View Full Version : Carson - goalkeeper?

04-10-2020, 04:18 PM
Did we ever have a goalkeeper called Carson? Or is my mind playing tricks with me?

AT8
04-10-2020, 04:19 PM
Tom Carson on loan from Dundee in the 80s when Alan Rough was injured.

04-10-2020, 04:19 PM
Did we ever have a goalkeeper called Carson? Or is my mind playing tricks with me?

Early 80s? Ringing a bell.

04-10-2020, 04:20 PM
Yes Tom Carson. Played 2 games on loan from Dundee in the 80s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Carson_(footballer)

04-10-2020, 04:22 PM
Knew it would have been a while back so yeah that fits.

It came to mind last week when the Motherwell goalie got mentioned on the telly and I just thought about it again.

BS44
04-10-2020, 05:04 PM
Early 80s? Ringing a bell.

Either 1986 or 1987. We lost both games he played, got beat from Celtic one zip at Parkhead and he had a good game that night

Cannae remember who the other game was against or score

04-10-2020, 05:24 PM
Either 1986 or 1987. We lost both games he played, got beat from Celtic one zip at Parkhead and he had a good game that night

2 nil defeat against Dundee utd
https://www.arabarchive.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=629

Hibiza
04-10-2020, 05:45 PM
Tom Carson on loan from Dundee in the 80s when Alan Rough was injured.

Can anyone remember Alan Roughs kick out at Swinney, gave it to you know who and scored. Soz for the bad memories.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
04-10-2020, 05:57 PM

He was a Kit man.

04-10-2020, 05:59 PM
He was a Kit man.

And something of a pioneer.

Saturday Boy
04-10-2020, 05:59 PM
He was a Kit man.

I just love cowboy jokes.

But I think you’ll find he was actually a scout.

04-10-2020, 06:02 PM
I thought the scout was Joe Tontolano.

04-10-2020, 06:03 PM

I was at that Parkhead game. As you say he played well.

Pretty sure he had a brother who played outfield for Motherwell.

04-10-2020, 06:06 PM
I was at that Parkhead game. As you say he played well.

Pretty sure he had a brother who played outfield for Motherwell.

He did, Joe Carson.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Carson

04-10-2020, 07:29 PM
There is Scott Carson, who is 35 and third choice goalkeeper for Nanchester City?

delbert
04-10-2020, 11:02 PM
There is Scott Carson, who is 35 and third choice goalkeeper for Nanchester City?

Nanchester City ? I’m guessing they got grannied a few times !!

Inconsequential
04-10-2020, 11:14 PM
I knew his father Frank. He was a funny man.

05-10-2020, 10:43 AM

Its the way that you tell them.

MKHIBEE
05-10-2020, 11:52 AM

Did you now his granny Violet as well?