View Full Version : Official Site: PAUL HANLON EARNS SCOTLAND CALL

RSS Bot
12-10-2020, 05:00 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10771)

12-10-2020, 05:01 PM
Fantastic, well deserved. Still makes me worry about how we field a team against Forfar, but he deserves a cap.

Wee Effen Bee
Deserved!

Brilliant for him - I hope things go his way this time and he gets some game time. Well deserved, he's been fantastic this season.

12-10-2020, 05:02 PM
Delighted for him. Deserved.

12-10-2020, 05:05 PM
A deserved call up based on this season. Fair play to Clarke, if you’re playing well you’re in with a great chance of getting called up.

Paging hermit crab

Delighted for him.

12-10-2020, 05:07 PM
Aw naw.

12-10-2020, 05:09 PM
Very much deserved, been one of our top performers this season.

12-10-2020, 05:09 PM
Well deserved as his form this season has been top notch overall

12-10-2020, 05:10 PM
Did he not miss our game at the weekend through injury?

12-10-2020, 05:12 PM
Proud of him. I didn't for one second buy the claim he was finished. Top player.

Lendo
12-10-2020, 05:14 PM
So how many players in total do we have out earning senior call-ups for their national squad?

Scrap that, how many players in our squad are currently involved with their National team?

Porteous, Hanlon, Marciano, Boyle, McGinn?

Can’t be long before Gogic gets a call up. If Doidge can start hitting the back of the net then a Wales call up isn’t out with the realms of possibility.

Nisbet has to be catching the eye as well.

So..... potentially eight players that could be playing for their countries.

thegaffer12
12-10-2020, 05:22 PM
So how many players in total do we have out earning senior call-ups for their national squad?

Scrap that, how many players in our squad are currently involved with their National team?

Can’t be long before Gogic gets a call up. If Doidge can start hitting the back of the net then a Wales call up isn’t out with the realms of possibility.

Gogic has been playing for Cyprus this week

Renfrew_Hibby
12-10-2020, 05:23 PM

Though Gogic played at the weekend?

Lendo
12-10-2020, 05:25 PM
Gogic has been playing for Cyprus this week

Cheers, wasn’t aware of that. Great stuff

007 Mickey Weir
12-10-2020, 05:26 PM
Gogic and Doig away with international teams. Although Doig is now In quarantine.

12-10-2020, 05:30 PM
We won't have a big enough squad for Forfar at this rate

12-10-2020, 05:32 PM
Out of all our recent international call ups I'm most chuffed about Paul's. Totally deserved on recent form and hope he gets a cap.

12-10-2020, 05:35 PM
Play the three of them as the back three. Why not?

12-10-2020, 05:41 PM
Great news for Paul. Well deserved and long overdue. :thumbsup:

12-10-2020, 05:45 PM
Very well deserved, still the very best of our strong defence IMO. Hope he gets to play.

12-10-2020, 05:46 PM
Good luck Paul

Argylehibby
Jack Ross saying we only have 13 outfield players available for the Forfar game. Hopefully that was after he heard that Paul had been called up!

murray26
Well deserved Paul well done.. must admit after initially being disappointed in considines call up at how pleased I was for him and his obvious pride and delight at actually representing his country.. it’s nice to see how much it still means to players.

12-10-2020, 05:52 PM
Thoroughly deserved, brilliant news!

12-10-2020, 05:52 PM
Well isn’t that splendid.

Lendo
12-10-2020, 05:55 PM
Boyle played against Cove Rangers on Saturday.

I just meant that he’s a current international, not necessarily away just now.

Perfectly splendid

Absolutely delighted for him.

12-10-2020, 06:01 PM
If kevin keeps up his good form then he has to be next and also has Doidge or Newell got any scottish blood? 😃

12-10-2020, 06:03 PM
Nisbet next?

12-10-2020, 06:06 PM
Well deserved. He has been back to his best this season

12-10-2020, 06:11 PM
Nisbet next?

Three Hibs players in a Scotland squad. Nisbet would make it four . Any statos know when we last had that many . I’m guessing the Famous five era 😉

12-10-2020, 06:12 PM
Absolutely delighted for him.

12-10-2020, 06:12 PM
Hanlon deserves the call up as his form has earned it.

But given how short of players we are, I won't be happy if Clarke leaves all of our missing players on the bench.

12-10-2020, 06:15 PM
Hanlon deserves the call up as his form has earned it.

But given how short of players we are, I won't be happy if Clarke leaves all of our missing players on the bench.

Agreed. Out of interest who pulled out that meant PH was called up ?

12-10-2020, 06:16 PM
Agreed. Out of interest who pulled out that meant PH was called up ?

Cooper.

12-10-2020, 06:17 PM
Today should now be a national public holiday. Hanlon Day.

12-10-2020, 06:19 PM
Cooper.

Cheers.

12-10-2020, 06:20 PM
Today should now be a national public holiday. Hanlon Day.

Wonder how Gail has reacted to the news of his call up.

12-10-2020, 06:21 PM
Brilliant news, chuffed for him.

Max_Shah
12-10-2020, 06:24 PM
100% deserved on the basis of his form over the calendar year.

PH is currently the best CH in Scotland by every defensive metric used by OPTA sports scientists.

It is so utterly refreshing to see a Scotland manager use empirical methods and sports science to select players rather than the traditional call up strategies of "AULD FIRM YOOF #14563" and "ENGLISH LEAGUE 1 JOBBER WITH SCOTTISH GRANNY #2369"

We are all behind you Pauly Boy.

:saltireflag

Magpie
12-10-2020, 06:25 PM
When’s Stevenson getting called up?

12-10-2020, 06:32 PM
delighted for paul hanlon :agree:

12-10-2020, 06:34 PM
100% deserved on the basis of his form over the calendar year.

PH is currently the best CH in Scotland by every defensive metric used by OPTA sports scientists.

It is so utterly refreshing to see a Scotland manager use empirical methods and sports science to select players rather than the traditional call up strategies of "AULD FIRM YOOF #14563" and "ENGLISH LEAGUE 1 JOBBER WITH SCOTTISH GRANNY #2369"

We are all behind you Pauly Boy.

:saltireflag

Where you pullin that from?

12-10-2020, 06:38 PM
Doidge at centre half at Forfar?

12-10-2020, 06:39 PM
Well done Paul, thoroughly deserved.

12-10-2020, 06:40 PM
Who would have thought we'd ever have 3 defenders in the Scotland squad eh? Has this ever happened before?

Slateford Hibee
12-10-2020, 06:40 PM
Great news, Paul totally deserves his call up. Hope he plays, would be great if it's a Hibs back 3. All 3 should enjoy this and hopefully come back to us even better players, got to be great for their confidence.

12-10-2020, 06:42 PM
Thought he was injured?

Seriously though great news Mr Hibs 👍

12-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Absolutely fantastic news, well done Paul.

Ross better be checking transfermarkt right now for unattached CBs!

Sheffhibee
12-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Well deserved and well overdue
Been a rock in defence this season
Congratulations Paul :agree::flag:

12-10-2020, 06:49 PM
Well deserved and well overdue
Been a rock in defence this season
Congratulations Paul :agree::flag:

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:fully deserved and long overdue.

RitchieHibs
12-10-2020, 06:54 PM
Congratulations Paul Hanlon. I'm really beginning to warm to Stevie Clarke. Winning Scotland teams and picking in form Hibs players to join the squad.

12-10-2020, 07:02 PM
Perfectly splendid

Hopefully not a horror show! 🥶

12-10-2020, 07:04 PM
Thoroughly deserved on current form. Well done Paul.

H18S NX
12-10-2020, 07:05 PM
Well deserved.:not worth

12-10-2020, 07:09 PM
He has been fantastic this season so is there on merit. Delighted for him.

12-10-2020, 07:18 PM
Three Hibs players in a Scotland squad. Nisbet would make it four . Any statos know when we last had that many . I’m guessing the Famous five era [emoji6]Not sure they all made the same squad but Brownlie, Schaedler, Blackley, Stanton and Duncan were all in squads.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

cmcd
12-10-2020, 07:30 PM
Three Hibs players in a Scotland squad. Nisbet would make it four . Any statos know when we last had that many . I’m guessing the Famous five era 😉

Brownlie Shades Blackley Stanton

wandering_hibee
12-10-2020, 07:31 PM
Not sure they all made the same squad but Brownlie, Schaedler, Blackley, Stanton and Duncan were all in squads.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk Pretty sure Cropley was as well

Mr Grieves
12-10-2020, 07:32 PM
Hanlon has been brilliant this season, well deserved. And fair play to Steve Clarke for picking players based on their form and not who they play for.

cmcd
12-10-2020, 07:33 PM
Not sure they all made the same squad but Brownlie, Schaedler, Blackley, Stanton and Duncan were all in squads.

+ Cropley

12-10-2020, 07:33 PM
Were Jackson, Wright and Leighton in a squad together?

12-10-2020, 07:35 PM

😁

12-10-2020, 07:37 PM
Just hope he gets a chance. Well done Mr Hibs.
B

12-10-2020, 07:38 PM
Pretty sure Cropley was as wellHow the hell did I forget him, oh dear....

12-10-2020, 08:01 PM
+ Cropley

Could be wrong but I don’t think Alex Cropley and Arthur Duncan were in squads whilst together at Hibs. I think Arthur’s call came after Alex was away.

12-10-2020, 08:10 PM
Braw! 👍

Bobo

5 players in 1975-76 but, surprisingly, Stanton wasn't one of them?

1971-72 - Brownlie, Cropley, Stanton
1972-73 - Brownlie, Stanton
1973-74 - Blackley, Schaedler,Stanton
1974-75 - Duncan
1975-76 - Blackley, Bremner, Brownlie, Harper, Duncan
1976-77 - Blackley

hibby rae
Jack Ross saying we only have 13 outfield players available for the Forfar game. Hopefully that was after he heard that Paul had been called up!

He said in the interview Hanlon wasn't available but didn't say he was on Scotland duty.

I think they knew by the interview but it hadn't been announced.

12-10-2020, 09:25 PM
Great news. Well deserved. Best CB in Scotland this season.

Inconsequential
12-10-2020, 09:29 PM
Thinking back before the season started some posters were convinced Hibs needed a completely new defence! Now every defender is involved with or has been capped by their national side. It's a funny old game....:confused:

12-10-2020, 09:35 PM
Can we just change the National anthem for one night to Flower of Hanlon with a big picture of Hanlon Hill on the screens up the top at Hampden?

12-10-2020, 09:45 PM
Well done Paul. Thoroughly deserved.

12-10-2020, 09:58 PM
Thinking back before the season stared some posters were convinced Hibs needed a completely new defence! Now every defender is involved with or has been capped by their national side. It's a funny old game....:confused:

To be fair 50% of the defence has been changed (Doig & Porteous) from last season along with the addition of Gogic. I didn’t see Hanlon or McGinn playing to the levels they have this season so think it’s a combination of the two changes, addition of Gogic and others playing very well that weren’t doing themselves justice individually or collectively last season.

HendoDelivered
12-10-2020, 10:00 PM
Tremendous

12-10-2020, 10:51 PM
Were Jackson, Wright and Leighton in a squad together?

No. Leighton and Jackson were but Wright only has one cap and it wasn't with either of them.

Inconsequential
12-10-2020, 11:47 PM
To be fair 50% of the defence has been changed (Doig & Porteous) from last season along with the addition of Gogic. I didn’t see Hanlon or McGinn playing to the levels they have this season so think it’s a combination of the two changes, addition of Gogic and others playing very well that weren’t doing themselves justice individually or collectively last season. Iirc Ryan Porteous was playing up till Jan. of this year when he picked up the bad injury. Doig has come in this season but currently his place is taken by the old faithful Lewis Stevenson who also has been capped. Porteous and Doig weren't new to the club.Gogic is considered a midfielder albeit a defensive one. He also has been capped. The Hibs' changing room lockers will need to be enlarged to house all the headwear. :wink:

13-10-2020, 12:40 AM
Can we just change the National anthem for one night to Flower of Hanlon with a big picture of Hanlon Hill on the screens up the top at Hampden?

You mean at Hanlon Park?

13-10-2020, 07:28 AM
To be fair 50% of the defence has been changed (Doig & Porteous) from last season along with the addition of Gogic. I didn’t see Hanlon or McGinn playing to the levels they have this season so think it’s a combination of the two changes, addition of Gogic and others playing very well that weren’t doing themselves justice individually or collectively last season.

Correct to some extent. I think we see the issue even when we lose Gogic and have to bring in Gray and McGregor. Our issues were an ageing defence and no midfield cover. We've done well to fix that. Hanlon hasn't magically become a better player...he's just not being hung out to dry anymore.

13-10-2020, 07:55 AM
Entirely deserved for Paul, but from a Hibs POV that's now 3 of our defenders in a COVID hot bed with limited chance of actually playing. There comes a point where the international side should not be able to call up more players (we're left with 13 i'm sure they would've survived just fine)

It leaves us in a position where our entire back 4 could be out of league action should they all need to quarantine

13-10-2020, 07:57 AM
Entirely deserved for Paul, but from a Hibs POV that's now 3 of our defenders in a COVID hot bed with limited chance of actually playing. There comes a point where the international side should not be able to call up more players (we're left with 13 i'm sure they would've survived just fine)

It leaves us in a position where our entire back 4 could be out of league action should they all need to quarantine

On that note I see another Israeli (Celtic) player is out with covid. Hope Rocky is ok.

DIXIHIBS
13-10-2020, 02:55 PM
Did jim herriot not get a few caps as well?

13-10-2020, 03:06 PM
Did jim herriot not get a few caps as well?

That was he played for Birmingham City, before he came to Hibs.

hhibs
13-10-2020, 03:25 PM
That was he played for Birmingham City, before he came to Hibs.

?
Somewhere in the back of my mind I thought he was called up but not played while at Hibs ?

Inconsequential
13-10-2020, 05:38 PM
Going further off topic here but in Scotland's 86 World Cup squad the 3 keepers were - Rough of Hibs, Goram of Oldham, Leighton of Aberdeen. Goram replaced Rough at Hibs and Leighton came to Hibs a bit later. Useless trivia. :greengrin

14-10-2020, 08:18 AM
No. Leighton and Jackson were but Wright only has one cap and it wasn't with either of them.

Correct, though 2 ex-Hibs players in Scotland team that night, and one future Hibs player for the opposition.

14-10-2020, 03:33 PM
Pretty sure Cropley was as well

Alex Cropley was there for "The Doc's" first two squads against Portugal and Belgium in 1971, he was unfortunately injured in the Belgium game and made way for Kenny Dalglish to win his first cap, sadly that was the end of Alex's international career. John Brownlie made his debut in Russia earlier in the year, at the end of the previous season. Pat Stanton played along Alex Cropley in those two games and was described by "The Doc" as better than Bobby Moore, Pat made his Scotland debut in 1966. John Blackley made his Scotland debut in 1973, he went on to play against England and was in the squad for the 1974 world cup, playing against Zaire. Arthur Duncan was first capped in 1975, although he was Scotland's most dangerous player, he was replaced by Tommy Hutchison in the 1975 trousing at Wembley, my first game at that venue & the one two years later was much better.

So until Alex Cropley left in November 74, we had four players who had represented Scotland while playing for the TT's, Joe Harper made it a fifth, although he wasn't recognised as part of the TT's, Arthur Duncan, the following year, brought the numbers up again.

14-10-2020, 03:43 PM
No sign of Hanlon , Porto or McGinn in the starting lineup .

14-10-2020, 03:45 PM

Surely the lineup isn't out yet?

14-10-2020, 03:48 PM

Is that because there's no sign of the starting line up?:greengrin

14-10-2020, 03:53 PM

Eh? How did you get it so early?

Edit: Note to self:Read following posts before replying to avoid looking like a trumpet��

14-10-2020, 04:02 PM
Alex Cropley was there for "The Doc's" first two squads against Portugal and Belgium in 1971, he was unfortunately injured in the Belgium game and made way for Kenny Dalglish to win his first cap, sadly that was the end of Alex's international career. John Brownlie made his debut in Russia earlier in the year, at the end of the previous season. Pat Stanton played along Alex Cropley in those two games and was described by "The Doc" as better than Bobby Moore, Pat made his Scotland debut in 1966. John Blackley made his Scotland debut in 1973, he went on to play against England and was in the squad for the 1974 world cup, playing against Zaire. Arthur Duncan was first capped in 1975, although he was Scotland's most dangerous player, he was replaced by Tommy Hutchison in the 1975 trousing at Wembley, my first game at that venue & the one two years later was much better.

So until Alex Cropley left in November 74, we had four players who had represented Scotland while playing for the TT's, Joe Harper made it a fifth, although he wasn't recognised as part of the TT's, Arthur Duncan, the following year, brought the numbers up again.

Shades was capped v West Germany in 74 too.

14-10-2020, 05:45 PM

He was too 😀

14-10-2020, 05:56 PM
No Hibs players in the starting line up.

hibby rae
14-10-2020, 06:14 PM

I'll be surprised if any of them get game time. Stick with half the Motherwell defence, instead of one of the best in the league this season.

14-10-2020, 06:19 PM
Clearly Clarke wants us to lose.

berwickhibee
14-10-2020, 06:19 PM
Quite happy no hibs player plays, selfishly want them all OK for Saturday when the real stuff starts again💚

hibby rae
14-10-2020, 06:23 PM
Quite happy no hibs player plays, selfishly want them all OK for Saturday when the real stuff starts again��

I'd rather they weren't called up at all if they aren't gonna feature and then be returned to us just before a league game though. Especially as we had a cup game to play.

14-10-2020, 06:28 PM
I'd rather they weren't called up at all if they aren't gonna feature and then be returned to us just before a league game though. Especially as we had a cup game to play.
Not sure about that - Ryan stated in an interview that the standard was an eye opener and gave him goals to aim for....

14-10-2020, 06:33 PM

Alan Gordon played for a rest of the world select but not Scotland!

h1bs4life
14-10-2020, 06:45 PM
As usual no sign of any Hibs players in the starting line up.
Always been the same since I grew up watching the Tornados was guaranteed as soon as anyone signs for the uglies they are in the team.
One of the reasons I am not that bothered about the national team.
For selfish reasons hopefully none of them are in the squad for next international squad and can all play for us against Dundee in the league cup.

14-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Hanlon not listed on the subs bench . Hope he’s not injured.

hibby rae
14-10-2020, 06:47 PM
Not sure about that - Ryan stated in an interview that the standard was an eye opener and gave him goals to aim for....

It's valuable for Porteous, and it is good recogntion for McGinn and Hanlon. But I doubt he had any intention playing the latter (maybe I'll be proved wrong in the next 90 mins), so all it achieves is further depleting our squad. With the add-on they might not be fully prepared for Saturday.

14-10-2020, 06:54 PM

Hanlon or McGinn being called up might be a nice moment for the player, but ultimately meaningless if neither gets on. And Clarke is showing a complete disregard for our club if that happens because our threadbare squad needed Hanlon or McGinn on the pitch more than Clarke needed an extra body for training.

14-10-2020, 06:56 PM

Hanlon or McGinn being called up might be a nice moment for the player, but ultimately meaningless if neither gets on. And Clarke is showing a complete disregard for our club if that happens because our threadbare squad needed Hanlon or McGinn on the pitch more than Clarke needed an extra body for training.

the players will love being part of the set up..if they get any minutes it would be a bonus. Clarke’s job is to do what’s right for a Scotland ...he rightly won’t be concerned about the clubs

14-10-2020, 07:07 PM
Hanlon not listed on the subs bench . Hope he’s not injured.

He is, number 16

14-10-2020, 07:12 PM

There is no doubt they will be ready for the weekend, they have played every game this season before this break , they know our tactics inside out

If anything McGinn, Hanlon & Porteous will come back to us more hungry having enjoyed the Scotland set up and know what exactly is needed to stay in it which will only benefit us

14-10-2020, 07:13 PM
Its the Considine dividend. Well done Paul :aok:

14-10-2020, 08:21 PM
Hanlon on with 12 minutes to go :aok:

HibeesLA
14-10-2020, 08:22 PM
Congrats Paul!

Congrats Paul

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Well done Paul, delighted for him.

Another Hibee who deserves his cap. A great moment for him and a nice way of silencing the doubters who were writing him off not so long ago.

EI255
14-10-2020, 08:23 PM
Long overdue for PH.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

He is, number 16

Sky sports didn’t have him in the pre match subs . Just came on 👍
Well deserved ✅🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇳🇬

Congratulations Paul. Well deserved.

hibby rae
Clearly Clarke has been on this thread and taken our comments on board 😂😉

14-10-2020, 08:24 PM
Brilliant that Hanlon can now call himself a full international. Delighted for him.....

Pwoud

Congratulations Paul - well deserved!

14-10-2020, 08:28 PM
Still maintain that the back line of Gray, McGregor, Hanlon and Stevenson deserve to be held in the same regard as Turnbulls Tornadoes or the Famous Five. Four record breaking, history making Hibees that have given us so, so much in their collective tenure at the club. Hanlon getting his cap only adds to that.

It won't last forever but I'm absolutely delighted that we've been able to witness such fantastic once in a generation servants to the club.

14-10-2020, 08:38 PM
Delighted for Paul.

14-10-2020, 08:39 PM
We should name a stand after him.

14-10-2020, 08:41 PM
Still maintain that the back line of Gray, McGregor, Hanlon and Stevenson deserve to be held in the same regard as Turnbulls Tornadoes or the Famous Five. Four record breaking, history making Hibees that have given us so, so much in their collective tenure at the club. Hanlon getting his cap only adds to that.

Totally agree. Won’t realise it till they aren’t playing anymore. Three total hibbies and sdg whose a total Hibee legend. So delighted for Hanlon.

14-10-2020, 08:45 PM

We're naming the grass after Lee Wallace.

14-10-2020, 08:54 PM
Fair chuffed for Paul, I work beside his Dad, Uncle and two of his cousins and know how much it means to the whole family.

I know his Granny from years ago at the BMC and she will be over the moon.

tamh
14-10-2020, 08:57 PM
Well done Paul....Long overdue.:flag::aok::flag::not worth

14-10-2020, 09:12 PM
Fair chuffed for Paul, I work beside his Dad, Uncle and two of his cousins and know how much it means to the whole family.

It’s great that the majority of Hibs fans now recognise him for the great player that he is and I’m delighted he’s finally received a Scotland cap.

14-10-2020, 09:12 PM
Fantastic and thoroughly deserved for one of the good guys.

14-10-2020, 09:13 PM
Have Hearts put a statement to complain yet? :greengrin

14-10-2020, 09:18 PM

Is his Granny underscore?

Delighted for Hanlon. He’s been a very consistent, very good player throughout his entire career and he deserved his moment. A decent wee cameo too as we were under the cosh.

14-10-2020, 09:33 PM
Is his Granny underscore?

Delighted for Hanlon. He’s been a very consistent, very good player throughout his entire career and he deserved his moment. A decent wee cameo too as we were under the cosh.

I've never seen his Granny and underscore in the same room:greengrin

Glad we held out for the win, would have been a disappointment if he had come on and we lost the lead.

14-10-2020, 09:35 PM
We're naming the grass after Lee Wallace.[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

14-10-2020, 09:47 PM
Clearly Clarke has been on this thread and taken our comments on board 😂😉

My moaning had some impact :greengrin

No problem with Hanlon being called up now that he's actually played.

15-10-2020, 09:20 PM

It won't last forever but I'm absolutely delighted that we've been able to witness such fantastic once in a generation servants to the club.

Totally agree. Won’t realise it till they aren’t playing anymore. Three total hibbies and sdg whose a total Hibee legend. So delighted for Hanlon.

Lay of the lockdown sherry guys, the Tornados were capable of taking on the best in Europe and winning (sometimes) as much as that back four will forever be legendary they don’t compare.

cmcd
15-10-2020, 09:38 PM

As good as the 2016 defence we're none of them would displace the Tornadoes

15-10-2020, 09:49 PM
As good as the 2016 defence we're none of them would displace the Tornadoes

I'd swap Daz or Hanlon for Cilla.

15-10-2020, 09:51 PM
Lay of the lockdown sherry guys, the Tornados were capable of taking on the best in Europe and winning (sometimes) as much as that back four will forever be legendary they don’t compare.

Football was pretty pish in those days tho.

hibby rae
15-10-2020, 10:05 PM
At the end of the day, the 2016 squad achieved something the Tornadoes never did. Whilst they were also in a lower league. They can be spoken about in the same breadth.

15-10-2020, 10:17 PM
Football was pretty pish in those days tho.

Yeah I forgot that 🙈

15-10-2020, 10:20 PM
At the end of the day, the 2016 squad achieved something the Tornadoes never did. Whilst they were also in a lower league. They can be spoken about in the same breadth.

Honestly they will always be legends but there is no comparison. Celtic won the European Cup nearly won it again Rangers won a European trophy the competition was far far tougher.

hibby rae
15-10-2020, 10:53 PM
Honestly they will always be legends but there is no comparison. Celtic won the European Cup nearly won it again Rangers won a European trophy the competition was far far tougher.

You could argue the 2016 team overcame a bigger gap to achieve something the Tornadoes couldn't, as they did finish
above Rangers in the league etc in the early 70s and were a strong team in Europe. Not to sound harsh, but as a devil's advocate you could argue the Tornadoes underachieved.

No reason why they can't be held in the same regard as the Tornadoes.

Just like the Tornadoes are held in the same regard as the Famous Five.

15-10-2020, 11:55 PM
Yeah I forgot that ��

Obviously a wind up. Players fitter now and the game us more tactical. Watched Hibs for 50 years and Tornadoes easily the best I have seen. Only Goram, Latapy, Sauzee and Riordan could have made that team.

16-10-2020, 05:24 AM
Obviously a wind up. Players fitter now and the game us more tactical. Watched Hibs for 50 years and Tornadoes easily the best I have seen. Only Goram, Latapy, Sauzee and Riordan could have made that team.

and Super Joe Tortolano:greengrin

hibby rae
16-10-2020, 08:10 AM

See I would say Griffiths was better than Riordan. He has the natural ability and finishing of Riordan combined with a work ethic similar to Kenny Miller.

I think SJM is worthy of mention alongside the above too.

16-10-2020, 08:40 AM

I'm talking about the impact they've had on the club and the lasting legacy they'll leave behind and in some areas they may have had the biggest effect of any group of players within a team full stop.

We were, for the best part of several years, an absolute shambles of a football club who were terribly run, treated the fan and the players poorly by depriving them of investment, signing poor players and not bringing up anyone of real quality after the high of the "golden generation". Our home games were regularly attended by around 8,000 people, there was a real negative funk about Easter Road and the rot had set in. We were relegated entirely on merit with little redeeming features. When it came to big games, we were a walkover and bottled it way too often. In derbies, Hearts could just turn up and they knew that they'd likely win.

Since Stubbs assembled Gray, McGregor, Hanlon and Stevenson (and Fontaine TBF) we've been a completely different story and they played their part in a season that seen our attendances double ever since, there's a feel good about us, every single team that comes to Easter Road knows they'll get a game, we stopped bottling it in big games, last season aside we've stopped being a breeze to take apart, we've started bringing through young players who have had an excellent source of experience to rely on to improve themselves (Porteous, Doig, Cummings etc.). You get the sense that those four at the back in the dressing room won't take any ****, they care for the club and they can offer any advice to our young players and keep them on the right track. There's little doubt that Cummings lost the head a little when he moved down south what with the TV through the window, I do wonder how much not having Gray, McGregor etc. keeping him on the right side of joker affected him.

A back line that has that legacy and that effect on the team is a rarity beyond belief. They truly deserve to be held in the same regard in terms of impact on the club as any other group of players in our clubs history. We're a completely different entity because of their attitude, application and achievement.

hibby rae
16-10-2020, 08:43 AM
I'm talking about the impact they've had on the club and the lasting legacy they'll leave behind and in some areas they may have had the biggest effect of any group of players within a team full stop.

We were, for the best part of several years, an absolute shambles of a football club who were terribly run, treated the fan and the players poorly by depriving them of investment, signing poor players and not bringing up anyone of real quality after the high of the "golden generation". Our home games were regularly attended by around 8,000 people, there was a real negative funk about Easter Road and the rot had set in. We were relegated entirely on merit with little redeeming features. When it came to big games, we were a walkover and bottled it way too often. In derbies, Hearts could just turn up and they knew that they'd likely win.

Since Stubbs assembled Gray, McGregor, Hanlon and Stevenson (and Fontaine TBF) we've been a completely different story and they played their part in a season that seen our attendances double ever since, there's a feel good about us, every single team that comes to Easter Road knows they'll get a game, we stopped bottling it in big games, last season aside we've stopped being a breeze to take apart, we've started bringing through young players who have had an excellent source of experience to rely on to improve themselves (Porteous, Doig, Cummings etc.). You get the sense that those four at the back in the dressing room won't take any ****, they care for the club and they can offer any advice to our young players and keep them on the right track. There's little doubt that Cummings lost the head a little when he moved down south what with the TV through the window, I do wonder how much not having Gray, McGregor etc. keeping him on the right side of joker affected him.

A back line that has that legacy and that effect on the team is a rarity beyond belief. They truly deserve to be held in the same regard in terms of impact on the club as any other group of players in our clubs history. We're a completely different entity because of their attitude, application and achievement.

👏👏👏👏💚💚💚💚

16-10-2020, 09:01 AM

Won’t disagree with their fantastic impact on the club at a very difficult challenging time. That is different to their football ability.

16-10-2020, 09:05 AM
Won’t disagree with their fantastic impact on the club at a very difficult challenging time. That is different to their football ability.

I wasn't initially talking about their football ability, I was talking about their impact and legacy on the club.

16-10-2020, 09:11 AM

The 'He's No Past It After All' Stand?

16-10-2020, 09:15 AM
According to BBC Sports Paul has been told to remain on standby for future call ups.

cmcd
16-10-2020, 09:19 PM

As much as I loved the 2016 defence Turnbulls were far superior

cmcd
16-10-2020, 09:42 PM
👏👏👏👏💚💚💚💚

Having seen the tail end of the FF and all of the Tornadoes I can say I've been very lucky to see the two best Hibs teams ever. The team of the mid 60s withe Willie Hamilton Eric Stevenson and Neil Martin were also a very good side