View Full Version : Match Updates Cove 1-2 Hibs (Gullan, Nisbet)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

davhibby
10-10-2020, 12:29 PM
How come? Thought top two qualified from each group?

Only the 4 best runners up, 9 points is generally needed

steviehibsleith
10-10-2020, 12:29 PM
Cove will tire later in the game then our chance will come to pick up the three points.
No chance part time footballers from Championship down to second division are a hell of a lot fitter than in the past.

Also hoping our fitness will help us to win is dreadful by Hibs players
/management they should be better as this is a team of first team players not youngsters.

10-10-2020, 12:30 PM
decent stop for Doidge 2nd chance to be fair

Its our midfield that have been posted largely missing

Only change we can make really is Magennis but im not sure if plastic pitch will come into thinking with his injury

No point having a midfield on a plastic pitch turned in to an ice rink by tons of rubber pellets. We need to adapt to that I’m afraid. I thought we had cracked it when we took Livi apart a few weeks back but so may players missing from that game.

10-10-2020, 12:31 PM
Anyone else think Premier Sports coverage is as bad as when Setanta was doing it, very amateurish.

It will be same squad v Forfar I assume so would prefer to take something from this game

Gullan on

Gullan on for Wright

Cmon The Hammer

Mikey_1875
10-10-2020, 12:32 PM
Positive change

Cove will tire later in the game then our chance will come to pick up the three points.

Dont see Cove dropping the pace, certainly Brora didnt, teams are much fitter these days

hhibs
Get Mackie,Gullan|||Shanley,Maginnes on,really do not care who JR takes off !!

Gullan on for Wright.

Wright off thank ****, Gullan on.

Gullan on for Wright

Not sorry to see that. Had high hopes fir Wright but he’s not shown up yet

No point having a midfield on a plastic pitch turned in to an ice rink by tons of rubber pellets. We need to adapt to that I’m afraid. I thought we had cracked it when we took Livi apart a few weeks back but so may players missing from that game.

You mean no point having a midfield when our back 3 just take one touch and leather it as high and as far as possible. So slow and pedestrian.

10-10-2020, 12:33 PM
Gray down injured

10-10-2020, 12:33 PM
Happy to see that - good change fancy him to get a goal.

Magpie
10-10-2020, 12:35 PM
Gray down injured

Water is wet

Nisbet hits the side netting

Nisbet hits the side net, awkward chance.

You mean no point having a midfield when our back 3 just take one touch and leather it as high and as far as possible. So slow and pedestrian.

There's an element of both tbh. Defence don't have much options cause the midfield rarely move off the ball. Then there's times where they are in space and the defence opt to pump it up.

1-1 Gullan

Another poor miss.

Then

1-1 ha.

KDY Hibs
Hibs 5/2 to win in play betting?

1-1

Gullan :thumbsup:

Der Hammer!

Mikey_1875
10-10-2020, 12:36 PM
Well worked

Phew!

That was a great ball from Doidge

Magpie
Get in!

come on - thats Nisbet and Doidge being sold for missing sitters

GOAL GULLAN

Thank fxxx

Good...

Gullan, good goal.

Gullan! Excellent.

KDY Hibs
Hibs 5/2 to win in play betting?

Lol missed it!

Doidge would have missed.

1-1 nice one Gullan

OtleyHibs
Nicely worked goal. Now to kick on and take care of business

what a team :thumbsup:

Thank ****

10-10-2020, 12:37 PM
Delighted to see us equalise. Nisbet’s finish 😂😂😂😂

Well worked. Glad for Jamie. Two early chances and one goal, much better.

He wouldnt miss you being the biggest troll on Hibs.net likes

Nope poor miss. Got to score. Made up for it in the move for the goal though.

Get in there Gullane. Done more in 2 mins than the guy he replaced has the last 2 games

I admire your commitment to the troll tbh

Superb from Doidge 👍

Good goal. Jamie G looks a far better option than Wright

Already better this half. Can take the plastic sheet off the bed for the time being

Get in.Good for Gullans confidence.

10-10-2020, 12:38 PM
Phew!
Double phew!

RitchieHibs
Good attacking play there. Well done Gullan. Nice link up play from Squirrel. Relief at last.

Got through awfy easy there

8 group winners and best 4 runners up qualify

Only the 4 best runners up, 9 points is generally needed

Cheers Both

Is Hallberg playing RB?

Doidge created it.

Please stop the trolling.

The Captain....
Very well worked equaliser. Pleased for Gullan.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

10-10-2020, 12:39 PM
I admire your commitment to the troll tbh

Tiresome in the extreme

That’s probably Gullan’s position coming from the left.

Good build up. Doidge with a couple of good bits of work so far to create the chances.

ABZHFC
Delighted for Gullan

bringbackbenny

When's your next gig at the Stand? :yawn:

Good stuff from Doidge and Gullan. Let’s not **** about and beat them now please.

Is Hallberg playing RB?

Looks like it.

10-10-2020, 12:40 PM
Good to see Hammer score needed thst fir his confidence Worked his socks off v Brora with no end reward

10-10-2020, 12:41 PM
Looks like it.

Covering for others.

Is Hallberg playing RB?

Amazingly yes. Hopeless in his own position never mind one he doesn't play. We'll see how it goes I guess...

Covering for others.

Looks like we’ve moved to the 4.

10-10-2020, 12:42 PM
Is that Andy Blanche on the ladders? Football casual reconnaissance at new levels.

10-10-2020, 12:43 PM
I'd love to see a game where Doidge stays onside for a change.

Good on Gullan. Prove me wrong lad

Is that Andy Blanche on the ladders? Football casual reconnaissance at new levels.

Yip

10-10-2020, 12:45 PM
Good on Gullan. Prove me wrong lad

Happy for him. Got some stick during the week and a number of posters said he was better played on the left. Moved to the left then and started to play better. Comes on here and looks a marked improvement over Wright. Already got past a player or two which is More than Wright managed and of course got a goal.

McGinn off for Magennis

Hate watching games on these pitches. These teams all have exceptional home records as it’s just an exercise in learning to command the ball on it.

10-10-2020, 12:46 PM
Another assist for Hallberg

2-1 Nisbet

Mikey_1875
Top class finish

Class goal

That's a great goal from Nisbet

2-1 :thumbsup:

Lovely goal by Nisbet

OtleyHibs
Great finish that

Magpie
Easy

What a goal....sexy😊

YaaaaaSsssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a finish that is btw

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

What a finish. This is more like it.

1-2 Nisbet

10-10-2020, 12:47 PM
Excellent

😁😁😁😁

Incredible finish. Great cross from Swedish Cafu.

What a finish from Nisbet, and a second assist in 4 days for the man who does nothing.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Great assist from Hallberg, great finish from Nisbet.

Much better, moving he ball quicker. Great finish.

Great goal

never in doubt

:) nice touch

Now that is a cracking goal, what a striker we have here and only going to get better.

Good finish that

Yes!! I've been critical of Hallberg but another assist. Good goal from Nisbet.

That's better.

10-10-2020, 12:48 PM
What an absolutely fantastic finish by Nesbit.Top notch.

RitchieHibs
Brilliant assist from Hallberg. Well taken fired in goal from Nisbet.

Now we're talking.

Lovely goal

Very well taken goal. Classy finish.

Hallberg heavily involved in 3 of our last 6 goals now.

Delivered a great ball into the back post for Hanlon‘a goal v Hamilton.
Assisted Mallan’s 2nd v Brora
Another great assist today

Hate watching games on these pitches. These teams all have exceptional home records as it’s just an exercise in learning to command the ball on it.

Agree 100%, cant understand why so many people dont see it.

What a finish from Nisbet again. We look much better with the change of shape, no surprise there, and the introduction Gullane

10-10-2020, 12:49 PM

Another great assist todayHe's useless though, just look at this thread.

Lovely touch that is.

Well done the manager for making good changes at HT to change the game.

Just how good is Nisbet? Brilliant piece of business that.

Gullan looking ahead of Wright on recent showings.

10-10-2020, 12:50 PM
Yes!! I've been critical of Hallberg but another assist. Good goal from Nisbet.

Thsats why he stayed on and Drey Wright was taken off despite a poor first half - Hallberg can actually play football !

Anyone else think Premier Sports coverage is as bad as when Setanta was doing it, very amateurish.

Effectively the same company so why are you surprised

ABZHFC
I do think people read too much into performances in the League Cup. Yes, poor against Brora for much of Wednesday and also bad first half today. But we’re not a bad side, it’s not even like this is pre-season where we’re more of an unknown quantity. Put these group stages to bed by winning our first three games and we’ll be fine, doesn’t matter how we do it

Another great assist today

It isn't always a case of either or though. He's part of the reason we've been getting over run in the midfield at times. Happy for him and his assists. Need to see him work harder off the ball and at closing players down.

tonyrougier123
We look better going forward now,more dangerous

Steven79
10-10-2020, 12:51 PM
Stevenson is finished...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Stevenson should be embarrassed the amount of times he's been ripped here

Magennis drives forward nicely.

Effectively the same company so why are you surprised

That explains it.

Nisbet is the best striker we’ve had this century and will go on to prove it

Stevenson is finished...

These surfaces can make even good players look ordinary. That’s why these lower division teams want to have them.

10-10-2020, 12:52 PM
Niggly fouls creeping in from Cove.

How far down the levels do we have to go before it stops becoming an excuse for poor performances?

Stevenson is finished...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk Poor today, far from finished

Wull
not sure what you guys were moaning aboot in the first half, this is a great game :thumbsup:

10-10-2020, 12:53 PM
That pitch just slows the ball done, Boyle made a lovely turn to beat their LB but the ball slowed down so much he nicked it off Boyle.

10-10-2020, 12:54 PM
Thsats why he stayed on and Drey Wright was taken off despite a poor first half - Hallberg can actually play football !

Which is fair. It's the reason why I avoided saying anything in the Hallberg thread. He's a neat and tidy footballer at times, just far too inconsistent. Fine as a squad player but I feel he can be better than that and it's frustrating. Slivka MkII.

10-10-2020, 12:55 PM
Much better all around here though. Change in shape and players has us much more settled.

10-10-2020, 12:55 PM
Maybe Hallberg's calling is as a wing back.

10-10-2020, 12:56 PM
This is much better Hibs

10-10-2020, 01:00 PM
Great shot MAggenis

10-10-2020, 01:00 PM
What a shot by Magennis

The Captain....
10-10-2020, 01:01 PM
Whatever we paid for nisbet..it was an absolute steal.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

10-10-2020, 01:01 PM

If he’s better than Fletcher or scores more goals for us than Riordan then I am all in favour.

10-10-2020, 01:02 PM

Oft!! And I get accused of trolling.

10-10-2020, 01:03 PM
Will also say that Nisbet plays better with Doidge.

For all the criticism of Doidges miss, the pairing works well.

10-10-2020, 01:04 PM

Correct. We always look better with two strikers imo

gaz1875
10-10-2020, 01:06 PM
Any links to the Hibs goals :aok:

Stokes probably the only one who comes close purely for 21/05 tbh

Correct. We always look better with two strikers imo

Yep, and we dont really have the type of striker that can play that role, glad that Ross sees that too.

These surfaces can make even good players look ordinary. That’s why these lower division teams want to have them.

Think it because of the revenue they bring in, lifeline to the lower league teams

Doidge booked

Kaff
10-10-2020, 01:07 PM

I would far rather positivity than someone claiming Doidge is the worst we've had this century. I know you didn't but its brutal the chat you come out with at times, lighten up and there can be more enjoyment than constantly slagging off players

10-10-2020, 01:07 PM
https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314908482739601408?s=21

10-10-2020, 01:08 PM
https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314911144130285574?s=21

10-10-2020, 01:09 PM
Apart from Mixu and Garry O’Connor?

10-10-2020, 01:09 PM

Maybe we could rename it crabbing? 😁

10-10-2020, 01:10 PM
https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314909461975314432?s=21

10-10-2020, 01:12 PM
Iv somehow got Spanish commentary on the game now. It actually makes more sense than Stephen Craigen

gaz1875
10-10-2020, 01:12 PM
https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314908482739601408?s=21

Thanks, nice move for the goal :aok:

gaz1875
10-10-2020, 01:14 PM

That's superb :top marks

10-10-2020, 01:14 PM

Lovely goal

gaz1875
10-10-2020, 01:15 PM
https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314909461975314432?s=21

LMAO :not worth

Nisbet is top notch. He's going to pump the jambos and get us to 3rd in the league then make us millions.

Did Riordan play golf?

MagicSwirlingShip
10-10-2020, 01:16 PM
Stevenson should be embarrassed the amount of times he's been ripped here

He’s hardly played all season.

Nisbet is top notch. He's going to pump the jambos and get us to 3rd in the league then make us millions.

He’s got everything. Pace, strength, passing, a decent brain, a fantastic first touch, great finishing and good vision.

What a volley and save !

Very good hand from Barnes.

10-10-2020, 01:17 PM
Great save! It ain't over till it's over with Hibbies!

10-10-2020, 01:18 PM
Another goal needed imho!

Cmon Hibs let’s get a third

10-10-2020, 01:19 PM
Full time. 💚

10-10-2020, 01:19 PM
Another goal needed imho!

Cmon Hibs let’s get a third

We should now be capable of seeing game out but yes a third would be nice

10-10-2020, 01:20 PM
Thank Sauzee.

10-10-2020, 01:21 PM
Job done, move on!

Valuable and hard earned victory in the end.

Really highlights how important it is that we're able to keep our strating XI fit, as far as we can.

gaz1875
Well done for turning things around Hibs.

KingPat4
Ratface is sick. Did you see the look he gave JR?

Much more comfortable 2nd half. A nice win but I'd like to see what are arguably fringe players staking a claim. I've not really seen it besides Mallan showing that he's capable of a goal or two. First on Tuesday? On we go.

10-10-2020, 01:22 PM
A few cracks being papered over but a win is a win.

Awful for long spells then fairly comfortable after we were in front.

Top marks again to Nisbet, having a goalscorer like that will get us out of a few fixes.

I like the look of Magennis. A wee bit Pat McGinlay-esque.

Valuable and hard earned victory in the end.

Really highlights how important it is that we're able to keep our strating XI fit, as far as we can.

It does, but it helps that the players on the bench are now getting game time
Thought Gray looked comfortable at centre back too

Ratface is sick. Did you see the look he gave JR?
I thought he said something to Jr who ignored it

Steven79
He’s hardly played all season.How many games have Cove played?

10-10-2020, 01:23 PM
Great result. Performance not as important given how many players not available. Ross is showing he is capable of grinding out results.

10-10-2020, 01:23 PM
It does, but it helps that the players on the bench are now getting game time
Thought Gray looked comfortable at centre back too

Hugely beneficial for them to get some competitive minutes, no doubt.

10-10-2020, 01:24 PM
Absolute doddle, no idea why you lot were all worried...................

A few cracks being papered over but a win is a win.

Awful for long spells then fairly comfortable after we were in front.

Top marks again to Nisbet, having a goalscorer like that will get us out of a few fixes.

I like the look of Magennis. A wee bit Pat McGinlay-esque.
It’s a reserve 11.

gaz1875
That's their first defeat at the new ground, another first :greengrin

10-10-2020, 01:26 PM
The new normal with one or two back on here and getting their agenda tore right into the Matchday thread .....

EVENTUALLY
10-10-2020, 01:26 PM
Pitch was very difficult especially for the older guys. The youngsters Like Gullan, Nisbet, and Magennis have been brought up on these surfaces and it does not appear to phase them so much. Great finish from King Kevin. The boy is a star.

10-10-2020, 01:27 PM
Poor 1st and an improved 2nd half, Wright again very poor and Doidge not great either. Looked better with 4 at the back but it also shows our lack of quality depth, with 3-4 really looking their ages now.

Coach Jon
10-10-2020, 01:27 PM
Much more comfortable 2nd half. A nice win but I'd like to see what are arguably fringe players staking a claim. I've not really seen it besides Mallan showing that he's capable of a goal or two. First on Tuesday? On we go.

Comfortable wouldnt be a word I would use to describe that today. Ball was continually played in the air, that was horrible to watch apart from one or two moments.

10-10-2020, 01:30 PM
Much improved second half. Difficult game on that pitch against a decent Cove team.Gullan made a difference and was positive when he had the ball.

Hugely beneficial for them to get some competitive minutes, no doubt.

And probably some more on Tuesday night too

A thoroughly professional performance.

Craigan was desperately looking for us to fail.
And of course it's always nice to win against the Rangers.

The new normal with one or two back on here and getting their agenda tore right into the Matchday thread .....

Yep.

Steven Craigan actually said something sensible today - that the only thing that will make a headline is Hibs losing.

We got a win, another 3 points, onwards

MagicSwirlingShip
10-10-2020, 01:32 PM
How many games have Cove played?

They will have been preparing like this was a cup final. Not the first time Stevenson has been targeted and he comes out on the winning side again.

Happy days

10-10-2020, 01:33 PM
We were always winning this one.

No complaints here.

10-10-2020, 01:34 PM
Poor 1st and an improved 2nd half, Wright again very poor and Doidge not great either. Looked better with 4 at the back but it also shows our lack of quality depth, with 3-4 really looking their ages now.

Lack of depth?? We were missing EIGHT first choice players today outside of the Old Firm any team would struggle missing 8 first team regulars to put a team out. Lets keep some perspective here

10-10-2020, 01:34 PM
"A few players obviously weren't at it" says the manager. Can't argue with that.

10-10-2020, 01:35 PM
Just drop Wright off at Perth on the way home.

10-10-2020, 01:35 PM
Performance could have bee better. Usual outcome. Hibs win.

Kaff
10-10-2020, 01:36 PM
Pitch was very difficult especially for the older guys. The youngsters Like Gullan, Nisbet, and Magennis have been brought up on these surfaces and it does not appear to phase them so much. Great finish from King Kevin. The boy is a star.

That's a very good point.

Also, you see this a lot when clubs make wholesale changes for cup games, English football more so, you're expecting fringe players to come in and pick up the form of the established first team straight off, with one or two players coming in they will pick things up relatively quickly but 6 or 7 changes and the whole dynamic of a team has to be found, even those who have been playing will find its changed.
Good thing is we've won these two games and JR finding how adaptable some players are.
Didn't watch on TV so can't comment on actual performances but hopefully it helps these players be ready to stand in when needed.
If Lewis was poor today I think what I have said is valid as he certainly hasn't been bad when he's come in to the settled team.

10-10-2020, 01:39 PM
Always good to see Hartley moaning his puss off about "deserving something from the game" :greengrin

KingPat4
10-10-2020, 01:39 PM
That's a very good point.

Also, you see this a lot when clubs make wholesale changes for cup games, English football more so, you're expecting fringe players to come in and pick up the form of the established first team straight off, with one or two players coming in they will pick things up relatively quickly but 6 or 7 changes and the whole dynamic of a team has to be found, even those who have been playing will find its changed.
Good thing is we've won these two games and JR finding how adaptable some players are.
Didn't watch on TV so can't comment on actual performances but hopefully it helps these players be ready to stand in when needed.
If Lewis was poor today I think what I have said is valid as he certainly hasn't been bad when he's come in to the settled team.

Was going to say the same thing about Stevenson. He's played well when coming on for Doig to shore things up, but last two games absolutely honking.

10-10-2020, 01:40 PM
Lack of depth?? We were missing EIGHT first choice players today outside of the Old Firm any team would struggle missing 8 first team regulars to put a team out. Lets keep some perspective here

And the players that have came in are not really good enough as the last 2 games gave shown. I'm not blaming anyone here as Covid and lack of fans have made us go with a smaller squad. It only highlights the fact that out with the 1st 11, there isn't great depth and if we get a few injuries or suspensions, we'll struggle.

10-10-2020, 01:40 PM
Great save! It ain't over till it's over with Hibbies!

https://twitter.com/premiersportstv/status/1314918477854126081?s=21

10-10-2020, 01:41 PM
And the players that have came in are not really good enough as the last 2 games gave shown. I'm not blaming anyone here as Covid and lack of fans have made us go with a smaller squad. It only highlights the fact that out with the 1st 11, there isn't great depth and if we get a few injuries or suspensions, we'll struggle.

It doesn’t help that we have no reserve league, quite a few of these lads hadn’t played much football until Wednesday

10-10-2020, 01:44 PM
It doesn’t help that we have no reserve league, quite a few of these lads hadn’t played much football until Wednesday

Very true Billy but there's no excuse for certain players who have been playing regularly to play so poorly. It's a hard season with small squad and no reserve games to keep players match fit.

10-10-2020, 01:46 PM

If we get them all at the same time, so would any team.

I don't think Hibs will ever be able to pay and keep happy another 10 players that are of the standard of being every bit as good as the first team players.

In these games Gullan hasn't done himself any harm, Mallan has scored a couple, Magennis has come in and played a decent amount of minutes, the keeper looks fine for a back up.

We know fine well that the whole team performance hasn't been up to the usual standard but we have been changing more players than we usually would. The main thing you want is one to two of those players to be able to drop in and do a job.

hhibs
10-10-2020, 01:48 PM
Good goal. Jamie G looks a far better option than Wright

Yep,Jamie on left looks to be the option,Drey Wright looks completely lost and out of touch,can he come back, will he get many, if any more chances???

10-10-2020, 01:49 PM
Yep,Jamie on left looks to be the option,Drey Wright looks completely lost and out of touch,can he come back, will he get many, if any more chances???

Wright will be fine I reckon. More minutes for him.

10-10-2020, 01:50 PM
If we get them all at the same time, so would any team.

I don't think Hibs will ever be able to pay and keep happy another 10 players that are of the standard of being every bit as good as the first team players.

In these games Gullan hasn't done himself any harm, Mallan has scored a couple, Magennis has come in and played a decent amount of minutes, the keeper looks fine for a back up.

We know fine well that the whole team performance hasn't been up to the usual standard but we have been changing more players than we usually would. The main thing you want is one to two of those players to be able to drop in and do a job.

Exactly Andy which was the point I was trying to make - unless we are extremely unlucky with injuries this season u cant imagine we'd be missing nine players at same time;
Rocky
P McGinn
Porto
Gogic
Doig
Murphy
Newell
Hanlon
Allan

Any team would find it difficult without 9 first picks to put in a cohesive performance - it hasn't been great but we've found a way to win the last 2 games

10-10-2020, 01:50 PM

Yes, he'll get plenty more chances.

Silversand
10-10-2020, 01:51 PM
Poor team performance, good result.

Poor today, far from finished

I would agree with you there.

He has only played a couple of full games and Hibs always play bad on these types of pitches not just Lewis!

I thought for just a moment that Drey Wright had taken over as the fall guy, but no here we are again!

In these sort of games a win is a win as far as i am concerned.

Nothing changes season to season sadly.

Kaff

If we were to field a 2nd string team bolstered with 2 or 3 first team players we wouldn't expect them to be top six quality however if we put 2 of these players into our current top 4 team I would expect them to be perfectly good cover, Lewis Melker, Mallam and Wright already shown that.
SDG and Daz are a little concern but at their age they do need some games to get in the groove, thankfully we've got these matches to give them game time in case they're needed for future.
So far the smaller squad and being able to afford the likes of Nisbet, Boyle (new contract) and Magennis is working

10-10-2020, 01:52 PM
Exactly Andy which was the point I was trying to make - unless we are extremely unlucky with injuries this season u cant imagine we'd be missing nine players at same time;
Rocky
P McGinn
Porto
Gogic
Doig
Murphy
Newell
Hanlon
Allan

Any team would find it difficult without 9 first picks to put in a cohesive performance - it hasn't been great but we've found a way to win the last 2 games

Far too sensible.You’ll never last.

MagicSwirlingShip
10-10-2020, 01:56 PM

The results change - WWWDWLWDLWWW

Mon the Hibs!

10-10-2020, 01:56 PM
Rocky
P McGinn
Porto
Gogic
Doig
Murphy
Newell
Hanlon
Allan

Yes but even Jack Ross said that some of the players weren't "at it" in the 1st half. He wasn't happy at the performance, 9 players out or not.

10-10-2020, 01:58 PM
Wright will be fine I reckon. More minutes for him.

I never want to jump on players, however he’s gonna have to score overheard kicks from the halfway line to sway me now.

10-10-2020, 01:59 PM
I never want to jump on players, however he’s gonna have to score overheard kicks from the halfway line to sway me now.

He looks like he’s lacking confidence, scared to take his man on
A wee spell on the bench will do him no harm

hhibs
10-10-2020, 02:03 PM
I would agree with you there.

He has only played a couple of full games and Hibs always play bad on these types of pitches not just Lewis!

I thought for just a moment that Drey Wright had taken over as the fall guy, but no here we are again!

In these sort of games a win is a win as far as i am concerned.

Not sure how you can say Drey Wright is any kind of fall guy,he has been really,really poor ,so far.

So if you would allow, some us feel it is worthy of mention.

On a positive note ,Jamie may have found his mojo in being ready as an alternate.

10-10-2020, 02:03 PM
Do we know how long Newell is out for?

10-10-2020, 02:04 PM
Yes but even Jack Ross said that some of the players weren't "at it" in the 1st half. He wasn't happy at the performance, 9 players out or not.

I never said it was a good performance but there is reasons why and id expect JR not to be happy about it

10-10-2020, 02:05 PM
He looks like he’s lacking confidence, scared to take his man on
A wee spell on the bench will do him no harm

Agree, I said before he's had plenty chances to go past his man on the left but didn't attempt it. Maybe because he's so right-sided. Must be a confidence thing which is strange having scored against Rangers. I wouldn't be starting him on the left again that's for sure.

10-10-2020, 02:06 PM
Guys!

How good is Kevin Nisbet ?

Some finish just sublime!

The Hammer better coming in off the left to arrive in the middle for the tap ins just like Aubameyang :greengrin

10-10-2020, 02:10 PM
Do we know how long Newell is out for?

Could be back for Ross County

10-10-2020, 02:13 PM
Guys!

The Hammer better coming in off the left to arrive in the middle for the tap ins just like Aubameyang :greengrin

He's quality , should be in the Scotland team ahead of Shankland .

10-10-2020, 02:14 PM
Guys!

I've been very impressed. Slipped under the radar while everyone was fawning over Shankland, to our benefit.

10-10-2020, 02:16 PM
Could be back for Ross County

Aye but when is he back for Hibs? 😁

10-10-2020, 02:24 PM
He’s hardly played all season.

That was Coves first competitive match of the season. Let's be honest here, we had players all over the park who were pretty poor, Stevenson included.

10-10-2020, 02:24 PM
We’re going to need this group of players for the rest of the group stages, so we need to get them up to speed
The Dundee game, the last one in the group, is during the next international break, so we’ll be short of a few for that game as well

10-10-2020, 02:31 PM
Job done but Jack Ross needs to get the players to get the ball on deck. Too many long balls up to the front two not only in the past two games but since the start of the season.

Silversand
10-10-2020, 03:14 PM
We’re going to need this group of players for the rest of the group stages, so we need to get them up to speed
The Dundee game, the last one in the group, is during the next international break, so we’ll be short of a few for that game as wellGood point. Think we'll start Tuesday with the team that finished the game today.

10-10-2020, 03:16 PM
The Dundee game, the last one in the group, is during the next international break, so we’ll be short of a few for that game as well

I didn’t realise that. I posted on this thread about getting the full squad back for that game. Thank Christ we won today.

10-10-2020, 03:28 PM
45 mins to save staying in the cup
I’d be getting Gullan on at ht

Great shout Billy . Jack must have seen your post 😃

10-10-2020, 03:35 PM

People were saying this about Doidge a year ago.

But of patience required please.

10-10-2020, 03:37 PM

They were saying it about Doidge today. 😂

10-10-2020, 03:37 PM

10-10-2020, 03:56 PM
Just drop Wright off at Perth on the way home.

Tommy Wight spoke highly of him but not sure we are seeing the best of him yet and these games should be ideal for him getting his confidence but it’s not worked that way

10-10-2020, 04:01 PM
Tommy Wight spoke highly of him but not sure we are seeing the best of him yet and these games should be ideal for him getting his confidence but it’s not worked that way

He was playing with an injury today, Jack Ross mentioned it post match.

10-10-2020, 04:02 PM
I didn’t realise that. I posted on this thread about getting the full squad back for that game. Thank Christ we won today.

No idea what the rules are, if the likes of Nesbit/Doidge got call ups

10-10-2020, 04:04 PM

I’m clearly not keeping up.

WHO AM I SUPPOSED TO BOO?!

10-10-2020, 05:00 PM

Think the clubs all agreed to just get on with it and play no matter what.

10-10-2020, 05:01 PM

Same as now, we play without them. I’d imagine clubs came to an agreement for these games to get played during the internationals. Not sure how many it affects, I’d imagine it would just be us and Dundee United.

hhibs
10-10-2020, 05:10 PM

One can only hope.

10-10-2020, 06:05 PM

They? I thought it was just old misery guts.

10-10-2020, 06:26 PM
He was playing with an injury today, Jack Ross mentioned it post match.

You would have to ask why he started with an injury :confused:

10-10-2020, 06:58 PM
You would have to ask why he started with an injury :confused:

And if so, why did he not start Gullan on the left.

10-10-2020, 09:25 PM

A year ago Doidge was playing ok, he just couldn’t buy a goal. His all round game other than that was decent and he was getting himself into positions to miss sitter after sitter. Thankfully, he’s cut that out and is scoring a good few now.

Wright however is showing next to nothing nearly every week.

11-10-2020, 11:02 AM
Was at work so had to just check the score but just seen the goals on YouTube, some strike from Nisbet.

11-10-2020, 11:28 AM
Nisbet looks like the most natural finisher we've had since Riordan

11-10-2020, 11:57 AM
Apparently Gullan is "buzzing" after scoring yesterday. That's what we want to hear. :aok:

11-10-2020, 11:57 AM
Apparently Gullan is "buzzing" after scoring yesterday. That's what we want to hear. :aok:

He’s hardly going to be depressed at netting a goal for Hibs is he?

11-10-2020, 12:06 PM
He’s hardly going to be depressed at netting a goal for Hibs is he?

You could see the relief on him in the post match interview. Hope he kicks on now with a goal Tuesday and doesn't look back.

11-10-2020, 01:34 PM
You could see the relief on him in the post match interview. Hope he kicks on now with a goal Tuesday and doesn't look back.

Thought he was very good yesterday and midweek when moved to left side. Probably his best position but if we play a 3 at the back then his chances will be somewhat limited. He’s direct, pacey and skillful, will be an important player for us this year coming on when games aren’t going well.