View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 - 2 Rangers (Wright, Doidge)

Pages : [1] 2 3

20-09-2020, 09:39 AM
It's is time

20-09-2020, 09:43 AM
Sure is is

20-09-2020, 09:45 AM
This is is the time to see what Hibs are made of!

20-09-2020, 09:46 AM
Good game ahead I think.

20-09-2020, 09:47 AM
Wright for Murphy the only change. Steven McGinn makes the bench.

20-09-2020, 09:48 AM
I am bricking myself. First time for a while a meaningful game against them.

RossScott1991
20-09-2020, 09:57 AM
Just have a go Hibs please. None of this sitting in trying to contain we have seen last couple of seasons.

20-09-2020, 10:01 AM
Starting XI: Marciano, P. McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon ©, Doig, Boyle, Gogic, Newell, Wright, Doidge, Nisbet.

♻ Substitutes: Barnes, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, S. McGinn, Hallberg, Mallan, Shanley, Gullan.

20-09-2020, 10:02 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200920/51bb26b305c80afb9ef81ed86b6c6210.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

jellybean
20-09-2020, 10:03 AM
Just have a go Hibs please. None of this sitting in trying to contain we have seen last couple of seasons.

Feel the same. Let's go for it.

20-09-2020, 10:03 AM
Like it. Looks like we are going at them 442

murray26
20-09-2020, 10:04 AM
Attacking enough team.. let’s hope for the rub of the green a good game and a Hibs win💚💚

20-09-2020, 10:04 AM
All rangers pundits on sky and Andy Walker. :rolleyes:

20-09-2020, 10:06 AM

That will make the win even sweeter then. :greengrin

20-09-2020, 10:08 AM
Big ask of the midfield two today. Hope they can compete.

20-09-2020, 10:09 AM

New PA system doing all it can to drown them out, good performance so far.

20-09-2020, 10:13 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200920/51bb26b305c80afb9ef81ed86b6c6210.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Shows how light we are up top. Need another striker in.

20-09-2020, 10:14 AM

What do you mean?

20-09-2020, 10:15 AM
Rangers starting XI:

McLaughlin

Tavernier
Goldson
Helander
Barisic

Kamara
Arfield
Davis

Hagi
Morelos
Kent

20-09-2020, 10:17 AM
442 is very risky. Got us absolutely hammered last time we played them at home. Hope Ross knows what he is doing.

What do you mean?

Nisbet and Doidge and nothing else. Gullan looks out of his depth.

RossScott1991
Just have a go Hibs please Hibs. None of this sitting in trying to contain we have seen last couple of seasons.

20-09-2020, 10:18 AM
What do you mean?

Other than the 2 playing we’ve not much else.

Gullan far from proven at this level. Another option would be good.

20-09-2020, 10:19 AM

With Doidge and Nisbet? That's not my biggest worry.
We need Boyle at his best today to make any impact on that Rangers side. We can do it though.

20-09-2020, 10:19 AM

Think we all know we maybe need a bit more experience on the bench upfront, but uncalled for to have a go at Gullan pre match
Rangers bench for all the millions they’ve spent, looks particularly weak

JimboHibs
20-09-2020, 10:20 AM
Rangers starting XI:

McLaughlin

Tavernier
Goldson
Helander
Barisic

Kamara
Arfield
Davis

Hagi
Morelos
Kent

That's a very strong Rangers side

20-09-2020, 10:20 AM
With Doidge and Nisbet? That's not my biggest worry.
We need Boyle at his best today to make any impact on that Rangers side. We can do it though.

We toiled when Nisbet was out injured. We definitely need another striker in.

20-09-2020, 10:21 AM
Think we all know we maybe need a bit more experience on the bench upfront, but uncalled for to have a go at Gullan pre match
Rangers bench for all the millions they’ve spent, looks particularly weak

I think their team/bench looks very strong

20-09-2020, 10:21 AM

Gullan has not once looked out of his depth. Might have quiet or uninvolved when coming on for 15 minutes, but can't be saying that yet.

20-09-2020, 10:23 AM
Gullan has not once looked out of his depth. Might have quiet or uninvolved when coming on for 15 minutes, but can't be saying that yet.

I haven't seen anything in Gullan yet to say he's any better than Oli Shaw who was also out of his depth

20-09-2020, 10:25 AM
I haven't seen anything in Gullan yet to say he's any better than Oli Shaw who was also out of his depth

And we only worked out that for sure after a year or so after umpteen games - and starts, which Gullan hasn't had - where he didn't do enough.

20-09-2020, 10:25 AM
We toiled when Nisbet was out injured. We definitely need another striker in.

Nothing like some pre-match positivity eh? Don’t go putting negative vibes in to my head. :greengrin

20-09-2020, 10:26 AM

Dunno what your problem is?? Dreadful comments about a young player who hasn't even had a decent chance to impress yet...poor stuff from a so called fan

20-09-2020, 10:27 AM
Hopefully not 2 in CM against their 3

20-09-2020, 10:33 AM
Like it. Looks like we are going at them 442

Could be 3-5-2 with Wright playing the Scott Allan role, i'd rather that than 4-4-2.

HendoDelivered
20-09-2020, 10:33 AM

**** me 😂😂😂

20-09-2020, 10:34 AM
If Rangers play to their best, they'll win.

I want us to compete today if that's the case and if there's an opportunity to grab something from the game, then that. Have to be realistic but if they're not at their best then we have players who could punish them.

20-09-2020, 10:36 AM
Dunno what your problem is?? Dreadful comments about a young player who hasn't even had a decent chance to impress yet...poor stuff from a so called fan

Best ignored.. boys a blether

20-09-2020, 10:38 AM

Am I not allowed an opinion?

Tully
20-09-2020, 10:39 AM
Once again a hibs player getting slated can we not just support the team and players

20-09-2020, 10:40 AM

Bit harsh, he's always looked pretty decent when he's come on in games iv watched

Could be 3-5-2 with Wright playing the Scott Allan role, i'd rather that than 4-4-2.

It’d be weird to see Wright in that position though. Has he ever played that? Mallan on the bench would be more obvious choice.

Looks 4-4-2 to me.

442 is very risky. Got us absolutely hammered last time we played them at home. Hope Ross knows what he is doing.

I’m not convinced it’s an obvious 442.

Hope not anyway, for the reasons mentioned elsewhere.

Am I the only one that looks at their team and thinks it looks nothing special?

Kent and Hagi are quick and dangerous. Morelos can be a danger, can be a liability. Jack is their main man in the middle, Davis and Arfield aren’t at his level.

Gogic will relish getting in about them. Interesting to see where Doidge, Nisbet, Boyle and Wright all fit in as that’s more attacking players than I’d have expected us to play. All mobile and quick though, which is significant against a team who have impressed me with being mobile and quick over the past couple of seasons.

20-09-2020, 10:41 AM
Thought we would have gone 1 up top to make us stronger in the middle of the park. I would imagine they will have most of the ball. When we turn it over we need to hit them hard and fast.

20-09-2020, 10:42 AM
Sorry but if we're serious about going for 3rd/4th then we need better than Gullan on the bench. Amazing how nobody can see that.

ChicoM1875
20-09-2020, 10:43 AM
Am I not allowed an opinion?

Aye but everyone that says your opinion is keech is allowed theirs too

20-09-2020, 10:44 AM
I absolutely love Lewis Stevenson.

20-09-2020, 10:44 AM

He's a dreamboat.

20-09-2020, 10:45 AM

Me too serious Mancrush

20-09-2020, 10:45 AM
Listening to them west coast wallowpers it amazes me when they speak of other teams in Scotland; their arrogance never once mentions the gulf in finance making a level playing field almost impossible. No mention of the bigotry which keeps the cash rolling in.
I reckon in good years Hibs have around one seventh to one eight of the uglies income and looking at trophy wins this sort of bears out as being relevant to the amount of income available.
Who eat all the pies, swally what happened to the gardener Mcoist, and the ever bitter A. Walker, only in Scotland eh. Lets no mention the EBT’s.

20-09-2020, 10:49 AM
Sorry but if we're serious about going for 3rd/4th then we need better than Gullan on the bench. Amazing how nobody can see that.

I agree with you and nowt wrong with commenting on the strength of the bench. In the forward department it is too weak for a full season.

20-09-2020, 10:49 AM
Looks like we’ve gone for something that can be adapted either way, 4-4-2 or 3-5-2. I’d be wary of playing with wing backs when their fullbacks have such license to get forward.

Come on the good guys

20-09-2020, 10:51 AM
I’m not convinced it’s an obvious 442.

Agree potential for a lot of flexibility in that line up either 352 which don't think we will as they are strong both flanks 451 Nisbet dropping into attacking mid role or 442. Against Motherwell we started 442 then were getting outplayed in midfield and changed to more defensive shape.

20-09-2020, 10:52 AM
Don’t mean to be a Moaning Minnie but why have Hibs TV not sorted out the sound on the studio part of the programme?

20-09-2020, 10:52 AM

I find it hard to believe anyone doesn't!

20-09-2020, 10:53 AM
We'll be over run in the middle, Newell isn't good enough to d the hard graft and Gogic can't do it all himself, shows how we need another strong midfielder.

20-09-2020, 10:53 AM
Can we please leave all the slagging of players until 1 minute after full time.

Then we can start an individual thread on every player, slating them and saying how they’re not good enough.

Even if we lose 1-0 and everyone plays well.

It will be interesting to see how many posts/threads there will be after this game compared to our good victory last week :greengrin

20-09-2020, 10:54 AM
We'll be over run in the middle, Newell isn't good enough to d the hard graft and Gogic can't do it all himself, shows how we need another strong midfielder.

We don’t know who’s playing in this area for Hibs

HendoDelivered
20-09-2020, 10:54 AM
Tannoy System sounding good!

20-09-2020, 10:55 AM
Big test today; we mustn't allow them time to play. We need to close them down at every opportunity. A draw would be a good result for us; if we can win, it's a massive result.

20-09-2020, 10:58 AM
I'm pleased we've got 2 strikers on the pitch but I just can't see anything other than a Sevco win today.

Gogic and Newell will have their work cut out against their 3. Both need to have a fantastic game.

Although it looks like a 4-4-2, I wonder if we'll see more of a 4-4-1-1 with Nisbet behind Doidge and tasked with helping out the midfield.

JammyDoidger
Make life hell for this shower! Into them!!

C'mon Hibs let's do this today.

20-09-2020, 10:59 AM
Thank ****, no Andy Walker doing commentary.

20-09-2020, 11:01 AM
More cardboard cut outs I see.

20-09-2020, 11:01 AM
Looking forward to the game - hope we take something from it

20-09-2020, 11:03 AM
The 352 Sky put up looked right to me.

Big game for Wright in that case. He’s probably quicker and sharper, more likely to match them in there.

1875Sean
20-09-2020, 11:04 AM
I know Hibs okay there own crowd noise in but it doesn’t sounds the best on Sky when they do it too, so much background noise

Man Down Under
20-09-2020, 11:05 AM
I know Hibs okay there own crowd noise in but it doesn’t sounds the best on Sky when they do it too, so much background noiseWonder if we'll get a nice rendition of Billy Boys

Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk

20-09-2020, 11:08 AM
Rangers really are complete ****s

20-09-2020, 11:09 AM
Early Hun dive ignored. They will try that all afternoon of course.

20-09-2020, 11:11 AM
Let off there with Morelos missing that chance

I know Hibs okay there own crowd noise in but it doesn’t sounds the best on Sky when they do it too, so much background noise

Sky Football Channel 403 doesn’t have the Sky crowd noises added.

Morelos should score.

Should be one down.

Just_Jimmy
the sky Hun love in is boak inducing.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Morelos pretends Hibs were Celtic there.

20-09-2020, 11:12 AM
Nisbit letting Goldson out far too easily there. Has to stop the centre back stepping up and playing it. Decent start so far, though. Just as I say that Morelos misses a sitter.

20-09-2020, 11:12 AM
That was a sitter for fatty. Poor marking Hibs.

20-09-2020, 11:14 AM
Sitter by morelos

Seriously crap sound quality on Hibs pass. They’ve had weeks to sort this out and we still get it same every game.

Huns knocking on the door.

Liam6270
20-09-2020, 11:15 AM
We got carved open there

Matter of time here. We’re wasteful as **** in possession

Rangers have a good spell here. We need to get hold of the ball.

JXM73
Tavernir schooling young Doig...

Why do we have to sit and listen to this fat rangers ******* commentating

1875Sean
Sky Football Channel 403 doesn’t have the Sky crowd noises added.

I think it’s the Sound that Hibs are playing, might just be me just sounds like constant booing, suppose it must be like Easter road last season

20-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Lucky from Wright.

Hibs are struggling to get into this game.

Chasing shadows at the moment.

jellybean
20-09-2020, 11:17 AM
Not a great start. C'mon Hibs!

give the boy a shout rocky

Rumble de Thump
Ally McCoist's commentary is excruciating to listen to. It's Rangers TV level bias, yet on Sky Sports.

WillowbraeHibby
give the boy a shout rocky

My first thought...

20-09-2020, 11:18 AM
Unlucky Nisbet

Zambernardi1875
20-09-2020, 11:19 AM
Ooooh great effort

Great effort

HendoDelivered
Offft

Great effort from Nisbet.

Great hit and save. Much better.

20-09-2020, 11:20 AM
What an effort and great save

20-09-2020, 11:20 AM
First shot on target in the game from Nisbet.

20-09-2020, 11:21 AM
Rangers undefeated in their last 17 top flight visits, well what about the years in the championship, biased ****s

Nisbet is class

I see Nisbet as the best player in our squad already.

Boyle 1v1 with the defender and just hits it off him...

TBF I dion't think McCoist has been too bad so far.

Rangers undefeated in their last 17 top flight visits, well what about the years in the championship, biased ****s

I find it difficult to believe they have played 17 times at Easter road.

20-09-2020, 11:22 AM
Yessssss

So unlucky Nisbet . Great save tbf

Yassss

OtleyHibs
Yaaaassssssss

Yaaaaaaaaassssssssss!!!

1-0!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

you beauty!

Yaaas!!! And I’ve won the first scorer comp too

Woohoo

Yaaaassssss:flag:

TBF I dion't think McCoist has been too bad so far.

He sounds devastated now :greengrin

jellybean
20-09-2020, 11:23 AM
Yaaaaasssss!

Holy ****

Get in

HendoDelivered
Booom!!!

Yaaaaas

Hannah_hfc
Yassss get in Hibs!!

Great finish

Ye wee beauty :greengrin:flag::flag::flag:

Defence well and truly PUNCTURED yasssss!

My stream is obviously delayed because I heard my neighbours going mental about a minute before we scored😂

20-09-2020, 11:24 AM
More like Ian Wright

Lets go Hibs, well done :thumbsup:

Must be about full time now

Hibs pass a couple of minutes behind sky then? And we’re back to no sound again 😢

Well well

pogo
Get in!🇳🇬

jellybean
My stream is obviously delayed because I heard my neighbours going mental about a minute before we scored😂

😂😂😂😂😂

20-09-2020, 11:25 AM
Did well to keep it down. Through the keepers legs.

Get in.

Yah beauty .....:flag::flag:

McCoist sounds gutted.

soon be FT shirly

20-09-2020, 11:26 AM
McCoist sounds gutted.

That numpty would have had it in his head they were going all season without conceding :-)

Well taken goal, both strikers dropping deep when needed giving us extra bodies in the middle, 442 to 451 but all players need to work hard to keep the shape.

Lets get another one Hibs.

20-09-2020, 11:27 AM
McCoist sounds gutted.

Aye, he's worried now. Long way to go yet, and watch for the Huns gamesmanship now: diving all over the place.

jellybean
20-09-2020, 11:28 AM
Nervous.

20-09-2020, 11:28 AM
How long to go?

speedy_gonzales
20-09-2020, 11:29 AM
Ally McCoist's commentary is excruciating to listen to. It's Rangers TV level bias, yet on Sky Sports.

Is there any discernible difference these days?

jellybean
20-09-2020, 11:29 AM
How long to go?

Too long!!

20-09-2020, 11:30 AM
I want a second. We need to humiliate der hun, victory is not enough

PH91
20-09-2020, 11:31 AM
Well taken goal, both strikers dropping deep when needed giving us extra bodies in the middle, 442 to 451 but all players need to work hard to keep the shape.

Its 352 with wright central. Everyone putting in a great shift so far.

20-09-2020, 11:32 AM
I hate to say it but I'd like to see us being a little Aberdeen now that we're one ahead. And counter attack for a second and third. I feel dirty now.

20-09-2020, 11:32 AM
Gogic playing well is key here.

20-09-2020, 11:33 AM
They are starting to get a wee bit frustrated. Moaning at the ref and niggly fouls.

Doidge and Nisbet are putting in a frightening amount of work up top. Brilliant to see.

McCoist wanting all our players booked

I hate to say it but I'd like to see us being a little Aberdeen now that we're one ahead. And counter attack for a second and third. I feel dirty now.

I think Aberdeen do that well but their record against the OF us brutal. Think we'll need a second to win this one.

Gogic playing well is key here.

Gogic and Nesbit are absolutely critical for us.

jellybean
20-09-2020, 11:34 AM

Exactly what I was thinking, but didn't say it because I'm one of the first to slate Aberdeen for it.😂
Slow it down Hibs.

Wright has been excellent

WillowbraeHibby
McCoist wanting all our players booked

He's like a broken record..

They are starting to get a wee bit frustrated. Moaning at the ref and niggly fouls.

Doidge and Nisbet are putting in a frightening amount of work up top. Brilliant to see.

Nisbet is right in their faces. Will test his fitness.

STFU Ally ya dick.

20-09-2020, 11:36 AM
I think Aberdeen do that well but their record against the OF us brutal. Think we'll need a second to win this one.

Another 3 and we leapfrog them into 2nd.

#notgreedy

Aw FFS. What’s going on with Morelos. Cheat

Stupidity from Porteous.

jellybean
Morelos ya diving ****

20-09-2020, 11:37 AM
Porto booked for Morelos running into him.

JXM73
Cheating ****...

OMFG@ morelos rolling about, a foul possibly yes but for gawd sake

Not a single reason for Ryan to do that. Dunno what is wrong with him sometimes

Let's see if we can wind Morelos up.

Enjoying this. Hibs are doing well so far.

WillowbraeHibby
Morelos ya diving prick

Back to the theatrics wi' Morelos.. Didn't take long...

Stupidity from Porteous. More like ridiculous from that wee fat cheat

20-09-2020, 11:38 AM
Ref couldn’t ****ing wait to show the yellow card there.

JXM73
Ffs refs a hun ****

HendoDelivered
No diving or cheating from morelos there get ur green tinted specs off boys that was stupid from Porto and arguably a red, looked an elbow.

Now Hanlon gets booked

Hanlon booked now too

Morelos should get booked as well for that - he kicked out when he was falling down.

There is every reason to try and wind him up, if I played against him I'd be nipping away at him all game as he loses the heid far too easily

Just_Jimmy
mccoist wanting Hibs booked for every foul. cock

Yup. If I was Morelos I’d be going down like a sack of tatties as well. Absolutely no need for it from Porteous and now he’s got to play an hour of the game on a booking and watch his step.

hibIBZ
Porto booked for Morelos running into him.

Yellow for me mainly because it was a tackle off the ball. If he had done that and won the ball then fair but ball was nowhere near

Not worried by them at all, they’re offering nothing.

Just keep doing what we’re doing and we’ll be fine.

Both centre halves booked before half time.

Has McCoist been told by Sky to be pro-Rangers. He wasn’t like that on BT.

JXM73
No way we're going to be allowed to win this....

FFS ref ya clown.

and now hanlon

OMFG@ morelos rolling about, a foul possibly yes but for gawd sake

Couldn't see enough on the TV to know if it was a foul or not, which makes me wonder how the ref could? Deffo a card for Hanlon though, stupid elbow.

20-09-2020, 11:39 AM
Ref doing his best for Masons FC

Just_Jimmy
we'll get someone sent off here.

Fans or no fans refs will try desperately to help Rangers.

Hanlon one is never a booking.

Hanlon yellow now. Who’s on the bench?

Now Hanlon gets booked

An absolute joke

hibIBZ
Ridiculous yellow for Hanlon, wasn't even close to being a foul

Referee is a joke.

20-09-2020, 11:40 AM
More like ridiculous from that wee fat cheat

Nonsense. As much as I dislike Morelos there’s only one person to blame there. Absolutely needless from Porteous and now he’s up against the second best player in the league for 60 mins on a booking.

We had the temerity to score against the people's team, we else can we expect?

Rangers getting all the decisions now.

Couldn't see enough on the TV to know if it was a foul or not, which makes me wonder how the ref could? Deffo a card for Hanlon though, stupid elbow.

The ref looked like he was potentially looking right at it I thought. If not then the linesman may have saw it.

Andymac85
I see what is happening here, any time we try to win the ball it’s a foul.

We will if they keep fouling.

20-09-2020, 11:41 AM
We're never going to end this with 11 Hibs players on the park.

Hanlon one is never a booking.

He elbowed him in the face. That's just inviting the ref to book him.

Nonsense. As much as I dislike Morelos there’s only one person to blame there. He ran right into Porteous who is entitled to stand his ground. Neither of the cards were even fouls imo

Scott Allan is well enough to be at the game.

thebausburst
Doing well to avoid a red the way this is going

Andymac85
The Rangers like throwing themselves to the deck eh?

Hun gamesmanship now in full swing. They will increase these tactics the longer they are behind.

20-09-2020, 11:42 AM
Sick F****** saying it about our refs, blatant cheats

Ridiculous yellow for Hanlon, wasn't even close to being a foul

He elbowed the boy in the face. Automatic booking, if not worse.

davy67 +
Fat Sally failed to mention Morelos kick out at Ryan

jellybean
I see what is happening here, any time we try to win the ball it’s a foul.

Exactly!!

20-09-2020, 11:43 AM
For one ****ing game, can Hibs TV not get the sound right!

Andymac85
When was the last time Newell hit a decent set piece?

great running back by nisbet

20-09-2020, 11:44 AM

Hes everywhere, reminds me of Vialli with all the off the ball stuff he does

accidental ?.....you sure ally?...looked naughty to me

What has happened to Newells corners? They were consistently superb but they have been woeful today.

Doing really well here :agree:

18Craig75
Can someone explain why Morelos wasn’t booked for leading with the elbow on Gogic early on? And yet Hanlon booked right away.

Maybe the players respective reactions or the fact the red is a DOB

HendoDelivered
Hope Nisbet is ok

I must be watching a different game. McCoist seems pretty balanced to me and I don't Sevco are particularly play acting any more than our players would be given the opportunity.

Brilliant stuff

thebausburst
20-09-2020, 11:45 AM
God Gogic is effective, what a player!

JXM73
I must be watching a different game. McCoist seems pretty balanced to me and I don't Sevco are particularly play acting any more than our players would be given the opportunity.

Sssshhhh...

McCoist is a terrible Hun apologist!

God Gogic

I like him too but that’s just getting carried away

20-09-2020, 11:46 AM
FFS, what a waste of a ball out of defence there.

No point in the referee for this one IMO. Just skip the middle man and give Steven Gerrard a whistle for him to use when he fancies a set piece.

cameronw-hfc
Doidge been really poor so far

thebausburst
Ref is a total joke, giving them everything!

Poor

20-09-2020, 11:47 AM

Doidge been really poor so far

1-1

You can't leave Morelos like that in the box

aw man noooo

Andymac85
Terrible defending

Magpie
Disappointing

Just_Jimmy
that's ****ing awful defending

Yeah, I mean why bother marking Morellos at the back post...

jellybean
Aww man

Pish got to see that out to half time.

Doig needs hooked IMO.

20-09-2020, 11:48 AM
That’s OK. Keep the shape, we’ve been doing fine.

Needed to get to half time. Annoying.

Basics and game management

Andymac85
What’s McGinn doing?