View Full Version : Least favourite former Hibs player
Paul1642
08-10-2020, 10:42 PM
Some of the comments on the international threads about Matt Doherty have got me thinking, who is everyone’s least favourite Hibs player and why?
Other than Doherty a few others that spring to mind for me are Zibi for causing so much pain in Derby’s, although that one is nothing personal and purely performance based. There was a lot of hate for Kevin Thomson when he left but he put in a decent shift for us when he returned. For me it would be Paul Hartley however that all comes from his time at hearts and has nothing to do with his time at Hibs at all.
If we include managers, Caldwood was pretty hard to like and Butcher would top my list for sure.
This is purely a bit of fun, it’s just a game at the end of the day and it’s great to look at our current side and realise that regardless of ability there’s not a player is there I dislike or who’s attitude I would question.
08-10-2020, 10:44 PM
Butch Wilkins
08-10-2020, 10:46 PM
Owain Tudur Jones
08-10-2020, 10:46 PM
Butch Wilkins
RitchieHibs
08-10-2020, 10:51 PM
Florian Kamberi.
08-10-2020, 10:54 PM
Pa Kujabi
No real reason just thought he was poor and very strongly linked to that game.
08-10-2020, 10:54 PM
Andy Walker is up there with Butch Wilkins
08-10-2020, 11:00 PM
There was a whole load of players between about 2011 and finally getting relegated that seemed to pitch up at Hibs, not really give a toss and then walk away. I can accept a player not being good enough but lack of heart and effort is difficult to stomach as a fan.
Owain Tudur Jones is mentioned above and I think he typifies that period quite well. His attempt at a tackle in the lead up to Hamiltons equaliser in the play off defeat summed up his contribution quite well. He may well have been a great guy but he seemed to be around, semi permanently injured, boasting about his golf on social media then crap when he did appear.
08-10-2020, 11:14 PM
There was a whole load of players between about 2011 and finally getting relegated that seemed to pitch up at Hibs, not really give a toss and then walk away. I can accept a player not being good enough but lack of heart and effort is difficult to stomach as a fan.
Owain Tudur Jones is mentioned above and I think he typifies that period quite well. His attempt at a tackle in the lead up to Hamiltons equaliser in the play off defeat summed up his contribution quite well. He may well have been a great guy but he seemed to be around, semi permanently injured, boasting about his golf on social media then crap when he did appear.
What sealed it for me PB was apart from the fact he was gash was the fact he admitted on a podcast that he signed for us knowing his legs were gone
08-10-2020, 11:20 PM
Kamberi is certainly up there for me.
Former players I get the impression that I'd actively dislike were they my teammates include: Islam Feruz, Martin Scott, and Rowan Vine.
Green Reaper
08-10-2020, 11:36 PM
Butch Wilkins
100%
09-10-2020, 12:25 AM
Worst/least favourite player means different things to me. Was Zibi a joke, course he was. Is he my least favourite player, not even close. Take Brian Hamilton for example. Good player for us but a total bell end and his comments about rather licking stamps than play for us will live with me forever. Ray Wilkins, might be a hun barsteward but lets not forget, Emmon Bannon played a game for us.
As much as I hate Butcher, he was my choice to be manager at the time. Can't believe we actually employed Billy Brown FFS.
09-10-2020, 12:26 AM
Ryan McGivern.
Oft, duck. Forgot about him.
DetroitHibs
09-10-2020, 12:44 AM
Dave Beaumont. You had one ****ing job Dave!!! :brickwall
MagicSwirlingShip
09-10-2020, 03:54 AM
Paul Tosh. Quite a lot of players signed by Jim Duffy actually.
GibbytheHibby2
09-10-2020, 04:31 AM
Alan O’Brien 😱
An imposter.
09-10-2020, 05:47 AM
Are we talking about their time at hibs or once they’ve left the club
Andy Walker wasn’t with us long, did little wrong, didn’t get a contract and now hates us with every fibre of his bitter wee soul
Paul Hartley.... well enough said
And there’s a difference between crap and hatred for a player
But I sadly did enjoy Matt Docherty missing his spot kick last night, despite what it means to my grandads homeland
09-10-2020, 06:08 AM
Danny Haynes is one that always sticks in my mind. Was hardly trying a leg in a game at St Mirren when we were in relegation freeefall , goes to take a corner and gives it a pretty aggressive "come on eh?" to the fans, to be met with a resounding chorus of "nah, you f****** come on!"
duffers
09-10-2020, 06:44 AM
Ryan Mullen
09-10-2020, 06:47 AM
Hartley by a distance
09-10-2020, 06:58 AM
Can't remember disliking too many whilst at the club.
Often get irked at ones who slag the club off after they've left.
09-10-2020, 07:01 AM
Hartley by a distance
Hartley was good with us. Scored some good goals - notably one cracker v Dunfermline.
Logie Green
09-10-2020, 07:04 AM
Liam Craig. Appointed captain but often couldn’t get in the team. Left St Johnstone after a few years to sign for Hibs. They won the Scottish Cup and we got relegated, went back to St Johnstone and we won the Scottish Cup. An imposter during our relegation season.
09-10-2020, 07:07 AM
Danny Haynes is one that always sticks in my mind. Was hardly trying a leg in a game at St Mirren when we were in relegation freeefall , goes to take a corner and gives it a pretty aggressive "come on eh?" to the fans, to be met with a resounding chorus of "nah, you f****** come on!"
Danny Haynes can almost be forgiven for inadvertently introducing his girlfriend to Scoopyboy and I. 😍
jakedance
09-10-2020, 07:09 AM
Dave Beaumont. You had one ****ing job Dave!!! :brickwall
Obviously this. The thread should be titled ‘Other than Dave Beaumont who is your least favourite former Hibs player’.
Rowan VineFor some reason mine too. Lived near me when he first arrived, a bigger poseur would be hard to find. Bet he spent more time perfecting that beard than he did his football skills.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Orourke73
09-10-2020, 07:50 AM
Caldwell and goram
09-10-2020, 07:50 AM
OTJ definitely up there. For some reason I can’t remember I really didn’t like Jamie McQuilken.
09-10-2020, 07:57 AM
Joe Harper wasn’t a fans’ favourite.
09-10-2020, 08:00 AM
Joe Harper wasn’t a fans’ favourite.
Whatever happened to Doddie, I remember whenever Harper’s name was mentioned on here he’d have something to say.
09-10-2020, 08:18 AM
Danny Haynes can almost be forgiven for inadvertently introducing his girlfriend to Scoopyboy and I. 😍
She was tidy mate but as bright as a black out.
Remember her asking if a goal counted if the ball was in the air when it crossed the line:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
09-10-2020, 08:21 AM
Brian Hamilton. For obvious reasons.
09-10-2020, 08:22 AM
Kenny Miller
09-10-2020, 08:22 AM
Florian Kamberi.
Got to be up there
hibsmad
09-10-2020, 08:25 AM
OTJ definitely up there. For some reason I can’t remember I really didn’t like Jamie McQuilken.
McQuilken was absolutely honking. Can't say I remember particularly disliking him, but I'd have him up there as one of the worst players I've seen play for the club. Slow, with very little football ability to go with his lack of pace.
I do remember him appearing to be permanently angry. Possibly due to his constant inability to pick a pass or catch an opposition player.
09-10-2020, 08:39 AM
Remember her asking if a goal counted if the ball was in the air when it crossed the line:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
I was once watching a Scotland game in the company of a lady. She asked why one of the players (Gary Mcallister it was) had an armband on. I told her he was a first aider. If anyone got injured during the game he had to give them assistance. Oh I see she said. I told her it was worse if someone in the crowd needed help as they then had to stop the game. :greengrin
09-10-2020, 08:39 AM
McQuilken was absolutely honking. Can't say I remember particularly disliking him, but I'd have him up there as one of the worst players I've seen play for the club. Slow, with very little football ability to go with his lack of pace.
I do remember him appearing to be permanently angry. Possibly due to his constant inability to pick a pass or catch an opposition player.
Might just have simply been cos he was honking.
09-10-2020, 08:40 AM
Florian Kamberi.
Got to be a potential winner if there is a category for the player who slid the most in the popularity stakes during his time at Hibs - from high up the list early doors to beyond rock bottom in the end.
09-10-2020, 08:41 AM
Can't remember disliking too many whilst at the club.
Often get irked at ones who slag the club off after they've left.
I’m the same and while I don’t like this thread of negativity Kamberi is the only player who still been with us that I’ve detested.
09-10-2020, 08:45 AM
Gary Caldwell, even before the obvious I never liked him, I felt that he never took responsibility and it always seemed to be someone else's fault when he ****ed up one of his 3,274 yard diagonal passes or hailing a taxi when trying to claim an offside, the way it ended just added to it all for me
I know he went on to have a pretty sterling career but I just never liked or rated the guy in the slightest
fiolex1
09-10-2020, 09:04 AM
Matt Doherty
Auckland Hibs
09-10-2020, 09:28 AM
Hartley the little rat faced prick.
09-10-2020, 09:30 AM
Andy Goram.
I can't say that I disliked Wilkins as a person although he did deliver the single worst performance I've ever seen by anyone in a Hibs jersey, and I am including fat granddads on Portobello beach. (Killie at ER when he was subbed off at half-time to avoid further embarrassment).
Hartley flattered to deceive as a Hibs player and went on to be really good at Hearts. But he was a cheating, whingeing wee ratbag. Two incidents I remember in particular: fouling a Hibs player in the box and being awarded a penalty for it; moaning to the press about how a Hibs player should have been sent off for tripping him when all the telly footage showed that he tripped over his own feet with no Hibby near him, something he never retracted or apologised for as far as I am aware.
Andy Walker is just terrible at his job.
09-10-2020, 09:34 AM
Gary Caldwell, Liam Craig.
I also had an irrational dislike of John Rankin.
09-10-2020, 09:35 AM
:faf::faf:
09-10-2020, 09:38 AM
I was once watching a Scotland game in the company of a lady. She asked why one of the players (Gary Mcallister it was) had an armband on. I told her he was a first aider. If anyone got injured during the game he had to give them assistance. Oh I see she said. I told her it was worse if someone in the crowd needed help as they then had to stop the game. :greengrin
Superb :greengrin
09-10-2020, 09:38 AM
Scott brown definitely up there.
09-10-2020, 09:50 AM
Thierry Gathuessi and Simon Brown for me
09-10-2020, 09:56 AM
Ian Murray, never should have been awarded a testimonial.
09-10-2020, 09:57 AM
He annoys me when we play Celtic but other than that I like him, especially when I watch old videos of him when he was at Hibs.
I think a lot of Hibs fans might take to him once he finishes with Celtic. He still likes Hibs a lot.
09-10-2020, 09:58 AM
Butch Wilkins
+1
09-10-2020, 10:01 AM
Ryan McGivern.
Me too
09-10-2020, 10:01 AM
https://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44090000/jpg/_44090007_zibimalkowski203.jpg
Didier Agathe
Gary Caldwell
Rowan Vine
09-10-2020, 10:05 AM
Andy Goram for me. Not because he joined the Hun but because of the way he bought into the worst of the Hun staunchness. Became a true blue, dyed in the wool, UVF supporting bigot. Sad to see a player who was fabulous for Hibs turn into a **** bag of the highest order
09-10-2020, 10:07 AM
He annoys me when we play Celtic but other than that I like him, especially when I watch old videos of him when he was at Hibs.
I think a lot of Hibs fans might take to him once he finishes with Celtic. He still likes Hibs a lot.
Any respect I had left went when he tried to injure Slivka who was giving him the run around in our 2-0 win. He's a bellend imo.
McSwanky
09-10-2020, 10:09 AM
Both have many mentions on here already, but Wilkins and Hartley are top of my list.
09-10-2020, 10:15 AM
Any respect I had left went when he tried to injure Slivka who was giving him the run around in our 2-0 win. He's a bellend imo.
I get that MWH. He might not change your mind so easily then:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
09-10-2020, 10:26 AM
If it was a pure bellend competition then Stokes would have to get an honourable mention whilst also being near the top in the popularity stakes. A very popular bellend.
09-10-2020, 10:27 AM
One for the oldies but the one player I could never take to even although he scored loads of goals for us and I suppose it was because of what went before player wise but ....Tony Higgins
Big, awkward, gangly, hulk like, legs like tree trunks.
He was deceptive he was slower than he looked
Irrational I know but there you go
I know he is a big mad hibby goes to all the games and would be pleased to be on the SFA Committee to hand over the Scottish Cup on that day of day’s especially after having been a member of the failed 1979 Cup Final squad
Not a hatred as such he is a likeable big fellah I just never fancied him as a player :wink:
09-10-2020, 10:34 AM
If it was a pure bellend competition then Stokes would have to get an honourable mention whilst also being near the top in the popularity stakes. A very popular bellend.
Undoubtedly. He is a bellend also.
09-10-2020, 10:35 AM
I get that MWH. He might not change your mind so easily then:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
If he came back here in some capacity I'm sure I would grow to like him again. Currently, he is a bellend Celtic captain who tries to injure players :greengrin
09-10-2020, 10:36 AM
This is why I love him so much. Idiot and legend in one irresistible package. Yes, I’d sleep more easily if my daughter was dating Lewis Stevenson, but I know who I would rather bar hop with.
One for the oldies but the one player I could never take to even although he scored loads of goals for us and I suppose it was because of what went before player wise but ....Tony Higgins
I know he is a big mad hibby goes to all the games and would be pleased to be on the SFA Committee to hand over the Scottish Cup on that day of day’s especially after having been a member of the failed 1979 Cup Final squad
Not a hatred as such he is a likeable big fellah I just never fancied him as a player :wink:He managed to be shorter when he jumped.
Groathillgrump
09-10-2020, 10:47 AM
You beat me to it! He was a horrific player for us.
I remember going through to Parkhead just before Christmas and we got skelped 5-0. McQuilken had an absolute nightmare that day and I wondered how he ever became a professional footballer. What Hibs saw in him is a mystery to me and thankfully he only appeared 10 times for us before he was punted to Falkirk.
09-10-2020, 10:50 AM
He managed to be shorter when he jumped.
Stood 6’ 3”
Jumped 5’ 10”
You could slip a Sunday Post under him :greengrin
Stood 6’ 3”
Jumped 5’ 10”
You could slip a Sunday Post under him :greengrin
Haha
He was a (sort of) lovable character but looked out of place when put next the elegance of the Tornadoes. Would have been a hero if had scored one of his chances at Elland Road.
Remember the cracker he scored against the stickies from G Best assist?
Not a hate figure in any way but I get where your coming from given the team he was brought into.
09-10-2020, 11:05 AM
Haha
He was a (sort of) lovable character but looked out of place when put next the elegance of the Tornadoes. Would have been a hero if had scored one of his chances at Elland Road.
Remember the cracker he scored against the stickies from G Best assist?
Not a hate figure in any way but I get where your coming from given the team he was brought into.
Funnily enough the Elland Road miss was the first to spring to mind
As you say we were spoiled by the quality of player we were used to seeing
Now, what about Ally Scott?
My brothers all time favourite hibs player ( seriously)
09-10-2020, 11:06 AM
I never took to Caldwell.
He always had that pompous air about him that he was better than us and then I just didn't ever see a player in him that merited it.
Had a cracking career, earned a fortune and I'll never manage to work out how he managed it, given there's probably at least 20 Hibs CH's I've seen in my near 30 years watching the club that I'd take over him.
In general, whilst I get frustrated with the current incumbents as much as the next person, I don't really like to beat down on anyone who has managed to achieve what so many of us would have given our right arm to be able to do - just to play for Hibs. I guess anyone who has ever disrespected that privilege would be near the top of my list, and the players who manage to make hundreds of appearances will always hold a special place in my affections.
09-10-2020, 11:08 AM
I didn’t mind him but someone who seemed to get a lot of hate from the crowd was Jarko Rhyming Slang Wiss.
09-10-2020, 11:11 AM
I didn’t mind him but someone who seemed to get a lot of hate from the crowd was Jarko Rhyming Slang Wiss.
I never minded him either. His isn't a name that has aged well and he's one of those who is remembered as being worse than he actually was.
In fairness, not long after he left we did end up with a few top midfielders who showed him up a bit for not being all that great, relatively speaking.
Funnily enough the Elland Road miss was the first to spring to mind
As you say we were spoiled by the quality of player we were used to seeing
Now, what about Ally Scott?
My brothers all time favourite hibs player ( seriously)Shame for your brother, does he get an allowance for his guide dog?
09-10-2020, 11:16 AM
Pa Kujabi
No real reason just thought he was poor and very strongly linked to that game.
I think he gets a lot of the blame for that game unfairly because what he did to the hearts player was barely a foul for a start, and it was miles outside the box. He ends up sent off and they go 3-1 with a penalty that on every replay should be a free kick.
I think he gets a lot of the blame for that game unfairly because what he did to the hearts player was barely a foul for a start, and it was miles outside the box. He ends up sent off and they go 3-1 with a penalty that on every replay should be a free kick.First booking was a disgrace as well.
09-10-2020, 11:22 AM
Shame for your brother, does he get an allowance for his guide dog?
He stopped going to games in protest when Ally Scott was moved on
He now only attends Cup Finals via hospitality as he does not qualify for a ticket thru our database :greengrin
09-10-2020, 11:23 AM
Vaz Te never really tried while with us. He might have scored a derby goal but he didn't want to be here and it showed imo.
pollution
09-10-2020, 11:26 AM
Andy Goram.
Which one ?
09-10-2020, 11:27 AM
Didier Agathe
Gary Caldwell
Rowan Vine
Rowan Vine is a good shout. Was very poor on the park and always came across as a total **** to me
GreenPJ
09-10-2020, 11:28 AM
Tom Soares, Jarko Wiss, Josh Vela (nothing against the last two personally just were never ever up to the job). Soares was a premadonna but with nothing to back it up - a complete wage thief.
09-10-2020, 11:36 AM
If we're talking about performances it's unfair to mention Goram. At least he was a good keeper, we've had a few who should only have been allowed to wear gloves when doing the dishes.
09-10-2020, 11:39 AM
In the not hate brigade but Martin Scott/Daryl Duffy are getting close.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
09-10-2020, 11:50 AM
Tom Soares, Jarko Wiss, Josh Vela (nothing against the last two personally just were never ever up to the job). Soares was a premadonna but with nothing to back it up - a complete wage thief.
Soares played 13 games, scored 2 very good goals and had a cracking assist in the cup quarter final I think it was. He had a bit of class but hadn't been playing much before he arrived.
We don't half take some unfairly aggressive views towards some players.
09-10-2020, 11:53 AM
Soares played 13 games, scored 2 very good goals and had a cracking assist in the cup quarter final I think it was. He had a bit of class but hadn't been playing much before he arrived.
We don't half take some unfairly aggressive views towards some players.
Tom Soares was a very good player
Maybes a question mark over his attitude/focus when he was here ?
zitelli62
09-10-2020, 11:55 AM
Andy Watson took the huff because he took a bit of stick.
09-10-2020, 12:01 PM
Tom Soares was a very good player
Maybes a question mark over his attitude/focus when he was here ?
I certainly took the thread as being about irrational dislike, not lack of ability. If you’re perceived to have disrespected the support or shown a lack of effort or desire on the pitch, that’s going to count against you far more than anything else. Kamberi scored some important goals and had some immense performances for us, but in the final analysis he’s a total dick.
09-10-2020, 12:02 PM
Owain Tudur-Jones. He was more concerned about how he played on the golf course than he was about how he played on the pitch while he was here. Lazy, couldn't run and was absolutely hopeless.
Rowan Vine. He just didn't give a ****, pure & simple. And he looked like a jakey pished on cheap cider 100% of the time.
rodhibs55
09-10-2020, 12:03 PM
Roland Vine
Alan O'Brien
Matt Docherty, Tom Soares and all the loanees in that cup final who appeared to not give a flying one.
09-10-2020, 12:06 PM
I certainly took the thread as being about irrational dislike, not lack of ability. If you’re perceived to have disrespected the support or shown a lack of effort or desire on the pitch, that’s going to count against you far more than anything else. Kamberi scored some important goals and had some immense performances for us, but in the final analysis he’s a total dick.
So what did Soares do or say apart from being gash in the final we don’t talk about ?
Not a hatred as such he is a likeable big fellah I just never fancied him as a player :wink:
I beamed with pride while I watched him and Alex Cropley dominate the English "runaway leaders" at Elland Road, especially when at work next day my then boss and workmates were raving about Hibs, having watched the highlights in their Cheshire homes.
Colin Stein was mine and Hibs fans of the day original anti-christ of the football world.
09-10-2020, 12:15 PM
Which one ?
The one in the middle 😀
09-10-2020, 12:27 PM
So what did Soares do or say apart from being gash in the final we don’t talk about ?
i have no idea, ask the poster who doesn’t like him.
09-10-2020, 12:29 PM
i have no idea, ask the poster who doesn’t like him.
Wage Thief I believe :greengrin
hhibs
09-10-2020, 12:41 PM
Kind of know what you mean.
However not as bad as when every time I heard John Hazell was in the Hibs line up, my hope for a victory evaporated as my heart sank like a stone.
09-10-2020, 12:46 PM
Kind of know what you mean.
However not as bad as when every time I heard John Hazell was in the Hibs line up, my hope for a victory evaporated as my heart sank like a stone.
Scored a diving header at ‘Tiny’ back in 1971 in the Scottish Cup IIRC
ET seemed to like him but you are correct there were better options Wee Jimmy being the obvious one :greengrin
Wakeyhibee
09-10-2020, 12:48 PM
Never hated or disliked him personally and he was a minor cult hero but for frustration levels, it has to be Joe Tortolano.
May have been Millers tactics of the time too but the number of useless hoofs up the park was mind blowing.
London Hibs FC
09-10-2020, 12:49 PM
David Fellinger. How he managed to six years at ER is beyond me?!?!?
Radge70
09-10-2020, 01:08 PM
Owain Tudur-Jones. He was more concerned about how he played on the golf course than he was about how he played on the pitch while he was here. Lazy, couldn't run and was absolutely hopeless.
It was Wales, Golf, Hibs in that order for him
09-10-2020, 01:13 PM
David Fellinger. How he managed to six years at ER is beyond me?!?!?
One good match v Celtic at ER. Archie and Evans scored in a 3-1 win.
Bradford
09-10-2020, 01:14 PM
Colin Stein was my and Hibs fans of the day original anti-christ of the football world.
It was a terrible day when Colin Stein left us for the Huns in 1968. I remember it well. I am old enough to remember Joe Baker leaving for Italy and many other fine Hibs players to English clubs over the years. If I recall correctly Hibs had agreed to sell Stein to Everton but he held out for Ibrox.
What made matters worse was being at Ibrox a few days later watching him score a hat trick in a 6-1 defeat.
The only consolation was the arrival of Joe McBride to replace Stein. He was a fine player who scored many goals for us.
Seen someone mention John Rankin, had him in the taxi, genuinely really nice bloke, as was Goram when he was here but a heavy gambler, used to play snooker with him at Queen Charlotte st.
BH Hibs
09-10-2020, 01:40 PM
Brian ****ing Hamilton
GreenPJ
09-10-2020, 02:03 PM
You hit the nail in the head. He did very little. When you have talent but decide not to apply it along with hard work that for me is far worse than someone who just isn't very good.
09-10-2020, 02:15 PM
You hit the nail in the head. He did very little. When you have talent but decide not to apply it along with hard work that for me is far worse than someone who just isn't very good.
See #86
Turkish Green
09-10-2020, 02:19 PM
1. He played for the sh*te (2x)
2. He supported the sh*te
3. He's always talking about the sh*te.
Of all the players that have played for both clubs, he is the sc**miest.
09-10-2020, 02:23 PM
Obviously I can't speak for the OP, but I attended a sponsors evening just before that cup final, and I took along my 2001 hibs strip. The classic, 6-2 strip. I wanted to get it signed by the players in the hope that they were 'the chosen ones' that would finally deliver the holy grail. Anyway, when I presented it to TS, he made a comment to Roy O'Donovan about how bad a strip it was. It left a sour taste in my mouth. Made me realise he didn't really know hibs, and he didn't really care about the fans, taking the mick while I was standing right there.
09-10-2020, 02:27 PM
Obviously I can't speak for the OP, but I attended a sponsors evening just before that cup final, and I took along my 2001 hibs strip. The classic, 6-2 strip. I wanted to get it signed by the players in the hope that they were 'the chosen ones' that would finally deliver the holy grail. Anyway, when I presented it to TS, he made a comment to Roy O'Donovan about how bad a strip it was. It left a sour taste in my mouth. Made me realise he didn't really know hibs, and he didn't really care about the fans, taking the mick while I was standing right there.
Not good
Obviously I can't speak for the OP, but I attended a sponsors evening just before that cup final, and I took along my 2001 hibs strip. The classic, 6-2 strip. I wanted to get it signed by the players in the hope that they were 'the chosen ones' that would finally deliver the holy grail. Anyway, when I presented it to TS, he made a comment to Roy O'Donovan about how bad a strip it was. It left a sour taste in my mouth. Made me realise he didn't really know hibs, and he didn't really care about the fans, taking the mick while I was standing right there.Makes me think of the Billy Connolly quip, "There's too much killing in the world and not enough punching on the nose."
09-10-2020, 02:31 PM
Out of interest how did Roy react? Always quite liked him
09-10-2020, 02:34 PM
Out of interest how did Roy react? Always quite liked him
He laughed but didn't really say anything.
Those two and one other who I can't remember now sat together in the corner, like they didn't really want to be there.
Scored a diving header at ‘Tiny’ back in 1971 in the Scottish Cup IIRC
ET seemed to like him but you are correct there were better options Wee Jimmy being the obvious one :greengrin
John Hazel had what was probably his best game playing the number nine in the 1972 2-0 semi replay win against Rangers, he was brilliant that night.
It was a terrible day when Colin Stein left us for the Huns in 1968. I remember it well. I am old enough to remember Joe Baker leaving for Italy and many other fine Hibs players to English clubs over the years. If I recall correctly Hibs had agreed to sell Stein to Everton but he held out for Ibrox.
What made matters worse was being at Ibrox a few days later watching him score a hat trick in a 6-1 defeat.
The only consolation was the arrival of Joe McBride to replace Stein. He was a fine player who scored many goals for us.
Yeah, he was going to Everton for 90K, he wanted rangers, they came in with 100K, three months after the hat trick he was scoring the only goal to put us out the Scottish cup.
One of the biggest joys as a Hibs fan of that era was in 1972 when Hibs beat them in three Semi finals and Onion taking the mick out of Stein with the ball at his feet when Stein went out to try and challenge him out on Hibs right and Stein went sliding past almost hitting the dugout in Hibs 3-0 Drybrough cup win.
09-10-2020, 03:00 PM
John Hazel had what was probably his best game playing the number nine in the 1972 2-0 semi replay win against Rangers, he was brilliant that night.
09-10-2020, 03:27 PM
I grew up idolising Darren Jackson and was a bit annoyed he left for Celtic but wouldn't say I hate him.
1. He played for the sh*te (2x)
2. He supported the sh*te
3. He's always talking about the sh*te.
Of all the players that have played for both clubs, he is the sc**miest.
OK I understand you don't like him but to say he is a hearts supporter is not true. Yes he talks about them but not in a positive way
09-10-2020, 03:39 PM
Docherty. Purely for twitter feed the day after that game.
Orchard_Hibs
09-10-2020, 03:47 PM
Garry Caldwell, I remember him doing an interview saying when he was at hibs he would have a drink on a Saturday night or during the week but once he moved to Celtic you would never think of doing anything like that. Cretin.
Paul Hartley, Tom soars
09-10-2020, 04:08 PM
One good match v Celtic at ER. Archie and Evans scored in a 3-1 win.
Fellinger didn't play in that game.
i didn't hate him but he was definitely one of the worst players I've seen at any level. pretty sure he was playing junior a couple of years after he left.
Goram is my most hated. Watched him being interviewed recently and apart from anything he's just an absolute liar.
09-10-2020, 04:17 PM
If it was based on ability (or lack thereof), Stuart Turnbull would win hands down.
However, I tend not to dislike people for being a crap footballer.
I'm not very keen on Paul Kane. I met him when he was a young player at ER and he was a total dick. Given the crap he's spouted about Hibs over the past few years, it doesn't look like he's improved much.
Hard hat on!
Topographic Hibby
09-10-2020, 04:50 PM
Brian ****ing HamiltonWhat was about Hamilton? I used to quite like him. Did he not rattle the post from a free kick in the League Cup final against Dunfermline? Could have scored the winner in a final for Hibs.
Anyway, I could never get how Benny Brazil stayed as long as he did. Just sayin' :rolleyes:
Sheffhibee
09-10-2020, 05:04 PM
Never liked Andy Walker at our club and can't stand listening to him as a pundit. Recent times ratboy Kamberi topping the charts
18Craig75
09-10-2020, 05:27 PM
This is a strangely cathartic thread!
I’ll throw Admiral Nelson in to the ring. A truly horrendous footballer who was instrumental in us going down. I remember in the second play off match against Hamilton he just constantly kept putting the ball in to row z.
maturehibby
09-10-2020, 05:38 PM
Derek Townsley .
As soon as he came on Hibs lost goals
Willis1875
09-10-2020, 05:52 PM
Couldn't take to Tim Clancy at all
Hibs1969
09-10-2020, 06:05 PM
There seem to be 2 different strands to this thread namely, players whose were disliked whilst they were Hibs players and players who were disliked for their antics after they left Hibs.
As far as the former goes, I’ve never forgiven Colin Stein for breaking my young heart and moving to the Huns. Very traumatic for an 8 year old. Honourable mentions too for most of the duds signed by Pat Fenlon during the Cup Final season. As for the latter, Gordon Durie did a double whammy by signing for both the Huns and Hearts after leaving us which surely grants him a place in the hall of shame.
1875Sean
09-10-2020, 06:12 PM
Any of Fenlons 8 loan signings
sorrow sorrow
09-10-2020, 06:28 PM
[QUOTE=The 90+2;6323013]Andy Goram.[/QUOTE
100% Goram
Fair enough he had a great career with the huns and plays up to the bigotry but doesn’t have a good word to say about us as a club.
Never met an ex hibs player with such a disrespect for the club
18Craig75
09-10-2020, 06:32 PM
This is a strangely cathartic thread!
I’ll throw Admiral Nelson in to the ring. A truly horrendous footballer who was instrumental in us going down. I remember in the second play off match against Hamilton he just constantly kept putting the ball in to row z.
09-10-2020, 06:41 PM
Any of Fenlons 8 loan signings
Who were pretty much all better than who they replaced.
09-10-2020, 06:42 PM
Nothing personal but I just couldn’t take to Jarkko Wiss. Don’t know what it was but I really didn’t think he was any good.
berwickhibee
09-10-2020, 07:20 PM
David fellenger
tanfield
09-10-2020, 07:30 PM
Take your pick from Wiss, Hurtado, McGivern or Kamberi
Souter96Mac
09-10-2020, 07:32 PM
Matt docherty is certainly up there for me. The sheer lack of respect he showed the club was a disgrace. I always give him abuse when hes up playing Newcastle.
EricM
09-10-2020, 07:35 PM
Andy Walker by some distance
He’s a torn faced disaster who can’t bring himself to say anything positive about us
[QUOTE=The 90+2;6323013]Andy Goram.[/QUOTE
100% Goram
Fair enough he had a great career with the huns and plays up to the bigotry but doesn’t have a good word to say about us as a club.
Never met an ex hibs player with such a disrespect for the club
He tipped up at a Hibs bash a few months after signing for the old The's. Didn't understand when he was told he wasn't really welcome.
fairafarhib
09-10-2020, 07:37 PM
[QUOTE=sorrow sorrow;6323583]
He tipped up at a Hibs bash a few months after signing for the old The's. Didn't understand when he was told he wasn't really welcome.
Ryan McGivern
09-10-2020, 07:50 PM
Why Scott Brown?
He played his final match for Hibs against Celtic at Easter Road when he had already agreed to join Celtic.
Brown scored the equalising goal before Ivan Sproule got the winner.
He was cheered by both sets of supporters.
hibbybob
09-10-2020, 07:55 PM
I don’t normally hold a grudge but almost 40 years on Mike Conroy still tops my list. Absolute non trier.
hhibs
09-10-2020, 07:59 PM
Yes I do remember that ,was stunning,,well I was stunned anyway.
Apart from that he really should never have been near the Hibs team.
Not saying he was a bad lad just very,very,poor for Hibs.
09-10-2020, 08:06 PM
What’s Jarko Wiss done to anyone? Paul Wright seemed to score more against us than he ever did for us. Stuart Lovell was a **** for Livingston every time he played us and got a job on the telly to do likewise. Goram settled in to being a card carrying Hun very quickly and Gary Caldwell was already guilty of ****ting on us once before we criminally let it happen a second time. Jarko Wiss?
I don’t normally hold a grudge but almost 40 years on Mike Conroy still tops my list. Absolute non trier.
Sorry excuse of a professional. Hung Stanton out with his complete disinterest.
09-10-2020, 08:23 PM
[QUOTE=sorrow sorrow;6323583]
Looking back after 30 years pretty poor form to tell an ex player he wasn’t welcome at a supporters bash regardless of whether he was a Hun or not
Bear in mind we had probably just knocked him out of the Skol Cup at Hampden
The Goalie would have just seen it as an excuse for another night out and a catch up
Manxhibs
09-10-2020, 08:28 PM
Matt Docherty.
Looking back after 30 years pretty poor form to tell an ex player he wasn’t welcome at a supporters bash regardless of whether he was a Hun or not
Bear in mind we had probably just knocked him out of the Skol Cup at Hampden
The Goalie would have just seen it as an excuse for another night out and a catch up
Was thinking the same as I wrote it. Saying that it was probably still a fresh wound. The white heat of these things throws up all sorts of emotions. Turned out he was a complete dick anyway. The reason he would turn up at all those watp bashes was purely for cash for his gambling habit, he never had the power of his convictions either way.
Back on topic I might be in the minority in believing Roughie was the best out the Gorams, him and Leighton. Probably saved us from being relegated in half the seasons he was here. Stanton reckoned he was worth 20-25 points a season. All three (4) were outstanding though.
09-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Big Tony, never even looked like a fitba player, although he was slightly better for us than Jim Blair a big money signing from St Mirren back in the day and apart from scoring 2 against the hun one night he was hopeless. I think we sold him back to Saints the next year for half of what we paid.
09-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Was thinking the same as I wrote it. Saying that it was probably still a fresh wound. The white heat of these things throws up all sorts of emotions. Turned out he was a complete dick anyway. The reason he would turn up at all those watp bashes was purely for cash for his gambling habit, he never had the power of his convictions either way.
Back on topic I might be in the minority in believing Roughie was the best out the Gorams, him and Leighton. Probably saved us from being relegated in half the seasons he was here. Stanton reckoned he was worth 20-25 points a season. All three (4) were outstanding though.
I went to a few Charity Events at ER in the company of The Goalie and it invariably ended up back at the Dean Hotel to the wee sma oors Little was said about his Hun allegiance he was just recognised for what he was The Goalie
Anyway, aye Roughie was good probably kept Pat Stanton in a job and he would be the first to admit that.
We were good for Jim Leighton and he was good for us
My all time favourite was Andy Goram totally focused not the tallest but always had all his angles covered unbeatable
HIBS defences were comfortable playing in front of Roughie Leighton and Goram
I do not think there have been many keepers in the last 20 years you can say that about
supersauzee
09-10-2020, 08:50 PM
Filipe Morais. Guy was an utter w**k stain
vercol36
09-10-2020, 09:06 PM
What am I missing with McGivern? He was p*sh, but I quite liked the guy. Did he take a dump on us when he left?
Fergos
09-10-2020, 09:21 PM
Number 1 for me now confirmed. Was on my list but this sorry tale nails it for the bammer.
supermcginn
09-10-2020, 09:34 PM
Tudor jones and nelson dead heat.
09-10-2020, 09:49 PM
What am I missing with McGivern? He was p*sh, but I quite liked the guy. Did he take a dump on us when he left?
He was instrumental in the second leg play off.
I think it was even more annoying because a) he had a reasonably good loan spell with us before signing permanently and b) he was keeping Lewis Stevenson out of the left back slot.
09-10-2020, 09:50 PM
Tudor jones and nelson dead heat.
Nelson was no Bobby Moore but most disliked? Always tried his best as far as I saw......
Probably my least favourite thread.
09-10-2020, 09:56 PM
What was about Hamilton? I used to quite like him. Did he not rattle the post from a free kick in the League Cup final against Dunfermline? Could have scored the winner in a final for Hibs.
Anyway, I could never get how Benny Brazil stayed as long as he did. Just sayin' :rolleyes:
Benny must've had an album of incriminating photos
09-10-2020, 09:56 PM
Yep agree.
09-10-2020, 09:58 PM
Why Scott Brown?
He played his final match for Hibs against Celtic at Easter Road when he had already agreed to join Celtic.
Hibs had just banked £4.5m and Scott put some of his own cash back into the development team. He left on good terms no question about it.
09-10-2020, 10:01 PM
To answer the question, Simon Brown. We had some poor keepers then but he just looked like he didn’t give a ****. Ever.
If any Hibs player is proven to bet against us in a match they played in though, they go to the top of the list.
09-10-2020, 10:03 PM
Nelson was no Bobby Moore but most disliked? Always tried his best as far as I saw......
Played at Ross County with a dislocated shoulder and even scored a goal in a 2-0 win
A bit one paced with us but put that more down to age
Never let us down imho
granty6_2
09-10-2020, 11:23 PM
Lee Power or Paul Tosh - never boo’ed a Hibs player, but came close with those two!
ErinGoBraghHFC
10-10-2020, 02:29 PM
Goram. Not just a raving bigot but a total waster to boot. Guy had a brilliant career and should be set for life considering the money he must've been on at rangers at that time (or at least just doing wee punditry jobs on the side a la McCoist), instead he's banned from doing hospitality gigs at Ibrox cos he makes an arse of himself after a few drinks. Also **** Kamberi.
10-10-2020, 02:31 PM
Townsley was class at times for us by the way. Scored in derbies and a couple of class free kicks:
10-10-2020, 02:33 PM
10-10-2020, 02:45 PM
Why Scott Brown?
Yeah. But that was 13 years ago. He's been a smelly Celtic prick far longer than he was here.
MagicSwirlingShip
10-10-2020, 02:47 PM
Townsley was class at times for us by the way. Scored in derbies and a couple of class free kicks:
Townsley was class and Hallbergs not good enough.
Enough of this 😂😂😂
Slateford Hibee
10-10-2020, 03:02 PM
Goram is up there, fantastic keeper and the total opposite as a human. Keith Houchen is another, after the Starks Park incident. But Andy Walker is definitely the worst of our former playets, seems very bitter about us and was only here to top up his pension.
10-10-2020, 03:06 PM
Townsley was class and Hallbergs not good enough.
Enough of this 😂😂😂
Townsley done much more in a Hibs top as a utility full back/midfielder than MH will ever do.
10-10-2020, 03:16 PM
Goram is up there, fantastic keeper and the total opposite as a human. Keith Houchen is another, after the Starks Park incident. But Andy Walker is definitely the worst of our former playets, seems very bitter about us and was only here to top up his pension.
Agree!
Just aboot spat ma cornflakes oot when he called us a Provincial Club!
davy67 +
10-10-2020, 04:34 PM
Paul Hartley or Brian Hamilton
MagicSwirlingShip
10-10-2020, 04:41 PM
Townsley done much more in a Hibs top as a utility full back/midfielder than MH will ever do.
I disagree.
We’ll see Melker Hallberg in a Scottish Cup semi final squad at the end of the month.
Happy to compare their Hibs CV’s when Hallberg moves on.
10-10-2020, 04:59 PM
Brian Hamilton as a kid in more recent times most goalkeepers until recently especially Simon brown
zitelli62
10-10-2020, 05:21 PM
Colin Murdoch worst player I've ever seen.
10-10-2020, 05:25 PM
I’ve been mulling this one over. Going with Ray Wilkins.
10-10-2020, 05:31 PM
I disagree.
We’ll see Melker Hallberg in a Scottish Cup semi final squad at the end of the month.
Happy to compare their Hibs CV’s when Hallberg moves on.
Let’s hope he’s got as good a CV at Hibs as Dagnall then 👍
10-10-2020, 05:32 PM
Yeah. But that was 13 years ago. He's been a smelly Celtic prick far longer than he was here.
I can only think you are too young to remember him at Hibs properly.
His on field persona is just that - a persona. He uses it to wind up opponents because it works.
Tom Hart RIP
10-10-2020, 05:39 PM
Played at Ross County with a dislocated shoulder and even scored a goal in a 2-0 win
A bit one paced with us but put that more down to age
Never let us down imho
👍👍👍
10-10-2020, 05:41 PM
😂😂😂🙈🙈🙈
Hakim Sar
10-10-2020, 05:42 PM
Hakim Sar
10-10-2020, 05:42 PM
His on field persona is just that - a persona. He uses it to wind up opponents because it works.
I'm not. I was going to games a good few years before Brown even debuted for us.
I just do not like him. Putting in dreadful tackles isn't a persona. Its tosser behaviour.
I really don't think its unreasonable to dislike the Celtic captain.
10-10-2020, 05:50 PM
Brown was brilliant for Hibs. Won a cup and made us a lot of money as well.
It can be infuriating watching him get away with murder when you watch him play against us for Celtic. But there aren’t many players who’ve won medals playing for Hibs. So those that have couldn’t be any further away from being my most hated former Hibs player.
10-10-2020, 06:50 PM
Fellinger didn't play in that game.
i didn't hate him but he was definitely one of the worst players I've seen at any level. pretty sure he was playing junior a couple of years after he left.
Goram is my most hated. Watched him being interviewed recently and apart from anything he's just an absolute liar.
My apologies. It must have been another game in the same season. I'm amazed I remembered it at all!
10-10-2020, 08:27 PM
I'm not. I was going to games a good few years before Brown even debuted for us.
I just do not like him. Putting in dreadful tackles isn't a persona. Its tosser behaviour.
I really don't think its unreasonable to dislike the Celtic captain.
Ah yes, I remember you questioning his bottle for not going down south, even though a reasonable person would concede that he had very good personal reasons for staying in Scotland.
Some Hibs fans take a weird dislike to our most successful managers too, so you are not alone in that.
I do find it very strange though. Scott Brown won a cup with us and earned the club a lot of money. He also clearly still has a soft spot for us.
I’ll not hear a word said against him.
10-10-2020, 08:31 PM
Ah yes, I remember you questioning his bottle for not going down south, even though a reasonable person would concede that he had very good personal reasons for staying in Scotland.
Some Hibs fans take a weird dislike to our most successful managers too, so you are not alone in that.
I do find it very strange though. Scott Brown won a cup with us and earned the club a lot of money. He also clearly still has a soft spot for us.
Thats fine. I'm not really interested what you'll hear. The thread asked a question. I gave my answer.
Argylehibby
10-10-2020, 08:41 PM
Jimmy Bocco. Irrational I know but I still blame him for our relegation when Duffy was manager. Through on goal when we were 3-1 up against Rangers at ER and he bottled taking the shot. Before you know it they have scored and are back in the game. Pretty sure he played someone onside for one of their goals that followed as well and they go on to win. We went downhill and down a division from there.
10-10-2020, 08:48 PM
Jase for a few minutes after that penalty at Hampden. Quickly got back in the good books though :wink:
10-10-2020, 09:33 PM
Jimmy Bocco. Irrational I know but I still blame him for our relegation when Duffy was manager. Through on goal when we were 3-1 up against Rangers at ER and he bottled taking the shot. Before you know it they have scored and are back in the game. Pretty sure he played someone onside for one of their goals that followed as well and they go on to win. We went downhill and down a division from there.
That game sticks in the craw, I remember the whole crowd willing Jimmy to shoot
Jorge Albertz done us. That Rangers team was dripping with quality but we really were on top .
That Boco moment was pivotal and the turning point.
11-10-2020, 06:18 AM
Thats fine. I'm not really interested what you'll hear. The thread asked a question. I gave my answer.
You’re always sooo abrasive. Really no need.
11-10-2020, 06:23 AM
Hakim Sar
Love it!
hibbydog
11-10-2020, 06:25 AM
Matt Doherty 100%
Lots of terrible former players to mention but nobody disrespected the club and fans in such an arrogant way as this little rat
11-10-2020, 06:37 AM
When people say "I won't hear a word against him" it's not meant literally. It's a figure of speech. You love to be confrontational for some reason.
skyhibs
11-10-2020, 06:48 AM
Colin nish, always on his arse or off side... you can add drey Wright to that also... he is poor... oh and I nearly forgot and probably the worst was makkalumpby
11-10-2020, 07:26 AM
Colin nish, always on his arse or off side... you can add drey Wright to that also... he is poor... oh and I nearly forgot and probably the worst was makkalumpby
Precisely the reason this thread is a car crash - a good Hibby in Nish and a current player who had a bad game whilst playing through an injury and has barely unpacked his bags here.
Tragic negativity.
11-10-2020, 07:41 AM
Not quite hate, as that’s kept for the likes of Doherty et al, but I can’t take to Bartley at all now. Rarely has a good word to say about hibs, and sounds absolutely awful with all his ‘coaching’ jargon when on Sportscene and social media.
11-10-2020, 07:43 AM
Precisely the reason this thread is a car crash - a good Hibby in Nish and a current player who had a bad game whilst playing through an injury and has barely unpacked his bags here.
Tragic negativity.
Yep...”let’s take the worst of .net and put it in one thread”
11-10-2020, 07:43 AM
Tragic negativity.
Yep torture.
skyhibs
11-10-2020, 07:55 AM
Tragic negativity.
Your right Nish was a good hibby just like me but that doesn’t make me a good football player, it didn’t for him either.... and let’s hope Wright doesn’t unpack his bags and just moved on, he brings nothing to my team.... that’s my opinion only but as a previous poster said, the question was asked.... bye the way you don’t really need to answer
11-10-2020, 07:58 AM
Your right Nish was a good hibby just like me but that doesn’t make me a good football player, it didn’t for him either.... and let’s hope Wright doesn’t unpack his bags and just moved on, he brings nothing to my team.... that’s my opinion only but as a previous poster said, the question was asked.... bye the way you don’t really need to answer
And you don’t need to post your opinion if you don’t like being corrected. An opinion is worthless when not based on some semblance of reality or fact.
Such as Colin Nish is one of the top ten SPL/Scottish Premiership goalscorers of all time so he’s clearly of a decent level. Drey Wright is not a former player neither has he had time to settle in, and he’s chipped in with a lovely goal against Rangers, at the time the only goal they’d conceded all season. That’s 0/2 so far, congratulations.
There’s having an informed opinion and there’s being wrong. Guess which one you are?
11-10-2020, 08:00 AM
Colin Nish and Marvin Bartley?
I've heard it all now. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
11-10-2020, 08:37 AM
Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Joe Ward, Came from Aston Villa as a make weight in the Des Bremner deal.
11-10-2020, 08:48 AM
Well if he does, it doesn't look like it judging by his reaction when he scores against us.
11-10-2020, 09:02 AM
Well if he does, it doesn't look like it judging by his reaction when he scores against us.
He's the ultimate professional.
Hibs end at the Scottish Cup final against Hearts and Huns too. :agree:
11-10-2020, 09:06 AM
He's the ultimate professional.
Hibs end at the Scottish Cup final against Hearts and Huns too. :agree:
Beat me to it
Spotted him at both
11-10-2020, 09:09 AM
Dean Shiels, more so one so one specific aspect as think he was a decent player for us overall. He could be anonymous in a game and not contributing much. Then he’d have a 15 minute spell in the second half in front of the old East stand where he would chase everything and go at 100mph, much to the adulation of the east. I always thought that was as much about his ego as anything else and annoyed me that the fans would then remember that 15 minutes rather than the other 75.
11-10-2020, 09:34 AM
Tragic negativity.
Always liked Nish, remember him getting booed coming on as a sub once and i was gutted for him.
11-10-2020, 09:39 AM
Dean Shiels, more so one so one specific aspect as think he was a decent player for us overall. He could be anonymous in a game and not contributing much. Then he’d have a 15 minute spell in the second half in front of the old East stand where he would chase everything and go at 100mph, much to the adulation of the east. I always thought that was as much about his ego as anything else and annoyed me that the fans would then remember that 15 minutes rather than the other 75.
You honestly can't think of any former player you dislike more than Dean Shiels?
11-10-2020, 09:44 AM
Always liked Nish, remember him getting booed coming on as a sub once and i was gutted for him.
Nish could be frustrating for the reasons mentioned, but in the right team, in the right position, with the right players around him he could be a cracking player and he had some excellent games for us.
His problem was the expectation his height brought - we expected him to be able to do much more with balls lumped up to him, whereas he was miles better when we were playing it to feet with players buzzing around him.
He did have one of the worst afternoons I’ve ever seen a Hibs player have when he was up front on his tod on that freezing day with the Maltese ref (when he was our only fit striker) but he has absolutely no business being mentioned here.
11-10-2020, 09:45 AM
Danny Swanson. Could never take to him. Think he got an easy ride on here because of the team he supported. Claiming to be a Hearts fan was just plain odd for a supposed Hibs fan.
The Count
11-10-2020, 09:48 AM
Butch Wilkins for clapping the Huns as he was substituted at Easter Road.I was pissed off but i thought the guy infront of me was going launch himself off the upper tier or have a heart attack.
11-10-2020, 09:51 AM
Nish could be frustrating for the reasons mentioned, but in the right team, in the right position, with the right players around him he could be a cracking player and he had some excellent games for us.
His problem was the expectation his height brought - we expected him to be able to do much more with balls lumped up to him, whereas he was miles better when we were playing it to feet with players buzzing around him.
He did have one of the worst afternoons I’ve ever seen a Hibs player have when he was up front on his tod on that freezing day with the Maltese ref (when he was our only fit striker) but he has absolutely no business being mentioned here.
His best period for Hibs was up top with Fletcher with Deano in the hole.
I remember he played amazing against Motherwell one night running off Fletcher's layoffs.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/hibs-defeat-dents-motherwells-euro-983895
Some football this too:
https://www.bing.com/videos/search?view=detail&mid=4163AF811A6E265C49D24163AF811A6E265C49D2&shtp=GetUrl&shid=4d50384f-a8c6-4578-8612-af378a48f490&shtk=SElCRVJOSUFOIDItMCBDRUxUSUMgQlVUIE5JU0g%3D&shdk=U1BMIC0gSGliZXJuaWFuIHYgQ2VsdGljIFNjb3R0aXNoI FByZW1pZXIgTGVhZ3VlIFNlYXNvbiAyMDA4LzA5IDd0aCBEZWN lbWJlciAyMDA4IEhpYmVybmlhbiBbMiAtIDBdIENlbHRpYyBGQ yBHb2FscyA1NScgWzEgLSAwXSBKLiBSYW5raW4gPiBIb3N0dWp lIChCb3J1YyBtaXN0YWtlKSA3MCcgWzIgLSAwXSBDLiBOaXNoI D4gSG9zdHVqZQ%3D%3D&shhk=y1vdCYl2r4rAozMuYE6Z5bFRiTcEG8Gq9u1CPpssazc%3 D&form=VDSHOT&shth=OSH.NZoh9fYmxzqTJ%252BSwhT39XA
11-10-2020, 09:57 AM
You’re always sooo abrasive. Really no need.
When people say "I won't hear a word against him" it's not meant literally. It's a figure of speech. You love to be confrontational for some reason.
I'm not being confrontational or abrasive. I've given my reasons for not liking the guy, they wont change.
Scott Brown, in my opinion, is a tosser. Others don't mind him. I'm not getting at them or trying to change their mind.
There is 8 pages of posts, many giving far less reasoning than I did for disliking players. Go reply to them.
11-10-2020, 10:02 AM
Agree completely.
11-10-2020, 10:12 AM
Colin Murdoch worst player I've ever seen.
That was the one I thought of. I struggle with the idea of not looking Hibs players, kind of goes against the grain a bit, but Murdoch was honking.
11-10-2020, 10:18 AM
That was the one I thought of. I struggle with the idea of not looking Hibs players, kind of goes against the grain a bit, but Murdoch was honking.Said the British airman!
skyhibs
11-10-2020, 11:40 AM
And you don’t need to post your opinion if you don’t like being corrected. An opinion is worthless when not based on some semblance of reality or fact.
Such as Colin Nish is one of the top ten SPL/Scottish Premiership goalscorers of all time so he’s clearly of a decent level. Drey Wright is not a former player neither has he had time to settle in, and he’s chipped in with a lovely goal against Rangers, at the time the only goal they’d conceded all season. That’s 0/2 so far, congratulations.
There’s having an informed opinion and there’s being wrong. Guess which one you are?
Sorry I thought it was my least fav hibs player so your right, drey Wright isn’t a former player, I wish he was and I know Nish scored a few goals but the thread was least fav player.... and you’ve guessed it, Nish is one of mine... you don’t have to reply, might save you getting corrected
11-10-2020, 11:42 AM
Sorry I thought it was my least fav hibs player so your right, drey Wright isn’t a former player, I wish he was and I know Nish scored a few goals but the thread was least fav player.... and you’ve guessed it, Nish is one of mine
Can we be entirely honest then and say that it’s a baseless opinion then?
Nish just hasn’t scored a “few” goals, in fact very few people have scored more than him in the history of the SPL/Scottish Premiership.
skyhibs
11-10-2020, 11:50 AM
Can we be entirely honest then and say that it’s a baseless opinion then?
Nish just hasn’t scored a “few” goals, in fact very few people have scored more than him in the history of the SPL/Scottish Premiership.
I don’t know what your after.... I just didn’t like him and that’s what the thread is all about.... I don’t need a reason
11-10-2020, 11:52 AM
You honestly can't think of any former player you dislike more than Dean Shiels?
I probably could, yes. I commented on an example of one aspect of a former player that really annoyed me rather than disliking the actual player. Don’t think it’s particularly irrelevant on this thread.
11-10-2020, 11:52 AM
I don’t know what your after.... I just didn’t like him and that’s what the thread is all about.... I don’t need a reason
That’s fine. You don’t like them even though you don’t have a reason to do so. At least we’ve broken down why that is - just completely irrational.
Enjoy your weekend 🙂
skyhibs
11-10-2020, 12:01 PM
That’s fine. You don’t like them even though you don’t have a reason to do so. At least we’ve broken down why that is - just completely irrational.
Enjoy your weekend 🙂
I am enjoying my weekend, hibs won even though we were mince... much better after halftime, I wonder why ... just a wee reminder, thread says least favourite former hibs player.... nowhere does it say, and give your reasons....
Have a great day
thebausburst
11-10-2020, 02:32 PM
Latest favourite former player, easy, Paul Hartley by a mile.
11-10-2020, 02:36 PM
This thread has become a bit on the daft side.......
11-10-2020, 02:50 PM
You must be new to .net if you expected anything different :greengrin
11-10-2020, 02:51 PM
He did have one of the worst afternoons I’ve ever seen a Hibs player have when he was up front on his tod on that freezing day with the Maltese ref (when he was our only fit striker) but he has absolutely no business being mentioned here.Agree with that, we've spent more money on strikers with a worse goals per £ rate than Nish.
OstKurve Hibs
11-10-2020, 02:59 PM
Hes a boyhood hibs supporter and his family are hibs supporters
11-10-2020, 04:19 PM
Hes a boyhood hibs supporter and his family are hibs supporters
Don’t think Brown was ever a ‘boyhood’ hibs fan. May be a supporter now due to playing for us but I was always under the impression he was a Rangers fan as a boy.
11-10-2020, 05:46 PM
Don’t think Brown was ever a ‘boyhood’ hibs fan. May be a supporter now due to playing for us but I was always under the impression he was a Rangers fan as a boy.
I think this is true.
11-10-2020, 05:50 PM
I agree with this , especially the bit in bold. Some of the abuse he took from fans towards the end of his time playing with us was shocking.
It was a daft thread from the start.
I'm Spartacus
11-10-2020, 09:23 PM
Really difficult for me to see anybody else once Kamberi came into my head. Pwick.
RitchieHibs
11-10-2020, 09:29 PM
Really difficult for me to see anybody else once Kamberi came into my head. Pwick.
Totally. Can't ever remember any other player being so disrespectful to their parent employer club when going out on loan to another. 100% knob end.
Ricky Bobby
11-10-2020, 09:31 PM
Tragic negativity.
As someone who has sponsored several players over the years, i can honestly say i have been really dissappointed with the attitude of some of them. None more so than Colin Nish. Sponsored him on my kids behalf and when it came to the Sponsers evening, it was very obvious from the start he would have rather been anywhere else at that time. Other than hand over a signed top, never even spoke to the kids.
That particular night Pa Kujabi was particulary great company.Regardless of ability its things like this, that stick in my mind.
HFCdeb
11-10-2020, 11:14 PM
Gary Caldwell
K-Zazu
11-10-2020, 11:28 PM
Zibby, basically gave hearts a goal head start every time we played them 2 in the 2006 semi final
12-10-2020, 05:11 AM
Never like Michael Stewart when he was with us. Bad tempered and took the huff rather than celebrate with his team after the LC final win in 2007.
This will be a controversial one but I struggle to like Stokes as a person. Absolute hero for what he did in the final and for that i'll be forever grateful to the man but he had a bad attitude and disrespected the club on many occassions with his Billy Big Baws act. Turning up late to training, breaking rules and getting pissed and mucking about on team training camps abroad, squaring up to the manager on the traiing ground etc. I'm sorry but SC hero or not that is no way to behave. A lot of the time on the park he looked like he couldn't be arsed either unless it was against the huns. As i said, absolutely so grateful to him for bringing us so much joy on that day but just feel he let himself and the club down so badly at the end and comes across as someone whos pretty arrogant and immature.
Never like Michael Stewart when he was with us. Bad tempered and took the huff rather than celebrate with his team after the LC final win in 2007.
This will be a controversial one but I struggle to like Stokes as a person. Absolute hero for what he did in the final and for that i'll be forever grateful to the man but he had a bad attitude and disrespected the club on many occassions with his Billy Big Baws act. Turning up late to training, breaking rules and getting pissed and mucking about on team training camps abroad, squaring up to the manager on the traiing ground etc. I'm sorry but SC hero or not that is no way to behave. A lot of the time on the park he looked like he couldn't be arsed either unless it was against the huns. As i said, absolutely so grateful to him for bringing us so much joy on that day but just feel he let himself and the club down so badly at the end and comes across as someone whos pretty arrogant and immature.
Agree with your second one mate... As for MS I'm ambivalent rather like/dislike him
12-10-2020, 10:13 AM
As someone who has sponsored several players over the years, i can honestly say i have been really dissappointed with the attitude of some of them. None more so than Colin Nish. Sponsored him on my kids behalf and when it came to the Sponsers evening, it was very obvious from the start he would have rather been anywhere else at that time. Other than hand over a signed top, never even spoke to the kids.
That particular night Pa Kujabi was particulary great company.Regardless of ability its things like this, that stick in my mind.
Why would Kubjabi and Nish be at the same sponsors night you sponsored Nish?
12-10-2020, 10:18 AM
Why would Kubjabi and Nish be at the same sponsors night you sponsored Nish?
Isn't it a get together with tables for each sponsor? I.e. lots if sponsors and lots of players in one place?
It's not like the player turns up at your house...
McSwanky
12-10-2020, 10:18 AM
Maybe he's just shy?
EI255
12-10-2020, 10:24 AM
One name springs to mind
ANDY WALKER
the man is a pleb.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
12-10-2020, 10:44 AM
Maybe he's just shy?
Yep, he's a quiet dude from what I know of him. Some people really don't like a room with lots of people you've never met before and indeed, some people just have an off day that if you meet them on that day then they won't get the best impression of you.
12-10-2020, 10:53 AM
Isn't it a get together with tables for each sponsor? I.e. lots if sponsors and lots of players in one place?
I think he means that Kujabi and Nish wouldn’t be at the club at the same time to be at the same sponsors night together..
12-10-2020, 11:34 AM
I get that mate but they players played for Hibs years apart. And if Nish was being sponsored and Kubjabi was there was he being sponsored for being retired?
12-10-2020, 11:34 AM
I think he means that Kujabi and Nish wouldn’t be at the club at the same time to be at the same sponsors night together..
👍