View Full Version : Lewis’s injury seems bad
Bobby Moore
24-10-2020, 04:08 PM
Seen a tweet saying he had a moon boot on after being taken off!
24-10-2020, 04:10 PM
mind games:greengrin
24-10-2020, 04:14 PM
Ah *****. Hopefully it's just a precaution, but if that's true, it looks like it'll be a big moment for Doig at Hampden.
We couldn't ask for a better LCB to help guide him through it.
Wishing Lewis a full and swift recovery. So rarely inured.
24-10-2020, 04:26 PM
Sickner for Lewis but Josh will be just fine
24-10-2020, 04:27 PM
He was having a very good game today also.
wee Stevie
24-10-2020, 04:31 PM
Hopefully OK for next week, need his experience against that lot
24-10-2020, 04:36 PM
He had bother with his foot and was given no chance of making the Ross County match.
Not saying it is the same foot but might be precautionary.
murray26
24-10-2020, 04:41 PM
We’ll miss him next week no doubt about that.. big blow.
24-10-2020, 05:21 PM
We’ll miss him next week no doubt about that.. big blow.
Nobody’s said he’s out yet. Let’s see how it pans out.
24-10-2020, 05:35 PM
Seen a tweet saying he had a moon boot on after being taken off!
Dikamona has a bad injury. Stevenson has a minor injury. Might miss a few weeks but no bigee.
24-10-2020, 05:36 PM
Diamond has a bad injury. Boyle has a minor injury. Might miss a few weeks but no bigee.
Boyle? Ffs
murray26
24-10-2020, 05:37 PM
So is that Boyle and Lewis doubts..? **** if true.
24-10-2020, 05:38 PM
Boyle? Ffs
I mean Stevenson :confused:
Sorry guys
Although Powers nasty professional foul on Martin after 40 minutes was a sore one
24-10-2020, 05:56 PM
Really hope Lewis is fit for next week. Doig is the future but for that game I’d rather have Lewis’ experience.
24-10-2020, 05:58 PM
IMO Stevenson was a cert to start at Hampden. I didn't see much of the Hertz game last night, but against Dundee their right winger looked a real handful with a bit of pace and trickery about him, exactly the sort of player young Doige doesn't need to be up against.
The up side is that Doige is better going forward, so all we need to do is ensure they have to worry about him bombing down the left rather than be able to target him, which they will surely want to.
24-10-2020, 06:00 PM
So is that Boyle and Lewis doubts..? **** if true.
Fill your glass, it’s half empty and calm yersel.
IMO Stevenson was a cert to start at Hampden. I didn't see much of the Hertz game last night, but against Dundee their right winger looked a real handful with a bit of pace and trickery about him, exactly the sort of player young Doige doesn't need to be up against.
The up side is that Doige is better going forward, so all we need to do is ensure they have to worry about him bombing down the left rather than be able to target him, which they will surely want to.
I agree, think Lewis would have been pencilled in for the starting eleven next week.
Good opportunity for Dougie to show he can deal with a big game, though.
Stonewall
Sickner for Lewis but Josh will be just fine
I’m sure Josh will feel he’s got something to prove too.
Don’t underestimate that.
24-10-2020, 06:05 PM
I remember a League Cup final 13 years ago where a young, fairly unknown player got motm.
Doig will do just fine
ACLeith
24-10-2020, 06:07 PM
Watching the game on ALBA he seemed to do it right on half time challenging the high ball and landed awkward. He did walk off so maybe it was just a precaution?
24-10-2020, 06:11 PM
I remember a League Cup final 13 years ago where a young, fairly unknown player got motm.
Doig will do just fine
Indeed. Hearts chucked Hicky in for a cup final. A year later he moved for big money.
Doig has been our best left back this season. He should play.
24-10-2020, 06:16 PM
People writing Lewis off at their peril...hes a hardy wee soul i would not be surprised in the slightest if he's fit for the weekend
24-10-2020, 06:18 PM
I agree, think Lewis would have been pencilled in for the starting eleven next week.
Good opportunity for Dougie to show he can deal with a big game, though.
I’m sure Josh will feel he’s got something to prove too.
Don’t underestimate that.
Doig will do just fine
In spite of what I said I don't disagree, Young Doige from what he has shown so far has the potential to be a super player for us. I'm certainly not having a go at him, of all the positions on the pitch experience probably counts more than some others when it comes to playing left or right back, especially in the modern era of overlapping backs where its so easy to be caught out of position.
For all the worry I have about his inexperience I'm also not against the idea that this kid has a MOM performance in him when its needed.
24-10-2020, 06:25 PM
The winger Ginelli who played well against Dundee got taken off with what looked like a bad injury last night and is doubtful for next week
24-10-2020, 06:33 PM
The winger Ginelli who played well against Dundee got taken off with what looked like a bad injury last night and is doubtful for next week
I cant say I'm sad about that, he looked a decent player against Dundee. Having said that, this is bloody Hertz we are talking about so I fully expect him to be fit as a butchers dug be next Friday night, especially if it looks like Lewis is out.
24-10-2020, 06:37 PM
People writing Lewis off at their peril...hes a hardy wee soul i would not be surprised in the slightest if he's fit for the weekend
Agree with this :agree:
24-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Doig, apparently, weakens us defensively. But we’ve only lost goals, from open play, against Rangers and Celtic when he’s been on the pitch. More likely to be on the front foot with him in the team, I’d have played him next week regardless .
That said, hope Lewis is OK.
24-10-2020, 06:53 PM
Doig, apparently, weakens us defensively. But we’ve only lost goals, from open play, against Rangers and Celtic when he’s been on the pitch. More likely to be on the front foot with him in the team, I’d have played him next week regardless .
That said, hope Lewis is OK.
We've only conceded 5 goals against teams that are not Celtic and Rangers. How many of them are from open play?
I don't think you can say as we have not conceded from open play with him the team we are not weaker defensively. I think it's fairly clear he is weaker than Stevenson defensively at the moment.
Let’s not worry about if Lewis is fit or not , remember there was a semi not that long ago where we were desperate to have our first choice goalie ... and we know how that went
24-10-2020, 07:54 PM
I cant say I'm sad about that, he looked a decent player against Dundee. Having said that, this is bloody Hertz we are talking about so I fully expect him to be fit as a butchers dug be next Friday night, especially if it looks like Lewis is out.
The ice cream man looked really hacked off when he was forced off against Arbroath. Would be extremely surprised if he played next week. Looked like a hamstring/groin/achilles type injury.
24-10-2020, 07:57 PM
Let’s not worry about if Lewis is fit or not , remember there was a semi not that long ago where we were desperate to have our first choice goalie ... and we know how that went
Can't think what game you are on about. 😁 Any clues.
24-10-2020, 07:58 PM
More than comfortable with Doig playing in the semi.
24-10-2020, 08:02 PM
More than comfortable with Doig playing in the semi.
Not sure why. Great prospect but nowhere near as good at defending as Lewis. Was worried every time they attacked down that side after Stevenson went off.
In a derby environment, I worry about Doig starting.
24-10-2020, 08:05 PM
Not sure why. Great prospect but nowhere near as good at defending as Lewis. Was worried every time they attacked down that side after Stevenson went off.
Doig needs to experience the big games. He has the ability just needs the experience. He's the future.
24-10-2020, 08:08 PM
Doig needs to experience the big games. He has the ability just needs the experience.
Plenty big games to experience in a league environment. Old firm and Aberdeen home and away x2.
Would be starting Stevenson every time in a derby. Be weaker if he can't start. Genuinely worried about them targeting Doig.
24-10-2020, 08:15 PM
Plenty big games to experience in a league environment. Old firm and Aberdeen home and away x2.
Would be starting Stevenson every time in a derby. Be weaker if he can't start. Genuinely worried about them targeting Doig.
We haven’t been weaker with Doig for most of the season though. Big part of our improvement.
24-10-2020, 08:15 PM
It's not going to be a Derby environment though.
24-10-2020, 08:17 PM
It's not going to be a Derby environment though.
It's a derby though. Fans or no fans, it's a derby. And I'd prefer Stevenson over Doig for that game.
24-10-2020, 08:19 PM
We haven’t been weaker with Doig for most of the season though. Big part of our improvement.
I think Doig has a lot of potential. But there's no way he should start over Stevenson in the big games right now when both are available (which might not be the case in the semi right enough)
24-10-2020, 08:26 PM
We've only conceded 5 goals against teams that are not Celtic and Rangers. How many of them are from open play?
I don't think you can say as we have not conceded from open play with him the team we are not weaker defensively. I think it's fairly clear he is weaker than Stevenson defensively at the moment.
According to my good man Brooster, it’s only one goal and that was an OG from Porteous.
24-10-2020, 08:30 PM
No wonder we have struggled to develop players recently when we're absolutely terrified to play a really good prospect against a championship side. If we're going to lose to Hearts it won't be doigs fault. It will be the teams fault.
Hearts would not be terrified of playing a promising young player. Doig has played well against better players than Hearts have. If Lewis isn't fit, Josh will do just fine.
24-10-2020, 08:35 PM
No wonder we have struggled to develop players recently when we're absolutely terrified to play a really good prospect against a championship side. If we're going to lose to Hearts it won't be doigs fault. It will be the teams fault.
Hearts would not be terrified of playing a promising young player. Doig has played well against better players than Hearts have. If Lewis isn't fit, Josh will do just fine.
Play good prospects when they're ready to be played.
Personally think it's way too early for Doig to be a regular starter in our team. Isn't good enough defensively or positinally.
24-10-2020, 08:37 PM
Personally think it's way too early for Doig to be a regular starter in our team. Isn't good enough defensively or positinally.
He’s been a big part of the best performing Hibs team, league wise, for a long time. We must be better than I thought, if we’ve been a man down all that time.
Not good enough defensively. What about our defensive record?
24-10-2020, 08:38 PM
Lewis has been fit all season and Ross still went with Doig. He obviously believes him ready.
It's definitely not way too early considering how well he has done in most games.
24-10-2020, 08:42 PM
I agree with this post entirely.
A lot of posts are about what Hearts are going to do to Doig and not about what Doig can offer us.
We should have a bit more faith in our player.
24-10-2020, 08:44 PM
He’s been a big part of the best performing Hibs team, league wise, for a long time. We must be better than I thought, if we’ve been a man down all that time.
Not good enough defensively. What about our defensive record?
Doig is a fantastic prospect. And I'd never say we're a man down when he's on. That would be a ridiculous statement.
But teams definitely target him, and he gets beat a lot more than Stevenson does. Which is to be expected for his age and experience. Which is exactly my point. Stevenson is still out best left back. And should start when available.
24-10-2020, 08:46 PM
But teams definitely target him
Aye, but how’s it went for them?
24-10-2020, 08:48 PM
Aye, but how’s it went for them?
Just cause we haven't conceded after a defender is beat doesn't take away from the fact they've got by him.
24-10-2020, 09:09 PM
Just cause we haven't conceded after a defender is beat doesn't take away from the fact they've got by him.
So no very well then?
I think it’s worth remembering why Doig started the season in the team.
24-10-2020, 09:11 PM
So no very well then?
Might also be worth remembering why Stevenson was brought back in to start. Doig was fully fit at the time.
h1bs4life
24-10-2020, 09:13 PM
Hopefully Stevenson ok but would go with Doig.
Stevenson is fine against the Old Firm when you are on the back foot but teams are quite happy to see him on the ball as usually he goes inside or back to Hanlon.
Doig likes to get forward and I would like us pushing forward as much as we can next week let them worry about us.
There winger pulled up with nobody near him so unlikely to be fit even if he is let him worry about stopping Doig
24-10-2020, 09:15 PM
Doig is a fantastic prospect. And I'd never say we're a man down when he's on. That would be a ridiculous statement.
But teams definitely target him, and he gets beat a lot more than Stevenson does. Which is to be expected for his age and experience. Which is exactly my point. Stevenson is still out best left back. And should start when available.
In the last derby Hearts targeted Stevenson. They overloaded our right to nullify Boyle knowing Stevenson wouldn’t harm them offensively, and unfortunately it worked to perfection that might.
If teams have targeted Doig then it’s not been very effective and I’m happy for them to continue to do so. He did as well as Stevenson today up against one of the best wingers in the league in Burke. The team isn’t any weaker for Doig playing and the league table and goals against testifies to that. Would prefer Doig’s energy and drive but won’t lose any sleep as to whichever of the two play next week.
24-10-2020, 09:15 PM
So no very well then?
Apparently we've conceded 1 goal, an OG, from open play all season in the league outwith Celtic and Rangers. If true it kinda makes me your earlier point mute.
24-10-2020, 09:23 PM
In the last derby Hearts targeted Stevenson. They overloaded our right to nullify Boyle knowing Stevenson wouldn’t harm them offensively, and unfortunately it worked to perfection that might.
If teams have targeted Doig then it’s not been very effective and I’m happy for them to continue to do so. He did as well as Stevenson today up against one of the best wingers in the league in Burke. The team isn’t any weaker for Doig playing and the league table and goals against testifies to that. Would prefer Doig’s energy and drive but won’t lose any sleep as to whichever of the two play next week.
The March game? When their goals came from a penalty and two attacks down our right? Unsure how that's targeting Stevenson.
24-10-2020, 09:25 PM
Might also be worth remembering why Stevenson was brought back in to start. Doig was fully fit at the time.
The main change, defensively this season, has been Doig replacing Stevenson. The others were
Given the improvement defensively, I totally disagree with the ‘Stevenson is better defensively’ view. That isn’t really the a criticism of Stevenson but I think anything else devalues the contribution of Doig.
24-10-2020, 09:27 PM
Apparently we've conceded 1 goal, an OG, from open play all season in the league outwith Celtic and Rangers. If true it kinda makes me your earlier point mute.
I’m no sure what you mean here. What point is mute?
24-10-2020, 09:29 PM
I’m no sure what you mean here. What point is mute?
Neither. It's moot😁
24-10-2020, 09:29 PM
Lewis has been very god since his return. I hope he is fit and starts. If he isn't it is great to know we actually have a back up for a change. Doid looks a great prospect but at the moment he is still our number 2 number 3 imo
24-10-2020, 09:30 PM
The March game? When their goals came from a penalty and two attacks down our right? Unsure how that's targeting Stevenson.
Yes, that game. Hearts strangled the game and looked like they had an extra player as they gave up their right hand side, our left, as weren’t overly worried about our attacking threat from the left. Nullified Boyle and won the midfield. No player got pass marks that night so not blaming Stevenson for the defeat but I had to give Stendel grudging respect that night.
Was just an example of other ways we can be targeted. My general point is that if teams are targeting Doig they’re not very successful at it as our results, league place and goals against shows. We’re not particularly any weaker defensively when Doig plays IMO.
24-10-2020, 09:31 PM
The main change, defensively this season, has been Doig replacing Stevenson. The others were
Given the improvement defensively, I totally disagree with the ‘Stevenson is better defensively’ view. That isn’t really the a criticism of Stevenson but I think anything else devalues the contribution of Doig.
I think Doig will 100% be Stevenson's long term replacement and he isn't an imposter like the countless other players before him.
I'm also not saying I think he's bad at defending, or positionally. All I'm saying is I think Stevenson is better at those parts of the game. And with a game as massive as a semi final derby I'd feel much more comfortable if Stevenson started.
So if it's coming across as I think Doig is rank, then it's honestly far from that. Just not sure he's ready to start big games yet.
Obviously if he does start I hope he scores a hat-trick and assists another five.
24-10-2020, 09:33 PM
Turned into a bit of a *****y thread hasn’t it? A full squad would be a good thing next week Im certain of that.
24-10-2020, 09:36 PM
I think Doig will 100% be Stevenson's long term replacement and he isn't an imposter like the countless other players before him.
I'm also not saying I think he's bad at defending, or positionally. All I'm saying is I think Stevenson is better at those parts of the game. And with a game as massive as a semi final derby I'd feel much more comfortable if Stevenson started.
So if it's coming across as I think Doig is rank, then it's honestly far from that. Just not sure he's ready to start big games yet.
Obviously if he does start I hope he scores a hat-trick and assists another five.
I’m not saying that you are being overly critical of Doig. But I don’t think our defensive record, or results, show that Stevenson is much better at the things you mention.
I think it was very obvious, at Parkhead, that Doig needed to come off and it was good that Lewis could come on and he did well. But I also think Doig has improved us in a position that needed improved, based on last season.
24-10-2020, 09:40 PM
I’m not saying that you are being overly critical of Doig. But I don’t think our defensive record, or results, show that Stevenson is much better at the things you mention.
I think it was very obvious, at Parkhead, that Doig needed to come off and it was good that Lewis could come on and he did well. But I also think Doig has improved us in a position that needed improved, based on last season.
Definitely.
And competition for places is always healthy. Especially in a position we've been lacking that in for a number of years.
Hope Lewis is ok. Doug is great talent and gives us more drive forward, Lewis is tighter defensively. Pros and cons.
25-10-2020, 07:29 AM
Hope Lewis is ok. Doug is great talent and gives us more drive forward, Lewis is tighter defensively. Pros and cons.
I agree. Lewis is definitely more defensive minded. Josh is better going forward and is quicker. In the two games I've seen Hearts they look poor defensively. I'd be inclined to play Josh even if Lewis was fit.
25-10-2020, 07:37 AM
Lewis had a good half yesterday and Doig has impressed me so far this season.
It’s not a position I’m worried about. None are.
It’ll be a tough game but we’re in good shape for it.
25-10-2020, 07:41 AM
I think you mean 'moot'.
(you're welcome)
26-10-2020, 01:57 PM
Ffs, its a championship team that got expungigated cos they were crap and were absolute useless against Arbroath, and were worrying Doig might not be upto it, come on.
26-10-2020, 04:23 PM
Stevenson, Boyle, Newell and McGinn all going to miss semi-final through injury
😉😉😉...
26-10-2020, 04:56 PM
I would play Stevenson against Rangers, Celtic & Aberdeen.
I would play Doig against all other Scottish teams including the current Hearts team.
So Doig for Saturday
26-10-2020, 05:17 PM
I would play Stevenson against Rangers, Celtic & Aberdeen.
I would play Doig against all other Scottish teams including the current Hearts team.
So Doig for Saturday
I think you simply go for your best team and those on form. Lewis if fit has the jersey for now, regardless of opposition.
If injured, absolutely, Doig comes in. Otherwise, can only see Josh starting in the game v Dundee in the LC at home. The other added advantage if Lewis is injured is Josh having played regularly on the Hampden pitch when at Queen's Park. I'm comfortable with either but prefer Lewis for the semi final given his experience of the fixture.