View Full Version : Kevin Nisbet
02-10-2020, 09:17 PM
What a player he is.
Could've and probably should've had a hattrick tonight, but it's his all round game I found most impressive tonight. Lots of clever touches, balls round the corner, and a great first touch.
02-10-2020, 09:22 PM
He has absolutley everything the modern day striker needs.
His touch is 9/10 brilliant and often creates extra space/beats a man with it.
Wont be long before teams want to take him off us.
02-10-2020, 09:23 PM
He really excites me. Proper centre forward who has one thing in mind whenever he gets a sniff.
02-10-2020, 09:25 PM
The only player I really wanted us to sign
I didn’t think it would happen
Just glad it did
Tam McManus was even talking about him as a potential Scotland player :confused:
02-10-2020, 09:27 PM
Just glad it did
Tam McManus was even talking about him as a potential Scotland player :confused:
Shankland is so why not?
Superb signing, brilliant start from him. Delighted we speculated with his signing, he was worth it, plus so much more.
Just glad it did
I’d like to see a pairing of Nisbet and Shankland for Scotland.
02-10-2020, 09:30 PM
I’d like to see a pairing of Nisbet and Shankland for Scotland.
Can't see Clark doing that ever. He is almost as negative a manager as Levein was
But I do think Nisbet will end up an international player at some ooint
53 goals in his last 67 league games, not bad for any level of football.
02-10-2020, 09:32 PM
What a signing he's been so far.
Getting him on a 4 year contract's been a stroke of genius.
02-10-2020, 09:33 PM
As impressive a signing as we've made in a long time. I think the fact that he's had to go backwards to go forwards early in his career has helped, this is a guy who clearly appreciates that what could have been obscurity has taken an upward turn since he joined Dunfermline. His touch is impressive as is his eye for goal, but he isn't afraid to chase back if he has to either, if he keeps progressing we could be looking at a multi million pound player ..... just not for a while I hope :greengrin
Nevi_SOL
02-10-2020, 09:34 PM
I Reckon if a striker pulls out from the scotland squad he will be drafted in.
Cracking bit of business from hibs
02-10-2020, 09:35 PM
Brilliant striker [emoji122][emoji122]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
02-10-2020, 09:41 PM
A lot of the chat when we signed him was pondering over how he would deal with the step up from the Championship to playing at a more competitive level. He has answered that question alright.
A footballing striker and a natural finisher. Been a great bit of business and a player who looks like he will continue to improve.
02-10-2020, 09:42 PM
Shame about the Celtc clause 😁
02-10-2020, 09:44 PM
An all rounder.
Scores goals, works hard, good positional sense, links the play well....
We have an absolute gem on our hands.
02-10-2020, 09:47 PM
He’ll be a top player for us. We’ll get return on investment on the park then make a big profit whenever he leaves.
Tenner on him to score a double at 7/1 tonight as well. Cheers Kev.
02-10-2020, 09:47 PM
Fantastic striker, has a bit of everything about him. Very happy we signed him, would people say he is better than Shankland now?
I can’t think of a better all round striker we’ve had in my time watching hibs.
Lee Marvin
02-10-2020, 09:54 PM
If he continues this form, we will have the big boys throwing money at us in the summer. Eyewatering sums if he scores over 20 goals
murray26
02-10-2020, 10:00 PM
He’s the type of signing I love.. young hungry and talented.. ER is the perfect place for players like him.. I never doubted him for a second.. keep this up and a Scotland call up will be on the cards soon.
02-10-2020, 10:06 PM
53 goals in his last 67 league games, not bad for any level of football.If it wasn't for some great saves he'd have added even more to that tally, two great goals tonight.
Juniper Greens
02-10-2020, 10:11 PM
I don't see him being with us for long. He's too good
Lee Marvin
02-10-2020, 10:13 PM
I predict a Hibs record transfer fee in two summer time, by quite some distance.
02-10-2020, 10:19 PM
I can’t think of a better all round striker we’ve had in my time watching hibs.
Early days for that, but he has a great career ahead of him with hopefully most of that at ER
02-10-2020, 10:21 PM
Looks like a really good player and finisher. I don’t see there being a better pairing than him and Doidge in Scotland.
02-10-2020, 10:22 PM
I love his unassuming attitude.
02-10-2020, 10:29 PM
He’ll be disappointed he didn’t get a hat trick tonight
02-10-2020, 10:31 PM
Just glad it did
Can't be far away
02-10-2020, 10:33 PM
He's Ally McLeod with miles more mobility, less weight and miles worse hair.
Can't believe nobody nicked him before us.
Gloucester Hibs
02-10-2020, 10:33 PM
They say you don’t get the full package at his age (not at Scottish fitba level anyway) but I’m not seeing too many flaws so far 😍
murray26
02-10-2020, 10:35 PM
Can't be far away
Let’s be honest he only has Dykes and Shankland as competition forget McBurnie he’s not interested.. a Scotland cap is a real possibility if he keeps going the way he is.
02-10-2020, 10:36 PM
The Aberdeen recruitment team will be absolutely spewing.
02-10-2020, 10:50 PM
Let’s be honest he only has Dykes and Shankland as competition forget McBurnie he’s not interested.. a Scotland cap is a real possibility if he keeps going the way he is.
Honestly he should be ahead of shankland already
Shankland might be a better natural finisher/poacher but Nisbet is so much more of a complete forward, which is vital for a team like Scotland
02-10-2020, 10:55 PM
He’s an excellent player, still got a bit to go in terms of development as well, which is an exciting prospect.
Great work ethic, great technique, reads the game well and can finish.
A really terrific signing. Will probably go down as the best value signing across the league this season.
02-10-2020, 10:55 PM
He’ll be disappointed he didn’t get a hat trick tonight
Could have had 4 or 5 if not for a few cracking saves by the Hamilton keeper.
MagicSwirlingShip
02-10-2020, 11:19 PM
What’s surprised me the most about KN is his passing. He passes a lovely ball. At pace, in behind, round the corner, it’s all there.
I said to a friend after seeing him a few times that he reminded me of a young Garry O’Connor, but I think he might be better all round.
Scotland call up not far away If he keeps these type of performances up.
02-10-2020, 11:21 PM
What’s surprised me the most about KN is his passing. He passes a lovely ball. At pace, in behind, round the corner, it’s all there.
I said to a friend after seeing him a few times that he reminded me of a young Garry O’Connor, but I think he might be better all round.
Scotland call up not far away If he keeps these type of performances up.
He’s like Gaz with a touch of Cummings with much better technique than both.
gaz1875
02-10-2020, 11:24 PM
Brilliant all round performance, should have stayed on as he was the link from midfield & defence
MagicSwirlingShip
02-10-2020, 11:25 PM
He’s like Gaz with a touch of Cummings with much better technique than both.
The Garry O’Connor from Mowbrays arrival to his move to Russia was a sensational striker. Lad has all everything going for him to be just as good. Apart from Derek Riordan to pick him out, I suppose!
02-10-2020, 11:28 PM
I’m beginning to wonder how we got this guy for the price we did. Some scouts clearly aren’t doing their job, or continue to underestimate Scottish Football. This lad is the real deal.
Power
02-10-2020, 11:40 PM
He’s got the lot. Control, composure, strength, speed, work ethic (even putting in tackles defenders would be proud of), eye for a pass and an excellent goalscorer (finishing will only get better).
A modern day Keith Wright.
02-10-2020, 11:40 PM
The Garry O’Connor from Mowbrays arrival to his move to Russia was a sensational striker. Lad has all everything going for him to be just as good. Apart from Derek Riordan to pick him out, I suppose!
Totally 👍
zitelli62
03-10-2020, 12:23 AM
McFadden on sportscene saying he should have scored more and must be disappointed with his performance is he for real complete fud.
03-10-2020, 12:57 AM
McFadden on sportscene saying he should have scored more and must be disappointed with his performance is he for real complete fud.
Faddy played at the top level and is 100% a patriotic Scotland supporter. I don't think he's a fud at all, Nisbet should have had a top flight HT (again) this evening. Goalscorers are gutted when they don't score as much as possible.
He’s got the lot. Control, composure, strength, speed, work ethic (even putting in tackles defenders would be proud of), eye for a pass and an excellent goalscorer (finishing will only get better).
A modern day Keith Wright.
Agreed. Six goals in the league so far. Great signing.
03-10-2020, 04:58 AM
A modern day Keith Wright.You got there first. He is like Keith. Hopefully he'll get some silverware with us too.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
03-10-2020, 05:11 AM
Great all round centre forward. He's twice the player Kamberi was, great first touch, better passing range, far better attitude, much less selfish and scores goals for fun. Cannot wait to get back to ER to watch this lad.
03-10-2020, 06:09 AM
There were times last night I was convinced that Nisbet would collect the ball and pass it to Nisbet, only to lay it off to Nisbet to take a shot. He puts in a hell of a lot of work with no lack of skill or technical ability.
He's fantastic.
03-10-2020, 07:13 AM
I’m beginning to wonder how we got this guy for the price we did. Some scouts clearly aren’t doing their job, or continue to underestimate Scottish Football. This lad is the real deal.
I think if you had read the piece in one of the papers,he was saying he didnae graft enough and was wasting his opportunity,wrong mentality, clubs were just not interested hes only recently basically seen the light. Lucky for us.
03-10-2020, 07:14 AM
I think if you had read the piece in one of the papers,he was saying he didnae graft enough and was wasting his opportunity,wrong mentality, clubs were just not interested hes only recently basically seen the light. Lucky for us.
Was that not before he signed for Raith tho. And that’s when he knuckled down. That was 2 years ago!
03-10-2020, 07:16 AM
The The Rangers game was the first I properly seen him play, knew he was quality then. If he gets any better we will be quids in in a few years. Surprised no tae hear theres no inquiries already🤔
03-10-2020, 08:25 AM
Just glad it did
I didn't think we'd get him either, but delighted we did. Seems to be a level-headed type of guy too judging by what I've heard from him. I get the impression he's realised he almost didn't exploit his talent and is determined to make the most of it now. Can see him banging in a big number of goals this season as his confidence increases.
03-10-2020, 08:27 AM
He is outstanding. A significantly better player than Shankland imo.
03-10-2020, 08:30 AM
He is outstanding. A significantly better player than Shankland imo.
I don’t know that he’s significantly better, Shankland is quality as well.
Mental that Nisbet hasn’t had/doesn’t get the media hype that Shankland does though.
03-10-2020, 08:35 AM
Faddy played at the top level and is 100% a patriotic Scotland supporter. I don't think he's a fud at all, Nisbet should have had a top flight HT (again) this evening. Goalscorers are gutted when they don't score as much as possible.
But who's to say he *should* have scored direct from the free kick or the header- the header in particular is a half chance at best. Both are hardly stick ons. He did everything right for his other chances too.
Serious question, did faddy watch the whole game? Some of the stuff first half in particular was incredible. Was a joy to watch.
03-10-2020, 08:48 AM
Nisbet said similar after the game. Should've got another couple of goals.
HendoDelivered
03-10-2020, 12:09 PM
Mental that Nisbet hasn’t had/doesn’t get the media hype that Shankland does though.
I think thats actually a good thing. Very good chance if he was hyped up as much as Shankland had been, he may not have been a Hibs player mate.
03-10-2020, 12:10 PM
I think thats actually a good thing. Very good chance if he was hyped up as much as Shankland had been, he may not have been a Hibs player mate.
Totally agree. :agree:
03-10-2020, 12:22 PM
Exactly the type of signing we should go for. Unlikely to fail and be a complete waste of money and a very good chance that they will make the step up and improve, like SJM, and show enough potential that they will bring in far more than they cost. I think Ron has realised we have an opportunity with covid to buy cheaper than normal to get a better league position but also get some serious cash back when the crisis is over and players have developed. It is a model we have used but he looks to have put it in overdrive.
at last 61
03-10-2020, 12:38 PM
Its not just because I’m a Hibees but I think he’s better than shankland his all round game is far superior
03-10-2020, 12:39 PM
Nisbet is excellent so far. Shankland is a good player too. Like them both ..hope they keep developing ....
Greenworld
03-10-2020, 12:53 PM
He is outstanding. A significantly better player than Shankland imo.Agree he is a very exciting player has lots more to his game than shankland and a better head on him to get to where he wants to go. You can see he is driven to succeed.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
03-10-2020, 04:34 PM
Its not just because I’m a Hibees but I think he’s better than shankland his all round game is far superior
I like Shankland but he’s a penalty box striker like Doidge. Nisbet drifts around and is a much better fit for us. Folk who’ve been complaining about our transfer activity this summer really need to get a grip.
03-10-2020, 04:38 PM
I like Shankland but he’s a penalty box striker like Doidge. Nisbet drifts around and is a much better fit for us. Folk who’ve been complaining about our transfer activity this summer really need to get a grip.
Doidge is nothing like Shankland imo. Doidge is a fighter, scores all his goals in the box, wins headers, holds it up. Shankland scores all kinds of goals, plenty from range. He is a limited player, though. Rarely involved in games but can score from nothing.
03-10-2020, 07:03 PM
I like shankland but Nisbet has way more to his game I reckon.
03-10-2020, 07:47 PM
Doidge is nothing like Shankland imo. Doidge is a fighter, scores all his goals in the box, wins headers, holds it up. Shankland scores all kinds of goals, plenty from range. He is a limited player, though. Rarely involved in games but can score from nothing.
Well ok, you can have that, but my point is that I think Nisbet is the better signing for us, given we already have Doidge as our own very effective no.9.
03-10-2020, 07:57 PM
Well ok, you can have that, but my point is that I think Nisbet is the better signing for us, given we already have Doidge as our own very effective no.9.
Both our strikers are easily better than Shankland, no doubt about that in my mind.
03-10-2020, 07:59 PM
Both our strikers are easily better than Shankland, no doubt about that in my mind.
Wouldn’t say no to all three tbh.
03-10-2020, 08:00 PM
Wouldn’t say no to all three tbh.
Can maybe pick him up when they go down :greengrin
03-10-2020, 08:05 PM
Can maybe pick him up when they go down :greengrin
Imagine the seethe 👌
03-10-2020, 08:14 PM
I know this is a Nisbet thread but since Shankland had been mentioned. He has 2 years left on his contract. Dundee Utd will be hoping he does well in the next few months, I'd doubt they would want to let him get into the last 12 months of his contract