing room material during half time / full time must have been written into the brief (as in Hearts didn't want it). The complete lack of in-depth behind the scenes when the court case was going on must simply be because they knew it would portray them in an even worse light in my opinion.

There was too much John Rankin and Robbie McGregor :rolleyes: and not enough of Jonathan Obika :greengrin

Absolutely not enough dressing room type action or players being interviewed just before or after games. When the characters of the show are Gary Locke and Scott Wilson then you know something is wrong. Obviously control freakary by the club.

EI255
24-11-2020, 05:53 PM
On a Hibs public forum you appear to have made fun of a working man with a speech defect that he will have spent his whole life working to improve. An issue which he has to face every time he wants to speak. On this occasion he has spoken on camera knowing that it is going to be on national TV and will very publicly expose his issue. Most of the regular posters on here will have seen a man with real balls make himself heard and will respect him for that. You have embarrassed yourself.Well done Colin Murdoch

24-11-2020, 06:05 PM

My brother and my eldest son had speech disorders in their childhood years and it's heartbreaking (as a bystander) watching the psychological effects it can have, and that's not even including the bullying and torment they go through, which trust me, is damaging mentally and emotionally for the person going through it, especially as a child.

They both recovered fully thankfully, but I agree, anyone who has the confidence to be public facing and 'work' through it deserves to be praised :aok:

Great post :agree:

Peanut Shaz
24-11-2020, 06:19 PM
What about Queen Ann and her maroon chairs and cushions in her conservatory, her maroon I pad cover, maroon phone cover and as for that suit and scarf....
Bet her bedroom has the Hearts duvet cover, curtains and lampshade.

24-11-2020, 06:57 PM
What about Queen Ann and her maroon chairs and cushions in her conservatory, her maroon I pad cover, maroon phone cover and as for that suit and scarf....
Bet her bedroom has the Hearts duvet cover, curtains and lampshade.

I hope never to be able to verify that.

24-11-2020, 08:00 PM

Excellent post CMurdoch.

The lad is clearly a passionate Jambo, and someone who also cares deeply about his work - the amount of care and effort he seems to put in to having the pitch looking pristine was admirable. His speech impediment shouldn't be a topic of discussion - doesn't matter if he's part of 'the enemy' - that's utterly disgusting patter.

24-11-2020, 09:14 PM
Good to see the grass getting cut

24-11-2020, 09:38 PM
It was a deadly dull documentary considering this was a momentous season for Hearts. You only got the raw emotional side from the grounds fella and Gary Locke who obviously kicks every ball bless him.

I got fed up with Mrs Budge and her smiling face quite early in proceedings.

24-11-2020, 11:56 PM
Anyone else notice Budgie’s Lockdown hair getting out of control?

By episode 3 it looked as though she had cut it herself

Yorkshire HFC
25-11-2020, 05:46 AM
I watched the last episode while having breakfast yesterday - it was okay.

I'm sure it was interesting if you're a Hearts fan, but there wasn't enough real insight into the situation or personalities to make much of an impression otherwise.

broondog
25-11-2020, 07:01 AM
A complete waste of 3 hours.incredibly boring programme I wish I’d never watched. Seemed to be produced by the Hearts media team. Real lack of behind the scenes from what was another embarrassing ****show from the cheats

25-11-2020, 08:04 AM
Excellent post CMurdoch.

The lad is clearly a passionate Jambo, and someone who also cares deeply about his work - the amount of care and effort he seems to put in to having the pitch looking pristine was admirable. His speech impediment shouldn't be a topic of discussion - doesn't matter if he's part of 'the enemy' - that's utterly disgusting patter.

Gary Locke is clearly a passionate Jambo but he’s fair game for anyone to have a go at.

The guy’s speech impediment isn’t the point of discussion or ridicule, it’s being a Hearts fud that is.

If he had said the exact same things perfectly eloquently he’d be getting pelters on here for what he said, not how he said it.

McSwanky
25-11-2020, 09:27 AM
Gary Locke is clearly a passionate Jambo but he’s fair game for anyone to have a go at.

The guy’s speech impediment isn’t the point of discussion or ridicule, it’s being a Hearts fud that is.

If he had said the exact same things perfectly eloquently he’d be getting pelters on here for what he said, not how he said it.It's a good point. I don't think anyone on here actually said anything untoward specifically about the speech impediment.

Both he and Locke are passionate Hearts fans, and for that I can only pity them. Not sure what all the vitriol for Locke is about TBH, he's a bit of a joke character for me, a circus clown if you like. Always felt similar about Skacel, he loved playing the panto villain.

25-11-2020, 09:39 AM
Did somebody actually criticise the guy's speech impediment or have the people complaining about it actually just made that up?

25-11-2020, 09:49 AM
Did somebody actually criticise the guy's speech impediment or have the people complaining about it actually just made that up?

Looks like an assumption has been made and a few have jumped on it.

25-11-2020, 10:17 AM
With the size of Hearts 7 a side pitch it’s no surprise the groundsman found so much time to talk to the cameras.

25-11-2020, 08:46 PM

excellent post :top marks

McSwanky
25-11-2020, 08:56 PM
excellent post :top marksIt would be if anyone had actually taken the piss out of his speech impediment....

25-11-2020, 11:46 PM
My main observation from watching this, is that Hearts must have had considerable editing rights over the series prior to broadcasting. Even putting the green tinted specs to one side for a minute, last season was one from hell for jambos but somehow the series doesn't seem to capture that mood. Everything seems to have been upbeat and rosy in garden, with much of the process leading up to the eventual relegation brushed under the carpet/ignored by the BBC. A very poor reflection of events by the broadcaster.

There's also a clear attitude of arrogance displayed by many of the interviewees which although won't be a surprise to Hibernians, will be obvious to those outside the Edinburgh bubble. Definitely a display of 'we are the peepul' by the jambos similar to their West Coast cousins.

26-11-2020, 12:02 AM
It would be if anyone had actually taken the piss out of his speech impediment....

Perhaps the guy should have worded his post better then, because it wasn't exactly a stretch to think he was making a comment on the guys speech difficulties rather than what he was actually saying.

27-11-2020, 05:09 PM
Did this get a mention on the programme?

Levein - Hearts got relegated as Celtic were going for 9 in a row (http://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/news/craig-levein-claims-celtic-nine-in-a-row-push-influenced-hearts-relegation-as-he-insists-hoops-call-the-shots/ar-BB1bqiuH?ocid=AMZN)

04-12-2020, 07:47 AM
Did this get a mention on the programme?

Levein - Hearts got relegated as Celtic were going for 9 in a row (http://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/news/craig-levein-claims-celtic-nine-in-a-row-push-influenced-hearts-relegation-as-he-insists-hoops-call-the-shots/ar-BB1bqiuH?ocid=AMZN)

Nope. In fact they ducked almost all the bitterness and controversy as best they could. Budge was in friendly granny mode, not the increasingly deranged ranter we saw over the summer.

The third episode was the most disappointing of the lot, and it was just a very poor documentary series really. The team had the inside track on an incredible story with lots of drama and conflict - TV gold - and they just swept most of it aside. The final St Mirren game which was so pivotal to their season was basically ignored.

What I learned is that Hearts are an absolute shambles - even the most sympathetic edit couldn't hide that - and Jambos don't like eating vegetables because they are green.

04-12-2020, 07:55 AM
Was buzzing at the thought of this coming out and had planned to binge it in a sitting but after reading all the comments about it it's definitely getting swerved - how disappointing.

04-12-2020, 08:11 AM
You could do a guerilla documentary using press conferences, radio + TV interviews plus bits from their various statements. Call it the "The Real Hearts Story" . We must have some talented media fan that can do it.

04-12-2020, 09:11 AM
Was buzzing at the thought of this coming out and had planned to binge it in a sitting but after reading all the comments about it it's definitely getting swerved - how disappointing.

That's where I am too.

04-12-2020, 10:36 AM

Me too I have deleted the recordings without watching.

04-12-2020, 11:59 AM
Hearts seem to be run by strong women who keep their coats on indoors.

Maybe the heating's off to save cash.

Nice to see Greetin' Jim Jefferies looking trim and cheerful though.

EI255
04-12-2020, 12:07 PM
Damn. It's been repeated and I've STILL missed it.

Oh well [emoji6]

EI255
04-12-2020, 12:08 PM
Nice to see Greetin' Jim Jefferies looking trim and cheerful though.

Probably more cheerful than 0-7 at the same pad.

04-12-2020, 12:26 PM
Just watched all 3 - special mentions to Gary Locke playing David Brent almost as well as Ricky Gervais did and to Lee McCulloch’s teeth.

04-12-2020, 01:12 PM
How did it end?

Partyraiser
04-12-2020, 01:21 PM
How did it end?

They got relegated, about 6 times!

Rumble de Thump
04-12-2020, 02:08 PM
They didn't get relegated. They were excreted from the top flight.

04-12-2020, 05:34 PM
How did it end?

No idea. Stuck it out till about 20 minutes to go on final episode and gave up such was the dull viewing. Might catch up and finish it at some point, but it’s incredible that given the dramatic events of the season covered, the programme struggled to capture any of said drama. In what should have been a very watchable last episode it was just petering out and going nowhere and I’d lost any interest I’d had.
Unless the last 15-20 minutes built up to a dramatic finale, the whole thing was a bit of a waste of time. I’m sure Hearts fans must have felt the same. I don’t think anyone is really that more knowledgeable on what goes on behind the scenes at one of the bigger clubs in Scotland. Can’t see there being a clamour for a Season 2..

EI255
04-12-2020, 07:43 PM
How did the 0-7 game end?

[emoji848]

05-12-2020, 08:40 AM
I hope never to be able to verify that.
Would have spat out my coffee it that comment if I had been less of a lazy gig and got up to make some :)

05-12-2020, 08:41 AM
Damn. It's been repeated and I've STILL missed it.

Oh well [emoji6]

IPlayer?