View Full Version : NHC Celtic v Sevco game

10-10-2020, 09:34 AM
Should this go ahead on the scheduled day? I'd imagine the FM's plea not to have large house gatherings will fall on deaf ears for many, but if they reschedule it to a date when the pubs are (possibly) back open would that just lead to even more social distancing problems?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/54483522

10-10-2020, 09:37 AM
Should this go ahead on the scheduled day? I'd imagine the FM's plea not to have large house gatherings will fall on deaf ears for many, but if they reschedule it to a date when the pubs are (possibly) back open would that just lead to even more social distancing problems?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/54483522

I'm shocked that Sturgeon seems so relaxed about it going ahead to be honest.

House gatherings will be through the roof across Scotland next Saturday.

Magpie
10-10-2020, 09:38 AM

Plenty of fines getting handed out then, they be raking it in.

MartinfaePorty
10-10-2020, 09:49 AM
Plenty of fines getting handed out then, they be raking it in.Yeah, that's exactly what they're aiming for right enough.

The question was asked at a briefing and her answer was that to cancel the game would be to say the government doesn't trust people to behave themselves. However, I appreciate the counter-argument is that what do you expect when the pubs are shut and people are fed up.

I'm not saying I agree or disagree, but it seems to me that people who argue for a Sweden-type approach miss the behavioural differences in our 2 countries, as in Swedes seem to have a propensity to follow governmental guidance, whereas we don't.

Anyway, this all seems to be straying into Holy Ground territory.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

10-10-2020, 09:51 AM
Of course it should. For the same reason our Semi should if restrictions are still in place.

If responsible adults can't abide by the laws then just fine/arrest them.

Dr What If?
10-10-2020, 09:51 AM
Plenty of debate going on about the best way to deal with the pandemic. Agree with the Government approach or not, most level headed people would accept that it is an honest attempt to deal with an unprecedented situation and an honest attempt at saving lives. Disturbing to think that so many will put a game of football ahead of the greater good.

10-10-2020, 09:54 AM
Sounds more like they want the Old Firm game cancelled until fans allowed back into stadia???
They've been on about it for long enough, now there is an excuse to press for cancellation!!!

10-10-2020, 10:00 AM
Sounds more like they want the Old Firm game cancelled until fans allowed back into stadia???
They've been on about it for long enough, now there is an excuse to press for cancellation!!!

That's what I've taken from it as well.

If this is cancelled, but all other games go ahead, then it's basically an admission that these are the only two clubs that matter in Scottish Football.

10-10-2020, 10:08 AM
I just don’t get why people think it’s alright to commit a compound fracture of the rules and then somehow justify it because the government felt the need to close pubs for our safety.
We all know SEVCO fans will be all over this for a start.

Maybe they should reflect on how inconsolable the person or people will be who took COVID-19 in to the western general, as a result of which an undisclosed number of people hoping to beat cancer have died from Covid, will be.

delbert
10-10-2020, 10:19 AM
Yeah, that's exactly what they're aiming for right enough.

The question was asked at a briefing and her answer was that to cancel the game would be to say the government doesn't trust people to behave themselves. However, I appreciate the counter-argument is that what do you expect when the pubs are shut and people are fed up.

I'm not saying I agree or disagree, but it seems to me that people who argue for a Sweden-type approach miss the behavioural differences in our 2 countries, as in Swedes seem to have a propensity to follow governmental guidance, whereas we don't.

Trusting the Ugly Sisters fans to follow the rules while one of their bigot fests takes place is a bit like putting Dracula in charge of the Blood Transfusion Service, Sturgeon’s consituency has Govan within it and this is all about her not upsetting her core support, this is all politics and sport is an after thought.

10-10-2020, 10:23 AM

Or Celtic are missing their best player and arguably best midfielder?

Magpie
10-10-2020, 10:25 AM
Yeah, that's exactly what they're aiming for right enough.

Didn’t say that is what they are aiming at. Just stating they will be raking in money from fines if there are vast amounts of gatherings.

10-10-2020, 10:26 AM
Trusting the Ugly Sisters fans to follow the rules while one of their bigot fests takes place is a bit like putting Dracula in charge of the Blood Transfusion Service, Sturgeon’s consituency has Govan within it and this is all about her not upsetting her core support, this is all politics and sport is an after thought.

I would be stunned if the staunch, union jack waving, royal loving, unionist Huns are the core support of Nicola Sturgeon. Every game that the Hun have played there have been packed pubs. The wee village I live in is Hun central and there is a bus load if the ****ers every week to games. The pub in the town has been stowed out when they play. I also believe that for away games they have actually travelled to pubs as well. There is nothing that you can do to stop selfish, morons doing as they please

10-10-2020, 10:36 AM

They are through the roof already. Next door neighbours away and the kids have a squad in last night. Not for the first time I may add. That generation are not bothering their arse.

h1bs4life
10-10-2020, 10:55 AM
I would be stunned if the staunch, union jack waving, royal loving, unionist Huns are the core support of Nicola Sturgeon. Every game that the Hun have played there have been packed pubs. The wee village I live in is Hun central and there is a bus load if the ****ers every week to games. The pub in the town has been stowed out when they play. I also believe that for away games they have actually travelled to pubs as well. There is nothing that you can do to stop selfish, morons doing as they please

She used to be the MSP for Govan until the seat was abolished in 2011.
Cancelling the erse cheeks game would be a step to far.
Be interesting to see if the COVID rules will change now Celtic have players affected .
Scottish governments of any party are afraid to tackle sectarianism head on as it is a vote loser.
Token gestures have been made and failed .

10-10-2020, 11:10 AM
In the current circmstances, both teams should just be awarded a point each from all four of the derby fixtures so they don't have to stage the games full stop. That would be the most effective way of handling it in terms of putting the nation's health and safety first.

10-10-2020, 11:19 AM
In the current circmstances, both teams should just be awarded a point each from all four of the derby fixtures so they don't have to stage the games full stop. That would be the most effective way of handling it in terms of putting the nation's health and safety first.

I think both teams being awarded 3 0 losses in each game would be more fitting

10-10-2020, 12:07 PM

I know a few Sevco fans from Glasgow that have booked a 15 seater and going down to Blackpol for the weekend. Seemingly a lot of them doing this.

10-10-2020, 12:09 PM
I know a few Sevco fans from Glasgow that have booked a 15 seater and going down to Blackpol for the weekend. Seemingly a lot of them doing this.

Pray for Blackpool

10-10-2020, 12:19 PM
Let's not make out it's just Celtic and Sevco fans who will be having house "parties".

What do people expect will happen if we are playing Hearts in a Scottish cup semi final at a 5pm kick off and the pubs are still closed?

10-10-2020, 12:22 PM
Let's not make out it's just Celtic and Sevco fans who will be having house "parties".

What do people expect will happen if we are playing Hearts in a Scottish cup semi final at a 5pm kick off and the pubs are still closed?

Why should we expect that? Does nobody respect the rules?

10-10-2020, 12:26 PM

Of course but that's not the reality of the situation.

They'll be house gatherings all over Edinburgh when we play the semi final. It's extremely naive to think otherwise.

10-10-2020, 12:58 PM

Clearly not. That's why we are where we are.

Rumble de Thump
10-10-2020, 01:39 PM
Let's no pretend but let's use our imagination :greengrin

10-10-2020, 05:21 PM
Pray for Blackpool

It’s full of them.

10-10-2020, 05:45 PM
Of course but that's not the reality of the situation.

They'll be house gatherings all over Edinburgh when we play the semi final. It's extremely naive to think otherwise.

Then it’s not the rules that are the problem it’s people’s attitudes. God help us all

10-10-2020, 05:50 PM
Bitton has now tested positive too. They'll be desperate to get it called off.

Lendo
10-10-2020, 05:56 PM
Bitton has now tested positive too. They'll be desperate to get it called off.

Is he not best pals with Marciano? Hopefully they’ve not been meeting up.

10-10-2020, 05:57 PM
Must be a fair chance if they are good mates

10-10-2020, 05:58 PM

:agree: Both in the Israel squad as well

10-10-2020, 06:05 PM
Is there any chat of the Merseyside Derby being cancelled?

Or our semi final?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

10-10-2020, 06:09 PM

IIRC, they’re room mates when they’re away on international duty :worried:

10-10-2020, 06:25 PM
If Marciano does have to isolate he'd be back in time for the semi assuming he feels well enough.

10-10-2020, 06:31 PM
IIRC, they’re room mates when they’re away on international duty :worried:

I’d be surprised if players are sharing rooms during COVID

Paul1642
10-10-2020, 08:58 PM
Makes you wonder if Eduard and Bitton took the virus with them from Celtic rather than catching it abroad?

The dalmeny
10-10-2020, 09:04 PM
I just don’t get why people think it’s alright to commit a compound fracture of the rules and then somehow justify it because the government felt the need to close pubs for our safety.
We all know SEVCO fans will be all over this for a start.

Maybe they should reflect on how inconsolable the person or people will be who took COVID-19 in to the western general, as a result of which an undisclosed number of people hoping to beat cancer have died from Covid, will be.

did they die from COVID or die with COVID?. Why would they be inconsolable if they never knew they had the virus?

10-10-2020, 09:11 PM
Honestly don't see any reason to be cancelled if behind closed. Doors.

10-10-2020, 09:30 PM
did they die from COVID or die with COVID?. Why would they be inconsolable if they never knew they had the virus?

I am judging by how I would feel in the circumstances. Maybe others have a different way of looking at things but I know if found, or find, I have passed the virus on to others, no matter how careful I may or may not have been, I would be inconsolable. You think perhaps the people who took the virus in to a cancer ward will not question themselves? Perhaps you’re right.

10-10-2020, 09:49 PM
Play the game, no supporters are allowed in, don't show it on tv, if the ugly sisters fans can't be trusted to follow the rules, then they don't deserve to see it.

JOD
11-10-2020, 07:16 AM
Having tested positive and had a rough few days I can tell you it is no fun.
It's horrible. I even watched our game yesterday in a trance. Stay safe fellow Hibees.

11-10-2020, 07:20 AM

That's ideal for her and her government.

They've already blamed the pubs, restaurants, students and schools. Now its the fitba fans turn.

11-10-2020, 07:21 AM
Play the game, no supporters are allowed in, don't show it on tv, if the ugly sisters fans can't be trusted to follow the rules, then they don't deserve to see it.

Take the blinkers off.

You think if they extend the "not a lockdown" lockdown for an extra week, which i think they will seeing as its halloween, Hibs v Hearts followed by Celtic v Aberdeen - ours fans won't be doing the same? :rolleyes:

11-10-2020, 07:21 AM
Makes you wonder if Eduard and Bitton took the virus with them from Celtic rather than catching it abroad?

Edouard is a certainty due to the incubation period. Bitton less likely but if no one else tested positive then the question must be asked of how he got it? Sure international teams are in their bio secure bubbles, unlike at club level where they can go out and about.

11-10-2020, 08:04 AM
I'm just waiting for Celtic to try and get the game called off.

Lennon has been mouthing for ages they can't play the game behind closed doors as it's not right and now they have three players out due to Covid.

Next move will either be more covid cases or the theory of house parties viewing the game will cause an increase in figures.

Conspiracy theory eh.:greengrin

11-10-2020, 08:18 AM
I'm just waiting for Celtic to try and get the game called off.

Lennon has been mouthing for ages they can't play the game behind closed doors as it's not right and now they have three players out due to Covid.

Next move will either be more covid cases or the theory of house parties viewing the game will cause an increase in figures.

Conspiracy theory eh.:greengrin

I think it's a cert they'll try get the game called off. How many players will they need to get it though. If killie was 6 then should they be the same? Could argue yes as we want everyone treated the same but then, they do have a bigger squad.

11-10-2020, 08:21 AM
I think it's a cert they'll try get the game called off. How many players will they need to get it though. If killie was 6 then should they be the same? Could argue yes as we want everyone treated the same but then, they do have a bigger squad.

Killie had 6 players test positive but their whole first team had to isolate.

They could have fielded a team of youth players but chosen not to so lost the points.

Same should apply to Celtic and anyone else.

11-10-2020, 08:24 AM

They could have fielded a team of youth players but chosen not to so lost the points.

Kilmarnock haven’t lost any points for a league game.

11-10-2020, 08:25 AM

Kilmarnock's league game v Motherwell was postponed to be played at a later date. Their cup game v Falkirk was forfeited. There's different rules between league and cup.

11-10-2020, 08:26 AM

Was talking about Betfred. Forgot all about their league postponement.

11-10-2020, 08:43 AM

That’s the betfred cup rules though, although they may still lose the league game as it needs to go in front of the SPFL board to determine the circumstances and outcome.

11-10-2020, 08:45 AM
That’s the betfred cup rules though, although they may still lose the league game as it needs to go in front of the SPFL board to determine the circumstances and outcome.

Can’t see how they’ll lose points for the league game if it was called off for them as opposed to them deciding not to play, like they did in the Betfred.

As I say, forgot they’d had the game called off in the league.

11-10-2020, 08:48 AM

I'm talking league games though. If Celtic do have another couple of cases then likely hood is the game will get called off as they already set a precedent with Kilmarnock.
We can't keep arguing we should all be treated the same and then not treat them the same.

11-10-2020, 08:50 AM

Doncaster said it would depend on whether there was evidence that they had broken protocols. If so they would be on a disciplinary which would be referred to spfl board which assuming could lead to losing the game.

11-10-2020, 08:53 AM
Can’t see how they’ll lose points for the league game if it was called off for them as opposed to them deciding not to play, like they did in the Betfred.

As I say, forgot they’d had the game called off in the league.

Neil Doncaster said if the positive cases came about as a result of breaches of protocol then they would look into awarding the win to Motherwell but they had no automatic rule that allowed them to just do that. Unlike in the League Cup where a team forfeits the match if it is called off due to Covid-19.

11-10-2020, 08:53 AM
It's horrible. I even watched our game yesterday in a trance. Stay safe fellow Hibees.

Hope you're ok.:aok:

11-10-2020, 08:56 AM

Take care. Sincerely hope there are no lasting symptoms and you make a full recovery. All the best

11-10-2020, 08:59 AM
I'm talking league games though. If Celtic do have another couple of cases then likely hood is the game will get called off as they already set a precedent with Kilmarnock.
We can't keep arguing we should all be treated the same and then not treat them the same.

I think it was predominantly down to the intervention of the health board ordering their whole first team squad to isolate though.

I can’t see the game being off unless that happens.

KDY Hibs
11-10-2020, 09:00 AM

Hope you get better soon 👍🏻

Green Reaper
11-10-2020, 10:37 AM
Sounds awful, hope you're on the mend and starting to feel better

11-10-2020, 10:49 AM
Sounds awful, hope you're on the mend and starting to feel better

The irony of your username :greengrin

11-10-2020, 10:50 AM
Hearing an ROI player has tested positive, Celtic will be hoping it isn’t Duffy

11-10-2020, 10:56 AM

Isn’t it the member of back room staff? Two players had to isolate due to not sitting in their allocated seats on the plane and ending up too close to the infected staff member.

Green Reaper
11-10-2020, 11:00 AM
The irony of your username :greengrin

😁 not after the good guys, maybe should have used maroon reaper 🤔😅

11-10-2020, 11:03 AM
Isn’t it the member of back room staff? Two players had to isolate due to not sitting in their allocated seats on the plane and ending up too close to the infected staff member.

Sky saying one player infected, and 4 close by are out of today’s game

11-10-2020, 11:05 AM

Interesting that. Stephen Kenny seemed fed up when he was interviewed this morning about the plane incident, wonder if they are all linked.

11-10-2020, 11:25 AM
😁 not after the good guys, maybe should have used maroon reaper 🤔😅

Logie Green
11-10-2020, 11:26 AM

I’d imagine the huns won’t be disappointed if he’s available as he looks very sluggish.

11-10-2020, 11:28 AM

John Egan, Callum Robinson, Callum O'Dowda and Alan Browne.

11-10-2020, 11:47 PM
El Hamed has apparently got it. Think that makes 4 celtic players now. Can defo see them pushing to get the game off.

12-10-2020, 04:56 AM

Nightmare Jod. Hope you don't get as poorly as me. If you do not feel right get into hospital as waiting almost cost me.

12-10-2020, 06:02 AM
El Hamed has apparently got it. Think that makes 4 celtic players now. Can defo see them pushing to get the game off.

The squad they have don't see any reason for it to be off imo.

12-10-2020, 06:03 AM
Interesting that. Stephen Kenny seemed fed up when he was interviewed this morning about the plane incident, wonder if they are all linked.

What was the plane incident?

12-10-2020, 06:15 AM

If they’ve got 13 fit players it’ll be on. Only way they’ll have a chance of it being postponed is if their whole squad is in danger of having it and government/health authorities request a postponement

12-10-2020, 06:33 AM
It was no coincidence the Old Firm game wasn’t played earlier.

Has it ever been 1st game of the season for example in the history of Scottish football ??

The game should go ahead and like others have said it’s people’s attitudes that need sorted if they can’t follow the rules. The same people that will gather together and then moan the pubs are shut for longer than 2 weeks.

12-10-2020, 09:01 AM
What was the plane incident?

The players and staff all must have allocated seating which is physically distanced. Two of the players moved seat, and ended up being too close to a member of staff who then tested positive, so both players had to isolate and couldn’t play in the play off game.

12-10-2020, 10:24 AM
It was no coincidence the Old Firm game wasn’t played earlier.

Has it ever been 1st game of the season for example in the history of Scottish football ??

The game should go ahead and like others have said it’s people’s attitudes that need sorted if they can’t follow the rules. The same people that will gather together and then moan the pubs are shut for longer than 2 weeks.

If my memory serves me correctly it happened when the Premier League started in the 1970s.

Hibs beat Hearts 1-0 with a beauty from Joe Harper and Rangers beat Celtic 2-1 with Quinton Young scoring at some point.

12-10-2020, 11:46 AM
The players and staff all must have allocated seating which is physically distanced. Two of the players moved seat, and ended up being too close to a member of staff who then tested positive, so both players had to isolate and couldn’t play in the play off game.

Thanks

12-10-2020, 11:49 AM
If they’ve got 13 fit players it’ll be on. Only way they’ll have a chance of it being postponed is if their whole squad is in danger of having it and government/health authorities request a postponement

Indeed - Celtic have a deep enough squad to cope with 4 or 5 players testing positive. Without Bitton, Edouard, Christie, they'd potentially be missing three starters, but tough...that's why they have such a massive squad, and if there are players on their books taking salaries, they're good enough to be considered candidates to play.

I'm surprised, given the risk it poses for house gatherings as people watch the match, that the authorities haven't taken steps to call it off anyway but that's another discussion...

12-10-2020, 06:01 PM
Further Celtic player has been confirmed as testing positive, Elhamed. Rest of the Israel squad was negative so Rocky is fine as it stands.

12-10-2020, 06:08 PM
Celtic statement

Celtic Football Club can confirm that Hatem Elhamed has tested positive for COVID-19 while on international duty and is now required to enter a 13-day period of isolation in line with regulations in Israel.
Our medical staff will maintain constant dialogue with him and will provide all required support. Everyone at the Club sends Hatem our best wishes and, of course, we hope he makes a full recovery as soon as possible.
We are, of course, disappointed and frustrated that another player on international duty has tested positive - during an international period which is continuing to present huge challenges for the Club.
During the remainder of this international period, as we have done throughout, we will be maintaining close contact with the relevant international associations, in order to ensure everything possible is being done with regards to the care and protection of our players, something which must be a priority.
While FIFA regulations determine that clubs are obliged to release players for international duty, going forward we are sure wider discussions will take place around this hugely important issue. We will monitor these discussions closely.

12-10-2020, 06:16 PM
It's OK for Celtc - they don't have a game in midweek and they've plenty of other players in their squad to cope.

Magpie
12-10-2020, 11:48 PM
Celtic statement

Celtic Football Club can confirm that Hatem Elhamed has tested positive for COVID-19 while on international duty and is now required to enter a 13-day period of isolation in line with regulations in Israel.
Our medical staff will maintain constant dialogue with him and will provide all required support. Everyone at the Club sends Hatem our best wishes and, of course, we hope he makes a full recovery as soon as possible.
We are, of course, disappointed and frustrated that another player on international duty has tested positive - during an international period which is continuing to present huge challenges for the Club.
During the remainder of this international period, as we have done throughout, we will be maintaining close contact with the relevant international associations, in order to ensure everything possible is being done with regards to the care and protection of our players, something which must be a priority.
While FIFA regulations determine that clubs are obliged to release players for international duty, going forward we are sure wider discussions will take place around this hugely important issue. We will monitor these discussions closely.

Last paragraph suggests they may try to stop their players going on international duty next month. Possibly Christie, McGregor and Griffiths not taking part in the Serbia game.

13-10-2020, 12:35 AM
Last paragraph suggests they may try to stop their players going on international duty next month. Possibly Christie, McGregor and Griffiths not taking part in the Serbia game.

Probably not a bad thing for the human race’s fight against the coronavirus that people from a coronavirus hot spot like Glasgow don’t travel abroad to play football.

Is it not a slightly laughable notion that all these Celtic players came into contact with it on international duty?

telford hibbee
13-10-2020, 01:11 AM
Plenty of fines getting handed out then, they be raking it in.

No fines if they all just say that their name is Steven Gerard.

Magpie
13-10-2020, 02:02 AM
No fines if they all just say that their name is Steven Gerard.

13-10-2020, 06:20 PM

Scotland’s arguably biggest game in many a year 😉Cant see the players bring too happy tbh

14-10-2020, 07:03 PM

Looks like the Scot Gov seen my post from earlier in the week 😀

Magpie
14-10-2020, 11:23 PM
I think Sevco will win this game

Green Reaper
15-10-2020, 12:00 PM
Looks like the Scot Gov seen my post from earlier in the week 😀

I thought the same as soon as I heard her specifically mention Blackpool 😁

15-10-2020, 03:21 PM
FM wants the game to be free to air to stop people meeting together in households - not quite sure if it's a good idea or everyone wanting to appease the Toxic Twins

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/54558900

15-10-2020, 03:22 PM
People will meet in households regardless what channel it's on.

15-10-2020, 03:26 PM
FM wants the game to be free to air to stop people meeting together in households - not quite sure if it's a good idea or everyone wanting to appease the Toxic Twins

It's absolutely nonsense. Amazed she actually commented on this.

Once again shows the bandwagon / baggage which the Old Firm bring with them.

Who do they think they are?

It's more the people watching it need help than putting it free on TV. Get to the root of the problem which is the poison of these 2 clubs.

Rumble de Thump
15-10-2020, 03:30 PM
It's not the moon landing. It's just another game of football and will most likely be utter dross like pretty much every other 'Old Firm' game.

15-10-2020, 03:37 PM
Will the Scottish Government be willing to compensate the tv company with the exclusive rights to the game to allow the game to be on free to view .

tigerted
15-10-2020, 03:39 PM
Can honestly say I've never given a flying ***k about this fixture, EVER!

15-10-2020, 03:42 PM

It's more the people watching it need help than putting it free on TV. Get to the root of the problem which is the poison of these 2 clubs.

I suppose that what happens when you have Govan in your constituency.

The dalmeny
15-10-2020, 03:47 PM

just increases the number of houses folk can go round to.

15-10-2020, 03:49 PM
just increases the number of houses folk can go round to.

From none to zero????

15-10-2020, 04:05 PM

I am a big NS fan but I dont think she thought this one thru - its actually laughable.

Regardless of the obvious - Sky have a contract with our league and unless someone (the govt) pay them a ton of cash, why would they?

Have any of them thought through just how a Sky tv broadcast can emerge seamlessly on everyones telly?

Or are they just thinking of "unlocking" Sky Sports on Sky/Virgin/Now for one day???? What about those with "cooncil tv" ?

15-10-2020, 04:44 PM
I am a big NS fan but I dont think she thought this one thru - its actually laughable.

Regardless of the obvious - Sky have a contract with our league and unless someone (the govt) pay them a ton of cash, why would they?

Have any of them thought through just how a Sky tv broadcast can emerge seamlessly on everyones telly?

Or are they just thinking of "unlocking" Sky Sports on Sky/Virgin/Now for one day???? What about those with "cooncil tv" ?It should be straightforward enough for anyone with broadband and who gets their TV by cable via a box.

15-10-2020, 04:48 PM
How much do each club get from the deal with sky per game, and pay them that and not show it.

15-10-2020, 04:53 PM
Can honestly say I've never given a flying ***k about this fixture, EVER!

Until today.

15-10-2020, 04:54 PM

Or are they just thinking of "unlocking" Sky Sports on Sky/Virgin/Now for one day???? What about those with "cooncil tv" ?

She should have advised Sky to not broadcast the game on public health grounds.

Football seems to be causing a lot of problems with covid, players being allowed to travel around the world to play in completions and friendly games, numbers of players and staff testing positive, when do you say this isn't working, Government can't keep blaming pubs and restaurants all the time, football is getting a easy ride through these difficult covid times.

15-10-2020, 04:57 PM

Football seems to be causing a lot of problems with covid, players being allowed to travel around the world to play in completions and friendly games, numbers of players and staff testing positive, when do you say this isn't working, Government can't keep blaming pubs and restaurants all the time, football is getting a easy ride through these difficult covid times.

Football is probably doing more than any other industry to mitigate against Covid. To say it’s getting an easy ride is miles off IMO.

15-10-2020, 05:37 PM

I get your point, but being able to watch football on my tod, in the comfort of my own home, gives me a wee bit of joy that means I'm happy to comply with all sorts of regulation the moment I cross the front door.

Taking football away would nudge me a bit closer to being part of the "f it" brigade and tbh at the moment my general compliance is very good.

15-10-2020, 05:44 PM
It should be straightforward enough for anyone with broadband and who gets their TV by cable via a box.

That means asking the tv companies to "switch on" Sky Football channel for everyone at a specific time on Saturday then switch off again. Why should they do this for nothing? And if it costs, who pays?

As I said in mine above, what about those with no box? i.e. who use Freeview? Should they be left out?

Its an idea that has so many moving parts and potential for cockup - which is why it should be treated as a non starter.

p.s. I am just playing devils advocate - whoever wants to watch this at home legally or otherwise will have the ability to do so, putting it on free to view is just pandering to the ********s in their support who cant do what they are told.

15-10-2020, 06:10 PM
How much do each club get from the deal with sky per game, and pay them that and not show it.

Clubs get zero £ for each game that's on TV.

15-10-2020, 06:12 PM
Don't know what folk are getting their knickers in a twist about. Sky showed plenty of EPL matches free during lockdown. I don't have a problem with Nicola Sturgeon asking. If it helps stop the spread, great.

Good publicity and advertising for SKY. A win,win.

15-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Don't know what folk are getting their knickers in a twist about. Sky showed plenty of EPL matches free during lockdown. I don't have a problem with Nicola Sturgeon asking. If it helps stop the spread, great.

Yip and the games were shown on pick tv for those without sky or virgin.

Interesting to see that some pubs in Blackpool have already come out and said they will be closed on Saturday as they can't risk the £10k fine they could get if folk don't social distance in their pub. One of them saying they've had over 1500 requests to book at table. What is wrong with these people. Do they not realise you don't have to go all the way to Blackpool if your wanting to watch the game in the pub :confused:

15-10-2020, 06:48 PM
Clubs get zero £ for each game that's on TV.

😳

Who gets the money, Stevie? The SPFL?

15-10-2020, 06:48 PM

Interesting to see that some pubs in Blackpool have already come out and said they will be closed on Saturday as they can't risk the £10k fine they could get if folk don't social distance in their pub. One of them saying they've had over 1500 requests to book at table. What is wrong with these people. Do they not realise you don't have to go all the way to Blackpool if your wanting to watch the game in the pub :confused:

I thought beer gardens in Fife might have been popular.

15-10-2020, 06:59 PM
Can you jump on a bus & go to Blackpool to watch the Merseyside Derby ? It’s on BT at the same time

15-10-2020, 07:51 PM
That means asking the tv companies to "switch on" Sky Football channel for everyone at a specific time on Saturday then switch off again. Why should they do this for nothing? And if it costs, who pays?

As I said in mine above, what about those with no box? i.e. who use Freeview? Should they be left out?

Its an idea that has so many moving parts and potential for cockup - which is why it should be treated as a non starter.

p.s. I am just playing devils advocate - whoever wants to watch this at home legally or otherwise will have the ability to do so, putting it on free to view is just pandering to the ********s in their support who cant do what they are told.

She said it as a tongue in cheek comment, it wasn’t a serious question by any stretch.

15-10-2020, 07:54 PM

Probably because;

(a) we have already pandered to these ****s by conveniently scheduling their derby almost as far out as was possible in case fans were allowed back in.

(b) We are not in lockdown so it seems that we are - once again - pandering to these ****s simply because a number of them cant behave themselves.

(c) Just because its these two disgusting clubs :greengrin

15-10-2020, 08:47 PM

They would show it on one of their other channels that are available on all platforms. They won’t do it though and neither should they.

15-10-2020, 09:23 PM
I cannot, fir the life of me, understand why any hotel, guest house, bar or restaurant, in Blackpool would open it’s doors to a gang of football fans arriving specifically so that they can get round a booze ban and get loaded fir a bigot fest. Pray for Blackpool, the cost of repairs to their town and credibility will far out weigh any income IMHO
Then pray for the hundreds, perhaps thousands, that will contribute to the spike in cases, perhaps deaths, caused by people infected on this trip

16-10-2020, 03:16 AM

Interesting to see that some pubs in Blackpool have already come out and said they will be closed on Saturday as they can't risk the £10k fine they could get if folk don't social distance in their pub. One of them saying they've had over 1500 requests to book at table. What is wrong with these people. Do they not realise you don't have to go all the way to Blackpool if your wanting to watch the game in the pub :confused:Let's face it, Huns going down to Blackpool, they lose and place will get wrecked. Its never just about the football for their thugs.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

16-10-2020, 06:14 AM

And I suppose the UK wide precedent it sets for other highly volatile fixtures because there are plenty derbies down south which while lacking the OFs particular brand of hatred have their own. Plus if cup games throw up ixtures across the leagues like Millwall vs West Ham or Birmingham vs Villa.

If the huns descend on Blackpool I just hope the pub owners have got their TVs working properly as we know how angry they get with a dodgy signal.

16-10-2020, 06:48 AM
Showing it on council TV won't stop people congregating in houses.

The easiest solution is just pull the plug on all TV coverage.

Sky not being happy is obviously the biggest draw back.

16-10-2020, 06:52 AM
😳

Who gets the money, Stevie? The SPFL?

The TV money goes in to the prize pot and is split between the teams at the end of the season depending on your placings in the league. The old firm for example dont get extra money for tomorrow's game being on TV.

16-10-2020, 06:55 AM

Do you propose we do the same on Halloween for our game against Hertz?

There's some amount of pish on here.

Kinda irrelevant to this but noticed Everton v Liverpool is being screened in some Scottish Vue cinemas.

16-10-2020, 07:17 AM
Do you propose we do the same on Halloween for our game against Hertz?

There's some amount of pish on here.

A well thought out reply, congratulations.

The Hibs - Hearts game is different altogether from a Celtic - Rangers game and anybody who knows anything about football should know that.

When the semi is on we don't know if the pubs will be shut or not for a start.

If they were to be shut do you envisage bus loads of fans of each club travelling to England to watch the game?

16-10-2020, 07:25 AM

So don't allow people to see their families, take away their pubs/restaurants. But at least they can stay in and watch the football. But we should take that away from folk as well? Can't be agreeing with that.

And let's be honest, there WILL be people meeting at other folks houses to watch the semi final in a couple of weeks. So if we're going to ban tomorrow's game, we'd have to accept a ban on our game as there'll be a breaking of the rules their as well.

16-10-2020, 07:35 AM
The problem today is football fans feel entitled. They expect to watch their teams live on TV, maybe the solution is to turn the clock back to the 1970s when there were no games televised live, or only cup finals. Nobody would be tempted to congregate in homes or pubs to gather round the wireless, or crystal set radio to listen to the football.

16-10-2020, 07:35 AM
So don't allow people to see their families, take away their pubs/restaurants. But at least they can stay in and watch the football. But we should take that away from folk as well? Can't be agreeing with that.

And let's be honest, there WILL be people meeting at other folks houses to watch the semi final in a couple of weeks. So if we're going to ban tomorrow's game, we'd have to accept a ban on our game as there'll be a breaking of the rules their as well.

I would allow people to see their families, daily cases were dropping and deaths virtually negligible when this was allowed.

Not saying all cases due to pubs opening but a definite rise since they were allowed.

I will watch the game and it would be wrong to stop everybody watching it I get that, but people need to realise we are never going to get out the bit unless measures are adhered to.

I've heard there was a possibility that the game was going to be put back by the Scottish Government such is the concern over this.

I hope people act responsibly but I just can't see it.

My initial post was a bit tongue in cheek but it would stop it, I did realise though it was never going to happen.

16-10-2020, 08:40 AM
A well thought out reply, congratulations.

The Hibs - Hearts game is different altogether from a Celtic - Rangers game and anybody who knows anything about football should know that.

When the semi is on we don't know if the pubs will be shut or not for a start.

If they were to be shut do you envisage bus loads of fans of each club travelling to England to watch the game?

Nationally, of course its different. Regionally though there will be stacks of Edinburgh fans meeting up in a couple of weeks like our Weegie counter-parts will be doing this weekend wether its allowed or with pubs open or not. So to protect the lothians do you propose a blanket ban on our game versus Hearts? Or is it 'cos its just the big bad old firm?

Thanks for the congratulations BTW. I'd say my reply was as well though out as yours suggesting that to limit people meeting this weekend is to further restrict access to the biggest game in the Scottish footballing calendar - which would obviously encourage people to meet indoors lot more!

16-10-2020, 09:07 AM
Nationally, of course its different. Regionally though there will be stacks of Edinburgh fans meeting up in a couple of weeks like our Weegie counter-parts will be doing this weekend wether its allowed or with pubs open or not. So to protect the lothians do you propose a blanket ban on our game versus Hearts? Or is it 'cos its just the big bad old firm?

Thanks for the congratulations BTW. I'd say my reply was as well though out as yours suggesting that to limit people meeting this weekend is to further restrict access to the biggest game in the Scottish footballing calendar - which would obviously encourage people to meet indoors lot more!

Our fans will be doing the exact same as Old Firm fans are this weekend. I'm assuming those suggesting the game isn't shown will also feel the same about our game not being shown, otherwise it's just hypocritical nonsense.

16-10-2020, 09:07 AM
While it won't be on the same scale, it's pretty daft to think that there won't be some hibs or hearts fans getting together for our game.

16-10-2020, 10:00 AM
Looks like they might not make Blackpool. Lancashire getting put into tier 3 lockdown.

16-10-2020, 10:12 AM
Looks like they might not make Blackpool. Lancashire getting put into tier 3 lockdown.

Turn them back at J36😁

16-10-2020, 10:21 AM
Is tier 3 roughly the same as what is in place across the central belt?

16-10-2020, 10:27 AM

I'd say it's more tier 2.

16-10-2020, 10:28 AM
Reasonably similar I think, though I’ve largely lost track to be honest and could be wrong. Pubs are closed apart from those that are open to serve meals. Only allowed to be served alcohol during the meal. Would make sense if such pubs aren’t even allowed to show anything on TV but I doubt such common sense will be applied.

16-10-2020, 10:42 AM
Reasonably similar I think, though I’ve largely lost track to be honest and could be wrong. Pubs are closed apart from those that are open to serve meals. Only allowed to be served alcohol during the meal. Would make sense if such pubs aren’t even allowed to show anything on TV but I doubt such common sense will be applied.

We've got tier 3 restrictions on hospitality but tier 2 restrictions on meeting other households outdoors.

16-10-2020, 10:44 AM
We've got tier 3 restrictions on hospitality but tier 2 restrictions on meeting other households outdoors.
Seems the tiers are largely irrelevant as Lancs and Liverpool seem to have different regulations. Lancs allowed to have gyms open, Liverpool not.

Headline really though is that pubs will be closed in Blackpool. I know they don’t do walking away, but they will have to do a lot of U-turns.

16-10-2020, 11:17 AM

Can i ask if you think its ok for a bunch of mates to meet up in a house to watch the semi final together?

16-10-2020, 11:20 AM
I suppose that what happens when you have Govan in your constituency.

Yeah, she really obsesses about the Rangers vote

16-10-2020, 11:21 AM
Can i ask if you think its ok for a bunch of mates to meet up in a house to watch the semi final together?

Does it actually matter? It's going to happen throughout the city whether a random poster you've probably never met before think it's ok or not.

Garymcl
16-10-2020, 12:24 PM
I take it we’re not playing tomorrow :greengrin

16-10-2020, 12:39 PM
I take it we’re not playing tomorrow :greengrin

Looking at the BBC's Scottish football page you'd think not, from the top of the page there are 14 stories, 7 are about the glasgow derby, one is the gossip page, one for QoS Covid, one for Hearts, one to predict the lower leagues, one for St Mirren Covid, one for Dundee Utd (this is the only story in regards to a premiership game at the weekend that isn't old firm) and one about the Hibs Ladies as their league opener is on BBC.

16-10-2020, 02:49 PM

Guess I'd have to see what the restrictions are, but, be sensible, take some pre-cautions and don't be silly and I won't judge anyone having a few beers watching their team (Hibs, Hertz, Aberdeen, OF) in massive matches in what has been a pretty ***** 7 months. Especially while its deemed fine to eat out before 6pm, have coffee or share communal changing facilities etc etc.

16-10-2020, 03:37 PM
I really have to criticise Nicola Sturgeon for missing a trick. She should have done the same as the First Minister of Wales and given Police the powers to prevent people coming to Scotland from ares with high prevalence of Covid, like Lancashire, and particularly Blackpool. Stop those returning from watching the football rather than ask them not to go in the first place.

Makes so much sense to me :greengrin

16-10-2020, 04:05 PM
**** the 2 cheecks, manky bassas, they are viral.

16-10-2020, 05:03 PM
I see Lennon wants Ryan Christie to play tomorrow, 11 days into a 14 day quarantine - walloper

16-10-2020, 05:07 PM
I see Lennon wants Ryan Christie to play tomorrow, 11 days into a 14 day quarantine - walloper

Did he say that?

I seen he was saying Christie and Tierney should be treated equally (as it appears Arsenal are trying to get Tierney to be allowed to play)

16-10-2020, 05:34 PM

As I said earlier on the thread the most effective solution would be to pull the game altogether and just award them a point each. It all comes down the Sky cash though, as you say.

I despise the Old Firm game. There's nothing wonderful about it at all and Scottish life in general would be much improved if it just didn't exist. I bet the Glasgow police loved Sevco's years in the lower divisions.

16-10-2020, 06:06 PM

Got to be the same rules for every Scottish club
Did the St Mirren/Kilmarnock players have to do 14 days

16-10-2020, 06:10 PM
Five pages about those gobs****s. Who cares?

16-10-2020, 07:01 PM
I think people will discover that the fans behaviour is the only thing that sets this game apart from any other game in Scotland, and even that is for all the wrong reasons

16-10-2020, 08:11 PM

allmodcons
16-10-2020, 08:55 PM
Five pages about those gobs****s. Who cares?

100%. Scotland's shame and we have a 5 page thread on them. Horrible c"""s.

18-10-2020, 10:34 AM
Got to be the same rules for every Scottish club
Did the St Mirren/Kilmarnock players have to do 14 days
It sucks when Tierney gets to play for Arsenal 11 days into 14 day quarantine, yet we have to do the whole 14????

18-10-2020, 12:12 PM
I hate walking about with my hibs scalf down here in england after an old firm, have had two idiots say 0-2 which I have replied my team drew 0-0.

18-10-2020, 12:24 PM
**** the 2 cheeks, they are a virus, this is a Hibs forum ffs

18-10-2020, 12:50 PM
It sucks when Tierney gets to play for Arsenal 11 days into 14 day quarantine, yet we have to do the whole 14????

Is it not only 10 days in England though?