View Full Version : Scotland v Israel

Pages : 1 [2]

08-10-2020, 09:04 PM
Marciano is a good penalty saver. I have no hope.No he isn't. He will be tonight no doubt.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

08-10-2020, 09:05 PM
And Martin Boyle is better than Fraser.

well done GJP

Nope

supermcginn
08-10-2020, 09:06 PM
No as hilarious as your sorry comments on the Hallberg thread.
No yours is much more hilarious, he was the unanimous choice for the scotland job because he done absolutely brilliant at kilmarnock and has an incredible reputation as assistant to the likes of jose Mourinho, only a thicko would disagree. Although you are the guy that doesn't rate doidge so not a surprise. Hallberg isn't very good but that's for another thread.

And Martin Boyle is better than Fraser.

well done GJP

Newcastle could have saved themselves a fortune recently.

zitelli62
Rocky would have had more to do last night.

Apologising for any swearing! I imagine everyone watching has being doing more.

tonyrougier123
08-10-2020, 09:07 PM
Martin Boyle 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 if only

scottish_sleepy
08-10-2020, 09:08 PM
I think the tactics were to go for penalties forgetting we've not got 5 people who could score them 😁😁😁

08-10-2020, 09:08 PM
Marciano is a good penalty saver. I have no hope.

David Marshall has significantly better stats.

If it gets to it!!

08-10-2020, 09:11 PM
No yours is much more hilarious, he was the unanimous choice for the scotland job because he done absolutely brilliant at kilmarnock and has an incredible reputation as assistant to the likes of jose Mourinho, only a thicko would disagree. Hallberg isn't very good but that's for another thread.

He's really showing his credentials now eh? Unanimous with who, SFA?
He's always been a number 2 and very good at it, yet to see the fuss made when he got this gig, I wasn't wanting him to get the job, I think we've went backwards since he took over.

08-10-2020, 09:11 PM
McLean should have started ahead of McGregor.

Rocky is going to be the hero, hope I'm wrong.

08-10-2020, 09:12 PM
How can we be this bad when we have players who play at a high level like Robertson, McGinn, McTominay etc? It baffles me.

FFS Scotland. This is desperate stuff.

If it gets to pens are any of our players able to get one on target.

AugustaHibs
08-10-2020, 09:13 PM
How can we be this bad when we have players who play at a high level like Robertson, McGinn, McTominay etc? It baffles me.

Mcginn is the only reason player half decent

Tactics.

Robertson probably played better for Queens Park at Hampden

Hibeesforever
McLean should have started ahead of McGregor.

Rocky is going to be the hero, hope I'm wrong.

Cant say we dont have the players anymore, many playing EPL

Marciano is a good penalty saver. I have no hope.
Rather face Rocky than Ben Williams....

Benny Brazil
Dire - really poor performance - we look like we have been playing for pens

08-10-2020, 09:14 PM
Nearly120 mins at home without a shot on target against this standard of team is quite incredible.

08-10-2020, 09:15 PM
Possession

41% v 59%

Why has Fraser been playing on the right when he's played nearly all his career coming in from the left?

JoeT
Have all the pubs been emptied at 10pm😄

08-10-2020, 09:16 PM
5 mins to penalties

20 mins to pleading with wee gogs to come back

supermcginn
08-10-2020, 09:17 PM
He's really showing his credentials now eh? Unanimous with who, SFA?
He's always been a number 2 and very good at it, yet to see the fuss made when he got this gig, I wasn't wanting him to get the job, I think we've went backwards since he took over.

With everyone, nobody else was in even in the frame as soon as he said he was interested. There's nobody better that would take the job.

Omg

****** Marciano ha ha

This is quite funny! We should just give up on international football really.

off the post last touch of the game :(

08-10-2020, 09:18 PM
No shots on target in 120 minutes.

Well 1 for Israel.

08-10-2020, 09:19 PM
don't dare do it rocky...just DONT. :)

This is quite funny! We should just give up on international football really.

no shots on target.
against Israel.
in a must win game.
tom English and craig levein on my headset.

It’s Hell.

He has to go. Zero personality. Zero ambition. Zero game awareness. We’ve ended the game with only 2 players on the pitch that take pens. That takes a special kind of awareness.

08-10-2020, 09:20 PM
He has to go. Zero personality. Zero ambition. Zero game awareness. We’ve ended the game with only 2 players on the pitch that take pens. That takes a special kind of awareness.

No interaction with the players at any of the breaks.

Not confident. They have looked the better technical players all night. Just think they will be better at the pens. Fingers crossed though

No shots on target in 120 minutes.

Well 1 for Israel.

What is the point in qualifying?

08-10-2020, 09:21 PM
Dreadful watch.I totally forgot McGregor was playing he was so anonymous. Ryan Jack is honking too. McGinn best of a bad lot

08-10-2020, 09:21 PM
I thought it was impossible to get worse than McLeish or Levein but Clarke has managed to do that.

08-10-2020, 09:22 PM
SJM takes the first one and scores, just

1-0 Scotland

Israel miss

no shots on target.
against Israel.
in a must win game.
tom English and craig levein on my headset.

It’s Hell.
Satre wrote a play with that basic premise.....

08-10-2020, 09:23 PM
Marshall saves :aok:

It’s just mental. How is that ever going to create confidence. These players are already coached to death in club football. Just be there to pick the team and inspire them.

That is very poor, can an international manager lose the dressing room?

2-0

08-10-2020, 09:24 PM
2-1

08-10-2020, 09:25 PM
3-1

08-10-2020, 09:25 PM
3-2

08-10-2020, 09:26 PM
3-1

What do you think this is, a Covid-19 update? 😉

08-10-2020, 09:26 PM
4-2

08-10-2020, 09:27 PM
Satre wrote a play with that basic premise.....

Sartre claimed that Hell is Other People.
I, on the other hand contend that Hell is Craig Levein.

its now 3-1

08-10-2020, 09:27 PM
4-3

08-10-2020, 09:28 PM
Scotland win 5-3

what a team :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Yasssssss

08-10-2020, 09:29 PM
Yeeeessss

Well taken under pressure

supermcginn
Never in doubt. Well done scotland and Steve clarke.

Well that was pish. 😂

Anyone else feel guilty celebrating that?

What is the point in qualifying?

It's a terrifying thought.

Nae bother! Yaaasssssss!

Legends
We are unbeatable
Steve Clarke whay hey

Delighted for David Marshall. A cracking keeper who has been a target for the boo boys in the past.

That wasn't pretty but a win is what was needed and we got it done. Scottish football needs the national team at a major tournament.

08-10-2020, 09:30 PM
Sartre claimed that Hell is Other People.
I, on the other hand contend that Hell is Craig Levein.

its now 3-1
Tom English is right up there with Craig Levein.....

08-10-2020, 09:31 PM
Decent penalties. Rocky should have had a couple though.

Hard to get excited after that.

08-10-2020, 09:31 PM
Beat Serbia and were in the Euros . Wasn’t pretty but were in the final and that’s what matters .

08-10-2020, 09:32 PM
We're winning the Euros

Serbia will be a whoooole different challenge.

Magpie
Serbia could score 5 or more.

Northern Ireland win on pens. 4 Jambos took one - Lafferty, Boyce and Washington scored and Savile missed.

Topographic Hibby
08-10-2020, 09:34 PM
Beat Serbia and were in the Euros.Think I spot a minor flaw in your argument there....!!! :greengrin

Green Man
Delighted for David Marshall. A cracking keeper who has been a target for the boo boys in the past.

That wasn't pretty but a win is what was needed and we got it done. Scottish football needs the national team at a major tournament.

I never used to rate David Marshall but in recent years he’s shown he’s Scotland’s best keeper. A well deserved match winner.

Northern Ireland win on pens. 4 Jambos took one - Lafferty, Boyce and Washington scored and Savile missed.

Took me a minute...

08-10-2020, 09:35 PM
Matt Doherty missed the penalty for Ireland - shame.

GRA
08-10-2020, 09:35 PM
All about getting through. Remember when we were awful against Dundee Utd in the semi in 2016? All forgotten if we win the final game 😉

08-10-2020, 09:36 PM
Not in the slightest. Cmon Scotland

08-10-2020, 09:36 PM
Not confident. They have looked the better technical players all night. Just think they will be better at the pens. Fingers crossed though

😀😃 I know nothing 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴 󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
Still not convinced with the manager and the way he sets the team up but one game from the finals

08-10-2020, 09:37 PM

I feel like a twat. Big Scotland fan, even had tickets for this game BUT........when those penalties were being taken I was wanting big Ofi to save one :confused:

08-10-2020, 09:38 PM
a draw and a loss to serbia in our only two games v them

08-10-2020, 09:40 PM
What do you think this is, a Covid-19 update? 😉

Excuse me can we please keep politics off the main board? :greengrin

I feel like a twat. Big Scotland fan, even had tickets for this game BUT........when those penalties were being taken I was wanting big Ofi to save one :confused:

Know what you mean.

We were terrible. So slow and laboured. It's a farce Boyle never got called up before Oz asked him that game was crying out for someone like him.

How Mcburnie plays in the premiership I'll never know

08-10-2020, 09:41 PM
Absolute cert that Scotland will qualify and there will be no fans there to celebrate. It's the Scotland way.

08-10-2020, 09:46 PM
Surely Nisbet and Griff are a better bet for the Serbia match than Dykes Mcburnie and Patterson. Dykes and Mcburnie should be no where near first choice in a Scotland team.

08-10-2020, 09:47 PM
Surely Nisbet and Griff are a better bet for the Serbia match than Dykes Mcburnie and Patterson. Dykes and Mcburnie should be no where near first choice in a Scotland team.

Nothing wrong with Dykes. Deserves to keep his place

murray26
08-10-2020, 09:47 PM
That was a struggle but one game away now.. we’ll need to put in a much better performance in Serbia but at least we have the chance 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

08-10-2020, 09:48 PM
Nothing wrong with Dykes. Deserves to keep his place

Hope is that Griffiths is back at it in a month.

pontius pilate
08-10-2020, 09:53 PM
I'd have dykes in the scotland squad along with either shankland or KN and if LG can get fit even better,when you have a coach who is so negative and his tactics and team selection your asking for continuously under helming and under performing standards, under GS we at least tried to play football yet never had the players, now we have players playing at a high standard yet have a coach like that

Sent from my SM-A705FN using Tapatalk

08-10-2020, 09:54 PM
Milinkovic Savic vsScott Mctominay.

08-10-2020, 09:59 PM
https://twitter.com/skyfootball/status/1314318966588878849?s=21

Couldn’t happen to a nicer guy

Gordy M
08-10-2020, 10:01 PM
Just watched the goals from Norway vs Serbia, if Scotland had conceded any of them......5 pages on this thread.

08-10-2020, 10:01 PM

He was a young laddie when he was with us - there been far worse than him wore a Hibs shirt.....

08-10-2020, 10:02 PM

We've been blessed with keepers. Will be a big area to fill in the next 5/10 years.

08-10-2020, 10:08 PM

Some hibs fans really need to get over Doherty. It's getting embarrassing every time someone mentions him.

08-10-2020, 10:14 PM
We've been blessed with keepers. Will be a big area to fill in the next 5/10 years.

Yeah, Gordon, McGregor & Marshall have bossed it for a long time.
We have two years to produce a decent keeper and there are none on the horizon at the moment.

08-10-2020, 10:17 PM
Milinkovic Savic vsScott Mctominay.

I thought McTominay played well at the back tonight.
O Donnell on the other hand was bowfin'

We missed Tierney and Christie tonight and Griffiths would be a great wildcard alongside Dykes in a months time

Magpie
08-10-2020, 10:18 PM
We have two years to produce a decent keeper and there are none on the horizon at the moment.

How’s that keeper getting on who did well for Livi last season? Kelly or something.

08-10-2020, 10:19 PM

Yep Scott was much better than in last months games. Obviously a good footballer just needed to learn the position

08-10-2020, 10:21 PM
How’s that keeper getting on who did well for Livi last season? Kelly or something.

He hasn't played for Queens Park Rangers so far this season.

SJNB Hibby
It wasnt great, but after some of the heartbreak over the last 20+ years (England---who had that screamer blocked?) Italy etc etc, I'll take two scrappy wins by penalty any day of the week. But hopefully we have a stronger team for the Serbia match

Absolute cert that Scotland will qualify and there will be no fans there to celebrate. It's the Scotland way.

I was thinking even worse that we qualify and there’s no fans in the stadiums.

Also that we qualify for the World Cup in Qatar. Possibly the worst WC venue ever.

Hey, I’d that either one of them. I was 17 in 1998, I just turned 40 last month. Never seen us live at a tournament. TBH was 9 at Italia 90, 15 at Euro 96. My tournament memories pretty much have never had Scotland in them.

We missed Tierney and Christie tonight and Griffiths would be a great wildcard alongside Dykes

Agree. He was a hundred times better than he was last month.

08-10-2020, 10:24 PM

We missed Tierney and Christie tonight and Griffiths would be a great wildcard alongside Dykes in a months time

O'Donnell's brother is a Priest. Maybe we should get him I
in the squad as we'll need some divine intervention to beat Serbia.

08-10-2020, 10:32 PM
Yep Scott was much better than in last months games. Obviously a good footballer just needed to learn the position

Agree. He was a hundred times better than he was last month.

Massive improvement in his defending.
Now all he has to do is learn how to head the ball into an open net when there are no opposition players within 2 yards of him!

08-10-2020, 10:38 PM

I liked him as well but it looks like he has hit the buffers at QPR.
He is only 24 so has time on his side.
At 6ft he is a bit small for a top class modern keeper.

08-10-2020, 10:43 PM

I said I was unimpressed with Lyndon on his debut I think I was a voice of one. However I thought he did well tonight. I know this is not a great comparison but £20 million for McBurnie or £2 million for Lyndon. I would not want to pay either fee but really there is no contest.

08-10-2020, 10:45 PM

It's not the Scotland way to qualify under any circumstances!

08-10-2020, 10:47 PM
Hope is that Griffiths is back at it in a month.

While Griffiths was given a bit of a raw deal by Strachan and should have been playing long before he was getting picked. I think he’s actually been quite poor for Scotland overall and that England game masks a lot of that.

In theory he’s still one of our best strikers, and we don’t have many options. So hopefully he can get some fitness and form in time for the Serbia game.

Brummie_Hibs
08-10-2020, 10:48 PM

Wouldn't be surprised if we approached Angus Gunn again and he said yes this time.

Greenio
08-10-2020, 11:02 PM
Know what you mean.

Why's that?

I have no idea why anybody Scottish would want the Scotland team to lose

08-10-2020, 11:06 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if we approached Angus Gunn again and he said yes this time.

Yeah, that's a good call.
He has had a big slice of reality in the last 2 and a bit years.
A wee slice of humble pie and he could be the guy for a long time.

RitchieHibs
08-10-2020, 11:48 PM
It wasn't pretty but delighted to see Scotland overcome tonight. SJM seems to be a talisman wherever he plays. He's a lucky charm. Helped break our hoodoo, won a major cup with St Mirren which is as rare as a dodo sighting, near the top of the league in the Premiership in England and now playing in a winning Scottish international side. What a ducking player. Legend. Super John McGinn.

09-10-2020, 12:09 AM

More likely we’ll qualify and the tournament will be cancelled.

Denverhibby
09-10-2020, 01:52 AM
More likely we’ll qualify and the tournament will be cancelled.

Now that would be the Scotland way

09-10-2020, 04:41 AM
O'Donnell's brother is a Priest. Maybe we should get him I
in the squad as we'll need some divine intervention to beat Serbia.

He’d be far better at crossing the ball, that’s for sure.

murray26
09-10-2020, 05:12 AM
He’d be far better at crossing the ball, that’s for sure.

😂😂

09-10-2020, 05:37 AM
Where are the Euros being held? Is this the one where they're spreading it all over the continent? Pity if so as will lose that tournament feel

09-10-2020, 05:46 AM
Massive improvement in his defending.
Now all he has to do is learn how to head the ball into an open net when there are no opposition players within 2 yards of him!

Indeed :greengrin

09-10-2020, 05:51 AM

He isn't that good though is he. If Faddy thinks Scottish fans dislike McBurnie because of an English accent what are they going to make of a guy who has already chosen England over Scotland. :greengrin

09-10-2020, 05:53 AM
Thought we were in the playoff final against Serbia? Slovakia and Czech Republic up next? What's that about? Should really pay attention to international football more

09-10-2020, 06:43 AM
Thought we were in the playoff final against Serbia? Slovakia and Czech Republic up next? What's that about? Should really pay attention to international football more

Slovakia and Czechia is this seasons Nations League and also a potential back door for World Cup 2022.

Last nights game and next months game v Serbia is finishing off the Nations League from 2 years ago and a playoff for the now postponed Euro 2020 (now Euro 2021).

Nations League is basically an insurance policy for the World Cup.

Format is slightly different for the World Cup, as it offers a path to the playoffs, but not as generous a path as this current playoff route to the Euros, where either Georgia or Macedonia will be making their tournament debuts.

The Nations League will be partially linked with European qualification for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, with the format confirmed by the UEFA Executive Committee during their meeting in Nyon, Switzerland on 4 December 2019. The qualifying structure will depend on results from the Nations League, although to a lesser degree than the UEFA Euro 2020 qualifying play-offs. The ten group winners after the first round (group stage) will qualify directly for the World Cup. Then, the second round (play-offs) will be contested by the ten group runners-up, along with the best two Nations League group winners, based on the Nations League overall ranking, that finished outside the top two of their qualifying group. The play-offs will be split into three play-off paths, played in two single-match knockout rounds (semi-finals and finals, with the home teams to be drawn), from which an additional three teams will also qualify.

HibsGW
09-10-2020, 07:19 AM
When’s the game against Serbia?

09-10-2020, 07:21 AM
When’s the game against Serbia?

12th November

09-10-2020, 07:29 AM

Dykes is excellent. Tbh it would matter what strikers we play if the football is as negative as last night. We cannot continue to create teams that are going out not to lose. It’s a waste of a golden generation of talent.

09-10-2020, 07:35 AM
I was watchin Nor v Ser at same time as Scotland game. The both teams are a couple of steps up from this Scotland team. Unless we make drastic changes in line up, dump Jack and McBurnie and actually have players playing in their natural ppsitions, I'm afraid we will have no chance, right now, I would say we will lose 3-0 atleast. I 5hink we got lucky last nite, hopefully we get lucky in the final ahd change manager for the Euros.

HibsGW
09-10-2020, 07:43 AM
12th November

Thanks. Really looking forward to it now. Hopefully get a good result on Sunday against Slovakia and build some momentum going into it

HibsGW
09-10-2020, 07:50 AM
I was watchin Nor v Ser at same time as Scotland game. The both teams are a couple of steps up from this Scotland team. Unless we make drastic changes in line up, dump Jack and McBurnie and actually have players playing in their natural ppsitions, I'm afraid we will have no chance, right now, I would say we will lose 3-0 atleast. I 5hink we got lucky last nite, hopefully we get lucky in the final ahd change manager for the Euros.

Serbia will definitely be a step up, Milinkovic-Savic is a top player and add on the fact he’s huge, he’ll be difficult to handle. Kolarov and Dusan Tadic from Ajax who recently put in one of the best performances I’ve ever seen against Real Madrid in the Champions League. Definitely not unbeatable but they’ll be a big step up from Israel, we’ll need to be much better than last night to win that game.

09-10-2020, 07:54 AM
To save a lot of time... and people having to watch that... wouldn't it have been a better idea just to go straight to the penalties?

09-10-2020, 09:04 AM
Catching up on the Sportsound podcast of last nights post match round-up. It was pretty telling that the only person who had anything positive to say about the game was Craig Levein, who gave you the impression he actually enjoyed the eye bleeding fare.

09-10-2020, 09:23 AM
Why's that?

I have no idea why anybody Scottish would want the Scotland team to lose

Who wanted the Scotland team to lose?

09-10-2020, 09:30 AM
“Apart from the no shots on target over 120 minutes, and the total lack of creativity, drive, spark, or anything that would make you think this is a team that deserves to be in a major finals, Scotland actually played pretty well,”

--- Simon McMahon.

09-10-2020, 09:31 AM
Serbia will definitely be a step up, Milinkovic-Savic is a top player and add on the fact he’s huge, he’ll be difficult to handle. Kolarov and Dusan Tadic from Ajax who recently put in one of the best performances I’ve ever seen against Real Madrid in the Champions League. Definitely not unbeatable but they’ll be a big step up from Israel, we’ll need to be much better than last night to win that game.

Mitrovic is also a very good international striker. Will be tough but we have a chance as this game will suit Clarke's style better.

HibsGW
09-10-2020, 09:46 AM
Mitrovic is also a very good international striker. Will be tough but we have a chance as this game will suit Clarke's style better.

True forgot about him, as much as I love Porteous, him or Gallagher (one is fairly likely to play) would really struggle to deal with him I’d expect. Probably need McKenna to cope with him physically.

EI255
09-10-2020, 09:56 AM
Dreadful game (and some dreadful individual performances) but I suppose when you've waited this long!

100% need to step it up in play off final.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

09-10-2020, 10:40 AM
We have two years to produce a decent keeper and there are none on the horizon at the moment.McCrorie at Rangers is a good prospect.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

09-10-2020, 10:43 AM

And Luka Jovic. Rough first year at Real Madrid but definitely a quality player. Nikola Milenkovic also a quality central defender

Greenio
09-10-2020, 11:14 AM
Who wanted the Scotland team to lose?

You wanted us to miss a penalty no?

09-10-2020, 11:18 AM
You wanted us to miss a penalty no?

No, perhaps this has been misunderstood.

For my part anyway I was referring to seeing ‘our’ keeper in goals and naturally hoping he would save a penalty.

09-10-2020, 11:22 AM

For my part anyway I was referring to seeing ‘our’ keeper in goals and naturally hoping he would save a penalty.
I get what you mean. I wanted us to win 4-3 on owns with Rocky having made a save.
My son said to me at the start of pens. " As long as John McGinn scores, I don't care if we win!" My wife reminded him that when we sold SJM he ran upstairs hid in his bed and cried!!😆

09-10-2020, 11:29 AM
The Scotland national team have never lost a penalty shoot out in their history.

The dalmeny
09-10-2020, 11:34 AM

kids who are playing now at 15/16 will be in their mid 20s by then

Greenio
09-10-2020, 11:37 AM

Ah, got ya.

Nae bother.

Well, he got close to the first one.

But I was happy to see all of ours smash the back of the net.

I only see the teams on the pitch when it comes to internationals.

Green Man
09-10-2020, 12:05 PM

I know exactly what you mean. I found myself automatically thinking “come on Rocky” before correcting myself.