View Full Version : Match Updates Forfar v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2]

13-10-2020, 08:29 PM
Worrying we cant beat Forfar!

Not that worrying really.

13-10-2020, 08:30 PM
David Gray legend but absolutely no chance he's good enough for the squad now sorry.

Add mcgregor and doidge to that list.

EI255
13-10-2020, 08:30 PM
Worrying we cant beat Forfar!Gotta remember too that they are only just back playing. We're well into our games. Awful.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

13-10-2020, 08:31 PM

It is if we get positive Covid tests or a bad run of injuries and we need to call on these players to step in...

Not worried in the slightest tbh. It’s a reserve team. Everyone knows there’s only two or three good enough here to be anywhere near our first eleven.

Add mcgregor and doidge to that list.

Doidge?

At it, surley

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

13-10-2020, 08:32 PM
Goal Hibs?

St Pauli Hibee
Goallllll 1-0 Hibs

Lendo
Goal!

There we have it 1-0 Hibs

Never in doubt SDG goal

Lendo
No idea who though

Goal. 0-1 hibs. No idea who scored.

1-0 Sir Dave.

Aye Gray is finished :greengrin

It is if we get positive Covid tests or a bad run of injuries and we need to call on these players to step in...

I’m not about to worry that 11 players will be missing for too long.

Gray, been awful, scores a header😁

Kaff
Get it right up them SDG!!!

Ah SDG :greengrin

Silversand
[emoji16][emoji106]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

13-10-2020, 08:33 PM
Gray header. Thank Christ for that.

vercol36
For****'s sake, that's a relief!

one day maybe...
David Gray legend but absolutely no chance he's good enough for the squad now sorry.

Kiss of death :wink::wink:

You can't write off a late winner with that man on the field.

13-10-2020, 08:34 PM
BBC announce 45 secs before the stream shows it

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Never in doubt. Sir David Gray, legend.

TheGreenMan

How very dare you. Sir David Gray with the goal! 0-1!

😁

Another game another win

hhibs
This is going to pens.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Goal Hibs !

Greenfly
That was a long wait - whew!

Baldy napper Dave Gray

GRA
13-10-2020, 08:35 PM
The beautiful bald bonce of SDG saves us once again 😅

13-10-2020, 08:37 PM
We able to punt the guests, sites running like treacle

13-10-2020, 08:38 PM
Very good result all things considered

AdidasHibernian
Sir David must have saw my comment 😂

Never in doubt...legend!!

Magpie
If Dundee beat Cove then we need to beat Dundee to finish top as they have a greater goal difference.

Should get the job done at home.

Full time. Got there in the end with a depleted squad, can’t complain.

13-10-2020, 08:39 PM
A win. That will do.

Thanks for going off to bed Aldo. You were obviously the jinx.

Ft 0-1 hibs but it was effing dreadful to watch.

If Dundee beat Cove then we need to beat Dundee to finish top as they have a greater goal difference.

Not true. Goal difference won’t matter if they win that game, penalties will decide it if it’s a draw.

Greenfly
That was dire - would have appreciated a bit more buffering.

Lendo
13-10-2020, 08:40 PM
I know we won but would Hibs be willing to refund my £12.50 or find a way to give me back 90 minutes of my life?

AdidasHibernian
Good win all things considered.

Hopefully get some players back for weekend.

Glad to see back of cup for a few weeks.

Well done Hibs, onto the weekend.

It’s great the team going over to acknowledge the crowd

hhibs
13-10-2020, 08:41 PM
We able to punt the guests, sites running like treacle

Too true.

Magpie
13-10-2020, 08:42 PM
Not true. Goal difference won’t matter if they win that game, penalties will decide it if it’s a draw.

Is it based on head to heads rather than goal difference? I wasn’t aware of that.

Sometimes you need to find a way to win. It wasn’t pretty, but we found a way. :agree::agree:

craigwilson911

If it’s a draw then it’ll go to penalties so goal difference won’t matter either way. However, hopefully we can win it in the 90 to secure the group and maximum points.

Between the stream and this site it’s like the 90s again.

Paul1642
13-10-2020, 08:43 PM
Is it based on head to heads rather than goal difference? I wasn’t aware of that.

All Draws go to penalty’s so the winner of the shootout will win the group on points.

berwickhibee
a wins a win,always looked like we would get a goal.

that pitch is a disgrace,no injuries,3 points,job done.

Magpie
If it’s a draw then it’ll go to penalties so goal difference won’t matter either way. However, hopefully we can win it in the 90 to secure the group and maximum points.

Thanks for confirming, I assumed it would be down to goal difference.

Sometimes you need to find a way to win. It wasn’t pretty, but we found a way. :agree::agree:
we seem to be making quite a habit of this

We could be relying on a similar team again to tonight depending on international call ups again so that makes it tricky

13-10-2020, 08:44 PM
3pts with a much depleted team on a brutal surface. Only watched the last 10 mins on you tube thankfully 😃

SJNB Hibby

A penalty win still likley to see us seeded

Magpie
All Draws go to penalty’s so the winner of the shootout will win the group on points.

Ah yes makes sense!

It’s great the team going over to acknowledge the crowd

With David Gray heading a late winner expect the Record to report that the crowd invaded the pitch and assaulted the losing players.

If Dundee beat Cove both us and Dundee will be on 9 points.

If we then draw with Dundee after 90 minutes, it will go to penalties and the winner of the shootout will get 2 points and the loser just 1 point.

Pens are a coin toss, we need to beat Dundee and I'm sure we will

13-10-2020, 08:46 PM

If we then draw with Dundee after 90 minutes, it will go to penalties and the winner of the shootout will get 2 points and the loser just 1 point.

If that happened the losers of the shoot-out are almost certain to get through as one of the best four runners-up.

13-10-2020, 08:47 PM
Pens are a coin toss, we need to beat Dundee and I'm sure we will

Need to play a lot better than tonight!

David Gray is a waste of a wage these days.

aw man what's happened to SDG nowadays

:doh::doh:

That's the game just finished on my stream 😂 was about 10 minutes behind with all the buffering.

13-10-2020, 08:48 PM
If that happened the losers of the shoot-out are almost certain to get through as one of the best four runners-up.

Yeah 10 points would be enough to qualify as a runner up.

Nah, he's past it along with McGregor. One swallow doesn't make a summer.

pollution
....and the Hibs go marching on....

That's the game just finished on my stream 😂 was about 10 minutes behind with all the buffering.

Mines is still at HT 😂

13-10-2020, 08:49 PM
Two good wins with lots of changes on two brutal pitches. These games always tend to be scrappy when we make changes, in fact I can’t recall a decent performance when it’s happened. A full team back at Easter Road against Dundee to win the group.

13-10-2020, 08:50 PM
Wow Forfar just launched it forward every time they got near the ball.

They were making it as ugly a game as possible.

Hibs weren’t up to much - pitch was awful but the lack of football being played..maybe the conditions made it bad too?!

We rarely put the foot on the ball and played through any phases.

Ball was out of play 80% of time too!!

Anyway glad to get the win with a makeshift team.

A game like tonight we could have done with Fraser Murray but glad to see him getting games elsewhere.

Next league game will be tricky with lack of preparation.

13-10-2020, 08:50 PM
Two good wins with lots of changes on two brutal pitches. These games always tend to be scrappy when we make changes, in fact I can’t recall a decent performance when it’s happened. A full team back at Easter Road against Dundee to win the group.

We'll still have internationalists away with their countries.

13-10-2020, 08:51 PM
I know we won but would Hibs be willing to refund my £12.50 or find a way to give me back 90 minutes of my life?

Why would Hibs refund you?

That was awful, as all three games have been really, but glad we’ve scraped out the three wins.

Nobody done enough to push themselves forward. Look forward to seeing the first team back on the pitch on Saturday.

Looking at the other tables 9 points should secure a best runner up spot. A draw v DFC and both go through

13-10-2020, 08:53 PM
That was awful, as all three games have been really, but glad we’ve scraped out the three wins.

Nobody done enough to push themselves forward. Look forward to seeing the first team back on the pitch on Saturday.

Agreed but we have been awful and won all three games. That is a good sign and not something I can say I recognise from watching Hibs for many years, It beats being rubbish and losing and the cup is all about getting through

one day maybe...
13-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Looking at the other tables 9 points should secure a best runner up spot. A draw v DFC and both go through

Yeah rather be seeded so we miss the 4 teams that are already seeded. If you know what i mean.

13-10-2020, 08:55 PM
Need to play a lot better than tonight!

True! Didn't realise it was during the next international break

All that’s mattered in these games is winning. I’d like to see what other team out with the old firm and maybe Aberdeen would be 9/9 points having to use their 2nd string with a few first team players dotted about. Not to mention players being played out of position.

Wow Forfar just launched it forward every time they got near the ball.

They were making it as ugly a game as possible.

So did we.

Lendo
Why would Hibs refund you?

It was intended as a joke based on how awful the gam........ never mind. I apologise.

I don't think McGinn or Hanlon will be away, we will have Newell back, Stevenson or Doig back, Macgennis much more up to speed, Murphy back. We will be a lot stronger.

That will be the weakest 11 we will put out this season, guaranteed - and we still won away from home on a shocking pitch.

Positive man :greengrin

McGregor and Gray haven't had a run of games for around 2 years. What do people expect when they come in and play two games on pitches they have also?

13-10-2020, 08:56 PM

Thing is in previous years Hibs would have dropped points or lost these games.

Winning is a habit.

Fair character to the guys considering the trips they have been doing.

13-10-2020, 08:57 PM

you should have quoted us during the game, not AFTER the event, anyone can do that, most choose not to for obvious reasons

13-10-2020, 08:57 PM
Agreed but we have been awful and won all three games. That is a good sign and not something I can say I recognise from watching Hibs for many years, It beats being rubbish and losing and the cup is all about getting through

I get that but you do need to account for the standard of opposition.

We got the wins so happy enough with that and move on. It might have taught Ross a bit about a few players. I thought some of them would have been desperate to play, given their lack of game time, but there was a real lack of energy and drive in the games.

13-10-2020, 09:00 PM
Eye bleeding but a win nonetheless. Pitch was ghastly, such a shame that football is played on such awful surfaces in a top level cup. Artificial surfaces deserve no place in professional football for me.

Without Marciano, Stevenson, McGinn, Hanlon, Porteous, Newell, Murphy, Allan, Wright, and Gogic, with important game time for the rest of the squad to get competitive football in the legs. 3 wins, 9 points, no obvious injuries, job done :aok:

13-10-2020, 09:00 PM
I was just going to ask that. I doubt we’ll see as many called up this time at least. I’ve not looked at the other groups but I wouldn’t be surprised if we’d qualify even if we lost the Dundee game.

13-10-2020, 09:01 PM
I get that but you do need to account for the standard of opposition.

We got the wins so happy enough with that and move on. It might have taught Ross a bit about a few players. I thought some of them would have been desperate to play, given their lack of game time, but there was a real lack of energy and drive in the games.

Yep, you'd have thought the likes of Mallan would want to get on the ball and make things happen but he didn't want to know. So it was hoofball for the most part with Doidge absolutely toiling on that pitch.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
13-10-2020, 09:02 PM
All that’s mattered in these games is winning. I’d like to see what other team out with the old firm and maybe Aberdeen would be 9/9 points having to use their 2nd string with a few first team players dotted about. Not to mention players being played out of position.

Goal difference matters as well. Dundee were gifted a 3-0 win against them.

13-10-2020, 09:03 PM
Well done Hibs on digging that out, and David Gray coming up with the goods despite having a bit of a struggle out there.

Not pretty, but we`re churning out the wins. We don`t lose many.

13-10-2020, 09:04 PM
Brora 2 Cove 2....cove won 6-5 on penalties

13-10-2020, 09:05 PM
Yep, you'd have thought the likes of Mallan would want to get on the ball and make things happen but he didn't want to know. So it was hoofball for the most part with Doidge absolutely toiling on that pitch.
In fairness the bench were shouting for the ball to be launched most of the time. I’m guessing they decided the pitch was so bad that playing it on the deck was pointless. Even in wide positions they were shouting for it to be put into the box.

13-10-2020, 09:07 PM
In fairness the bench were shouting for the ball to be launched most of the time. I’m guessing they decided the pitch was so bad that playing it on the deck was pointless. Even in wide positions they were shouting for it to be put into the box.
I'd have rather they were shouting put in the net!!!

How will goal difference matter if we are on the same points if they win and the final game goes to penalties?

SJNB Hibby

And if that happens---somebody gets Dunfermalino

13-10-2020, 09:08 PM
I'd have rather they were shouting put in the net!!!
Me anaw.

13-10-2020, 09:09 PM
i think killie will go out in the group stage, 0 points after two games, Dunfy top with 9 points and falkirk already have 6 after two played

13-10-2020, 09:10 PM
How will goal difference matter if we are on the same points if they win and the final game goes to penalties?

Unlikely, but they could lose their next game and beat us and we both end up on nine points. As I say, unlikely.

i think killie will go out in the group stage, 0 points after two games, Dunfy top with 9 points and falkirk already have 6 after two played

They’ve had no chance at all because of all the Covid cases they’ve had to deal with. Feel pretty sorry for them tbh.

The three games will have done the fringe players the world of good. Glad to get back to league business now.

Unlikely, but they could lose their next game and beat us and we both end up on nine points. As I say, unlikely.

That’s extremely unlikely but I didn’t think of that 🤷*♂️😃

The Pointer
13-10-2020, 09:11 PM
Liam MacLeod on Sportsound announced the Hibs goal scorer as "SIR David Gray". :greengrin:aok:

13-10-2020, 09:12 PM

Or they could win both their remaining games on penalties. Then we both end on ten points (and both get through). Even more unlikely.

13-10-2020, 09:12 PM

Goal difference won't matter unless Dundee lose to Cove or beat them on penalties.

13-10-2020, 09:17 PM
Boy that was tough viewing. Still, a win’s a win.

13-10-2020, 09:23 PM
David Gray is a waste of a wage these days.

And then he pops up and scores What role is he playing in backroom team ?

13-10-2020, 09:25 PM
Are we going to have to play toss County with this group of players

13-10-2020, 09:26 PM

No the players on international duty will be back.

13-10-2020, 09:27 PM
No the players on international duty will be back.

Cheers that will help

gaz1875
13-10-2020, 09:32 PM
Well that was a terrible watch, not one player brought the ball down and tried to play on the deck. The midfield just launched it forward every time without looking on most occasions. I felt sorry for Doidge and Shanley.

13-10-2020, 09:34 PM

It doesn’t really. If dundee beat cove then it’s a shootout between us and them for top. The winner finishes top. If it’s a draw then penalties will decide the group winner not goal difference

13-10-2020, 09:34 PM
a wins a win,always looked like we would get a goal.

that pitch is a disgrace,no injuries,3 points,job done.

Bottom line agree we were poor but that pitch is horrible

13-10-2020, 09:48 PM

Why not? The players stepping up to replace those away on international duty or injured should be producing better to show Ross they want to get 1st team football

13-10-2020, 09:51 PM
Don’t think we should read too much into our back up players on these games. Usually when a lot of changes are made to starting line ups teams don’t gell well. Add in 2 matches were played on artificial pitches and it makes it even tougher to gauge how someone would slot into our first choice team. The pitch tonight was so much of a leveller that JR seems to have told the players to play it into Doidge and pick up the second ball.

HendoDelivered
13-10-2020, 10:23 PM

Yes :wink:

13-10-2020, 10:44 PM
Don’t think we should read too much into our back up players on these games. Usually when a lot of changes are made to starting line ups teams don’t gell well. Add in 2 matches were played on artificial pitches and it makes it even tougher to gauge how someone would slot into our first choice team. The pitch tonight was so much of a leveller that JR seems to have told the players to play it into Doidge and pick up the second ball.

Agree - no international players and not risking those with injuries. But only one or two days prep for Ross County but at least we are back on the grass.

13-10-2020, 10:54 PM
Why not? The players stepping up to replace those away on international duty or injured should be producing better to show Ross they want to get 1st team football
When was the last game you watched under those circumstances that anyone impressed or it was a decent game. Every time a team relies on the players who don’t normally play it’s a **** game and no one really impresses. You’ve got a load of players not used to playing with each other and it always shows. We won, we were ****, the pitch was brutal, but we move on.

13-10-2020, 10:56 PM
Agree - no international players and not risking those with injuries. But only one or two days prep for Ross County but at least we are back on the grass.
After watching that, I'm back on the grass too.......

13-10-2020, 11:00 PM

I agree with Andy in that it’s not too worrying given the results and players away but it’s worrying we toil with our guys against Forfar. In the context of worrying things these days it’s probably not too worrying. 🙂👍😂

14-10-2020, 05:12 AM
Hibs are awful for playing to the level of the opposition. Have been for years now. We'll step up again.

14-10-2020, 05:36 AM
Our opponents on Saturday needed a penalty to beat Arbroath at home. Every premiership club has struggled against the lower league teams. Dundee United thumped Brechin but then lost to Peterhead. I'm not going to over analyse these games tbh. 3 games 3 wins with makeshift team. Job done.

14-10-2020, 05:39 AM

Probably a fair chance a 10 point second placed gets through anyway?

Issue will be whether we will still have as many players out as we have had over last 2 games.

JDT
14-10-2020, 07:24 AM
How did Mackie get on? Did he show any signs of promise?

14-10-2020, 07:31 AM

First game in ages so hard to tell given the surface and also the style of the game.

14-10-2020, 07:35 AM

Nobody could see him. Wrong side of pitch.

G15 Hibs
14-10-2020, 08:26 AM
Nobody could see him. Wrong side of pitch.

In both halves?

The Count
14-10-2020, 08:30 AM
Who is Elder????

14-10-2020, 08:53 AM
Who is Elder????

Jonnyboy :wink:

14-10-2020, 08:59 AM
Hoof,heeder,boot,shy.

3rd place behind "Blood doesn't show on a maroon jersey" and "it's just me and my sister in here" in the Hearts fans' motto competition.

14-10-2020, 09:04 AM
Who is Elder????

Stephen Bradley

14-10-2020, 09:13 AM
Jonnyboy :wink: