View Full Version : Title Winner?

24-09-2020, 08:47 AM
I know we would all want Hibs to win the league - and chances are they will now that we aren't going to be attending any matches for the foreseeable - but in the quite likely event it will be the arse cheeks competing for the title what would your lesser of 2 evils be?

On the one hand we've got Celtic going for 10 in a row; I don't think 10 titles in a row paints Scottish football in a very good light and I would love to see the seethe come out of Celtic Park if they didn't do it.

On the other hand it would mean almost wanting Rangers to win something, and I must stress it's not about wanting them to win anything, it's more about not wanting Celtic to win it. Gees me dry boak thinking about it tbh.

Anyway just a bit of discussion, seeing as both our transfer threads are dead in the water.

24-09-2020, 08:57 AM
Ideally they'd just merge into one big weegie swamp and form some sort of religion based entity since that seems to be the reason for their followers existing. They could then move to somewhere exactly on the Irish border given both their ties with the area.

However if I had to make a choice I'd go for celtc as I fair enjoy when they have their Ferencvaros moments, or getting gubbed by FC Umpalumpa from Uzbekistan in the 7th preliminary round of the champions league

24-09-2020, 09:15 AM
While it’s of no material relevance to me what one of those two ever wins the league. I voted for Rangers as it would be ironic if Neil “born winner” Lennon was the man to fall at the final hurdle and fail to get 10 in a row, and highly amusing.

H18S NX
24-09-2020, 09:21 AM
Celtic,I resent the huns even winning the toss.****bags.

Bangkok Hibby
24-09-2020, 09:25 AM
While it’s of no material relevance to me what one of those two ever wins the league. I voted for Rangers as it would be ironic if Neil “born winner” Lennon was the man to fall at the final hurdle and fail to get 10 in a row, and highly amusing.

As much as that amuses me I voted Celtic, purely because the fans I've met and known over the decades have been marginally less poisonous than their blue counterparts.

24-09-2020, 09:26 AM
Celtic.

I don’t think Sevco have what it takes to keep going after 10 happens. Scotland would be a better place if they died again and this time stayed dead.

As the poster above mentions though, there would be something hilarious about the “born winner” stuffing it up at the final hurdle.

24-09-2020, 09:33 AM
Bit of a Dalai Lama.
Here's hoping the Tic get DQ'd for further Covid breaches and The The Huns get docked 10 points for repeat offences publicly criticising the SFA, SPL, referees, opposition teams for making life hard for them, 21 year-old players etc.
Leaves the way clear for...........

24-09-2020, 09:41 AM
Neither is obvious answer but I went with Celtc just because they at least have made an attempt to come out of the dark ages and it may create damage that the Thes will never recover from.

24-09-2020, 09:44 AM
The longer Sevco go without winning a trophy the funnier.

24-09-2020, 09:54 AM
I'd rather see Celtic win 20 in a row than Rangers win it this year.

In fact, if the choice is only ever between the two of them I'd happily see Celtic win it for eternity instead of Rangers.

24-09-2020, 09:57 AM
Huns will win the league. I hate Lennon and Rangers equally though so it’s a hard one.

24-09-2020, 09:58 AM
Celtic.

I don’t think Sevco have what it takes to keep going after 10 happens. Scotland would be a better place if they died again and this time stayed dead.

As the poster above mentions though, there would be something hilarious about the “born winner” stuffing it up at the final hurdle.

I’ll take this in fact. Scrap my vote 😂

24-09-2020, 10:02 AM
Huns will win the league. I hate Lennon and Rangers equally though so it’s a hard one.

Putting Neil Lennon alongside the vile institution that is Rangers is just ridiculous.

Anyway, Celtic’s demise never really seems to come through and can’t see anyone other than them winning the league.

24-09-2020, 10:13 AM
It’s a bit of a no lose situation really. Whoever doesn’t win the league (should it be a two horse old firm race at the end) will be a deep seethe and the fallout will be hilarious. Whoever it is between Rangers or Celtic matters not in the slightest to me.

24-09-2020, 10:18 AM
Putting Neil Lennon alongside the vile institution that is Rangers is just ridiculous.

Anyway, Celtic’s demise never really seems to come through and can’t see anyone other than them winning the league.

Nah I hate them both. Lennon should make it easier but I agree with Smartie that if the huns don’t win the league this year their cause (at least it’s sporting and not some IRA ****) will diminish and they will get weaker.

Lendo

This is also my opinion. I detest both hugely but the arrogance, ignorance and bigotry of the Hun fans I know just edges my hatred for them slightly in front.

If Celtic do lose Edouard though then I think it could be the opening Rangers need to stop them.

True
But seeing the Celtic fans seethe as they blow their ten in a row dream would be almost as funny. I hate both teams equally so I'll be having a laugh no matter what happens. :greengrin

24-09-2020, 10:19 AM
It’s a bit of a no lose situation really. Whoever doesn’t win the league (should it be a two horse old firm race at the end) will be a deep seethe and the fallout will be hilarious. Whoever it is between Rangers or Celtic matters not in the slightest to me.

Lennon already looks the angriest person ever and it’s October. He’s genuinely like the bad gremlin.

24-09-2020, 10:28 AM
Neither, hope the league's null and void if we don't win it.

24-09-2020, 10:40 AM
I detest the Rangers but I cannot being myself to vote for Celtc.

Hibs best win it then.

Bronson
24-09-2020, 10:56 AM
I want celtic to win it but think rangers will do it this year if i’m totally honest.

24-09-2020, 11:02 AM
I'd rather see Celtic win 20 in a row than Rangers win it this year.

In fact, if the choice is only ever between the two of them I'd happily see Celtic win it for eternity instead of Rangers.

This, I don’t even want the Huns so win £1 on a scratch card. Poisonous club.

24-09-2020, 11:05 AM
I detest the Rangers but I cannot being myself to vote for Celtc.

Hibs best win it then.

St Mirren. Gorgie would explode. There wouldn’t be enough Jim Gannon Gifs ever 😄

24-09-2020, 11:05 AM
This, I don’t even want the Huns so win £1 on a scratch card. Poisonous club.

Both are as ****my.

24-09-2020, 11:10 AM

Exactly. There's humour and light relief to be drawn from the seethe of whomever loses. They are equally unpalatable institutions and fan bases so the only good thing about 1 of them winning is the other one losing.

24-09-2020, 11:14 AM
I hope Rangers never win another game of football ever again never mind a trophy. Could you imagine if they did? It would be unbearable. I'd rather Celtic won every trophy for the rest of my lifetime than Rangers won anything. Vile, horrible club. Imagine having a portrait of the queen in your dressing room in 2020. Pathetic. The only positive about having no fans in stadia right now is not having to be subjected to the sickening filth that comes out their uneducated mouths.

24-09-2020, 11:15 AM
For me, the arrogance of the rangers fans about stopping the 10 would be worse than the arrogance of the celtic fans about getting the 10 as there would always be debate about rangers not being in the league etc. Rangers fans would see winning the title as some sort of GIRUY to all of scottish football. Celtic fans would only really goad huns.

24-09-2020, 11:27 AM
For me, the arrogance of the rangers fans about stopping the 10 would be worse than the arrogance of the celtic fans about getting the 10 as there would always be debate about rangers not being in the league etc. Rangers fans would see winning the title as some sort of GIRUY to all of scottish football. Celtic fans would only really goad huns.

This is pretty much how I feel.

Magpie
24-09-2020, 11:27 AM
Would prefer to see ex Hibees win trophies so Celtic.

24-09-2020, 11:29 AM
Neither, hope the league's null and void if we don't win it.

So if we are sitting third and the league is null and voided we don't get into Europe.

Nah, that's just stupid.:greengrin

24-09-2020, 11:31 AM
Lennon already looks the angriest person ever and it’s October. He’s genuinely like the bad gremlin.

There might actually be more laughs with a Rangers win..

My Celtic supporting social media friends have become tiresome and arrogant with the assumption that the title is a formality. Seeing them deflate would be most amusing, but of course the tide then turns and it’ would be a full on Hun ramp-up.

Best bet is just to let them get on with it and instead enjoy our own season which is looking very promising at this early stage.

24-09-2020, 11:34 AM
The actions of their manager, players and fans over social media since Sunday have reminded me why I despise them. **** the lot of them.

24-09-2020, 11:39 AM
Impossible for me to want Rangers to win anything, a feeling only renewed after Sunday’s antics.

No fan of Celtic, but what summed it up for me was the October 2018 game at Parkhead - before the match myself and another couple of Hibbys were able to go to a cafe near the ground and have lunch: we had Hibs jackets on and were the only Hibs fans in the venue. No problems at all (I know that hasn’t always been the case - Rangers fans have never thrown tear gas into the East Terracing, for example).

Would we have felt comfortable in stopping at a cafe near Ibrox for lunch? Not a chance.

24-09-2020, 11:47 AM
Impossible for me to want Rangers to win anything, a feeling only renewed after Sunday’s antics.

No fan of Celtic, but what summed it up for me was the October 2018 game at Parkhead - before the match myself and another couple of Hibbys were able to go to a cafe near the ground and have lunch: we had Hibs jackets on and were the only Hibs fans in the venue. No problems at all (I know that hasn’t always been the case - Rangers fans have never thrown tear gas into the East Terracing, for example).

Would we have felt comfortable in stopping at a cafe near Ibrox for lunch? Not a chance.

I’ve good friends who are ST holders at Celtic and Rangers. Meeting the Celtic friends at Celtic Park before a game is never a problem and always an enjoyable day out, but it’s simply not possible to meet up with my Rangers friends anywhere near Ibrox which is a sad state of affairs.

24-09-2020, 11:50 AM
Celtic to keep winning title after title after title until eventually someone realises that the only way forward is a league salary cap.

24-09-2020, 12:03 PM
Is there an option for them both to go bust and their stadiums knocked down and turned into car parks?

24-09-2020, 12:05 PM
Nah I hate them both. Lennon should make it easier but I agree with Smartie that if the huns don’t win the league this year their cause (at least it’s sporting and not some IRA ****) will diminish and they will get weaker.

You've lost me.

24-09-2020, 12:07 PM

This is true. There will be schadenfreudish delights whatever happens.

However, given how much I loathe Rangers old and new and that I think the consequences for them might be more serious, I'd rather Celtc win.

24-09-2020, 12:09 PM
I know we would all want Hibs to win the league - and chances are they will now that we aren't going to be attending any matches for the foreseeable - but in the quite likely event it will be the arse cheeks competing for the title what would your lesser of 2 evils be?

On the one hand we've got Celtic going for 10 in a row; I don't think 10 titles in a row paints Scottish football in a very good light and I would love to see the seethe come out of Celtic Park if they didn't do it.

On the other hand it would mean almost wanting Rangers to win something, and I must stress it's not about wanting them to win anything, it's more about not wanting Celtic to win it. Gees me dry boak thinking about it tbh.

Anyway just a bit of discussion, seeing as both our transfer threads are dead in the water.

Italian league will be painted in the same light as SPFL. Juventus are also going for 10 in a row.

24-09-2020, 12:13 PM
Celtic for me. Another title for them puts sevco another step closer to dying which should be more than enough reason for any fair minded person.

24-09-2020, 12:16 PM
I’m not bothered who wins it ...outside of us ..although Rangers continued journey without any major trophies is rather funny ...

Currently I think Rangers are the better side - but need to wait until after the transfer window to see what the teams are like

Maybe it is up to us to do a Leicester ! [emoji1696][emoji120]

24-09-2020, 12:17 PM
I can't bring myself to vote for either one of them. Celtic will win the league though.

24-09-2020, 12:18 PM
Would rather Celtic won. In the 00s I couldn't really separate Rangers and Celtic, but now I feel Celtic are a slightly lesser evil. Also it's funny if Rangers continue to win nothing.

24-09-2020, 12:24 PM

Rangers have a sporting cause and Celtic are all about the IRA only?

You sure you don’t have some prejudices there that might be contributing?

24-09-2020, 12:26 PM
Rangers have a sporting cause and Celtic are all about the IRA only?

You sure you don’t have some prejudices there that might be contributing?

A quite bizarre statement I thought too. :confused:

24-09-2020, 12:28 PM
So if we are sitting third and the league is null and voided we don't get into Europe.

Nah, that's just stupid.:greengrin

I'd rather that than have to choose a preference between Celtic and Rangers for winning the league.

24-09-2020, 12:34 PM

Completely agree with this ..

How anyone can have any hate for Neil Lennon is quite beyond me - dislike if that’s your thing ..but hate ?? However to suggest he is equivalent to the religious hate that has come from that club and its fans for decades is mind blowing

24-09-2020, 12:35 PM
Would rather Celtic won. In the 00s I couldn't really separate Rangers and Celtic, but now I feel Celtic are a slightly lesser evil. Also it's funny if Rangers continue to win nothing.

I grew up in the 70s/80s when the Old Rangers (club and fans) were still in-your-face anti-Catholic bigots and proud of it. I agree they were partially rehabilitated, signed Catholics including Scottish ones with Irish heritage and even played some nice football around the Advocaat time. However, it subsequently turned out even those slightly nicer Huns were cheating *******s and ultimately killed themselves.

Shame. :lolrangers:

The new lot have regressed to the worst again, signing policy nothwithstanding. Celtc have always been annoying, gloryhuntng, self righteous idiots with the faux freedom fighter stuff being pretty boak-inducing. But they're not in the same league.

As the late Ian Archer wrote:

"This has to be said about Rangers, as a Scottish Football club they are a permanent embarrassment and an occasional disgrace. This country would be a better place if Rangers did not exist."

24-09-2020, 12:41 PM
Completely agree with this ..

How anyone can have any hate for Neil Lennon is quite beyond me - dislike if that’s your thing ..but hate ?? However to suggest he is equivalent to the religious hate that has come from that club and its fans for decades is mind blowing

This thread is basically another one for people to compete with each other as to how much they hate the Old Firm!

gaz1875
24-09-2020, 12:42 PM
Simples, dislike The Huns more.

24-09-2020, 12:43 PM
This thread is basically another one for people to compete with each other as to how much they hate the Old Firm!

Ha. Fair point

24-09-2020, 12:47 PM
Celtic every day of the week, I can’t stand the huns and their horrible fans.

24-09-2020, 12:51 PM
Celtic every day of the week, I can’t stand the huns and their horrible fans.

The problem is, I can't stand Celtc and their horrible Fans either.

24-09-2020, 12:57 PM
Huns are by a distance the most loathsome club in Scotland and perhaps the planet. If they were playing man eating spiders from mars, I'd want the Huns to lose.

I'm not that bothered about Celtic either way.

24-09-2020, 12:58 PM
Huns are by a distance the most loathsome club in Scotland and perhaps the planet. If they were playing man eating spiders from mars, I'd want the Huns to lose.

I'm not that bothered about Celtic either way.

I'm not saying they are, but they're in the top 1.

24-09-2020, 01:01 PM

The problem is, I can't stand Celtc and their horrible Fans either.
I find I tend to have more in common with Celtic fans on things not football related and haven’t had any problems with them before or after games. I hate everything rangers stand for.

24-09-2020, 01:26 PM
I like Neil Lennon and Scott Brown a bit less than I hate the Huns and their posturing “quintessentially British‘ pap (and their Dutch kits and their Scouse windbag of a manager), so I’d go for the lessers.

howdenthehibby
24-09-2020, 01:56 PM
I'd always been 50 50 on my dislike for the ugly sisters,but since the death of the blue arse cheek and the emergance of Sevco taking over the mantle of the Govan Gargoyles, and since the Sevco have yet to win a major trophy and long may it continue! ,also the dealings we've had with the loathsome hoard since,just tips me in the favour of the Smellies.

24-09-2020, 02:09 PM
The staunchness, the fully grow men calling one another bears, the entitlement, the constant bemusement/bamboozlement/astonishment at being pulled up on anything is all very very weird. That's before you throw in folk cutting around in wee orange ribbons playing flutes etc. Very odd people.

Makes their meltdowns over the likes of Ryan Porteous and 21/5/16 so much more satisfying. Long may it continue.

24-09-2020, 02:11 PM
Neither, but out of those two I’d rather Rangers won it.

It’s not really going to be close though. Celtic will win it comfortably again.

seanshow
24-09-2020, 02:21 PM
By the law of averages der hun will win one of the domestic cups sooner or later but i dont see them winning the league anytime soon, 8 years or 10 years and counting depending on your outlook of liquidation.
The cv19 loss of finance for all clubs puts a different slant on things, but surely the hemorrhaging of cash is universal.

Ron to jump on the opportunity and make huge investment to win the league. :)

24-09-2020, 02:21 PM
Could never vote for sevco to win anything.

HendoDelivered
24-09-2020, 02:39 PM
I’m thinking Hamilton tbh.

24-09-2020, 02:48 PM
It will be very close. I actually think if either of them get knocked out of the Europa before the group stages they will win it. Playing Thursday & Sunday added to the pressure both clubs are under to win the league could be a massive disadvantage.

24-09-2020, 02:54 PM
Haven't voted but I'd dislike Rangers winning it more. Their asterix titles chat needs thrown in their face, full of excuses as if none of it (points deduction, time in lower leagues, general cheating/tax dodging etc) was their fault. Well now they have a real chance and it's in their hands - hope they make a mess of it.

If it's not us that wins it then hopefully it is Motherwell or such like.

24-09-2020, 03:45 PM
Grudgingly Celtic.

24-09-2020, 04:54 PM
Celtic.

I have no ill feeling towards Lennon and I think gerrard’s a prick

24-09-2020, 06:17 PM
Either way, the fall out from the losers will be a popcorn-munching, wet-pant-making, magnificent-reading, beer-swilling, mega-laugh-fest.

If of course it's one of them that wins it:greengrin Just imagine it:wink:

24-09-2020, 06:51 PM
There isn't a lesser of two evils, because the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the only thing worse than Celtc winning the league would be Sevco winning it. And the only thing worse than Sevco winning the league would be Celtc winning it. And the ... etc ad infinitum.

However I think Celtc are the more likely to win it based on Sevco's repeated collapses.

24-09-2020, 09:14 PM
Who gives a sh*t?

24-09-2020, 09:17 PM
Who gives a sh*t?

Let me guess. Not you?:greengrin

1875godsgift
24-09-2020, 09:40 PM
Bit of a Dalai Lama.
Here's hoping the Tic get DQ'd for further Covid breaches and The The Huns get docked 10 points for repeat offences publicly criticising the SFA, SPL, referees, opposition teams for making life hard for them, 21 year-old players etc.
Leaves the way clear for...........

Hearts!

Oh no, wait a minute..... :faf:

But, to be serious, I'd rather cut my bollox off with a rusty sacksaw than want The Rangers to win anything, so I'll vote for Hibs :flag:

jingler1954
25-09-2020, 07:32 AM
I'll wait till Monday to vote depending on the season changing result on Sunday. Is there a neither vote? GGTTH

25-09-2020, 08:50 AM
It's like asking which ball you'd like cut off without anaesthetic!

25-09-2020, 09:46 AM
Who gives a sh*t?

Your post is the first of its kind on the thread. So the vast majority have an opinion on it. Thanks for contributing :thumbsup:

25-09-2020, 10:16 AM
I'd rather cut my bollox off with a rusty sacksaw

Never knew there was a saw specifically designed for that particular task.

SJNB Hibby
25-09-2020, 11:12 AM
Celtic----I get more enjoyment out of the Huns losing than them, and yes Stevie G is a classless FUD

25-09-2020, 11:21 AM

Old school manscaping.

CathroMustStay
25-09-2020, 09:13 PM

You sound like a knuckle dragger from KickBack or Follow Follow.

1875godsgift
26-09-2020, 12:10 AM

There's a tool for every job - you just need to poke about in the right box.

26-09-2020, 12:31 AM
92%+ of us on Hibs net favouring Celtic to win the title over the huns is probably a bit low compared to Hibs supporters as a whole I reckon. Take out the mini hun undercovers on here who have voted big huns and you're probably looking at 95%+ for Celtic.

Can't wait until the big huns are deid for good. Tick tock.

26-09-2020, 10:16 AM
92%+ of us on Hibs net favouring Celtic to win the title over the huns is probably a bit low compared to Hibs supporters as a whole I reckon. Take out the mini hun undercovers on here who have voted big huns and you're probably looking at 95%+ for Celtic.

Is this a poor attempt at fishing? Did any Green Hun undercovers vote?

26-09-2020, 10:33 AM

I voted for Celtc but don't "favour" them in any way. I'm simply being realistic about which of the two is more likely to win their race.

I also don't find it unrealistic that 8% of Hibs fans think that Sevco are more likely to win it without resorting to blaming undercover lower league fans.