View Full Version : Redundancy

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 02:06 PM
Hi all, hope to get some words of wisdom from anyone that has went through redundancy before, I have just been put at risk from a company in financial services after 15 years with the company, my worry is that having two young kids is my biggest fear in providing and getting another job in today's world, my head is a bit of a mess the now is an understatement, I have great support from my family which is making it a bit easier but those worries are still in my head, it may be a good thing as it may let me explore other things I have wanted to do. So how did you deal with it?

22-10-2020, 02:14 PM
I'm going through the process at work at the moment. It's an ongoing consultation process currently. Tbh the waiting is the worst part, if I'm going I'd rather just know and be able to process things.

I've not been dealing with it particularly well. I worry about providing for my family as I'm the only full time wage coming in. I've tried to get as much information as possible about my rights, what I'm entitled to and so on.

I've never been out of work before so it's potentially new territory for me. Hopefully thinks work out for you as the uncertainity is a total head ****.

22-10-2020, 02:16 PM
Hi all, hope to get some words of wisdom from anyone that has went through redundancy before, I have just been put at risk from a company in financial services after 15 years with the company, my worry is that having two young kids is my biggest fear in providing and getting another job in today's world, my head is a bit of a mess the now is an understatement, I have great support from my family which is making it a bit easier but those worries are still in my head, it may be a good thing as it may let me explore other things I have wanted to do. So how did you deal with it?

I was made redundant earlier this year due to covid. It's a worrying time but what I would say is there are other jobs out there however the likelihood is the salary may be lower than what you are used to (I'm guessing with 15 years service however your redundancy payment may offset that slightly).

Since I was made redundant in June I've had two jobs (my current one and the other I lasted 2 days in as it was a disaster) and turned down the option to interview at another by a recruitment company.

If you are sharp and have decent experience I'd say you have a good chance of finding other employment fairly soon but be prepared for a drop in salary.

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 02:33 PM
Thanks guys, yeah getting a decent amount for redundancy so that ease my fears a little bit, I'm in the same boat always worked and never been without employment in 25 years, I'm also the main provider and having two kids under 7 is my main priority, would hate to be without work and hopefully find something right away and as you have said I would be more than willing to work for less money than what I am on just to have that stability in my life, I do appreciate hearing others feedback and experiences, I knew I would get good advice coming on here

22-10-2020, 02:43 PM
With 15 years service (even with statutory redundancy pay) you shouldn’t be in a position where you need to panic about not being able to pay the bills or put food on the table immediately, hopefully. That should buy you a bit time at least.

There are definitely jobs out there, I wouldn’t be unduly worried about not being able to get employment. Would echo the comments above about salary expectations though. What I would say is that, although I’ve managed to avoid being made redundant for the moment, I have had to move to a four day week (temporary 20% pay cut). In the current climate I’ve not felt under pressure financially. Not because I earn a fortune, just because a lot of the things I normally spend money on aren’t there to spend money on!

Having been made redundant twice before, I’ve just assumed that I would be going from the moment that I got put at risk. Last time, I had a couple of job offers before I was confirmed as going. Appreciate it’s a different climate at the moment, but getting on the front foot with the job hunt worked for me.

22-10-2020, 02:47 PM
I went through redundancy 10 years ago and retrained to be a teacher - best thing that even happened to me.

My world literally collapsed when I was made redundant. Looking back, and I know it’s easy to say, it was the best thing that happened to me.

22-10-2020, 02:57 PM
Only advice I’d have would be to get something ASAP. Literally anything, even if it’s working in a supermarket, fast food, whatever. It can keep some structure in your life and also means you just need to ‘top up’ your wage from your redundancy payment rather than use it to cover a full month without wages.

Hopefully you keep your job but if not then hopefully you’ll manage to get something that you fancy ASAP

22-10-2020, 03:00 PM
I've been made redundant twice.

First time was a bit of a nightmare: 2 wee kids, my wife wasn't working at the time, took me 3 months to get another job and I had to commute to the Weedge for a year for less money before I found something back in Edinburgh. Stress all round.

Second time worked out fine as the job market (software dev) was much healthier at the time. I got a few offers, ended up in a better job for more money and banked the redundancy. Happy days.

My advice would be to be proactive. If your current employer offers support by all means use it but don't rely on it, ime it can be a box-ticking, fairly useless thing on their part. Set aside a good chunk of time per day for job hunting activity. Even if you're not getting immediate results, it gives you some structure and focus. Get in touch with friends, ex-colleagues, etc there might be something they know of you can get a head start on.

Good luck!

22-10-2020, 03:01 PM
I was made redundant at the end of July due to the Covid situation. It was not unexpected as I realised as soon as the pandemic struck that my role at head office level in the hospitality sector would be in danger.
It’s been a challenge both financially and mentally but now I am about to open a new business venture with a colleague made redundant from the same employer.
It has been the push we both needed to go it alone and we are relishing the challenge ahead.

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 03:01 PM
That's my plan to get looking straight away, may try to get out of finance altogether and retrain on something completely different.

I really fancy a change and as you say H18 SFR it may be a blessing and could be the best thing that has happened to me

I felt a bit of a failure telling my wife and family as I have never experienced this before but they have been amazing

Bigger problems going on in the world so thank you for giving me your ear

22-10-2020, 03:08 PM
I've never been made redundant but have worked in offices where it's happened around me (I've just been fortunate to have been in the right place at the right time to not be directly impacted), and I've had my role made redundant but just been shifted to an equivalent role.

What I would say though, is that nobody I know from those times who was made redundant has looked back on it as anything other than a positive in the long run, they all went on to different things (everything from using their redundancy to set up their own business, to doing what they did already but with a new employer, or taking a totally different career path through things like nursing and teaching). In fact, my sister was made redundant a while back and was able to find a similar job but also started really getting into acting, which she's brilliant at and is loving.

Clearly, the circumstances were different, but if you keep an open mind as to where your next move could be, you might find that rather than being a huge cloud over you, it takes you somewhere you would never have thought you'd be without the forced situation.

The last thing I would say is don't ever look upon it as being a failure or somehow your fault, this is a situation that has been totally out of our control - you don't have to feel guilty about it or embarrassed.

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 03:10 PM
There is loads in place with the work from redeployment to CV writing so will take advantage where I can, also no job is beneath me as long as I feel as I am contributing some way, I honestly feel much better now than I did a few hours ago

22-10-2020, 04:09 PM
That's my plan to get looking straight away, may try to get out of finance altogether and retrain on something completely different.

I really fancy a change and as you say H18 SFR it may be a blessing and could be the best thing that has happened to me

I felt a bit of a failure telling my wife and family as I have never experienced this before but they have been amazing

Bigger problems going on in the world so thank you for giving me your ear

I can relate to the challenge of telling your close friends and family - I’d just add, you’ve not failed in any way of shape you’re simply a victim of the pandemic.

Keep focusing on the positives.

When it was me 10 years ago I immediately paid off my car loan, overdraft and credit commitments. It made me feel much happier knowing I only had my mortgage. It helped me to relax and plan out what I wanted to do next.

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 04:45 PM
I can relate to the challenge of telling your close friends and family - I’d just add, you’ve not failed in any way of shape you’re simply a victim of the pandemic.

Keep focusing on the positives.

When it was me 10 years ago I immediately paid off my car loan, overdraft and credit commitments. It made me feel much happier knowing I only had my mortgage. It helped me to relax and plan out what I wanted to do next.

Thank you, you must have made a good move in becoming a teacher, definitely have put my mind at ease, thank you all for the kind words an led advice, means a lot.

22-10-2020, 04:53 PM
The threat of redundancy has hung over me at least half a dozen times and thankfully I've always been kept on, strange feeling when you survive the cull but friends don't.

Strange thing for me is they are due at our company again but my fear has turned into hope. With being 60yo and 30 years service I will volunteer as I would get 80 weeks pay and it would save a compulsory.

22-10-2020, 05:49 PM
Been through the process twice. First time (pre-family/kids) I stuck it out through the 'consultation process', hoping the union involved might negotiate some sort of deal but they were pretty powerless/useless and it became pretty clear our jobs were doomed. Second time was after we'd had kids so I applied immediately (and was accepted) for the voluntary redundancy package on offer which gave me a few months of breathing space to retrain at college and embark on a different path.

As others have said, if it's looking like you may not find work in the field you're in for while (and in these horribly uncertain times I guess that's a strong possibility) it might make sense to find some sort of paid employment asap. My brother in law was in a similar boat a wee while back and got a job as a supermarket delivery driver while a former colleage worked on a bin lorry - doesn't sound too glamorous but he actually loved it and enjoyed 'working the streets' so much he's ended up as a postie (which involves a lot more training than some might realise). On the flip side I know another dad who's still in a kind of denial that he won't find a similarly well paid job despite having lost his previous one well over a year ago and refuses to contemplate a change of status. It's made him a difficult person to be around.

ACLeith
22-10-2020, 06:35 PM
I was made redundant more than 25 years ago, as it was so long ago I hadn’t thought of commenting. But all the positive comments have chimed with my experience back then.

I am now retired but looking back at the varied work life I have had since then I am glad it happened to me. The company I worked for had been taken over by people who turned out to be crooks so them not wanting me in their company was one if the best compliments I gave ever received.

What I am trying (poorly) to say is that how you respond and look back on redundancy can really be a positive though it can be tough at the time. Stay positive, it really does help

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 07:15 PM
Cheers everyone, that's it, just have to remain positive now, feels better getting it all of my chest, to all those that are going through the same experience I hope that you all have a good outcome and hope better things are just around the corner

wallpaperman
22-10-2020, 07:48 PM
Have sent you a PM Jakhog, feel free to ignore if no help.

22-10-2020, 08:19 PM
I’ve also been put into a consultation for redundancy, second time in 2 year, it’s really stressing me out tbh.

I've been there 11 years, the pay out would be reasonable but not massive, but all things being equal I’d rather still be in a job, given all the circumstances. In a perfect world I’d find a similar job with similar salary (or better :greengrin) and get the redundancy package, but I’d be happy to have the stability of staying in employment rather than unemployed and trying to find another job, with a 1 year old and mortgage etc.

Jakhog1
22-10-2020, 08:59 PM
Have sent you a PM Jakhog, feel free to ignore if no help.

Thank you, sent reply

22-10-2020, 11:04 PM
We're just finishing off redundancy negotiations. Originally there were 738 from 1590 on the chopping block, but thanks to the furlough scheme we've managed to put off making any redundancies until at least 31.12.2021. We agreed on a voluntary redundancy scheme for those that want to leave now. Using the factors that we've agreed upon for voluntary redundancy I could walk out the door with a little over 2 years salary. I'm seriously considering it and using the money to make a career change. I'm thinking of doing an HGV driving course with a dangerous goods certificate and throwing in a forklift truck license whilst I'm at it. Having worked in the airline industry for 16 years now I just want a job where I have little or no contact with the general public. I've got 10 days to make up my mind.

RitchieHibs
22-10-2020, 11:19 PM
Heartbreaking to hear of the real life stories of Hi bees potentially put on the dole scrapheap. It happened to a heck of a lot of good folk in the seventies and eighties. Hundreds of thousands of manual workers deliberately put on the dole to make way for electronic finance. It almost makes me think this has also deliberately been done by the already rich well off illuminati who have betted on/counted on a robotic less human resource future. The b stard jambo anderson springs to mind making billions for the already super rich gunts. They're alledgedly opening up an office in Haymarket so easy to protest against if so.

Lets hope and pray to God its not been and we will find a way for the workforce to rise again. However, it certainly appears to be a supra national conspiracy.

23-10-2020, 12:14 AM
Heartbreaking to hear of the real life stories of Hi bees potentially put on the dole scrapheap. It happened to a heck of a lot of good folk in the seventies and eighties. Hundreds of thousands of manual workers deliberately put on the dole to make way for electronic finance. It almost makes me think this has also deliberately been done by the already rich well off illuminati who have betted on/counted on a robotic less human resource future. The b stard jambo anderson springs to mind making billions for the already super rich gunts. They're alledgedly opening up an office in Haymarket so easy to protest against if so.

Lets hope and pray to God its not been and we will find a way for the workforce to rise again. However, it certainly appears to be a supra national conspiracy.

You have a slightly confused view of what Anderson does and the benefits to society of properly allocated capital.

As it is anyone could have bought into Scottish Mortgage for the time he has run it. For decades Baillie Gifford offered a free share plan where amounts of as little as £25pm could be regularly invested.

So suggesting that only super rich gunts have or can benefit from his expertise and knowledge says more about you than it does about him I’m afraid.

RitchieHibs
23-10-2020, 12:26 AM
You have a slightly confused view of what Anderson does and the benefits to society of properly allocated capital.

As it is anyone could have bought into Scottish Mortgage for the time he has run it. For decades Baillie Gifford offered a free share plan where amounts of as little as £25pm could be regularly invested.

So suggesting that only super rich gunts have or can benefit from his expertise and knowledge says more about you than it does about him I’m afraid.

Him, Anderson jambo and super rich gunts like him have decimated communities, decade after decade. They are completely devoid of human consequence in their pursuit of coin. They are only interested in rewarding themselves and those like them. You're way off the mark sunbeam. God bless you though. We'll catch up with the gunts no doubt. Independence will out these charlatans.

23-10-2020, 12:42 AM
Him, Anderson jambo and super rich gunts like him have decimated communities, decade after decade. They are completely devoid of human consequence in their pursuit of coin. They are only interested in rewarding themselves and those like them. You're way off the mark sunbeam. God bless you though. We'll catch up with the gunts no doubt. Independence will out these charlatans.

Are you ok?

RitchieHibs
23-10-2020, 01:02 AM
Are you ok?

Brand new Matty.

Nae worries pal. Just a few auld boils to lance against an auld enemy that never forgets nor do I.

Cheers mate.

Erin Go Brath and Bonnie Scotland.

23-10-2020, 07:45 AM

Righty ho then! [emoji23]

I’ll let this thread stay on topic rather than bother replying in any detail to that steaming pile of a post.

23-10-2020, 07:51 AM

Very bizarre. I hope James Anderson is also investing in tin foil hat manufacturers!

23-10-2020, 07:53 AM
We're just finishing off redundancy negotiations. Originally there were 738 from 1590 on the chopping block, but thanks to the furlough scheme we've managed to put off making any redundancies until at least 31.12.2021. We agreed on a voluntary redundancy scheme for those that want to leave now. Using the factors that we've agreed upon for voluntary redundancy I could walk out the door with a little over 2 years salary. I'm seriously considering it and using the money to make a career change. I'm thinking of doing an HGV driving course with a dangerous goods certificate and throwing in a forklift truck license whilst I'm at it. Having worked in the airline industry for 16 years now I just want a job where I have little or no contact with the general public. I've got 10 days to make up my mind.

Personally I'd be jumping at that but everyone has their own circumstances to consider.

All the best

23-10-2020, 07:56 AM

Interesting what you say about working with the public.

I must admit, I’m finding it harder than ever to satisfy the public. We have our core regulars who know and are happy with our offering but I’m starting to get really fed up trying to satisfy impossible demands - and being held to ransom with the “if you don’t do what we say we’ll go online and give you a bad google review.”

I think I need a job where I’m locked away in a room with as little human interaction as possible.

23-10-2020, 08:22 AM
Personally I'd be jumping at that but everyone has their own circumstances to consider.

All the best

Yep, I wish my work would make me redundant with two years salary as a pay off.

23-10-2020, 08:38 AM
Righty ho then! [emoji23]

I’ll let this thread stay on topic rather than bother replying in any detail to that steaming pile of a post.

Yes best not to feed it.

Another thing I will say about redundancy is that in a strange way I felt like a massive weight had been lifted from my shoulders. The job had begun to drag me down without me really realising.

23-10-2020, 08:55 AM

All the best

Thanks Speedy. I realise I'm in a fortunate position and hope others manage to get their futures secured.

23-10-2020, 09:16 AM
Yes best not to feed it.

Another thing I will say about redundancy is that in a strange way I felt like a massive weight had been lifted from my shoulders. The job had begun to drag me down without me really realising.

This is how I felt when made redundant 11 years ago. Looking back, I realised that when the possibility first became real I had gone through the usual reactions - shock, denial, anger, depression - before landing on acceptance. I had around 9 months between being told we were being taken over and the point at which my redundancy was confirmed, and I spent a lot of that time working in the new company which gave me a real insight into their culture, values and working practices. That let me appreciate that the company I'd worked for for 25+ years was effectively dead and realise that the new company's values were a world apart from mine. So over nine months, I went from thinking redundancy would be the worst thing to knowing it would be the best thing. Financially I will never get back to where I was, but still glad I took it and more than happy with how things worked out, all things considered.

23-10-2020, 09:27 AM
Not in anyway similar to your situation, in so much as I was at an age where I had no children or mortgage to worry about, but redundancy was the best thing that happened to me.

I was with a company from 16 - 24, and it was all I'd ever known work wise. Got made redundant and picked up a couple of short term jobs to keep me ticking over. Found something I really liked doing and used the a couple of the startup organisations that were kicking about in the early '90s to start a business. Don't get me wrong, the early days were a real struggle, and I had weeks of living off beans on toast, but it's all worked out and I'm now doing quite well in a job that I love doing.

I'd say have a really good think about what you'd like to do, rather than who will give me a job.

23-10-2020, 09:29 AM
They've been considering who to make redundant at my wife's work, though it's a relatively small number (I think 4 from a team of 30)

Due to dealing with customers with multiple languages, it's a not been easy to find a balance, as using the 'last in, first out' or least talented options, or whatever, could actually mean some of the sub-teams are short of people that speak certain languages.

They've actually just announced the first redundancy as a woman that's currently on maternity leave. I'm really surprised at that and thought it was against UK employment law.

23-10-2020, 09:32 AM
I think I need a job where I’m locked away in a room with as little human interaction as possible.

That's where I'm at. For the last 25 years I've had face to face contact with the general public and employees. Nearly 10 years as a paramedic and now over 10 years as an employee representative. It might sound harse but I'm kind of burnt out from dealing with other people's problems. It's been a slow burn up until covid that has turned the small flame into a flamethrower. Having had the worries and expectations regarding the jobs of over 1500 people on my shoulders for the last few months has been the final straw. With a deal now in place that secures at least the immediate future of those I represent, it's probably time to bow out on a slight high and concentrate on me and my family for a change.

Actually writing this has cemented my decision. The Yorkie Bars are on me.

23-10-2020, 09:40 AM
Yep, I wish my work would make me redundant with two years salary as a pay off.

Makes you wonder how business manages to thrive in Germany when the employment laws are weighed heavily in favour of the employee? Their industries must be close to collapse due to them having to treat their employees fairly. :wink:

wallpaperman
23-10-2020, 09:42 AM
Thank you, sent reply

Hi mate, i can’t see that the reply came through, I think my PM settings are ok, not sure if you want to try again (if there was anything I could help with).

23-10-2020, 09:42 AM
They've been considering who to make redundant at my wife's work, though it's a relatively small number (I think 4 from a team of 30)

Due to dealing with customers with multiple languages, it's a not been easy to find a balance, as using the 'last in, first out' or least talented options, or whatever, could actually mean some of the sub-teams are short of people that speak certain languages.

They've actually just announced the first redundancy as a woman that's currently on maternity leave. I'm really surprised at that and thought it was against UK employment law.

Hope your Mrs survives the cull Keith.

23-10-2020, 09:43 AM
That's where I'm at. For the last 25 years I've had face to face contact with the general public and employees. Nearly 10 years as a paramedic and now over 10 years as an employee representative. It might sound harse but I'm kind of burnt out from dealing with other people's problems. It's been a slow burn up until covid that has turned the small flame into a flamethrower. Having had the worries and expectations regarding the jobs of over 1500 people on my shoulders for the last few months has been the final straw. With a deal now in place that secures at least the immediate future of those I represent, it's probably time to bow out on a slight high and concentrate on me and my family for a change.

Actually writing this has cemented my decision. The Yorkie Bars are on me.

Could I have some of these German delights, please.

23-10-2020, 09:44 AM

Cheers, I think she'll be OK. There's only three people in the whole team that can speak German

23-10-2020, 10:12 AM

Your last paragraph is correct. Same thing happened to my wife when she was on maternity leave.

She’s a teacher and they were rationalising. The two staff that were up for redundancy were the two girls on Maternity Leave.

We ended up getting the Union involved (NUT) who rightly pointed out that they have a protected status and we would be seeing them in court if they persisted with this nonsense.

Funnily enough the school backed down and the savings were found elsewhere.

Still makes me angry to this day, but fair play to the Union they stepped up. Also helped that I’m pretty well versed in employment law.

From Citizens Advice

“ Can I be made redundant if I’m pregnant or on maternity leave?

You can be made redundant while pregnant or on maternity leave, but there are strict rules that must be followed before this can happen.You can’t be made redundant because you’re pregnant or on maternity leave. If you are this counts as “automatic unfair dismissal” and discrimination.

This could be where, for example, the employer has no genuine reason to make you redundant, or there is a real reason to make people redundant but the employer picks you because of a reason relating to pregnancy or maternity leave.

There is additional protection for women who are on maternity leave, or those on shared parental leave. If you are on maternity or parental leave, and there is a genuine reason to make your role redundant, your employer must offer you suitable alternative work if they have it. They should give you this as a priority over other employees.”

Very easy to argue that she was chosen because she was on maternity leave.

Good ole EU, what’s it ever done to protect workers rights?

Another BREXIT benefit, we can now “strip back” that red tape.

https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=8e90fd5f-b0a9-4810-ae8e-0f3d4d6ee30d

Jakhog1
23-10-2020, 02:06 PM
Hi mate, i can’t see that the reply came through, I think my PM settings are ok, not sure if you want to try again (if there was anything I could help with).

Should be sent now

25-10-2020, 07:32 AM
I’ll chip in aswell. Was made redundant from one of the big banks last year after 16/17 years there straight from Uni. Maybe slightly different from some as was offered a role to stay towards the end of my notice period. But I had got myself in the frame of mind that it was best to move on.

Like a lot of people I aimed for the scenario of having a few weeks off and going right into a new job. The reality ended up being nearly 8 months before I had a new role! Which is probably not uncommon. It was difficult at times and it’s natural to doubt yourself or have feelings of “letting the side down”. But I’ve got a young family too and looking back it was great to have that time with my son.

In terms of advice... being proactive is definitely crucial and you need to almost have a new routine of looking and applying for jobs. I think agencies are only responsible for placing people into less than 15% or jobs. So you’ll be more likely to find something applying directly. Don’t be scared to use any contacts you have even if that doesn’t come naturally.

Things have changed again clearly with COVID (guess you’ll be working from home anyway) so you might want to practice video interviews and thinking about how to make a good impression without the F2F element.

Finally - I’m sure you’ve got loads of strengths and lots to offer. Always remember that. Other companies won’t view your redundancy as a negative in any way. There will defo be jobs out there for you.

06-11-2020, 02:23 PM
Just received my offer of voluntary redundancy and have received a job offer as a postman on the same day. I'm tempted, really tempted. It's a quite substantial drop in wages but the thought of all that fresh air and walking is very attractive. I'm 55 next week and will receive my first pension that should help stop the gap and there's also the nearly 2 years salary as redundancy payment.

I'm not from nature the indecisive type, but there's a small niggling feeling holding me back. I've been given a week to decide so will use that before making my mind up.

06-11-2020, 02:33 PM
Just received my offer of voluntary redundancy and have received a job offer as a postman on the same day. I'm tempted, really tempted. It's a quite substantial drop in wages but the thought of all that fresh air and walking is very attractive. I'm 55 next week and will receive my first pension that should help stop the gap and there's also the nearly 2 years salary as redundancy payment.

I'm not from nature the indecisive type, but there's a small niggling feeling holding me back. I've been given a week to decide so will use that before making my mind up.

You're right not to rush into it as that's a big decision to make.

Have you applied for other jobs?

06-11-2020, 02:48 PM
You're right not to rush into it as that's a big decision to make.

Have you applied for other jobs?

No, but I've enquired at a truck driving school about doing my C, CE and forklift truck licenses and Hazmat, I could also go back to school and get my Berufskraftfahrer trade certificate. All in all it would take about 4 months. There's also the possibility to get at least some of it paid for by the Arbeitsamt.

Taking the posty job would probably allow me to choose a better time of year to do hgv training but I'm worried that I might enjoy being "Postman Plod the Miserable Sod" too much that I scrap my original plan B.

Like you wisely say, I'm not going to rush into anything yet.

06-11-2020, 03:29 PM
No, but I've enquired at a truck driving school about doing my C, CE and forklift truck licenses and Hazmat, I could also go back to school and get my Berufskraftfahrer trade certificate. All in all it would take about 4 months. There's also the possibility to get at least some of it paid for by the Arbeitsamt.

Taking the posty job would probably allow me to choose a better time of year to do hgv training but I'm worried that I might enjoy being "Postman Plod the Miserable Sod" too much that I scrap my original plan B.

Like you wisely say, I'm not going to rush into anything yet.

Maybe you should be the new Cliff Clavin, and enlighten the world with your words of wisdom...

https://images.manmadediy.com/78JMRo0i9DRCuLbqo6szKxiKY71Ox3-qAduymbydFhs/w:800/plain/http://s3.amazonaws.com/manmadediy-uploads-production/photos/15692/cliff-clavin-on-beer-reprint-of-a-classic-diatribe-from-chee-demotivational-poster.jpg

06-11-2020, 03:33 PM
Maybe you should be the new Cliff Clavin, and enlighten the world with your words of wisdom...

https://images.manmadediy.com/78JMRo0i9DRCuLbqo6szKxiKY71Ox3-qAduymbydFhs/w:800/plain/http://s3.amazonaws.com/manmadediy-uploads-production/photos/15692/cliff-clavin-on-beer-reprint-of-a-classic-diatribe-from-chee-demotivational-poster.jpg

I'm already a disciple of the great man. :greengrin

06-11-2020, 05:15 PM

Thats really interesting about the postman thought. 15 years ago I was made redundant, experienced some highs (time with my kids, battery recharging) and lows (feelings of worthlessness, anxiety etc) and then applied for and got a postie job as a lifestyle choice. It sounded just what I needed; fresh air, extra exercise, time to recharge the batteries. I lasted 8 days :faf: I think it very much depends on the round you get, certainly in the UK. The cushy rounds are worth their weight in gold, mine was characterized by running away from angry alsatians (stereotype but it’s a true one, check out the stats for hospitalisation of postmen) and getting home well after dark with as yet undelivered mail in a bag at the front door. hopefully you will have an easy round tripping around rural Germany watching the autumn leaves turn gold :greengrin

07-11-2020, 09:41 PM
Midweek I was told my job is at risk. I work for a major organisation and always sort of felt protected. So being told at 31 i may be made redundant hit like a ton of bricks

I felt terrible the first 24 hours. Having a mortgage, a family, bills etc it made me feel like a failure and that we could lose it all.

After some lengthy chats with some good friends and time to gather my thoughts im now a bit more relaxed knowing I'll have a 10 year redundancy package and gives me an opportunity to change career, something I've contemplated for a couple of years now

Don't really know what my point is other than sharing my story and getting my thoughts out - I suppose one thing I would say is talk. These are life changing and can have major impact so if you're at risk or are in the process of being made redundant don't bottle all your feelings up

07-11-2020, 10:43 PM
Midweek I was told my job is at risk. I work for a major organisation and always sort of felt protected. So being told at 31 i may be made redundant hit like a ton of bricks

I felt terrible the first 24 hours. Having a mortgage, a family, bills etc it made me feel like a failure and that we could lose it all.

After some lengthy chats with some good friends and time to gather my thoughts im now a bit more relaxed knowing I'll have a 10 year redundancy package and gives me an opportunity to change career, something I've contemplated for a couple of years now

Don't really know what my point is other than sharing my story and getting my thoughts out - I suppose one thing I would say is talk. These are life changing and can have major impact so if you're at risk or are in the process of being made redundant don't bottle all your feelings up

That sounds like an opportunity more than a crisis. Good luck.

08-11-2020, 06:24 AM

I pretty quickly turned it round in my mind to a massive positive and an opportunity to do something completely different. Like many people told me, I would possibly have never taken the new challenge on otherwise.

08-11-2020, 05:12 PM

I was about your age when I decided to (finally) go to University.

I'd always had ****ty jobs, and had never earned much money, so finally did something about it by taking an Access Course at Stirling Uni. I then studied there for another four years in Computing Science. I worked part-time throughout and it was a hard slog but got there in the end,

I've been working as a Software Developer ever since and it's led to some really interesting experiences, living and working in places I never imagined (like Vienna, Bruges and Munich).

It can be difficult but sometimes a change can be for the better.

Best of luck.

Dmas
09-11-2020, 07:46 AM

I'd always had ****ty jobs, and had never earned much money, so finally did something about it by taking an Access Course at Stirling Uni. I then studied there for another four years in Computing Science. I worked part-time throughout and it was a hard slog but got there in the end,

I've been working as a Software Developer ever since and it's led to some really interesting experiences, living and working in places I never imagined (like Vienna, Bruges and Munich).

Best of luck.

Well done on this Keith, huge leap, big inspiration as well, I’m 38 this pandemic, being put on furlough for 5 months and the threat of redundancy made me get my head out the sand a little and realise I’m working one of these ‘***tty’ jobs and instead of worrying I should be attempting to better myself, so I started a open uni course in Computing & IT with Buisness management as a second course I’m loving it so far. Still working the ***tty job and redundancy is still hanging over but I’ve realised in part to this thread I’ve a nice package to come and soften the blow it isn’t all doom and gloom, once I get Xmas and new year out the way I’m planning on looking for others in the field I’m studying or just to get out where I am and work hours that help me do more study and more of a life balance paid off or not.

09-11-2020, 10:03 AM
That sounds like an opportunity more than a crisis. Good luck.

I pretty quickly turned it round in my mind to a massive positive and an opportunity to do something completely different. Like many people told me, I would possibly have never taken the new challenge on otherwise.

Best of luck.

Cheers folks, certainly in a much better place now than i was last week and looking forward to the opportunities that may come my way

09-11-2020, 10:13 AM
Well done on this Keith, huge leap, big inspiration as well, I’m 38 this pandemic, being put on furlough for 5 months and the threat of redundancy made me get my head out the sand a little and realise I’m working one of these ‘***tty’ jobs and instead of worrying I should be attempting to better myself, so I started a open uni course in Computing & IT with Buisness management as a second course I’m loving it so far. Still working the ***tty job and redundancy is still hanging over but I’ve realised in part to this thread I’ve a nice package to come and soften the blow it isn’t all doom and gloom, once I get Xmas and new year out the way I’m planning on looking for others in the field I’m studying or just to get out where I am and work hours that help me do more study and more of a life balance paid off or not.

That was my (original) main and second courses as well. I wasn't so keen on the business management but kept the computing part going, as I thought it was really interesting.

Best of luck and well done for making the effort.

Jakhog1
09-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Just got asked to take voluntary redundancy over compulsory, will get to leave a month earlier and still be paid, could affect a few of my work benefits if I go early, seems they want me off the books by the year end. Not sure what to do but now seeing this as a great opportunity to retrain and have taken a lot of hope from others on here

09-11-2020, 05:31 PM
Just got asked to take voluntary redundancy over compulsory, will get to leave a month earlier and still be paid, could affect a few of my work benefits if I go early, seems they want me off the books by the year end. Not sure what to do but now seeing this as a great opportunity to retrain and have taken a lot of hope from others on here

Best of luck mate.

Jakhog1
09-11-2020, 06:03 PM
Best of luck mate.

Cheers buddy

11-11-2020, 10:11 AM
Thats really interesting about the postman thought. 15 years ago I was made redundant, experienced some highs (time with my kids, battery recharging) and lows (feelings of worthlessness, anxiety etc) and then applied for and got a postie job as a lifestyle choice. It sounded just what I needed; fresh air, extra exercise, time to recharge the batteries. I lasted 8 days :faf: I think it very much depends on the round you get, certainly in the UK. The cushy rounds are worth their weight in gold, mine was characterized by running away from angry alsatians (stereotype but it’s a true one, check out the stats for hospitalisation of postmen) and getting home well after dark with as yet undelivered mail in a bag at the front door. hopefully you will have an easy round tripping around rural Germany watching the autumn leaves turn gold :greengrin

I didn't get past day 1. Went in to discuss terms and conditions on Monday and ended up telling them to blow it out their arse, which is a real shame as I was certain this would work out. My main problem was that they were only offering temporary contracts of 3 months that would be extended or not every 3 months until a decision would be made after 2 years to whether the contract would be extended or not. No way was I going work on what is effectively a 2 year probationary period.

Now have an appointment with the employment office on Monday to see how much they are willing to finance a retraining HGV1, dangerous goods, forklift and professional driver's certification. Course would be 4 months long starting on January the 4th, if they don't fund it then I'll pay myself. Have my HGV medical tomorrow which is a prerequisite for the whole process but it shouldn't be a problem as I'd just renewed my aviation medical last month.

Maybe you were right, maybe I was being overly romantic about life as Postman Plod.

11-11-2020, 04:40 PM
Does anyone have any experience with these companies that offer training in a given vocation with virtual guarantee of a job at the end?

considering something like this if I get made redundant, but unsure how reliable these kind of things can be

11-11-2020, 05:30 PM
Does anyone have any experience with these companies that offer training in a given vocation with virtual guarantee of a job at the end?

considering something like this if I get made redundant, but unsure how reliable these kind of things can be

My initial thoughts are that sounds abit dubious.

What is the job/industry?

11-11-2020, 05:57 PM

Not personally but a locksmith I've used in the past said he went on one of these courses (to retrain as a locksmith). Said it was a waste of money and wouldn't have helped because it only covered about 5% of the job. He did an unofficial apprenticeship in the end, shadowing a friend of a friend who was close to retirement for a couple of years.

12-11-2020, 07:04 PM
My initial thoughts are that sounds abit dubious.

What is the job/industry?

Not personally but a locksmith I've used in the past said he went on one of these courses (to retrain as a locksmith). Said it was a waste of money and wouldn't have helped because it only covered about 5% of the job. He did an unofficial apprenticeship in the end, shadowing a friend of a friend who was close to retirement for a couple of years.

thanks both :aok:

I haven’t decided on an industry yet (have a couple of ideas that I’ve seen adverts for training for), was just something I’d picked up on and thought I’d ask about.

I think they operate by charging fairly hefty fees, and are linked into recruitment agencies for those industries.

speedy_gonzales
12-11-2020, 08:48 PM

My brother-in-law done a gas/plumbing course at a place in Dalgety Bay. Cost £1000's and virtually guaranteed a job at the end.
I advised against it as a few good friends I have are in the trade and they say the folk come out with zero experience so are of little use.
He done the course, passed, was offered a sales job with a boiler company in Dunfermline and is still keeping the couch warm watching daytime telly but at least his bank balance is a bit lighter?!?

Peanut Shaz
12-11-2020, 10:39 PM

In my last job I dealt with a lot of these companies daily. You will get a qualification but it's not worth much in the real world. I'm afraid it's easy money for them with not a lot of opportunities for you. I'd steer clear if I were you. Apprentices serve years learning a trade, it can't be done in a couple of months.

13-11-2020, 07:15 PM
My brother-in-law done a gas/plumbing course at a place in Dalgety Bay. Cost £1000's and virtually guaranteed a job at the end.
I advised against it as a few good friends I have are in the trade and they say the folk come out with zero experience so are of little use.
He done the course, passed, was offered a sales job with a boiler company in Dunfermline and is still keeping the couch warm watching daytime telly but at least his bank balance is a bit lighter?!?

In my last job I dealt with a lot of these companies daily. You will get a qualification but it's not worth much in the real world. I'm afraid it's easy money for them with not a lot of opportunities for you. I'd steer clear if I were you. Apprentices serve years learning a trade, it can't be done in a couple of months.

thank you both.

it wasn’t quite a trade in the sense of the traditional meaning of the word I’d been thinking about, but after everyone’s thoughts I’m thinking maybe best to steer clear

cheers again everyone 😊

18-11-2020, 02:13 PM

Ironically, she has survived the cull but I've just found out that my employer is moving most of the jobs at my work to Bangalore.

We have a large and long established tech-hub in Glasgow but most of the mid and upper level IT managers in my Department are Indian and located in New York. There's been some difficulties for quite some time due to 'cultural differences' between them and the employees in Glasgow, i.e. the expectation that we should be willing to work 12 hour days, do support out-of-hours and basically ignore our contracts (as they already do in our Bangalore office).

There's already been a hiring surge in Glasgow in the last two-three years that means that more than 30% of the employees located here are Indian, plus around 50% of the Team Leads (low level managers)... but they've obviously now decided to go the whole hog.

18-11-2020, 03:10 PM
Ironically, she has survived the cull but I've just found out that my employer is moving most of the jobs at my work to Bangalore.

We have a large and long established tech-hub in Glasgow but most of the mid and upper level IT managers in my Department are Indian and located in New York. There's been some difficulties for quite some time due to 'cultural differences' between them and the employees in Glasgow, i.e. the expectation that we should be willing to work 12 hour days, do support out-of-hours and basically ignore our contracts (as they already do in our Bangalore office).

There's already been a hiring surge in Glasgow in the last two-three years that means that more than 30% of the employees located here are Indian, plus around 50% of the Team Leads (low level managers)... but they've obviously now decided to go the whole hog.

****, that's a kick in the nuts. Hope you're safe. My Mrs is a software developer with SAP and they're doing the same in the US. Luckily in Germany employment laws make it very expensive for companies to outsource abroad. They've been offering early retirement packages the last few years, she should bite their hand off if she's offered it again.

Fingers crossed for you mate.

18-11-2020, 05:05 PM
****, that's a kick in the nuts. Hope you're safe. My Mrs is a software developer with SAP and they're doing the same in the US. Luckily in Germany employment laws make it very expensive for companies to outsource abroad. They've been offering early retirement packages the last few years, she should bite their hand off if she's offered it again.

Thanks.

TBH, now that most people are doing home-working, finding another job isn't as much of a big deal as it used to be.

DLR are actually advertising for people to work remotely on an Air Traffic Control project, but I'd have to be able to travel to Germany at some point in the new year.

I'm not clever enough to work for SAP, though :wink:

hibee
18-11-2020, 06:23 PM

I wish we had employment laws like that in Scotland, I’m losing my job in the next year or two along with most of my colleagues to Indian employees who are both here in Edinburgh and back in India.

It’s going to be bad enough for kids to find a decent job in the next few years after Covid without this continual drive to outsource, hopefully our government will sit up and take notice before it’s too late but sadly I think that’s highly unlikely.

18-11-2020, 10:45 PM
Thanks.

TBH, now that most people are doing home-working, finding another job isn't as much of a big deal as it used to be.

DLR are actually advertising for people to work remotely on an Air Traffic Control project, but I'd have to be able to travel to Germany at some point in the new year.

I'm not clever enough to work for SAP, though :wink:

Maybe get that pint after all.

18-11-2020, 10:54 PM
I wish we had employment laws like that in Scotland, I’m losing my job in the next year or two along with most of my colleagues to Indian employees who are both here in Edinburgh and back in India.

It’s going to be bad enough for kids to find a decent job in the next few years after Covid without this continual drive to outsource, hopefully our government will sit up and take notice before it’s too late but sadly I think that’s highly unlikely.

It doesn't have to be that way. But for the life of me I can't understand why the British public stand for it.

19-11-2020, 01:32 PM
Had an interview with the German employment agency today, to try and get them to partially fund my retraining. They've offered to fully fund my 5 month course as a professional driver and pay for my HGV1, forklift truck and dangerous goods licenses. I was fully expecting to have to fork out a considerable amount from my redundancy payment to pay for it. I'm absolutely blown away by how easy it was, I was expecting to have to jump through endless hoops to get anything at all. I'm genuinely touched.

hibee
19-11-2020, 02:00 PM
Had an interview with the German employment agency today, to try and get them to partially fund my retraining. They've offered to fully fund my 5 month course as a professional driver and pay for my HGV1, forklift truck and dangerous goods licenses. I was fully expecting to have to fork out a considerable amount from my redundancy payment to pay for it. I'm absolutely blown away by how easy it was, I was expecting to have to jump through endless hoops to get anything at all. I'm genuinely touched.

That’s fantastic and also a sensible approach from them, you get the training and are almost certain to get work at the end of it so continue paying tax and contributing to the economy.

19-11-2020, 09:08 PM

that’s brilliant 😊

19-11-2020, 09:32 PM
That’s fantastic and also a sensible approach from them, you get the training and are almost certain to get work at the end of it so continue paying tax and contributing to the economy.

Spot on. If all goes well they'll have their investment in me paid back in taxes within a year and will avoid having someone collecting unemployment benefits. I'm so glad that they think longterm rather than just try and save a few €. I've never been unemployed in my life and at 55 it's a great feeling to know that the government haven't written me off and are willing to invest in me.

19-11-2020, 09:37 PM
that’s brilliant 😊

It's clever too. They've put their faith in me and I'm motivated to return the favour.

20-11-2020, 06:11 AM
It's clever too. They've put their faith in me and I'm motivated to return the favour.

In France employers are obliged to pay into a training fund - 1% of the gross wage bill up to 10 employees and 0.55% for more than 10 employees. If you're looking to do some training, CPD or even a complete change of profession you can contact the organising body to see how much is in your individual account - you can then choose how you spend it as long as it's with accredited organisations.

A couple of years ago I did 10 days of Revit/3D CAD training (about £4k IIRC) which was paid from this and one of my workmates, at 45 years old, looks like he's about to retrain to become a chef with the bulk being paid from this scheme.

20-11-2020, 08:13 AM

Germany are head, shoulders, knees and toes above us here in the U.K. when it comes to this sort of thing.

20-11-2020, 08:17 AM

Wow thats fantastic mate :aok: thats about £5k worth of courses there.

20-11-2020, 09:08 AM
In France employers are obliged to pay into a training fund - 1% of the gross wage bill up to 10 employees and 0.55% for more than 10 employees. If you're looking to do some training, CPD or even a complete change of profession you can contact the organising body to see how much is in your individual account - you can then choose how you spend it as long as it's with accredited organisations.

A couple of years ago I did 10 days of Revit/3D CAD training (about £4k IIRC) which was paid from this and one of my workmates, at 45 years old, looks like he's about to retrain to become a chef with the bulk being paid from this scheme.

Makes complete sense. Unless of course it's in the UK where the thought of raising income tax by 1% to help the workforce educate themselves or retrain would be seen as Marxist lunacy.

20-11-2020, 09:20 AM
Germany are head, shoulders, knees and toes above us here in the U.K. when it comes to this sort of thing.

Not just Germany, I think most central and northern European countries have found a fairer balance between looking after employees and supporting businesses, there's no reason you can't do both.

20-11-2020, 09:34 AM
Wow thats fantastic mate :aok: thats about £5k worth of courses there.

A little bit more buddy. The Germans are sticklers for qualifications and apprenticeships, for example a petrol station attendant would be expected to carry out a 3 year apprenticeship before he could qualify as a recognised "Tankwart". The training I will receive is a fast track course designed for people with driving experience that haven't done the 4 year professional driver apprenticeship that is needed here to drive commercially. Most of my time will be spent in the classroom preparing for the state exam and will cover general road safety, load safety, fuel efficient driving, vehicle maintenance and repair as well as other haulage industry related subject matter. The Germans don't do half arsed. All in all were looking at around €10 000.

Berwickhibby
20-11-2020, 09:44 AM
Not just Germany, I think most central and northern European countries have found a fairer balance between looking after employees and supporting businesses, there's no reason you can't do both.

As I recall the German system had more pros than cons...the Christmas money was my favourite, there was also a savings scheme where the Government gave DM50ish and that was saved for 7 years and then paid out, doing your tax return also once a year normally led to a payout. First year of having a child they paid out DM400 ...yes tax his higher, but it goes back into the system rather than lining Torys and their chums pockets with huge tax breaks.

20-11-2020, 09:47 AM
A little bit more buddy. The Germans are sticklers for qualifications and apprenticeships, for example a petrol station attendant would be expected to carry out a 3 year apprenticeship before he could qualify as a recognised "Tankwart". The training I will receive is a fast track course designed for people with driving experience that haven't done the 4 year professional driver apprenticeship that is needed here to drive commercially. Most of my time will be spent in the classroom preparing for the state exam and will cover general road safety, load safety, fuel efficient driving, vehicle maintenance and repair as well as other haulage industry related subject matter. The Germans don't do half arsed. All in all were looking at around €10 000.

Surely to qualify as an HGV driver in Berlin & Brandenburg you also need to be fluent in Polish?

The language courses must add quite a bit to the cost.

20-11-2020, 10:13 AM
Surely to qualify as an HGV driver in Berlin & Brandenburg you also need to be fluent in Polish?

The language courses must add quite a bit to the cost.

I thought similar, but it's only the pan European haulage that is "fest in polnischen Hände", most internal haulage is done by Germans.

20-11-2020, 10:14 AM
As I recall the German system had more pros than cons...the Christmas money was my favourite, there was also a savings scheme where the Government gave DM50ish and that was saved for 7 years and then paid out, doing your tax return also once a year normally led to a payout. First year of having a child they paid out DM400 ...yes tax his higher, but it goes back into the system rather than lining Torys and their chums pockets with huge tax breaks.

I think you're bang on the money with your final assumption.

20-11-2020, 10:17 AM

Holy ****, that's fantastic.

20-11-2020, 11:34 AM
I thought similar, but it's only the pan European haulage that is "fest in polnischen Hände", most internal haulage is done by Germans.

TBF, I did see a couple of German HGVs the last time we visited, so you might be OK.

But just in case, here's lesson number 1...

Always say 'dzień dobry', not 'dobry dzień'. If you use the latter, you'll come across as a person trying to sound Polish but failing miserably

20-11-2020, 02:06 PM
TBF, I did see a couple of German HGVs the last time we visited, so you might be OK.

But just in case, here's lesson number 1...

Always say 'dzień dobry', not 'dobry dzień'. If you use the latter, you'll come across as a person trying to sound Polish but failing miserably

They all speak English, they've learnt it from Country and Western songs whilst on the road.

21-11-2020, 05:51 PM
They all speak English, they've learnt it from Country and Western songs whilst on the road.

So, "Howdy y'all" would be preferable?

09-12-2020, 10:56 AM
Thanks.

DLR job didn't progress (they decided they want somebody with a Masters) but I've practically been offered a job with a start-up in Dresden.

I thought I was back in Scotland for good but it just hasn't worked out, with one thing and another, so it might be for the best.

Wherever I go next, I want it to be the last move I ever make, so it's a big decision.

09-12-2020, 10:56 AM
p.s. Has anybody else got progress reports on re-training, finding new roles, etc?

09-12-2020, 11:24 AM
DLR job didn't progress (they decided they want somebody with a Masters) but I've practically been offered a job with a start-up in Dresden.

I thought I was back in Scotland for good but it just hasn't worked out, with one thing and another, so it might be for the best.

Wherever I go next, I want it to be the last move I ever make, so it's a big decision.

Who are DLR?

(Not sure why Docklands Light Railway would need air traffic controllers).

09-12-2020, 12:01 PM
Who are DLR?

(Not sure why Docklands Light Railway would need air traffic controllers).

Docklands Light Railway are the leading suppliers of Air Traffic Software in the world, according to Gavin Williamson

Or if you're not a brainwashed Brexiteer, it could stand for Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (German Aerospace Center)

09-12-2020, 02:14 PM
p.s. Has anybody else got progress reports on re-training, finding new roles, etc?

I found out a few days ago I am at risk of redundancy, will be leaving on the 31st of December unless I find another role. I have applied for one, and another dept have offered me a position even tbhough they know its not really what I want to do (I worked closely with them for several years, and they've made it clear I'm very well thought of), and it would be a step down into a space where it would be more difficult to move on to something I'd want to do, which they've also acknowledged.

That all said, the redundancy package is not to be sniffed at, about a years salary plus some benefits for a year, so if the job I've applied for doesn't pan out I think i'll likely be leaving.

To begin with I was really keen to stay, but being a rep during collective consultation has shown me a lot about the people at the top, and having seen what the new world looks like, I'm releived I won't be a part of it, so getting offered a redundancy package isn't necessarily a bad option (most people who are staying are not happy)

09-12-2020, 04:26 PM

I'm starting my retraining on the 18th of January, 5 months fully paid with the employment agency footing the bill 100%. They're even covering my travel costs. Handed in my iPad and security passes today and got my reference (written by myself) signed and stamped by my former employer. Thinking of heading to the coast for Christmas and New Year before I go back to school. This will be my fourth occupational qualification since leaving school and probably my last.

09-12-2020, 05:10 PM
I found out a few days ago I am at risk of redundancy, will be leaving on the 31st of December unless I find another role. I have applied for one, and another dept have offered me a position even tbhough they know its not really what I want to do (I worked closely with them for several years, and they've made it clear I'm very well thought of), and it would be a step down into a space where it would be more difficult to move on to something I'd want to do, which they've also acknowledged.

That all said, the redundancy package is not to be sniffed at, about a years salary plus some benefits for a year, so if the job I've applied for doesn't pan out I think i'll likely be leaving.

To begin with I was really keen to stay, but being a rep during collective consultation has shown me a lot about the people at the top, and having seen what the new world looks like, I'm releived I won't be a part of it, so getting offered a redundancy package isn't necessarily a bad option (most people who are staying are not happy)

It sounds like you have similar management to mine, as they've been shown up to be a bunch of complete barstewards.

That's good that there are at least a couple of options for you, though.

09-12-2020, 05:11 PM
I'm starting my retraining on the 18th of January, 5 months fully paid with the employment agency footing the bill 100%. They're even covering my travel costs. Handed in my iPad and security passes today and got my reference (written by myself) signed and stamped by my former employer. Thinking of heading to the coast for Christmas and New Year before I go back to school. This will be my fourth occupational qualification since leaving school and probably my last.

Do you think you'll miss working at the airport?

09-12-2020, 06:00 PM
Do you think you'll miss working at the airport?

Nope, I'll miss some of my colleagues and the cheap flights but not the job or the environment.

Hope you manage to get some certainty about your future soon.

09-12-2020, 08:14 PM
It sounds like you have similar management to mine, as they've been shown up to be a bunch of complete barstewards.

That's good that there are at least a couple of options for you, though.

aye, there’s been precious little people skills or care shown, I’m glad I’m not going to be a part of it.

I think I’m most likely to either take the job ive applied for if offered, or take the redundancy.

10-12-2020, 08:28 AM
Nope, I'll miss some of my colleagues and the cheap flights but not the job or the environment.

Hope you manage to get some certainty about your future soon.

aye, there’s been precious little people skills or care shown, I’m glad I’m not going to be a part of it.

I think I’m most likely to either take the job ive applied for if offered, or take the redundancy.

Best of luck mate.

10-12-2020, 11:56 AM

Best of luck mate.

Cheers mate, appreciated :aok:

Have you got a clear idea of what the future holds for you?

10-12-2020, 12:03 PM
Cheers mate, appreciated :aok:

Have you got a clear idea of what the future holds for you?

Not really, but I'm honestly not too worried about it.

There are loads of people in far worse situations than me.

10-12-2020, 12:04 PM
Not really, but I'm honestly not too worried about it.

There are loads of people in far worse situations than me.

Good to hear that you're in an ok place with it, and you're right of course, many people much worse off

15-01-2021, 09:46 AM

So I've been given a concrete offer with the company in Dresden but, as you can imagine, that's going to be a bit of a logistical nightmare moving over there anytime soon (provisional start-date is March 1st). I think we're just going to go for it, though.

Thankfully the cost of moving is not an issue, as I've negotiated a redundancy package with my current employer

Anybody else got any work updates?

Berwickhibby
15-01-2021, 09:50 AM
So I've been given a concrete offer with the company in Dresden but, as you can imagine, that's going to be a bit of a logistical nightmare moving over there anytime soon (provisional start-date is March 1st). I think we're just going to go for it, though.

Thankfully the cost of moving is not an issue, as I've negotiated a redundancy package with my current employer

I started yestederday as a bank contact tracer, 5 days training and working from home.

15-01-2021, 09:57 AM

My retraining has been delayed for a month due to Covid, it means I'll probably have a month of being unemployed in June/July, the first time ever I've had to register as unemployed. I was hoping to get it all done whilst on Garden Leave but will probably now take an extended summer holiday after finishing training.

Good luck with the new venture.

15-01-2021, 10:57 AM
I started yestederday as a bank contact tracer, 5 days training and working from home.

That should up the gleam on your trousers. :wink:

Good luck.

Berwickhibby
15-01-2021, 11:20 AM
That should up the gleam on your trousers. :wink:

Good luck.

Oi Scaley...that's Sgt Shiney arse to you lol :greengrin:wink:

15-01-2021, 12:06 PM

Hope it works out for you.

Incidentally, what does that job entail? It's not something I'm really familiar with.

My retraining has been delayed for a month due to Covid, it means I'll probably have a month of being unemployed in June/July, the first time ever I've had to register as unemployed. I was hoping to get it all done whilst on Garden Leave but will probably now take an extended summer holiday after finishing training.

Good luck with the new venture.

Thanks Paul. Hopefully your training course isn't delayed for too long.

I expect the 'sixty per-cent of previous salary' dole money will keep you going in the meantime...

Berwickhibby
15-01-2021, 12:45 PM
[QUOTE=Keith_M;6420965]Hope it works out for you.

Incidentally, what does that job entail? It's not something I'm really familiar with.

Basiclly, I am part of the track and trace team, calling people about being in contact with and obtaining who they have been in contact with. I don't start the training until next week so I don't know the full ins and outs.

15-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Basiclly, I am part of the track and trace team, calling people about being in contact with and obtaining who they have been in contact with. I don't start the training until next week so I don't know the full ins and outs.

Ah, OK, got you.

Cheers.

15-01-2021, 03:57 PM

Best of luck with the move. I've just started a new job working remotely for a Silicon Valley startup, so I may never have to go to an office again!

15-01-2021, 04:09 PM
Best of luck with the move. I've just started a new job working remotely for a Silicon Valley startup, so I may never have to go to an office again!

Where are you located just now? No chance of having to relocate?

15-01-2021, 04:15 PM
I was fortunate enough to get a job with a previous employer, albeit at a lower level than when I was with them previously and also meaning I have to travel for nearly two hours a day in total to get there. It really isn’t great, but it’s something at least.

I’ve been applying for other roles for the last five month but I’m finding it increasingly frustrating. As someone who has worked in hospitality and retail for my whole career, jobs in those sectors are incredibly few and far between at the moment and other sectors are not looking at people from outwith their own, regardless of experience and transferable skills.

And that’s feedback from the ones that even reply. I reckon 95% of the roles I’ve applied for don’t see any kind of response at all, not even to say ‘thanks but no thanks’.

16-01-2021, 07:27 AM
Where are you located just now? No chance of having to relocate?

My old job was Edinburgh based. I usually did 3 days in the office, 2 at home. In the new one I am the only person in Scotland. There are a few others scattered around Europe and down south, an Aussie and some Bay Area Americans. We’re going to move up north next year. I’ve always wanted to live closer to the mountains. Less Hibs though.

16-01-2021, 09:34 AM
I finished up on the 31st, they couldn’t get rid of us quick enough, or so it felt.

I've applied for 5 jobs, not heard a peep back from any of them so far (still fairly early days to be fair).

I'm really struggling with not having a purpose or proper routine, which is being exacerbated by being stuck in the house, and crappy weather/places being shut so can’t even take the wee one out somewhere to get a break from it all.

16-01-2021, 10:14 AM
My old job was Edinburgh based. I usually did 3 days in the office, 2 at home. In the new one I am the only person in Scotland. There are a few others scattered around Europe and down south, an Aussie and some Bay Area Americans. We’re going to move up north next year. I’ve always wanted to live closer to the mountains. Less Hibs though.

So completely remote, then. I think a lot more jobs are going to go that way.

It's nice that it gives you the chance to move up north, though.

I finished up on the 31st, they couldn’t get rid of us quick enough, or so it felt.

I've applied for 5 jobs, not heard a peep back from any of them so far (still fairly early days to be fair).

I'm really struggling with not having a purpose or proper routine, which is being exacerbated by being stuck in the house, and crappy weather/places being shut so can’t even take the wee one out somewhere to get a break from it all.

Yeah, I know the feeling, as I'm on 'Gardening Leave' just now.

16-01-2021, 10:19 AM
I was fortunate enough to get a job with a previous employer, albeit at a lower level than when I was with them previously and also meaning I have to travel for nearly two hours a day in total to get there. It really isn’t great, but it’s something at least.

I’ve been applying for other roles for the last five month but I’m finding it increasingly frustrating. As someone who has worked in hospitality and retail for my whole career, jobs in those sectors are incredibly few and far between at the moment and other sectors are not looking at people from outwith their own, regardless of experience and transferable skills.

And that’s feedback from the ones that even reply. I reckon 95% of the roles I’ve applied for don’t see any kind of response at all, not even to say ‘thanks but no thanks’.

That's a bit crap, mate. A simple 'thank you for your application' E-Mail wouldn't kill them.

I think the employment market in general is going to be depressed for a while but hopefully we'll have some sort of recovery when people are vaccinated and things start getting nearer to normality again.

16-01-2021, 10:19 AM
Must be horrendous for people losing jobs just now(any time really) I have recently advertised for 20 hour part time posts and the qualifications that some of the applicants had was unreal and very over qualified, where as previously 20 hour posts were very hard to fill. Hopefully all those who have lost their jobs get something sorted soon

16-01-2021, 04:43 PM
Yeah, I know the feeling, as I'm on 'Gardening Leave' just now.

yeah that’s kind of where I’m at. Officially left on the 31st, but 3 months pilon (which will be paid at the end of January), would like to have found something before then (even though the tax will be a mess), and then be able to move on in a positive fashion rather than this crappy limbo

21-01-2021, 02:54 PM
If anyone is looking for a fixed term post for the next 6 months working at the mass vaccination sites in lothian have a squint on the nhs website(porter supervisor mass vaccination site) as I've just asked for it to be advertised again, might be of use to someone out of work just now. Don't be put off with the job title as its not really logistics work

21-01-2021, 05:38 PM
If anyone is looking for a fixed term post for the next 6 months working at the mass vaccination sites in lothian have a squint on the nhs website(logistics supervisor) as I've just asked for it to be advertised again, might be of use to someone out of work just now. Don't be put off with the job title as its not really logistics work

Logistics Supervisor/Helipad Operative (https://jobs.scot.nhs.uk/_results.aspx?catID=&regionID=&orgID=&word=logistics%20supervisor#)

Helipad Operative?

21-01-2021, 06:06 PM
Logistics Supervisor/Helipad Operative (https://jobs.scot.nhs.uk/_results.aspx?catID=&regionID=&orgID=&word=logistics%20supervisor#)

Helipad Operative?

That's not my one, but I'm sure we could get a helicopter on the eicc

28-01-2021, 10:52 PM
Mental how many folk it’s happening to on here. It’s round the corner at my work too, but would have been happening with or without covid it seems.

Personally I don’t plan on sticking around anyway, so it’s my intention to volunteer should the opportunity arise, but hopefully it takes long enough that I can remain working as close as possible to when the world opens up, and allows me to look at going abroad ASAP e.g. I’m qualified to teach English as a foreign language and with a redundancy package just about clearing credit cards etc, I would be happy to get away and give that a go.

I am someone with no children, mortgage or ties other than a fair bit of debt to clear going back to student days. I understand for most it’s not as simple as that and plenty of my colleagues will be stressing over this for the next few months in what is already a difficult time.

Fingers crossed it works out for all those concerned about their position.

15-02-2021, 03:48 AM
Up nice and early for day 1 of 5 months of retraining. First 1 month in the classroom then it's out on the roads. Minus 12 outside so glad to be doing a month of theory first. If all goes well I should have the fast track apprenticeship and state exam completed by June.

15-02-2021, 03:57 AM
Up nice and early for day 1 of 5 months of retraining. First 1 month in the classroom then it's out on the roads. Minus 12 outside so glad to be doing a month of theory first. If all goes well I should have the fast track apprenticeship and state exam completed by June.

Guid luck. 👍

15-02-2021, 05:46 AM
Guid luck. 👍

Thanks Ron! :thumbsup:

15-02-2021, 09:14 AM

Keep on truckin'!

https://youtu.be/w9lmCpIzhFo

Santa Cruz
16-02-2021, 12:52 PM
I'm not sure if there is a thread for job opportunities, so I'll post on here. It's not a job as such, just a money making opp. Edinburgh Council (and I presume other LA's) are recruiting for election staff - polling clerks etc. I can't do it this time and it is traditionally a lot of retired people who usually help out and they may be excluded due to covid, so there may be more vacancies than normal for that reason. Money isn't too bad as a one of payment, I think it was about £180 before tax (might be slightly wrong), it is a long 15 hour shift, but an easy one. Email address I have for enquiring about a position in Edinburgh is [email protected]. Think it helps if you have a valid disclosure but not sure if it's essential.

18-02-2021, 02:57 AM
I'm not sure if there is a thread for job opportunities, so I'll post on here. It's not a job as such, just a money making opp. Edinburgh Council (and I presume other LA's) are recruiting for election staff - polling clerks etc. I can't do it this time and it is traditionally a lot of retired people who usually help out and they may be excluded due to covid, so there may be more vacancies than normal for that reason. Money isn't too bad as a one of payment, I think it was about £180 before tax (might be slightly wrong), it is a long 15 hour shift, but an easy one. Email address I have for enquiring about a position in Edinburgh is [email protected]. Think it helps if you have a valid disclosure but not sure if it's essential.

Is this just for polling station staff or count staff too? I used to do the count when I worked for the Council and it was always a good earner, particularly when I was in more senior positions.

When I did it though, you had to be a Council employee. I think the reason was so that they could discipline you if you did something majorly wrong. In fact, I was signed up to do it when I left the Council but left a week or so before the election and they wouldn’t let me do it.

Santa Cruz
18-02-2021, 04:48 AM
Is this just for polling station staff or count staff too? I used to do the count when I worked for the Council and it was always a good earner, particularly when I was in more senior positions.

When I did it though, you had to be a Council employee. I think the reason was so that they could discipline you if you did something majorly wrong. In fact, I was signed up to do it when I left the Council but left a week or so before the election and they wouldn’t let me do it.

I did the count once about 20 years ago and I wasn't Council staff. They changed it to Council staff only (not sure when) and wouldn't recruit me in 2019 for this role, they said it was because I wasn't on their pay roll. Heard recently from a friend who was contacted and declined a Polling Clerk position that they were then asked if they would like a Count position, they don't work for the Council, but do for another Gov Dept, Not sure if this is a factor or if they have changed policy due to difficulty filling the positions.

Santa Cruz
18-02-2021, 10:03 PM

Forgot to also mention in case it's of interest. There are vacancies for Census Enumerator's. Good pay for what is required. The vacancies were advertised on the civil service jobs website the other week.

20-03-2021, 10:37 AM
After constant Covid rules changes in various countries, ferry and flight cancellations, plus a level of almost total confusion on the part of various authorities as to who's responsible for what (some of the German Consulate staff in Edinburgh are unhelpful and clueless), my new job in Germany has now fallen through.

My potential employer was very understanding about the whole thing and kept changing the start date, but there's only so much flexibility he can show.... plus I thought my wife was going to have a nervous breakdown.

So that's me now unemployed and searching for a job here with the thousands of other candidates.

I've had a couple of (unsuccessful) Zoom based interviews and I'm currently trying to work out how to rig my webcam so they can't see how old I actually am...

:sofa:

20-03-2021, 12:55 PM
After constant Covid rules changes in various countries, ferry and flight cancellations, plus a level of almost total confusion on the part of various authorities as to who's responsible for what (some of the German Consulate staff in Edinburgh are unhelpful and clueless), my new job in Germany has now fallen through.

My potential employer was very understanding about the whole thing and kept changing the start date, but there's only so much flexibility he can show.... plus I thought my wife was going to have a nervous breakdown.

So that's me now unemployed and searching for a job here with the thousands of other candidates.

I've had a couple of (unsuccessful) Zoom based interviews and I'm currently trying to work out how to rig my webcam so they can't see how old I actually am...

:sofa:

Good luck. Have you had a look here. These are vacancies that employers are having difficulty to fill normally, so they're probably not the best paid but there might be a decent stop gap option in there to help get your feet under the table again.

https://con.arbeitsagentur.de/prod/jobboerse/jobsuche-ui/

20-03-2021, 05:11 PM
Good luck. Have you had a look here. These are vacancies that employers are having difficulty to fill normally, so they're probably not the best paid but there might be a decent stop gap option in there to help get your feet under the table again.

https://con.arbeitsagentur.de/prod/jobboerse/jobsuche-ui/

I'll have a look, cheers

27-04-2021, 06:28 PM
First of 5 state exams successfully completed today. Glad to have the worst part of the classroom work now finished, only dangerous goods exam now on the theory side of things and the rest is practical training and testing. There's been several delays due to covid but I'm still hoping to be finished by the end of July. On the plus side, I'm getting lots of driving hours in due to less traffic out on the roads.

28-04-2021, 09:29 AM
First of 5 state exams successfully completed today. Glad to have the worst part of the classroom work now finished, only dangerous goods exam now on the theory side of things and the rest is practical training and testing. There's been several delays due to covid but I'm still hoping to be finished by the end of July. On the plus side, I'm getting lots of driving hours in due to less traffic out on the roads.

I've been meaning to ask how you were doing with that. Glad to hear it's going well.

I suppose one of the few upsides of our current situation is less traffic on the road, so you timed that well

28-04-2021, 09:37 AM
I've been meaning to ask how you were doing with that. Glad to hear it's going well.

I suppose one of the few upsides of our current situation is less traffic on the road, so you timed that well

Thanks Keith, hope you're feeling better.

28-04-2021, 09:44 AM
Thanks Keith, hope you're feeling better.

Cheers, not too bad this week.

07-05-2021, 10:33 AM
After 4 months of many applications, most going without any response beyond an acknowledgement of receipt, I have just signed a contract to start a new job on Monday 😁

07-05-2021, 10:43 AM
After 4 months of many applications, most going without any response beyond an acknowledgement of receipt, I have just signed a contract to start a new job on Monday 😁

:thumbsup:well done....good luck.

07-05-2021, 10:56 AM

Brilliant McD. Hope it works out well for you.

07-05-2021, 07:07 PM
:thumbsup:well done....good luck.

Brilliant McD. Hope it works out well for you.

thanks guys :aok:

HiBremian
14-05-2021, 07:22 AM
My daughter has just been made redundant after 9 years at a small growing company. Bad time for her, though. Just bought her first house with a partner on short-term contracts. Welcome to modern capitalism. She joined a trade union a while back, when she was offered a new contract that included removing the 48 hour working directive. They’re hopefully giving her good support.

14-05-2021, 07:57 AM
My daughter has just been made redundant after 9 years at a small growing company. Bad time for her, though. Just bought her first house with a partner on short-term contracts. Welcome to modern capitalism. She joined a trade union a while back, when she was offered a new contract that included removing the 48 hour working directive. They’re hopefully giving her good support.

Fingers crossed that things work out for her Richard. Where is she based?

HiBremian
14-05-2021, 08:26 AM
Thanks Paul. She’s in Newcastle. The company has actually thrived during Covid - they produce distance learning materials for mobile devices. My daughter and her whole production team have been pushed out - new structure, lower wages, despite massive income. Her joining a trade union didn’t go down well either. But she’s negotiating a good settlement and getting out.

Funnily enough, she was thinking of looking for a job in Berlin (graphic designer) before Brexit blew that one out of the water.

14-05-2021, 08:45 AM
Thanks Paul. She’s in Newcastle. The company has actually thrived during Covid - they produce distance learning materials for mobile devices. My daughter and her whole production team have been pushed out - new structure, lower wages, despite massive income. Her joining a trade union didn’t go down well either. But she’s negotiating a good settlement and getting out.

Funnily enough, she was thinking of looking for a job in Berlin (graphic designer) before Brexit blew that one out of the water.

Sounds similar to what I've just been through, although on my part it was voluntary. Sometimes being forced to make changes can have a very positive outcome. I'm sure you're lassie will be more than capable of turning the situation to her advantage.

11-06-2021, 04:58 PM
Passed my state exams today and now officially recognised as a professional driver. I must admit I underestimated the amount of maths, physics, politics and environmental education that was involved in the training but I did enjoy it, even though I'm glad it's behind me.

Now I just need to pass my driving tests and get the licences I need for the jobs I want to apply for. I should have been finished by the end of May but due to Covid it's been a drawn out process. Class C test a week on Monday, then Forklift course before my Class CE and finally dangerous goods and crane licences.

How's everyone else getting on?

11-06-2021, 05:37 PM
I am recruiting a large number of Pension Administrator roles at an Edinburgh based Financial Services company.

Salary £19k-21k depending on experience.
Training and induction will be in the office.
Then move to a 60/40% home/office way of working (approx.)
Both temp and permanent roles available.
Further benefits above starting salary - pension, flexible benefits, private health care etc.
Financial services / pension experience preferred but not mandatory.

If interested send me a DM.

Be happy to help some Hibees out whilst also solving our gap in recruitment 👍🏻

11-06-2021, 05:48 PM
I am recruiting a large number of Pension Administrator roles at an Edinburgh based Financial Services company.

Salary £19k-21k depending on experience.
Training and induction will be in the office.
Then move to a 60/40% home/office way of working (approx.)
Both temp and permanent roles available.
Further benefits above starting salary - pension, flexible benefits, private health care etc.
Financial services / pension experience preferred but not mandatory.

If interested send me a DM.

Be happy to help some Hibees out whilst also solving our gap in recruitment 👍🏻

Nice one

12-06-2021, 07:35 PM
Passed my state exams today and now officially recognised as a professional driver. I must admit I underestimated the amount of maths, physics, politics and environmental education that was involved in the training but I did enjoy it, even though I'm glad it's behind me.

Now I just need to pass my driving tests and get the licences I need for the jobs I want to apply for. I should have been finished by the end of May but due to Covid it's been a drawn out process. Class C test a week on Monday, then Forklift course before my Class CE and finally dangerous goods and crane licences.

great news mate, how are you feeling about the next stage?

I'm 5 weeks in with my new job, enjoying it for the most part, similar role in a completely different industry

12-06-2021, 07:55 PM

Well done P. Onwards and upwards.

12-06-2021, 08:19 PM
great news mate, how are you feeling about the next stage?

I'm 5 weeks in with my new job, enjoying it for the most part, similar role in a completely different industry

Thanks McD, I'm not normally the nervous type but for some reason I'm concerned I might get a dose of the jitters on test day.

Glad you're enjoying the change, hope it works out for you longterm.

12-06-2021, 08:22 PM
Well done P. Onwards and upwards.

Thanks Ron. 😊

Calmbegbie
12-06-2021, 08:47 PM
These are tough times and the pandemic is bound to have resulted in businesses going under and jobs lost. Feel for anyone in that predicament

Andy Bee
12-06-2021, 09:05 PM

Well played, that sounds a completely different system to the UK but I suspect the tests and CPC training will be similar as it's a European standard. It's fantastic the Government fund this sort of training over there, I wish we'd do similar over here. The tests and training alone wouldn't give you much change out of £5k if you pass both tests first time.

13-06-2021, 11:42 AM
Good to see a couple of positive posts from people including progression and job advertisements, in what is generally a depressing topic 👍

13-06-2021, 06:50 PM
Thanks McD, I'm not normally the nervous type but for some reason I'm concerned I might get a dose of the jitters on test day.

Glad you're enjoying the change, hope it works out for you longterm.

thanks bud :aok:

those nerves will keep you focussed and switched on I’m sure, sounds like you’ve done really well

21-06-2021, 04:42 PM
Well played, that sounds a completely different system to the UK but I suspect the tests and CPC training will be similar as it's a European standard. It's fantastic the Government fund this sort of training over there, I wish we'd do similar over here. The tests and training alone wouldn't give you much change out of £5k if you pass both tests first time.

Yes mate, it's a standard test for the license, but Germans being German they want to turn everything into a trade and make every vocation complete an apprenticeship before they're allowed to work in most occupations. It can be a pain in the arse but having to complete state exams means there's less cowboy tradesmen about.

21-06-2021, 04:46 PM
thanks bud :aok:

those nerves will keep you focussed and switched on I’m sure, sounds like you’ve done really well

Thanks pal, I'm not really the nervous type but I was a little apprehensive before my test today, but like you said it kept me focused. I've now completed the state exam and today passed my Class C, now a short holiday and then I'll be training for the "Königsklasse" Class CE.

22-06-2021, 07:56 PM
Thanks pal, I'm not really the nervous type but I was a little apprehensive before my test today, but like you said it kept me focused. I've now completed the state exam and today passed my Class C, now a short holiday and then I'll be training for the "Königsklasse" Class CE.

gaun yersel bud :thumbsup: well done

Andy Bee
22-06-2021, 09:09 PM

Congrats, next stage shouldn't be a problem as both vehicles are the same size going forward, reversing is the key. :greengrin you'll stroll it

22-06-2021, 09:42 PM
gaun yersel bud :thumbsup: well done

Congrats, next stage shouldn't be a problem as both vehicles are the same size going forward, reversing is the key. :greengrin you'll stroll it

Cheers guys, looking forward to a job outside again after being either stuck in an aluminium can or office for the last 16. :greengrin

02-07-2021, 11:11 AM
I'm finally going to start my new job on Monday.

It's not really the one I wanted but I said yes after being endlessly rejected from a whole load of jobs for which I had all the qualifications, skills and experience they could possibly asked for.

However, I just received an E-Mail from one of the other companies I applied to a while back (for a job I really wanted) and they've made me an offer to start in two weeks time.

Oh dear.

02-07-2021, 12:14 PM

It's not really the one I wanted but I said yes after being endlessly rejected from a whole load of jobs for which I had all the qualifications, skills and experience they could possibly asked for.

However, I just received an E-Mail from one of the other companies I applied to a while back (for a job I really wanted) and they've made me an offer to start in two weeks time.

Oh dear.

Take the 2nd one and explain and apologise. I know it seems a bit dodgy but it's not like 99.9% of companies wouldn't bin you in the blink of an eye.

02-07-2021, 12:37 PM
Take the 2nd one and explain and apologise. I know it seems a bit dodgy but it's not like 99.9% of companies wouldn't bin you in the blink of an eye.

I'm really tempted to do that.

02-07-2021, 02:00 PM

You should take the one that’s best suited to your skills, and more importantly your lifestyle

02-07-2021, 02:04 PM

Take the job you want.

Even from the company perspective they probably would rather have an employee who is fully committed to the role.

I'd say it's best for both parties if you take the role you want.

Berwickhibby
02-07-2021, 02:08 PM

Oh dear.

Take the position that's best for you and your family, employers will drop you and show no loyalty should profitability change.

Stairway 2 7
02-07-2021, 02:26 PM

100%

02-07-2021, 02:30 PM

Don't settle when you've got better options.

02-07-2021, 02:32 PM

Do what is best for you …every company would do the same …[emoji106]

02-07-2021, 02:47 PM
Take the position that's best for you and your family, employers will drop you and show no loyalty should profitability change.100% agree with this.

We've had someone start and in the same position as you, his offer came 3 weeks after he started though.

He's going and with our "good graces" and the promise that if things don't work out, to let us know and he'd have 1st dibs on any new vacancy that arises in future.

Always do what's best for your family, if the company have an issue with that then you're well out of it as it doesn't sound like a great place to work.

02-07-2021, 02:52 PM

Oh dear.

Look after number 1. Loyalty has to be earned.

02-07-2021, 05:17 PM
You should take the one that’s best suited to your skills, and more importantly your lifestyle

Take the job you want.

Even from the company perspective they probably would rather have an employee who is fully committed to the role.

I'd say it's best for both parties if you take the role you want.

Take the position that's best for you and your family, employers will drop you and show no loyalty should profitability change.

100%

Do what is best for you …every company would do the same …[emoji106]

100% agree with this.

We've had someone start and in the same position as you, his offer came 3 weeks after he started though.

He's going and with our "good graces" and the promise that if things don't work out, to let us know and he'd have 1st dibs on any new vacancy that arises in future.

Always do what's best for your family, if the company have an issue with that then you're well out of it as it doesn't sound like a great place to work.

Look after number 1. Loyalty has to be earned.

Thanks guys, i really appreciate all your comments and I think you're right.

I have a few days 'onboarding' (getting shown the ropes) starting on Monday and, if I still feel the same way by then, I'm going to let them know.

03-07-2021, 11:42 AM
Thanks guys, i really appreciate all your comments and I think you're right.

I have a few days 'onboarding' (getting shown the ropes) starting on Monday and, if I still feel the same way by then, I'm going to let them know.

I'd echo everyone’s thoughts Keith, and add that it’s totally expected that you’d be looking and applying to multiple places.

I'm now 8 weeks into a new job, this is the one I wanted, but was interviewed (separately) by 3 companies at roughly the same time, and was offered one of the other 2 first, but I delayed responding, waiting to hear from the one I wanted. I don’t regret it, as I’m happy with where I am. Go for the job you want buddy :aok:

03-07-2021, 12:26 PM
I'd echo everyone’s thoughts Keith, and add that it’s totally expected that you’d be looking and applying to multiple places.

I'm now 8 weeks into a new job, this is the one I wanted, but was interviewed (separately) by 3 companies at roughly the same time, and was offered one of the other 2 first, but I delayed responding, waiting to hear from the one I wanted. I don’t regret it, as I’m happy with where I am. Go for the job you want buddy :aok:

I'm glad you've got the job you really wanted mate.

03-07-2021, 12:41 PM
Brilliant opportunity for anyone who wants to try and get into TV in Scotland https://t.co/qwpUjTiUMC

No experience required. Work on Good Omens series 2.

03-07-2021, 01:24 PM
Brilliant opportunity for anyone who wants to try and get into TV in Scotland https://t.co/qwpUjTiUMC

I was in the studio the other day looking at all the set building, pretty impressive although i had never heard of the programme before

03-07-2021, 01:38 PM
I was in the studio the other day looking at all the set building, pretty impressive although i had never heard of the programme before

Based on the book by Terry pratchett and neil gaiman. The TV series stars David Tennant and Michael sheen

stu in nottingham
03-07-2021, 05:32 PM
I was told back in April that my job with Birmingham based charity, Aquarius would end come the end of June. Mine and others' jobs were subject to TUPE (Transfer of Undertaking (Protection of Employment) regulations as the work carried out in the East Midlands was being taken back in-house by national charity, GamCare. Nevertheless, is was a bit stressful waiting to see if this would take place. Especially whilst trying to support dozens of clients in need of help.

I completed my last day with the previous employer on June 30th this last week and have now had two days with the new people. I was pretty emotional and upset at having to leave Aquarius. I've been with them just three and a half years but it's been thoroughly enjoyable and interesting. My work colleagues were fantastic. Probably one of my happiest times at work over many years and different jobs. I was trusted and left to work pretty autonomously In Nottingham and build up an agency that supported and treated many hundreds of people in that time. For once I felt a good fit with my employers too, who looked after and appreciated me. All good things come to an end they say. Onwards and upwards though. It's never lost on me that that I'm happy to be working and earning and income, especially in these distressing times for many. I hope all goes well for the people subject to redundancy in their work. It's no easy things to get through but you will.

03-07-2021, 05:54 PM

Bit of a nonsense saying folk need to be able to drive though.

03-07-2021, 06:21 PM

That's great news McD. :thumbsup:

04-07-2021, 07:49 AM

I'm glad you've got the job you really wanted mate.

That's great news McD. :thumbsup:

thanks guys :aok:

25-08-2021, 05:54 PM

You were right, I strolled it this afternoon. :greengrin Driving with a truck and trailer or a car with caravan is in principle the same, the only difference is size. Just got my forklift ticket to do tomorrow and a dangerous goods course then I'll be looking for a job.

26-08-2021, 08:29 AM
You were right, I strolled it this afternoon. :greengrin Driving with a truck and trailer or a car with caravan is in principle the same, the only difference is size. Just got my forklift ticket to do tomorrow and a dangerous goods course then I'll be looking for a job.

brilliant news mate, well done :aok:

Andy Bee
26-08-2021, 10:14 AM

Well played, now the real education begins :greengrin

First tip from me........When some generous motorist or LGV driver waves you in or lets you take a corner before them I'll usually give a polite wave or flash of the lights in acknowledgement coupled with a thankyou which hopefully they lip read, my problem is I have a lazy tendancy to pronounce it "fank you" and it's only recently I've realised why I'm getting a torrent of abuse after me thinking I'm being very polite to other drivers. So first tip is to stick to just flashing or waving. :greengrin

27-08-2021, 11:43 AM
brilliant news mate, well done :aok:

Cheers McD.

Well played, now the real education begins :greengrin

First tip from me........When some generous motorist or LGV driver waves you in or lets you take a corner before them I'll usually give a polite wave or flash of the lights in acknowledgement coupled with a thankyou which hopefully they lip read, my problem is I have a lazy tendancy to pronounce it "fank you" and it's only recently I've realised why I'm getting a torrent of abuse after me thinking I'm being very polite to other drivers. So first tip is to stick to just flashing or waving. :greengrin

:faf: Don't think I'll have that problem in German although I'll need to be careful how I wave. :wink:

27-08-2021, 11:53 AM
Cheers McD.

:faf: Don't think I'll have that problem in German although I'll need to be careful how I wave. :wink:

Congrats and good luck with the job search.

Does flashing headlights "translate" in Germany? I had a scary moment in France the first time I thought someone was letting me out on the autoroute but they actually meant "don't dare pull out of that lane, I'm comin' through!".

27-08-2021, 12:02 PM
Congrats and good luck with the job search.

Does flashing headlights "translate" in Germany? I had a scary moment in France the first time I thought someone was letting me out on the autoroute but they actually meant "don't dare pull out of that lane, I'm comin' through!".

Thanks JMS. Flashing lights in Germany means pretty much the same as in the UK, at night according to the highway code it can be used as an alternative to beeping your horn as a warning. In reality it's mostly used to say thanks or let other drivers know you're letting them into the flow of traffic. Truckers also do it to let other truckers know it's OK to pull in whilst overtaking. France is a parallel universe when it comes to driving, don't get me started on French roundabouts.

27-08-2021, 12:39 PM
Thanks JMS. Flashing lights in Germany means pretty much the same as in the UK, at night according to the highway code it can be used as an alternative to beeping your horn as a warning. In reality it's mostly used to say thanks or let other drivers know you're letting them into the flow of traffic. Truckers also do it to let other truckers know it's OK to pull in whilst overtaking. France is a parallel universe when it comes to driving, don't get me started on French roundabouts.

"Priorité a whit!?!?" :confused:

27-08-2021, 12:43 PM

"Priorité a whit!?!?" :confused:Priorité à droite - the most idiotic driving rule I've ever encountered.

pollution
27-08-2021, 06:12 PM
Priorité à droite - the most idiotic driving rule I've ever encountered.

I have heard of this. Is it still the case and when would it take effect ?

27-08-2021, 06:34 PM
I have heard of this. Is it still the case and when would it take effect ?It's still the case and is the general rule, ie. you drive on the right side of the road and you should give priority to those arriving from your right - from side streets, car parks, etc. So you're driving straight along a main road (normally in town) and you are required to give way to someone arriving from a side street to your right hand side.

This is usually, but not always, superseded by give-ways and stops as we ordinarily have in the UK, but it's a real pest - especially if you're not familiar with where you're driving. You have to check for road markings & the back of signs to try and work it whether they have to give way to you, which isn't always easy - especially at night.

As I said, it's a stupid, stupid rule and one that still causes me problems even after 17 years living here.

27-08-2021, 10:06 PM
I have heard of this. Is it still the case and when would it take effect ?

In addition to what Peevemor said, it also applies by default at roundabouts, ie. you’re on the roundabout and you have to give way to traffic joining! Unless there’s signs for the joiners telling them they don’t have priority, ie. give way, in which case sanity prevails.

27-08-2021, 10:13 PM
In addition to what Peevemor said, it also applies by default at roundabouts, ie. you’re on the roundabout and you have to give way to traffic joining! Unless there’s signs for the joiners telling them they don’t have priority, ie. give way, in which case sanity prevails.

Roundabouts generally have these signs now. However, what they don't all have are signs before the roundabout giving directions, so if you aren't familiar with the roundabout you don't know what exit your taking until you see the sign/arrow as you go round - making it almost impossible to use the roundabout properly in terms of lanes & indicating.

28-08-2021, 07:02 PM
It's still the case and is the general rule, ie. you drive on the right side of the road and you should give priority to those arriving from your right - from side streets, car parks, etc. So you're driving straight along a main road (normally in town) and you are required to give way to someone arriving from a side street to your right hand side.

This is usually, but not always, superseded by give-ways and stops as we ordinarily have in the UK, but it's a real pest - especially if you're not familiar with where you're driving. You have to check for road markings & the back of signs to try and work it whether they have to give way to you, which isn't always easy - especially at night.

As I said, it's a stupid, stupid rule and one that still causes me problems even after 17 years living here.

Same rule in Germany & Austria (Rechts vor Links)

f there's no signs stating otherwise, you have to give way to any vehicles approaching from the right.

It takes a bit of getting used to.

28-08-2021, 08:03 PM
Same rule in Germany & Austria (Rechts vor Links)

f there's no signs stating otherwise, you have to give way to any vehicles approaching from the right.

It takes a bit of getting used to.

Difference is that it it doesn't count on roundabouts, in France it does. Utter madness.

30-08-2021, 04:11 PM
Sounds a bit like the insane rules I encountered in New Zealand (though I believe it’s been scrapped now). Where two cars where facing each other, one wanting to turn left and one wanting to turn right into the same road, the car turning left had to give way to the car turning right. As I said, I believe they are now the same as us.

The other weird thing there was anything written on the road itself was the wrong way round, so that the word you would say first was at the bottom, e.g. instead of

GIVE
WAY

as you would have here, it was

WAY
GIVE

30-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Sounds a bit like the insane rules I encountered in New Zealand (though I believe it’s been scrapped now). Where two cars where facing each other, one wanting to turn left and one wanting to turn right into the same road, the car turning left had to give way to the car turning right. As I said, I believe they are now the same as us.

The other weird thing there was anything written on the road itself was the wrong way round, so that the word you would say first was at the bottom, e.g. instead of

GIVE
WAY

WAY
GIVE

Who has right of way in the situation you describe?

30-08-2021, 04:59 PM
Who has right of way in the situation you describe?

The car turning right had right of way. So if you are driving along and want to turn left but a car coming in the opposite direction then put on their indicators to turn right, you’d have to stop and let them go. However, if you were just going straight on and not turning left, you’d have the right of way. What I couldn’t work out was what was meant to happen where there were multiple lanes of traffic, e.g. you are in the left lane wanting to turn left, someone in the right hand lane continuing forward but someone coming the other way wanting to turn right. Should you stop and wait for the traffic in the right hand lane to clear and wait for the right turn to happen, or should you just make your left turn?

30-08-2021, 05:21 PM
It's still the case and is the general rule, ie. you drive on the right side of the road and you should give priority to those arriving from your right - from side streets, car parks, etc. So you're driving straight along a main road (normally in town) and you are required to give way to someone arriving from a side street to your right hand side.

When you drive on motorways these days those coming in from slip roads seem to assume they have the right to just merge in and those in the inside lane should make way. I always try and get into the middle lane when safe and adjust my speed but some just accelerate and assume you will slow. Perhaps they are all French

30-08-2021, 06:53 PM
Difference is that it it doesn't count on roundabouts, in France it does. Utter madness.

Yeah, that sounds much worse.

30-08-2021, 07:41 PM

GIVE
WAY

WAY
GIVE

Is that because a driver will see the Give before the Way?

30-08-2021, 07:55 PM
Is that because a driver will see the Give before the Way?At least it's not

Y
A
W

E
V
I
G

pollution
31-08-2021, 11:25 AM
Dearie me, I think I'll take the train instead.

08-09-2021, 04:04 PM
If people were scared at the idea of me being given a license 3 weeks ago to drive 40t articulated trucks on public roads, they'll be terrified to learn I've just been given another license to load them full of dangerous goods :greengrin

Now the search for a job starts, I've got 2 interviews lined up for next week and am really keen on one of them. 🤞

08-09-2021, 04:18 PM
If people were scared at the idea of me being given a license 3 weeks ago to drive 40t articulated trucks on public roads, they'll be terrified to learn I've just been given another license to load them full of dangerous goods :greengrin

Now the search for a job starts, I've got 2 interviews lined up for next week and am really keen on one of them. [emoji1696]Well done & good luck with the interviews.

08-09-2021, 04:54 PM
Well done & good luck with the interviews.

Thanks Peevemor.

08-09-2021, 05:04 PM

Now the search for a job starts, I've got 2 interviews lined up for next week and am really keen on one of them. 🤞

Congrats on the license :top marks

good luck with the interviews mate, I’m sure you’ll smash it :aok:

08-09-2021, 05:18 PM

Oh dear, I'm never driving a car in Berlin or Brandenburg ever again

:paranoid:

08-09-2021, 08:07 PM
Congrats on the license :top marks

good luck with the interviews mate, I’m sure you’ll smash it :aok:

Thanks McD. Been a while since I've sat on the other side of the interview table.

08-09-2021, 08:08 PM
Oh dear, I'm never driving a car in Berlin or Brandenburg ever again

:paranoid:

Don't feel too safe, I might go long distance. :greengrin

10-09-2021, 08:03 PM
Don't feel too safe, I might go long distance. :greengrin

Gott im Himmel!

14-09-2021, 10:17 PM
Well, after starting a new job 4 months ago, one I was enjoying and relishing, and working with some really great people, the company told everyone today that they’ve gone bust, and essentially we’re all now just waiting for the fateful moment that we will no longer have a job.

gutted doesn’t come close tbh

15-09-2021, 05:14 AM
Well, after starting a new job 4 months ago, one I was enjoying and relishing, and working with some really great people, the company told everyone today that they’ve gone bust, and essentially we’re all now just waiting for the fateful moment that we will no longer have a job.

gutted doesn’t come close tbh

Awe ffs, that's a kick in the balls McD. Hopefully those four months experience will help you find something similar quickly.

15-09-2021, 05:30 PM

gutted doesn’t come close tbhSorry to hear that. It sounds like you landed on your feet last time and there's nothing to say that it won't happen again. Hope you get something sorted out soon.

pollution
15-09-2021, 06:01 PM
So sorry to hear that.

Really gets me when we are told there are one million vacancies UK wide and then this happens.

15-09-2021, 08:15 PM
So sorry to hear that. Really gets me when we are told there are one million vacancies UK wide and then this happens.
I fear there will be a lot of this in the next few years. Businesses which were profitable prior to Brexit will find their markets disappear, or their supplies increase in price. Brexit will have a significant impact on business across multiple sectors, and there will be some winners but I fear many losers.

15-09-2021, 08:45 PM
Awe ffs, that's a kick in the balls McD. Hopefully those four months experience will help you find something similar quickly.

Sorry to hear that. It sounds like you landed on your feet last time and there's nothing to say that it won't happen again. Hope you get something sorted out soon.

So sorry to hear that.

Really gets me when we are told there are one million vacancies UK wide and then this happens.

thanks guys, it’s really appreciated :aok:

was a bit up and down last night and today, but I spent most of today helping colleagues get their CVs sorted out, and doing a couple of sessions about interview preparation and so on, so feel like I’ve been able to help some other people and ease some worries for them

a couple of recruitment people have reached out to me, including a friend of mine, so hoping I’ll find something

26-09-2021, 10:24 AM
Starting work on the 18th of October for my first choice company who are based 600m from my house. I've had 13 interviews the last couple of weeks and 13 job offers, the company I wanted to work for was the last to get back to me so I was sweating for a wee while. 37.5hrs a week with an overtime account that can be used to have days off or extra holidays, overtime in excess of 45 hours will be paid out at time and a half. Monday to Friday with 1 night a week in a hotel on a national long distance tour. I'll be driving 3 different categories of HGV so there's also a bit of variety in the job. One more interview to attend tomorrow in Berlin but I can't see me changing my mind.

26-09-2021, 10:29 AM
Starting work on the 18th of October for my first choice company who are based 600m from my house. I've had 13 interviews the last couple of weeks and 13 job offers, the company I wanted to work for was the last to get back to me so I was sweating for a wee while. 37.5hrs a week with an overtime account that can be used to have days off or extra holidays, overtime in excess of 45 hours will be paid out at time and a half. Monday to Friday with 1 night a week in a hotel on a national long distance tour. I'll be driving 3 different categories of HGV so there's also a bit of variety in the job. One more interview to attend tomorrow in Berlin but I can't see me changing my mind.

There's a real shortage of HGV drivers in the UK, if you're interested.

26-09-2021, 10:30 AM
There's a real shortage of HGV drivers in the UK, if you're interested.

Thanks, but I'll pass. :greengrin

26-09-2021, 10:36 AM

congratulations mate, all your hard work has paid off :aok:

26-09-2021, 10:49 AM
congratulations mate, all your hard work has paid off :aok:

Thanks McD. How's things looking at your end?

26-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Thanks McD. How's things looking at your end?

applied for a fair few jobs, was getting absolutely nowhere (whilst the rest of my team were getting plenty interviews, some for the jobs I was applying for :grr:, had a really down day on Thursday, but had a good chat with my boss later on and stopped beating myself up as much

But, I have an interview tomorrow, and a recruiter phoned me about a job I’d applied for to have a chat about the role, he was basically sizing me up for what his client is looking for, and he was really happy with what I was saying, so hopeful on that front too.

still waiting to hear back from a lot of them too, so trying to remain positive

26-09-2021, 09:49 PM
applied for a fair few jobs, was getting absolutely nowhere (whilst the rest of my team were getting plenty interviews, some for the jobs I was applying for :grr:, had a really down day on Thursday, but had a good chat with my boss later on and stopped beating myself up as much

But, I have an interview tomorrow, and a recruiter phoned me about a job I’d applied for to have a chat about the role, he was basically sizing me up for what his client is looking for, and he was really happy with what I was saying, so hopeful on that front too.

still waiting to hear back from a lot of them too, so trying to remain positive

That does sound better than a couple of weeks back. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.

26-09-2021, 09:50 PM
That does sound better than a couple of weeks back. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.Ditto.

27-09-2021, 08:24 PM
That does sound better than a couple of weeks back. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you.

Ditto.

thanks guys, honestly much appreciated :aok:

interview today went well today, good vibe from it all. Have a call tomorrow with someone at my old place where a mutual friend has been talking me up for a different kind of job, and still hopeful of hearing back from the recruiter about the other job, feels like a bit of positive momentum

05-10-2021, 08:12 PM
thanks guys, honestly much appreciated :aok:

interview today went well today, good vibe from it all. Have a call tomorrow with someone at my old place where a mutual friend has been talking me up for a different kind of job, and still hopeful of hearing back from the recruiter about the other job, feels like a bit of positive momentum

wee update, the first interview led to a second, then a meeting with the operations director, and ultimately a job offer, I start on Tuesday :greengrin

thanks for all your support everyone, it truly does matter :top marks

05-10-2021, 08:16 PM
wee update, the first interview led to a second, then a meeting with the operations director, and ultimately a job offer, I start on Tuesday :greengrin

thanks for all your support everyone, it truly does matter :top marksBack of the net! [emoji106]

05-10-2021, 09:23 PM

Brilliant buddy, is it safe to uncross my fingers now? Good luck to you.

06-10-2021, 07:29 AM

I hope there's more toilets for drivers in Germany than this country or it will be your legs getting crossed.

06-10-2021, 07:35 AM

:not worth

06-10-2021, 07:49 AM
I hope there's more toilets for drivers in Germany than this country or it will be your legs getting crossed.

No problems there in my new job. I'm rarely more than 20 minutes between deliveries and the workshops I deliver to have decent facilities. The only exception is one night a week away from home and that's spent in a hotel.

06-10-2021, 08:00 AM
No problems there in my new job. I'm rarely more than 20 minutes between deliveries and the workshops I deliver to have decent facilities. The only exception is one night a week away from home and that's spent in a hotel.

Do you get decent 'room service' :wink:

06-10-2021, 08:28 AM
Do you get decent 'room service' :wink:

In Saxony? You gotta be kidding right? I can't even speak the language. :greengrin

06-10-2021, 12:33 PM
Back of the net! [emoji106]

:not worth

thanks guys :thumbsup:

06-10-2021, 03:10 PM
In Saxony? You gotta be kidding right? I can't even speak the language. :greengrin

Fair point.

Dmas
08-10-2021, 06:54 PM
If your asked to re-apply for your job as a new company has taken over does this mean any ‘unsuccessful’ applicants in effect lose there job? Any staff with long service wouldn’t get redundancy packages?

Sorry If this is a thread hijack I didn’t see the need to start a new one just for this one question with this thread active.

08-10-2021, 07:35 PM
If your asked to re-apply for your job as a new company has taken over does this mean any ‘unsuccessful’ applicants in effect lose there job? Any staff with long service wouldn’t get redundancy packages?

Sorry If this is a thread hijack I didn’t see the need to start a new one just for this one question with this thread active.

I knew a couple of guys who didn't want to work for the new company so they failed in their applications and got redundancy payments.

Dmas
08-10-2021, 08:12 PM
I knew a couple of guys who didn't want to work for the new company so they failed in their applications and got redundancy payments.

Thanks there’s a rumour around my workplace about this happening end of year I’ve got it in my head it’s prime chance for them to rid themselves of the bigger redundancy cheques for further down the line but I don’t know enough about the process never had to do it before

09-10-2021, 06:43 AM
Thanks there’s a rumour around my workplace about this happening end of year I’ve got it in my head it’s prime chance for them to rid themselves of the bigger redundancy cheques for further down the line but I don’t know enough about the process never had to do it before

i think there’s a few factors, a big one being, what kind of redundancy package are they planning/expected to offer? Statutory redundancy has a cap I think, which means there’s a point at which they should know their redundancy payouts can’t grow any bigger. If they offered an enhanced redundancy package, that will increase, potentially significantly. Length of service is a factor, so is the age of the person(s) being made redundant.

In regards to your first question, being asked to reapply for your job would constitute being put into a collective consultation, which has very specific guidelines on timeframes, and information that must be provided. Anyone who is unsuccessful would be eligible for a redundancy payout, which starts at a minimum of statutory redundancy. In a collective consultation, they may not ask people to reapply, they may produce or ask the group affected to produce a plan for reducing the numbers to the level they want, or ask for volunteers for voluntary redundancy (again showing what the redundancy package can look like).

Dmas
09-10-2021, 10:15 AM
i think there’s a few factors, a big one being, what kind of redundancy package are they planning/expected to offer? Statutory redundancy has a cap I think, which means there’s a point at which they should know their redundancy payouts can’t grow any bigger. If they offered an enhanced redundancy package, that will increase, potentially significantly. Length of service is a factor, so is the age of the person(s) being made redundant.

In regards to your first question, being asked to reapply for your job would constitute being put into a collective consultation, which has very specific guidelines on timeframes, and information that must be provided. Anyone who is unsuccessful would be eligible for a redundancy payout, which starts at a minimum of statutory redundancy. In a collective consultation, they may not ask people to reapply, they may produce or ask the group affected to produce a plan for reducing the numbers to the level they want, or ask for volunteers for voluntary redundancy (again showing what the redundancy package can look like).

Thanks for this, helped a lot. We’ve already had a ‘round’ of volunteers during the first lockdown, now there has been a takeover and work has only returned to 61% of pre covid levels, personally I’ve really only been hanging around the last year or 2 in the hope of a redundancy package as I have a long service my worry was this is a perfect opportunity for the new company to just say ‘I’m sorry you no longer have a job’ without paying out.