View Full Version : Kemar Roofe Goal

StirlingHibee
24-10-2020, 04:31 PM
I know it's Rangers - but credit where credit's due, a wonderful goal! Got me thinking about the best goal I have ever seen live at Easter Road? First one that came to mind was Didier Agathe's goal v Dundee in 2000. If I remember right he ran from his own half, beating 4-5 players on the way before slipping the ball past Rab Douglas.

24-10-2020, 04:37 PM
Michael O’Neill’s volley against Motherwell in 1994

24-10-2020, 04:40 PM

https://youtu.be/dvgDNxueTtA?t=166

Worth seeing it again!

24-10-2020, 04:42 PM
https://youtu.be/dvgDNxueTtA?t=166

Worth seeing it again!

Crunchie to Harper to O’Neill.

And people thought Miller’s teams were boring :greengrin

Topographic Hibby
24-10-2020, 04:45 PM
For Kemar Roofe, read Chic Charnley

For Standard Liege, read Alloa Athletic

For Europa League, read Scottish League Cup group stages.

Roofe's was on TV and all over the internet - Charnley's was seen by around 7000 folk inside ER.

So essentially the same goal......but Chico's was still better.:greengrin

24-10-2020, 04:45 PM
Crunchie to Harper to O’Neill.

And people thought Miller’s teams were boring :greengrin

The first goal was a cracker too, the chest pass from Jackson was excellent.

24-10-2020, 04:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfnTEH8H7wQ

ACLeith
24-10-2020, 04:48 PM
All six on a certain evening 20 years ago

24-10-2020, 04:50 PM
Riordan v hearts from 35 yards.

Boyle scored a cracker v Livi a few seasons ago too.

24-10-2020, 04:53 PM
For Kemar Roofe, read Chic Charnley

For Standard Liege, read Alloa Athletic

For Europa League, read Scottish League Cup group stages.

Roofe's was on TV and all over the internet - Charnley's was seen by around 7000 folk inside ER.

So essentially the same goal......but Chico's was still better.:greengrin
Aye that was a peach. Think someone else tried one that almost scored format in a match shortly after.
I remember Ralph Callaghan scored an Archie Gemmil type goal that was a beauty but not sure who against.

24-10-2020, 04:54 PM
Probably Darren Jackson for the Scotland B team against NI at Easter Road

24-10-2020, 04:57 PM
Aye that was a peach. Think someone else tried one that almost scored format in a match shortly after.
I remember Ralph Callaghan scored an Archie Gemmil type goal that was a beauty but not sure who against.

Pat McGinlay did it in another game just after Chic’s. Think he was just inside the opposition half though. And he did score.

Ralphie’s goal was against Dundee in a 5-2 win. My sister has a Gilzean badge commemorating the feat.

24-10-2020, 04:59 PM
Pat McGinlay did it in another game just after Chic’s. Think he was just inside the opposition half though. And he did score.

Yep against Killie maybe?.....Charnley's was unbelievable, outside the centre circle in his own half

24-10-2020, 05:10 PM
Riordan's wrongly disallowed goal against Dundee in the 4 4 game at Easter road. Would've made it 5 1 iirc

JXM73
24-10-2020, 05:12 PM
Didnt a saint mirren player di one against us last tear?

I know it's Rangers - but credit where credit's due, a wonderful goal! Got me thinking about the best goal I have ever seen live at Easter Road? First one that came to mind was Didier Agathe's goal v Dundee in 2000. If I remember right he ran from his own half, beating 4-5 players on the way before slipping the ball past Rab Douglas.
It's so good it's mage it to America's CNN.

Malonga against Aberdeen remains as one of the best I have ever seen.

JoeT
24-10-2020, 05:18 PM
Probably Darren Jackson for the Scotland B team against NI at Easter Road

This is one of my favourites, trying to find it online but can't see it. Took it on his chest, turned and volleyed into the top corner from 30 yards?

Topographic Hibby
24-10-2020, 05:20 PM

Ralphie’s goal was against Dundee in a 5-2 win. My sister has a Gilzean badge commemorating the feat.The McGinlay goal was on TV highlights I think. Pat & Chic then done some acting up to the TV cameras in the celebration about whose goal was further out.

The Ralph goal was ridiculous. He beat around 5 players, some he beat twice as he weaved around and in the box. The Gilzean cartoon in The News on Monday had some nonsense about the 5 goals being the 80s equivalent of The Famous Five - nonsense as we got relegated at the end of that season!!!

Green Man
24-10-2020, 05:20 PM

Oh aye, that was a ridiculous strike.

24-10-2020, 05:23 PM

Adam Hammill

24-10-2020, 05:28 PM
First part of the video is poor quality but here's a (very young) David Beckham goal at Selhurst Park from just inside his own half.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4tVnpwp8d4

IMHO, better than Roofe's goal.

24-10-2020, 05:29 PM
This is one of my favourites, trying to find it online but can't see it. Took it on his chest, turned and volleyed into the top corner from 30 yards?

That's the one, I've never seen it again other than in person, over the years it's probably gotten better and better in my head than it actually was but it was a belter

24-10-2020, 05:31 PM
The McGinlay goal was on TV highlights I think. Pat & Chic then done some acting up to the TV cameras in the celebration about whose goal was further out.

The Ralph goal was ridiculous. He beat around 5 players, some he beat twice as he weaved around and in the box. The Gilzean cartoon in The News on Monday had some nonsense about the 5 goals being the 80s equivalent of The Famous Five - nonsense as we got relegated at the end of that season!!!

Aye, I remember it well. It was my first season as a boy following Hibs home and away. Some great times but the football was mainly of the pish variety. Georgie Boy brightened things up for a bit though 😀

24-10-2020, 06:28 PM

Ralphie’s goal was against Dundee in a 5-2 win. My sister has a Gilzean badge commemorating the feat.
My memory needed a reboot as now people have started talking about it I can now remember Pat scoring.:greengrin Wonder what other tricks my memory is playing on me.:worried:

24-10-2020, 06:34 PM
Michael Stewart’s volley , straight from the corner kick v Aberdeen.

24-10-2020, 06:37 PM
Boyle v Livingston.

24-10-2020, 06:55 PM
That's the one, I've never seen it again other than in person, over the years it's probably gotten better and better in my head than it actually was but it was a belter

I was there and can confirm it was absolute filth 😍

Silky
24-10-2020, 07:14 PM

That one for me I think. Absolute peach of a goal and O'Neill never even broke his stride to strike it. Jackson's in the Scotland B game and Riordan's strike against Hearts are next. Also, mention to Latapy in the 6-2 game. That was a belter as well

24-10-2020, 07:36 PM
It was some goal- almost as far out as Bobby Duncan against Napoli or maybe my memory is faulty:greengrin.

Joking apart I was at a game against Dunfermline in the late 50s-Hibs won 7-1and it could have been a lot more if the other four forwards hadn’ t spent the last 20 minutes trying to lay on a goal for Bobby Combe.Anyway in the first half with Hibs playing up the hill the Pars goalie came to the edge of the penalty area and wellied the ball down the left it had gone past the half way line still in the area and Willie McFarlane who was playing right -back took the ball on the drop and hit the bar from over 50 yards.

24-10-2020, 07:39 PM
After the goal I was telling my son about my trip to Liege and their extra time goal against us in the UEFA Cup. Unbelievably it was 31 years ago next week (31st Oct 1989)!!!!

https://youtu.be/R0OuGICi5GE

24-10-2020, 07:40 PM
I remember Chris Maguire scoring from inside his own half in an u21 game against Iceland at ER only for Gylfi Sigurdsson to bang in two 35 yarders in response.

eezyrider
24-10-2020, 07:51 PM

Pat McGinlay's goal was in the opposition half and down the slope. Chic's was in his own half up the slope. No cameras there at the time. Both amazing though.

EZ

24-10-2020, 08:17 PM
https://twitter.com/bathgatethistle/status/1320079802733244416?s=19

Bathgate thistle goal the day.

KingPat4
24-10-2020, 08:19 PM
Hun goal was a fluke. Credit them nothing.

McSwanky
24-10-2020, 10:53 PM
Michael Stewart’s volley , straight from the corner kick v Aberdeen.Shinned it. Sauzee's was much better. [emoji16]

I'll never tire of seeing Wee Russell's goal in the 6-2 game. That was something special. Too many Riordan crackers to mention as well.

24-10-2020, 11:24 PM
Prefer this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0W9S2jpygBA

25-10-2020, 07:42 AM
Andy Goram vs Morton