View Full Version : Most over rated and underrated players
14-10-2020, 09:20 PM
Past and present, doesnt have to be for hibs.
Always said James Milner is criminally under rated. Doesn't get the glory or the glamerous stuff but absolute grafter and does a lot of the dirty work.
Magpie
14-10-2020, 09:22 PM
Heung-Min Son, massively underrated imo.
FifeHibs
14-10-2020, 09:57 PM
Depends if Hibs win or loose the opinion of pub player and world beater is only a game away 🤣
14-10-2020, 10:00 PM
Under rated Super Joe
Over rated Pogba
14-10-2020, 10:16 PM
Under rated Super Joe
Over rated Pogba
Pogba definatly falls into the overrated catagory. Flatters to decieve.
delbert
14-10-2020, 10:47 PM
Past and present, doesnt have to be for hibs.
Always said James Milner is criminally under rated. Doesn't get the glory or the glamerous stuff but absolute grafter and does a lot of the dirty work.
Overrated at Hibs has to be Alan O’Brien, we were told he was Ivan Sproule on a motor bike, but he turned out to be Douglas Bader on a mobility scooter, utterly minging !
14-10-2020, 11:00 PM
Over rated - Omeonga
Under rated - Gary Caldwell
15-10-2020, 05:27 AM
Overrated: Marc McNulty/Omeonga
Underrated: Des Bremner/Jamie MacLaren
15-10-2020, 05:35 AM
Overrated - Omeonga
Underrated - John O'Neill
15-10-2020, 06:51 AM
Over rated - Omeonga
Under rated - Gary Caldwell
Really?
15-10-2020, 07:06 AM
overrated - Omeonga, Claros
underrated - John O'Neil, Lovell
15-10-2020, 07:08 AM
Overrated. Rob Jones
Underrated. Paul Hanlon.
Leitherhibs
15-10-2020, 07:20 AM
Overrated - Mathias Jack
Underrated - Sol Bamba/Mathias Doumbe/Gregorz Szamotulski/John O'Neil
15-10-2020, 07:51 AM
Overrated - Stephane Omeonga, Marc McNulty, Chris Maxwell (for a time some people thought we were better playing him ahead of Marciano)
Underrated - Jamie MacLaren, John O'Neil, Lewis Stevenson (from 2007 to roughly 2016)
15-10-2020, 08:04 AM
Overrated - Fyvie, Malonga, Holt, McLaren, Claros
Underrated - Cummings, Fenwick & Smith (although playing beside Sauzee took them up a level or two I don’t think they would have reached without him)
15-10-2020, 08:31 AM
Few strange overrated mentions. Fwiw no player that helped us win that cup should ever be on that list 😉 imo .
Thought Bamba was massively underrated by quite a few .
Alan O’Brian must be up there as the most overrated hyped up signing in many a year .
15-10-2020, 08:48 AM
Over-rated McGeouch.
Cup hero aye, and he slotted in to provided balance to a superb midfield, but his pitty-patty sideways and backwards passes and not tracking back had me moaning at him way more often than the good things he did. Evidenced by how invisible he has been since moving on rather than the world class player some would have us think.
15-10-2020, 09:10 AM
Overrated Franck Sauzee 🚕
Underrated Hakim sar temsoury 😂
15-10-2020, 09:40 AM
Overrated - Scott Allan
Underrated - Paul Hanlon
Managers - Overrated - Neil Lennon
Underrated - Alan Stubbs
Up The Bracket
15-10-2020, 11:08 AM
Overrated - Marc McNulty, Jason Naismith, Kevin Thomson (2nd & 3rd spells), Adam Jackson, Vykintas Slivka,
Underrated - Jorge Claros, Adam Bogdan, Stephen Whittaker, Fraser Fyvie, Sol Bamba, Liam Miller
15-10-2020, 11:28 AM
Overrated: Shiels (after he left people started rating him very highly)
Underrated: Kevin McBride
Dr What If?
15-10-2020, 11:32 AM
Often thought that as a general rule (not golden) if a player comes through the ranks he is under-rated. Stevenson has to be the prime example, over a decade of 'he's a good squad player'. Well he has seen plenty players come and go and he still has a first team place, two cup winners medals and a Scotland cap.....he has always been 100%, always fit and yes, he can play as well.
15-10-2020, 11:36 AM
Over rated - McGeouch (unless he's partnering John McGinn).
Under rated - Joe T - still one of the best crossers of the ball I've seen playing for Hibs.
15-10-2020, 11:38 AM
Overrated: Kamberi
Underrated: Kamberi
:stirrer:
15-10-2020, 12:09 PM
Over-rated McGeouch.
Cup hero aye, and he slotted in to provided balance to a superb midfield, but his pitty-patty sideways and backwards passes and not tracking back had me moaning at him way more often than the good things he did. Evidenced by how invisible he has been since moving on rather than the world class player some would have us think.
Many, many players have done nothing after leaving Hibs. Scott Allan and Derek Riordan 2 good examples. Doesn't say anything about their quality while here. Mcgeouch was class, anything but overrated.
15-10-2020, 12:10 PM
Over rated - McGeouch (unless he's partnering John McGinn).
Under rated - Joe T - still one of the best crossers of the ball I've seen playing for Hibs.
Mcgeouch was here before Mcginn and was excellent.
15-10-2020, 12:16 PM
Always thought Colgan, Smith and Fenwick were overrated. Sauzee made them look good and was constantly directing them.
Latapy and Sauzee I thought were underrated. Yes we loved them but only in retrospect and what we have seen since do realize how special they were.
15-10-2020, 12:18 PM
Is the answer Paul Hanlon?
15-10-2020, 12:32 PM
Really?
Yes
15-10-2020, 01:00 PM
Overrated Hibs - Claros
Underrated Hibs - Benji
Overrated generally - Kyle Walker
Underrated generally - Fernando Llorente
15-10-2020, 01:17 PM
Always thought Colgan, Smith and Fenwick were overrated. Sauzee made them look good and was constantly directing them.
Latapy and Sauzee I thought were underrated. Yes we loved them but only in retrospect and what we have seen since do realize how special they were.
Sauzee and Latapy were just quality everyone and anyone that saw them play could see that
Colgan and Fenwick earned 9 and 33 caps for their respective countries so must have being doing something right
Gary Smith played 158 times for Hibernian most of them when Le God was long gone and was so often the cool head and the gel that held our defence together when all about were losing theirs
You of course are entitled to your opinion FH and I respect that
15-10-2020, 01:42 PM
Under-rated Steven Fletcher
Over-rated Most of the players who have left us,are now available and could do a job.
15-10-2020, 01:48 PM
Overrated - Jonatan Johansson
Underrated - Eoin Doyle
15-10-2020, 01:55 PM
Under-rated: David Wotherspoon (very talented, never quite found his niche at Hibs), Kevin McAllister (under rated by Lexo, the man who mattered most), Graham Mitchell (classy sweeper, spent too much time at left back because Lexo wouldn't know one if he walked up and slapped him in the pus) and Joe McBride .
Over-rated: Murdo McLeod (captained us to a cup, but that aside, I expected so much more from him), Liam Miller (again, he had the pedigree, but flattered to deceive), Keith Houchen (basically an oversized huddie who never came close to justifying his sizable transfer fee).
15-10-2020, 01:56 PM
Think Lukaku is a under-rated player.
15-10-2020, 01:57 PM
Over rated - Melker Hallberg
Under rated - Melker Hallberg
15-10-2020, 02:39 PM
Overrated - Jonatan Johansson
Underrated - Eoin Doyle
Who actually rated JJ?
15-10-2020, 02:46 PM
Latapy was an exceptional player for us and I agree that we maybe didn’t appreciate just how good and how important he was.
It was good listening to Yogi enthusing about him recently.
I hadn’t realised that earlier in his career Russell had played in such big games - European Cup semi iirc.
15-10-2020, 02:47 PM
Always thought Liam Fontaine was underrated. Big part of the rebuild but has went a lot more under the radar when he’s came back to ER than the likes of Bartley.
15-10-2020, 02:54 PM
Who actually rated JJ?
Everyone when he signed. Utter ***** though he could hardly move one game at Tynie:
15-10-2020, 03:12 PM
I always thought Paul Mcstay was way overrated
hibby rae
15-10-2020, 03:20 PM
David Luiz seems to be overrated by a lot of people.
No idea how he has consistently been signed by big clubs.
15-10-2020, 03:22 PM
Craig Levein. He was never as good as they make out.
15-10-2020, 03:48 PM
Controversial but I thought Barry Ferguson was under rated.
yonder1875
15-10-2020, 03:54 PM
Under-rated - Messi.
People take for granted just how good he is and has been that it makes him a little underrated.
15-10-2020, 04:40 PM
Controversial but I thought Barry Ferguson was under rated.
Me too.
He was one of those players it seemed quite cool to say was overrated.
There was one game in particular at Easter Road when he was the only Rangers player who turned up, and he dragged a team full of expensive players of good reputation who simply didn't fancy it to a 1-0 win almost single-handedly.
I had a lot of respect for him as a player from then on and tbf I didn't often see him have a bad game.
15-10-2020, 04:58 PM
David Luiz seems to be overrated by a lot of people.
No idea how he has consistently been signed by big clubs.
90% of the time he is excellent. Unreal passing range for a defender.
15-10-2020, 05:08 PM
Overrated: Kamberi
Underrated: Kamberi
:stirrer:
I like this. He overrates himself for sure. Perhaps underrated by hibs fans who denigrate his contribution because he's a rat.
15-10-2020, 05:10 PM
Underrated - Matt Doherty :duck:
15-10-2020, 05:17 PM
Me too.
He was one of those players it seemed quite cool to say was overrated.
There was one game in particular at Easter Road when he was the only Rangers player who turned up, and he dragged a team full of expensive players of good reputation who simply didn't fancy it to a 1-0 win almost single-handedly.
I had a lot of respect for him as a player from then on and tbf I didn't often see him have a bad game.
100%. Although there was one game Thommo took the piss out him in midfield and he ended up getting sent off. He went down south and didn’t look out of place either.
15-10-2020, 05:35 PM
I always thought Paul Mcstay was way overrated
Can’t say I agree with this. I reckon he was gifted technically and could have played anywhere. His mistake was to stay at Celtic when his career would have been better served by moving on.
15-10-2020, 05:35 PM
Underrated - Matt Doherty :duck:
By some Hibs fans, absolutely
15-10-2020, 05:48 PM
By some Hibs fans, absolutely
Based on his time here? He played all of 17 games one of which was that cup final. He may have been a prospect but the 300 or so games at Wolves made him the player he is now.
15-10-2020, 06:13 PM
Overrated - Jason Cummings
Underrated - fraser fyvie
15-10-2020, 06:14 PM
Under-rated - Liam Craig. Until he got butchered, he was our top scorer and was a neat and tidy attacking midfielder who could score goals. Some of the abuse he took from the stands was shameful.
Over-rated - James McPake. Really poor positioning which meant he had to make more last minute do or die challenges than he needed to, which made him look a lot better than he ever was.
hibby rae
15-10-2020, 06:16 PM
90% of the time he is excellent. Unreal passing range for a defender.
I question his positioning and just his bottle.
I remember in the WC against Germany, pivotal moment when they are two down. He ****s it from a 50/50, and he was the captain, and Germany go 3 up.
I also love Gary Neville's comment about how it's like he'a controlled by a 14 year old on a playstation.
15-10-2020, 06:23 PM
Under-rated - Liam Craig. Until he got butchered, he was our top scorer and was a neat and tidy attacking midfielder who could score goals. Some of the abuse he took from the stands was shameful.
Over-rated - James McPake. Really poor positioning which meant he had to make more last minute do or die challenges than he needed to, which made him look a lot better than he ever was.
If Liam Craig had scored the pen at Tynie and we’d gone on to win, it could’ve been so different for him!
15-10-2020, 06:27 PM
I question his positioning and just his bottle.
I remember in the WC against Germany, pivotal moment when they are two down. He ****s it from a 50/50, and he was the captain, and Germany go 3 up.
I also love Gary Neville's comment about how it's like he'a controlled by a 14 year old on a playstation.
Undoubtedly. That 10% he is absolutely horrendous is really painful stuff. He trophy cabinet is phenomenal, though.
15-10-2020, 06:28 PM
If Liam Craig had scored the pen at Tynie and we’d gone on to win, it could’ve been so different for him!
Na, I think folk turned on him long before then.
15-10-2020, 06:30 PM
Underrated - Hanlon and Cummings. Away from Hibs, I always thought Dean Ashton looked a great player before injury.
Overrated - Fabian Yantorno, Peter Haring, Scott McKenna, Curtis Main, Ross McCrorie (honestly, you’d think we’d missed out on Ngolo ****e with the amount of greeting there was when Aberdeen got him).
15-10-2020, 06:35 PM
Under-rated - Messi.
People take for granted just how good he is and has been that it makes him a little underrated.
He's regarded by a huge proportion of football fans as the greatest player to ever play the game. I'm not sure he can be classed as underrated.
15-10-2020, 06:47 PM
Na, I think folk turned on him long before then.
https://youtu.be/sh0UY3poy90
From before the penalty at Tynie - embarrassing.
Lewiehas2
15-10-2020, 06:49 PM
Overrated - Last season for me it was Doidge, thought his overall play was poor, didn’t win enough in the air & didn't work as hard as some people gave him credit for. HOWEVER, I’ve been impressed by how he’s improved overall this season. Touch is better, wins much more in the air and seems to have a good understanding with Nisbet. For me if he scores 15 this season (hopefully Nisbet will get 20+), and does a job for the team I’m happy.
Underrated - Fraser Fyvie. Made us tick 15/16 season and a big part in that legendary squad
15-10-2020, 07:01 PM
Fyvie is an amazing shout. Love the laddie.
15-10-2020, 07:15 PM
Claros is the most overrated player to pull a Hibs shirt on. Pitbull my arse. Had a habit of making Ian Black look like Iniesta. Shows how far we've come that people now moan about Hallberg and Mallan.
15-10-2020, 07:19 PM
Claros is the most overrated player to pull a Hibs shirt on. Pitbull my arse. Shows how far we've come that people now moan about Hallberg and Mallan.
He was easily better than Halberg.
Quality player, played at a world cup. Aside from his bad loan spell, he was really good here.
15-10-2020, 07:22 PM
He was easily better than Halberg.
Quality player, played at a world cup. Aside from his bad loan spell, he was really good here.
The Claros of then wouldn't be anywhere near todays Hibs squad never mind team. Some gash players have played in the World Cup.
DetroitHibs
15-10-2020, 07:22 PM
Always thought Scholes was overrated, didn't get what everyone saw. A lot of his ex teammates claim he was top drawer though. Matt Le Tiss, I didn't think got enough credit. Would have been interesting to see what he could have done with quality players around him.
15-10-2020, 07:23 PM
The Claros of then wouldn't be anywhere near todays Hibs squad never mind team. Some gash players have played in the World Cup.
Claros from then would absolutely be playing in our team now!
15-10-2020, 07:24 PM
Always thought Scholes was overrated, didn't get what everyone saw. A lot of his ex teammates claim he was top drawer though. Matt Le Tiss, I didn't think got enough credit. Would have been interesting to see what he could have done with quality players around him.
Couldn’t disagree more about Scholes. Unbelievable talent.
15-10-2020, 07:32 PM
Did you stop going after the 5-1 final? His next year was very good. He strolls into todays squad.
15-10-2020, 07:48 PM
Worst post on the internet ever 🤣
15-10-2020, 08:46 PM
Hibs wise:
Overrated - Omeonga
Underrated - Cummings
15-10-2020, 08:53 PM
Tend to agree thought Claros was bang average. Think Graham Mitchell was underated excellent player
15-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Couldn’t disagree more about Scholes. Unbelievable talent.
Scholes was better than Lampard and Gerrard.
15-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Did you stop going after the 5-1 final? His next year was very good. He strolls into todays squad.
Claros has never been very good
15-10-2020, 08:57 PM
Hibs wise:
Overrated - Omeonga
Underrated - Cummings
Jason Cummings is a Hibernian legend.
I mean a proper Hibernian legend. The word is branded around a lot but that wee laddie is a legend. Scottish cup winning slayer of hearts. He’s our Robbo and I know he would come back in a instant.
Jason Cummings hearts fan? Check him belting sunshine on leith both in hampden and on the bus. He would choose us over them every day of the week now too.
DetroitHibs
15-10-2020, 08:59 PM
Scholes was better than Lampard and Gerrard.
Totally agree. Scholes was a great player, I just didn't see him as world class like many regarded him.
15-10-2020, 09:02 PM
Always thought Liam Fontaine was underrated. Big part of the rebuild but has went a lot more under the radar when he’s came back to ER than the likes of Bartley.
Always remember seeing him for the first time playing against Alloa, Dad, Uncle and Myself all thought he was a total huddie, turned out to be a solid player that really helped anchor that defence, and of course, he's got a Scottish Cup Winner's medal. I'm glad we were all totally wrong about him.
15-10-2020, 09:12 PM
Claros is the most overrated player to pull a Hibs shirt on. Pitbull my arse. Had a habit of making Ian Black look like Iniesta. Shows how far we've come that people now moan about Hallberg and Mallan.
Claros has never been very good
Got to agree never rated him. The Pitbull tag was a joke.
15-10-2020, 09:16 PM
Always remember seeing him for the first time playing against Alloa, Dad, Uncle and Myself all thought he was a total huddie, turned out to be a solid player that really helped anchor that defence, and of course, he's got a Scottish Cup Winner's medal. I'm glad we were all totally wrong about him.
He hated that pitch up at Alloa and I remember him having a stinker on it not long after joining us.
Having players of the character of Fontaine really helped us build a bond back between the club and fans after relegation though, and that's before you got onto his footballing ability.
Fontaine is a bit of an unsung hero just because he's not been revered as some of the other folk we had at that time.
Great player, great guy, and I'm pretty sure when we end up back in the doldrums at some point in the future we'll think about how much we could do with a Liam Fontaine type character.
15-10-2020, 09:23 PM
Got to agree never rated him. The Pitbull tag was a joke.
Got to disagree
53 games for HIBS and I don’t recall him giving the ball away once
The guy was quality
83 caps for Honduras
Dearie me !
15-10-2020, 09:33 PM
Overrated Paul McStay
Underrated Alex Edwards
15-10-2020, 09:35 PM
Agree. He was rotten.
15-10-2020, 09:40 PM
Ask anyone who was at the play off at Hampden
Scotland 0 v 2 England
Nothing between the teams the difference was Paul Scholes the guy was quality ghosting in for both goals in a high pressure match
Agree about Le Tissier though
15-10-2020, 09:42 PM
Going by this thread, I'll say Claros is underrated. Classy player who would have shone in a better side. Tenacious, mobile, and knew how to treat the ball in possession.
15-10-2020, 09:43 PM
Got to disagree
53 games for HIBS and I don’t recall him giving the ball away once
The guy was quality
83 caps for Honduras
Dearie me !
I think you need to check out a few highlights videos Time may have dulled your memory he was bang average for Hibs no idea how he played at International level.
15-10-2020, 09:46 PM
Overrated Franck Sauzee 🚕
Underrated Hakim sar temsoury 😂
Eh whit? Either you are trolling or this should be your new avatar........ :doh:
15-10-2020, 09:46 PM
I think you need to check out a few highlights videos Time may have dulled your memory he was bang average for Hibs no idea how he played at International level.
I give you :
HIBS 4 v 0 Dunfermline when we had to win to stay up
Kilmarnock 2 v 4 Hibernian Scottish Cup
Without looking at any videos
15-10-2020, 09:48 PM
Going by this thread, I'll say Claros is underrated. Classy player who would have shone in a better side. Tenacious, mobile, and knew how to treat the ball in possession.
👍🏿
15-10-2020, 10:16 PM
I give you :
HIBS 4 v 0 Dunfermline when we had to win to stay up
Kilmarnock 2 v 4 Hibernian Scottish Cup
Without looking at any videos
I will give you the other 51 games 😁 even a blind squirrel 🐿 finds the odd nut.
Liam6270
15-10-2020, 10:19 PM
Overrated Jamie Mclaren
Underrated Marc Libbra
15-10-2020, 10:24 PM
I will give you the other 51 games 😁 even a blind squirrel 🐿 finds the odd nut.
Ha Ha!
What I will say he was that highly regarded by our Staff that he was ruled out for the SC Final 2012 through injury and was left out then suddenly he was fit and was back in the team after missing 4-6 weeks that was wrong and he was gash
Another poster said he was outstanding his second season and I agree
Another poster compared him to Hallberg all I will say that Hallberg moved to right back on Saturday and twice he booted the ball out of play trying to pass it down the line
Claros was the master at keeping possession
It is a simple game really
15-10-2020, 10:30 PM
Overrated Jamie Mclaren
Underrated Marc Libbra
Jamie MacLaren only really played half a season for us fully fit scoring 8 goals in 15 games the last Hibernian player to score a hat-trick versus The Rangers
I’ll take that 😃
Marc Libbra was quality
15-10-2020, 10:40 PM
Underrated : John Rankin
Overrated : Benji
MagicSwirlingShip
15-10-2020, 10:51 PM
Overrated : Lewis Stevenson in midfield
Underrated : Antonio Murray in midfield
West Upper
15-10-2020, 11:04 PM
Overrated: Omeonga
Underrated:Fyvie
Non Hibs
Overrated: Joe Gomez
Underrated: Jordan Henderson
15-10-2020, 11:27 PM
Claros' biggest problem was his nickname.
We expected a snarling pitbull and got a very tidy footballer instead. Those of us who adapted our expectations loved him. Anyone expecting a pitbull would have been disappointed.
So he can comfortably slot into the underrated and overrated categories depending on what you were expecting, really.
16-10-2020, 04:27 AM
Because he wasn't bang average and you're incorrect. That's how he played at international level. It's the most obvious answer.
supermcginn
16-10-2020, 07:12 AM
Underrated : John Rankin
Overrated : Benji
I'd have those two the other way about. One was an excellent finisher who scored 2 goals in a cup final we won and scored in the semi before that, rankin on the other hand was great at hitting the first man from corners and shouting and pointing at others.
16-10-2020, 08:04 AM
I'd have those two the other way about. One was an excellent finisher who scored 2 goals in a cup final we won and scored in the semi before that, rankin on the other hand was great at hitting the first man from corners and shouting and pointing at others.
Agreed, Rankin was utterly rotten as a player. Plenty of effort, but generally poor.
Benji was a very talented guy who could blow hot and cold at times.
16-10-2020, 08:10 AM
Because he wasn't bang average and you're incorrect. That's how he played at international level. It's the most obvious answer.
Did he get all his 80 caps whilst playing for Hibs ? No I thought not, he may well have been great for other teams and internationally however what I saw for Hibs was an average player yes tidy etc but he never stood out.
So we will have to disagree rather than you telling me I am incorrect.
16-10-2020, 08:12 AM
Overrated - Steven Tweed
Underrated - Victor Palsson
16-10-2020, 08:26 AM
Did he get all his 80 caps whilst playing for Hibs ? No I thought not, he may well have been great for other teams and internationally however what I saw for Hibs was an average player yes tidy etc but he never stood out.
So we will have to disagree rather than you telling me I am incorrect.
Eh, no because he was only at Hibs 18 months. He did play plenty of internationals while at Hibs, though.
16-10-2020, 08:27 AM
Overrated - Steven Tweed
Underrated - Victor Palsson
Palsson on his debut for Hibs looked like he was going to be an EPL player one day. He was absolutely exceptional.
16-10-2020, 08:32 AM
Claros was fantastic. I remember one game against Dundee who were playing in a kit that had a slight clash with ours. He accidentally gave it to a Dundee player who started a counter attack but he bust a gut to get back, break up the attack and start a counter of his own. Neat and tidy with passing, had a good amount of tenacity when it came to breaking down the opposition attack and was technically good as well.
If we'd had a higher quality of player around him back then he'd have looked even better.
Magpie
16-10-2020, 08:57 AM
Palsson on his debut for Hibs looked like he was going to be an EPL player one day. He was absolutely exceptional.
Went on to have a good career
16-10-2020, 12:00 PM
Palsson, Sodje, Towell and Booth all came in and helped keep Hibs up that season. What a grim season that was, murder to watch.
16-10-2020, 12:05 PM
Went on to have a good career
Yup. Good career and played in some great places. Even played with Thierry Henry.
He can quite regularly be seen playing for Iceland now.
Saint Hibee
16-10-2020, 01:23 PM
Overrated: Efe Ambrose (good player, but not the messiah some seem to think).
Under-rated: Eoin Doyle.
Souter96Mac
16-10-2020, 01:29 PM
(Hibs)
Underrated: Gunnarsson
(Non Hibs)
Overrated: Jordan Henderson
Underrated: Isaac Hayden
16-10-2020, 01:49 PM
Overrated - Malonga - really didn't understand the calls by some to bring him back. No doubting he had ability but went missing and looked as though he couldn't be bothered far more games than not.
Underrated - John O'Neil - great all round midfielder, type we've been missing in our current set up.
16-10-2020, 04:07 PM
Over-Rated Benny Brazil
Under-Rated Benny Brazil
16-10-2020, 04:20 PM
:top marksWrong way round.
Benji was, and is, underrated. That cup final performance in 2007 was almost up there with Stokes’ in 2016, I couldn’t believe he wasn’t MOTM in that game.
Rankin? Just the socks round the ankles thing annoyed me. But usually ran around a lot looking exhausted without influencing play and made up silly names for goals when ‘Longbanger’ would have been fine.
16-10-2020, 05:00 PM
Over rated = Players who have played for us previously that we are rumoured to be looking at.
Under rated = Lewis Stevenson
Over rated Joe Gomez
Under rated massively Jordan Henderson
DetroitHibs
16-10-2020, 05:56 PM
Underrated = Willie Miller
I thought Willie was a very good and solid player for us and never fully appreciated. Solid in the tackle, great right peg and quick.
16-10-2020, 06:10 PM
Over rated - Leigh Griffiths
Under rated - Alan O'Brien
ok I'm being ridiculous now but all the people saying Claros was murder started it.
16-10-2020, 06:20 PM
Underrated = Willie Miller
I thought Willie was a very good and solid player for us and never fully appreciated. Solid in the tackle, great right peg and quick.
Thought it was strange when he left
DetroitHibs
16-10-2020, 06:26 PM
I thought the same, kinda went under the radar. Think he left the season we were relegated. Great servant to the club.
16-10-2020, 06:43 PM
As far as I remember the likes of he and Darren Dods jumped ship didn’t they?
16-10-2020, 06:45 PM
(Hibs)
Underrated: Gunnarsson
(Non Hibs)
Overrated: Jordan Henderson
Underrated: Isaac Hayden
Amen. :greengrin
16-10-2020, 10:09 PM
Yup. Good career and played in some great places. Even played with Thierry Henry.
He can quite regularly be seen playing for Iceland now.
A steady Eddy averaging about 30 odd games per club, never really established himself anywhere, not that great to be honest.
TelaStella
17-10-2020, 01:02 AM
Underrated:
Michael Stewart
Fraser Fyvie
Ben Williams
Graham Stack
Chris Hogg
Liam Henderson. For context, I think we are all massively appreciative of Henderson’s contributions and rightly so for 21/05/16. But I often worry this can overshadow actually just how much quality he possessed throughout his whole spell at Hibs and no doubt still does down in Italy. Magnificent player who only knew one way to play and that was the right one. Personal opinion here but I’d be putting everything on the line to bring him back one day before even listening to the usual McGeouch and Griffiths shouts we get every season.
Overrated:
John Rankin, if anyone ever did.
Duncan Watmore
Ryan Jack
Brandon Barker
Ian Murray (Tin hat) I don’t think he ever set the heights expected of him at the Huns after his move and always felt he looked often questionable and liable at times when he returned a few years later. Just generally never thought he was what a lot made out but I understand the injuries and of course what the club meant to him. Plus he knocked out Ian Black which was really sound.
TelaStella
17-10-2020, 01:15 AM
I look back on that time with nothing but sheer sadness and embarrassment, it was the most helpless winter I can recall following Hibs. We’d finally found a win at the end of January, at home to St Mirren where Palsson made said debut along with Sodjie and one or two others I don’t care much to recall. I remember me and my old man leaving that night thinking that those guys were gonna have us fired right back to the top in no time, especially Palsson. Nine years on and I now know it was only sheer desperation to see some kind of a decent side again and any hope we might of had wasn’t simply just hope but a dream.
17-10-2020, 02:32 AM
As far as I remember the likes of he and Darren Dods jumped ship didn’t they?
There were certainly a couple who moved on, through exercising their contracts. It felt rubbish at the time but is was legit.
This will be controversial but for most over-rated it is Zemmama. Beats one player, looks like he is beating a second, loses possession. And repeat ad infinutem. Lots of us loved him but there was a reason he only got ten minutes in the 2007 LC Final.
For under-rated I will suggest Pat McGinlay. I think he was just unlucky that when he was peaking there was a strong cohort in place. He should have got caps.
As for Paul McStay, there are very few Scottish footballers who got the chance to play in Italy. IIRC there were certainly approaches to him. Regardless, he stayed with Celtc.
Whether he had gone down to England or over to Italy he was an exceptional midfielder and a consistent talent.
17-10-2020, 05:41 AM
Underrated:
Michael Stewart
Fraser Fyvie
Ben Williams
Graham Stack
Chris Hogg
Liam Henderson. For context, I think we are all massively appreciative of Henderson’s contributions and rightly so for 21/05/16. But I often worry this can overshadow actually just how much quality he possessed throughout his whole spell at Hibs and no doubt still does down in Italy. Magnificent player who only knew one way to play and that was the right one. Personal opinion here but I’d be putting everything on the line to bring him back one day before even listening to the usual McGeouch and Griffiths shouts we get every season.
Overrated:
John Rankin, if anyone ever did.
Duncan Watmore
Ryan Jack
Brandon Barker
Ian Murray (Tin hat) I don’t think he ever set the heights expected of him at the Huns after his move and always felt he looked often questionable and liable at times when he returned a few years later. Just generally never thought he was what a lot made out but I understand the injuries and of course what the club meant to him. Plus he knocked out Ian Black which was really sound.
Agree about Ryan Jack I just don’t get it
I have tried to re-educate my opinion by watching him closely for The Rangers and Scotland but I still don’t get it
I was meh about him with Aberdeen as well
Fair play to the guy he has carved out a decent career for himself
He wasn’t a first pick for Scotland when Scott Brown was about and he still isn’t a first pick
17-10-2020, 06:03 AM
Overrated: Efe Ambrose (good player, but not the messiah some seem to think).
Under-rated: Eoin Doyle.
Oh no, no way. Not having that about Efe.
17-10-2020, 06:15 AM
I look back on that time with nothing but sheer sadness and embarrassment, it was the most helpless winter I can recall following Hibs. We’d finally found a win at the end of January, at home to St Mirren where Palsson made said debut along with Sodjie and one or two others I don’t care much to recall. I remember me and my old man leaving that night thinking that those guys were gonna have us fired right back to the top in no time, especially Palsson. Nine years on and I now know it was only sheer desperation to see some kind of a decent side again and any hope we might of had wasn’t simply just hope but a dream.
What a ***** time to be a Hibs fan. Pretty much every season between winning the league cup on 2007 and relegation in 2014 bar a good half season under Yogi could be wiped from my memory bank without any issues. Just pish.
TelaStella
25-10-2020, 09:41 PM
A certain player came into my thoughts today that I felt merited the resurfacing of this thread from the other day.
Guillaume Boozy Beuzelin will go down for me as one of the best Hibs players I’ve had to pleasure to watch, part of a wider squad of players, specifically midfielders with quality completely unmatched outside the Old Firm. While Brown and Thompson along with the other usual suspects collect their deserved plaudits how overlooked do you think Boozy is as a part of that great side and the wider SPL at that time? And why was it such a player of his quality and class failed to take his career that one step higher despite possessing the qualities he did? I seem to recall an injury ruling him out for a large chunk of 2006, early 2007 but can’t remember the reasons behind this and to what extent it may have played on his progress. Interesting to hear others memories and recollections of surely the 2nd best Hibernian of France.
25-10-2020, 10:11 PM
A certain player came into my thoughts today that I felt merited the resurfacing of this thread from the other day.
Guillaume Boozy Beuzelin will go down for me as one of the best Hibs players I’ve had to pleasure to watch, part of a wider squad of players, specifically midfielders with quality completely unmatched outside the Old Firm. While Brown and Thompson along with the other usual suspects collect their deserved plaudits how overlooked do you think Boozy is as a part of that great side and the wider SPL at that time? And why was it such a player of his quality and class failed to take his career that one step higher despite possessing the qualities he did? I seem to recall an injury ruling him out for a large chunk of 2006, early 2007 but can’t remember the reasons behind this and to what extent it may have played on his progress. Interesting to hear others memories and recollections of surely the 2nd best Hibernian of France.
Beuzelin was a brilliant player. He did his knee at Kilmarnock, sure it was a New Years Day game and we had a huge crowd down that day. Still came back and went on to win a trophy with us but I’m sure he had another relatively bad injury as well.
He also bought me several shots up the town when he was out celebrating scoring against Hearts in the ‘unbeatable’ derby. I did initially attempt to buy him a drink as a thank you for his efforts that day. Was happy to talk about his goal for a considerable period of time. Top guy!
TelaStella
25-10-2020, 11:06 PM
Beuzelin was a brilliant player. He did his knee at Kilmarnock, sure it was a New Years Day game and we had a huge crowd down that day. Still came back and went on to win a trophy with us but I’m sure he had another relatively bad injury as well.
He also bought me several shots up the town when he was out celebrating scoring against Hearts in the ‘unbeatable’ derby. I did initially attempt to buy him a drink as a thank you for his efforts that day. Was happy to talk about his goal for a considerable period of time. Top guy!
Haha that’s a brilliant story mate. I remember little about the injury first time round, only his long awaited return at Pittodrie in a cracker of a midweek cup game but my memory could be faulty there too.
27-10-2020, 02:47 PM
Alan O’Brian must be up there as the most overrated hyped up signing in many a year .
Overrated by exactly who?
I have never seen anyone have a good word for O'Brien on here. A most puzzling selection.
Dylan was certainly overrated. I was certainly relieved when he opted to go to Aberdeen.
27-10-2020, 03:00 PM
I have never seen anyone have a good word for O'Brien on here. A most puzzling selection.
Dylan was certainly overrated. I was certainly relieved when he opted to go to Aberdeen.
I can’t have that about Dylan.
Ok, maybe if you take into consideration the number of games he missed.
He was a class act when he played, and I always thought we missed him loads when he was out.
I can’t believe anyone could think Dylan was overrated.
My appreciation of him has waned a bit over the years, mainly based on stuff he’s done since leaving us, but nothing can change my opinion that he was a player of the highest quality when he was at Hibs.
Dr What If?
27-10-2020, 03:16 PM
Does anyone else think Alan Rough was massively underrated? I was just a boy when he played in goal but I remember plenty in our own support slating him, he was almost becoming a figure of fun for other clubs too. That seemed to end when he had his brief spell at Celtic when the media didn't have a bad word to say about him.
Back in those days we were not great and relegation seemed to be constant threat, I'm certain we would have gone down if it wasn't for him between the sticks.....still my hero from when I was little.
27-10-2020, 03:19 PM
Ten years from now Jorge Claros and Omeonga will be spoken about like Messi and Ronaldo
27-10-2020, 04:07 PM
I can’t have that about Dylan.
Ok, maybe if you take into consideration the number of games he missed.
He was a class act when he played, and I always thought we missed him loads when he was out.
I can’t believe anyone could think Dylan was overrated.
My appreciation of him has waned a bit over the years, mainly based on stuff he’s done since leaving us, but nothing can change my opinion that he was a player of the highest quality when he was at Hibs.
I thought he was hugely overrated. Absolutely he had ability but the majority of the time looked to be playing within himself. I was always amazed the number of games I watched him in where he was OK, but got home and read how outstanding he’d been.
I watched his twenty or so minutes on Sunday and thought he run about a lot but contributed very little and was wondering if he’d been putting in a similar performance for us if posters on here would be saying what a great game he was having.
27-10-2020, 04:24 PM
Does anyone else think Alan Rough was massively underrated? I was just a boy when he played in goal but I remember plenty in our own support slating him, he was almost becoming a figure of fun for other clubs too. That seemed to end when he had his brief spell at Celtic when the media didn't have a bad word to say about him.
Back in those days we were not great and relegation seemed to be constant threat, I'm certain we would have gone down if it wasn't for him between the sticks.....still my hero from when I was little.
Roughie was fine with us probably worth 12 points a season kept Pat Stanton in the Manager’s hot seat
When he went to Celtic he was over the hill imho only playing 5 times for them I remember Stevie Archibald scoring two against him at Easter Road
Dr What If?
27-10-2020, 04:35 PM
Roughie was fine with us probably worth 12 points a season
Back in those days we scarcely broke the 30 point mark, if he was worth 12 of those it shows just how important he was.
27-10-2020, 04:38 PM
Roughie was fine with us probably worth 12 points a season kept Pat Stanton in the Manager’s hot seat
When he went to Celtic he was over the hill imho only playing 5 times for them I remember Stevie Archibald scoring two against him at Easter RoadHe made a couple of bad errors toward the end of his time with us but was still pretty decent.
He signed for Celtic purely as cover, at a time when there wasn't even a substitute goalie on the bench.
27-10-2020, 04:41 PM
Back in those days we scarcely broke the 30 point mark, if he was worth 12 of those it shows just how important he was.
Broke Rangers’ hearts a few times at Ibrox IIRC
Still has a soft spot for us even although he is/was a Jags Director
For once HIBS showed foresight by signing Andy Goram
Hibiza
27-10-2020, 04:54 PM
Overrated : Stevie Mallan
Underrated : Micheal Stewart.
27-10-2020, 06:29 PM
Overrated by the Newcastle support ,who wished they had kept him and gave us Damien Duff 😭
27-10-2020, 06:31 PM
Guillaume Boozy Beuzelin will go down for me as one of the best Hibs players I’ve had to pleasure to watch
Seems a bit uncalled for! 😲
27-10-2020, 07:41 PM
Ten years from now Jorge Claros and Omeonga will be spoken about like Messi and Ronaldo
Aye they were nothing like Messi or Ronaldo?
TelaStella
27-10-2020, 07:41 PM
Seems a bit uncalled for! [emoji44]
I mean B.H.F.C’s post speaks for itself