View Full Version : Transfer thread - hibs chat only

Pages : 1 [2]

29-09-2020, 01:30 PM
The admins have asked us not to speculate about private matters. I haven't done that.

You questioned whether football injuries and private health matters are one in the same quoting Allan's diabetes, what if this is a completely different health issue, hence why admin dont want it discussed. But continuing to pose questions you are still in a way discussing it.

29-09-2020, 01:41 PM
Hibs transfer only thread is going well. [emoji23]

It’s the usual thing these days, most threads descend into arguments. I’ll not speculate as to why that is.

29-09-2020, 01:44 PM
It’s the usual thing these days, most threads descend into arguments. I’ll not speculate as to why that is.

Cos it’s your fault, no wonder you won’t speculate.

Transfer threads go off on tangents because there isn’t enough transfer rumours, people get wound up about it every year, don’t see what the problem is.

This was proven last night, when a decent rumour comes up it’ll be discussed, when there’s not a rumour to discuss people talk pish to pass the time as it beats doing work or talking to the family.

29-09-2020, 02:01 PM
The admins have asked us not to speculate about private matters. I haven't done that.

I know a guy on twitter who regularly post pictures of twitter accounts that have blocked him, I think he's quite proud of it, to be honest.

I got to the point where I thought that he might realise that if there were that many people blocking him, maybe it's not everyone else that's the problem.

29-09-2020, 02:19 PM
They are out there playing their high class games.

:greengrin ****, didn't realise we were still playing with the "Sorrow" lyric given the thread moved on from interest in Mr Soro to Allan Campbell and Ryan Magennis. Keeping me on my toes FH.

29-09-2020, 02:34 PM
I know a guy on twitter who regularly post pictures of twitter accounts that have blocked him, I think he's quite proud of it, to be honest.

I got to the point where I thought that he might realise that if there were that many people blocking him, maybe it's not everyone else that's the problem.

Thats great :aok:

Dunno if its about Hibs or transfer rumours, though.

29-09-2020, 02:41 PM
Allan Campbell would be a fantastic signing for us. That type of industrious John McGinn type that we've missed since he left.

29-09-2020, 02:48 PM
Both McGennis or Campbell would be very good signings, I wonder if big Ron has stuck his hand in his pocket?

29-09-2020, 02:58 PM
Both McGennis or Campbell would be very good signings, I wonder if big Ron has stuck his hand in his pocket?

I don't know a lot about McGennis but I have heard he can play a bit wider as well as through the middle which seems to suit our transfer policy this window where we've looked at players that can play about 2 or 3 roles.

29-09-2020, 03:01 PM
I don't know a lot about McGennis but I have heard he can play a bit wider as well as through the middle which seems to suit our transfer policy this window where we've looked at players that can play about 2 or 3 roles.

Always good having options

29-09-2020, 03:46 PM
Are they? Every time Allan has a bad game, his diabetes is mentioned. Every time Lennon didn't give an interview, his depression was mentioned. Don't remember anyone being against the speculation then.

That’s the whole point.

No one should be talking about his diabetes or Lennon’s depression.

29-09-2020, 04:06 PM
That’s the whole point.

Anything that impacts on a player's or coach's performance is a valid talking point as long as you don't speculate, spout ill-informed rubbish or slag them off just because of it.

29-09-2020, 04:53 PM
Anything that impacts on a player's or coach's performance is a valid talking point as long as you don't speculate, spout ill-informed rubbish or slag them off just because of it.

About 95% of posts on here are speculative,ill-informed rubbish.It's a fans forum.:greengrin

29-09-2020, 05:10 PM
Hibs transfer only thread is going well. [emoji23]

Personally am totally against the very concept of this thread so I am happy to see it inevitably descend into the usual farce.

29-09-2020, 05:25 PM
Personally am totally against the very concept of this thread so I am happy to see it inevitably descend into the usual farce.

Haha! As opposed to the generic thread which had about 6 pages on spurs centre halfs!!

Greenworld
29-09-2020, 05:55 PM
Physical injuries from playing are widely accepted and spoken about, private health matters outwith football are private.The problem is its not private its seems to be common knowledge. Whether 100% true thats another matter.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

29-09-2020, 06:13 PM
St Mirren allegedly turned down a substantial offer from Hibs. I wonder how much substantial is 🤔

29-09-2020, 06:18 PM
The problem is its not private its seems to be common knowledge. Whether 100% true thats another matter.

Isn’t it about respect for the individual..if there is a material health issue - shouldn’t we let the individual divulge it when they are comfortable to, rather than speculate about it ?

29-09-2020, 06:24 PM
That’s the whole point.

Disagree completely. Diabetes and depression are pretty common problems nowadays, and talking about them is fine. If folk are taking the piss out of people with those issues, then that would be out of order obviously,

29-09-2020, 06:48 PM
Haha! As opposed to the generic thread which had about 6 pages on spurs centre halfs!!

What about them?

29-09-2020, 07:00 PM
St Mirren allegedly turned down a substantial offer from Hibs. I wonder how much substantial is 🤔

75000 and 25% sell on.

RitchieHibs
29-09-2020, 07:01 PM
Disagree completely. Diabetes and depression are pretty common problems nowadays, and talking about them is fine. If folk are taking the piss out of people with those issues, then that would be out of order obviously,

In some cases the two can be linked together. Depression can lead to comfort overeating often the wrong foodstuffs leading to obesity and potentially type 2 diabetes. Obesity itself can cause depression. On the flipside looking after the body, eating properly and some healthy exercise can help aid against depression and will often prevent diabetes type 2. It can be a very vicious cycle for sufferers.

29-09-2020, 07:15 PM
The problem is its not private its seems to be common knowledge. Whether 100% true thats another matter.

Disagree, it is personal if his health issue is something that is not in the public domain. He's never hid the fact he's diabetic and has stated publicly how Hibs were the only club to really help him with it, young kids with diabetes look up to him. If he has something more serious outwith his diabetes, then he and the club should be given the respect not to speculate until they see fit to bring to he public, if in fact there is anything seriously wrong.

29-09-2020, 07:49 PM
75000 and 25% sell on.

Need to go higher for their captain. Probably double it.

29-09-2020, 07:51 PM
75000 and 25% sell on.

Stewart Gilmour will say it’s 30%

Greenworld
29-09-2020, 07:55 PM
Isn’t it about respect for the individual..if there is a material health issue - shouldn’t we let the individual divulge it when they are comfortable to, rather than speculate about it ?I am actually agreeing but others seem to know about and talking openly about it outside of here.

29-09-2020, 07:55 PM
Stewart Gilmour will say it’s 30%

He brings this up all the time, isn't Petrie supposed to have said it was less than 30%?

29-09-2020, 07:56 PM
Interesting to note certain posters who were more than happy to regularly repeat the suggestion that Dylan McGeouch’s injuries were just “in his head” are now calling out other posters for discussing a players mental health.

Sioux
29-09-2020, 07:57 PM
75000 and 25% sell on.

So, St Mirren say its was a substantial offer, and you say £75,000.

Someone's telling porkies.

29-09-2020, 07:59 PM
He brings this up all the time, isn't Petrie supposed to have said it was less than 30%?

At an AGM he said it wasn't 30 per cent. Didn't say it wasn't 33 per cent though!

29-09-2020, 08:03 PM

Not necessarily. When you have no income then £75k could be regarded as 'substantial' for a currently injured player who is out of contract at the end of the season. It could also be St M trying to encourage a higher rival bid.

29-09-2020, 08:04 PM

Depends really, to Celtic it is chicken feed, to Hibs it is reasonable but to St.Mirren it is possibly substantial.

What do St.Mirren pay for players?

29-09-2020, 08:12 PM

An offer is usually relative to the length of time left of the contract, and the players salary
Doubt Kyle will be on massive wages at St Mirren
Add in an unsettled player, window about to close, and Saints have a big problem to deal with here

29-09-2020, 08:22 PM
Know it isn’t a rumour and didn’t want to put a separate thread but hope Scott Allan is ok and can get back to doing what he does best. Suspect the seriousness of this has us not only focusing on ensuring Scotty is fit and healthy but also on our recruitment. Centre of the park would’ve been the focus anyway but I can see us possibly going with 2 signings rather than the expected 1. We’ve got a tiny squad anyway.

Hope Scott Allan can get back playing in a fit healthy way.

29-09-2020, 08:27 PM
An offer is usually relative to the length of time left of the contract, and the players salary
Doubt Kyle will be on massive wages at St Mirren
Add in an unsettled player, window about to close, and Saints have a big problem to deal with here

It will be interesting to see how the week pans out actually. See if he remains at the club or not.

Would be good for us if we could get him ties down on a pre contract in Jan after he’s had a few months to get back to fitness, all the while we sign Campbell and we’re laughing

29-09-2020, 08:57 PM
In the rumours on twitter are true then we'll be very keen to bring in 1 if not 2 central midfielders. Don't get the sense that Jack Ross see's Mallan as a first pick.

29-09-2020, 11:30 PM
Depends really, to Celtic it is chicken feed, to Hibs it is reasonable but to St.Mirren it is possibly substantial.

What do St.Mirren pay for players?Don't know about players but pretty sure Jack Ross was on £200k salary there.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

29-09-2020, 11:57 PM
At an AGM he said it wasn't 30 per cent. Didn't say it wasn't 33 per cent though!

Was this not settled by the figures in Hibs accounts? Maybe I’m imagining it but sure it was calculated that the money given to St Mirren did equate to the 30% mark.

30-09-2020, 06:16 AM
Can't help but feel Campbell is only a decoy to get Magennis

30-09-2020, 06:28 AM
Can't help but feel Campbell is only a decoy to get Magennis

The Campbell thing was a complete non story.

All the story said was that it was a player we liked and would keep tabs on his situation.

He’s one of Scotland’s top prospects so seems pretty obvious that we’d like him.

30-09-2020, 06:34 AM
Don't know about players but pretty sure Jack Ross was on £200k salary there.

I meant as in what would they pay as a transfer fee, I don't think an awful lot so they could class £75,000 as substantial.

Not looking for an argument but I can't see any way he was on £200,000 at St.Mirren, he won't even be near that at Hibs.

Neily1982
30-09-2020, 06:36 AM
Said the exact same thing on the other Transfer thread mate, I defo agree with you

30-09-2020, 07:02 AM
The average salary for a St Mirren player last season was £46k per annum. So £75k would be substantial for st Mirren. Would be like Hibs getting £200k for a player. Based on average salaries from last season.

Caversham Green
30-09-2020, 07:02 AM
I meant as in what would they pay as a transfer fee, I don't think an awful lot so they could class £75,000 as substantial.

Not looking for an argument but I can't see any way he was on £200,000 at St.Mirren, he won't even be near that at Hibs.

They paid exactly £50,000 in transfer fees in the year to 31 May 2019.

On the McGinn payment, St Mirren show a gain on disposal of £1.017m while Hibs show a gain of £2,784,170. The WDV of players sold was £49,455 so Hibs' income from the sale of players was £2,833,625. That last figure will be net of cuts for the player, agent and Associations so the amount paid by Villa will be higher than the amount received by Hibs. If McGinn was the only player for whom Hibs received a transfer fee then I reckon that the sell-on fee was 25% of the amount Villa paid.

30-09-2020, 07:07 AM
Don't know about players but pretty sure Jack Ross was on £200k salary there.

No chance. That’s huge salary for St mirren.

30-09-2020, 07:08 AM

On the McGinn payment, St Mirren show a gain on disposal of £1.017m while Hibs show a gain of £2,784,170. The WDV of players sold was £49,455 so Hibs' income from the sale of players was £2,833,625. That last figure will be net of cuts for the player, agent and Associations so the amount paid by Villa will be higher than the amount received by Hibs. If McGinn was the only player for whom Hibs received a transfer fee then I reckon that the sell-on fee was 25% of the amount Villa paid.

Great work Detective Green, puts a few theories to bed

30-09-2020, 07:55 AM

I doth my cap to you sir.

30-09-2020, 09:04 AM
Interesting to note certain posters who were more than happy to regularly repeat the suggestion that Dylan McGeouch’s injuries were just “in his head” are now calling out other posters for discussing a players mental health.
You can't compare mild hypochondria, or being an egg shell, to a mental health issue. I can't help but feel that concern for real and proper mental health issues is being diluted by the sad but fashionable badge collecting brigade who claim they have a mental health problem when they are just a bit down or sad or are having to deal with an unwelcome but everyday issue. It's also getting rammed down our throats by the media, some of whom like the horrendous Davina McCall and Piers Morgan, seem to set out to make folk they are interviewing break down. Makes me sick.

GreenPJ
30-09-2020, 10:13 AM
You can't compare mild hypochondria, or being an egg shell, to a mental health issue. I can't help but feel that concern for real and proper mental health issues is being diluted by the sad but fashionable badge collecting brigade who claim they have a mental health problem when they are just a bit down or sad or are having to deal with an unwelcome but everyday issue. It's also getting rammed down our throats by the media, some of whom like the horrendous Davina McCall and Piers Morgan, seem to set out to make folk they are interviewing break down. Makes me sick.

Mental health challenges or mental wellbeing covers a very broad spectrum - it may start with being a bit down or a bit sad but it can lead to greater problems and anyone who has suffered from mental wellbeing challenges will tell you it can very quickly lead to a downward spiral. I agree that celebs who almost revel in the opportunity to dig up someone's issues is repulsive but at the same time its not correct to dismiss people who may not be diagnosed with a full mental health disorder today but doesn't mean that people don't need a level of understanding and support to stop them falling further down the hole. Like most health issues intervention and prevention has to be the objective.

30-09-2020, 10:28 AM

Your post starts with a misunderstanding of what hypochondria means and goes downhill fast from there.

30-09-2020, 10:47 AM
Great work Detective Green, puts a few theories to bed

Unfortunately it doesn't really. Cav has done great work here but the detail in the Hibs accounts is insufficient to be specific about any % paid to St Mirren. Taking Cav's numbers at face value, of almost £3m to Hibs & £1m to St M takes the SJM fee up to £4m, considerably more than was reported at the time. I'm fine with that, the £3m commonly stated may have been our net share. Unfortunately Hibs accounts don't identify individual transfers so, as Cav acknowledges, the total may include other transfer income. I suspect it includes about £150k for Simon Murray & it may also include a payment for Jason. The more our income for SJM is reduced, the higher the % to St M. Another caveat however is I don't know if the St M income of £1m is also exclusive to the SJM transfer, Cav may have details on this.
I suspect however, it may also just be down to interpretation. If we got £3m & St M got £1m then that means St M got 25% of the total. It also means however that St M got 33% of the value we received, ie 33% uplift on our transfer fee received. That could explain the difference in comments between RP & the St M Chairman, both putting the best spin on it for their own support. I'm afraid that's about as definitive as we'll get. At the end of the day we can really only say it's somewhere between 25% & 33% & I agree with Cav that it's probably closer to the former.

30-09-2020, 10:57 AM

Not looking for an argument but I can't see any way he was on £200,000 at St.Mirren, he won't even be near that at Hibs.£75k is a substantial sum for a lot of the top smaller clubs in SPL given the current situation.

I can't remember the source but there a lot of websites giving out salary indications based on unnamed data. I could well have been scunnered, but Ross was supposedly on £350k at Sunderland and had increased his salary 5 fold from Buddies. I've googled since my initial post. That was from the Sun, so I won't pin any figure down based on that source.

I saw you posting about Hatelys assurance package at Huns, so I'm guessing you do have an inkling about football finances from your career.

Caversham Green
30-09-2020, 11:48 AM
Unfortunately it doesn't really. Cav has done great work here but the detail in the Hibs accounts is insufficient to be specific about any % paid to St Mirren. Taking Cav's numbers at face value, of almost £3m to Hibs & £1m to St M takes the SJM fee up to £4m, considerably more than was reported at the time. I'm fine with that, the £3m commonly stated may have been our net share. Unfortunately Hibs accounts don't identify individual transfers so, as Cav acknowledges, the total may include other transfer income. I suspect it includes about £150k for Simon Murray & it may also include a payment for Jason. The more our income for SJM is reduced, the higher the % to St M. Another caveat however is I don't know if the St M income of £1m is also exclusive to the SJM transfer, Cav may have details on this.
I suspect however, it may also just be down to interpretation. If we got £3m & St M got £1m then that means St M got 25% of the total. It also means however that St M got 33% of the value we received, ie 33% uplift on our transfer fee received. That could explain the difference in comments between RP & the St M Chairman, both putting the best spin on it for their own support. I'm afraid that's about as definitive as we'll get. At the end of the day we can really only say it's somewhere between 25% & 33% & I agree with Cav that it's probably closer to the former.

I agree with all that but there are a couple of further considerations to be made. First, the amounts that go to players, agents and Association is quite significant so smaller fees like the Simon Murray one wouldn't have a huge impact on my conclusions unless there were three or four of them. Jason was sold in the previous year so the main fee wouldn't be included, although it's possible there were add-ons but given his performance down there I suspect they would be minimal. Secondly, by all accounts there were substantial add-ons to the McGinn fee and since Villa had achieved promotion by the year end (reportedly one of the add-ons) that would be included in the Hibs and St Mirren accounts and might well bring the total receivable to nearer £4m. That is borne out by the fact that debtors have increased significantly in the accounts of both club.

It's not clear if St Mirren sold any players, but there is an impairment deduction suggesting they released or sacked a player that they'd paid a fee for. The gain in their accounts is a round figure which suggests to me it was only the McGinn fee.

It's not possible to be entirely sure, but the more I look at it the more I think 25% is likely to be the right answer.

30-09-2020, 12:41 PM

That's a pretty horrific view of mental health and is the kind of viewpoint that does nothing to advance the conversation about mental well-being, especially in this time where a number of the things people take joy from or use to relax and unwind are unavailable.

Suggesting people are actually taking mental health onboard like some kind of "trendy" thing or like some kind of new fashion they must be seen in is a really patronising and uncaring view and anyone brining the mental health conversation into the public forum has to be a good thing.

But you are pushing the typical old school harmful view that people who feel sad or are struggling with something specific should just harden up and get the hell on with it and stop complaining. Not helpful in the slightest and in my view your post is both misguided and embarrassing.

30-09-2020, 12:47 PM
I agree with all that but there are a couple of further considerations to be made. First, the amounts that go to players, agents and Association is quite significant so smaller fees like the Simon Murray one wouldn't have a huge impact on my conclusions unless there were three or four of them. Jason was sold in the previous year so the main fee wouldn't be included, although it's possible there were add-ons but given his performance down there I suspect they would be minimal. Secondly, by all accounts there were substantial add-ons to the McGinn fee and since Villa had achieved promotion by the year end (reportedly one of the add-ons) that would be included in the Hibs and St Mirren accounts and might well bring the total receivable to nearer £4m. That is borne out by the fact that debtors have increased significantly in the accounts of both club.

It's not clear if St Mirren sold any players, but there is an impairment deduction suggesting they released or sacked a player that they'd paid a fee for. The gain in their accounts is a round figure which suggests to me it was only the McGinn fee.

It's not possible to be entirely sure, but the more I look at it the more I think 25% is likely to be the right answer.

Thanks Cav [emoji736] [emoji736]

30-09-2020, 12:59 PM
That's a pretty horrific view of mental health and is the kind of viewpoint that does nothing to advance the conversation about mental well-being, especially in this time where a number of the things people take joy from or use to relax and unwind are unavailable.

Suggesting people are actually taking mental health onboard like some kind of "trendy" thing or like some kind of new fashion they must be seen in is a really patronising and uncaring view and anyone brining the mental health conversation into the public forum has to be a good thing.

But you are pushing the typical old school harmful view that people who feel sad or are struggling with something specific should just harden up and get the hell on with it and stop complaining. Not helpful in the slightest and in my view your post is both misguided and embarrassing.

30-09-2020, 01:02 PM

I agree. I think it's down to RP, (rightly IMO) considering it as 25% of the total fee & Stewart Gilmour describing it as 33% = to the uplift on what we received. Everyone's a winner!!

30-09-2020, 01:38 PM

Aw man. For this post alone I'm kinda regretting setting up a hibs transfers thread.
SO much wrong with this post but maybe it's just easiest to say can we keep this thread for its purpose please...

30-09-2020, 01:41 PM
Any transfer news then or is this thread pure hypocrisy central? 🤣🤣

30-09-2020, 01:54 PM
Any transfer news then or is this thread pure hypocrisy central? 🤣🤣

Yep, Hibs only going well eh?

30-09-2020, 03:18 PM

He’s kinda got a point though.

Mind when we were in full lockdown, nobody bothered about having to stay home at the weekends when the weather was crap.

When the sun was out though, all of a sudden folk needed outdoors for their mental health!

Same as fold on here claiming they need to get to a game of football for their mental health.

That’s total BS and folk are throwing ‘mental health’ around as an excuse for all sorts of things now.

30-09-2020, 03:40 PM
Aw man. For this post alone I'm kinda regretting setting up a hibs transfers thread.
SO much wrong with this post but maybe it's just easiest to say can we keep this thread for its purpose please...

It was a good try, but afraid its all gone off piste now..............there is always the "close thread" option :greengrin

30-09-2020, 05:22 PM

Beautiful work Cav :top marks

30-09-2020, 05:41 PM

Mind when we were in full lockdown, nobody bothered about having to stay home at the weekends when the weather was crap.

When the sun was out though, all of a sudden folk needed outdoors for their mental health!

Same as fold on here claiming they need to get to a game of football for their mental health.

That’s total BS and folk are throwing ‘mental health’ around as an excuse for all sorts of things now.

He doesn't really have a rational point.

And who are you or I or anyone else to say hay is t genuine? I know a whole host of simple things that I have taken for granted for years that when not been made available to me have compounded how I feel and how I deal with navigating the world.

Dismissing what someone might say is important to them and their wellbeing, either mentally or physically, is judgemental and unfair to that specific person and their own needs.

We all have pressures and stresses we have to cope with and when normal coping mechanisms are not available to people then of course that could impact on them and should not be dismissed with a wave of the hand as bull**** or just to stop whining and that they should just go harden the **** up.

30-09-2020, 06:01 PM

Most people would kinda want to go out rather than be locked in when the weathers kinda nice and probably kinda happy to stay in when it’s kinda crap.

30-09-2020, 06:40 PM

I can only speak from my own personal experience but you're way off the mark IMO

Early on I was quite happy sitting about the house, getting odd jobs done that had been put off, playing some PC games, watching films, eating badly.

Now, over 6 months on and I'm still not back at work, its getting a bit soul destroying. I am fortunate enough to have great friends and family around me so it hasn't harmed my mental health too much. That being said, when everyone else in the house is out and I'm the only one in for 8 hours, it is horrendous. Those living alone must be struggling right now.

30-09-2020, 06:52 PM

I don't want to hijack the thread either, so perhaps this debate can be continued on the Depression and Anxiety thread. Feel free to post your thoughts there.

30-09-2020, 07:21 PM
I don't want to hijack the thread either, so perhaps this debate can be continued on the Depression and Anxiety thread. Feel free to post your thoughts there.
Good point well made. Any update on the 3 names we are apparently interested in?

30-09-2020, 07:23 PM
It was a good try, but afraid its all gone off piste now..............there is always the "close thread" option :greengrin

It was always going to drift, as does the normal transfer thread when there's not much to discuss about Hibs, but I didn't realise this one would discuss skiing.

30-09-2020, 07:24 PM
Good point well made. Any update on the 3 names we are apparently interested in?

3? Campbell, Magennis and who's the 3rd? What have i missed 🤔

30-09-2020, 07:27 PM
3? Campbell, Magennis and who's the 3rd? What have i missed 🤔

Dementia was the 3rd, no?

30-09-2020, 08:25 PM
I can only speak from my own personal experience but you're way off the mark IMO

Early on I was quite happy sitting about the house, getting odd jobs done that had been put off, playing some PC games, watching films, eating badly.

Now, over 6 months on and I'm still not back at work, its getting a bit soul destroying. I am fortunate enough to have great friends and family around me so it hasn't harmed my mental health too much. That being said, when everyone else in the house is out and I'm the only one in for 8 hours, it is horrendous. Those living alone must be struggling right now.

At least you have .net to cheer you up 😂

30-09-2020, 09:01 PM

A genuine insight into your provocative posting style IMO.

30-09-2020, 09:08 PM

30-09-2020, 09:11 PM
Any HIBS transfer news??

30-09-2020, 09:37 PM
Harsh as **** on MW.

30-09-2020, 09:38 PM

Nah. If he/she is reaching out or opening up it’s absolutely brutal to be laughed at. You’re better than that mate 👍

30-09-2020, 09:42 PM

Nice one mate. Very funny. My style has been like this for years. Not changing when I go back, either.

30-09-2020, 09:45 PM
Nah. If he/she is reaching out or opening up it’s absolutely brutal to be laughed at. You’re better than that mate 👍

He isn't better than that.

30-09-2020, 09:55 PM

Come on now eh

30-09-2020, 09:55 PM

Stick in mate we’ll all get out the other side, what a great day that’ll be.

30-09-2020, 10:01 PM
Stick in mate we’ll all get out the other side, what a great day that’ll be.

Appreciated.

Missing Hibs as well, as I'm sure many of us are. Will be brilliant when we're all back. This period will be a thing of the past before long.

30-09-2020, 10:10 PM
Appreciated.

Missing Hibs as well, as I'm sure many of us are. Will be brilliant when we're all back. This period will be a thing of the past before long.

I was in the same boat as you a month and a bit ago - you’ll return with a new enthusiasm. If you can take up jogging in the interim I highly recommend that as it’s very good for your mind.

We’ll get there.

30-09-2020, 10:17 PM
I was in the same boat as you a month and a bit ago - you’ll return with a new enthusiasm. If you can take up jogging in the interim I highly recommend that as it’s very good for your mind.

We’ll get there.
Yeah, been going to the gym regularly since they reopened. It's a big help. It's been very busy as well, definitely a few others using it as a way to get out and put their mind to something positive.

30-09-2020, 10:18 PM

Stick in mate, hopefully won’t be too long before folk are allowed back at Easter Road and we have something to look forward to all week again.

30-09-2020, 10:21 PM

Poor show openly mocking someone who has opened up about their mental health struggles over the past year.

30-09-2020, 10:26 PM
Poor show openly mocking someone who has opened up about their mental health struggles over the past year.

Aye you’re right, absolute pish behaviour that.

at last 61
30-09-2020, 11:27 PM
It would be worse if you were still suffering from covid and can't do much without being exhausted, try and stay positive and remember you could be worse you could be a jambo 😁😁

hhibs
30-09-2020, 11:27 PM

Agree that very unlikely was on that at St. Mirren however I would say it is entirely possible he is at Hibs.

Inconsequential
01-10-2020, 12:18 AM

Now, over 6 months on and I'm still not back at work, its getting a bit soul destroying. I am fortunate enough to have great friends and family around me so it hasn't harmed my mental health too much. That being said, when everyone else in the house is out and I'm the only one in for 8 hours, it is horrendous. Those living alone must be struggling right now. I live alone and have a history of poor mental health. It is a struggle at the moment but then it's what I'm used to. The situation with covid has highlighted the realisation how easy it is for anyone to slip into depression when people are powerless to change the circumstances they find themselves in. Previously people with mental health problems wouldn't really enter the public's thinking. Anybody can suffer with mental health but you wouldn't realise. Could be your neighbour.

01-10-2020, 12:49 AM

Aye. Hilarious right enough.

01-10-2020, 02:04 AM
I live alone and have a history of poor mental health. It is a struggle at the moment but then it's what I'm used to. The situation with covid has highlighted the realisation how easy it is for anyone to slip into depression when people are powerless to change the circumstances they find themselves in. Previously people with mental health problems wouldn't really enter the public's thinking. Anybody can suffer with mental health but you wouldn't realise. Could be your neighbour.

I have been there. Going out for walks helped. Looking forward to Hibs games even though I could not afford to go to many in person was a big help. Good friends kept in touch to. Eventually things turned round. One of the positives of Covid 19 is it easier to to talk about mental health issues

01-10-2020, 04:13 AM
He isn't better than that.

You know where I am to PM mate. There’s lots in a similar position. Far braver than me 👌

01-10-2020, 04:39 AM
Yeah, been going to the gym regularly since they reopened. It's a big help. It's been very busy as well, definitely a few others using it as a way to get out and put their mind to something positive.

Ya another strand you could look at a new hobby, learn. a new skill.

Id always loved when I chanced upon folks with speed boats on Inverleith pond. Well one Saturday I thought stuff it and got a couple (for the boys of course - they have a range of prices at Wonderland on Lothian road quite reasonable.) Great fun. And Mikey finally inspired me to get a starter level telescope - it’s fab so for the long winter nights there’s a wee bonus... look at the PM thread. Mikey’s photos Are stunning.

In terms of anew skill -British sign language - I started just learning the alphabet. There’s images on the internet - took me about 15-30 mins to get is - the K is a right tricky bass. Felt good about that - if you’re interested you can even take a course for a small amount - think it might even be a donation in COVID times.

Big90inOz
01-10-2020, 05:15 AM

I have to say I'm the opposite.

I really struggled with being home for the first 2 weeks, now I struggle to last more than 4 hrs in the office. Been working from home since March 15th and now I'm the only one left working consistently from home and loving it. Less interruptions, no 40 min travel time there and back, only the 2 dogs to talk to most days ( and I get more sensible conversations than some of the ones at work) and I have lost 10kg's (although I don't know how), I can get all the little jobs done through the day which I would normally do once home like collect the chook eggs, feed the dogs, set the wood burner, check on the veggies, cut the grass, chop firewood, prepare the tea for me and the missus( when she is working) etc etc. I get more done from home both work and personal wise. Most days its myself and the wife home but she has taken over the office and I'm on the dining room table so we see each other about 3 times a day if both working.

I can understand why it gets to people and I know some who really struggled but I love the working from home now and have no intention of voluntarily returning to the office on a regular basis. I find breaking my day up by doing tasks which take little time and going for a couple of min walk around the house takes me out of the I'm ready to throw the laptop through the window back to my place of inner peace :greengrin

I appreciate I'm one of the lucky ones

01-10-2020, 05:56 AM
A wee Friday signing wouldn't go amiss this week

01-10-2020, 06:27 AM
If anyone on here is struggling with depression or just feelings of sadness I’d really suggest a football forum is not the best place to spend your spare time. Arguments are the norm, this in turn creates bad feelings, and it can only be a negative for your mental health if you are struggling. There are ofcourse other parts of the forum that spend a bit more time on non football subjects and they are well worth reading etc. But I’d say to anyone struggling with mental health, get some real help, build a routine that removes you from the darker thoughts in your life, pick up some wellness techniques. There are some great wellness experts on this sites that I’m sure will reach out to you. But arguing on a forum is the wrong way to go.

01-10-2020, 06:41 AM

I really struggled with being home for the first 2 weeks, now I struggle to last more than 4 hrs in the office. Been working from home since March 15th and now I'm the only one left working consistently from home and loving it. Less interruptions, no 40 min travel time there and back, only the 2 dogs to talk to most days ( and I get more sensible conversations than some of the ones at work) and I have lost 10kg's (although I don't know how), I can get all the little jobs done through the day which I would normally do once home like collect the chook eggs, feed the dogs, set the wood burner, check on the veggies, cut the grass, chop firewood, prepare the tea for me and the missus( when she is working) etc etc. I get more done from home both work and personal wise. Most days its myself and the wife home but she has taken over the office and I'm on the dining room table so we see each other about 3 times a day if both working.

I can understand why it gets to people and I know some who really struggled but I love the working from home now and have no intention of voluntarily returning to the office on a regular basis. I find breaking my day up by doing tasks which take little time and going for a couple of min walk around the house takes me out of the I'm ready to throw the laptop through the window back to my place of inner peace :greengrin

I agree with this. Hard for many but I’ve worked from home for 5 years. A dug was the best thing I got. Forces you to get out and exercise. I’ll happily never work in an office again

01-10-2020, 06:44 AM
Jim Goodwin in the press today sharing why he has no plans to let Magennis go in this window ..recognising he may choose to go at the end of his contract . Interestingly he says “sitting with 150k in the bank account” is no interest to him...so perhaps a slip on the amount of fee currently being offered..

Looks like it would take a head turning offer or the player to push for the move . Goodwin also shares that Magennis family are all saints fans, follow them home and away ..so even less likelihood he would push for a move until end of his contract. That one will go the last day of the window I guess....

01-10-2020, 06:47 AM
:agree: hilarious, pair of comedians :rolleyes:

01-10-2020, 06:49 AM
Jim Goodwin in the press today sharing why he has no plans to let Magennis go in this window ..recognising he may choose to go at the end of his contract . Interestingly he says “sitting with 150k in the bank account” is no interest to him...so perhaps a slip on the amount of fee currently being offered..

Looks like it would take a head turning offer or the player to push for the move . Goodwin also shares that Magennis family are all saints fans, follow them home and away ..so even less likelihood he would push for a move until end of his contract. That one will go the last day of the window I guess....

That’s sneaky as **** from Goodwin if he’s slipped the offer casually into the interview. What a walloper.

01-10-2020, 06:55 AM

Interesting.

I’d be happy to sign him on a pre contract in Jan and try to get Campbell done this window

18Craig75
01-10-2020, 06:59 AM
Are we the only club that does their transfer dealings with a bit of class and dignity anymore?

01-10-2020, 07:00 AM

Although I dont think he has specifically mentioned the player being happy to stay in anything ive heard

That omission makes it obvious Magennis is keen for a move

01-10-2020, 07:35 AM
Although I dont think he has specifically mentioned the player being happy to stay in anything ive heard

That omission makes it obvious Magennis is keen for a move

the mood music on it suggests it seems certain the player would like the move...don't think he will make a nuisance of himself to push for it though - and tbh I respect him for that

01-10-2020, 07:37 AM

Agree I worked a lot from home over the last four years before I recently retired, mainly because I was in the Pacific time zone for an international company. I would usually work a Sunday from home and have a Monday off. I enjoyed being in relaxed clothes, making good coffee whenever I wanted and having lunch with my wife and a nice view of the river from our apartment. No commute and very little office politics. It made me realise I should get a life and live my life and I decided to retire a few years earlier than planned.

01-10-2020, 07:42 AM
the mood music on it suggests it seems certain the player would like the move...don't think he will make a nuisance of himself to push for it though - and tbh I respect him for that

The remaining slight hope that we have in all this is Magennis's relationship with Jack Ross. It could be that if the player's not necessarily looking to move, he might be swayed to come to us (and also KB Aberdeen) because of this.

Fingers crossed.

01-10-2020, 09:26 AM
If ar the start of this window you gave me a choice of any young midfielder in Scotland then Campbell would have been my choice. I always filed that one under "no chance". While that may still be the case, I'm delighted that we are in the mix for him.

01-10-2020, 09:27 AM

You suggest I take my view on this to the Holy Ground but are happy to let others continue discussing it here.

Any reason why?

01-10-2020, 09:41 AM
You suggest I take my view on this to the Holy Ground but are happy to let others continue discussing it here.

Any reason why?

Are you under the misapprehension that CWG is an admin? To me his post about continuing the discussion on a thread designated to the subject just seemed to be a friendly suggestion.

01-10-2020, 09:50 AM
Just wondering why the opposing view gets asked to take it elsewhere but everyone else is free to discuss it here.

No biggie, just curious.

01-10-2020, 09:56 AM
Two words that would make me push for a move if I were Kyle Magennis - John McGinn.

01-10-2020, 10:02 AM

Laughing at Modfather not who he was talking about, big difference.

If anyone has struggles with depression in any form it's not a laughing matter, I have a daughter who suffers with extreme anxiety, so understand it. I genuinely seen Modfathers post as humerous and not slagging someone off. If MWH has been upset I apologise, wasn't meant as an dig at him.

Brummie_Hibs
01-10-2020, 10:05 AM
Just wondering why the opposing view gets asked to take it elsewhere but everyone else is free to discuss it here.

No biggie, just curious.

Today's wokes society

01-10-2020, 10:23 AM

Any reason why?

I found your post "That’s total BS and folk are throwing ‘mental health’ around as an excuse for all sorts of things now." interesting, to say the least. My suggestion was that you might be better served posting that on the Depression and Anxiety thread, and having a proper debate with those who are affected.

As for "happy to let others...." etc, that's not my call; as has been said, I'm not an admin. But, FTR, just as in the D&A thread, I'm heartened to see so many opening up.

01-10-2020, 10:28 AM
Today's wokes society

What does that even mean?

01-10-2020, 11:01 AM
I found your post "That’s total BS and folk are throwing ‘mental health’ around as an excuse for all sorts of things now." interesting, to say the least. My suggestion was that you might be better served posting that on the Depression and Anxiety thread, and having a proper debate with those who are affected.

As for "happy to let others...." etc, that's not my call; as has been said, I'm not an admin. But, FTR, just as in the D&A thread, I'm heartened to see so many opening up.

Fair enough.

There were plenty of posts discussing the issue on this thread though so I thought it fine to add my views.

Your post did come across as though you were part of the admin team and you don't offer an explanation as to why others shouldn't continue the discussion elsewhere.

Appreciate your reply.

01-10-2020, 11:17 AM
Fair enough.

There were plenty of posts discussing the issue on this thread though so I thought it fine to add my views.

Your post did come across as though you were part of the admin team and you don't offer an explanation as to why others shouldn't continue the discussion elsewhere.

Appreciate your reply.

Just to be clear, it wasn't the discussion that I was commenting on, just that particular comment .

01-10-2020, 12:24 PM
Suggestions on twitter that hallberg is away?

01-10-2020, 12:28 PM

Seen only 1 guy saying he was back in Sweden, but that was last night, hadn't seen any reports since?

01-10-2020, 12:32 PM
Seen only 1 guy saying he was back in Sweden, but that was last night, hadn't seen any reports since?

But only little tourists...

Souter96Mac
01-10-2020, 12:32 PM

I did see he posted some photos on his Instagram, but it was t clear if they were older photos or if they were ones he took yesterday in Sweden.

NC1875
01-10-2020, 12:46 PM
I do think Hallberg will go before the window closes. Not good enough for where we want to be. And if he wants first team football he’ll have to leave to get it. Would need 2 in midfield if that was the case though.

01-10-2020, 12:48 PM
I do think Hallberg will go before the window closes. Not good enough for where we want to be. And if he wants first team football he’ll have to leave to get it. Would need 2 in midfield if that was the case though.

Stephen McGinn can play the Hallberg sub role

01-10-2020, 12:49 PM
That’s sneaky as **** from Goodwin if he’s slipped the offer casually into the interview. What a walloper.

He does realise he can buy players with the 150k

01-10-2020, 01:54 PM
He does realise he can buy players with the 150k

Maybe he values him at more that £150k or he thinks that he wouldn't be able to replace him and so a final season out of him is worth more than £150k?

The attitude on here towards little old St Mirren having the temerity to stand up to our might is something I'd expect to (and have) read on a Bigot Brothers forum.

01-10-2020, 02:03 PM
What does that even mean?

Namby pamby, everyone’s a victim, ultra PC, who’s to blame (not me!), moaning, let’s pull up a beanbag and discuss it culture. And god forbid you disagree or have a dissenting opinion as you will be called out as a
Racist/homophobe/misogynist/thick/dinosaur. But that’s for another thread.
Anyone got any transfer gossip?

01-10-2020, 02:07 PM
Maybe he values him at more that £150k or he thinks that he wouldn't be able to replace him and so a final season out of him is worth more than £150k?

The attitude on here towards little old St Mirren having the temerity to stand up to our might is something I'd expect to (and have) read on a Bigot Brothers forum.

Agreed ✅

01-10-2020, 02:09 PM

I was making comment about Goodwin saying there was no use to him of 150k in the bank not that MacGennis was worth that. They have every right to look for the best they can get or not sell him at all.

01-10-2020, 02:10 PM

Are folk saying that or is their gripe more the fact St Mirren are going public with this ?

01-10-2020, 02:28 PM
Are folk saying that or is their gripe more the fact St Mirren are going public with this ?

I think it's been both tbh. They've every right to go public too. IIRC we did the exact same thing when Rangers were bidding for Scott Allan (probably not long before we sold him to Celtic). It's all strategy to placate their support and potentially maximise their income, if the player does go.

01-10-2020, 02:32 PM
Maybe they are going public in an effort to stop further bids, just a thought.

01-10-2020, 02:35 PM
I think it's been both tbh. They've every right to go public too. IIRC we did the exact same thing when Rangers were bidding for Scott Allan (probably not long before we sold him to Celtic). It's all strategy to placate their support and potentially maximise their income, if the player does go.

My memory could well be failing me but I didn’t think we had initially with Scott Allan. I can see both sides. I like how we go about business, but I totally get St Mirren, in this case, wanting to get as much for their player as possible.

01-10-2020, 02:37 PM
Maybe they are going public in an effort to stop further bids, just a thought.

They could equally have said to us in private he’s not for sale, don’t bother bidding any more. The fact we appear to have put in a couple of bids suggests they didn’t do that after the first one went in.

mal
01-10-2020, 02:56 PM
Namby pamby, everyone’s a victim, ultra PC, who’s to blame (not me!), moaning, let’s pull up a beanbag and discuss it culture. And god forbid you disagree or have a dissenting opinion as you will be called out as a
Racist/homophobe/misogynist/thick/dinosaur. But that’s for another thread.
Anyone got any transfer gossip?

"Namby pamby" means "weak or ineffectual", "lacking in strength or courage". That's the exact opposite of someone who is confronting mental health issues or publicly challenging inequalities or injustices in society, often against strenuous opposition from the ignorant or the bigoted, or simply those with a vested interest in the status quo.

01-10-2020, 03:48 PM

I'm pretty sure I seen him this morning around 8.15 at Picardy Place.

01-10-2020, 03:51 PM
I'm pretty sure I seen him this morning around 8.15 at Picardy Place.

He stays around there so quite possible that it was him.

01-10-2020, 03:53 PM
I see having "Hibs Chat Only" in the thread title is working wonders

01-10-2020, 03:57 PM
"Namby pamby" means "weak or ineffectual", "lacking in strength or courage". That's the exact opposite of someone who is confronting mental health issues or publicly challenging inequalities or injustices in society, often against strenuous opposition from the ignorant or the bigoted, or simply those with a vested interest in the status quo.

Correct 👍

01-10-2020, 04:01 PM

On a personal level, wishing you and all of us the very best.

1 8 7 5
01-10-2020, 04:03 PM
I see having "Hibs Chat Only" in the thread title is working wonders

brutal. From the usual slavers tae

01-10-2020, 04:05 PM
Any transfer news on the Hibs Chat Only thread?

01-10-2020, 07:27 PM
It’s a total pain in the arse having to check both threads just merge them and get on with it. Police the guff to get it back on track no?

01-10-2020, 07:32 PM
It’s a total pain in the arse having to check both threads just merge them and get on with it. Police the guff to get it back on track no?

Folk just need to stop getting so precious about transfer threads going off on tangents when there’s no rumours to discuss.

One thread is enough, I completely agree, it’s not realistic to have a thread solely about rumours though, the bit inbetween when nothing much is happening will see folk talking rubbish.

It’s the same every transfer window and I’ll never understand why people get so angry about it.

Yet people continually refer to Twitter as a source without it being challenged or given a life time ban for it.

01-10-2020, 07:40 PM
Folk just need to stop getting so precious about transfer threads going off on tangents when there’s no rumours to discuss.

One thread is enough, I completely agree, it’s not realistic to have a thread solely about rumours though, the bit inbetween when nothing much is happening will see folk talking rubbish.

It’s the same every transfer window and I’ll never understand why people get so angry about it.

Yet people continually refer to Twitter as a source without it being challenged or given a life time ban for it.

You challenge the twitter source every time tbf

01-10-2020, 07:42 PM

I’d delete the other one

01-10-2020, 07:42 PM
You challenge the twitter source every time tbf

Correct.

I mean everyone else though. Doesn’t get challenged anywhere near enough IMO.

Juice-Terry
01-10-2020, 07:48 PM

I suppose quite a number of people go on transfer threads to read about tranfers and rumours about transfers. If there are no transfers or rumours of transfers but you're dying to discuss tangential things, why not start a new thread? The moaners (who for most part are entirely justified in moaning) simply don't want to trawl through massive amounts of tangential stuff to get to the occasional transfer news or rumours.

Juice-Terry
01-10-2020, 07:50 PM
So maybe I shouldn't have said that, or this, in a tranfer thread? Hey ho....

02-10-2020, 01:16 PM
So no chat then?

02-10-2020, 01:19 PM
Posted this on the main transfer page may as well put it on this one too; From Daily Ranger

Hibs are set to land St Mirren ’s Kyle Magennis at the third time of asking.

The Edinburgh club are on the verge of agreeing a six-figure deal with the Buddies for their midfielder.

It is understood that Magennis is currently in the capital going through his medical with the Easter Road club.

Saints wanted to keep a hold of their home-grown star and that was why they had thrown out two earlier bids, as confirmed in an official club statement earlier this week.

But the player then indicated he was keen to talk to Hibs and is now set to reunite with Easter Road manager Jack Ross, who he previously played under at St Mirren.

It is a severe blow to Saints boss Jim Goodwin who was desperate to keep him in Paisley and had left a long-term deal on the table.

The 22-year-old is out of contract at the end of the season and could have signed a pre-contract and for compensation in the summer.

02-10-2020, 01:22 PM
Nice one:thumbsup:

02-10-2020, 01:27 PM
Will thst make 4 ex St mirren players now?

2x mcginn
Magennis
Mallan.

Can't say I can remember ever being impressed with him, but we've been after him for a while, so must have something about him.

02-10-2020, 01:27 PM
Real transfer news on 2 threads! GIRUY moaners. :wink:

RitchieHibs
02-10-2020, 01:35 PM
Nice one:thumbsup:

I'll second that. :thumbsup:

Great news. Young hungry talented player.

Delighted if it goes through.

02-10-2020, 01:38 PM

2x mcginn
Magennis
Mallan.

Can't say I can remember ever being impressed with him, but we've been after him for a while, so must have something about him.

5, Daz.

HendoDelivered
02-10-2020, 01:41 PM

2x mcginn
Magennis
Mallan.

Jack Ross too :greengrin

02-10-2020, 01:47 PM
Jim Duffy tried the same with his ex Dundee players

That ended well ! 😂

02-10-2020, 01:54 PM

That ended well ! 😂

Forget that Magennis has signed

What a signing ! 😃

02-10-2020, 02:27 PM
St mirren fans rate him highly and they are the guys who see him every week so I will take that.
Nice work hibs!

Callyballybe
02-10-2020, 03:20 PM
Seems someone has been extremely quick in updated the Kyle Magennis Wikipedia page. This little gem at the bottom of the page made me laugh:

"In September 2020, St Mirren stated they had rejected a "substantial" offer for Magennis from Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.). The midfielder now plays for Jack Ross’ Hibs and now has Tom English and Ewan Murray in absolute meltdown."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kyle_Magennis

02-10-2020, 03:33 PM
Forget that Magennis has signed

What a signing ! 😃
Defo? No late gazump from the gazumping fud McInnes?

02-10-2020, 03:34 PM
Awe Naw how are we gonna explain this transfer to that numbskull Tam Englisher and his wee golfing chummy

H18S NX
02-10-2020, 03:37 PM

That ended well ! 😂......Just,no gonnae dae that,:bitchy::wink:

02-10-2020, 03:56 PM
i'm hearing this is subject to approval from tom english

02-10-2020, 04:11 PM

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

RitchieHibs
02-10-2020, 04:19 PM

He's rounding up his sportsound A team as we speak. Levein, Robbie Replay, Billy Dodds, Neil McCann with invited guests Leslie Deans and Saughton Jambo.

02-10-2020, 04:20 PM

May be a while as he'll still be writing up the match report for Hearts Media ahem I mean Sportsound after today's monumental 'Expellegation Derby' second leg victory over Partick Thistle :greengrin

02-10-2020, 04:22 PM

Totally agree. I never want to see this kind of splitter transfer thread again.

Mikey_1875
02-10-2020, 04:32 PM
Be delighted if this gets over the line but a nagging feeling that we might be paying over the odds for someone who will have to be handled carefully initially coming back from big injury and we could have signed on a pre contract in Jan?

Highly doubt the true figure will ever come out but wouldn’t really want to see us pay more than the 150K rumoured.

To an extent I suppose the finances aren’t really the fans main concern and if the moneys there and he does the job then great.

Greenworld
02-10-2020, 04:39 PM
Be delighted if this gets over the line but a nagging feeling that we might be paying over the odds for someone who will have to be handled carefully initially coming back from big injury and we could have signed on a pre contract in Jan?

Highly doubt the true figure will ever come out but wouldn’t really want to see us pay more than the 150K rumoured.

To an extent I suppose the finances aren’t really the fans main concern and if the moneys there and he does the job then great.Exactly who cares what it cost its a good signing on paper.
Now push the boat out and get campbell that would be real immediate boost

davym7062
02-10-2020, 04:57 PM
He's rounding up his sportsound A team as we speak. Levein, Robbie Replay, Billy Dodds, Neil McCann with invited guests Leslie Deans and Saughton Jambo.

robbie replay!!! quality :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

02-10-2020, 05:02 PM

To an extent I suppose the finances aren’t really the fans main concern and if the moneys there and he does the job then great.

He might have had more offers in Jan though. Would you fancy competition from Aberdeen, for example, when they've already beaten us to Ojo and McCrorie?

Also, what if he is happy back playing for St Mirren and signs a new contract in the meantime - they did rehab him through injury after all. Then we'd be looking at a bigger fee.

It is a calculated gamble. Hibs know what they're doing.

03-10-2020, 05:38 AM
According to Twitter we have had a £200k bid for Ryan Wintle turned down by Crewe Alexander.

Can’t say I know anything about him, other what I’ve read, on his Wikipedia page. He’s a midfielder who was one of their best players last season.

03-10-2020, 03:22 PM
Hopefully his positive covid doesnt scupper a possible transfer we might have had lined up

03-10-2020, 03:25 PM

It would have cost us a decent fee even if we signed him on a pre contract tbf. He sounds good from what I’ve read but as you’ve pointed out it’s how he returns from injury that’ll determine how he does. JR certainly rates him.

seanshow
03-10-2020, 04:49 PM
According to Twitter we have had a £200k bid for Ryan Wintle turned down by Crewe Alexander.

Can’t say I know anything about him, other what I’ve read, on his Wikipedia page. He’s a midfielder who was one of their best players last season.

scores the 3rd goal here in this game... but it was hardly el clasico :greengrin

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8MuR8MFMq4

03-10-2020, 05:00 PM
So do we think we can secure Campbell from Motherwell

and we still definitely need a striker

03-10-2020, 05:12 PM
So do we think we can secure Campbell from Motherwell

and we still definitely need a striker

No
And although i think we require another forward, others don't and Ross seems to be telling the press after Magennis it's unlikely we will get more in.
Id have hoped for min 2, maybw even 3 with 1 out

03-10-2020, 05:35 PM
I suspect in a normal season we would look for a Doidge stand in...but with reduced budgets , think we will have to improvise with the likes of Murphy, Boyle, Gullan, Shanley etc ....

03-10-2020, 06:05 PM
No
And although i think we require another forward, others don't and Ross seems to be telling the press after Magennis it's unlikely we will get more in.
Id have hoped for min 2, maybw even 3 with 1 out

I don’t get it. Presumably Magennis is instead of McCrorie, but we are now without Scott Allan, so I’d have expected someone in to replace him.

03-10-2020, 08:24 PM
I don’t get it. Presumably Magennis is instead of McCrorie, but we are now without Scott Allan, so I’d have expected someone in to replace him.

Stephen McGinn instead of McCrorie.

Magennis is the new John McGinn.

1875Sean
03-10-2020, 08:44 PM

Sure this would have been a bid if we didn’t get macginnis, can’t see us spending more money on another midfielder

03-10-2020, 08:49 PM
scores the 3rd goal here in this game... but it was hardly el clasico :greengrin

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8MuR8MFMq4 (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8MuR8MFMq4)

El pub ligo

03-10-2020, 09:15 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1312499523638362112?s=19

03-10-2020, 10:11 PM
Stephen McGinn instead of McCrorie.

Magennis is the new John McGinn.

Not sure about that. McCrorie would have been a starter, SSM hasn’t even come on as sub.

05-10-2020, 04:43 PM
Not sure about that. McCrorie would have been a starter, SSM hasn’t even come on as sub.

I’m not sure he’s fit yet.

And I’m not talking about quality I am talking about type of player. McCrorie and Magennis are very different.